Conflit entre la science et la religion

L'Assomption Incroyable

On entend de toutes parts que le conflit entre la science et la religion est fini. Pendant quatre siècles, la bataille a fait rage: en astronomie sur la position de la terre dans l'univers; en géologie au cours de l'âge de la terre; en biologie sur l'hypothèse de l'évolution; en psychologie sur le droit de Freud de «jeter un coup d'œil et de botaniser dans l'âme de l'homme». Amer la lutte a été, et longtemps.

Pourtant (de même que le récit), il a atteint son but. Résolution a été obtenue, concord établi. Les conciles des évêques parlent maintenant de scientifiques ayant l'obligation religieuse de suivre la vérité partout où elle mène, et les scientifiques, rejetant la thèse comptable selon laquelle la religion doit être remplacée par la science, sont en train de créer des instituts religieux à l'ère de la science. Parfois, un collège de la Bible-ceinture montre une mauvaise forme en refusant d'enseigner l'évolution, ou un prêtre jésuite écrit un livre sur le phénomène de l'homme. Mais ce sont des exceptions. Concord et bonne communion sont les ordres du jour. Car la vérité n'est-elle pas une, et ne sont-elles pas la science et la religion, mais deux approches complémentaires?

Au milieu de tant d'accord, une objection peut sembler choquante, mais je pense qu'elle a sa place. Plusieurs années consacrées à l'enseignement de la religion dans l'une des principales institutions scientifiques de notre époque m'ont amené à voir la question sous un jour quelque peu différent.

C'est vrai, bien sûr, que les anciennes batailles se terminent. Copernic, Darwin, la géologie de Freud et la Genèse ne sont pas aujourd'hui les cris de guerre qu'ils étaient. Mais le fait que certaines batailles aient suivi leur cours n'est pas une garantie qu'un armistice général ait été signé, et encore moins qu'une paix juste et durable ait été établie. Pour ma part, je soupçonne que nous sommes encore loin du jour où le lion et l'agneau se coucheront ensemble, et où les sages s'assoiront, chacun sous sa vigne disciplinaire et son figuier, en plein accord.

Où est la science envie?

Comme je vais dire quelques choses sur la science dans les minutes à venir, il est important que j'interpose un avertissement. Le fait que je sois à l'emploi d'une institution polarisée autour de la science devrait être interprété comme ne signifiant rien de plus que cela. Un homme d'État britannique a confessé une fois que sa connaissance des mathématiques s'est arrêtée avec une finalité désespérée juste où les difficultés ont commencé. Je pourrais facilement paraphraser cette affirmation dans le contexte actuel; un collège majeur dans l'une des sciences pourrait aller au conseil et produire des équations qui feraient cesser ma pensée. Pourtant, il est impossible d'enseigner à un endroit comme le MIT sans rencontrer certains vents de doctrine, et au fil des années, une vision du programme sur lequel la science est embarquée a pris forme dans mon esprit.

Il comprend six parties:

D'abord, nous créerons la vie. Certains supposent que d'une manière rudimentaire avec les molécules géantes, les acides aminés et les virus, cette percée a déjà été réalisée.

Deuxièmement, nous créerons des esprits. À ce stade, certains d'entre nous sont susceptibles de soupçonner une finesse gigantesque, mais peu importe: avec la cybernétique et l'intelligence artificielle, l'analogie entre les esprits et les machines à penser est pressée jusqu'à la garde.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Troisièmement, nous créerons des individus adaptés via la chimie: des tranquillisants et des énergisants, des barbituriques et des amphétamines, une pharmacopée complète pour contrôler nos humeurs et nos sentiments.

Quatrièmement, nous créerons la bonne société par «l'ingénierie du comportement», un programme de conditionnement, liminal et subliminal, qui, par la propagande et les persuasions cachées, incitera les hommes à se comporter de manière à favoriser le bien commun.

Cinquièmement, nous allons créer des expériences religieuses en passant par les psychédéliques: le LSD, la mescaline, la psilocybine, et leurs parents.

Sixièmement, nous vaincrons la mort; atteindre l'immortalité physique par une combinaison de greffes d'organes et de gériatrie qui d'abord arrêter le processus de vieillissement, puis le rouler dans le rajeunissement. (Voir Robert Ettinger, La perspective de l'immortalité.)

Walden Two: Behaviorally Conçu Utopia

Je m'empresse d'insérer deux qualifications. Je n'ai entendu aucun scientifique énumérer ces six objectifs dans le cadre d'un programme unique, et nombreux sont ceux qui ne tiennent pas compte de tous ces objectifs. Mais le point de base reste. Chacune des six parties de ce programme émergent commande non seulement les travaux mais la foi de certains de nos meilleurs scientifiques. Il y a quelques années, j'ai invité BF Skinner, doyen des psychologues expérimentaux américains, à discuter avec mes étudiants de l'utopie machinale développée par Walden Two. En le présentant, j'ai dit que je voulais que les étudiants aient des achats importants sur son temps, mais je voulais poser une question et je la poserais au début.

Une décennie s'était écoulée depuis qu'il avait écrit ce livre. sa pensée avait-elle changé de manière significative dans l'intervalle? Franchement, je m'attendais à ce qu'il entame des qualifications et avoue qu'il avait été un peu plus jeune alors et que les choses s'avéraient un peu plus compliquées qu'il ne l'avait supposé. À ma grande surprise, sa réponse fut l'inverse. "Mes pensées ont certainement changé", a-t-il déclaré. "Cette affaire nous parvient plus rapidement que je ne le pensais."

Peut-être ma théologie a-t-elle été insuffisamment démythologisée, mais j'ai du mal à quadriller ce programme en six avec la religion. Dans la mesure où il est pris au sérieux, Dieu semblerait en effet être mort; dans la mesure où il est actualisé, il sera enterré. (Voir EO Wilson's Funérailles Dieux.) Au lieu d'une chose du passé, le conflit entre la science et la religion peut se manifester dans des proportions plus grandes que celles que nous avons connues jusqu'ici.

La science fournit des indices pour la religion

Je ne souhaite toutefois pas poursuivre cette perspective. Au lieu de cela, je voudrais inverser la dérive que j'ai suivie jusqu'ici. Ayant refusé de pleurer la paix là où il n'y a pas de paix, permettez-moi maintenant de me demander si la science, quelle que soit la position consciente de ses pratiquants, ne nous donne pas d'indices sur la religion.

Quel est le résultat de l'aventure de l'homme dans la réalité à travers la science? Brossez les détails des découvertes spécifiques qui sont rapportées au rythme de deux millions par an et venez immédiatement au point. Du point de vue théorique, le résultat fondamental de la science est qu'elle a révélé un univers qui dans sa nature factuelle est infiniment au-delà de tout ce que nous aurions pu imaginer en nous appuyant sur nos sens sans aide.

Un rappel de routine de deux ou trois faits bien connus rendra cela très évident. La lumière voyage à la vitesse de 186,000 miles par seconde. C'est environ sept fois le tour du monde chaque seconde. Maintenant, prenez le temps qui nous sépare du Christ et multipliez-le, pas cinquante fois, mais cinquante mille fois, et vous avez le temps approximatif qu'il faut un rayon de lumière pour passer d'une extrémité de notre galaxie à l'autre.

Notre soleil tourne autour du centre de notre galaxie à une vitesse de cent soixante miles par seconde. C'est rapide; A quel point nous pouvons peut-être apprécier si nous nous rappelons la difficulté que nous avons eue à tirer des fusées pour atteindre une vitesse de sept miles par seconde, la vitesse nécessaire pour qu'elles s'échappent de l'atmosphère terrestre. Le soleil se déplace environ vingt-deux fois plus vite que ce taux d'échappement, vitesse à laquelle il faut environ 224 millions d'années pour accomplir une révolution autour de notre galaxie. Si ces chiffres semblent astronomiques, ils sont en réalité paroissiaux, car ils sont confinés dans notre propre galaxie. Andromeda, notre deuxième voisin le plus proche, a été distancé d'un million et demi d'années-lumière, au-delà duquel l'univers s'effondre, gamme après gamme, monde après monde, univers insulaire après univers insulaire. Dans d'autres directions, les chiffres sont également incompréhensibles. Le nombre d'Avogadro nous dit que le nombre de molécules dans quatre drams et demi d'eau (environ une demi-once) est 6.023 fois 102 ', environ 100,000 milliard de milliards. C'est assez pour faire un étourdi; assez pour faire tourner l'esprit, et tourner, et crier pour un arrêt. Non, plus. Du point de vue de nos sens ordinaires, la vision est incroyable, absolument, complètement incroyable.

Seulement, bien sûr, c'est vrai.

Vaste Univers empreint d'amour

Maintenant vient un Isaïe, un Christ, un Paul, un Saint François, un Bouddha; viennent des hommes qui sont religieusement les homologues de Copernic, Newton, Faraday, Kepler, et ils nous disent quelque chose d'aussi incroyable à propos de l'univers dans sa dimension de valeur. Ils nous disent de la profondeur sur la profondeur de la valeur qui s'éloigne de ce monde visible et de nos perceptions ordinaires. Ils nous disent que cet univers dans toute son immensité est profondément imprégné par l'amour. Et c'est incroyable. Je regarde le journal tous les matins et je me dis: "Ça ne peut pas être!" Pourtant, dans mes moments de réflexion, je me trouve en train d'ajouter: «Est-ce que, après tout, est-ce que cela dépasse les limites de notre expérience humaine normale, n'est-ce pas plus incroyable que ce que mes collègues scientifiques disent dans leur sphère?

Bien sûr, les scientifiques ont l'avantage ici, car ils peuvent prouver leurs hypothèses, alors que les valeurs et les significations échappent aux dispositifs de la science comme la mer se glisse à travers les filets des pêcheurs. Mais cela ne fait que me pousser à pousser plus loin l'analogie entre science et religion. Les merveilles factuelles de l'univers physique ne sont pas évidentes à l'œil nu. Qui, ne comptant que sur sa propre vision grossière et sans aide, pourrait soupçonner que les électrons tournent autour de leurs noyaux à raison d'un million de millions de fois par seconde? De telles vérités ne sont révélées aux scientifiques qu'à travers certaines perceptions clés, certaines expériences cruciales. Les broderies lointaines de la science, et toute la vision scientifique du monde, sont basées sur un nombre relativement faible de telles expériences.

Si cela est vrai en science, pourquoi pas aussi en religion? Si la vérité factuelle n'est pas révélée par des perceptions routinières, mais par des éléments clés ou cruciaux, cela ne pourrait-il pas être également le cas avec la vérité religieuse? Le Seigneur apparaissant haut et élevé jusqu'à Esaïe; les cieux s'ouvrant à Christ lors de son baptême; l'univers se transformant en un bouquet de fleurs pour Bouddha sous l'arbre Bo. John rapporte: "J'étais sur une île appelée Patmos, et j'étais en transe." Saul a frappé aveugle sur la route de Damas. Pour Augustin, c'était la voix d'un enfant qui disait: "Prenez, lisez"; pour saint François, une voix qui semblait provenir du crucifix. Saint Ignace, assis près d'un ruisseau, regardait l'eau qui coulait, et ce curieux vieux cordonnier, Jacob Boehme, regardait un plat d'étain, qu'il venait à chacun de ces nouvelles d'un autre monde que la religion doit toujours transmettre.

La pureté de cœur et de la Réalité Ultime

Une dernière étape de la comparaison est nécessaire. Si l'univers de la science n'est pas évident à nos sens ordinaires mais est élaboré à partir de certaines perceptions clés, il est également vrai que ces perceptions nécessitent leurs instruments appropriés: microscopes, télescopes Palomar, chambres à nuages, etc. Encore une fois, y a-t-il une raison pour laquelle la même chose ne devrait pas s'appliquer à la religion? Quelques mots de ce théologien avisé et fin, Aldous Huxley, expliquent bien la situation. «C'est un fait, confirmé et confirmé par deux ou trois mille ans d'histoire religieuse, écrivait-il, que la Réalité ultime n'est appréhendée clairement et immédiatement que par ceux qui se sont faits aimer, purs de cœur et pauvres d'esprit. " Peut-être qu'une telle pureté de cœur est l'instrument indispensable pour révéler les perceptions clés sur lesquelles repose l'incroyable supposition de la religion. A l'œil nu, une petite tache légère peut être détectée dans la constellation d'Orion et sans doute une imposante théorie cosmologique fondée sur cette bavure. Mais aucune théorisation, aussi ingénieuse soit-elle, ne pourrait nous en dire autant sur les nébuleuses galactiques et extra-galactiques que la connaissance directe au moyen d'un bon télescope, d'une caméra et d'un spectrascope.

Je ne sais pas dans quelle direction de telles pensées conduisent votre esprit; le mien ils conduisent dans la direction de Dieu. Mais le mot n'a pas d'importance; c'est l'hypothèse elle-même qui compte, ou plutôt la réalité à laquelle elle pointe. De même que la science a trouvé le pouvoir du soleil lui-même enfermé dans l'atome, la religion (quel que soit son nom) proclame la gloire de l'éternel reflétée dans les éléments les plus simples du temps: une feuille, une porte, une pierre non retournée . Et ainsi, pour cet âge quasi-religieux, quasi séculaire, ces lignes intitulées "White Heron" par John Ciardi:

Qu'est-ce lève le héron en s'appuyant sur l'air
Je loue sans nom. Une position accroupie, une fusée, une longue course à travers le cumulus d'arbres,
une forme de pensée vers le ciel - alors disparu. 0 rare! Saint-François, heureux d'être sur ses genoux,
aurait crié le père! Cry tout ce que vous s'il vous plaît
Mais la louange. Par n'importe quel nom ou aucun. Mais l'éclatement de la louange blanc original qui éclaire le héron sur ses deux tendres baisers cerfs-volants.
Lorsque saints louer le ciel éclairé par des colombes et des rayons, je suis assis par écumes d'étang jusqu'à l'air récite
Son retour héron. Et douter de tout. Mais la louange.


Au-delà de l'esprit postmoderne par Huston Smith.

Cet article est tiré avec la permission du livre:

Au-delà de l'esprit postmoderne, © 2003,
par Huston Smith.

Reproduit avec la permission de l'éditeur, Livres Quest / Theosophical Publishing House. www.questbooks.net

Info / Commander ce livre.


Huston SmithA propos de l'auteur

HUSTON SMITH, PH.D., est ancien professeur de philosophie au Massachusetts Institute of Technology et à l'Université de Syracuse. Ses nombreux livres comprennent Pourquoi les questions Religion, Lauréat du Prix d'excellence 2001 Wilbur dans la communication des questions religieuses.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Conflict Between Science and Religion

The Incredible Assumption

One hears on all sides that the conflict between science and religion is over. For four centuries the battle has raged: in astronomy over the earth's position in the universe; in geology over the earth's age; in biology over the evolutionary hypothesis; in psychology over Freud's right to "peep and botanize into man's soul." Bitter the struggle has been, and long.

Yet (so runs the tale) it has achieved its purpose. Resolution has been secured, concord established. Councils of bishops now speak of scientists as having a religious obligation to follow the truth wherever it leads, and scientists, rejecting the Comptean thesis that religion is to be superseded by science, are busy setting up institutes for religion in an age of science. Occasionally a Bible-belt college shows bad form by refusing to allow evolution to be taught, or a Jesuit priest writes an eyebrow-raising book on the phenomenon of man. But these are exceptions. Concord and good fellowship are the orders of the day. For is not truth one, and are not science and religion but two complementary approaches to it?

In the midst of so much agreement, a demur may sound jarring, but I think it has its place. Several years devoted to teaching religion at one of the leading scientific institutions of our day has led me to see the matter in a somewhat different light.

It's true, of course, that the former battles are drawing to a close. Copernicus, Darwin, Freud geology and Genesis are not today the war cries they used to be. But the fact that certain battles have run their course is no guarantee that a general armistice has been signed, let alone that a just and durable peace has been established. I, for one, suspect that we are still a long way from the day when lion and lamb shall lie down together, and sages sit, each under his own disciplinary vine and fig tree, in full accord.

Where Is Science Headed?

As I shall be saying some things about science in the minutes ahead, it is important that I interject a disclaimer. The fact that I happen to be in the employ of an institution polarized around science should be taken to mean no more than just that. A British statesman once confessed that his knowledge of mathematics stopped with a desperate finality just where the difficulties began. I could easily paraphrase that statement in present context; a college major in any of the sciences could step to the board and produce equations that would bring my thinking to instant halt. Still, it is impossible to teach at a place like M.I.T. without encountering certain winds of doctrine, and over the years a vision of the program on which science is embarked has come to take shape in my mind.

It has six parts:

First, we shall create life. Some assume that in a rudimentary way with the giant molecules, amino acids, and viruses this breakthrough has been achieved already.

Second, we shall create minds. At this point some of us are likely to suspect a gigantic finesse, but no matter: with cybernetics and artificial intelligence, the analogy between minds and thinking machines is being pressed to the hilt.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Third, we shall create adjusted individuals via chemistry: tranquilizers and energizers, barbiturates and amphetamines, a complete pharmacopeia to control our moods and feelings.

Fourth, we shall create the good society via "behavioral engineering," a program of conditioning, liminal and subliminal, which through propaganda and hidden persuaders will induce men to behave in ways conducive to the common good.

Fifth, we shall create religious experiences by way of the psychedelics: LSD, mescalin, psilocybin, and their kin.

Sixth, we shall conquer death; achieve physical immortality by a combination of organ transplants and geriatrics that first arrest the aging process and then roll it back in rejuvenation. (See Robert Ettinger, The Prospect of Immortality.)

Walden Two: Behaviorally Engineered Utopia

I hasten to insert two qualifications. I have not heard any scientist list these six objectives as parts of a single program, and there are many who discount all of them. But the basic point stands. Each of the six parts of this emerging program commands not just the labors but the faith of some of our finest scientists. Several years ago I invited B. F. Skinner, dean of American experimental psychologists, to discuss with my students the behaviorally engineered utopia he had sketched in Walden Two. In introducing him I said that I wanted the students to have major purchase on his time, but I wanted to ask one question and I would ask it at the start.

A decade had passed since he wrote that book; had his thinking changed significantly in the interval? Frankly, I expected him to enter some qualifications, to confess that he had been a somewhat younger man then and that things were proving to be a bit more complicated than he had supposed. To my surprise his answer was the opposite. "My thoughts certainly have changed," he said, "This thing is coming faster than I had suspected would be possible."

Perhaps my theology has been inadequately demythologized, but I have difficulty squaring this sixfold program with religion. To the extent that it is taken seriously, God would seem indeed to be dead; to the extent that it is actualized, he will be buried. (See E.O. Wilson's Gods Funeral.) Instead of a thing of the past, the conflict between science and religion may be shaping up in proportions greater than any we have thus far known.

Science Provides Clues For Religion

I have no wish, however, to pursue this prospect further. Instead, I should like to reverse the drift I have followed up to this point. Having refused to cry peace where there is no peace, let me now ask whether science, whatever the conscious stance of its practitioners, does not in fact provide us with some clues as to what religion is essentially about.

What is the upshot of man's venture into reality by way of science? Brush aside the details of specific discoveries that are being reported at the rate of two million a year and come at once to the point. From the theoretical standpoint, the basic upshot of science is that it has disclosed a universe which in its factual nature is infinitely beyond anything we could have imagined while relying on our unaided senses.

A routine recall of two or three well-known facts will make this abundantly evident. Light travels at the rate of 186,000 miles per second. That's about seven times around the world each second. Now take the time-span that separates us from Christ and multiply it, not fifty times, but fifty thousand times, and you have the approximate time it takes a beam of light to move from one end of our galaxy to the other.

Our sun rotates around the center of our galaxy at a speed of one hundred sixty miles per second. That's fast; how fast we can perhaps appreciate if we recall the difficulty we have had getting rockets to attain a speed of seven miles per second, the speed required for them to escape from our earth's atmosphere. The sun travels roughly twenty-two times as fast as this escape rate, at which speed it takes it approximately 224 million years to complete one revolution around our galaxy. If these figures sound astronomical, they are actually parochial, for they are confined to our own galaxy. Andromeda, our second closest neighbor, is one-and-a-half million light-years removed, beyond which the universe falls away abysmally, range after range, world after world, island universe after island universe. In other directions the figures are equally incomprehensible. Avogadro's number tells us that the number of molecules in four-and-a-half drams of water (roughly half an ounce) is 6.023 times 102', roughly 100,000 billion billion. It's enough to make one dizzy; enough to make the mind reel, and spin, and cry out for a stop. Nay, more. From the vantage of our ordinary senses the vision is incredible utterly, absolutely, completely incredible.

Only, of course, it's true.

Vast Universe Permeated by Love

Now along comes an Isaiah, a Christ, a Paul, a Saint Francis, a Buddha; along come men who are religiously the counterparts of Copernicus, Newton, Faraday, Kepler, and they tell us something equally incredible about the universe in its value dimension. They tell us of depth upon depth of value falling away from this visible world and our ordinary perceptions. They tell us that this universe in all its vastness is permeated to its very core by love. And that's incredible. I look at the newspaper every morning and say to myself, "It cannot be!" Yet in my reflective moments I find myself adding, "Is it, after all, any more incredible does it any more exceed the limits of our normal human experience—than what my science colleagues are saying in their sphere?"

Of course, scientists have the advantage here, for they can prove their hypotheses, whereas values and meanings elude the devices of science like the sea slips through the nets of fishermen. But this only leads me to press the analogy between science and religion farther. The factual marvels of the physical universe are not evident to the naked eye. Who, relying only on his own gross, unaided vision, could suspect that electrons are circling their nuclei at the rate of a million million times a second? Such truths are disclosed to the scientists only through certain key perceptions, certain crucial experiments. The far-flung embroideries of science, and the entire scientific worldview, are based on a relatively small number of such experiments.

If this be true in science, why not in religion as well? If factual truth is disclosed not through routine perceptions but through key or crucial ones, might not this be the case with religious truth as well? The Lord appearing high and lifted up to Isaiah; the heavens opening to Christ at his baptism; the universe turning into a bouquet of flowers for Buddha beneath the Bo tree. John reporting, "I was on an island called Patmos, and I was in a trance." Saul struck blind on the Damascus road. For Augustine, it was the voice of a child saying, "Take, read"; for Saint Francis, a voice which seemed to come from the crucifix. It was while Saint Ignatius sat by a stream and watched the running water, and that curious old cobbler Jacob Boehme was looking at a pewter dish, that there came to each that news of another world which it is always religion's business to convey.

Purity of Heart and Ultimate Reality

A final step in the comparison is needed. If the universe of science is not evident to our ordinary senses but is elaborated from certain key perceptions, it is equally the case that these perceptions require their appropriate instruments: microscopes, Palomar telescopes, cloud chambers, and the like. Again, is there any reason why the same should not hold for religion? A few words by that late, shrewd lay theologian, Aldous Huxley, make the point well. "It is a fact, confirmed and reconfirmed by two or three thousand years of religious history," he wrote, "that Ultimate Reality is not clearly and immediately apprehended except by those who have made themselves loving, pure in heart, and poor in spirit." Perhaps such purity of heart is the indispensable instrument for disclosing the key perceptions on which religion's incredible assumption is grounded. With the unaided eye, a small faint smudge can be detected in the constellation of Orion and doubtless an imposing cosmological theory founded on this smudge. But no amount of theorizing, however ingenious, could ever tell us as much about the galactic and extra galactic nebulae as can direct acquaintance by means of a good telescope, camera, and spectrascope.

I don't know in what direction such thoughts drive your mind; mine they drive in the direction of God. But the word doesn't matter; it's the assumption itself that counts, or rather the reality to which it points. Just as science has found the power of the sun itself to be locked in the atom, so religion (by whatsoever name) proclaims the glory of the eternal to be reflected in the simplest elements of time: a leaf, a door, an unturned stone. And so, for this quasi-religious, quasi-secular age, these lines titled "White Heron" by John Ciardi:

What lifts the heron leaning on the air
I praise without a name. A crouch, a flare, a long stroke through the cumulus of trees,
a shaped thought at the sky--then gone. 0 rare! Saint Francis, being happiest on his knees,
would have cried Father! Cry anything you please
But praise. By any name or none. But praise the white original burst that lights the heron on his two soft kissing kites.
When saints praise heaven lit by doves and rays, I sit by pond scums till the air recites
Its heron back. And doubt all else. But praise.


Beyond the Postmodern Mind by Huston Smith.

This article was excerpted with permission from the book:

Beyond the Postmodern Mind, ©2003,
by Huston Smith.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher, Quest Books/Theosophical Publishing House. www.questbooks.net

Info/Order this book.


Huston SmithAbout the Author

HUSTON SMITH, PH.D., is former Professor of Philosophy at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and at Syracuse University. His many books include Why Religion Matters, winner of the 2001 Wilbur Award for excellence in communication of religious issues.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

3 Posture Correction Methods For Too Much Screen Time
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In the 21st century, we all spend a ot of time in front of a screen... whether at home, at work, or even at play. What this often does is cause a distortion of our posture that then leads to problems…
What Works For Me: Asking Why
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
For me, learning often comes from understanding "why". Why things are the way they are, why things happen, why people are the way they are, why I act the way I do, why other people act the way they…
The Physicist and The Inner Self
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I just read a wonderful article by Alan Lightman, a writer and physicist who teaches at MIT. Alan is the author of "In Praise of Wasting Time". I find it inspiring to find scientists and physicists…
The Hand Washing Song
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
We all heard it many times in the past few weeks... wash your hands for at least 20 seconds. OK, one and two and three... For those of us who are timing-challenged, or perhaps slightly ADD, we've…
Pluto Service Announcement
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Now that everybody has the time to be creative, there's no telling what you will find to entertain your inner self.