النظر أعمق في قوة 23rd مزمور في الحياة الحديثة

23rd مزمور في الحياة المعاصرة

وببساطة، فإن المزمور 23rd هي واحدة من الصلوات الأكثر شعبية في العالم الغربي. هذا يحدث أيضا أن تكون واحدة من الصلوات أقوى من أي وقت مضى تلفظ خارج الصلاة الربانية - ويستند جزئيا على هذا المزمور الذي. وهذا يمكن أن مجموعة جميلة من الكلمات أن يكون المفتاح لاستعادة قوة روحية.

معظمنا نعترف العبارات مزمور 23rd ومألوف، ولكن ما كنا لا نقدر كثيرا ما هي الآثار المترتبة على المبادئ الواردة في المزمور، ربما لأنها لا تتناسب مع النموذج ما لقد تعلمنا الصلاة ينبغي أن يكون.

ما هي الصلاة؟ طلب أو بعد؟

ونحن نعتقد أن للصلاة وسائل يسأل الله أن نفعل شيئا لأنفسنا أو أي شخص آخر. مزمور 23 هو الاعتراف الذي سبق أن فعلت كل ما نحتاجه، والكاتب من المزمور هو مجرد تأكيد هذه الحقيقة. يسوع لم يطلب من الله أن تفعل أي شيء لتضميد تلك انه وضع يديه على. حتى في حديقة الجثمانية، وكان يسوع لا نطلب أي شيء، كان يقول انه سيفعل كل ما هو في مشيئة الله، حتى لو لم يكن تفضيل يسوع نفسه.

عندما طبقت هذا الإدراك على حالتي الخاصة بعد السكتة الدماغية ، كان علي أن أسأل نفسي: "هل أصلي أن أطلب من الله أن يشفيني من هذه السكتة؟ أو هل أجلس فقط في السكون وأختبر الله؟" ضع في اعتبارك أنه عندما قال يسوع ، "اطلب أولاً المملكة ، وكل هذه الأشياء ستضاف إليك ،" كان يقول أن الله يعلم احتياجاتنا بالفعل ، وقد استجاب لها قبل أن نسألها.

أدركت أنني لم أعد لأصلي من أجل شفاء نفسي ، ولكن فقط لتذكر عهد الإنسانية مع الله الذي ورد في كتب اللاويين و سفر التثنية في الكتاب المقدس العبري: "يجب أن تحب الرب إلهك ، وأنت يحب جارك كنفسك ". بعد كل شيء ، هذا هو الخط الذي نقله يسوع عندما طُلب منه أن يغلي الوصايا إلى شيء واحد.

إذا حافظت على هذه الوصية من الحب والرحمة التي لا غنى عنها للعهد الإلهي ، كما تقول في سفر التثنية 28: 1,8 ، عندئذ سوف يسبحك الله بالبركة: "ستكون مباركًا في البلدة ومباركًا في الريف ؛ مباركة ، ذرية جسدك ، وعائدات التربة ، وعائدات الماشية ، وصغار الماشية الخاصة بك ، وزيادة أسرابك ؛ مباركة وسلالتك وعجنك. " والأمثال 3: يقول 6 أنه عندما تعترف بالله بكل طرقك ، سيرى أن مساراتك سلسة.

كانت تلك الكتب المقدسة من بين أول من أثار الإعجاب بي ، أكثر من 30 منذ سنوات ، الحاجة إلى أن تكون مدركاً لوجود الله في كل شيء ، حتى لو لم تفهمه. كل هذه الأفكار بدأت تعود إليّ في الأسابيع القليلة الأولى بعد سكتة دماغي. لأنه ، كما كانت الوزيرة الشهيرة كاثرين كوهلمان تقول: "كل شيء هناك". هنا الآن هو نص المزمور في ترجمة حديثة:


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الرب هو الراعي بلدي. ولن تفتقر. انه يجعلني الاستلقاء في المراعي الخضراء. انه يقودني الى جانب المياه لا يزال ومريح. انه ينعش ويعيد حياتي جدا. كان يقودني في طريق الاستقامة. نعم، على الرغم من أنني من خلال المشي وادي ظلال الموت، أخاف ولا رهبة أي شر، لأنك أنت معي. عصاك وعكازك هما يعزيانني. قمت بإعداد جدول قبلي في وجود عدو لي. كنت أدهن رأسي مع النفط. كأس بلدي تدير أكثر. بالتأكيد يجب الا الخير، والرحمة، والحب لا يفتر يتبعني كل أيام حياتي. وخلال مدة أيام، وأعطي اسكن في بيت الرب إلى الأبد.

أبحث أعمق في المزمور

وإذا نظرنا واحد مزمور العبارة في وقت واحد، ونحن نبدأ في رؤية ليس فقط لها أهمية عالمية، ولكن أيضا في الطريقة التي يعمل فيها تأكيدا لاعتقاد إيجابي. هذا هو ضمني في اللغة، التي هي كل شيء في وضع إيجابي. دعونا نلقي نظرة فاحصة على كل من العبارات في مزمور 23rd.

  • الرب هو الراعي بلدي.

23rd مزمور في الحياة المعاصرة من قبل رون روث الدكتوراه.كانت تدرس ربما كنت على التواصل مع الالهي عن طريق التسول ويتوسل من قاعدة من عدم اليقين. بعد هذه الصلاة لا يبدأ، "الرب راعي، كما أعتقد،" أو "الرب هو الراعي بلدي، ولكن في بعض الأحيان فقط." وهي تبدأ مع المعرفة المطلقة من خلال التجربة أن مبدأ الالهي ستوجه لنا دائما من خلال جميع الحالات دون أن تفشل. أم لا الملك داود كتب هذا المزمور، كما يحمل التقليد، صاحبه كان بالتأكيد الاقتناع بأن التوجيه الالهي هو الحاضر دائما.

  • ولن تفتقر.

فإن زن سيد Rinzai مجموعة، الذي عاش في الصين في القرن التاسع، وتصمد ساكنا لطلابه ونسأل: "ماذا، في هذه اللحظة، يعاني من نقص؟" وكتب ربما أعظم مترجم له، و18th القرن اليابانية زن سيد Hakuin،، "في هذه اللحظة، أكثر ما تحتاج نسعى؟" وكتب أيضا،

واضاف "اقول لكم لا يوجد بوذا، لا دارما، لا شيء إلى الممارسة، أي شيء لإثبات. فقط ما أنت تسعى وبالتالي في الطرق السريعة والشوارع الجانبية؟ الرجل الأعمى! أنت وضع رأسه على رأس واحدة لديك بالفعل. ماذا تفتقد نفسك؟ "

لأن هذا عبقرية النارية زن ضمنية، كنت استوعبت باستمرار نحن - مهووس حتى - مع ما هو مفقود من حياتنا. قد يكون من المال، ومكان للعيش فيه، الشريك المثالي، واللياقة البدنية الرائعة، أو مستقبل آمن. اسأل نفسك ما كنت تعتقد أنك تفتقر إلى الآن: هل من الصحة؟ ازدهار؟ مهنة أليس كذلك؟ إذا كنت أصلي صلاة والذين يعيشون في لحظة، وكنت لا تفتقر إلى أي شيء. ولكن إذا كنت تشعر أنك تفتقر، وربما كنت تعيش إما في الماضي أو إسقاط في المستقبل. من القلق حول ما لا يحدث في الوقت الحاضر، تقوم بتعريف تقاعسكم عن ثقته في أن الالهي يقودكم بالضبط أين كنت بحاجة للذهاب. إذا كنت تنسب مثل هذه التوجيهات إلى الله، عتمان، بوذا، الطبيعة، الكون، الالهي داخل، أو ببساطة إلى الحاضر، والاستسلام لك مرة واحدة لقوتها، عليك أن تعرف لعلى يقين من أن لديك شيئا لخوف، الآن أو من أي وقت مضى.

  • انه يجعلني الاستلقاء في المراعي الخضراء.

في ثقافتنا، والأخضر هو لون من المال، والذي هو على الارجح ليس من قبيل الصدفة، لذلك غالبا ما يكون لون رمزي من وفرة والصحة. المزمور ينص بوضوح على أن الله يريد أن أعيش في وفرة. والله لا تسألني لديها وفرة، ويصر على ذلك. ربما نحن نبذل قصارى جهدنا لتعطيل خطته عن طريق تخريب المصالح قصارى جهدنا؛ الانخراط في التفكير الانهزامي، احتضان لدينا تدني احترام الذات؛ تشتيت أنفسنا مع المخدرات والكحول، والعيش البرية، أو التلفزيون التي لا نهاية لها، أو عن طريق تجاهل صوت حدسنا أن قد يدفعنا الى الروحي والرفاه المادي، ولكن هذا لا يغير من حقيقة نوايا الله إيجابي بالنسبة لنا.

  • انه يقودني الى جانب المياه لا يزال ومريح.

المياه أيضا لديها تاريخ رمزي داخل معظم التقاليد الروحية. على سبيل المثال، من الطوفان العظيم وغرق فرعون في البحر الأحمر إلى معمودية يسوع في نهر الأردن، وقد تم المياه المرتبطة عضويا للديانات اليهودية والمسيحية. وعلى نفس المنوال، فإن القرآن يتحدث مرارا وتكرارا من الجنة كمكان لل"حدائق مع تيارات المياه الجارية حيث [خير] خالدون إلى الأبد" (3: 136)، وبوذا وأشار إلى تحقيق التنوير وعبور النهر إلى " دعم حتى الآن ". هذه كلمات قوية لا ينبغي أن يكون مفاجئا، بالنسبة لمعظم هذه الحضارات التي عقدت المياه ليكون هدية معجزة من الله أن يمكن توضيح الفرق بين الحياة والموت.

"ومع ذلك، وراحة المياه" تتميز من مياه الفيضانات المدمرة، وأنها تعكس حالة من السلام الداخلي والطمأنينة أن الصلاة الحقيقية تتطلب بحيث يمكنك سماع صوت الله.

  • انه ينعش ويعيد حياتي جدا.

من خلال ما تبقى مفتوحة لصوت الله، والتي قد تأتي لكم في شكل الحدب، والحدس، والأحلام، أو لقاءات فرصة، سيتم انعشت حياتك في مركز كيانك. الطاقة الإلهية في شكل تشي (الكلمات الصينية والسنسكريتية عن "الطاقة الحيوية" أو "قوة الحياة") تصب في أنظمتنا باستمرار إذا كنا متفهمين ونجعل انفسنا المتاحة لديها. هذه الطاقة ينشط اجسادنا والشاكرات لدينا، والتي هي مراكز علم النفس الروحاني للطاقة التي تنظم أنشطتنا البدني والعقلي، والعاطفي.

  • كان يقودني في طريق الاستقامة.

الطريق الثماني النبيل بوذا ما يلي: (1) وجهات النظر حق، (2) نية اليمين، (3) كلمة حق، (4) العمل حق، (5) رزق الحق؛ (6) جهد اليمين، (7) الذهن حق ، وتركيز الحق (8). والفكرة هي إذا كنت تحصل على جميع تلك المناطق من حق حياتك، ثم عليك أن تكون متطابقة ومنسجمة. لم يكن لديك لتكون بوذي لفهم قيمة من التركيز على أن تتابع بانتباه "حقوق" (على الرغم من البوذيين لا يكون لدينا فهم محدد للغاية من كل واحد منهم ما يستتبع). والفهم الصحيح لطبيعة الحياة يقودك لديها نية الحق، الذي هو الخير ونزيه يتميز النفور من إيذاء الآخرين. إذا القصد من ذلك هو أن يسبب أي ضرر، ثم عليك استخدام كلمة حق - وهذا هو، عليك الامتناع عن الكذب والنميمة والقذف، وإساءة استخدام غيرها من قدراتك اللفظية التي هي مؤذية للآخرين. وبناء على ذلك، فسوف تجنب الأعمال غير المشروعة وكذلك، مثل القتل والسرقة وسوء السلوك الجنسي. عليك أيضا متابعة لقمة العيش التي لا تضر أي شخص أثناء تأدية الخدمة المطلوبة أيضا. فإن مثل هذه الحياة المستقيمة يكون من الصعب الحفاظ دون الممارسة السليمة للجهد، والانضباط لكسر قبضة عادة. تنبيه الذهن والتركيز هما مظاهر ممارسة التأمل التي تساعد على تسهيل جميع أشكال المعيشة حق.

  • نعم ، على الرغم من أنني أمشي في وادي ظل الموت ، سوف أخشى ولا أخاف أي شر ، لأنك معي.

الموت هو وهم، ولكن نحن جميعا يخشون منه. قال يسوع: "لا تقاوم الشر". لأننا نميل إلى النظر إلى الموت والشر، وقال انه قد قال، "لا تقاوم الموت". كلما كنت تواجه وضعا مؤلما، لديك ثلاثة خيارات: (1) يمكنك مقاومته، وهذا يعني أن عليك أن تكون في الصراع، وبالتالي الاستمرار في الألم؛ (2) يمكنك محاولة لتغيير الوضع، الأمر الذي قد يعني العمل به مباشرة أو سحب نفسك من ذلك -؟ ما إذا كانت الحالة هي وظيفة كنت أكره أو العلاقة التي لا تفي لك، أو (3) إذا لم تتمكن من تغيير أو ترك الحالة، لا يمكن أن يقبل كما هو. قبول أو الاستسلام لا يعني الإقرار بأن حالة معينة هو حق أو جيد، بل يعني ببساطة أنه هو ما هو عليه في هذه اللحظة. من هذا المنظور، يمكن أن المشي من خلال أحلك واد ليس تخويف لك، لانها واحدة مع الواقع الإلهي نفسه وهذا في داخلك.

  • عصاك وعكازك هما يعزيانني.

خدموا الموظفين والمحتال الراعي كرمز للقوة والسلطة على الأقل بقدر ما يعود إلى عصور المصرية. هذه الإشارة ليست لسلطة السلطة الاستبدادية، وإنما إلى الشعور إتقان. نقول ان الرياضيين تبدو مريحة مما يجعل لعبة كبيرة، لأنها تملك السلطة التي تأتي من المهارة والثقة بالنفس. وبعبارة أخرى، لأنها تجعل الامر يبدو سهلا. في نفس الطريق، وعندما بدأ يسوع وزارته، وإنجيل مرقس يقول: "عن دهشتها والناس من تعليمه، لأنه كان يعلمهم كمن له السلطة، وليس كما المعلمين من القانون".

هنا، والكاتب من مزمور يقترب من قوة سلطة الإلهية. وconfortare الفعل اللاتينية وسيلة لتعزز بشكل كبير - الجذر هو فورتيس، وقوة - وهذا هو قوة في قاعدة راحة حقيقية.

  • قمت بإعداد طاولة أمامي في وجود عدوي.

عدوك ليس من الضروري أن يكون شخص آخر - يمكن أن يكون المرض، والخوف من التغيير، أو موقف من نقص. ولكن حتى في خضم المخاوف الخاصة بك، وهناك جدول حق أمامك هذا ما تفيض أفراح وفرة من الحياة. كل ما عليك القيام به هو تحويل الإطار الخاص بك من مرجع، والتركيز على وفرة الفرص التي تحيط بك.

  • كنت أدهن رأسي بالنفط. كوب يدير أكثر.

تم استخدام النفط في العصور القديمة لملوك أدهن، والتي اتخذت من قبل العديد من التقاليد الروحية باعتبارها رمزا للروح الإلهي الذي يسكن في داخلنا، مما تسبب في حياتنا إلى فيض من الفرح.

  • من المؤكد أن الخير فقط والرحمة والحب الدائم سيتبعني كل أيام حياتي ،
    وطيلة ايام ساقط في بيت الرب الى الابد.

وهذه الصلاة عن الحياة في وعي الإلهي. ولكن عن مبادئ نعمة ومرسوم، وهو المصطلح التقني لتحقيق، من خلال بالتواصل الخاص بك مع شيء، الإلهي الذي تريد واضح. مزمور 23 ليس عن الإيمان، أو حتى عن المعتقد، لأنه يمكن في بعض الأحيان الإيمان والمعتقد أن مشربة شك. عندما كنت تعرف شيئا في قلبك، وأنت لا تدع مجالا للشك.

مزمور 23 يقول كم هو مهم لتصبح على بينة من طبيعتنا الإلهية. مرة نقوم به، ويمكننا أن نؤكد هذه الحقائق كما حقيقي لأننا شهدنا لهم: انهم جزء من تراثنا، الذي يتدفق لنا بحكم تلت العهد الذي أعطاه الله للبشرية تعود إلى نوح وإبراهيم، و موسى.

في كتابه يسوع مدونة، جون راندولف السعر deciphers أن يكون رمز ، "أنا كما يسوع." هذا كل ما نحتاج إلى معرفته.

لا يهتم الطريق الروحي بعمل أي شيء - هدفه الأساسي هو أن نكون مدركين أننا من الروح ، مما يعني أننا إلهيين. وقال مايستر ايكهارت "وجود الله هو كياني." "أينما أكون ، هناك الله". هذا الإدراك يفتح المملكة من أجل الهدايا وثمر الروح القدس ليخرج منا.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
www.hayhouse.com. © 2002.

المادة المصدر:

استعادة قوتك الروحية
بواسطة رون روث، دكتوراه

استعادة القوة الروحية من قبل روث رونيقدم هذا الدليل النصيحة حول كيفية الاستفادة من وفرة الله الهائلة وغير المنتهية في حياتنا. يقول رون روث إن أي شخص مستعد للاستماع والثقة يمكنه الوصول إلى خط مباشر إلى وفرة الله اللانهائية. يعلم تقنيات حول كيفية الصلاة لكي يتم ملؤه بالروح القدس. على سبيل المثال ، يستخدم تمارين التنفس الخاصة لإظهار كيفية فتح قلبك وترك الله.

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب

عن المؤلف

رون روث، دكتوراهكان رون روث ، دكتوراه ، معلمًا معروفًا دوليًا ، ومعالجًا روحانيًا ، وصوفيًا في العصر الحديث. هو مؤلف العديد من الكتب، بما في ذلك الكتب الأكثر مبيعا مسار الشفاء من الصلاةوaudiocassette صلاة الشفاء. خدم في الكهنوت الكاثوليكي الروماني لأكثر من سنوات 25 وهو مؤسس "معاهد احتفال الحياة" في بيرو ، إلينوي. توفي رون في يونيو 1 ، 2009. يمكنك معرفة المزيد عن رون وأعماله من خلال موقعه على الإنترنت: www.ronroth.com

شاهد فيديو: قوة الحب وكيفية استخدامه لتحسين حياتك (مقابلة كارول دين مع رون روث) (يتضمن مظهرًا رائعًا من ديباك شوبرا)

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Looking Deeper into the Power of the 23rd Psalm in Modern Life

23rd Psalm in Modern Life

Simply put, the 23rd Psalm is one of the most popular prayers in the Western world. It also happens to be one of the most powerful prayers ever uttered outside of the Lord's Prayer -- which is partly based upon this Psalm. This beautiful collection of words can be the key to reclaiming spiritual power.

Most of us recognize the 23rd Psalm's familiar phrases, but what we don't often appreciate is the impact of the principles contained in the Psalm, probably because it doesn't fit the model of what we've been taught a prayer should be.

What Is Prayer? Asking or Having?

We believe that to pray means asking God to do something for ourselves or someone else. Psalm 23 is the recognition that everything we need has already been done; the writer of the Psalm is merely affirming that fact. Jesus never asked God to do anything to heal those he laid his hands on. Even in the Garden of Gethsemane, Jesus wasn't asking for anything; he was saying that he would do whatever was in God's will, even if it wasn't Jesus' own preference.

When I applied this realization to my own condition following my stroke, I had to ask myself, "Do I pray asking God to heal me of this stroke? Or do I just sit in the stillness and experience God?" Keep in mind that when Jesus said, "Seek first the kingdom, and all these things will be added to you," he was saying that God already knows our needs, and has responded to them before we ever ask.

I realized that I was no longer to pray for my own healing, but only to remember the covenant of humanity with God that's spelled out in the books of Leviticus and Deuteronomy in the Hebrew Bible: "You shall love the Lord your God, and you shall love your neighbor as yourself." After all, that's the line Jesus quoted when asked to boil the Commandments down to one thing.

If you keep that Commandment of love and compassion that's essential to the Divine covenant, as it says in Deuteronomy 28:1,8, then God will shower you with blessings: "You will be blessed in the town and blessed in the countryside; blessed, the offspring of your body, the yield of your soil, the yield of your livestock, the young of your cattle and the increase of your flocks; blessed, your basket and your kneading trough." And Proverbs 3:6 says that when you acknowledge God in all your ways, He will see that your paths are smooth.

Those scriptures were among the first that impressed on me, more than 30 years ago, the need to be aware of the Presence of God in everything, even if you don't understand it. All of these thoughts started coming back to me in the first few weeks following my stroke. For, as the famous minister Kathryn Kuhlman used to say, "It's all there." Here now is the text of the Psalm in a modern translation:


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The Lord is my shepherd. I shall not lack. He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside the still and restful waters. He refreshes and restores my very life. He leads me in the path of uprightness. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear nor dread any evil, for you are with me. Your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemy. You anoint my head with oil. My cup runs over. Surely only goodness, mercy, and unfailing love shall follow me all the days of my life. And through the length of days, I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Looking Deeper into the Psalm

If we examine the Psalm one phrase at a time, we begin to see not only its universal significance, but also the way in which it works as an affirmation of positive belief. This is implicit in the language, which is all in the affirmative mode. Let's take a closer look at each of the phrases in the 23rd Psalm.

  • The Lord is my shepherd.

23rd Psalm in Modern Life by Ron Roth PhD.You were probably taught to commune with the Divine by begging and pleading from a base of uncertainty. Yet this prayer doesn't begin, "The Lord is my shepherd, I think," or "The Lord is my shepherd, but only sometimes." It begins with an absolute knowledge through experience that the Divine principle will always guide us through all situations without fail. Whether or not King David wrote this Psalm, as tradition holds, its author certainly had the conviction that Divine guidance is always present.

  • I shall not lack.

The Zen master Rinzai, who lived in China in the ninth century, would hold up a finger to his students and ask, "What, in this moment, is lacking?" Perhaps his greatest interpreter, the 18th-century Japanese Zen master Hakuin, wrote, "At this moment, what more need we seek?" He also wrote,

"I say to you there is no Buddha, no Dharma, nothing to practice, nothing to prove. Just what are you seeking thus in highways and byways? Blind men! You're putting a head on top of the one you already have. What do you yourself lack?"

As this fiery Zen genius implied, we're constantly absorbed -- obsessed even -- with what's missing from our lives. It might be money, a place to live, the perfect partner, a fantastic physique, or a secure future. Ask yourself what you think you're lacking right now: Is it health? Prosperity? The right career? If you're praying authentically and living in the moment, you're not lacking anything. But if you feel that you're lacking, you're probably either living in the past or projecting into the future. By worrying about what isn't happening in the present moment, you declare your lack of confidence that the Divine is leading you exactly where you need to go. Whether you attribute such guidance to God, Atman, Buddha, Nature, the Universe, the Divine within, or simply to Being, once you surrender to Its power, you'll know for certain that you have nothing to fear, now or ever.

  • He makes me lie down in green pastures.

In our culture, green is the color of money, which probably isn't an accident, for that color is often symbolic of abundance and health. The Psalm clearly states that God desires that I live in abundance. God doesn't ask me to have abundance; He insists on it. We may do our best to scuttle His plans by sabotaging our best interests; engaging in defeatist thinking; embracing our low self-esteem; distracting ourselves with drugs, alcohol, wild living, or endless TV; or by ignoring the voice of our intuition that would lead us into spiritual and material well-being, but that doesn't alter the fact of God's positive intent for us.

  • He leads me beside the still and restful waters.

Water also has a symbolic history within most spiritual traditions. For instance, from the Great Flood and the drowning of the Pharaoh in the Red Sea to the baptism of Jesus in the River Jordan, water has been integrally related to the Jewish and Christian religions. By the same token, the Quran speaks repeatedly of Paradise as a place of "gardens with streams of running water where [the good] will abide forever" (3:136), and Buddha referred to achieving enlightenment as crossing the river to "the far shore." These strong words shouldn't be surprising, for most of these civilizations held water to be a miraculous gift from God that can spell the difference between life and death.

"Still and restful waters" are distinguished from destructive flood waters, and they mirror the state of inner peace and tranquillity that authentic prayer requires so that you can hear the voice of God.

  • He refreshes and restores my very life.

By remaining open to the voice of God, which may come to you in the form of hunches, intuition, dreams, or chance encounters, your life will be enlivened at the center of your being. Divine energy in the form of ch'i (the Chinese and Sanskrit words for "vital energy" or "life force") flows into our systems constantly if we're attuned and make ourselves available to it. This energy revitalizes our bodies and our chakras, which are the centers of psychospiritual energy that regulate our physical, mental, and emotional activities.

  • He leads me in the path of uprightness.

The Noble Eightfold Path of the Buddha includes: (1) right views; (2) right intention; (3) right speech; (4) right action; (5) right livelihood; (6) right effort; (7) right mindfulness; and (8) right concentration. The idea is if you get all of those areas of your life right, then you'll be congruent and in harmony. You don't have to be a Buddhist to understand the value of focusing mindfully on that sequence of "rights" (although Buddhists do have a very specific understanding of what each of them entails). A right understanding of the nature of life leads you to have the right intention, which is a dispassionate benevolence characterized by an aversion to harming others. If your intention is to cause no harm, then you'll use right speech -- that is, you'll abstain from lying, slander, gossip, and other misuses of your verbal faculties that are hurtful to others. Consequently, you'll avoid wrongful actions as well, such as murder, stealing, and sexual misconduct. You'll also pursue a livelihood that doesn't harm anyone while also performing a needed service. Such an upright life would be difficult to maintain without a proper exercise of effort, a discipline to break the grip of habit. Mindfulness and concentration are two manifestations of meditation practice that help facilitate all forms of right living.

  • Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear nor dread any evil, for you are with me.

Death is an illusion, yet we're all afraid of it. Jesus said, "Do not resist evil." Since we tend to see death as evil, he might have said, "Do not resist death." Whenever you're faced with a painful situation, you have three options: (1) You can resist it, which means that you'll be in conflict, and therefore continue in pain; (2) you can try to change the situation, which may mean acting upon it directly or withdrawing yourself from it -? whether the situation is a job you hate or a relationship that doesn't fulfill you; or (3) if you can't change or leave the situation, you can accept it as it is. Acceptance or surrender doesn't mean acknowledging that a given situation is right or good; it simply means that it is what it is at this moment. From that perspective, walking through the darkest ravine can't intimidate you, because it's one with the same Divine Reality that's within you.

  • Your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

The staff and the shepherd's crook have served as symbols of power and authority at least as far back as Egyptian times. This reference isn't to the authority of autocratic power, but rather to a sense of mastery. We say that athletes look comfortable making a great play, for they have the authority that comes from skill and self-confidence. In other words, they make it look easy. In the same way, when Jesus began his ministry, the Gospel of Mark says, "The people were amazed at his teaching, because he taught them as one who had authority, not as the teachers of the law."

Here, the writer of the Psalm is drawing strength from the authority of the Divine. The Latin verb confortare means to strengthen greatly -- the root is fortis, strength -- and that strength is at the base of genuine comfort.

  • You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemy.

Your enemy doesn't have to be another person -- it can be illness, fear of change, or an attitude of lack. But even in the midst of your fears, there's a table right in front of you that's overflowing with the joys and abundance of life. All you need to do is shift your frame of reference and focus on the profusion of opportunity that surrounds you.

  • You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over.

Oil was used in ancient times to anoint kings, and has been taken by many spiritual traditions as a symbol of the Divine Spirit that dwells within us, causing our lives to overflow with joy.

  • Surely only goodness, mercy, and unfailing love shall follow me all the days of my life,
    And through the length of days I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

This prayer is about living in the consciousness of the Divine. It's about the principles of blessing and decree, which is the technical term for bringing about, through your communion with the Divine, something that you want to manifest. Psalm 23 isn't about faith, or even about belief, because faith and belief can sometimes be imbued with doubt. When you know something in your heart, you leave no room for doubt.

Psalm 23 is saying how important it is to become aware of our Divine nature. Once we do, we can affirm these truths as real because we've experienced them: They're part of our inheritance, which flows to us by virtue of having followed the covenant that God gave to humanity going back to Noah, Abraham, and Moses.

In his book The Jesus Code, John Randolph Price deciphers that code to be, "I am as Jesus." That's all we need to know.

The spiritual path isn't concerned with doing anything -- its main objective is to become aware that we are of Spirit, which means that we are Divine. "God's being is my being," Meister Eckhart said. "Wherever I am, there is God." That realization opens up the kingdom within for the gifts and the fruit of the Spirit to flow out from us.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
www.hayhouse.com. ©2002.

Article Source:

Reclaim your Spiritual Power
by Ron Roth, Ph.D.

Reclaim Your Spiritual Power by Ron RothThis handbook offers advice on how to tap into the tremendous and never-ending abundance of God in our lives. Ron Roth says that anyone who is willing to listen and trust can access a direct line to God's infinite abundance. He teaches techniques on how to pray in order to be filled with the Holy Spirit. For example, he uses special breathing exercises to show you how to open your heart and let God in.

Info/Order this book

About the Author

Ron Roth, Ph.D.Ron Roth, Ph.D., was an internationally known teacher, spiritual healer, and modern-day mystic. He is the author of several books, including the bestseller The Healing Path of Prayer, and the audiocassette Healing Prayers. He served in the Roman Catholic priesthood for more than 25 years and is the founder of Celebrating Life Institutes in Peru, Illinois. Ron passed away on June 1, 2009. You can learn more about Ron and his works through his website: www.ronroth.com

Watch a video: The Power of Love and How to Use it to Improve Your Life (Carol Dean interview with Ron Roth) (includes a cameo appearance by Deepak Chopra)

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}