كيف يتحول الفنانون في العالم الناطق بالإسبانية إلى صور دينية للمساعدة على التأقلم في أزمة

كيف يتحول الفنانون في العالم الناطق بالإسبانية إلى صور دينية للمساعدة على التأقلم في أزمة تاج العذراء: ظهر على حائط في مدريد في 13 مارس ، قبل يوم واحد من إغلاق إسبانيا. إرنستو مونيز

في حين أن ملايين الناس في جميع أنحاء أوروبا وخارجها أُجبروا على الإغلاق خلال جائحة COVID-19 ، فقد استخدم بعض الفنانين وقتهم في عزلة لإنشاء عمل باستخدام الصور الدينية كوسيلة لسرد قصة الأزمة. في شوارع مدريد ، الفنان الجرافيتي إرنستو مونيز إعادة تخيل الصور المتعلقة بقلب مريم الطاهر كوسيلة لتفسير الوضع الحالي.

يصبح قلب العذراء تجسيدا للفيروس ، سبب معاناة العالم. ترتدي العذراء نفسها قناعًا للغاز ، لكن يمكن التعرف على عينيها الحزينة ووضعيتها وملابسها على الفور. يبدو أن هذه الصورة للعذراء توحي بأن علينا أن نضع ثقتنا في العلم ، وأن نرتدي أقنعةنا وأن المعاناة ستنتهي.

لم تعد الأيقونة التي تدعونا للصلاة ، لكنها لا تزال تطلب منا أن نؤمن - هذه المرة في العلم.

لا يجب أن يكون هذا اللجوء إلى صورة العذراء على وجه الخصوص مفاجأة. بالنسبة للكاثوليك ، فهي تجسيد مثالي للمعاناة والأمل والحب. لقد تحولت الثقافات الغربية لفترة طويلة إلى صورة الأم العذراء للراحة أو للتعبير عن أفكار حول الحب غير المشروط. لهذا السبب استدعتها بيونسيه في الصور أفرجت عن بمناسبة ولادة أطفالها ، على سبيل المثال.

خلال القرن العشرين ، تأثر بمفكرين مثل ماركس ونيتشه وفرويد ، تغير مكان الدين في المجتمع. شكك الناس في دورها والغرض منها. كما بدأوا في استكشاف تنوعه ، حيث تغيرت الثقافات وتبادلت الأفكار ، بمساعدة التغيرات في القوة الجيوسياسية ، ودمقرطة التعليم ، والتقدم التكنولوجي. أدت فترة الأزمة التي بلغت ذروتها في حربين عالميتين وتفجير قنبلة ذرية إلى تسريع البحث عن أنماط جديدة من الانتماء الروحي.

الفن والروحانية في العالم اللاتيني

كيف يتحول الفنانون في العالم الناطق بالإسبانية إلى صور دينية للمساعدة على التأقلم في أزمةراكيل فورنر: أدت صورها لرعب الحرب إلى مقارنات مع El Greco. arte-online.net عبر ويكيبيديا

نحن نعمل على مشروع تبحث في الطريقة التي تم بها استخدام الفن والروحانية على نطاق أوسع من قبل الفنانات والكتابات في جميع أنحاء العالم الناطق بالإسبانية. حتى لو تضاءلت الممارسات الدينية والمعتقدات ، فإن الإمكانات الثقافية للصور الروحية التي تحاول معالجة السؤال الأساسي عن الغرض الذي قد يكون لحياتنا لا تزال واضحة للغاية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


قضى الفنان الأرجنتيني راكيل فورنر بعض الوقت في أوروبا وشهد الحرب العالمية الثانية. في الدراما، سلسلة من اللوحات التي أكملتها بين 1939-47 ، استندت فورنر إلى تقليد من الصور الدينية للمساعدة في فهم أهوال الحرب.

وجهت أعمالها مقارنات مع تلك الخاصة بالرسامة الدينية الإسبانية El Greco بفضل الألوان التي تستخدمها وكذلك الطرق التي تعرض بها بعض شخصياتها في هذه السلسلة بالذات. ثم من عام 1957 حتى وفاتها عام 1988 عملت على اللوحات التي تساءلت عما يعنيه أن يكون الإنسان ، خاصة في ضوء توسعنا في الفضاء.

فنان آخر أدرك إمكانات التحولات الحديثة للشعور الروحي كان الفنان المكسيكي ريميديوس فارو. وأعربت عن اعتقادها بأن الممارسات الطقسية لتخطيط وتنفيذ اللوحة قدمت العزاء الذي وجده العديد من الأشخاص الآخرين من خلال المعتقد الديني. تشردت بسبب الحرب وانفصلت عن أسرتها وأصدقائها و غير متأكد من المستقبل، بدأت في نسج رؤية روحية شخصية ، بناءً على مجموعة متنوعة من التعاليم ، من التحليل النفسي جونجي إلى السحر و الطريق الرابع GI Gurdieff.

كيف يتحول الفنانون في العالم الناطق بالإسبانية إلى صور دينية للمساعدة على التأقلم في أزمة "لا هويدا" (The Runaway) للفنان الإسباني ريميديوس فارو في متحف مكسي للفن الحديث (مان) ، سبتمبر 2016. EPA / Mario Guzmàn

أصبحت اللوحة طريقة Varo لاستكشاف التأثير التحويلي للأفكار التي واجهتها. لم يكن الفن بديلاً للدين كما كان بالنسبة للعديد من الحداثيين - بالنسبة إلى فارو ، أصبح ممارسة دينية بديلة ، خالية من قيود المؤسسات المركزية الهرمية.

قم ببناء روحانيتك الخاصة

لمعرفة مدى انتشار هذه التحولات في المعتقدات والممارسات الدينية في القرنين العشرين والحادي والعشرين ، نحتاج فقط إلى تذكر انزعاج البابا بنديكتوس السادس عشر من هذه الحرية الروحية. في خطاب أمام الكاثوليك الألمان الشباب في عام 20 ، حذر من دين "افعل ذلك بنفسك" ، والذي يشار إليه أحيانًا باستخفاف بأنه "الكافيتريا" الكاثوليكية أو المسيحية "بيك ن ميكس".

كان بنديكت ، بالطبع ، يتفاعل مع الطرق التي تغيرت بها الممارسة الدينية على مر القرون لأنها تعبر الحدود بين الأماكن والشعوب والتخصصات ، محذرةً من أنه "إذا تم دفعها بعيداً ، يصبح الدين منتجًا استهلاكيًا تقريبًا. يختار الناس ما يعجبهم ، بل إن بعضهم قادرون على جني أرباح منه ". أدرك كل من Forner و Varo الفاعلية الرمزية السائلة لهذا التطور الديني حتى في وقت أكثر علمانية.

خلال الأزمة الحالية ، لا يزال العديد من الناس - مثل مونييز ، فنان الرسم على الجدران من مدريد - يعتمدون على الصور الدينية والروحية لمساعدتنا على فهم ما يحدث. حتى داخل مؤسسات الدين ، كان على جماليات العبادة أن تتكيف مع الإغلاق الحالي.

لقد رأينا صور السيلفي تأخذ مكانها من الجماعة في كنيسة في فالنسيا و صورة فيرجن ديل بيلار متاح عبر كاميرا الويب للعبادة من قبل الأشخاص الذين كانوا يحضرون عادة كنيسة ديل بيلار في سرقسطة ، شمال شرق إسبانيا.

نشرت الجارديان صورة لمجموعة من النساء الكولومبيات يصلون في أقنعة قبل تلقي الصدقات الغذائية في Amigos Misión Colombia في بوغوتا ، من بين مجموعة مختارة من الصور التي توضح كيف كانت أمريكا اللاتينية تتكيف مع الأزمة.

يبدو أن الفيروس التاجي قد دفع الكثير من الناس إلى العودة مرة أخرى إلى مجموعة من الممارسات الدينية والفنية - نسجهم معًا لإعطاء شكل لخوفهم ، ولكن أيضًا لحاجتهم إلى احتضان تمرين بناء مجتمع مبدع.

بغض النظر عن كيفية ظهور الحداثة العلمانية والعقلانية أو ما بعد الحداثة في بعض الأحيان ، يبدو أننا ما زلنا بحاجة إلى التحول نحو شكل من أشكال الروحانية وحتى الصور الدينية التقليدية لمساعدتنا. نحتاجها لمحاولة فهم العالم من حولنا ، خاصة عندما تبدو حياتنا أكثر خطورة وتحت رحمة فيروس غير مرئي ولا يمكن إيقافه.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

إيمون مكارثي ، محاضر في الدراسات الإسبانية ، جامعة غلاسكو وريكي أوراوي ، محاضر في دراسات أمريكا اللاتينية ، جامعة كوينز في بلفاست

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

5 أشياء يجب عليك فعلها الآن لمحاربة COVID-19
5 أشياء يجب عليك فعلها الآن لمحاربة COVID-19
by كاسي إرنست وبولينا كولومبو
ما هو معنى الحياة؟
ما هو معنى الحياة؟
by جون أورورك

من المحررين

لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)

How Artists In The Spanish Speaking World Turn To Religious Imagery To Help Cope In A Crisis

How Artists In The Spanish Speaking World Turn To Religious Imagery To Help Cope In A Crisis The Virgin Crown: appeared on a wall in Madrid on March 13, the day before Spain went into lockdown. Ernesto Muñiz

While millions of people across Europe and beyond have been forced into lockdown during the COVID-19 pandemic, some artists have used their time in isolation to create work using religious imagery as a way to tell the story of the crisis. On the streets of Madrid, graffiti artist Ernesto Muñiz reimagined the imagery related to the Immaculate Heart of Mary as a means of interpreting the current situation.

The Virgin’s heart becomes a rendering of the virus, the cause of the world’s suffering. The Virgin herself is wearing a gas mask, yet her sorrowful eyes, pose and garments are all instantly recognisable. This image of the Virgin seems to suggest that we should place our trust in science, wear our masks and the suffering will pass.

She is no longer the icon calling us to pray, but she is still asking us to have faith – this time in science.

This recourse to the image of the Virgin in particular should come as no surprise. To Catholics she is the perfect incarnation of suffering, hope and love. Western cultures have long turned to the image of the Virgin Mother for comfort or to express ideas about unconditional love. It’s why Beyoncé invoked her in the photos she released to mark the birth of her children, for instance.

During the 20th century, influenced by thinkers such as Marx, Nietzsche and Freud, the place of religion in society changed. People questioned its role and purpose. They also began to explore its diversity, as cultures changed and swapped ideas, helped by shifts in geopolitical power, the democratisation of education, and advances in technology. The period of crisis that culminated in two world wars and the detonation of an atomic bomb only hastened the search for new modes of spiritual belonging.

Art and spirituality in the hispanic world

How Artists In The Spanish Speaking World Turn To Religious Imagery To Help Cope In A CrisisRaquel Forner: her depictions of the horror of war led to comparisons with El Greco. arte-online.net via Wikipedia

We’re working on a project that looks at the way religion and spirituality more broadly has been used by women artists and writers across the Spanish-speaking world. Even if religious practice and belief has waned, the cultural potential for spiritual images that try to address the fundamental question of what purpose our lives might have is still very much evident.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Argentine artist Raquel Forner spent time in Europe and witnessed the second world war. In El Drama, a series of paintings she completed between 1939-47, Forner drew upon a tradition of religious imagery to help make sense of the horrors of war.

Her works drew comparisons to those of the Spanish religious painter El Greco thanks to the colours she uses as well as the ways in which she renders some of her figures in this particular series. Then, from 1957 until her death in 1988, she worked on paintings that questioned what it meant to be human, especially in light of our expansion into space.

Another artist that recognised the potential for modern transformations of spiritual feeling was the Mexican artist Remedios Varo. She believed that the ritualistic practices of planning and executing a painting offered the solace found by many other people through religious belief. Displaced by war, disconnected from her family and friends and unsure about the future, she began to weave a personal spiritual vision, based on a diverse set of teachings, from Jungian psychoanalysis to witchcraft and GI Gurdieff’s Fourth Way.

How Artists In The Spanish Speaking World Turn To Religious Imagery To Help Cope In A Crisis ‘La Huida’ (The Runaway) by Spanish artist Remedios Varo at Mexi​can Museum of Modern Art (MAN), September 2016. EPA/Mario Guzmàn

Painting became Varo’s method of exploring the transformative impact of the ideas she encountered. Art was not a substitute for religion as it was for many modernists – for Varo it became an alternative religious practice, freed from the restrictions of centralised, hierarchical institutions.

Build your own spirituality

To see how widespread such shifts in religious belief and practice have been in the 20th and 21st centuries, we need only remember Pope Benedict XVI’s discomfort with such spiritual freedom. In a speech to young German Catholics in 2005 he warned against “do-it-yourself” religion, sometimes referred to disparagingly as “cafeteria” Catholicism or “pick-n-mix” Christianity.

Benedict, of course, was reacting to the ways in which religious practice has changed over centuries as it crossed borders between places, peoples and disciplines, warning that: “If it is pushed too far, religion becomes almost a consumer product. People choose what they like, and some are even able to make a profit from it.” Both Forner and Varo understood the fluid symbolic potency of such religious evolution even in a more secular time.

During the current crisis, many people – like Muñiz, the graffiti artist from Madrid – still draw on religious and spiritual imagery to help us make sense of what is happening. Even within the institutions of religion, the aesthetics of worship have had to adapt to the current lockdown.

We’ve seen selfies take the place of the congregation in a church in Valencia and the image of Virgin del Pilar made available via webcam for worship by people who would usually attend the Basilica del Pilar in Zaragoza, north-eastern Spain.

The Guardian published an image of a group of Colombian women praying in masks before receiving food handouts at Amigos Misión Colombia in Bogotá, among a selection of images showing how Latin America was adapting to the crisis.

It seems that the coronavirus has prompted many people to turn again to a patchwork of religious and artistic practices – weaving them together to give shape to their fear, but also to their need to embrace a creative community-building exercise.

No matter how secular and rational modernity or post-modernity might sometimes seem, it appears that we still need to turn towards some form of spirituality and even traditional religious imagery to help us. We need it to try to make sense of the world around us, especially when our lives seem more precarious and at the mercy of an invisible and unstoppable virus.The Conversation

About The Author

Eamon McCarthy, Lecturer in Hispanic Studies, University of Glasgow and Ricki O'Rawe, Lecturer in Latin American Studies, Queen's University Belfast

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)