عندما انحاز الدين إلى العلم: دروس العصور الوسطى من أجل النجاة من الوباء

عندما انحاز الدين إلى العلم: دروس العصور الوسطى من أجل النجاة من الوباء يصف كتاب حزقيال الكتابي رؤية إلهية فهمها فلاسفة العصور الوسطى على أنها تكشف عن العلاقة بين الدين والعلم. بقلم ماثيوس ميريان (1593-1650), CC BY-NC

تواجه مجموعة من ردود فعل المريض الخطيرة مرض COVID-19وكافح الأطباء والممرضات في بعض الأحيان للعثور على خيارات علاج قابلة للتطبيق. ولكن عندما نفحص الاستجابات الدينية للفيروس ، أثبت التوجيه الروحي أنه بعيد المنال.

إرشادات للقادة الدينيين من مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها تشجيع المجموعات على تنظيف الأسطح والحد من الاجتماعات أو التجمعات. لكنهم لا يعالجون الآثار العاطفية التي يعاني منها ضحايا COVID-19 ، وأولئك منا العيش في خوف من التعاقد معها، قد تواجه.

تتألف شخصيات دينية مثل البابا فرنسيس صلاة من أجل الحماية من الفيروسات التاجية. لكن فكرة الصلاة باعتبارها جزءًا حيويًا من أي استجابة لـ COVID-19 قد تبدو غير مناسبة أو غير مسؤولة للبعض في عالم غالبًا ما يعتبر الطب والدين نقيضًا قطبيًا - أحدهما يتحول إلى العلم والآخر إلى الله.

ك مؤرخ اجتماعي العالم الإسلامي في العصور الوسطى ، أفكر وأكتب حول دور الدين في الحياة اليومية. إن النظر في كيفية تفكير الناس بالعلم والدين في الماضي يمكن أن يوجه نهج العالم المعاصر لـ COVID-19.

الأوبئة - حقيقة من حقائق الحياة

كانت الأوبئة حقيقة من حقائق الحياة في العالم القديم والعصور الوسطى. رسائل شخصية من القاهرة جنيزة - كنز من الوثائق من يهود مصر في العصور الوسطى - يشهد على أن نوبات المرض المنتشر كانت شائعة لدرجة أن الكتاب كان لديهم كلمات مختلفة لهم. اختلفوا من تفشي بسيط - wabāʾ أو "الأمراض المعدية" باللغة العربية - لوباء - dever gadol ، العبرية عن "الوباء الضخم" ، الذي يستمع إلى اللغة من الضربات العشر في الكتاب المقدس.

عندما انحاز الدين إلى العلم: دروس العصور الوسطى من أجل النجاة من الوباء جزء من القاهرة جينيزا الذي عقد في كامبريدج يظهر رسالة مكتوبة بخط اليد من موسى موسى بن ميمون. تم اكتشافه في أواخر القرن التاسع عشر. نادي الثقافة / جيتي إيماجيس

في عهد الفقيه والفيلسوف موسى ميمونيدس (1138-1204) ، الذي قاد الجالية اليهودية في مصر ، واجه الفسطاط (القاهرة القديمة) طاعون مرعب جدا في عام 1201 أن السكان اليهود في المدينة لم يعودوا أبدًا إلى مجدها السابق.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


العقاب الإلهي؟

غالبًا ما كان المتدينون على مر التاريخ يرون الضربات تجلي الإرادة الإلهية، كعقاب على الخطية وتحذير من التراخي الأخلاقي. نفس الجوقة تسمعها أقلية اليوم. كشخص يهودي ، أشعر بالحرج من قراءة ذلك نقل عن الحاخام حديثًا قوله إن COVID-19 كان عقابًا إلهيًا لاستعراضات فخر المثليين.

في "مجتمع البحر الأبيض المتوسطيصف الباحث SD Goitein من Geniza رد فعل Maimonides على الطاعون: "مهما كان الفلاسفة واللاهوتيون في ذلك الوقت قد قالوا عن قدرة الإنسان على التأثير على قرارات الله من خلال أفعاله ، يعتقد القلب أنه يمكن أن يكون فعالًا ، ومكثفًا وصادقًا الصلاة ، الصدقة ، والصوم يمكن أن تبقي الكارثة بعيدة ".

لكن الجالية اليهودية تعاملت أيضًا مع المرض بطرق أخرى ، وتكشف استجابتها الشاملة للأوبئة عن شراكة - لا صراع - بين العلم والدين.

العلم والدين

في فترة العصور الوسطى ، جمع المفكرون مثل ميمونيدس دراسة العلم والدين. كما يشرح ميمونيدس في أعماله الفلسفية "دليل الحائر، "يعتقد أن دراسة الفيزياء كانت مقدمة ضرورية للميتافيزيقيا. فبدلاً من اعتبار الدين والعلم معاديين لبعضهما البعض ، اعتبرهما متداعمين.

في الواقع ، أكمل علماء النصوص الدينية دراستهم بكتابات تتمحور حول العلم. معاصر موسى بن ميمون ، ابن رشد (1126-1198) ، مثال ممتاز. على الرغم من أنه فيلسوف ومفكر ديني مهم ، فقد قدم ابن رشد أيضًا مساهمات ذات مغزى في الطب ، بما في ذلك مما يشير إلى وجود ما سيطلق عليه لاحقًا مرض باركنسون.

لكن لم يكن علماء النخبة فقط هم من رأوا الدين والعلم مكملين. في "مجتمع البحر الأبيض المتوسط" ، يقول غويتين: "حتى أبسط شخص من Geniza كان عضوًا في مجتمع الشرق الأوسط المتوسطي الذي كان يؤمن بقوة العلم". ويضيف: "لقد تم اعتبار المرض كظاهرة طبيعية ، وبالتالي يجب معالجته بالوسائل التي توفرها الطبيعة".

تميل إلى الحياة الداخلية

لذلك ، كان العلم والدين كلاهما جزءًا لا يتجزأ من روح شخص Geniza. لم يكن هناك شعور بأن هاتين الركيزتين من الفكر تتحدى بعضها البعض. من خلال الاعتناء بحياتهم الداخلية من خلال الطقوس التي ساعدتهم على التعامل مع الحزن والخوف ، وأجسادهم من خلال أدوات الطب المتاحة لهم ، اتخذ شعب جينيزا مقاربة شاملة للأوبئة.

بالنسبة لهم ، كان اتباع النصائح الطبية من موسى بن ميمون أو ابن رشد جزءًا أساسيًا من استجابتهم للطاعون. ولكن بينما كانوا متحمسين في منازلهم ، نظروا أيضًا إلى النصيحة الروحية لهؤلاء المفكرين ، وغيرهم ، لرعاية أرواحهم. هؤلاء منا تعاني من الإجهاد والعزلة وعدم اليقين وسط جائحة الفيروس التاجي يمكن أن يتعلم من عالم القرون الوسطى أن حياتنا الداخلية تتطلب الاهتمام أيضًا.

نبذة عن الكاتب

فيليب ليبرمان ، أستاذ مشارك ، جامعة فاندربيلت

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

لقد حان يوم الحساب لل GOP
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لم يعد الحزب الجمهوري حزبا سياسيا مواليا لأمريكا. إنه حزب سياسي زائف غير شرعي ومليء بالراديكاليين والرجعيين هدفه المعلن هو زعزعة الاستقرار وزعزعة الاستقرار و ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...

When Religion Sided With Science: Medieval Lessons For Surviving The Pandemic

When Religion Sided With Science: Medieval Lessons For Surviving The Pandemic The biblical book of Ezekiel describes a vision of the divine that medieval philosophers understood as revealing the connection between religion and science. By Matthaeus Merian (1593-1650), CC BY-NC

Faced with a range of serious patient reactions to the COVID-19 disease, doctors and nurses have sometimes struggled to find viable treatment options. But when we examine faith-based responses to the virus, spiritual guidance has proved even more elusive.

Guidelines for faith leaders from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention encourage groups to clean surfaces and limit meetings or gatherings. But they do not address the emotional effects that COVID-19 victims, and those of us who live in fear of contracting it, might experience.

Religious figures such as Pope Francis have composed prayers for protection from coronavirus. But the idea of prayer as a vital part of any response to COVID-19 might feel inappropriate or even irresponsible to some in a world that often views medicine and religion as polar opposites – one turning to science, the other to God.

As a social historian of the medieval Islamic world, I think and write about the role of religion in daily life. Looking at how people thought about science and religion in the past can inform the contemporary world’s approach to COVID-19.

Plagues – a fact of life

Plagues were a fact of life in ancient and medieval worlds. Personal letters from the Cairo Geniza – a treasure trove of documents from the Jews of medieval Egypt – attest that bouts of widespread disease were so common that writers had different words for them. They varied from a simple outbreak – wabāʾ, or “infectious disease” in Arabic – to an epidemic – dever gadol, Hebrew for “massive pestilence,” which hearkens back to language from the 10 plagues of the Bible.

When Religion Sided With Science: Medieval Lessons For Surviving The Pandemic Fragment from Cairo Geniza held at Cambridge shows handwritten letter from Moses Maimonides. It was discovered in late 19th century. Culture Club/Getty Images

During the time of the jurist and philosopher Moses Maimonides (1138-1204), who led the Jewish community of Egypt, Fusṭāṭ (Old Cairo) faced a plague so daunting in 1201 that the city’s Jewish population never returned to its former glory.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Divine punishment?

Religious people throughout history often saw plagues as the manifestation of divine will, as a punishment for sin and a warning against moral laxity. The same chorus is heard by a minority today. As a Jewish person, I am embarrassed to read that a rabbi was recently quoted as saying that COVID-19 was divine punishment for gay pride parades.

In “A Mediterranean Society,” Geniza researcher S.D. Goitein describes Maimonides’ reaction to the plague: “Whatever the philosophers and theologians of that time might have said about man’s ability to influence God’s decisions by his deeds, the heart believed that they could be efficacious, that intense and sincere prayer, almsgiving, and fasts could keep catastrophe away.”

But the Jewish community also dealt with disease in other ways, and its holistic response to epidemics reveals a partnership – not a conflict – between science and religion.

Science and religion

In the medieval period, thinkers like Maimonides combined the study of science and religion. As Maimonides explains in his philosophical masterwork “The Guide to the Perplexed,” he believed that studying physics was a necessary precursor to metaphysics. Rather than seeing religion and science as inimical to one another, he saw them as mutually supportive.

Indeed, scholars of religious texts complemented their studies with science-centered writings. Maimonides’ Islamic contemporary, Ibn Rushd (1126-1198), is a perfect example. Though an important philosopher and religious thinker, Ibn Rushd also made meaningful contributions to medicine, including suggesting the existence of what would later come to be called Parkinson’s disease.

But it was not only elite scholars who saw religion and science as complementary. In “A Mediterranean Society,” Goitein says that “even the simplest Geniza person was a member of that hellenized Middle Eastern-Mediterranean society which believed in the power of science.” He adds: “Illness was conceived as a natural phenomenon and, therefore, had to be treated with the means provided by nature.”

Tending to one’s inner life

Science and religion, therefore, were both integral to the soul of the Geniza person. There was no sense that these two pillars of thought challenged one another. By tending to their inner lives through rituals that helped them deal with the sadness and trepidation, and their bodies through the tools of medicine available to them, the Geniza people took a holistic approach to epidemics.

For them, following the medical advice of Maimonides or Ibn Rushd was an essential part of their response to plague. But while hunkered down in their homes, they also looked to the spiritual advice of these thinkers, and others, to care for their souls. Those of us experiencing stress, solitude and uncertainty amid the coronavirus pandemic could learn from the medieval world that our inner lives demand attention too.

About The Author

Phillip I. Lieberman, Associate Professor, Vanderbilt University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)
Letting Randy Funnel My Furiousness
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(Updated 4-26) I have not been able to right-write a thing I am willing to publish this last month, You see I am furious. I just want to lash out.
Pluto Service Announcement
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(updated 4/15/2020) Now that everybody has the time to be creative, there's no telling what you will find to entertain your inner self.