Wie der heilige Franziskus die Krippe mit einem wunderbaren Ereignis im Jahr 1223 schuf

Wie der heilige Franziskus die Krippe mit einem wunderbaren Ereignis im Jahr 1223 schuf Die frühesten biblischen Beschreibungen erwähnen nicht die Anwesenheit von Scheunentieren, die heute Teil der Krippen sind. Oscar Llerena / Flickr, CC BY-NC-ND

In der Weihnachtszeit ist häufig eine Krippe zu sehen: eine kleine Krippe mit dem Jesuskind und seiner Familie, Hirten, den drei Weisen, von denen angenommen wird, dass sie Jesus nach seiner Geburt besucht haben, und mehrere Scheunenhoftiere.

Man könnte sich fragen, woher diese Tradition stammt.

Biblische Beschreibung

Die frühesten biblischen Beschreibungen, das Matthäusevangelium und das Lukasevangelium, die zwischen 80 und 100 n. Chr. Geschrieben wurden, enthalten Einzelheiten zu Jesu Geburt, einschließlich der Tatsache, dass er während der Regierungszeit von König Herodes in Bethlehem geboren wurde.

Das Evangelium nach Lukas sagt Als die Hirten nach Bethlehem gingen, fanden sie „Maria und Josef und das Baby, das in der Krippe lag“. Matthew erzählt die Geschichte der drei Weisen oder der Heiligen Drei Könige, die im Gottesdienst niedergefallen sind und Geschenke aus Gold, Weihrauch und Myrrhe dargebracht haben.

Aber wie meine Erforschung der Beziehung zwischen dem Neuen Testament und der Entwicklung populärer christlicher Traditionen zeigt, die frühesten biblischen Beschreibungen nicht Erwähnen Sie die Anwesenheit von Tieren. Tiere tauchen erstmals um das XNUMX. Jahrhundert in religiösen Texten auf.

Eine Reihe frühchristlicher Geschichten, die die religiöse Hingabe des Volkes informierten, einschließlich des sogenannten Kindheitsevangeliums von Matthäus, versuchten, die Lücke zwischen der Kindheit Christi und dem Beginn seines öffentlichen Wirkens zu schließen. Dieser Text war der zuerst zu erwähnen die Anwesenheit von Tieren bei der Geburt Jesu. Es wurde beschrieben, wie „die gesegnetste Maria aus der Höhle hinausging und einen Stall betrat, das Kind in den Stall stellte und der Ochse und der Esel ihn anbeteten.“

Diese Beschreibung, die später in mehreren christlichen Texten des Mittelalters zitiert wurde, schuf die heute beliebte Weihnachtsgeschichte.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Beginn der Weihnachtskrippen

Die Krippe, die heute weltweit auf Plätzen und Kirchen nachgebaut wird, wurde ursprünglich vom heiligen Franziskus von Assisi entworfen.

Vieles, was Gelehrte über Franziskus wissen, kommt von „Das Leben des heiligen Franziskus“, Verfasst vom Theologen und Philosophen St. Bonaventure aus dem 13. Jahrhundert.

Francis war in eine Kaufmannsfamilie hineingeboren in der umbrischen Stadt Assisi im heutigen Italien, um 1181. Franziskus lehnte jedoch sein Familienvermögen schon früh ab und warf seine Gewänder auf dem öffentlichen Platz ab.

In 1209 hat er gründete den Bettelorden der Franziskaner, eine religiöse Gruppe, die sich wohltätigen Werken verschrieben hat. Heute dienen die Franziskaner den materiellen und spirituellen Bedürfnissen der Armen und sozial Ausgegrenzten.

Wie der heilige Franziskus die Krippe mit einem wunderbaren Ereignis im Jahr 1223 schuf Franziskus von Assisi bereitet die Weihnachtskrippe in Greccio vor. Basilika des Heiligen Franziskus von Assisi, Assisi, Italien

Bonaventura zufolge bat Franziskus 1223 Papst Honorious III um die Erlaubnis, etwas zu tun, „um die Hingabe an die Geburt Christi zu wecken“. Im Rahmen seiner Vorbereitungen machte Francis in der italienischen Kleinstadt Greccio „eine Krippe fertig und bat Heu zusammen mit einem Ochsen und einem Esel“.

Ein Zeuge aus der Menge, die sich für dieses Ereignis versammelte, berichtete, dass Franziskus eine geschnitzte Puppe enthielt, die vor Freude weinte und „aus dem Schlaf zu erwachen schien, als der selige Pater Franziskus ihn in beiden Armen umarmte“.

Dieses Wunder der weinenden Puppe hat alle Anwesenden bewegt, schreibt Bonaventure. Aber Franziskus hat auch ein anderes Wunder vollbracht: Das Heu, das das Kind in geheilten kranken Tieren lag und Menschen vor Krankheiten schützte.

Krippenbilder in der Kunst

Wie der heilige Franziskus die Krippe mit einem wunderbaren Ereignis im Jahr 1223 schuf Anbetung der Könige. Fra Angelico

Die Geschichte der Geburt Christi hat sich innerhalb der christlichen Andachtskultur weit nach Franziskus 'Tod ausgeweitet. 1291 ließ Papst Nikolaus IV., Der erste Franziskaner-Papst, in Santa Maria Maggiore, der größten der Jungfrau Maria gewidmeten Kirche in Rom, eine permanente Krippe errichten.

Krippenbilder beherrschten die Kunst der Renaissance.

Diese erste lebende Weihnachtskrippe, die vom italienischen Renaissance-Maler Giotto di Bondone in der Arenakapelle von Padua, Italien, berühmt dargestellt wurde, leitete eine neue Tradition der Inszenierung der Geburt Christi ein.

Im Tondo, einem kreisförmigen Gemälde der Maler Fra Angelico und Filippo Lippi aus dem 15. Jahrhundert über der Anbetung der Könige, gibt es nicht nur Schafe, einen Esel, eine Kuh und einen Ochsen, sondern sogar einen bunten Pfau, der über die Spitze blickt der Krippe, um einen Blick auf Jesus zu erhaschen.

Politische Wende der Weihnachtskrippen

Nach der Geburt Jesu befahl König Herodes, der sich von Jesus bedroht fühlte, die Hinrichtung aller Jungen unter zwei Jahren. Jesus, Maria und Joseph mussten nach Ägypten fliehen.

In Anerkennung dessen, dass Jesus, Maria und Josef in den letzten Jahren selbst Flüchtlinge waren, einige Kirchen haben ihre Weihnachtskrippen als eine Form des politischen Aktivismus genutzt, um die Notwendigkeit von Gerechtigkeit für Einwanderer zu kommentieren. Insbesondere haben diese „Protestkrippen“ die Anordnung von Präsident Donald Trump von 2018 zur Trennung von Familien an der Grenze zwischen den USA und Mexiko kritisiert.

Zum Beispiel hat eine Gemeinde in Dedham, Massachusetts, im Jahr 2018 das Jesuskind, das Kinder mit Migrationshintergrund darstellt, in einen Käfig gesetzt. Dieses Jahr bei Claremont United Methodist Church In Kalifornien wurden Mary, Joseph und das Jesuskind in getrennten Stacheldrahtkäfigen in ihrer Freilichtkrippe untergebracht.

Diese Ausstellungen, die auf die Notlage von Einwanderern und Asylbewerbern aufmerksam machen, bringen die christliche Tradition ins 21. Jahrhundert.Das Gespräch

Über den Autor

Vanessa Corcoran, außerordentliche Professorin für Geschichte, akademische Beraterin, Georgetown University

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

How St. Francis Created The Nativity Scene, With A Miraculous Event In 1223

How St. Francis Created The Nativity Scene, With A Miraculous Event In 1223 The earliest biblical descriptions do not mention the presence of any barnyard animals, that are part of Nativity displays today. Oscar Llerena/Flickr, CC BY-NC-ND

Around the Christmas season, it is common to see a display of the Nativity scene: a small manger with the baby Jesus and his family, shepherds, the three wise men believed to have visited Jesus after his birth and several barnyard animals.

One might ask, what are the origins of this tradition?

Biblical description

The earliest biblical descriptions, the Gospel of Matthew and the Gospel of Luke, written between A.D. 80 and 100, offer details of Jesus’ birth, including that he was born in Bethlehem during the reign of King Herod.

The Gospel of Luke says that when the shepherds went to Bethlehem, they “found Mary and Joseph, and the baby, who was lying in the manger.” Matthew tells the story of the three wise men, or Magi, who “fell down” in worship and offered gifts of gold, frankincense and myrrh.

But as my research on the relationship between the New Testament and the development of popular Christian traditions shows, the earliest biblical descriptions do not mention the presence of any animals. Animals first start to appear in religious texts around the seventh century.

A series of early Christian stories that informed popular religious devotion, including what’s known as the Infancy Gospel of Matthew, attempted to fill in the gap between Christ’s infancy and the beginning of his public ministry. This text was the first to mention the presence of animals at Jesus’ birth. It described how the “most blessed Mary went forth out of the cave and entering a stable, placed the child in the stall, and the ox and the ass adored Him.”

This description, subsequently cited in several medieval Christian texts, created the Christmas story popular today.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Start of Nativity scenes

But the Nativity scene now recreated in town squares and churches worldwide was originally conceived by St. Francis of Assisi.

Much of what scholars know about Francis comes from “Life of St. Francis,” written by the 13th-century theologian and philosopher St. Bonaventure.

Francis was born into a merchant family in the Umbrian town of Assisi, in modern-day Italy, around 1181. But Francis rejected his family wealth early in his life and cast off his garments in the public square.

In 1209, he founded the mendicant order of the Franciscans, a religious group that dedicated themselves to works of charity. Today, Franciscans minister by serving the material and spiritual needs of the poor and socially marginalized.

How St. Francis Created The Nativity Scene, With A Miraculous Event In 1223 St. Francis of Assisi preparing the Christmas crib at Greccio. Basilica of Saint Francis of Assisi, Assisi, Italy

According to Bonaventure, Francis in 1223 sought permission from Pope Honorious III to do something “for the kindling of devotion” to the birth of Christ. As part of his preparations, Francis “made ready a manger, and bade hay, together with an ox and an ass,” in the small Italian town of Greccio.

One witness, among the crowd that gathered for this event, reported that Francis included a carved doll which cried tears of joy and “seemed to be awakened from sleep when the blessed Father Francis embraced Him in both arms.”

This miracle of the crying doll moved all who were present, Bonaventure writes. But Francis made another miracle happen, too: The hay that the child lay in healed sick animals and protected people from disease.

Nativity imagery in art

How St. Francis Created The Nativity Scene, With A Miraculous Event In 1223 Adoration of the Magi. Fra Angelico

The Nativity story continued to expand within Christian devotional culture well after Francis’ death. In 1291, Pope Nicholas IV, the first Franciscan pope, ordered that a permanent Nativity scene be erected at Santa Maria Maggiore, the largest church dedicated to the Virgin Mary in Rome.

Nativity imagery dominated Renaissance art.

This first living Nativity scene – which was famously depicted by Italian Renaissance painter Giotto di Bondone in the Arena Chapel of Padua, Italy – ushered in a new tradition of staging the birth of Christ.

In the tondo, a circular painting of the Adoration of the Magi by 15th-century painters Fra Angelico and Filippo Lippi, not only are there sheep, a donkey, a cow and an ox, there is even a colorful peacock that peers over the top of the manger to catch a glimpse of Jesus.

Political turn of Nativity scenes

After the birth of Jesus, King Herod, feeling as though his power was threatened by Jesus, ordered the execution of all boys under two years old. Jesus, Mary and Joseph were forced to flee to Egypt.

In an acknowledgment that Jesus, Mary and Joseph were refugees themselves, in recent years, some churches have used their Nativity scenes as a form of political activism to comment on the need for immigrant justice. Specifically, these “protest nativities” have criticized President Donald Trump’s 2018 executive order on family separation at the U.S.-Mexico border.

For example, in 2018, a church in Dedham, Massachusetts, placed baby Jesus, representing immigrant children, in a cage. This year, at Claremont United Methodist Church in California, Mary, Joseph and the baby Jesus have all been placed in separate barbed-wire cages in their outdoor Nativity scene.

These displays, which call attention to the plight of immigrants and asylum seekers, bring the Christian tradition into the 21st century.The Conversation

About The Author

Vanessa Corcoran, Adjunct Professor of History, Academic Counselor, Georgetown University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

3 Posture Correction Methods For Too Much Screen Time
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In the 21st century, we all spend a ot of time in front of a screen... whether at home, at work, or even at play. What this often does is cause a distortion of our posture that then leads to problems…
What Works For Me: Asking Why
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
For me, learning often comes from understanding "why". Why things are the way they are, why things happen, why people are the way they are, why I act the way I do, why other people act the way they…
The Physicist and The Inner Self
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I just read a wonderful article by Alan Lightman, a writer and physicist who teaches at MIT. Alan is the author of "In Praise of Wasting Time". I find it inspiring to find scientists and physicists…
The Hand Washing Song
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
We all heard it many times in the past few weeks... wash your hands for at least 20 seconds. OK, one and two and three... For those of us who are timing-challenged, or perhaps slightly ADD, we've…
Pluto Service Announcement
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Now that everybody has the time to be creative, there's no telling what you will find to entertain your inner self.