هل الفضيلة تشير إلى تحريف للأخلاق؟

هل الفضيلة تشير إلى تحريف للأخلاق؟

ينخرط الناس في الحديث الأخلاقي في كل وقت. عندما يقدمون ادعاءات أخلاقية في الأماكن العامة ، فإن أحد الردود الشائعة هو استبعادهم كإشارات فضيلة. تمتلئ Twitter بهذه الاتهامات: الممثلة جميلة جميل هي "غمز مثير للشفقة" ، وفقًا للصحفية بيرس مورغان ؛ نشطاء المناخ هم مؤشرات فضيلة ، وفقا لمعهد مانهاتن المحافظ لأبحاث السياسات ؛ نباتي يشير إلى الفضيلة ، وفقًا للمؤلف بيورن لومبورغ (كما توضح هذه الأمثلة ، يبدو أن الاتهام أكثر شيوعًا من اليمين أكثر من اليسار).

اتهام شخص ما بالفضيلة هو اتهامهم بنوع من النفاق. يدعي الشخص المتهم أنه يشعر بقلق عميق بشأن بعض القضايا الأخلاقية ، لكن اهتمامه الرئيسي هو - هكذا تتوافق الحجة - مع نفسه. إنهم لا يهتمون حقًا بتغيير العقول ، ناهيك عن تغيير العالم ، ولكن مع عرض أنفسهم بأفضل ضوء ممكن. كما الصحفي جيمس بارثولوميو (الذي ادعى في 2015 أنه اخترع هذه العبارة ، ولكن لم يفعل) يضعها في والمشاهد، يتم توجيه إشارة الفضيلة بواسطة "الغرور والتضليل الذاتي" ، وليس الاهتمام بالآخرين.

ومن المفارقات ، أن اتهام الآخرين بالإشارة إلى الفضيلة قد يشكل في حد ذاته إشارة إلى الفضيلة - فقط يشير إلى جمهور مختلف. سواء أكان يجب اعتباره إشارة إلى الفضيلة أم لا ، فإن الاتهام يفعل بالضبط ما يتهمه الآخرون: إنه ينقل التركيز من هدف الإدعاء الأخلاقي إلى الشخص الذي يصنعه. وبالتالي يمكن استخدامه لتجنب معالجة الادعاء الأخلاقي.

هنا ، رغم ذلك ، أريد أن أفكر في مسألة مختلفة. في كامل فقط علاج عن الموضوع في الأدب الأكاديمي (الذي أعرفه) والفلاسفة جوستين توزي وبراندون وارمكي اتهم "المشرف الأخلاقي" (مصطلحهم بالنسبة لمدلل الفضيلة) المتمثل في تحريف وظيفة الخطاب الأخلاقي العام. حسب رأيهم ، فإن "الوظيفة الأساسية الأساسية التي تبرر الممارسة" لهذا الخطاب الأخلاقي العام هي "تحسين المعتقدات الأخلاقية للناس ، أو تحفيز التحسن الأخلاقي في العالم". يهدف الحديث الأخلاقي العام إلى حث الآخرين على رؤية مشكلة أخلاقية لم يلاحظوها من قبل ، و / أو القيام بشيء حيال ذلك. ولكن بدلاً من ذلك ، فإن مؤشرات الفضيلة تعرض نفسها ، مع التركيز على المشكلة الأخلاقية. نظرًا لأننا نلاحظ في كثير من الأحيان الإشارة إلى الفضيلة على ما هي عليه ، فإن التأثير هو التسبب في السخرية في الجمهور ، بدلاً من حثهم على الاعتقاد بأن الإشارة كبيرة جدًا. نتيجة لذلك ، تشير الفضيلة إلى "الرخص" للخطاب الأخلاقي.

لكن Tosi و Warmke لا يقدمان أي دليل على ادعائهما بأن الوظيفة الأساسية ، أو التبرير ، للخطاب الأخلاقي هي التحسن في معتقدات الآخرين أو في العالم. هذا بالتأكيد a وظيفة الخطاب الأخلاقي ، لكنها ليست الوحيدة (كما يعترفون).

ربما ، في الواقع ، إشارة الفضيلة ، أو شيء من هذا القبيل ، هي وظيفة أساسية في الخطاب الأخلاقي.

Sالتجاهل شائع جدًا في الطبيعة. ذيل الطاووس ، على سبيل المثال ، هو إشارة إلى اللياقة التطورية. هذا ما يسميه علماء الأحياء إشارة صادقة ، لأنه يصعب تزويره. يحتاج الأمر إلى الكثير من الموارد لبناء مثل هذا الذيل ، وأفضل إشارة - الذيل أكبر وأكثر إشراقا - يجب تخصيص المزيد من الموارد لذلك. يعد التجلط - وهو سلوك يظهر في بعض الحيوانات ، ويتضمن قفزًا مستقيمًا في الهواء ، مع تثبيت جميع الأرجل بقوة - إشارة صريحة إلى اللياقة. إن الغزال الذي يخطط بقوة يوضح للمفترسين المحتملين أنه سيكون من الصعب العمل عليه ، مما قد يدفع الحيوانات المفترسة للبحث عن فريسة أسهل. ينخرط البشر أيضًا في الإشارة: ارتداء بدلة باهظة الثمن وساعة رولكس هي إشارة يصعب تزويرها للثروة وقد تساعد في التواصل بأنك شريك تجاري مناسب أو رفيق مرغوب فيه.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


في علم الدين المعرفي ، من الشائع تحديد نوعين من الإشارات. هناك إشارات مكلفة . يعرض تعزيز المصداقية. ذيل الطاووس هو إشارة مكلفة: يستغرق الكثير من الطاقة لبنائه وسحبه حوله ، ويمتص الطريق عند الفرار من الحيوانات المفترسة. تُعد شاشات العرض المعززة للمصداقية سلوكيات قد تكون مكلفة إذا لم تكن صادقة: على سبيل المثال ، لا يتواصل الحيوان الذي يتجاهل دخيلًا قريبًا مع أعضاء المجموعة عن اعتقاده بأن الدخيل ليس خطيرًا ، ولكنه يفعل ذلك بطريقة يشهد على صدق التواصل لأنه ، إذا كان الدخيل خطيرًا ، فسيكون الحيوان الذي يشير إلى نفسه في خطر.

يمكن فهم الكثير من السلوك الديني كإشارة مكلفة ومصداقية. تفرض الأديان العديد من السلوكيات المكلفة: الصيام ، العشور ، الامتناع عن ممارسة الجنس إلا في سياقات معينة ، وهلم جرا. كل هذه السلوكيات مكلفة ليس فقط من الناحية اليومية ، ولكن أيضًا من الناحية التطورية: فهي تقلل من فرص التكاثر ، والموارد من أجل النسل ، وما إلى ذلك. الأنشطة الدينية هي أيضًا عروض للمعتقدات الدينية تعزز المصداقية: لن يدفع أي شخص هذه التكاليف إلا إذا اعتقدوا حقًا أن هناك ثمارًا.

لماذا ، من وجهة نظر تطورية ، هل يشير أحدهم إلى الالتزام الديني؟ التفسير المحتمل هو أن الوظيفة هي تأمين فوائد التعاون. غالبًا ما يكون التعاون مع الآخرين نشاطًا محفوفًا بالمخاطر: فهناك احتمال ثابت بأن يقوم الشخص الآخر بالركوب مجانًا أو الغش ، مع الاستفادة من الفوائد دون دفع التكاليف. كلما كانت المجموعة الاجتماعية أكثر تعقيدًا ، وكان من الأسهل الانتقال بين المجموعات ، زادت المخاطر: في حين يمكننا في المجموعات الصغيرة تتبع من هو أمين وموثوق ، في مجموعة كبيرة أو عند التفاعل مع غرباء ، يمكننا " ر تعتمد على السمعة.

تساعد الإشارة في التغلب على المشكلة. يشير الشخص المتدين إلى التزامها بمدونة ، على الأقل من التعاون مع المجموعة. انها تشير فضيلة لها. إشارة لها ، إلى حد كبير ، إشارة صادقة. من الصعب أن تكون مزيفة ، ويمكن للمجموعات الدينية تتبع سمعة أعضائها إن لم يكن من غيرهم ، لأن المجموعة أصغر بكثير. هذا النوع من التفسير كان التذرع إلى شرح بروز رجال الأعمال كويكر في السنوات الأولى من الثورة الصناعية. كان هؤلاء الكويكرز يثقون ببعضهم البعض ، جزئياً لأن المشاركة مع مجتمع الأصدقاء كانت إشارة صادقة من الرغبة في الالتزام بقواعد الأخلاق.

الإشارة الدينية هي بالفعل إشارة أخلاقية. من غير المفاجئ أنه عندما تكون المجتمعات علمانية ، فإن المزاعم الأخلاقية الأكثر علمانية تلعب نفس الدور. من المفترض أن تكون إشارة الفضيلة بمثابة إشارة إلى المجموعة: إنها تُظهر أننا "محترمون" (بحسب كلمة Tosi و Warmke). هذا ليس تحريف وظيفة الأخلاق. إنه خطاب أخلاقي يلعب أحد أدواره المركزية.

إذا كانت إشارة الفضيلة هذه وظيفة مركزية ومبررة للخطاب الأخلاقي العام ، فإن الادعاء بأنه يفسد هذا الخطاب هو خطأ. ماذا عن ادعاء النفاق؟

إن الاتهام بأن إشارة الفضيلة نفاقية قد يتم صرفها بطريقتين مختلفتين. قد نعني أن إشارات الفضائل تهتم حقًا بعرض نفسها في أفضل ضوء - وليس مع تغير المناخ أو رفاهية الحيوان أو ماذا لديك. وهذا هو ، قد نشكك في دوافعهم. في الآونة الأخيرة ورقة، سأل علماء الإدارة جيليان جوردان وديفيد راند عما إذا كان الناس سيفضلون الإشارة عندما لم يكن أحد يراقب. وجدوا أن ردود المشاركين كانت حساسة لفرص الإشارة: بعد ارتكاب انتهاك أخلاقي ، انخفضت درجة الغضب الأخلاقي المبلغ عنها عندما أتيحت للمشاركين فرص أفضل للإشارة إلى الفضيلة. لكن التجربة برمتها كانت مجهولة ، لذلك لا يمكن لأحد أن يربط الغضب الأخلاقي بأفراد محددين. يشير هذا إلى أنه على الرغم من أن الإشارة إلى الفضيلة جزء (ولكن جزء فقط) من التفسير لسبب شعورنا ببعض المشاعر ، إلا أننا نشعر بها بالفعل ، ولا نعبر عنها فقط لأننا نشير إلى الفضيلة.

والطريقة الثانية لاستبعاد اتهام النفاق هي فكرة أن إشارات الفضيلة قد تفتقر في الواقع إلى الفضيلة التي يحاولون عرضها. إشارات غير شريفة على نطاق واسع أيضا في التطور. على سبيل المثال ، تحاكي بعض الحيوانات الإشارة الصادقة التي يعطيها الآخرون لكونها سامة أو سامة - مثل الحوافر التي تشبه الدبابير ، على سبيل المثال. من المحتمل أن بعض إشارات فضائل الإنسان تعمل في تقليد غير أمين أيضًا. لكن الإشارة غير الصادقة تستحق المشاركة فقط عندما يكون هناك عدد كافٍ من الإشارات الصادقة حتى يكون من المنطقي أخذ هذه الإشارات في الاعتبار. في حين أن بعض مؤشرات الفضيلة قد تكون منافقة ، إلا أن الأغلبية ليست كذلك. وعلى العموم ، فإن الإشارة إلى الفضيلة لها مكان في الخطاب الأخلاقي ، ويجب ألا نكون مستعدين لتشويهه.عداد Aeon - لا تقم بإزالة

نبذة عن الكاتب

نيل ليفي هو زميل باحث أقدم في مركز أكسفورد أوهيرو للأخلاقيات العملية وأستاذ الفلسفة في جامعة ماكواري في سيدني. هو مؤلف الوعي والمسؤولية الأخلاقية (2014). يعيش في سيدني.

وقد نشرت هذه المقالة أصلا في دهر وقد أعيد نشرها تحت المشاع الإبداعي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Is Virtue Signalling A Perversion Of Morality?

Is Virtue Signalling A Perversion Of Morality?

People engage in moral talk all the time. When they make moral claims in public, one common response is to dismiss them as virtue signallers. Twitter is full of these accusations: the actress Jameela Jamil is a ‘pathetic virtue-signalling twerp’, according to the journalist Piers Morgan; climate activists are virtue signallers, according to the conservative Manhattan Institute for Policy Research; vegetarianism is virtue signalling, according to the author Bjorn Lomborg (as these examples illustrate, the accusation seems more common from the Right than the Left).

Accusing someone of virtue signalling is to accuse them of a kind of hypocrisy. The accused person claims to be deeply concerned about some moral issue but their main concern is – so the argument goes – with themselves. They’re not really concerned with changing minds, let alone with changing the world, but with displaying themselves in the best light possible. As the journalist James Bartholomew (who claimed in 2015 to have invented the phrase, but didn’t) puts it in The Spectator, virtue signalling is driven by ‘vanity and self-aggrandisement’, not concern with others.

Ironically, accusing others of virtue signalling might itself constitute virtue signalling – just signalling to a different audience. Whether it should be counted as virtue signalling or not, the accusation does exactly what it accuses others of: it moves the focus from the target of the moral claim to the person making it. It can therefore be used to avoid addressing the moral claim made.

Here, though, I want to consider a different issue. In the only full treatment of the topic in the academic literature (that I know of), the philosophers Justin Tosi and Brandon Warmke accuse the ‘moral grandstander’ (their term for the virtue signaller) of perverting the function of public moral discourse. According to them, ‘the core, primary function that justifies the practice’ of such public moral discourse is ‘to improve people’s moral beliefs, or to spur moral improvement in the world’. Public moral talk aims to get others to see a moral problem they hadn’t noticed before, and/or to do something about it. But, instead, virtue signallers display themselves, taking the focus away from the moral problem. Since we often spot virtue signalling for what it is, the effect is to cause cynicism in the audience, rather than to induce them to think the signaller is so great. As a result, virtue signalling ‘cheapens’ moral discourse.

But Tosi and Warmke offer no evidence for their claim that the primary, or the justifying, function of moral discourse is improvement in other people’s beliefs or in the world. That’s certainly a function of moral discourse, but it’s not the only one (as they recognise).

Perhaps, in fact, virtue signalling, or something like it, is a core function of moral discourse.

Signalling is very common in nature. The peacock’s tail, for instance, is a signal of evolutionary fitness. It’s what biologists call an honest signal, because it’s hard to fake. It takes a lot of resources to build a tail like that, and the better the signal – the bigger and brighter the tail – the more resources must have been devoted to it. Stotting – a behaviour seen in some animals, involving leaping straight up in the air, with all legs held stiffly – is probably also an honest signal of fitness. The gazelle who stotts vigorously demonstrates to potential predators that it’s going to be hard work to run it down, which might lead the predators to look for easier prey. Humans also engage in signalling: wearing an expensive suit and a Rolex watch is a hard-to-fake signal of wealth and might help to communicate that you’re a suitable trading partner or a desirable mate.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In the cognitive science of religion, it is common to identify two kinds of signals. There are costly signals and credibility-enhancing displays. The peacock’s tail is a costly signal: it takes a lot of energy to build it and drag it around, and it gets in the way when fleeing predators. Credibility-enhancing displays are behaviours that would be costly if they weren’t honest: for example, the animal who ignores a nearby intruder not only communicates to group members its belief that the intruder isn’t dangerous, but does so in a way that certifies the sincerity of the communication because, if the intruder was dangerous, the signalling animal itself would be at risk.

Lots of religious behaviour can be understood as costly and credibility-enhancing signalling. Religions mandate many behaviours that are costly: fasting, tithing, abstinence from sex except in certain contexts, and so on. All of these behaviours are costly not only in everyday terms, but also in evolutionary terms: they reduce opportunities for reproduction, resources for offspring, and so on. Religious activities are also credibility-enhancing displays of religious belief: no one would pay these costs unless they really believed that there was a payoff.

Why, from an evolutionary point of view, would someone signal religious commitment? A likely explanation is that the function is to secure the benefits of cooperation. Cooperation with others is often a risky activity: there is the constant possibility that the other person will free-ride or cheat, making off with the benefits without paying the costs. The more complex the social group, and the easier it is to move between groups, the higher the risks: whereas in small groups we can keep track of who is honest and reliable, in a large group or when interacting with strangers, we can’t rely on reputation.

Signalling helps to overcome the problem. The religious person signals her commitment to a code, at least of cooperating with the ingroup. She signals her virtue. Her signal is, by and large, an honest signal. It is hard to fake, and religious groups can keep track of the reputation of their members if not of everyone else, since the pool is so much smaller. This kind of explanation has been invoked to explain the prominence of Quaker business people in the early years of the industrial revolution. These Quakers trusted one another, in part because involvement with the Society of Friends was an honest signal of willingness to abide by codes of ethics.

Religious signalling is already moral signalling. It is hardly surprising that, as societies secularise, more secular moral claims come to play the same role. Virtue signalling is supposed to be signalling to the ingroup: it shows that we are, by their lights, ‘respectable’ (in Tosi and Warmke’s word). That’s not a perversion of the function of morality; it is moral discourse playing one of its central roles.

If such virtue signalling is a central – and justifying – function of public moral discourse, then the claim that it perverts this discourse is false. What about the hypocrisy claim?

The accusation that virtue signalling is hypocritical might be cashed out in two different ways. We might mean that virtue signallers are really concerned with displaying themselves in the best light – and not with climate change, animal welfare or what have you. That is, we might question their motives. In their recent paper, the management scholars Jillian Jordan and David Rand asked if people would virtue signal when no one was watching. They found that their participants’ responses were sensitive to opportunities for signalling: after a moral violation was committed, the reported degree of moral outrage was reduced when the participants had better opportunities to signal virtue. But the entire experiment was anonymous, so no one could link moral outrage to specific individuals. This suggests that, while virtue signalling is part (but only part) of the explanation for why we feel certain emotions, we nevertheless genuinely feel them, and we don’t express them just because we’re virtue signalling.

The second way of cashing out the hypocrisy accusation is the thought that virtue signallers might actually lack the virtue that they try to display. Dishonest signalling is also widespread in evolution. For instance, some animals mimic the honest signal that others give of being poisonous or venomous – hoverflies that imitate wasps, for example. It’s likely that some human virtue signallers are engaged in dishonest mimicry too. But dishonest signalling is worth engaging in only when there are sufficiently many honest signallers for it make sense to take such signals into account. While some virtue signallers might be hypocritical, the majority probably are not. So on the whole, virtue signalling has its place in moral discourse, and we shouldn’t be so ready to denigrate it.Aeon counter – do not remove

About The Author

Neil Levy is a senior research fellow of the Oxford Uehiro Centre for Practical Ethics and professor of philosophy at Macquarie University in Sydney. He is the author of Consciousness and Moral Responsibility (2014). He lives in Sydney.

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}