لجنة تقصي الحقائق حول يوم القديس باتريك

دين

لجنة تقصي الحقائق حول يوم القديس باتريكرجل يرتدي زي القديس باتريك يبارك الحشد في دبلن بينما يشقّ العرض موكبًا عبر العاصمة الأيرلندية في 1998. AP Photo / John Cogill

في 1997 ، سافرت أنا وطلابي إلى Croagh Patrick ، ​​وهو جبل في مقاطعة Mayo ، كجزء من برنامج للدراسة بالخارج حول الأدب الأيرلندي كنت أدرسه في جامعة دايتون. أردت أن يزور طلابي المكان الذي يتم فيه تكريم الآلاف من الحجاج في شهر يوليو من كل عام لسانت باتريك ، الذي طبقًا للقادمين صاموا وصلوا في القمة لأيام 40.

أثناء وجوده هناك ، قام مرشدنا السياحي بنقل قصة كيف كان القديس باتريك ، وهو يرقد على فراش موته في مارس 17 في AD 461 ، من المفترض أن يطلب من الذين تجمعوا حوله أن يحمصوا رحلته السماوية مع "قطرة الويسكي الأولى" لتخفيف آلامهم.

تركني الويسكي أتساءل عما إذا كان القديس باتريك ربما يكون قد أثر على غير قصد في الطريقة التي يحتفل بها معظم أنحاء العالم بعطلة اليوم: عن طريق الشرب.

لم يكن دائما بهذه الطريقة. عيد القديس باتريك بدأت في القرن 17th كذكرى دينية وثقافية للأسقف الذي أحضر المسيحية إلى أيرلندا. في أيرلندا ، لا يزال هناك عنصر ديني وثقافي مهم للعطلة ، حتى أنه أصبح ببساطة ذريعة لارتداء مشروب أخضر ومشروبات كثيفة في بقية العالم.

أسطورة القديس باتريك

نظرًا لأن التفاصيل التاريخية حول حياة القديس باتريك لا تزال محاطة بالتخمينات ، غالباً ما يتم إحباط العلماء محاولاتهم لفصل الحقيقة عن الأسطورة.

في مذكراته الروحية ، "كنفسيويصف القديس باتريك كيف تم نقله إلى أيرلندا كعبد. هرب في نهاية المطاف ، وانضم إلى عائلته في بريطانيا ، وربما اسكتلندا. ولكن أثناء وجوده هناك ، كان لديه حلم متكرر ، دعاه "صوت الأيرلنديين" إليه للعودة إلى أيرلندا من أجل أن يعمدهم ويخدموهم. هكذا فعل.

لجنة تقصي الحقائق حول يوم القديس باتريكصورة زجاج ملون لسانت باتريك في كنيسة سانت بنين في كيلبينان ، مقاطعة غالواي ، أيرلندا. Andreas F. Borchert / ويكيميديا ​​كومنز, CC BY-SA

يقدس الأيرلنديون رواية هذا الحلم الموصوف في "Confessio" ؛ إنهم يقبلون بساطة وحماسة كلماته ويشعرون بالامتنان لالتزامه غير الأناني برفاههم الروحي.

لم تكن جهود سانت باتريك لتحويل الأيرلندية إلى الكاثوليكية سهلة. ينظر إليه باعتباره تحديا لسلطتهم وسلطتهم ، ملوك أيرلندا المرتفعة والكهنة الوثنيين الكهنة درويدس، قاوم جهوده لتحقيق غزو مع السكان.

ولكن من خلال حماسته التبشيرية ، تمكن من دمج الثقافة الأيرلندية في المسيحية ، سواء كان ذلك من خلال إدخال الصليب سلتيك or استخدام النيران للاحتفال بالعيد مثل عيد الفصح.

مرة أخرى ، لا يمكن أن يصل عدد هذه القصص إلى أكثر من الأسطورة. ومع ذلك ، بعد قرون من وفاته ، يواصل الأيرلنديون الإعراب عن امتنانهم لقديسهم الراعي من خلال ارتداء بخاخ من الصراصير في مارس 17. إنهم يبدأون يومهم بالقداس ، يليهم وليمة طوال اليوم ، والصلاة والتأمل في الليل.

سانت بادي يوم يذهب العالمية

من 1820 إلى 1860 ، ما يقرب من 2 مليون شخص غادروا أيرلندا، الكثير بسبب مجاعة البطاطس في 1840s و 1850s. تلا ذلك المزيد في القرن 20th للجمع مع الأقارب والهروب من الفقر والبطالة في الوطن.

بمجرد الاستقرار ، وجدوا طرقًا جديدة للاحتفال بيوم القديس باتريك وهويتهم الأيرلندية في منازلهم الجديدة.

سارع الأمريكيون الأيرلنديون ، على وجه الخصوص ، إلى تحويل 17 March إلى مؤسسة تجارية. إن "إرتكاب" اللون الأخضر الإلزامي بكل رحمته بعيد كل البعد عن التقليد الأصلي المتمثل في ارتداء بخاخات النفل لتكريم وفاة القديس باتريك والاحتفال بالتضامن الإيرلندي. تلاشت المسيرات الشهيرة - خاصة في نيويورك وبوسطن - تلاها الاحتفال ، وبالتأكيد ، حتى أصبحت البيرة خضراء.

لجنة تقصي الحقائق حول يوم القديس باتريكظهر المتفرجون في مشاهدة خضراء في "يوم عيد القديس باتريك" في جنوب بوسطن ، ماساشوستس. دومينيك رويتر / رويترز

لقد استوعب أطفال الأميركيين الأيرلنديين في الولايات المتحدة الثقافة الأيرلندية عن بعد. ربما يعلم الكثيرون أن القديس باتريك هو قديس أيرلندا. لكنهم قد لا يقدرون تمامًا مكانته الأسطورية للأطفال الذين يكبرون في جزيرة الزمرد.

اسأل الأطفال من أي عمر في أيرلندا عما يعرفونه عن القديس باتريك ، وسوف يعيدون إليك قصصًا بقدراته السحرية ، بدءًا من قدرته على إخراج الثعابين من أيرلندا إلى استخدامه للأوراق الثلاثة وجذع الشامروك. لإزالة الغموض عقيدة الثالوث للكنيسة الكاثوليكية.

يرون سانت باتريك كعامل معجزة ، وكبار ، يبقون الأساطير حية بطرقهم الخاصة. يتبع البعض خطى القديس باتريك في جميع أنحاء أيرلندا - من البئر إلى التل إلى التغيير إلى الكنيسة الصغيرة - يبحث عن نعمته ومكافأته أينما كانت رحلاتهم.

رفع الزجاج

بالطبع ، في أمريكا ، اليوم المقدس هو في الحقيقة حفلة ، قبل كل شيء.

هذا العام ، من المتوقع أن الأميركيين أنفق 5.61 مليار دولار أمريكي الاحتفال ، مع 13 مليون مكاييل من موسوعة جينيس المستهلكة. تخطط بعض أجزاء البلد للاحتفال المسبق في 17 في سبتمبر - أو كما يطلقون عليها ، "في منتصف الطريق إلى يوم القديس باتريك".

حيث كل هذا يؤدي هو تخمين أي شخص. لكن بداية من 1990s ، بدا أن أيرلندا تدرك إمكانية كسب الإصدار الأمريكي. اليوم ، لا يزال March 17 يومًا مقدسًا بالنسبة للمواطنين الأصليين وعطلة للسياح من جميع أنحاء العالم ، حيث تمارس الحانات باليورو في يوم القديس باتريك.

لكني كنت أتساءل دائمًا: ماذا لو كان القديس باتريك قد طلب صلاة صامتة بدلاً من "قطرة الويسكي" لنخب رحيله؟ هل بقي احتفاله أكثر قدسية من التدنيس؟المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جيمس فارلي ، أستاذ اللغة الإنجليزية ، جامعة دايتون

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = القديس باتريك، maxresults = 3}

دين
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

The Truth About St. Patrick's Day

religion

The Truth About St. Patrick's DayA man dressed as Saint Patrick blesses the crowd in Dublin as the parade makes its way through the Irish capital in 1998. AP Photo/John Cogill

In 1997, my students and I traveled to Croagh Patrick, a mountain in County Mayo, as part of a study abroad program course on Irish literature I was teaching for the University of Dayton. I wanted my students to visit the place where, each July, thousands of pilgrims pay homage to St. Patrick, who, according to lore, fasted and prayed on the summit for 40 days.

While there, our tour guide relayed the story of how St. Patrick, as he lay on his death bed on March 17 in A.D. 461, supposedly asked those gathered around him to toast his heavenly journey with a “wee drop of whiskey” to ease their pain.

The mention of whiskey left me wondering if St. Patrick may have unintentionally influenced the way most of the world celebrates the holiday today: by drinking.

It wasn’t always this way. The Festival of St. Patrick began in the 17th century as a religious and cultural commemoration of the bishop who brought Christianity to Ireland. In Ireland, there’s still an important religious and cultural component to the holiday, even as it has simply become an excuse to wear green and heavily drink in the rest of the world.

The legend of St. Patrick

Because historical details about St. Patrick’s life remain shrouded in speculation, scholars are often stymied in their attempts to separate fact from legend.

In his spiritual memoir, “Confessio,” St. Patrick describes how he was brought to Ireland as a slave. He eventually escaped, rejoining his family in Britain, probably Scotland. But while there, he had a recurring dream, in which the “Voice of the Irish” called to him to return to Ireland in order to baptize and minister to them. So he did.

The Truth About St. Patrick's DayA stained glass image of St. Patrick in St. Benin’s Church in Kilbennan, County Galway, Ireland. Andreas F. Borchert/Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA

The Irish revere the account of this dream described in the “Confessio”; they accept the simplicity and fervor of his words and feel a debt of gratitude for his unselfish commitment to their spiritual well-being.

St. Patrick’s efforts to convert the Irish to Catholicism were never easy. Viewing him as a challenge to their power and authority, the high kings of Ireland and the pagan high priests, called Druids, resisted his efforts to make inroads with the population.

But through his missionary zeal, he was able to fuse Irish culture into Christianity, whether it was through the introduction of the Celtic Cross or the use of bonfires to celebrate feasts like Easter.

Again, many of these stories could amount to no more than myth. Nonetheless, centuries after his death, the Irish continue to show their gratitude for their patron saint by wearing a spray of shamrocks on March 17. They start the day with mass, followed by a daylong feast, and prayer and reflection at night.

St. Paddy’s Day goes global

From 1820 to 1860, almost 2 million people left Ireland, many due to the potato famine in the 1840s and 1850s. More followed in the 20th century to reunite with relatives and escape poverty and joblessness back home.

Once settled, they found new ways to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day and their Irish identity in their new homes.

Irish-Americans, especially, were quick to transform March 17 into a commercial enterprise. The mandatory “wearin’ of the green” in all its garishness is a far cry from the original tradition of wearing a spray of shamrocks to honor St. Patrick’s death and celebrate Irish solidarity. Parades famously sprung up – especially in New York and Boston – revelry ensued and, sure enough, even the beer became green.

The Truth About St. Patrick's DaySpectators decked out in green watch the St. Patrick’s Day Parade in South Boston, Mass. Dominick Reuter/Reuters

Children of Irish-Americans in the United States have absorbed Irish culture at a distance. Many probably know that St. Patrick is Ireland’s patron saint. But they might not fully appreciate his mythic stature for kids growing up on the emerald isle.

Ask children of any age in Ireland what they know about St. Patrick, and they will regale you with stories of his magical abilities, from his power to drive the snakes out of Ireland to his use of the three leaves and one stem of the shamrock to demystify the Trinity doctrine of the Catholic Church.

They see St. Patrick as a miracle worker, and as adults, they keep the legends alive in their own ways. Some follow St. Patrick’s footsteps all around Ireland – from well to hill to alter to chapel – seeking his blessing and bounty wherever their journeys take them.

Raising a glass

Of course, in America, the holy day is really a party, above all else.

This year, Americans are expected to spend US$5.61 billion celebrating, with 13 million pints of Guinness consumed. Some parts of the country plan a pre-celebration on Sept. 17 – or, as they call it, “Halfway to St. Patrick’s Day.”

Where all of this leads is anyone’s guess. But beginning in the 1990s, Ireland seemed to grasp the earning potential of the Americanized version. Today, March 17 remains a holy day for the natives and a holiday for tourists from around the world, with pubs raking in the euros on St. Patrick’s Day.

But I’ve always wondered: What if St. Patrick had requested a silent prayer instead of “a wee drop of whiskey” to toast his passing? Would his celebration have stayed more sacred than profane?The Conversation

About The Author

James Farrelly, Professor of English, University of Dayton

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Patrick: Patron Saint of Ireland

religionAuthor: Tomie dePaola
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Patrick: Patron Saint of Ireland

Brand: Holiday House
Studio: Holiday House
Label: Holiday House
Publisher: Holiday House
Manufacturer: Holiday House

Buy Now
Editorial Review: An illustrated tribute to the Irish patron saint from the best-selling author of Quiet, Strega Nona, and many others.

Beloved children's book author-illustrator Tomie dePaola recounts the life of Saint Patrick—from his noble birth in Britain, to his captivity in Ireland, to the visions which led him to return and found the first Christian church in Ireland.

With his signature bold illustrations and engaging prose, Tomie dePaola recounts a number of legends about the Saint—including the well-known story of how he drove the snakes from Ireland, and his association with the shamrock.

This timeless picture book is a perfect introduction to these important Irish legends, and an ideal St. Patrick's Day gift— perfect for sharing with your family.

Also available in a special board book edition, Saint Patrick, for the youngest readers.




St. Patrick of Ireland: A Biography

religionAuthor: Philip Freeman
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Simon & Schuster
Label: Simon & Schuster
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Manufacturer: Simon & Schuster

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Ireland's patron saint has long been shrouded in legend, but the true story of St. Patrick is far more inspiring than the myths. In St. Patrick of Ireland, Philip Freeman brings the historic Patrick and his world vividly to life. Patrick speaks in his own voice in two remarkable letters he wrote about himself and his beliefs, new translations of which are included here and which are still astonishing for their passion and eloquence.
Born late in the fourth century to an aristocratic British family, Patrick's life was changed forever when he was abducted and taken to Ireland just before his sixteenth birthday. He spent six grueling years there as a slave, but the ordeal turned him from an atheist into a true believer. After a vision in which God told him he would go home, Patrick escaped captivity and, following a perilous journey, returned safely to Britain to the amazement of his family. But even more amazing to them was his announcement that he intended to go back to Ireland to spend the rest of his life ministering to the people who had once enslaved him.
Set against the turbulent backdrop of the British Isles during the last years of the Roman Empire, St. Patrick of Ireland brilliantly brings to life the real Patrick, shorn of legend, a man whose deep spiritual conviction and devotion helped to transform a country.




How to Catch a Leprechaun

religionAuthor: Adam Wallace
Binding: Hardcover
Creator(s):
  • Andy Elkerton

Studio: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky
Label: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky
Publisher: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky
Manufacturer: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

A New York Times and USA Today Bestseller!

You've been planning night and day, and finally you've created the perfect trap! Now all you need to do is wait. Is this the year you'll finally catch the leprechaun? Start a St. Patrick's Day tradition with this fun and lively children's book.

How to catch a leprechaun?
It's tougher than you think!
He'll turn your whole house upside down.
He's quicker than a wink!





religion
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

Support A Good Job!