الفاتيكان ، والتعويذيون ، وعودة الشيطان

الفاتيكان ، والتعويذيون ، وعودة الشيطان
التفاصيل من Saint Michael و Demon ، نافذة زجاجية ملونة من كنيسة Saint-Martin de Florac Church.
فاسيل / ويكيميديا ​​كومنز

كاهن صقلي وطرز طويل التعويذي الأب بنينو بالينا وقال مؤخرا لإذاعة الفاتيكان أن طلبات طرد الأرواح قد تضاعفت ثلاث مرات في السنوات القليلة الماضية. هناك الآن ، كما قال ، زعم 500,000 حالات الامتلاك الشيطاني المسجلة في إيطاليا كل عام.

مع عدد سكان حول 60 مليون ، وهذا يعني أن الشيطان نشط على ما يبدو في واحد من كل 120 الإيطاليين. هذا كثير من demoniacs والكثير من الشياطين - على الأقل بعض 500,000 منهم إذا لم تكن متعددة المهام.

ونتيجة لهذا الوباء الشيطاني ، ستعقد مدرسة مدتها ستة أيام في روما في نيسان / أبريل في معهد تعليمي كاثوليكي ، هو "الكنيسة البابوية" Regina Apostolorum ، لتدريب رجال الدين على كيفية التعرف والتعامل مع ما هو مملوك بشكل شيطاني.

لماذا الزيادة المفاجئة في الحيازة من قبل الشيطان؟ يعزوها Palilla إلى زيادة في الممارسات التي "تفتح الباب أمام الشيطان" - مثل الأشخاص الذين يبحثون عن السحرة والعرافين ، ويقرؤون بطاقات التاروت ، وعادة ما يمارسون السحر والسحر.

كل هذا يبدو غريبا نوعا ما يخرج من الفاتيكان في عهد البابا فرانسيس "الحديث" على ما يبدو. ومع ذلك ، في حين أن البابا تقدمية اجتماعياً ، فهو محافظ تماماً من الناحية الدينية. الشيطان هو شخص حقيقي ، "مسلحين بالقوى المظلمة"، أعلن في مقابلة تلفزيونية في ديسمبر 2017.

الشيطان ليس شيئًا إن لم يكن مسكونيًا. ليس فقط الكاثوليك الذين يبدو أنهم يملكون. البروتستانتية الإنجيلية المحافظة ، ولا سيما في أشكالها الخمسينية ، شهدت أيضا الحاجة إلى "وزارات الإنقاذ" لأولئك الذين أصبحوا موبوءين بالشياطين ، سواء من الشبح مع الشيطان في الممارسات السحرية أو السحرية أو ببساطة نتيجة لزيادة نشاط الشيطان نهاية العالم تقترب. كما أعلن الراحل بيلي جراهام في يوليو / تموز 2016: "الشيطان ليس حقيقياً وحسب ، بل هو أكبر بكثير مما نحن عليه ، لذا يجب أن يكون لدينا كل الأسباب لخوفه."

تقليد مسيحي

في استعراض مجموعة واسعة من الممارسات الغامضة الحديثة شيطانيًا ، يستمد Palilla من تقاليد مسيحية تتمثل في عرض السحر والسحر مثل الشيطان الذي يعود إلى القديس أوغسطين (354-430 CE) وما بعده. بالنسبة لأغسطين ، حتى أبسط أشكال العرافة - مثل قراءة النجوم ، وفحص أحشاء الحيوانات ، أو مراقبة هروب الطيور للتنبؤ بالمستقبل - كانت تتعامل في الشيطانية.

في العصر الذهبي للحيازة الشيطانية من 1500 إلى 1700 ، تكاثرت demoniacs و exorcists. كان من الصعب أن نقول ، كما هو الحال الآن ، ما إذا كانت الزيادة في التعويذيين نتيجة للزيادة في امتلاك ، أو العكس بالعكس. الحيازة كانت بلا شك معدية جدا.

في أوروبا الكاثوليكية ، قيل إن أديرة الراهبات تظهر علامات الامتلاك. علقت ألسنتهم من أفواههم وتورمهم وأسودهم وصلبهم. ألقوا أنفسهم إلى الوراء حتى لمس أيديهم أقدامهم ومثلت مثل هذا ؛ لقد استخدموا التعبيرات غير المحتشمة ، كما قيل ، من أجل خجل أكثر الرجال فساداً.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


في إنجلترا البروتستانتية ، كان الأطفال في العائلات الإلهية عرضة للإصابة. بالتأكيد في كل من الكاثوليكية الأوروبية والإنجليزية التزميرية ، كانت قوة التعويذي على الشياطين أداة فعالة في إظهار حقيقة الكاثوليكية أو البروتستانتية على التوالي.

لذلك ، من المفارقات ، أن الشيطان خدم مصالح كل من الكنائس الكاثوليكية والبروتستانتية. يبدو أن الكاثوليك والبروتستانت المعاصرين حريصون على إظهار الحقائق الدينية الخاصة بهم ليس فقط ضد المعارضين المذهبين بل ضد "القوى المظلمة" للعلمانية أيضًا.

لماذا الارتفاع الأخير؟

يمكننا أن نحدد تاريخ امتلاك الشياطين في الغرب الحديث إلى أوائل 1970s ، على وجه الخصوص ، إلى لحظة رمزية في فيلم 1973 وطارد الأرواح الشريرة. هناك الشيطان داخل ريغان 12 عاما عاما يعلن لطرد الأرواح الشريرة داميان كاراس: "وأنا الشيطان. الآن التراجع عن هذه الأشرطة ". عندما يسأل الكاهن ،" أين ريغان؟ "، يجيب الشيطان:" هنا. معنا."

كانت هذه بداية لإعادة التفاعل مع الشيطاني في الأفلام والتلفزيون والأدب والموسيقى - وفي المسيحية - التي استمرت حتى الوقت الحاضر. وقد أثر ذلك في الذعر الأخلاقي حول الاعتداء الجنسي المتصور للأطفال في الطقوس الشيطانية. كما ساهم في زيادة الشكوك (على الرغم من أنها غير مبررة) بين المسيحيين المحافظين من التأثير الشيطاني في تطور حركات العصر الجديد ، ولا سيما السحر الحديث (Wicca) والوثنية الجديدة.

إن عودة ظهور الشيطان في الثقافة الغربية الشعبية جزء من علاقة جديدة مع عالم مسحور. احتضنت الثقافة الشعبية عالمًا من كائنات ما قبل الطبيعة على الصالح والشر على حد سواء - مصاصو الدماء والجنيات ، والسحرة والمعالجات ، وذئاب ضارية وأبطال ، ومبدلات الأشكال والأبطال الخارقين ، و succubi ، و incubi ، و الجان ، والأجانب ، و hobbits ، ومقيمي Hogwarts ، ناهيك الاموات الاحياء.

لذلك يوجد الآن عالم مسحور إلى جانب العالم الذي لا يلين. إنه مكان متعدد المعاني حيث يحتل خارق الطبيعة مكانًا ما بين الواقع والواقعية. إنه مجال حيث الاعتقاد هو مسألة اختيار وعدم التصديق عن طيب خاطر وسعادة. الرعب والانبهار بسعادة الاختلاط مع بعضها البعض.

في هذا العالم المسحور حديثًا ، وجد الشيطان مرة أخرى مكانًا. إن هذا العالم الخيالي الجديد هو الذي مكن الخوف من الشيطان مرة أخرى من التقاط الخيال الغربي الحديث.

المحادثةإن هذا العالم الذي أعيد اكتشافه من خارق الطبيعة ، كما كان لدى الكاثوليكية المحافظة والبروتستانتية ، قد مكّن الشيطان ، في كلمات العهد الجديد ، من "التجوّل مثل أسد صاخب يبحث عن من يبتلعه".

نبذة عن الكاتب

فيليب ألموند ، أستاذ متفرغ في تاريخ الفكر الديني ، جامعة كوينزلاند

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

الكتب المطبوعة من قبل المؤلف:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Philip C. Almond;maxresults=3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

The Vatican, The Exorcists, And The Return Of The Devil

religion

The Vatican, The Exorcists, And The Return Of The Devil
Detail from Saint Michael and the Demon, a neogothical stained glass window from Saint-Martin de Florac Church.
Vassil/Wikimedia Commons 

Sicilian priest and long-time exorcist Father Benigno Palilla recently told Vatican Radio that requests for exorcisms had tripled in the past few years. There were now, he said, 500,000 alleged cases of demonic possession recorded in Italy each year.

With a population of around 60 million, this means the Devil is apparently active in one of every 120 Italians. That’s a lot of demoniacs and a lot of demons – at least some 500,000 of them if they’re not multi-tasking.

As a result of this demonic epidemic, a six-day school will be held in Rome in April at a Catholic education institute, the Pontifical Athenaeum Regina Apostolorum, to train clergy in how to recognise and deal with the demonically possessed.

Why the sudden increase in possession by the Devil? Palilla attributes it to an increase in practices that “open the door to the Devil” – such as people seeking out wizards and fortune tellers, reading tarot cards, and generally dabbling in magic and the occult.

All this seems rather odd coming out of a Vatican under the reign of the apparently “modern” Pope Francis. Yet, while the pope is socially progressive, he is theologically quite conservative. The Devil is a real person, “armed with dark powers”, he declared in a television interview in December 2017.

The Devil is nothing if not ecumenical. It is not merely Catholics who apparently become possessed. Conservative evangelical Protestantism, particularly in its Pentecostal forms, has also seen the need for “deliverance ministries” for those who have become infested with demons whether from dabbling with the Devil in occult and magical practices or simply as a result of the Devil’s increased activity as the end of the world approaches. As the late Billy Graham declared in July 2016: “Satan is not only real, but he is far greater than we are, so great that we should have every reason to fear him.”

A Christian tradition

In viewing a vast array of modern occult practices as demonic, Palilla is drawing on a Christian tradition of viewing magic and the occult as satanic that goes back to Saint Augustine (354-430 CE) and beyond. For Augustine, even the simplest forms of divination – like reading the stars, examining the entrails of animals, or observing the flight of birds to foretell the future – were dealing in the satanic.

In the golden age of demonic possession from 1500 to 1700, demoniacs and exorcists multiplied. It was difficult to tell then, as now, whether the increase in exorcists was a consequence of the increase in the possessed, or vice versa. Possession was undoubtedly very contagious.

In Catholic Europe, convents of nuns were said to show the signs of possession. Their tongues hung from their mouths, swollen, black and hard; they threw themselves backwards until their hands touched their feet and walked around like that; they made use of expressions so indecent, it was said, as to shame the most debauched of men.

In Protestant England, children in godly households were prone to be “infected”. Certainly in both European Catholicism and English Puritanism, the power of the exorcist over the demons was an effective tool in demonstrating the truth of Catholicism or Protestantism respectively.

So, ironically, the Devil served the interests of both Catholic and Protestant churches. Modern Catholics and Protestants seem just as keen on demonstrating their respective religious truths not only against confessional opponents but against the “dark powers” of secularism too.

Why the recent rise?

We can date the rise of demonic possession in the modern West to the early 1970s, in particular, to an emblematic moment in the 1973 film The Exorcist. There the demon inside the 12-year-old Regan announces to the exorcist Father Damien Karras: “And I’m the Devil. Now kindly undo these straps.” When the priest asks, “Where’s Regan?”, the demon responds: “In here. With us.”

This was the beginning of a re-engagement with the demonic in film, television, literature and music – and in Christianity – that has lasted to the present. It influenced the moral panic about the imagined sexual abuse of children in satanic cults. It also contributed to the increased (although unwarranted) suspicions among conservative Christians of demonic influence in the developing New Age movements, particularly modern witchcraft (Wicca) and neo-paganism.

This re-emergence of the Devil in popular Western culture is part of a new engagement with an enchanted world. Popular culture has embraced a realm of preternatural beings both good and evil – vampires and fairies, witches and wizards, werewolves and wraiths, shape-shifters and superheroes, succubi and incubi, elves and aliens, hobbits and the denizens of Hogwarts, not to mention zombies.

So an enchanted world now exists alongside the disenchanted one. It is a place of multiple meanings where the supernatural occupies a space somewhere between reality and unreality. It is a domain where belief is a matter of choice and disbelief willingly and happily suspended. Horror and fascination happily mingle with each other.

In this newly enchanted world, the Devil has once again found a place. It is this new imaginary realm that has enabled the fear of the Devil yet again to capture the modern Western imagination.

The ConversationThis rediscovered realm of the supernatural has, as conservative Catholicism and Protestantism would have it, enabled the Devil, in the words of the New Testament, “to prowl about like a roaring lion seeking whom he may devour”.

About The Author

Philip Almond, Emeritus Professor in the History of Religious Thought, The University of Queensland

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Books by this Author:

Prentice Hall Literature: Timeless Voices, Timeless Themes, Gold Level, Annotated Teacher's Edition
religionAuthor: Prentice Hall
Binding: Hardcover
Format: Teacher's Edition
Publisher: Prentice Hall
List Price: $47.88

Buy Now

The Maker's Diet
religionAuthor: Jordan S. Rubin
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Berkley
List Price: $13.99

Buy Now

Robustness Theory and Application (Wiley Series in Probability and Statistics)
religionAuthor: Brenton R. Clarke
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Wiley
List Price: $99.00

Buy Now

religion
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}