Ralentir Dans l'ordonnance Pour y arriver plus tôt!

Ralentir Dans l'ordonnance Pour y arriver plus tôt!
Crédit photo: Goran Andjelic (CC 4.0)

Dans mon entreprise de services piano, j'ai travaillé de nombreuses semaines de sept jours, et quelque quatorze à seize heures par jour. Une fois, quand j'ai eu une journée particulièrement longue devant moi, j'ai décidé de mettre tous mes efforts dans délibérément lent. En travaillant de cette manière peut sembler contre-productif, mais je ne pouvais pas obtenir un jour de congé, alors va lentement pendant au moins une journée semblait plutôt attrayant.

Je devais commencer avec une préparation de concert sur un piano à queue pour l'orchestre symphonique local. Je devais préparer le piano soliste dans la matinée, avec un piano qui serait utilisé dans l'orchestre. Par la suite j'ai eu les travaux qui s'étend sur deux Etats, et puis j'ai dû retourner à la salle de concert de vérifier les deux pianos à nouveau. La charge de travail était environ deux fois et demie le montant qui a été considéré comme horaire d'une journée entière dans le commerce.

Slow Down Vous allez trop vite!

Quand j'ai commencé le piano d'abord, j'ai mis tous mes efforts dans sa lenteur. J'ai ouvert ma boîte à outils très lentement. J'ai pris chacun outil à la fois. J'ai placé chaque outil parfaitement en position. Quand j'ai commencé la mise en place du piano, j'ai effectué chaque processus individuellement, tente délibérément de travailler lentement.

Essayer de travailler lentement crée des sentiments bizarres. Dans un premier temps, votre dialogue interne est hurlant à vous pour y aller et accélérer le rythme. Il crie à toi, "Nous ne serons jamais que cela se fasse! Vous perdez votre temps! "Il vous rappelle de la valeur de toute la journée de travail que vous avez à se faire.

Vous pouvez ressentir de l'anxiété de commencer à construire et les émotions de flotter à la surface. Cependant, votre ego perd rapidement de terre à la simplicité de faire une chose à la fois et de le faire lentement, sur le but. Votre ego n'a pas d'espace pour construire le stress et travailler jusqu'à bavardage intérieur. Vous pouvez travailler lentement que si vous le faites volontairement. Etre volontaire vous oblige à rester dans le processus, de travailler dans le moment présent.

Après avoir fini le premier instrument, je suis passé par le processus d 'emballer mes outils avec un soin méticuleux, juste pour marcher dix mètres et décompressez-les lentement, un à la fois, pour démarrer sur le second piano. Rushing était devenu tellement une habitude que j'ai été étonné de la quantité de concentration, il a eu à travailler lentement sur le but.

J'ai enlevé ma montre je ne voudrais pas être tenté de regarder l'heure et laisser influencer que mon rythme. Je me suis dit: «Je fais cela pour moi et pour ma santé, tant physique que mentale. J'ai un téléphone portable, et, le cas échéant, je peux appeler qui que ce soit et leur dire que je suis en retard ... "


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Prendre le temps de Take Your Time

J'ai commencé à réaliser à quel point je me sentais merveilleuse. Aucune estomac nerveux, pas d'anticipation de passer à travers la journée, et sans muscles serrés dans mes épaules et le cou. Tout cela détendue, paisible, ce qui-a-nice-day-it-ressent. Tout ce que vous pouvez faire dans un état précipité est étonnamment facile quand on a délibérément ralentir.

Quand j'ai fini le second piano, très lentement, je range ma outils par un, avec mon attention sur chaque détail. J'ai continué mon effort à ralentir alors que je marchais vers mon camion un pâté de maisons. Je marchais très lentement, en accordant une attention à chaque étape.

Quand je suis arrivé dans le camion, son radio-réveil est venu sur le tour de ma clé, et j'ai été abasourdi. Si peu de temps avait passé par rapport à ce que j'avais habituellement consacré au travail même dans le passé que j'étais sûr que l'horloge est incorrecte.

Time Warp?

Ralentir Dans l'ordonnance Pour y arriver plus tôt!Gardez à l'esprit que je venais de répéter un travail que j'avais fait pendant de nombreuses années. J'avais mis en place ces pianos ainsi peut-être cinq ou six fois par semaine, donc j'ai eu une idée très réelle du temps impliqué dans le projet. J'ai tiré ma montre de ma poche. Il est convenu avec le radio réveil: j'avais coupé sur off pour cent 40 l'heure habituelle. J'avais essayé de travailler le plus lentement possible, et j'avais été sûr que je courais une heure de retard. Pourtant, j'avais travaillé soit plus rapide (ce qui ne semble pas possible, étant donné mon attention sur la lenteur) ou ralentissement du temps vers le bas (une idée intéressante, mais peu de gens l'acheter).

De toute façon, j'ai été suffisamment motivés pour persévérer dans l'expérience tout au long du reste de la journée. Je suis tellement en avance sur le calendrier que j'ai été s'offrir le luxe d'un repas civilisé dans un bon restaurant, au lieu de mon sandwich habituelle dans le camion ou pas de repas du tout.

J'ai répété ces résultats systématiquement à chaque fois que j'ai travaillé à être lent et délibéré. J'ai utilisé cette technique dans tout, de nettoyer la vaisselle après le dîner pour tâches monotones de la restauration de piano. La seule chose qui me déjoue sont ces moments où je me trouve à la dérive entre le travail avec une lenteur et de succomber au sentiment que je dois obtenir une tâche effectuée rapidement.

Une étape à moins de temps; One Moment à la fois

Quand j'ai décidé de travailler à la lenteur lors de cette journée particulièrement longue, je ne me suis pas dit que je le ferais pour toute la journée, même si tel était le but. Je me disais, "Disons juste voir si je peux prendre lentement sur mes outils pour préparer le premier piano.« Quand j'ai eu terminé, je dirais, "Disons juste voir si je peux régler la section du milieu du piano lentement », et ainsi de suite. J'ai simplifié le processus en le décomposant en petites sections qui doivent me concentrer pendant de courtes périodes de temps.

Un exercice que j'utilise pour démarrer ma journée dans cet état d'esprit est me brosser les dents lentement. Se brosser les dents exige lentement que vous faites attention et vous oblige dans le moment présent. Il s'agit d'un exercice d'entraînement très pratique pour l'enseignement de la conscience du moment présent. Lorsqu'on la combine à un événement stressant, jour surchargés, il donne l'expérience de ce que c'est que de ralentir et d'être pleinement présent à une activité.

Reproduit avec la permission de l'éditeur,
New World Library, Novato, CA. © 2012 par Thomas M. Sterner.
www.newworldlibrary.com
ou 800-972-6657 poste. 52.

Source de l'article

L'esprit pratiquant: développer l'attention et la discipline dans votre vie - Maîtrisez toute compétence ou défi en apprenant à aimer le processus
par Thomas M. Sterner.

L'esprit Pratique: Mise au point et développement de la discipline dans votre vie de Thomas M. Sterner.Dans ces moments où nous voulons acquérir une nouvelle compétence ou faire face à un formidable défi que nous espérons surmonter, ce que nous avons le plus besoin sont la patience, la concentration et la discipline, les traits qui semblent insaisissables et difficiles à maintenir. Dans ce livre séduisant et pratique, Thomas Sterner montre comment acquérir des compétences pour tous les aspects de la vie, de jouer au golf pour les entreprises à la parentalité, en apprenant à aimer le processus.

Pour plus d'informations ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon.

A propos de l'auteur

M. Thomas Sterner, auteur de: L'esprit PratiquerThomas M. Sterner a étudié la philosophie orientale et occidentale et moderne psychologie du sport et une formation de pianiste de concert. Depuis plus de vingt-cinq ans, il a servi en tant que technicien piano de concert en chef pour un grand centre des arts d'interprétation. Il a préparé et maintenu le piano à queue de concert pour des centaines de renommée mondiale (et exigeant) musiciens et chefs d'orchestre symphoniques, et sa journée de travail typique nécessaire interaction constante avec des artistes très disciplinés et concentrés. Il effectuerait des procédures délicates souvent des centaines de fois par le piano avec peu ou pas d'erreurs coûteuses. Être discipliné et concentré ont été la clé de sa survie, et elle devint sa joie. Dans le même temps, il exploitait une installation de remise à neuf piano, pianos vintage à la reconstruction de l'usine à l'état neuf. Visiter son site internet www.thepracticingmind.com

Slowing Down In Order To Get There Sooner!

Slowing Down In Order To Get There Sooner!
Photo credit: Goran Andjelic (CC 4.0)

In my piano service business, I worked many seven-day weeks, and some fourteen- to sixteen-hour days. Once, when I had a particularly long day ahead of me, I decided I would put all my effort into deliberately working slowly. Working this way might sound counterproductive, but I couldn’t get a day off, so going slowly for at least one day seemed rather appealing.

I was to start with a concert preparation on a grand piano for the local symphony. I was to prepare the soloist’s piano in the morning, along with a second piano that would be used in the orchestra. Afterward I had service work that extended over two states, and then I had to return to the concert hall to check the two pianos once again. The workload was about two and a half times the amount that was considered a full day’s schedule in the trade.

Slow Down You're Going Too Fast!

When I started on the first piano, I put all my effort into being slow. I opened my toolbox very slowly. I took out each tool one at a time. I placed each tool neatly in position. When I began setting up the piano, I performed each process individually, deliberately trying to work slowly.

Trying to work slowly creates funny feelings. At first, your internal dialogue is howling at you to get going and pick up the pace. It screams at you, “We’ll never get this done! You are wasting time!” It reminds you of the whole day’s worth of work you have to get done.

You can feel anxiety starting to build and emotions floating up to the surface. However, your ego quickly loses ground to the simplicity of doing one thing at a time and doing it slowly, on purpose. Your ego has no space in which to build stress and work up internal chatter. You can work slowly only if you do it deliberately. Being deliberate requires you to stay in the process, to work in the present moment.

After I finished the first instrument, I went through the process of packing up my tools with meticulous care, just to walk ten feet away and unpack them slowly, one at a time, to start on the second piano. Rushing had become so much of a habit that I was amazed at the amount of concentration it took to work slowly on purpose.

I took off my watch so I wouldn’t be tempted to look at the time and let that influence my pace. I told myself, “I am doing this for me and for my health, both physical and mental. I have a cell phone, and, if need be, I can call whomever and tell them I am running late...”


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Taking The Time to Take Your Time

I began to realize how wonderful I felt. No nervous stomach, no anticipation of getting through the day, and no tight muscles in my shoulders and neck. Just this relaxed, peaceful, what-a-nice-day-it-is feeling. Anything you can do in a rushed state is surprisingly easy when you deliberately slow it down.

When I finished the second piano, I very slowly put away my tools one by one, with my attention on every detail. I continued my effort at slowing down as I walked to my truck a block away. I walked very slowly, paying attention to each step.

When I got into the truck, its clock radio came on with the turn of my key, and I was dumbfounded. So little time had passed compared to what I had usually spent on the same job in the past that I was sure the clock was incorrect.

Time Warp?

Slowing Down In Order To Get There Sooner!Keep in mind that I had just repeated a job that I had done for many years. I had set up these pianos together perhaps five or six times a week, so I had a very real concept of the time involved in the project. I pulled my watch out of my pocket. It agreed with the clock radio: I had cut over 40 percent off the usual time. I had tried to work as slowly as possible, and I had been sure I was running an hour late. Yet I had either worked faster (which didn’t seem possible, given my attention to slowness) or slowed time down (an interesting thought, but few would buy it).

Either way, I was sufficiently motivated to press on with the experiment throughout the remainder of the day. I got so far ahead of schedule that I was afforded the luxury of a civilized meal in a nice restaurant, instead of my usual sandwich in the truck or no lunch at all.

I have repeated these results consistently every time I have worked at being slow and deliberate. I have used this technique in everything from cleaning up the dishes after dinner to monotonous tasks of piano restoration. The only thing that foils me is those times when I find myself drifting between working with slowness and succumbing to the feeling that I must get a task done quickly.

One Step at at Time; One Moment at a Time

When I decided to work at slowness during that particularly long day, I didn’t tell myself I would do it for the whole day, even though that was the goal. I would say to myself, “Let’s just see if I can slowly take out my tools to prepare the first piano.” When I had completed that, I would say, “Let’s just see if I can tune the middle section of the piano slowly,” and so forth. I simplified the whole process by breaking it down into small sections that required me to focus for short periods of time.

An exercise I use to start my day in this mindset is brushing my teeth slowly. Brushing your teeth slowly demands that you pay attention and forces you into the present moment. It is a very practical training exercise for teaching present-moment awareness. When juxtaposed against a stressful, overscheduled day, it gives the experience of what it feels like to slow down and be fully present in an activity.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
New World Library, Novato, CA. ©2012 by Thomas M. Sterner.
www.newworldlibrary.com
or 800-972-6657 ext. 52.

Article Source

The Practicing Mind: Developing Focus and Discipline in Your Life — Master Any Skill or Challenge by Learning to Love the Process
by Thomas M. Sterner.

The Practicing Mind: Developing Focus and Discipline in Your Life by Thomas M. Sterner.In those times when we want to acquire a new skill or face a formidable challenge we hope to overcome, what we need most are patience, focus, and discipline, traits that seem elusive or difficult to maintain. In this enticing and practical book, Thomas Sterner demonstrates how to learn skills for any aspect of life, from golfing to business to parenting, by learning to love the process.

For More Info or to Order This Book on Amazon.

About the Author

Thomas M. Sterner, author of: The Practicing MindThomas M. Sterner has studied Eastern and Western philosophy and modern sports psychology and trained as a concert pianist. For more than twenty-five years, he served as the chief concert piano technician for a major performing arts center. He prepared and maintained the concert grand piano for hundreds of world-renowned (and demanding) musicians and symphony conductors, and his typical workday required constant interaction with highly disciplined and focused artists. He would perform delicate procedures often hundreds of times per piano with little or no room for costly errors. Being disciplined and focused were his key to survival, and became his joy. At the same time, he operated a piano remanufacturing facility, rebuilding vintage pianos to factory-new condition. Visit his website www.thepracticingmind.com
 

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration
 

INNERSELF VOICES

What Does Our Authority Rest Upon?
What Does Our Authority Rest Upon?
by Pierre Pradervand
For thousands of years, ever since mankind started settling in cities, we evolved in rigid,…
The Birthing of A New World Which Is Struggling to be Born
The Birthing of A New World Which Is Struggling to be Born
by Ervin Laszlo
Talk of fundamental change in the world around us is often met with skepticism. Change in society,…
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
by Peter Ruppert
We all experience positive and negative self-talk on a regular basis. Whether you realize it or…
Horoscope Current Week: April 19 - 25, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: April 19 - 25, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
by Stacee L. Reicherzer PhD
If you’ve contracted COVID, you not only had health problems that may have been life-threatening,…
Awakening to the Dream of the Earth and Loving the World
Awakening to the Dream of the Earth and Loving the World
by Bill Plotkin, Ph.D.
The most important question is not how to survive biodiversity loss, climate disruption, ecological…
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career 
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career
by Paula Caligiuri, Ph.D.
Even if your tolerance of ambiguity is lower, there are proven ways to build this important…
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
by Mary J. Cronin, Ph.D.
One approach that addresses the challenges families face today comes down to a familiar but often…

MOST READ

Is Your Bedroom Sacred?
Is Your Bedroom Sacred? Honoring Your Personal Sanctuary
by Jon Robertson
The bedroom is home to our prayers and dreams, our solitude and sexuality. In this inner sanctum,…
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
by Peter Ruppert
We all experience positive and negative self-talk on a regular basis. Whether you realize it or…
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
by Mary J. Cronin, Ph.D.
One approach that addresses the challenges families face today comes down to a familiar but often…
How To Stop Psychopaths and Narcissists From Winning Positions of Power
How To Stop Psychopaths and Narcissists From Winning Positions of Power
by Steve Taylor, Leeds Beckett University
In the past, this was mostly due to hereditary systems which assigned power to kings and lords and…
Enlightenment Is Not a Goal -- It Is A Great Acceptance
Enlightenment Is Not a Goal -- It Is A Great Acceptance
by Osho
Don't think about enlightenment as a goal, it is not. It is not a goal; it is not something that…
Prosperity and Being of Service to Others vs. Vanity and Pride
Prosperity and Being of Service to Others vs. Vanity and Pride
by James Dillehay
Vanity means pride or self-worship, which is different from self-love. In the effervescence of…
Reducing the Influence of the Ego... For Our Highest Good
Reducing the Influence of the Ego... For Our Highest Good
by Lawrence Doochin
We each have a choice, and let's be clear what that choice is. Martin Luther King Jr. told us that…
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
by Stacee L. Reicherzer PhD
If you’ve contracted COVID, you not only had health problems that may have been life-threatening,…
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career 
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career
by Paula Caligiuri, Ph.D.
Even if your tolerance of ambiguity is lower, there are proven ways to build this important…
At What Age Are People Usually Happiest? New Research Offers Surprising Clues
At What Age Are People Usually Happiest? New Research Offers Surprising Clues
by Clare Mehta, Emmanuel College
If you could be one age for the rest of your life, what would it be? Would you choose to be nine…
What Makes A Job Meaningful and Why That Matters
What Makes A Job Meaningful and Why That Matters
by Andrew Bryce, University of Sheffield
Work provides many things over and above the monthly pay cheque: status and identity, community and…
3 Ways Music Educators Can Help Students With Autism Develop Their Emotions
3 Ways Music Educators Can Help Students With Autism Develop Their Emotions
by Dawn R. Mitchell White, University of South Florida
Many children with autism struggle to find the words to express how they feel. But when it comes to…
The Healing Power of Imaginative Play
The Healing Power of Imaginative Play
by Carmen Viktoria Gamper
Just as adults benefit from talking about their challenges with friends or a therapist, many…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.