Gesund auf unsere Gefühle reagieren

Gesund auf unsere Gefühle reagieren

Wenn wir lernen, auf die Emotionen und Gefühle, die auftauchen, gesünder zu reagieren, können wir die Qualität unseres Lebens radikal verändern. Eine der größten Enttäuschungen, die ich beim Erwachsenwerden empfand, war, dass mir nie jemand im Umgang mit Emotionen geholfen hat. Die Erfahrung muss sehr weit verbreitet sein, denn als Psychotherapeut ist es vielleicht der Hauptaspekt meiner Arbeit, Menschen zu helfen, zu entdecken, wie man mit ihren Gefühlen lebt.

Bei der Erforschung der Leitung des emotionalen Lebens, habe ich es für sinnvoll zusammen zu bringen zwei Threads von meinem eigenen Hintergrund, einer aus meiner Erfahrung als Psychotherapeut gezogen, der andere aus meiner Erfahrung als Meditierende. Als ich anfing zu arbeiten als Therapeutin war ich bewusst einen Unterschied in diesen beiden Stilen des Umgangs mit dem Gefühlsleben.

Zunächst schien Psychotherapie im Blick auf die Ursprünge unserer emotionalen Gewohnheiten und sprechen sie über absorbiert, während der Buddhismus zu sein schien mehr daran interessiert, zu zähmen und die Kontrolle der Emotionen, um einen Zustand geistiger Ruhe zu erreichen. Im Laufe der Zeit hat sich mein Verständnis beider Methoden vertieft und subtiler geworden, und ich jetzt feststellen, dass die reflektierende und kontemplative Herangehensweisen und ergänzen gegenseitig informieren, sowohl in meiner Arbeit als Therapeutin und in meinem persönlichen Leben.

Die Vermeidung oder verwandelt sie Gefühle?

Diese Erkundung wurde jedoch hervorgehoben ein besonderes Anliegen: nämlich das Potenzial für diejenigen, die Meditationspraxis zu entwickeln, um sie als Mittel, um Gefühle zu vermeiden, anstatt sie zu verwandeln verwenden.

Wenn spirituelle Praxis wirklich in das tägliche Leben integriert ist, spiegelt sich dies in unserem Moment und in jedem Tag mit unseren Gefühlen und Emotionen wider. Einige, die behaupten, eine großartige Meditationserfahrung zu haben, können immer noch starke emotionale Probleme haben. Andere, die in der Meditation gleichermaßen erfahren sind, zeigen Anzeichen dafür, dass sie ihre Fähigkeit, Gefühle und Gefühle auf ziemlich ungesunde Weise zu unterdrücken, unterdrückt haben. Dann stellt sich die Frage, ob jemand, der tiefe Einsichten in die Meditation entwickelt, frei von Emotionen und emotionalen Reaktionen sein sollte.

Ich habe mich oft über Leute amüsiert, die sagen, wenn ich ehrlich ausdrücke, wie ich emotional auf etwas reagiert habe: "Aber du bist ein Buddhist, solltest du keine emotionalen Probleme haben." Offensichtlich denken sie, dass die buddhistische Meditationspraxis es sollte eliminiere Gefühle und Emotionen.

Als Reaktion auf Emotionen auf gesunde Weise?

Meine Antwort darauf ist, dass die Absicht der buddhistischen Praxis nicht zu emotional steril, sondern um die Fähigkeit, die Emotionen in einer gesunden Art und Weise zu reagieren. In diesem Zusammenhang noch einmal, es ist nicht die Tatsache, dass wir das Gefühl oder emotionale Reaktionen auf der Welt, das ist das Problem haben, aber genau, wie wir sind mit ihnen.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Wenn ein Gefühl entsteht wir, um es in einer Reihe von Arten zu reagieren. Wir können vollständig absorbiert oder in sie, um den psychologischen Sprache zu verwenden, "mit ihr identifiziert," so dass alles, was wir fühlen, die überwältigende Kraft der Emotion ist. Wenn wir verletzt sind, wir können so ganz und gar in den Schmerz absorbiert ist es, als ob wir die verletzt sind. Zu dieser Zeit kann es unerträglich und alles verzehrende, als ob es keine andere Wirklichkeit.

Zeugen der Erfahrung

Darüber hinaus können wir direkt reagieren und instinktiv vom Ort der Verletzung. Wir können brechen, streichen, oder in die Defensive. In diesem Zustand identifiziert gibt es wenig Bewusstsein für die Entfaltung emotionaler Prozess. Wir sind nicht in der Lage, die Erfahrung, Zeuge geworden, weil wir verloren in ihm haben.

Wenn wir so in unsere Gefühle verloren und haben kein Bewusstsein, das sie erleben können, ist es, als ob wir unbewusst sind. Wir werden auch nicht in der Lage, die zugrunde liegende Verfahren, die aufgetreten sind, daß dadurch die emotionalen Zustand zu geben hat, zu beobachten. Wenn wir den Prozess verlangsamen könnte, so zu sprechen, könnten wir sehen, dass diese Emotionen in einer relativ subtile Gefühl, das, wie wir unsere Kontraktion verstärkt um und in dem Gefühl aufgewachsen begann. Schließlich wurde es zum vollwertigen emotionale Reaktion.

Akzeptieren unsere Gefühle ohne Urteil

Gefühle, mit denen wir jahrelang zu kämpfen hatten, werden nur dann transformiert, wenn wir sie ohne Urteil und ohne Kontraktion akzeptieren. Das bedeutet nicht, dass unsere Gefühle verschwinden, aber wir werden in der Lage sein, mit ihnen auf eine ganz andere Weise zu leben. Emotionen entstehen, sind aber in der Lage durchzukommen, ohne stecken zu bleiben.

Unsere Gefühle sind vielleicht die größte Herausforderung, der wir jemals begegnen. Es ist von zentraler Bedeutung für buddhistische Denken Sie jedoch, dass die Auflösung auf die Probleme des Lebens durch eine Veränderung innerhalb der in den Sinn kommt. Dies ist sicherlich im Hinblick auf unsere fühlte Beziehung zur Welt wahr.

Gefühl Freude oder Schmerz Voll & Openly

Es gibt in diesem Sinne keine äußere Problem, das nicht durch eine Fähigkeit, die unser Verhältnis zu unserem emotionalen Leben verändern wird gelöst werden. Wenn wir uns damit abfinden, diese Wahrheit, es gibt ein Gefühl der Befreiung.

Unser Leben zu transformieren bedeutet mehr als nur die ganze Zeit positiv zu sein: Es ist die Fähigkeit, die Dinge voll zu fühlen, sei es in Vergnügen oder Schmerz, sondern um offen und geräumig zu bleiben. Diese Geräumigkeit in unserer Erfahrung besteht nicht darin, das Leben positiv zu machen; es ist nur offen, engagiert und authentisch zu dem, was ist.

Nachdruck mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Herausgebers,
Snow Lion Publications. © 2010.
www.snowlionpub.com.

Artikel Quelle

Die Weisheit der Unvollkommenheit von Rob Preece: Dieser Artikel wurde aus dem Buch entnommen.Die Weisheit der Unvollkommenheit: Die Herausforderung der Individuation im buddhistischen Leben
von Rob Preece.

Klicken Sie hier für weitere Informationen und / oder dieses Buch auf Amazon bestellen.

Über den Autor

Rob Preece, Autor des Artikels: Leben mit dem Gefühle & Emotionen

Der Psychotherapeut und Meditationslehrer Rob Preece stützt sich auf seine 19-Jahre als Psychotherapeut und viele Jahre als Meditationslehrer, um die psychologischen Einflüsse auf unseren Kampf zu erwecken. Rob Preece ist seit 1973 praktizierender Buddhist, hauptsächlich innerhalb der tibetisch-buddhistischen Tradition. Seit 1987 hat er viele Workshops zur vergleichenden buddhistischen und jungianischen Psychologie gegeben. Er ist ein erfahrener Meditationslehrer und Thangka-Maler (buddhistische Ikonen). Besuchen Sie seine Website unter http://www.mudra.co.uk/

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

VON DEN HERAUSGEBERN

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by Innerself Mitarbeiter
Wir sehen das Leben durch die Linsen unserer Wahrnehmung. Stephen R. Covey schrieb: „Wir sehen die Welt nicht so wie sie ist, sondern so wie wir sind oder wie wir konditioniert sind, um sie zu sehen.“ Also schauen wir uns diese Woche einige an…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by Innerself Mitarbeiter
Die Straßen, auf denen wir heutzutage unterwegs sind, sind so alt wie die Zeit, aber für uns neu. Die Erfahrungen, die wir machen, sind so alt wie die Zeit, aber sie sind auch neu für uns. Gleiches gilt für die…
Wenn die Wahrheit so schrecklich ist, dass es weh tut, ergreifen Sie Maßnahmen
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Inmitten all der Schrecken, die heutzutage stattfinden, inspirieren mich die Hoffnungsschimmer, die durchscheinen. Gewöhnliche Menschen, die sich für das einsetzen, was richtig ist (und gegen das, was falsch ist). Baseballspieler,…
Wenn dein Rücken an der Wand steht
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Ich liebe das Internet. Jetzt weiß ich, dass viele Leute viele schlechte Dinge darüber zu sagen haben, aber ich liebe es. So wie ich die Menschen in meinem Leben liebe - sie sind nicht perfekt, aber ich liebe sie trotzdem.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by Innerself Mitarbeiter
Jeder kann wahrscheinlich zustimmen, dass wir in seltsamen Zeiten leben ... neue Erfahrungen, neue Einstellungen, neue Herausforderungen. Aber wir können ermutigt werden, uns daran zu erinnern, dass immer alles im Fluss ist,…

Responding Healthily to Our Emotions & Feelings

Responding Healthily to Our Emotions & Feelings

When we learn to respond more healthily to the emotions and feel­ings that arise, we can radically change the quality of our lives. One of the greatest disappointments I felt in growing up was that no one ever gave me help in dealing with emotions. The experience must be extremely widespread, because as a psychotherapist possibly the main aspect of my work is helping people discover how to live with their feelings.

In exploring the management of the emotional life, I have found it useful to bring together two threads of my own background, one drawn from my experience as a psychotherapist, the other from my experience as a meditator. When I first began to work as a therapist I was conscious of a difference in these two styles of dealing with the emotional life.

Initially, psychotherapy seemed absorbed in looking at the origins of our emotional habits and talking them through, while Buddhism seemed to be more interested in taming and controlling the emotions in order to achieve a state of mental quiescence. Over time, my understanding of both methods has deepened and become more subtle, and I now find that the reflective and contemplative approaches complement and inform each other, both in my work as a therapist and in my personal life.

Avoiding Feelings or Transforming Them?

This exploration has, however, highlighted a particular concern: namely, the potential for those who develop meditation practices to use them as a means to avoid feelings rather than to transform them.

When spiritual practice is genuinely integrated in daily life, this is reflected in how we are, moment by moment and day by day, with our feelings and emotions. Some who claim to have a great experience of meditation may still display strong emotional problems. Others equally experienced in meditation show signs of having repressed their capac­ity for feeling and emotions in quite unhealthy ways. The question then arises as to whether someone who is developing deep insights in med­itation should be free of emotions and emotional reactions.

I have often been amused by people who say, when I honestly express how I have emotionally reacted to something, “But you’re a Buddhist, you shouldn’t have any emotional problems.” Evidently they think that Buddhist meditation practice is supposed to eliminate feel­ings and emotions.

Responding to Emotions in a Healthy Way?

My answer to this is that the intention of Buddhist practice is not to become emotionally sterile but to have the capacity to respond to emotions in a healthy way. In this respect, once again, it is not the fact that we have feeling or emotional responses to the world that is the problem, but exactly how we are with them.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

When an emotion arises we can respond to it in a number of ways. We may become completely absorbed in it or, to use the psychological language, “identified with it,” so that all we feel is the overwhelming power of the emotion. If we are hurt we may become so utterly absorbed in the hurt it is as though we are the hurt. At this time it can be unbearable and all-consuming, as though there is no other reality.

Witnessing the Experience

Furthermore, we may respond directly and instinctually from the place of hurt. We may break down, strike out, or become defensive. In this identified state there is little awareness of the emotional process unfolding. We are not able to witness the experience because we have become lost in it.

When we are so lost in our feelings and have no awareness that can witness them, it is as though we are unconscious. We will also be unable to observe the underlying process that has occurred to give rise to the emotional state. If we could slow the process down, so to speak, we might see that this emotion began in a relatively subtle feeling that grew as we intensified our contraction around and into the feeling. Eventually, it became the full-blown emotional response.

Accepting our Feelings without Judgment

Feelings we may have strug­gled with for years are transformed only when we utterly accept them without judgment and without contraction. This does not mean our feelings disappear, but we become able to live with them in a very dif­ferent way. Emotions arise but are able to pass through without becom­ing stuck.

Our emotions are possibly the greatest challenge we ever encounter. It is central to Buddhist thinking, however, that the resolution to life’s problems comes through a change within the mind. This is certainly true in terms of our felt relationship to the world.

Feeling Pleasure or Pain Fully & Openly

There is, in this sense, no outer problem that will not be resolved through a capacity to change the way we relate to our emotional life. When we come to terms with this truth, there is a sense of liberation.

Transforming our lives is about more than just being positive all the time: it is the capacity to feel things fully, either in pleasure or pain, but to remain spacious and open. This spaciousness in our experience is not about making life positive; it is just being open, engaged, and authentic to what is.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Snow Lion Publications. ©2010.
www.snowlionpub.com.

Article Source

This article was excerpted from the book: The Wisdom of Imperfection by Rob Preece.The Wisdom of Imperfection: The Challenge of Individuation in Buddhist Life
by Rob Preece.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

About the Author

Rob Preece, author of the article: Living with Emotions & Feelings

Psychotherapist and meditation teacher Rob Preece draws on his 19 years as a psychotherapist and many years as a meditation teacher to explore and map the psychological influences on our struggle to awaken. Rob Preece has been a practicing Buddhist since 1973, principally within the Tibetan Buddhist tradition. Since 1987 he has given many workshops on comparative Buddhist and Jungian psychology. He is an experienced meditation teacher and Thangka painter (Buddhist icons). Visit his website at http://www.mudra.co.uk/
 

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
by Barry and Joyce Vissell
For almost every couple, the thought of bringing a child into this world triggers a whole range of…
I Was Born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty...
I Was Born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty...
by Dena Merriam
I was born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty (25 CE-220 CE) into a family of ardent Daoists who…
Healing Otherness: Your Changes, Reflected in Community
Healing Otherness: Your Changes, Reflected in Community
by Stacee L. Reicherzer PhD
Seeking out a community of healing, being exploited in it, perhaps assuming the shame and…
Horoscope Week: June 14 - 20, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: June 14 - 20, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Being A Better Person
Being A Better Person
by Marie T. Russell
"He makes me want to be a better person." As I reflected on this statement later, I realized that…
Modeling Behavior is the Best Teacher: Respect Must Be Mutual
Modeling Behavior is the Best Teacher: Respect Must Be Mutual
by Carmen Viktoria Gamper
Socially respected behavior is learned behavior and some of it (for instance, table manners) varies…
Separation and Isolation vs. Community and Compassion
Separation and Isolation vs. Community and Compassion
by Lawrence Doochin
When we are in community, we automatically fall into service to those in need because we know them…
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
by Jason Redman
Ambushes don’t just happen in combat. In business and life, an ambush is a catastrophic event that…

MOST READ

Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
by Barry and Joyce Vissell
For almost every couple, the thought of bringing a child into this world triggers a whole range of…
How to Build New Bone... Naturally
How to Build New Bone... Naturally
by Maryon Stewart
Many women assume that when their menopause symptoms stop, they are on safe ground. Sadly, we face…
image
IRS hitting you with a fine or late fee? Don't fret – a consumer tax advocate says you still have options
by Rita W. Green, Instructor of Accountancy, University of Memphis
Tax Day has come and gone, and you think you filed your return in the nick of time. But several…
How Well Your Immune System Works Can Depend On The Time Of Day
How Well Your Immune System Works Can Depend On The Time Of Day
by Annie Curtis, RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences
When microorganisms – such as bacteria or viruses – infect us, our immune system jumps into action.…
A teen reads her phone with a confused look on her face
Why teens have a hard time finding truth online
by Stanford
A new national study shows a woeful inability by high schoolers to detect fake news on the internet.
From deadly enemy to covidiots: Words matter when talking about COVID-19
Words matter when talking about COVID-19
by Ruth Derksen, PhD, Philosophy of Language, Faculty of Applied Science, Emeritus, University of British Columbia
So much has been said and written about the COVID-19 pandemic. We’ve been flooded with metaphors,…
image
The mystery of long COVID: up to 1 in 3 people who catch the virus suffer for months. Here's what we know so far
by Vanessa Bryant, Laboratory Head, Immunology Division, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute
Most people who get COVID suffer the common symptoms of fever, cough and breathing problems, and…
Planning the Burial: Anticipating Possible Problems and Blessings
Planning the Burial: Anticipating Possible Problems and Blessings
by Elizabeth Fournier
In addition to the emotional and spiritual aspects of funerals, there are always logistical and…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.