Répondre sainement à nos émotions et nos sentiments

Répondre sainement à nos émotions et nos sentiments

Lorsque nous apprenons à réagir plus sainement aux émotions et aux sentiments qui surgissent, nous pouvons radicalement changer la qualité de nos vies. L'une des plus grandes déceptions que j'ai ressenties en grandissant était que personne ne m'a jamais aidé à gérer les émotions. L'expérience doit être extrêmement répandue, car en tant que psychothérapeute, l'aspect principal de mon travail est peut-être d'aider les gens à découvrir comment vivre avec leurs sentiments.

En explorant la gestion de la vie affective, je l'ai trouvé utile de réunir les deux fils de ma propre expérience, l'un tiré de mon expérience en tant que psychothérapeute, l'autre à partir de mon expérience en tant que méditant. Quand j'ai commencé à travailler en tant que thérapeute j'étais conscient d'une différence entre ces deux styles de faire face à la vie affective.

Initialement, la psychothérapie semblait absorbé dans la recherche sur les origines de nos habitudes émotionnelles et les parle à travers, alors que le bouddhisme semblait être plus intéressés à dompter et à contrôler les émotions afin de parvenir à un état de quiescence mentale. Au fil du temps, ma compréhension de ces deux méthodes a approfondi et à devenir plus subtil, et maintenant je trouve que les approches réflexives et contemplative de compléter et d'informer les uns les autres, à la fois dans mon travail en tant que thérapeute et dans ma vie personnelle.

D'éviter les sentiments ou les transformer?

Cette exploration a, toutefois, mis en évidence une préoccupation particulière: à savoir, le potentiel pour ceux qui développent des pratiques de méditation pour les utiliser comme un moyen d'éviter les sentiments plutôt que de les transformer.

Quand la pratique spirituelle est véritablement intégrée dans la vie quotidienne, cela se reflète dans notre façon de vivre, moment par moment et jour après jour, avec nos sentiments et nos émotions. Certains qui prétendent avoir une grande expérience de la méditation peuvent encore afficher de forts problèmes émotionnels. D'autres également expérimentés dans la méditation montrent des signes d'avoir réprimé leur capacité de sentir et d'émotions de manières tout à fait malsaines. La question se pose alors de savoir si quelqu'un qui développe des idées profondes dans la méditation devrait être libre d'émotions et de réactions émotionnelles.

J'ai souvent été amusé par des gens qui disent, quand j'exprime honnêtement comment j'ai réagi émotionnellement à quelque chose, "Mais vous êtes bouddhiste, vous ne devriez pas avoir de problèmes émotionnels." Ils pensent évidemment que la pratique de la méditation bouddhiste est supposée éliminer les sentiments et les émotions.

Répondant à des émotions d'une manière saine?

Ma réponse à cela est que l'intention de la pratique bouddhiste n'est pas de devenir émotionnellement stériles, mais d'avoir la capacité de répondre aux émotions d'une manière saine. À cet égard, une fois de plus, ce n'est pas le fait que nous avons sentiment ou les réponses émotionnelles au monde qui est le problème, mais exactement comment nous sommes avec eux.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Quand une émotion surgit, nous pouvons y répondre dans un certain nombre de façons. Nous pouvons devenir complètement absorbé en elle ou, pour employer le langage psychologique, «identifié avec elle," de telle sorte que tout ce que nous pensons être la puissance écrasante de l'émotion. Si nous sommes blessés, nous pouvons devenir tellement absorbé dans la douleur c'est comme si nous sommes le mal. À ce moment, il peut être insupportable et dévorante, comme s'il n'y avait pas d'autre réalité.

Témoigner de l'expérience

En outre, nous pouvons répondre directement et instinctivement de l'endroit de la blessure. Nous pouvons briser, frapper, ou être sur la défensive. Dans cet état identifié il ya peu de conscience du processus émotionnel déroulement. Nous ne sommes pas en mesure d'assister à l'expérience parce que nous sommes devenus perdre.

Lorsque nous sommes tellement perdus dans nos sentiments et n'ont aucune conscience qui peut les assister, c'est comme si nous sommes inconscients. Nous serons également en mesure d'observer le processus sous-jacent qui a eu lieu pour donner naissance à l'état émotionnel. Si nous pouvions ralentir le processus, pour ainsi dire, nous pourrions voir que cette émotion a commencé dans un sentiment relativement subtil qui a grandi comme nous avons intensifié notre contraction autour et dans le sentiment. Finalement, il est devenu la réponse émotionnelle à part entière.

Accepter nos sentiments sans jugement

Les sentiments avec lesquels nous avons lutté pendant des années ne sont transformés que lorsque nous les acceptons sans jugement et sans contraction. Cela ne signifie pas que nos sentiments disparaissent, mais nous devenons capables de vivre avec eux d'une manière très différente. Les émotions surgissent mais sont capables de passer à travers sans se coincer.

Nos émotions sont probablement le plus grand défi auquel nous sommes jamais rencontré. Il est au cœur de la pensée bouddhiste, cependant, que la résolution de problèmes de la vie passe par un changement dans l'esprit. Cela est certainement vrai en termes de notre relation ressentie dans le monde.

Sentant le plaisir ou la douleur Entièrement & Ouvertement

Il ya, dans ce sens, pas de problème externe qui ne seront pas résolus par une capacité à changer la façon de nous rapporter à notre vie affective. Quand nous arrivons à composer avec cette vérité, il ya un sentiment de libération.

Transformer nos vies, c'est plus que simplement être positif tout le temps: c'est la capacité de ressentir pleinement les choses, que ce soit dans le plaisir ou la douleur, mais de rester spacieux et ouvert. Cet espace dans notre expérience ne consiste pas à rendre la vie positive; c'est juste être ouvert, engagé et authentique à ce qui est.

Reproduit avec la permission de l'éditeur,
Snow Lion Publications. © 2010.
www.snowlionpub.com.

Source de l'article

Cet article est extrait du livre: The Wisdom of Imperfection par Rob Preece.La sagesse de l'imperfection: le défi de l'individuation dans la vie bouddhiste
par Rob Preece.

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon.

A propos de l'auteur

Rob Preece, auteur de l'article: Vivre avec Emotion & Sentiment

Le psychothérapeute et professeur de méditation Rob Preece s'appuie sur ses années 19 en tant que psychothérapeute et pendant de nombreuses années en tant que professeur de méditation pour explorer et cartographier les influences psychologiques sur notre lutte pour s'éveiller. Rob Preece est un bouddhiste pratiquant depuis 1973, principalement dans la tradition bouddhiste tibétaine. Depuis 1987, il a donné de nombreux ateliers sur la psychologie comparée bouddhiste et jungienne. Il est un professeur de méditation expérimenté et un peintre Thangka (icônes bouddhistes). Visitez son site web à http://www.mudra.co.uk/

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

DES ÉDITEURS

InnerSelf Newsletter: Septembre 27, 2020
by Personnel InnerSelf
L'une des grandes forces de la race humaine est notre capacité à être flexible, à être créatif et à sortir des sentiers battus. Être quelqu'un d'autre que nous étions hier ou la veille. Nous pouvons changer...…
Ce qui fonctionne pour moi: "Pour le plus grand bien"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
La raison pour laquelle je partage «ce qui fonctionne pour moi» est que cela peut également fonctionner pour vous. Si ce n'est pas exactement la façon dont je le fais, puisque nous sommes tous uniques, une certaine variation de l'attitude ou de la méthode pourrait très bien être quelque chose ...
Avez-vous fait partie du problème la dernière fois? Ferez-vous partie de la solution cette fois?
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Vous êtes-vous inscrit pour voter? Avez-vous voté? Si vous n'allez pas voter, vous ferez partie du problème.
InnerSelf Newsletter: Septembre 20, 2020
by Personnel InnerSelf
Le thème de la newsletter de cette semaine peut se résumer comme suit: «vous pouvez le faire» ou plus précisément «nous pouvons le faire!». C'est une autre façon de dire "vous / nous avons le pouvoir de faire un changement". L'image de…
Ce qui fonctionne pour moi: "Je peux le faire!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
La raison pour laquelle je partage «ce qui fonctionne pour moi» est que cela peut également fonctionner pour vous. Si ce n'est pas exactement la façon dont je le fais, puisque nous sommes tous uniques, une certaine variation de l'attitude ou de la méthode pourrait très bien être quelque chose ...

Responding Healthily to Our Emotions & Feelings

Responding Healthily to Our Emotions & Feelings

When we learn to respond more healthily to the emotions and feel­ings that arise, we can radically change the quality of our lives. One of the greatest disappointments I felt in growing up was that no one ever gave me help in dealing with emotions. The experience must be extremely widespread, because as a psychotherapist possibly the main aspect of my work is helping people discover how to live with their feelings.

In exploring the management of the emotional life, I have found it useful to bring together two threads of my own background, one drawn from my experience as a psychotherapist, the other from my experience as a meditator. When I first began to work as a therapist I was conscious of a difference in these two styles of dealing with the emotional life.

Initially, psychotherapy seemed absorbed in looking at the origins of our emotional habits and talking them through, while Buddhism seemed to be more interested in taming and controlling the emotions in order to achieve a state of mental quiescence. Over time, my understanding of both methods has deepened and become more subtle, and I now find that the reflective and contemplative approaches complement and inform each other, both in my work as a therapist and in my personal life.

Avoiding Feelings or Transforming Them?

This exploration has, however, highlighted a particular concern: namely, the potential for those who develop meditation practices to use them as a means to avoid feelings rather than to transform them.

When spiritual practice is genuinely integrated in daily life, this is reflected in how we are, moment by moment and day by day, with our feelings and emotions. Some who claim to have a great experience of meditation may still display strong emotional problems. Others equally experienced in meditation show signs of having repressed their capac­ity for feeling and emotions in quite unhealthy ways. The question then arises as to whether someone who is developing deep insights in med­itation should be free of emotions and emotional reactions.

I have often been amused by people who say, when I honestly express how I have emotionally reacted to something, “But you’re a Buddhist, you shouldn’t have any emotional problems.” Evidently they think that Buddhist meditation practice is supposed to eliminate feel­ings and emotions.

Responding to Emotions in a Healthy Way?

My answer to this is that the intention of Buddhist practice is not to become emotionally sterile but to have the capacity to respond to emotions in a healthy way. In this respect, once again, it is not the fact that we have feeling or emotional responses to the world that is the problem, but exactly how we are with them.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

When an emotion arises we can respond to it in a number of ways. We may become completely absorbed in it or, to use the psychological language, “identified with it,” so that all we feel is the overwhelming power of the emotion. If we are hurt we may become so utterly absorbed in the hurt it is as though we are the hurt. At this time it can be unbearable and all-consuming, as though there is no other reality.

Witnessing the Experience

Furthermore, we may respond directly and instinctually from the place of hurt. We may break down, strike out, or become defensive. In this identified state there is little awareness of the emotional process unfolding. We are not able to witness the experience because we have become lost in it.

When we are so lost in our feelings and have no awareness that can witness them, it is as though we are unconscious. We will also be unable to observe the underlying process that has occurred to give rise to the emotional state. If we could slow the process down, so to speak, we might see that this emotion began in a relatively subtle feeling that grew as we intensified our contraction around and into the feeling. Eventually, it became the full-blown emotional response.

Accepting our Feelings without Judgment

Feelings we may have strug­gled with for years are transformed only when we utterly accept them without judgment and without contraction. This does not mean our feelings disappear, but we become able to live with them in a very dif­ferent way. Emotions arise but are able to pass through without becom­ing stuck.

Our emotions are possibly the greatest challenge we ever encounter. It is central to Buddhist thinking, however, that the resolution to life’s problems comes through a change within the mind. This is certainly true in terms of our felt relationship to the world.

Feeling Pleasure or Pain Fully & Openly

There is, in this sense, no outer problem that will not be resolved through a capacity to change the way we relate to our emotional life. When we come to terms with this truth, there is a sense of liberation.

Transforming our lives is about more than just being positive all the time: it is the capacity to feel things fully, either in pleasure or pain, but to remain spacious and open. This spaciousness in our experience is not about making life positive; it is just being open, engaged, and authentic to what is.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Snow Lion Publications. ©2010.
www.snowlionpub.com.

Article Source

This article was excerpted from the book: The Wisdom of Imperfection by Rob Preece.The Wisdom of Imperfection: The Challenge of Individuation in Buddhist Life
by Rob Preece.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

About the Author

Rob Preece, author of the article: Living with Emotions & Feelings

Psychotherapist and meditation teacher Rob Preece draws on his 19 years as a psychotherapist and many years as a meditation teacher to explore and map the psychological influences on our struggle to awaken. Rob Preece has been a practicing Buddhist since 1973, principally within the Tibetan Buddhist tradition. Since 1987 he has given many workshops on comparative Buddhist and Jungian psychology. He is an experienced meditation teacher and Thangka painter (Buddhist icons). Visit his website at http://www.mudra.co.uk/
 

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
by Barry and Joyce Vissell
For almost every couple, the thought of bringing a child into this world triggers a whole range of…
I Was Born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty...
I Was Born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty...
by Dena Merriam
I was born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty (25 CE-220 CE) into a family of ardent Daoists who…
Healing Otherness: Your Changes, Reflected in Community
Healing Otherness: Your Changes, Reflected in Community
by Stacee L. Reicherzer PhD
Seeking out a community of healing, being exploited in it, perhaps assuming the shame and…
Horoscope Week: June 14 - 20, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: June 14 - 20, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Being A Better Person
Being A Better Person
by Marie T. Russell
"He makes me want to be a better person." As I reflected on this statement later, I realized that…
Modeling Behavior is the Best Teacher: Respect Must Be Mutual
Modeling Behavior is the Best Teacher: Respect Must Be Mutual
by Carmen Viktoria Gamper
Socially respected behavior is learned behavior and some of it (for instance, table manners) varies…
Separation and Isolation vs. Community and Compassion
Separation and Isolation vs. Community and Compassion
by Lawrence Doochin
When we are in community, we automatically fall into service to those in need because we know them…
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
by Jason Redman
Ambushes don’t just happen in combat. In business and life, an ambush is a catastrophic event that…

MOST READ

Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
by Barry and Joyce Vissell
For almost every couple, the thought of bringing a child into this world triggers a whole range of…
How to Build New Bone... Naturally
How to Build New Bone... Naturally
by Maryon Stewart
Many women assume that when their menopause symptoms stop, they are on safe ground. Sadly, we face…
image
IRS hitting you with a fine or late fee? Don't fret – a consumer tax advocate says you still have options
by Rita W. Green, Instructor of Accountancy, University of Memphis
Tax Day has come and gone, and you think you filed your return in the nick of time. But several…
How Well Your Immune System Works Can Depend On The Time Of Day
How Well Your Immune System Works Can Depend On The Time Of Day
by Annie Curtis, RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences
When microorganisms – such as bacteria or viruses – infect us, our immune system jumps into action.…
A teen reads her phone with a confused look on her face
Why teens have a hard time finding truth online
by Stanford
A new national study shows a woeful inability by high schoolers to detect fake news on the internet.
From deadly enemy to covidiots: Words matter when talking about COVID-19
Words matter when talking about COVID-19
by Ruth Derksen, PhD, Philosophy of Language, Faculty of Applied Science, Emeritus, University of British Columbia
So much has been said and written about the COVID-19 pandemic. We’ve been flooded with metaphors,…
image
The mystery of long COVID: up to 1 in 3 people who catch the virus suffer for months. Here's what we know so far
by Vanessa Bryant, Laboratory Head, Immunology Division, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute
Most people who get COVID suffer the common symptoms of fever, cough and breathing problems, and…
Planning the Burial: Anticipating Possible Problems and Blessings
Planning the Burial: Anticipating Possible Problems and Blessings
by Elizabeth Fournier
In addition to the emotional and spiritual aspects of funerals, there are always logistical and…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.