كيف هذا اليقظه التطبيق يخفض التدخين

كيف هذا اليقظه التطبيق يخفض التدخينالصورة عن طريق جندولا فوغل تبدأ من Pixabay

ذكرت دراسة جديدة أن الأشخاص الذين جربوا تطبيقًا جديدًا للذهن أبلغوا عن تدخين عدد أقل من السجائر يوميًا.

علاوة على ذلك ، يقول الباحثون إن الأشخاص الذين قاموا بتقليل عدد السجائر التي يدخنونها أظهروا أيضًا انخفاض في التفاعل مع الصور ذات الصلة بالتدخين في جزء من الدماغ يُعرف أنه ينشط عندما يعاني شخص ما من شغف.

في تجربة معشاة ذات شواهد تقارن تطبيقات الإقلاع عن التدخين ، استخدمت مجموعة من المشاركين في 33 تطبيقًا قائمًا على الذهن لمدة أربعة أسابيع ، بينما استخدمت مجموعة أخرى من المشاركين في 34 تطبيقًا مجانيًا للإقلاع عن التدخين من المعهد الوطني للسرطان.

يقول جود بروير ، أستاذ مشارك في العلوم السلوكية والاجتماعية ، والطب النفسي: "هذه أول دراسة تُظهر أن تدريب الذهن يمكن أن يؤثر على وجه التحديد على آلية في الدماغ ويظهر أن التغييرات في آلية الدماغ هذه كانت مرتبطة بالنتائج السريرية المحسنة". في جامعة براون ومدير البحث والابتكار في مركز الذهن بكلية الصحة العامة.

"نحن نتحرك في اتجاه التمكن من فحص شخص ما قبل العلاج ونقدم له تدخلات تغيير السلوك التي من المرجح أن تساعده. هذا سيوفر الجميع الوقت والمال ".

11 أقل السجائر في اليوم

يشتمل تطبيق mindfulness على مقاطع فيديو وأنشطة يومية لمساعدة المستخدمين على التعرف على مسببات التدخين لديهم ، ويكونوا أكثر وعياً بالرغبة الشديدة ، وتعلم أساليب اليقظة للتخلص من الرغبة الشديدة. يساعد تطبيق NCI المستخدمين على تتبع محفزات التدخين ، كما يوفر رسائل ملهمة ، كما يقدم توصيلات للانحرافات لمساعدة المستخدمين على التعامل مع الرغبة الشديدة.

ساعد كلا التطبيقين المشاركين على تقليل استهلاكهم اليومي للسجائر المبلغ عنها ذاتيا من خلال مجموعة واسعة - مع انخفاض متوسط ​​في سجائر 11 يوميًا لتطبيق الذهن وانخفاض متوسط ​​9 يوميًا لتطبيق NCI. أفاد بعض المشاركين في كلا المجموعتين أنه لا يوجد تدخين للسجائر بحلول نهاية الشهر.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


أكمل المشاركون في كلا المجموعتين متوسط ​​16 من وحدات 22 المستقلة للتطبيق. المشاركون في مجموعة الذهن الذين أكملوا المزيد من الوحدات ، من المحتمل أن يكون لديهم انخفاض أكبر في استهلاكهم للسجائر ، وهي علاقة غير موجودة لمجموعة NCI. كان المشاركون في مجموعة الذهن أكثر ميلًا إلى حد كبير للقول أنهم سيوصون التطبيق إلى صديق من المشاركين في مجموعة NCI.

لتحديد الطريقة التي يعمل بها تطبيق العقل في الدماغ ، أجرى الباحثون فحوصات التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي الوظيفي للمخ من المشاركين أثناء نظرتهم في الصور المرتبطة بالتدخين أو الصور الأخرى غير المرتبطة بالتدخين. لقد أجروا عمليات الفحص قبل وبعد استخدام المشاركين لأحد التطبيقين.

على وجه التحديد ، نظر الباحثون في التغيرات في نشاط الدماغ في القشرة الحزامية الخلفية - وهي منطقة دماغ بحجم كرة بينج بونج معروفة بتفعيلها عندما يشتهي الشخص السجائر أو الكوكايين أو حتى الشوكولاته.

صور مغرية

لقد ثبت أن التأمل يؤدي إلى إلغاء تنشيط القشرة الحزامية الخلفية ، لذلك افترض بروير أن هذه المنطقة ستلعب دورًا مهمًا في كيفية تأثير التدخلات المستندة إلى الذهن - القائمة على التطبيق أو غير ذلك - على الدماغ وتغيير السلوكيات.

عندما قارن الباحثون مباشرة التغيرات في تفاعل الدماغ في المنطقة المستهدفة بين المجموعتين قبل وبعد استخدام التطبيقات ، لم يجدوا أي اختلافات إحصائية.

ومع ذلك ، عندما نظروا إلى المستوى الفردي وقارنوا انخفاض السجائر المدخنة بالتغيرات في تفاعل الدماغ ، وجدوا أن المشاركين في مجموعة الذهن الذين لديهم أكبر انخفاض في عدد السجائر في اليوم - أولئك الذين كان التطبيق من أجلهم الأكثر فاعلية - أظهر أيضًا انخفاضًا كبيرًا في تفاعل الدماغ مع صور التدخين.

كانت العلاقة بين عدد السجائر المدخنة وتفاعلية الدماغ مهمة بشكل خاص للنساء في مجموعة الذهن.

لم ير الباحثون أي ارتباط بين عدد السجائر المدخنة وتفاعل الدماغ للمشاركين الذين استخدموا تطبيق NCI.

من المثير للدهشة أن 13 من المشاركين لم يكونوا متفاعلين مع صور التدخين قبل أن يستخدموا أيًا من التطبيقات ، وهي ظاهرة لم تصادفها في الأدبيات العلمية السابقة ، كما يقول بروير. أصبح المشاركون الآخرون أكثر تفاعلًا مع صور التدخين بعد استخدامهم لأي من التطبيقين ، وهو رد فعل شوهد من قبل في الأشخاص الذين يشتهون السجائر أثناء محاولة الإقلاع عن التدخين.

"العلاجات الرقمية"

يخطط بروير لدراسة الفرق الواضح في فعالية تطبيق الذهن للنساء بمزيد من التفاصيل ، كما يخطط للجمع بين تدريب الارتجاع العصبي مع تطبيق الذهن وتتبع المشاركين في الدراسة المستقبلية لمدة ستة أشهر بعد استخدام التطبيق - المعيار الذهبي لتحديد فعالية سريرية في دراسات التوقف عن التدخين ، كما يقول.

"تعد العلاجات الرقمية ، مثل تطبيقات الهواتف الذكية ، وسيلة يمكن الوصول إليها وبأسعار معقولة لتقديم علاج قائم على الأدلة - إذا تم تطوير تطبيق مع وجود قاعدة أدلة وراءه ، لأن 99 في المئة من التطبيقات ليست كذلك - مع دقة 100 بالمائة" ، يقول بروير.

"أنت تعرف بالضبط ما الذي يحصل عليه الأشخاص الذين يدربون ، لأنك لا تعتمد على معالج لتتبع دليل. كطبيب نفسي ، أعتقد أن الكثير منا متحمسون جدًا لوعد العلاجات الرقمية ".

أسس بروير ويمتلك أسهم في الشركة التي طورت وتبيع التطبيق المستند إلى الذهن ، وهي حقيقة تم الكشف عنها في الصحيفة في Neuropsychopharmacology.

حول المؤلف

باحثون آخرون هم من براون وكلية هارفارد الطبية ومركز مارتينوس للتصوير الطبي الحيوي في مستشفى ماساتشوستس العام وكلية طب جامعة ماساتشوستس وكلية طب المجتمع بجامعة أوكلاهوما - تولسا.

المعاهد الوطنية للصحة دعمت البحوث.

مصدر: جامعة براون

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = الذهن، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

How This Mindfulness App Cuts Smoking

How This Mindfulness App Cuts SmokingImage by Gundula Vogel from Pixabay

People who tried a new mindfulness app reported smoking fewer cigarettes a day, according to a new study.

Further, the researchers say the people who most reduced the number of cigarettes they smoked also showed decreased reactivity to smoking-related images in a part of the brain known to activate when someone experiences a craving.

For a randomized controlled trial comparing smoking-cessation apps, one group of 33 participants used a mindfulness-based app for four weeks, while another group of 34 participants used a free smoking-cessation app from the National Cancer Institute (NCI).

“This is the first study to show that mindfulness training could specifically affect a mechanism in the brain and to show that changes in this brain mechanism were connected to improved clinical outcomes,” says Jud Brewer, an associate professor of behavioral and social sciences and psychiatry at Brown University and director of research and innovation at the School of Public Health’s Mindfulness Center.

“We’re moving in the direction of being able to screen someone before treatment and offer them the behavior-change interventions that will be most likely to help them. This will save everybody time and money.”

11 fewer cigarettes a day

The mindfulness app includes daily videos and activities to help users identify their smoking triggers, become more aware of cravings, and learn mindfulness methods to ride out the cravings. The NCI app helps users track smoking triggers, provides inspirational messages, and delivers distractions to help users deal with cravings.

Both apps helped participants reduce their self-reported daily cigarette consumption by a wide range—with an average drop of 11 cigarettes per day for the mindfulness app and an average drop of 9 per day for the NCI app. Some participants in both groups reported smoking no cigarettes by the end of the month.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Participants in both groups completed an average of 16 out of 22 stand-alone modules of the app. Participants in the mindfulness group who completed more modules were likely to have a greater reduction in their cigarette consumption, a correlation not found for the NCI group. Participants in the mindfulness group were also significantly more likely to say that they would recommend the app to a friend than participants in the NCI group.

To determine how the mindfulness app worked in the brain, researchers conducted functional magnetic resonance imaging brain scans of participants as they looked at smoking-associated images or other images not associated with smoking. They conducted the scans before and after participants used one of the two apps.

Specifically, the researchers looked at changes in brain activity in the posterior cingulate cortex—a ping-pong-ball-sized brain region known to activate when someone craves cigarettes, cocaine, or even chocolate, Brewer says.

Tempting images

Meditation has been shown to deactivate the posterior cingulate cortex, so Brewer hypothesized that this region would play a critical role in how mindfulness-based interventions—app-based or otherwise—affect the brain and change behaviors.

When researchers directly compared the changes in brain reactivity in the target region between the two groups before and after they used the apps, they found no statistical differences.

However, when they looked at the individual level and compared the reduction in cigarettes smoked to the changes in brain reactivity, they found that the participants in the mindfulness group who had the greatest reduction in number of cigarettes per day—those for whom the app was most effective—also showed a significant reduction in brain reactivity to smoking images.

The correlation between number of cigarettes smoked and brain reactivity was particularly significant for women in the mindfulness group.

Researchers saw no correlation between number of cigarettes smoked and brain reactivity for participants who used the NCI app.

Surprisingly, 13 percent of participants were non-reactive to smoking images before they used either app, a phenomenon not encountered in previous scientific literature, Brewer says. Other participants became more reactive to smoking images after they used either app—a reaction seen before in people who crave cigarettes more while trying to quit.

‘Digital therapeutics’

Brewer plans to study the apparent difference in the efficacy of the mindfulness app for women in more detail and also plans to combine neurofeedback training with the mindfulness app and track participants in the future study for six months after using the app—the gold standard for determining clinical efficacy in smoking-cessation studies, he says.

“Digital therapeutics, such as smartphone apps, are an accessible and affordable way to deliver an evidence-based treatment—if an app is developed with an evidence base behind it, because 99 percent of apps aren’t—with 100 percent fidelity,” Brewer says.

“You know exactly what training people are getting, because you’re not depending on a therapist to follow a manual. As a psychiatrist, I think a lot of us are pretty excited about the promise of digital therapeutics.”

Brewer founded and owns stock in the company that developed and sells the mindfulness-based app, a fact disclosed in the paper in Neuropsychopharmacology.

About the Authors

Additional researchers are from Brown, Harvard Medical School, Martinos Center for Biomedical Imaging at Massachusetts General Hospital, the University of Massachusetts Medical School, and the University of Oklahoma-Tulsa School of Community Medicine.

The National Institutes of Health supported the research.

Source: Brown University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=mindfulness;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}