Внимательное дыхание для детей (и родителей) всех возрастов

Внимательное дыхание для детей (и родителей) всех возрастов

Примечание редактора: Хотя эта статья направлена ​​на то, чтобы помочь детям научиться внимательности, ее принципы применимы и к взрослым, и упражнение на внимательное дыхание может выполнять каждый, независимо от возраста.

Большинство из нас слышали слово внимательностьчто мы инстинктивно признаем чем-то полезным для нас и наших детей, но что это на самом деле? И как это может помочь, особенно в условиях ежедневной рутинной работы по обеспечению того, чтобы домашнее задание было выполнено, устройства выключены, а драма сведена к минимуму?

Одна из моих клиентов, Рене, мать троих мальчиков, заметила огромные перемены в ее сыне Луисе. Он начал приходить домой из школы, желая помочь ей, и у него было позитивное, более спокойное присутствие по сравнению с его обычной «раздутой и взволнованной» внешкольной личностью. Поэтому она спросила своего учителя: «Чем отличается школа на этой неделе?»

Миссис Мун ответила: «Мы только начали каждое утро в классе выполнять упражнения на осознанность». Рене была поражена. Хотя не у каждого ребенка такой драматический ответ, упражнения на осознанность действительно помогли Луису успокоиться и лучше общаться.

Внимательность и снятие стресса

Доказано, что осознанность помогает родителям и детям успокоить их часто перегруженные тела, умы и духи. Джон Кабат-Зинн, создатель программ по снижению стресса на основе осознанности (MBSR), объясняет осознанность как «уделение внимания определенным образом: нарочно, в настоящий момент и без суждений».

Звучит просто, но не всегда легко, правда? Кабат-Зинн подчеркнул три аспекта осознанности:

  • уделение внимания
  • присутствует
  • принимая то, что есть (без суждения)

Уделение внимания лежит в основе внимательности. Это навык, который многие дети еще не развили, особенно в том, что касается его чувств, того, что они думают, и что другие могут думать о них. Соответственно, многие из стратегий в этой главе помогают детям развить навык внимания, который может быть применен к тому, как они себя чувствуют, и в конечном итоге используется для принятия более правильного выбора.

Когда ваш ребенок полностью обращает внимание на то, что происходит в настоящее время, он не может быть пойман в прошлом или беспокоиться о будущем. Она в настоящий момент без зацикливания на мысли о том, что только что произошло или что должно произойти. Находясь в настоящем моменте, где существует вся сила вашего ребенка, она помогает ей преодолеть любые эмоции и позволить им приходить и уходить. (Помните: эмоции временны.)


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


И последнее, но не менее важное: Кабат-Зинн подчеркивает необходимость принимать то, что есть, или видеть вещи такими, какие они есть, не осуждая их или не обозначая их как хорошие или плохие. Ваш сын, возможно, получил плохую оценку в своем отчете о проделанной работе и может быть расстроен из-за этого. Эта грусть не хороша или плоха - она ​​просто есть.

Быть с грустью без суждения и принять ее такой, какая она есть - естественная и здоровая эмоция - это осознанность. Конечно, ваш ребенок может решить делать или думать что-то другое, чтобы чувствовать себя лучше, но внимательность позволяет ему видеть, что происходит, не делая суждений об этом.

Эпоха осознанности

Мальчики и девочки, которые учатся замедлять (внимательность) по сравнению с ускорением (бездумность), развивают способность делать лучший выбор. Они просто оптимально подключают свой мозг в начале жизни, что дает им повышенную способность регулировать свои эмоции и демонстрировать когнитивный контроль (например, выбирая свои мысли). Или как New York Times Репортер Дэвид Геллс говорит: «Внимательность, которая продвигает навыки, которые контролируются в префронтальной коре, такие как фокусировка и когнитивный контроль, может, таким образом, оказывать особое влияние на развитие навыков, включая саморегуляцию, суждение и терпение в детстве».

Другими словами, части мозга, которые тренируются с помощью осознанных стратегий, являются теми же самыми, которые помогают вашему ребенку развивать эмоциональное сознание и баланс. Исследования показывают, как мы видели с Луисом выше, что дети, которые участвуют в стратегиях осознанности в классе, значительно чаще демонстрируют кооперативное и просоциальное поведение.

Хотя осознанность не равняется эмоционально здоровому ребенку, она закладывает основу для того, чтобы ребенок осознал и затем сделал лучший выбор. Добавление к этой формуле практической мудрости (идей) и инструментов (практики) ускоряет создание эмоционально здорового мышления, которое может помочь ребенку в самые темные дни найти свет.

Иеремия, 8 лет, в третьем классе научился делать глубокие вдохи, чтобы успокоиться, очень эффективный инструмент внимательности. До того, как он начал использовать этот инструмент, он часто делал вещи, о которых потом сожалел, например, толкая своего друга на игровой площадке или кричал на маму во время утренней прогулки. Но с добавлением глубоких вдохов Иеремия мог успокаиваться чаще и не иметь столько вспышек.

Инструменты осознанности, такие как глубокие вдохи Иеремии, создают пространство между стимулом и реакцией, чтобы дети могли сделать более разумный выбор. Когда Иеремия работал на автомате, он кричал, толкал и решил отреагировать отрицательно, что не помогло ни ему, ни кому-либо еще. Но с добавлением осознанности он замедлился и начал понимать, что у него было больше возможностей (особенно когда ему бросали вызов на детской площадке) для решения того, что часто было проблематично для него.

Внимательное дыхание

Внимательное дыхание - это строительный блок осознанности, к которому дети могут возвращаться снова и снова, чтобы стать настоящим и спокойным.

Использовать когда:

  • дети должны расслабиться
  • они делают небрежные ошибки
  • они легко взволнованы

Почему инструмент работает

  1. Осознанное дыхание - это научно доказанный способ успокоения.
  2. Дыхательные упражнения невидимы, поэтому дети могут выполнять их дома, в школе или там, где они им нужны.
  3. Когда дыхание вашего ребенка и тело успокоены, ум также может стать спокойнее, что помогает ребенку сделать более разумный выбор.

Как реализовать

Осознанное дыхание просто означает уделять внимание своему дыханию. Нет неправильного способа обратить внимание на свое дыхание, но со временем дети могут становиться все лучше и лучше (мы, взрослые, тоже можем).

Осознанная дыхательная деятельность, которой я здесь делюсь, называется «Пять на пять». Следуйте приведенным ниже инструкциям, чтобы поэкспериментировать с ними, а затем научите своих детей.

Пять за пять

    1. Представьте упражнение как осознанное дыхательное упражнение, которое означает, что вы обращаете внимание на свое дыхание.

    2. Попросите детей взглянуть на их руку (справа или слева). Это упражнение сосредоточено на дыхании, но вы используете свою руку, чтобы сосчитать до пяти вдохов.

    3. Вы можете сказать что-то вроде этого:

      «Давайте начнем с наших кулаков. Это наша рука закрылась. Но, делая глубокий вдох и глубокий вдох, мы высовываем один палец из кулака. Чем медленнее мы дышим, тем лучше. Это не гонка.

      «Давайте попробуем наше второе дыхание; сделай глубокий вдох и выдохни. Тогда наш второй палец выходит из кулака, и у нас осталось только три пальца. Опять же, чем медленнее, тем лучше, и сосредоточиться на своем дыхании.

      «Сделай третий вдох и выдохни. Ваш третий палец выходит.

      «Сделай свой четвертый вдох и выдохни. Ваш четвертый палец выходит.

      «Сделай свой пятый вдох и выдохни. Ваш последний палец выходит, и теперь вся ваша рука открыта. Твоя ладонь плоская, а кулак ушел.

      Спросите своего ребенка: «Как вы себя чувствуете сейчас?»

Когда ваши дети волнуются или теряют равновесие, вы можете побудить их выполнять дыхательную деятельность «пять на пять». Я также предлагаю, чтобы ваши дети делали три раунда по пять вдохов, и в одном раунде они фокусировались на вдохе, на втором раунде пяти вдохов они фокусировались на выдохе, а затем в другом раунде они фокусировались на целом вдох и выдох.

Цель этого занятия «Пять на пять» - дать детям простой способ запомнить простое дыхательное упражнение и дать им физическую память об этом. Иногда, когда дети становятся старше, они не используют кулак, а просто касаются каждого пальца один раз. Смысл в том, чтобы дать им физическое напоминание о том, что они контролируют свои эмоции и что они могут использовать свое дыхание - особенно внимательное дыхание - чтобы успокоить, сосредоточиться и позволить своим эмоциям приходить и уходить.

Наконечник:

    Не используйте внимательное дыхание только для того, чтобы успокоить вашего ребенка или заставить его восстановить равновесие, когда он испытывает вызывающие эмоции. Осознанное дыхание - это прекрасный способ успокоиться и расслабиться, особенно в менее нестабильные времена, что помогает детям установить позитивную связь с этим инструментом.

Авторские права ©2018 Морин Хили.
Перепечатано с разрешения New World Library
www.newworldlibrary.com.

Статья Источник

Эмоционально здоровый ребенок: помогите детям успокоиться, сосредоточиться и сделать разумный выбор
Морин Хили.

Морин Хили: «Эмоционально здоровый ребенок: помогите детям успокоиться, сосредоточиться и сделать разумный выбор».Подрастая никогда не было легко, сегодня в мире, несомненно, представляет детей и их родителей с беспрецедентными проблемами. Положительным моментом, цитирует Морин Хили, является широко распространенное признание того, что эмоциональное здоровье, устойчивость и равновесие можно выучить и укрепить. Хили, которая была «диким ребенком», она пишет, что она оставила няню, «задаваясь вопросом, хотят ли они детей», знает ее тему. Она стала экспертом в обучении навыкам, которые учитывают высокую чувствительность, большие эмоции и гиперэнергию, которые она сама испытала.

Нажмите здесь для получения дополнительной информации и / или заказать эту книгу на Amazon. Также доступно как издание Kindle.

Об авторе

Морин ХилиМорин Хили Автор Эмоционально Здоровый Ребенок Растущие счастливые дети, которая получила награду «Наутилус и читатели» в 2014. Популярный Психология сегодня блогер и популярный оратор, Морин проводит глобальную программу наставничества для детей младшего возраста и работает с родителями и их детьми в своей частной частной практике. Ее опыт в социальном и эмоциональном обучении охватил ее во всем мире, включая работу с тибетскими детьми-беженцами на базе Гималаев в классных комнатах в Северной Калифорнии. Посетите ее онлайн на www.growinghappykids.com.

Смотрите интервью с автором:

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = Морин Хили; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
by Фрэнк Паскиути, доктор философии

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
by Фрэнк Паскиути, доктор философии
Как вы говорите своим детям о разводе?
Как вы говорите своим детям о разводе?
by Монтель Уильямс и Джеффри Гардер, доктор философии

Mindful Breathing for Children (and Parents) of All Ages

mindfulness

Mindful Breathing for Children (and Parents) of All Ages

Editor's Note: While this article is geared towards helping children learn mindfulness, its tenets also apply to adults and the mindful breathing exercise can be practiced by all, regardless of age.

Most of us have heard the word mindfulness, which we instinctively recognize as something beneficial for us and our children, but what is it, really? And how can it possibly help, especially in the midst of the daily grind of ensuring that homework is completed, devices are turned off, and drama is kept to a minimum?

One of my clients, Renee, the mother of three boys, noticed a tremendous change in her son, Luis. He began coming home from school wanting to help her and had a positive, calmer presence as compared to his normal “hyped-up and agitated” after-school self. So she asked his teacher, “What is different at school this week?”

Mrs. Moon replied, “We just began using mindfulness exercises every morning in the classroom.” Renee was amazed. Although not every child has such a dramatic response, mindfulness exercises really helped Luis calm and connect better.

Mindfulness and Stress Reduction

Mindfulness is proven to help parents and children calm their often overstressed bodies, minds, and spirits. Jon Kabat-Zinn, creator of Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) programs, explains mindfulness as “paying attention in a particular way: on purpose, in the present moment, and nonjudgmentally.”

Sounds simple, but not always easy, right? The three aspects of mindfulness emphasized by Kabat-Zinn are:

  • paying attention
  • being present
  • accepting what is (without judgment)

Paying attention is at the core of mindfulness. It’s a skill that many children haven’t yet developed, especially as it relates to how they feel, what they’re thinking, and what others might be thinking of them. Accordingly, many of the strategies in this chapter help children develop the skill of paying attention, which can be applied to how they’re feeling and ultimately used to make better choices.

When your child is paying attention fully to what’s happening in the now, she cannot be caught in the past or worried about the future. She is in the present moment without getting stuck in mental loops about what just happened or what’s going to happen. Being in the present moment, where all your child’s power exists, helps her to overcome whatever emotion is happening and let it come as well as go. (Remember: emotions are temporary.)

Last but not least, Kabat-Zinn emphasizes accepting what is, or seeing things as they are without judging them or labeling them as good or bad. Your son may have gotten a poor grade on his progress report and may be feeling sad about it. This sadness isn’t good or bad — it just is.

Being with the sadness without judgment and accepting it for what it is — a natural and healthy emotion — is mindfulness. Of course, your child can decide to do or think something different to feel better, but mindfulness allows him to see what’s happening without making a judgment about it.

The Age of Mindfulness

Boys and girls who learn how to slow down (mindfulness) versus speed up (mindlessness) are cultivating the capacity to make better choices. They are simply hardwiring their brain optimally earlier in life, which gives them the increased ability to regulate their emotions and demonstrate cognitive control (by choosing their thoughts, for example). Or as New York Times reporter David Gelles puts it: “Mindfulness, which promotes skills that are controlled in the prefrontal cortex, like focus and cognitive control, can therefore have a particular impact on the development of skills including self-regulation, judgment and patience during childhood.”

In other words, the parts of the brain that are trained by mindful strategies are the same ones that help your child cultivate emotional awareness and balance. Research shows, as we saw with Luis above, that children who participate in mindfulness strategies in the classroom are significantly more likely to display cooperative and pro-social behaviors.

While mindfulness doesn’t equal an emotionally healthy child, it does lay the foundation for a child to become aware and then make better choices. Adding practical wisdom (ideas) and tools (practice) to this formula accelerates the creation of the emotionally healthy mindset, which can help a child in her darkest days find the light.

Jeremiah, age eight, learned in the third grade how to take deep breaths to calm down, a very effective mindfulness tool. Before he began using this tool he often did things he later regretted, like pushing his friend on the playground or screaming at his mom during the morning drop-off routine. But with the addition of deep breaths, Jeremiah has been able to calm himself more often and not have as many outbursts.

What mindfulness tools like Jeremiah’s deep breaths do is create space between stimulus and response so that children can make smarter choices. When Jeremiah functioned on automatic, he screamed, pushed, and chose to react negatively, which didn’t help him or anyone else. But with the addition of mindfulness, he slowed down and began to see that he had more options (especially when he was challenged on the playground) for handling what was often problematic for him.

Mindful Breathing

Mindful Breathing is a building block of mindfulness that children can return to over and over to become present and calm.

Use When:

  • children need to relax
  • they’re making careless mistakes
  • they get agitated easily

Why the Tool Works

  1. Mindful Breathing is a scientifically proven way to calm.
  2. Breathing exercises are invisible, so children can do them at home, at school, or anywhere they need them.
  3. When your child’s breath and body calm, the mind can also become calmer, which helps a child make smarter choices.

How to Implement

Mindful Breathing simply means paying attention to your breath. There is no wrong way to pay attention to your breath, but with time children can get better and better (we adults can, too).

The mindful breathing activity that I am sharing here is called Five for Five. Follow the steps below to experiment with it, and then teach it to your children.

Five for Five

    1. Introduce the activity as a mindful breathing activity, which means you pay attention to your breath.

    2. Ask your children to look at their hand (right or left). This exercise is about focusing on your breath, but you use your hand to count to five breaths.

    3. You may say something like this:

      “Let’s begin with our hands closed in a fist. This is our hand shut down. But as we take a deep breath in and a deep breath out, we pop one finger out of the fist. The slower we take the breaths, the better. This isn’t a race.

      “Let’s try our second breath; take a deep breath in, and let it out. Then our second finger goes out of the fist, and we have only three more fingers left. Again, the slower the better, and focus on your breath.

      “Take your third breath in, and let it out. Your third finger comes out.

      “Take your fourth breath in, and let it out. Your fourth finger comes out.

      “Take your fifth breath in, and let it out. Your last finger comes out, and now your whole hand is open. Your palm is flat, and the fist is gone.”

      Ask your child: “How do you feel now?”

When your children are getting agitated or off-balance you might encourage them to do the Five for Five breathing activity. I also suggest having your children do three rounds of five breaths, and in one round they focus on the in-breath, on the second round of five breaths they focus on the out-breath, and then in another round they focus on the whole breath — in and out.

The goal of this Five for Five activity is to provide children with an easy way to memorize simple breathing exercise and to give them a physical memory of it. Sometimes when children are older they don’t use the fist but simply touch each finger once. The point is to give them a physical reminder that they’re in control of their emotions and that they can use their breath — especially mindful breathing — to calm, center, and let their emotions come and go.

Tip:

    Don’t use Mindful Breathing only to calm your child or to have him regain his balance when he’s feeling a challenging emotion. Mindful Breathing is a wonderful way to calm and relax, especially in less volatile times, which helps children make a positive connection with this tool.

Copyright ©2018 by Maureen Healy.
Reprinted with permission from New World Library
www.newworldlibrary.com.

Article Source

The Emotionally Healthy Child: Helping Children Calm, Center, and Make Smarter Choices
by Maureen Healy.

The Emotionally Healthy Child: Helping Children Calm, Center, and Make Smarter Choices by Maureen Healy.While growing up has never been easy, today's world undeniably presents kids and their parents with unprecedented challenges. The upside, cites Maureen Healy, is a widespread acknowledgment that emotional health, resilience, and equilibrium can be learned and strengthened. Healy, who was a "wild child," the kind, she writes who left babysitters "wondering if they wanted children" knows her subject. She has become an expert on teaching skills that address the high sensitivity, big emotions, and hyper energy she herself experienced.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon. Also available as a Kindle edition.

About the Author

Maureen HealyMaureen Healy is the author of The Emotionally Healthy Child and Growing Happy Kids, which won the Nautilus and Readers’ Favorite book awards in 2014. A popular Psychology Today blogger and sought-after public speaker, Maureen runs a global mentoring program for elementary-aged children and works with parents and their children in her busy private practice. Her expertise in social and emotional learning has taken her all over the world, including working with Tibetan refugee children at the base of the Himalayas to classrooms in Northern California. Visit her online at  www.growinghappykids.com.

Watch an interview with the author:

Related Books

The Emotionally Healthy Child: Helping Children Calm, Center, and Make Smarter Choices

mindfulnessAuthor: Maureen Healy
Binding: Paperback
Studio: New World Library
Label: New World Library
Publisher: New World Library
Manufacturer: New World Library

Buy Now
Editorial Review: While growing up has never been easy, today's world undeniably presents kids and their parents with unprecedented challenges. The upside, cites Maureen Healy, is a widespread acknowledgment that emotional health, resilience, and equilibrium can be learned and strengthened. Healy, who was a "wild child," the kind, she writes who left babysitters "wondering if they wanted children" knows her subject. She has become an expert on teaching skills that address the high sensitivity, big emotions, and hyper energy she herself experienced. Three simple steps are key ― Stop, Calm, and Make a Smart Choice. While not always easy, these steps are powerful and Healy shows readers exactly how to implement them. Children move from acting out or shutting down, experiencing frequent physical symptoms such as head and stomach aches or hurting themselves or others, to recognizing they are being triggered, feeling their emotions, and using strategies to respond from a calmer place. As adults learn to model these skills, both adults and children become freer to do and be their best.




Growing Happy Kids: How to Foster Inner Confidence, Success, and Happiness

mindfulnessAuthor: Maureen Healy
Binding: Paperback
Studio: HCI
Label: HCI
Publisher: HCI
Manufacturer: HCI

Buy Now
Editorial Review: We all want children to be happy and grow into productive, fulfilled adults, and according to parenting expert Maureen Healy, the secret to that success is in providing a foundation of inner confidence. With twenty years of experience as a spiritual teacher and child development expert, Healy knows that confidence is never "out there" but is something to be cultivated from inside.Healy literally traveled the world in search of the best practices in raising inwardly strong children and the connection between inner confidence and lasting happiness. In Growing Happy Kids, she draws on her Buddhist training, her background in child psychology, and the latest scientific research. The result is her insightful model for creating inner confidence and cultivating a sense of emotional strength that lays the foundation for children's happiest lives.Anyone who touches the life of a child--parents, teachers, school administrators, grandparents, clinicians--will gain wise ideas and practical suggestions for nurturing a child's sense of confidence and ultimately, happiness.




The Highly Sensitive Child: Helping Our Children Thrive When The World Overwhelms Them

mindfulnessAuthor: Elaine N. Aron Ph.D.
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Harmony

Brand: Harmony
Studio: Harmony
Label: Harmony
Publisher: Harmony
Manufacturer: Harmony

Buy Now
Editorial Review: The bestselling author and psychologist whose books have topped 240,000 copies in print now addresses the trait of “high sensitivity” in children–and offers a breakthrough parenting guidebook for highly sensitive children and their caregivers.

With the publication of The Highly Sensitive Person, Elaine Aron became the first person to identify the inborn trait of “high sensitivity” and to show how it affects the lives of those who possess it. Up to 20 percent of the population is born highly sensitive, and now in The Highly Sensitive Child, Aron shifts her focus to highly sensitive children, who share the same characteristics as highly sensitive adults and thus face unique challenges as they grow up.

Rooted in Aron’s years of experience as a psychotherapist and her original research on child temperament, The Highly Sensitive Child shows how HSCs are born deeply reflective, sensitive to the subtle, and easily overwhelmed. These qualities can make for smart, conscientious, creative children, but with the wrong parenting or schooling, they can become unusually shy or timid, or begin acting out. Few parents and teachers understand where this behavior comes from–and as a result, HSCs are often mislabeled as overly inhibited, fearful, or “fussy,”or classified as “problem children” (and in some cases, misdiagnosed with disorders such as Attention Deficit Disorder). But raised with proper understanding and care, HSCs are no more prone to these problems than nonsensitive children and can grow up to be happy, healthy, well-adjusted adults.

In this pioneering work, parents will find helpful self-tests and case studies to help them understand their HSC, along with thorough advice on:
• The challenges of raising an highly sensitive child

• The four keys to successfully parenting an HSC

• How to soothe highly sensitive infants

• Helping sensitive children survive in a not-so-sensitive world

• Making school and friendships enjoyable


With chapters addressing the needs of specific age groups, from newborns through teens, The Highly Sensitive Child delivers warmhearted, timely information for parents, teachers, and the sensitive children in their lives.




mindfulness
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}