التنفس عناية للأطفال (وأولياء الأمور) من جميع الأعمار

التنفس عناية للأطفال (وأولياء الأمور) من جميع الأعمار

ملاحظة المحرر: في حين أن هذه المقالة موجهة نحو مساعدة الأطفال على تعلم اليقظة ، فإن مبادئها تنطبق أيضًا على البالغين ، ويمكن ممارسة تمرين التنفس الواعي من قبل الجميع ، بغض النظر عن العمر.

لقد سمع معظمنا الكلمة تنبيه الذهنالتي نعترف بها غريزيًا على أنها شيء مفيد لنا ولأطفالنا ، ولكن ما هذا؟ وكيف يمكن أن يساعد ذلك ، خاصة في خضم المطحون اليومي لضمان أن يتم الانتهاء من الواجبات المنزلية ، يتم إيقاف تشغيل الأجهزة ، والدراما يتم الاحتفاظ بها إلى الحد الأدنى؟

واحدة من عملائي ، لاحظت رينيه ، أم لثلاثة أولاد ، تغيراً هائلاً في ابنها لويس. بدأ بالعودة إلى البيت من المدرسة يريد أن يساعدها وكان له حضور إيجابي أكثر هدوءا مقارنة بحياته الذاتية "المدهشة والمثيرة" بعد المدرسة. لذلك سألت مدرسته: "ما الفرق في المدرسة هذا الأسبوع؟"

أجابت السيدة مون: "لقد بدأنا فقط في استخدام تمرينات الذهن كل صباح في الفصل الدراسي". وقد أدهشت رينيه. وعلى الرغم من عدم حصول كل طفل على مثل هذه الاستجابة الدراماتيكية ، إلا أن تمارين الذهن ساعدت لويس على الهدوء والتواصل بشكل أفضل.

اليقظه والحد من التوتر

ثبت اليقظه لمساعدة الآباء والأولاد على تهدئة الأجساد والعقول والأرواح. يشرح جون كابات-زين ، مبتكر برامج الحد من الإجهاد القائم على الذهن (MBSR) ، الذهن بأنه "الانتباه بطريقة معينة: عن قصد ، في الوقت الحاضر ، وغير قضائي".

تبدو بسيطة ، ولكن ليس من السهل دائما ، أليس كذلك؟ الجوانب الثلاثة للوعي التي أكدها Kabat-Zinn هي:

  • مع إيلاء اهتمام
  • حاضر
  • قبول ما هو (بدون حكم)

الاهتمام هو في جوهر الذهن. إنها مهارة لم يطورها العديد من الأطفال حتى الآن ، خاصة فيما يتعلق بما يشعرون به وما يفكرون به وما قد يفكر به الآخرون. وبالتالي ، فإن العديد من الاستراتيجيات في هذا الفصل تساعد الأطفال على تطوير مهارة الانتباه ، والتي يمكن تطبيقها على شعورهم واستخدامها في نهاية المطاف لاتخاذ خيارات أفضل.

عندما ينتبه طفلك بشكل كامل إلى ما يحدث في الوقت الحالي ، لا يمكن أن يتم القبض عليه في الماضي أو القلق بشأن المستقبل. إنها في اللحظة الحالية دون أن تتعثر في الحلقات العقلية حول ما حدث للتو أو ما سيحدث. إن وجودك في اللحظة الحالية ، حيث توجد كل قوة طفلك ، يساعده على التغلب على أي عاطفة تحدث ، والسماح له بالحركة. (تذكر: العواطف مؤقتة.)


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


أخيراً وليس آخراً ، يؤكد كابت زن على قبول ما هو ، أو رؤية الأشياء كما هي دون الحكم عليها أو وصفها بأنها جيدة أو سيئة. قد يكون ابنك قد حصل على درجة سيئة في تقريره عن التقدم ، وقد يشعر بالحزن حيال ذلك. هذا الحزن ليس جيدًا أو سيئًا - إنه فقط.

مع الحزن من دون حكم وقبول ما هو عليه - عاطفة طبيعية وصحية - هو الذهن. بالطبع ، يمكن لطفلك أن يقرر أن يفعل أو يفكر بشيء مختلف ليشعر بتحسن ، ولكن الذهن يسمح له برؤية ما يحدث دون إصدار حكم عليه.

عصر اليقظه

الفتيان والفتيات الذين يتعلمون كيفية إبطاء (الذهن) مقابل تسريع (الطمأنينة) يزرعون القدرة على اتخاذ خيارات أفضل. إنهم ببساطة يصقلون دماغهم بطريقة مبكرة في الحياة ، مما يمنحهم القدرة المتزايدة على تنظيم عواطفهم وإظهار السيطرة الإدراكية (عن طريق اختيار أفكارهم ، على سبيل المثال). أو كما نيويورك تايمز ويقول الصحفي ديفيد جيليز: "الذهن ، الذي يعزز المهارات التي يتم التحكم بها في القشرة المخية قبل الجبهية ، مثل التركيز والسيطرة الإدراكية ، يمكن أن يكون له تأثير خاص على تنمية المهارات بما في ذلك التنظيم الذاتي والحكم والصبر أثناء الطفولة".

وبعبارة أخرى ، فإن أجزاء الدماغ التي يتم تدريبها عن طريق الاستراتيجيات الواعية هي نفسها التي تساعد طفلك على تنمية الوعي العاطفي والتوازن. تظهر الأبحاث ، كما رأينا مع لويس أعلاه ، أن الأطفال الذين يشاركون في استراتيجيات الذهن في الفصل الدراسي هم أكثر عرضة بشكل كبير لعرض السلوكيات التعاونية والمؤيدة للمجتمع.

في حين أن الذهن لا يساوي طفلًا يتمتع بصحة عاطفية ، إلا أنه يضع أساسًا للطفل ليصبح مدركًا ومن ثم يتخذ خيارات أفضل. إن إضافة الحكمة العملية (الأفكار) والأدوات (الممارسة) لهذه الصيغة تسرع من خلق عقلية صحية عاطفية ، والتي يمكن أن تساعد الطفل في أحلك أيامه في العثور على الضوء.

تعلم إرميا ، البالغ من العمر ثماني سنوات ، في الصف الثالث كيف يأخذ نفسا عميقا لتهدئة ، أداة فعالة جدا في الوعي. قبل أن يبدأ استخدام هذه الأداة ، كان يفعل أشياء كثيرة ندم عليها في وقت لاحق ، مثل دفع صديقه في الملعب أو الصراخ في والدته أثناء عملية الروتين الصباحية. ولكن مع إضافة أنفاس عميقة ، استطاع إرميا أن يهدئ نفسه أكثر من أي وقت مضى ولم يكن لديه الكثير من النوبات.

ما هي أدوات الذهن مثل التنفس العميق لإرميا هي خلق مساحة بين التحفيز والاستجابة حتى يتمكن الأطفال من اتخاذ خيارات أكثر ذكاءً. عندما عمل أرميا على التلقائية ، صرخ ، ودفع ، واختار أن يتصرف بشكل سلبي ، والذي لم يساعده أو أي شخص آخر. ولكن مع إضافة الذهن ، تباطأ وبدأ في رؤية أنه كان لديه المزيد من الخيارات (خاصة عندما تم الطعن عليه في الملعب) للتعامل مع ما كان يمثل مشكلة في كثير من الأحيان بالنسبة له.

التنفس العميق

إن الوعي العميق هو لبنة من الذهن يمكن للأطفال العودة إليها مرارًا وتكرارًا ليصبحوا حاضرين وهادئين.

استخدام متى:

  • يحتاج الأطفال للاسترخاء
  • انهم يرتكبون أخطاء لا مبالاة
  • يتم تحريكهم بسهولة

لماذا تعمل الأداة

  1. التنفس الفعال هو طريقة مثبتة علميا للتهدئة.
  2. تمارين التنفس غير مرئية ، لذلك يمكن للأطفال القيام بها في المنزل أو في المدرسة أو في أي مكان يحتاجون إليها.
  3. عندما يهدأ جسم طفلك وجسمه ، يمكن للعقل أن يصبح أكثر هدوءًا ، مما يساعد الطفل على اتخاذ خيارات أكثر ذكاءً.

كيفية التنفيذ

التنفس الذكي يعني ببساطة الانتباه إلى أنفاسك. لا توجد طريقة خاطئة للاهتمام بنفاسك ، ولكن مع مرور الوقت ، يمكن للأطفال أن يصبحوا أفضل وأفضل (يمكننا نحن البالغين أيضًا).

يسمى نشاط التنفس الواعي الذي أتقاسمه هنا بـ Five for Five. اتبع الخطوات التالية لتجربتها ، ثم قم بتعليمها لأطفالك.

خمسة لخمس

    1. تعرّف على النشاط كنشاط تنفّسي مدروس ، مما يعني أنك تنتبه إلى تنفسك.

    2. اطلب من أطفالك النظر إلى توزيع الورق (يمينًا أو يسارًا). يدور هذا التمرين حول التركيز على أنفاسك ، لكنك تستخدم يدك للعد إلى خمسة أنفاس.

    3. يمكنك قول شيء من هذا القبيل:

      "دعونا نبدأ بأيدينا مغلقة في قبضة. هذه هي يدنا مغلقة. لكن بينما نأخذ نفسا عميقا وننفسا عميقا ، نخرج إصبع واحد من القبضة. أبطأ نأخذ الأنفاس ، كان ذلك أفضل. هذا ليس سباق.

      "دعونا نحاول نفسنا الثاني. تأخذ نفسا عميقا ، والسماح بها. ثم يخرج إصبعنا الثاني من القبضة ، ولن يتبقى لنا سوى ثلاثة أصابع. مرة أخرى ، أبطأ كلما كان ذلك أفضل ، والتركيز على أنفاسك.

      "خذ نفسك الثالث في ، والسماح بها. إصبعك الثالث يخرج

      "خذ نفسك الرابع في ، والسماح بها. إصبعك الرابع يخرج.

      "خذ نفسك الخامسة في ، والسماح بها. يظهر إصبعك الأخير ، والآن يدك مفتوحة. كفّتك مسطحة ، وذهبت القبضة ".

      اسأل طفلك: "كيف تشعر الآن؟"

عندما يصبح طفلك مضطربًا أو غير متوازن ، قد تشجعه على القيام بنشاط التنفس من خمسة إلى خمسة. أقترح أيضا أن يقوم أطفالك بثلاث جولات من خمسة أنفاس ، وفي جولة واحدة يركزون على التنفس ، في الجولة الثانية من خمسة أنفاس يركزون على التنفس الخارجي ، ثم في جولة أخرى يركزون على الكل التنفس - داخل وخارج.

الهدف من هذا النشاط من خمسة إلى خمسة هو تزويد الأطفال بطريقة سهلة لحفظ عملية التنفس البسيطة ومنحهم ذاكرة فعلية. في بعض الأحيان عندما يكون الأطفال أكبر سنًا ، لا يستخدمون القبضة ، بل يمسكون كل إصبع مرة واحدة. الهدف هو إعطائهم تذكيرًا جسديًا بأنهم يتحكمون في عواطفهم وأنهم يستطيعون استخدام أنفاسهم - وخصوصًا التنفس في الذهن - للتهدئة والتركيز وترك مشاعرهم تأتي وتذهب.

تلميح:

    لا تستخدمي التنفس العقلاني فقط لتهدئة طفلك أو لجعله يستعيد توازنه عندما يشعر بشعور تحدي. يعتبر Mindful Breathing وسيلة رائعة للهدوء والاسترخاء ، وخاصة في الأوقات الأقل تقلبًا ، والتي تساعد الأطفال على تكوين علاقة إيجابية مع هذه الأداة.

حق النشر ©2018 by Maureen Healy.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من مكتبة العالم الجديد
www.newworldlibrary.com.

المادة المصدر

الطفل العاطفي العاطفي: مساعدة الأطفال على الهدوء والتركيز وإتخاذ خيارات أكثر ذكاءً
بقلم مورين هيلي.

الطفل العاطفي العاطفي: مساعدة الأطفال على الهدوء والتركيز وتقديم خيارات أكثر ذكاءً بقلم مورين هيلي.في حين أن النضال لم يكن سهلاً أبداً ، فإن عالم اليوم يقدم بلا شك الأطفال وآبائهم تحديات غير مسبوقة. إن الاتجاه الصاعد ، كما يقول مورين هيلي ، هو اعتراف واسع الانتشار بأن الصحة العاطفية ، والمرونة ، والتوازن يمكن تعلمها وتقويتها. هيلي ، التي كانت "طفلة برية" ، من النوع الذي تكتبه ، والتي تركت الحاضنات "تتساءل عما إذا كانوا يريدون أطفالاً" يعرفون موضوعها. لقد أصبحت خبيرة في مهارات التدريس التي تتعامل مع الحساسية العالية ، والمشاعر الكبيرة ، والطاقة المفرطة التي واجهتها هي نفسها.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون. متوفر أيضًا كإصدار Kindle.

عن المؤلف

مورين هيليمورين هيلي وهو مؤلف من الطفل العاطفي العاطفي . تزايد الاطفال السعداءالتي فازت بجوائز Nautilus و Readers Book المفضلة في 2014. شعبية علم النفس اليوم وتدير مورين المدونة والمتحدثة العامة ، برنامجًا إرشاديًا عالميًا للأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين الأطفال ، وتعمل مع الآباء وأطفالهم في ممارستها الخاصة المزدحمة. خبرتها في التعلم الاجتماعي والعاطفي أخذتها في جميع أنحاء العالم ، بما في ذلك العمل مع الأطفال اللاجئين التبتيين في قاعدة جبال الهيمالايا إلى الفصول الدراسية في شمال كاليفورنيا. زيارة لها على الانترنت في www.growinghappykids.com.

شاهد مقابلة مع المؤلف:

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Maureen Healy؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

Mindful Breathing for Children (and Parents) of All Ages

mindfulness

Mindful Breathing for Children (and Parents) of All Ages

Editor's Note: While this article is geared towards helping children learn mindfulness, its tenets also apply to adults and the mindful breathing exercise can be practiced by all, regardless of age.

Most of us have heard the word mindfulness, which we instinctively recognize as something beneficial for us and our children, but what is it, really? And how can it possibly help, especially in the midst of the daily grind of ensuring that homework is completed, devices are turned off, and drama is kept to a minimum?

One of my clients, Renee, the mother of three boys, noticed a tremendous change in her son, Luis. He began coming home from school wanting to help her and had a positive, calmer presence as compared to his normal “hyped-up and agitated” after-school self. So she asked his teacher, “What is different at school this week?”

Mrs. Moon replied, “We just began using mindfulness exercises every morning in the classroom.” Renee was amazed. Although not every child has such a dramatic response, mindfulness exercises really helped Luis calm and connect better.

Mindfulness and Stress Reduction

Mindfulness is proven to help parents and children calm their often overstressed bodies, minds, and spirits. Jon Kabat-Zinn, creator of Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) programs, explains mindfulness as “paying attention in a particular way: on purpose, in the present moment, and nonjudgmentally.”

Sounds simple, but not always easy, right? The three aspects of mindfulness emphasized by Kabat-Zinn are:

  • paying attention
  • being present
  • accepting what is (without judgment)

Paying attention is at the core of mindfulness. It’s a skill that many children haven’t yet developed, especially as it relates to how they feel, what they’re thinking, and what others might be thinking of them. Accordingly, many of the strategies in this chapter help children develop the skill of paying attention, which can be applied to how they’re feeling and ultimately used to make better choices.

When your child is paying attention fully to what’s happening in the now, she cannot be caught in the past or worried about the future. She is in the present moment without getting stuck in mental loops about what just happened or what’s going to happen. Being in the present moment, where all your child’s power exists, helps her to overcome whatever emotion is happening and let it come as well as go. (Remember: emotions are temporary.)

Last but not least, Kabat-Zinn emphasizes accepting what is, or seeing things as they are without judging them or labeling them as good or bad. Your son may have gotten a poor grade on his progress report and may be feeling sad about it. This sadness isn’t good or bad — it just is.

Being with the sadness without judgment and accepting it for what it is — a natural and healthy emotion — is mindfulness. Of course, your child can decide to do or think something different to feel better, but mindfulness allows him to see what’s happening without making a judgment about it.

The Age of Mindfulness

Boys and girls who learn how to slow down (mindfulness) versus speed up (mindlessness) are cultivating the capacity to make better choices. They are simply hardwiring their brain optimally earlier in life, which gives them the increased ability to regulate their emotions and demonstrate cognitive control (by choosing their thoughts, for example). Or as New York Times reporter David Gelles puts it: “Mindfulness, which promotes skills that are controlled in the prefrontal cortex, like focus and cognitive control, can therefore have a particular impact on the development of skills including self-regulation, judgment and patience during childhood.”

In other words, the parts of the brain that are trained by mindful strategies are the same ones that help your child cultivate emotional awareness and balance. Research shows, as we saw with Luis above, that children who participate in mindfulness strategies in the classroom are significantly more likely to display cooperative and pro-social behaviors.

While mindfulness doesn’t equal an emotionally healthy child, it does lay the foundation for a child to become aware and then make better choices. Adding practical wisdom (ideas) and tools (practice) to this formula accelerates the creation of the emotionally healthy mindset, which can help a child in her darkest days find the light.

Jeremiah, age eight, learned in the third grade how to take deep breaths to calm down, a very effective mindfulness tool. Before he began using this tool he often did things he later regretted, like pushing his friend on the playground or screaming at his mom during the morning drop-off routine. But with the addition of deep breaths, Jeremiah has been able to calm himself more often and not have as many outbursts.

What mindfulness tools like Jeremiah’s deep breaths do is create space between stimulus and response so that children can make smarter choices. When Jeremiah functioned on automatic, he screamed, pushed, and chose to react negatively, which didn’t help him or anyone else. But with the addition of mindfulness, he slowed down and began to see that he had more options (especially when he was challenged on the playground) for handling what was often problematic for him.

Mindful Breathing

Mindful Breathing is a building block of mindfulness that children can return to over and over to become present and calm.

Use When:

  • children need to relax
  • they’re making careless mistakes
  • they get agitated easily

Why the Tool Works

  1. Mindful Breathing is a scientifically proven way to calm.
  2. Breathing exercises are invisible, so children can do them at home, at school, or anywhere they need them.
  3. When your child’s breath and body calm, the mind can also become calmer, which helps a child make smarter choices.

How to Implement

Mindful Breathing simply means paying attention to your breath. There is no wrong way to pay attention to your breath, but with time children can get better and better (we adults can, too).

The mindful breathing activity that I am sharing here is called Five for Five. Follow the steps below to experiment with it, and then teach it to your children.

Five for Five

    1. Introduce the activity as a mindful breathing activity, which means you pay attention to your breath.

    2. Ask your children to look at their hand (right or left). This exercise is about focusing on your breath, but you use your hand to count to five breaths.

    3. You may say something like this:

      “Let’s begin with our hands closed in a fist. This is our hand shut down. But as we take a deep breath in and a deep breath out, we pop one finger out of the fist. The slower we take the breaths, the better. This isn’t a race.

      “Let’s try our second breath; take a deep breath in, and let it out. Then our second finger goes out of the fist, and we have only three more fingers left. Again, the slower the better, and focus on your breath.

      “Take your third breath in, and let it out. Your third finger comes out.

      “Take your fourth breath in, and let it out. Your fourth finger comes out.

      “Take your fifth breath in, and let it out. Your last finger comes out, and now your whole hand is open. Your palm is flat, and the fist is gone.”

      Ask your child: “How do you feel now?”

When your children are getting agitated or off-balance you might encourage them to do the Five for Five breathing activity. I also suggest having your children do three rounds of five breaths, and in one round they focus on the in-breath, on the second round of five breaths they focus on the out-breath, and then in another round they focus on the whole breath — in and out.

The goal of this Five for Five activity is to provide children with an easy way to memorize simple breathing exercise and to give them a physical memory of it. Sometimes when children are older they don’t use the fist but simply touch each finger once. The point is to give them a physical reminder that they’re in control of their emotions and that they can use their breath — especially mindful breathing — to calm, center, and let their emotions come and go.

Tip:

    Don’t use Mindful Breathing only to calm your child or to have him regain his balance when he’s feeling a challenging emotion. Mindful Breathing is a wonderful way to calm and relax, especially in less volatile times, which helps children make a positive connection with this tool.

Copyright ©2018 by Maureen Healy.
Reprinted with permission from New World Library
www.newworldlibrary.com.

Article Source

The Emotionally Healthy Child: Helping Children Calm, Center, and Make Smarter Choices
by Maureen Healy.

The Emotionally Healthy Child: Helping Children Calm, Center, and Make Smarter Choices by Maureen Healy.While growing up has never been easy, today's world undeniably presents kids and their parents with unprecedented challenges. The upside, cites Maureen Healy, is a widespread acknowledgment that emotional health, resilience, and equilibrium can be learned and strengthened. Healy, who was a "wild child," the kind, she writes who left babysitters "wondering if they wanted children" knows her subject. She has become an expert on teaching skills that address the high sensitivity, big emotions, and hyper energy she herself experienced.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon. Also available as a Kindle edition.

About the Author

Maureen HealyMaureen Healy is the author of The Emotionally Healthy Child and Growing Happy Kids, which won the Nautilus and Readers’ Favorite book awards in 2014. A popular Psychology Today blogger and sought-after public speaker, Maureen runs a global mentoring program for elementary-aged children and works with parents and their children in her busy private practice. Her expertise in social and emotional learning has taken her all over the world, including working with Tibetan refugee children at the base of the Himalayas to classrooms in Northern California. Visit her online at  www.growinghappykids.com.

Watch an interview with the author:

Related Books

The Emotionally Healthy Child: Helping Children Calm, Center, and Make Smarter Choices

mindfulnessAuthor: Maureen Healy
Binding: Paperback
Studio: New World Library
Label: New World Library
Publisher: New World Library
Manufacturer: New World Library

Buy Now
Editorial Review: While growing up has never been easy, today's world undeniably presents kids and their parents with unprecedented challenges. The upside, cites Maureen Healy, is a widespread acknowledgment that emotional health, resilience, and equilibrium can be learned and strengthened. Healy, who was a "wild child," the kind, she writes who left babysitters "wondering if they wanted children" knows her subject. She has become an expert on teaching skills that address the high sensitivity, big emotions, and hyper energy she herself experienced. Three simple steps are key ― Stop, Calm, and Make a Smart Choice. While not always easy, these steps are powerful and Healy shows readers exactly how to implement them. Children move from acting out or shutting down, experiencing frequent physical symptoms such as head and stomach aches or hurting themselves or others, to recognizing they are being triggered, feeling their emotions, and using strategies to respond from a calmer place. As adults learn to model these skills, both adults and children become freer to do and be their best.




Growing Happy Kids: How to Foster Inner Confidence, Success, and Happiness

mindfulnessAuthor: Maureen Healy
Binding: Paperback
Studio: HCI
Label: HCI
Publisher: HCI
Manufacturer: HCI

Buy Now
Editorial Review: We all want children to be happy and grow into productive, fulfilled adults, and according to parenting expert Maureen Healy, the secret to that success is in providing a foundation of inner confidence. With twenty years of experience as a spiritual teacher and child development expert, Healy knows that confidence is never "out there" but is something to be cultivated from inside.Healy literally traveled the world in search of the best practices in raising inwardly strong children and the connection between inner confidence and lasting happiness. In Growing Happy Kids, she draws on her Buddhist training, her background in child psychology, and the latest scientific research. The result is her insightful model for creating inner confidence and cultivating a sense of emotional strength that lays the foundation for children's happiest lives.Anyone who touches the life of a child--parents, teachers, school administrators, grandparents, clinicians--will gain wise ideas and practical suggestions for nurturing a child's sense of confidence and ultimately, happiness.




The Highly Sensitive Child: Helping Our Children Thrive When The World Overwhelms Them

mindfulnessAuthor: Elaine N. Aron Ph.D.
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Harmony

Brand: Harmony
Studio: Harmony
Label: Harmony
Publisher: Harmony
Manufacturer: Harmony

Buy Now
Editorial Review: The bestselling author and psychologist whose books have topped 240,000 copies in print now addresses the trait of “high sensitivity” in children–and offers a breakthrough parenting guidebook for highly sensitive children and their caregivers.

With the publication of The Highly Sensitive Person, Elaine Aron became the first person to identify the inborn trait of “high sensitivity” and to show how it affects the lives of those who possess it. Up to 20 percent of the population is born highly sensitive, and now in The Highly Sensitive Child, Aron shifts her focus to highly sensitive children, who share the same characteristics as highly sensitive adults and thus face unique challenges as they grow up.

Rooted in Aron’s years of experience as a psychotherapist and her original research on child temperament, The Highly Sensitive Child shows how HSCs are born deeply reflective, sensitive to the subtle, and easily overwhelmed. These qualities can make for smart, conscientious, creative children, but with the wrong parenting or schooling, they can become unusually shy or timid, or begin acting out. Few parents and teachers understand where this behavior comes from–and as a result, HSCs are often mislabeled as overly inhibited, fearful, or “fussy,”or classified as “problem children” (and in some cases, misdiagnosed with disorders such as Attention Deficit Disorder). But raised with proper understanding and care, HSCs are no more prone to these problems than nonsensitive children and can grow up to be happy, healthy, well-adjusted adults.

In this pioneering work, parents will find helpful self-tests and case studies to help them understand their HSC, along with thorough advice on:
• The challenges of raising an highly sensitive child

• The four keys to successfully parenting an HSC

• How to soothe highly sensitive infants

• Helping sensitive children survive in a not-so-sensitive world

• Making school and friendships enjoyable


With chapters addressing the needs of specific age groups, from newborns through teens, The Highly Sensitive Child delivers warmhearted, timely information for parents, teachers, and the sensitive children in their lives.




mindfulness
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}