Warum Achtsamkeit kann nicht auch für Männer funktionieren

Warum Achtsamkeit kann nicht auch für Männer funktionieren

Achtsamkeitskurse haben weniger Einfluss auf die Einstellungen und Gefühle von Männern als auf Frauen, wie neue Forschungsergebnisse nahelegen.

In einer Studie über einen wissenschaftlichen Kurs zur Achtsamkeit, der auch Meditationslabors umfasste, fanden Forscher heraus, dass die Praxis Frauen im Durchschnitt signifikant dabei half, "negative Affekte" - eine niedergeschlagene Stimmung - zu überwinden, Männern aber nicht zu helfen.

Das Ergebnis, so die Autoren, sollte mehr Aufmerksamkeit auf die Berücksichtigung von Geschlecht als einem potenziellen Faktor bei der Beurteilung der Achtsamkeitswirksamkeit lenken.

Mehr Frauen als Männer beschäftigen sich mit Achtsamkeitsmeditation, mit der Absicht, absichtlich und nicht-urteilsmäßig die Aufmerksamkeit auf gegenwärtige Empfindungen und Gefühle zu lenken, sagt Willoughby Britton, Assistenzprofessor für Psychiatrie und menschliches Verhalten sowie Verhaltens- und Sozialwissenschaften an der Brown University.

"Ich wäre nicht überrascht, wenn dies ein weit verbreitetes Phänomen wäre, das die Forscher nicht untersucht hätten."

In der Forschungsliteratur gab es keine vorherrschende Meinung, dass die Praxis Männer und Frauen unterschiedlich betrifft. Doch die Daten, die Britton und ihre Koautoren in einer neuen Arbeit in Frontiers in Psychology zeigen einen deutlichen geschlechtsspezifischen Unterschied in den Ergebnissen für die Stimmung.

"Das war der überraschende Teil", sagt Britton. Seit dieser Studie hat sie jedoch das gleiche Muster in zwei anderen Studien gefunden, die für die zukünftige Veröffentlichung geprüft werden. "Ich wäre nicht überrascht, wenn dies ein weit verbreitetes Phänomen wäre, das die Forscher nicht untersucht hätten."


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Auf der anderen Seite, fügt Britton hinzu, sei es ermutigend, einen klaren Vorteil für Frauen zu sehen, die im Allgemeinen anfälliger für negative Affekte und Depressionen seien.

"Emotionale Störungen wie Depressionen im frühen Erwachsenenalter sind mit einer ganzen Reihe negativer Entwicklungslinien verbunden, die Frauen weiter benachteiligen, wie schlechte schulische Leistungen, Schulabbruch, frühe Schwangerschaft und Drogenmissbrauch", sagt sie.

"Die Tatsache, dass ein College-Kurs Frauen Fähigkeiten vermitteln könnte, um negative Auswirkungen in diesem frühen Alter besser zu managen, könnte potenziell weitreichende Auswirkungen auf das Leben von Frauen haben."

Co-lead Autor Rahil Rojiani, ein Medizinstudent an der Yale University, sagt, er hoffe, dass die Studie Unterschiede in der psychischen Gesundheitsversorgung verringern wird.

"Die Kluft zwischen den Geschlechtern in der psychischen Gesundheit ist unzureichend ausgereicht worden und oft nur innerhalb des medizinischen Standardarsenals der pharmakologischen Behandlung", sagt Rojiani. "Unsere Studie untersucht als einer der ersten die Auswirkungen von Achtsamkeit auf das Geschlecht."

Männer gegen Frauen

Die Studie maß Veränderungen in Bezug auf Affekt, Achtsamkeit und Selbstmitgefühl bei 41-männlichen und 36-Studentinnen im Verlauf einer vollständigen, 12-Woche dauernden akademischen Klasse über Achtsamkeitstraditionen mit Papieren, Tests und Präsentationen, die auch eine erfahrungsbezogene Komponente von drei beinhalteten einstündige Meditationslabore pro Woche.

Co-Autor Harold Roth, Professor für Religionswissenschaften, unterrichtete die Labore, die über 30 Minuten pro Sitzung spezifische kontemplative Praxis aus buddhistischen oder daoistischen Traditionen enthalten. Achtsamkeit ist auf Universitätscampus populär geworden, sagt Britton, während Studenten und Verwalter es als eine mögliche Weise betrachten, Studenten zu helfen, Stress oder Depression zu handhaben.

Für diese Studie füllten die Schüler Fragebögen zu Beginn und am Ende des Unterrichts aus. Im Laufe des Studiums hatte der durchschnittliche Schüler mehr als 41-Stunden der Meditation in der Klasse und außerhalb verbracht. Es gab keinen statistisch signifikanten Unterschied in der Menge der Meditationspraxis nach Geschlecht. Männer und Frauen traten ebenfalls in die Klasse ein, ohne Unterschied in ihrem negativen Affekt.

In der Gruppe haben die 77-Schüler die Klasse auch nicht verlassen und zeigten einen signifikanten Unterschied im negativen Affekt. Der Grund dafür war, dass Frauen zwar einen signifikanten 11.6-prozentualen Rückgang bei der standardisierten Punktzahl der Umfrage zeigten (was ein positives psychologisches Ergebnis ist), aber Männer zeigten eine nicht signifikante 3.7-Prozent-Zunahme ihrer Punktzahlen.

Neben diesen Veränderungen im Affekt zeigte jedes Geschlecht Fortschritte in den Fähigkeiten, die im Rahmen der Meditation vermittelt wurden. Beide Geschlechter erlangten mehrere spezifische Achtsamkeits- und Selbstmitgefühlsfähigkeiten und ihre Gesamtbewertung nahm signifikant zu. Diese Erkenntnis zeigt, dass die Klassen die Techniken effektiv vermitteln konnten, obwohl Frauen in vier von fünf Bereichen der Achtsamkeit größere Fortschritte machten als Männer.

Als die Forscher weiter in die Daten eindrangen, sahen sie, dass bei Frauen mehrere der Gewinne, die sie in spezifischen Fertigkeiten erzielten, mit Verbesserungen der negativen Affekte korrelierten.

"Verbesserte Affekte bei Frauen standen in Zusammenhang mit verbesserter Achtsamkeit und Selbstmitgefühl, die spezifische Subskalen für die Annäherung an Erfahrung und Emotionen mit Nicht-Reaktivität, weniger Selbstkritik und Freundlichkeit mit sich selbst und weniger Identifikation mit Emotionen beinhalten" Die Autoren schreiben.

Bei Männern war nur eine der spezifischen Fähigkeiten mit einem besseren Affekt verbunden.

"In dem Maße, in dem sich die Affekte verbesserten, korrelierten Veränderungen mit einer verbesserten Dimension der Achtsamkeit, die die Fähigkeit zur Identifizierung, Beschreibung und Differenzierung der eigenen Gefühle umfasste", schreiben sie.

Eine neue Hypothese zur Achtsamkeit

Britton sagt, dass die Ergebnisse eine neue Hypothese nahelegen, nämlich dass Achtsamkeitsregime, zumindest wie sie oft strukturiert sind, besser auf die Art und Weise abgestimmt sein können, wie Frauen typischerweise Emotionen verarbeiten als die Art und Weise, wie Männer oft tun. Achtsamkeit führt die Praktizierenden dazu, sich auf Gefühle zu konzentrieren und sie anzuerkennen, aber dies auf eine nicht wertende und nicht selbstkritische Weise.

"Die Mechanismen sind zu diesem Zeitpunkt sehr spekulativ, aber stereotypisch, Frauen grübeln und Männer ablenken", sagt Britton. "Für Menschen, die bereit sind, sich zu konfrontieren oder sich dem Schwierigen zuzuwenden, ist Achtsamkeit dazu da, [das zu verbessern]. Für Menschen, die ihre Aufmerksamkeit weitgehend von dem Schwierigen abgelenkt haben, plötzlich all ihre Aufmerksamkeit auf ihre Schwierigkeiten zu lenken, kann etwas kontraproduktiv sein. "

"Wenn man sich den eigenen Schwierigkeiten stellt und die eigenen Gefühle fühlt, mag dies universell vorteilhaft sein", fährt er fort, "es wird nicht berücksichtigt, dass es für Männer und Frauen unterschiedliche kulturelle Erwartungen in Bezug auf Emotionalität geben kann."

Wenn diese Hypothese in weiteren Forschungen unterstützt wird, können die Ergebnisse eine wichtige Strategie für die Entwickler von Achtsamkeits-Curricula liefern. Für Frauen mag die Botschaft sein, den Kurs zu halten, aber für Männer könnte die beste Idee sein, die Achtsamkeit anders zu gestalten.

"Achtsamkeit ist ein bisschen wie ein Drogencocktail - es gibt viele Zutaten und wir sind uns nicht sicher, welche Zutaten was machen", sagt Britton. "Aber ich denke, eine Strategie, potenzielle" Wirkstoffe "zu isolieren und etwas innovativere Designs zu verwenden, um auf die Bedürfnisse verschiedener Bevölkerungsgruppen zugeschnitten zu sein, ist gefragt."

Laut Britton betont die Studie für andere Achtsamkeitsforscher einen Vorteil für die Berücksichtigung von Geschlecht. Hätte sie das in dieser Studie nicht getan, hätte sie einen Null-Effekt auf den Affekt gemeldet, obwohl Frauen tatsächlich signifikant davon profitierten. Wenn die Studienpopulation stark gegen Frauen ausgerichtet und nicht ausgewogener gewesen wäre, hätte sie möglicherweise einen stärkeren Nutzen gemessen, der fälschlicherweise auf Männer extrapoliert worden wäre.

Die National Institutes of Health, das Mind and Life Institute, die Lenz Foundation, die Hershey Foundation und die Brown University Contemplative Studies Initiative haben die Forschung finanziert.

Quelle: Brown University

Bücher zum Thema:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Achtsamkeit; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Mindfulness May Not Work As Well For Men

Mindfulness

Why Mindfulness May Not Work As Well For Men

Mindfulness courses have less effect on the attitudes and emotions of men than on those of women, new research suggests.

In a study of a scholarly course on mindfulness that also included meditation labs, researchers found that the practice on average significantly helped women overcome “negative affect”—a downcast mood—but did not help men.

The finding, the authors say, should call more attention to considering gender as a potential factor in assessing mindfulness efficacy.

More women than men engage in mindfulness meditation, the practice of intentionally and non-judgmentally directing one’s attention to present sensations and feelings, says Willoughby Britton, assistant professor of psychiatry and human behavior and of behavioral and social sciences at Brown University.

“I wouldn’t be surprised if this is a widespread phenomenon that researchers hadn’t bothered to investigate.”

There hasn’t been a prevailing notion in the research literature that the practice affects men and women differently. Yet the data Britton and her coauthors present in a new paper in Frontiers in Psychology show a clear gender difference in outcomes for mood.

“That was the surprising part,” Britton says. Since this study, though, she has found the same pattern in two other studies under review for future publication. “I wouldn’t be surprised if this is a widespread phenomenon that researchers hadn’t bothered to investigate.”

On the other hand, Britton adds, it was encouraging to see a clear benefit for women, who are generally more vulnerable to negative affect and depression, she notes.

“Emotional disorders like depression in early adulthood are linked to a litany of negative trajectories that further disadvantage women, such as poor academic performance, school drop-out, early pregnancy, and substance abuse,” she says.

“The fact that a college course could teach women skills to better manage negative affect at this early age could have potentially far-reaching effects on women’s lives.”

Co-lead author Rahil Rojiani, a medical student at Yale University, says he hopes the study will narrow disparities in mental health care.

“The gender gap in mental health has been inadequately targeted and often only within the standard medical arsenal of pharmacological treatment,” Rojiani says. “Our study is one of the first to explore the effects of mindfulness across gender.”

Men vs. women

The study measured changes in affect, mindfulness, and self-compassion among 41 male and 36 female students over the course of a full, 12-week academic class on mindfulness traditions with papers, tests, and presentations that also included an experiential component of three hour-long meditation labs a week.

Coauthor Harold Roth, professor of religious studies, taught the labs, which included about 30 minutes per session of specific contemplative practice from Buddhist or Daoist traditions. Mindfulness has become popular on college campuses, Britton says, as students and administrators look to it as a potential way of helping students manage stress or depression.

For this study, students filled out questionnaires at the beginning and the end of the class. Over the course of the study, the average student had engaged in more than 41 hours of meditation in class and outside. There was no statistically significant difference in the amount of meditation practice by gender. Men and women also entered the class with no difference in their degree of negative affect.

As a group, the 77 students also did not leave the class showing a significant difference in negative affect. That’s because while women showed a significant 11.6 percent decline on the survey’s standardized score (which is a positive psychological outcome), men showed a non-significant 3.7 percent increase in their scores.

Alongside those changes in affect, each gender showed progress in skills taught as part of meditation. Both genders gained in several specific mindfulness and self-compassion skills and their overall scores increased significantly. That finding shows that the classes were effective in teaching the techniques, though women made greater gains than men on four of five areas of mindfulness.

When the researchers dug further into the data, they saw that in women several of the gains they made in specific skills correlated with improvements in negative affect.

“Improved affect in women was related to improved mindfulness and self-compassion skills, which involved specific subscales for approaching experience and emotions with non-reactivity, being less self-critical and more kind with themselves, and over-identifying less with emotions,” the authors write.

Meanwhile, among men, only one of the specific skills was associated with better affect.

“To the extent that affect improved, changes were correlated with an improved dimension of mindfulness involving the ability to identify, describe, and differentiate one’s emotions,” they write.

A new hypothesis on mindfulness

Britton says the results suggest a new hypothesis, which is that mindfulness regimens, at least as they are often structured, may be better attuned to addressing the ways that women typically process emotions than the ways that men often do. Mindfulness guides practitioners to focus on and acknowledge feelings but to do so in a non-judgmental and non-self-critical way.

“The mechanisms are highly speculative at this point, but stereotypically, women ruminate and men distract,” Britton says. “So for people that tend to be willing to confront or expose themselves or turn toward the difficult, mindfulness is made for [improving] that. For people who have been largely turning their attention away from the difficult, to suddenly bring all their attention to their difficulties can be somewhat counterproductive.”

“While facing one’s difficulties and feeling one’s emotions may seem to be universally beneficial,” he continues, “it does not take into account that there may be different cultural expectations for men and women around emotionality.”

If that hypothesis is supported in further research, the findings may yield an important strategy for the designers of mindfulness curricula. For women, the message may be to stay the course, but for men the best idea may be to tailor mindfulness differently.

“Mindfulness is a little bit like a drug cocktail—there are a lot of ingredients and we’re not sure which ingredients are doing what,” Britton says. “But I think a strategy of isolating potential ‘active ingredients’ and using slightly more innovative designs to tailor to the needs of different populations is what’s called for.”

For fellow mindfulness researchers, Britton says, the study emphasizes a benefit to accounting for gender. Had she not done so in this study, she would have reported a null effect on affect when in fact women benefitted significantly. At the same time, if the study population had been heavily skewed toward women rather than more balanced, she might have measured a stronger benefit that would have been improperly extrapolated to men.

The National Institutes of Health, the Mind and Life Institute, the Lenz Foundation, the Hershey Foundation, and the Brown University Contemplative Studies Initiative funded the research.

Source: Brown University

Related Books:

Mindfulness: An Eight-Week Plan for Finding Peace in a Frantic World

MindfulnessAuthor: Mark Williams
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Mindfulness: An Eight-Week Plan for Finding Peace in a Frantic World

Brand: Unknown
Creator(s):
  • Jon Kabat-Zinn

Studio: Rodale Books
Label: Rodale Books
Publisher: Rodale Books
Manufacturer: Rodale Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review: THE LIFE-CHANGING INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER.

MINDFULNESS reveals a set of simple yet powerful practices that you can incorporate into daily life to help break the cycle of anxiety, stress, unhappiness, and exhaustion. It promotes the kind of happiness and peace that gets into your bones. It seeps into everything you do and helps you meet the worst that life throws at you with new courage.

The book is based on Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT). MBCT revolves around a straightforward form of mindfulness meditation which takes just a few minutes a day for the full benefits to be revealed. MBCT has been clinically proven to be at least as effective as drugs for depression and is widely recommended by US physicians and the UK's National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence - in other words, it works. More importantly it also works for people who are not depressed but who are struggling to keep up with the constant demands of the modern world.

MBCT was developed by the book's author, Oxford professor Mark Williams, and his colleagues at the Universities of Cambridge and Toronto. By investing just 10 to 20 minutes each day, you can learn the simple mindfulness meditations at the heart of MBCT and fully reap their benefits. The book includes links to audio meditations to help guide you through the process. You'll be surprised by how quickly these techniques will have you enjoying life again.




Wherever You Go, There You Are: Mindfulness Meditation in Everyday Life

MindfulnessAuthor: Jon Kabat-Zinn
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Motivational poster that is perfect for classrooms
  • High quality image, crisp and clear
  • Allow your mind to wander to endless landscapes of possibility
  • Durable and long lasting design will allow for generations of minds to think differently and positively
  • 13.4 x 19 inches will provide your wall with an inspirational message that all ages can appreciate

Brand: TREND ENTERPRISES INC.
Studio: Hachette Books
Label: Hachette Books
Publisher: Hachette Books
Manufacturer: Hachette Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review: When Wherever You Go, There You Are was first published in 1994, no one could have predicted that the book would launch itself onto bestseller lists nationwide and sell over 750,000 copies to date. Ten years later, the book continues to change lives. In honor of the book's 10th anniversary, Hyperion is proud to be releasing the book with a new afterword by the author, and to share this wonderful book with an even larger audience.




Mindful Kids: 50 Mindfulness Activities for Kindness , Focus and Calm

MindfulnessAuthor: Focus and Calm Mindful Kids: 50 Mindfulness Activities for Kindness
Binding: Pamphlet
Brand: BAREFOOT BOOKS
Studio: Stewart, Whitney
Label: Stewart, Whitney
Publisher: Stewart, Whitney
Manufacturer: Stewart, Whitney

Buy Now
Editorial Review: This boxed card deck includes 50 creative mindfulness games, visualizations and exercises divided into 5 categories to help children feel grounded, find calm, improve focus, practice loving-kindness and relax. Whimsical full-color illustrations on both sides of the cards break down each practice into easy-to-follow steps. Tips on individual cards plus an 8-page instructional booklet show modifications that make these activities inclusive for children of all abilities.




Mindfulness
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}