Pourquoi la pleine conscience peut ne pas fonctionner aussi bien pour les hommes

Pourquoi la pleine conscience peut ne pas fonctionner aussi bien pour les hommes

Les cours de pleine conscience ont moins d'effet sur les attitudes et les émotions des hommes que sur ceux des femmes, suggère une nouvelle recherche.

Dans une étude d'un cours sur la pleine conscience qui incluait également des laboratoires de méditation, les chercheurs ont constaté que la pratique en moyenne aidait considérablement les femmes à surmonter leur «affect négatif» - une humeur baissée - mais n'aidait pas les hommes.

La conclusion, les auteurs disent, devrait appeler plus d'attention à considérer le genre comme un facteur potentiel dans l'évaluation de l'efficacité de la pleine conscience.

Selon Willoughby Britton, professeur adjoint de psychiatrie et de comportement humain et de sciences du comportement et des sciences sociales à l'Université Brown, plus de femmes que d'hommes se livrent à la méditation de pleine conscience, la pratique délibérée et non-dirigée de capter l'attention sur les sensations et les sentiments actuels.

"Je ne serais pas surpris si c'est un phénomène très répandu que les chercheurs n'ont pas pris la peine d'étudier."

Il n'y a pas eu de notion dominante dans la littérature de recherche selon laquelle la pratique affecte différemment les hommes et les femmes. Pourtant, les données Britton et ses co-auteurs présentent dans un nouveau document Frontières en psychologie montrer une différence claire entre les sexes dans les résultats pour l'humeur.

"C'était la partie surprenante", explique Britton. Depuis cette étude, cependant, elle a trouvé le même schéma dans deux autres études à l'étude pour publication ultérieure. "Je ne serais pas surpris si c'est un phénomène très répandu que les chercheurs n'ont pas pris la peine d'étudier."


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


D'un autre côté, ajoute Britton, il était encourageant de voir un bénéfice clair pour les femmes, qui sont généralement plus vulnérables aux affects négatifs et à la dépression, note-t-elle.

«Les troubles affectifs tels que la dépression au début de l'âge adulte sont liés à une série de trajectoires négatives qui défavorisent davantage les femmes, comme les résultats scolaires médiocres, l'abandon scolaire, les grossesses précoces et la toxicomanie», dit-elle.

«Le fait qu'un cours collégial pourrait enseigner aux femmes les compétences nécessaires pour mieux gérer les affects négatifs à ce jeune âge pourrait avoir des effets potentiellement importants sur la vie des femmes.

L'auteur principal, Rahil Rojiani, étudiant en médecine à l'Université de Yale, espère que l'étude réduira les disparités en matière de soins de santé mentale.

"L'écart entre les sexes en matière de santé mentale a été insuffisamment ciblé et souvent seulement dans l'arsenal médical standard du traitement pharmacologique", explique Rojiani. "Notre étude est l'une des premières à explorer les effets de la pleine conscience à travers le genre."

Hommes contre femmes

L'étude a mesuré les changements d'affect, de pleine conscience et d'auto-compassion chez les étudiantes 41 et 36 au cours d'un cours complet de 12-week sur les traditions de pleine conscience avec des articles, des tests et des présentations incluant également une composante expérientielle de trois laboratoires de méditation d'une heure par semaine.

Le coauteur Harold Roth, professeur d'études religieuses, a enseigné les labos, qui comprenaient des minutes 30 par session de pratique contemplative spécifique des traditions bouddhistes ou taoïstes. Britton dit que la pleine conscience est devenue populaire sur les campus universitaires, car les étudiants et les administrateurs y voient un moyen potentiel d'aider les étudiants à gérer le stress ou la dépression.

Pour cette étude, les étudiants ont rempli des questionnaires au début et à la fin du cours. Au cours de l'étude, l'étudiant moyen a participé à plus de 41 heures de méditation en classe et à l'extérieur. Il n'y avait pas de différence statistiquement significative dans la quantité de pratique de la méditation par sexe. Les hommes et les femmes sont également entrés dans la classe sans différence dans leur degré d'affect négatif.

En tant que groupe, les étudiants 77 n'ont pas non plus quitté la classe montrant une différence significative dans l'affect négatif. En effet, alors que les femmes ont montré une baisse significative de 11.6 en pourcentage sur le score normalisé de l'enquête (qui est un résultat psychologique positif), les hommes ont montré une augmentation non significative de leur score 3.7.

Parallèlement à ces changements dans l'affect, chaque sexe a montré des progrès dans les compétences enseignées dans le cadre de la méditation. Les deux sexes ont acquis plusieurs compétences spécifiques de pleine conscience et d'auto-compassion et leurs scores globaux ont augmenté de manière significative. Cette découverte montre que les classes ont été efficaces dans l'enseignement des techniques, bien que les femmes aient fait plus de progrès que les hommes dans quatre des cinq domaines de la pleine conscience.

Lorsque les chercheurs ont creusé plus loin dans les données, ils ont constaté que chez les femmes, plusieurs des gains qu'ils ont réalisés dans des compétences spécifiques corrélaient avec des améliorations dans l'affect négatif.

«L'amélioration de l'affect chez les femmes était liée à l'amélioration de la conscience et des capacités d'auto-compassion, qui impliquaient des sous-échelles spécifiques pour approcher l'expérience et les émotions avec une non-réactivité, être moins autocritiques et plus gentilles avec elles-mêmes. les auteurs écrivent.

Pendant ce temps, parmi les hommes, une seule des compétences spécifiques était associée à un meilleur affect.

"Dans la mesure où l'affect s'est amélioré, les changements ont été corrélés avec une dimension améliorée de la pleine conscience impliquant la capacité d'identifier, de décrire et de différencier ses émotions", écrivent-ils.

Une nouvelle hypothèse sur la pleine conscience

Britton dit que les résultats suggèrent une nouvelle hypothèse, qui est que les schémas de pleine conscience, au moins comme ils sont souvent structurés, peuvent être mieux adaptés à la façon dont les femmes traitent typiquement les émotions que les hommes font souvent. La pleine conscience aide les pratiquants à se concentrer sur les sentiments et à les reconnaître, mais à le faire d'une manière non critique et non autocritique.

"Les mécanismes sont hautement spéculatifs à ce stade, mais de façon stéréotypée, les femmes ruminent et les hommes se distraient", explique Britton. "Donc, pour les gens qui ont tendance à vouloir se confronter ou s'exposer ou se tourner vers le difficile, la pleine conscience est faite pour [améliorer] cela. Pour les gens qui ont largement détourné leur attention du difficile, porter soudainement toute leur attention à leurs difficultés peut être quelque peu contre-productif. "

«Même si ses difficultés et ses émotions peuvent paraître bénéfiques à tous, il ne tient pas compte du fait qu'il peut y avoir des attentes culturelles différentes pour les hommes et les femmes en ce qui concerne l'émotivité.

Si cette hypothèse est soutenue dans des recherches plus approfondies, les résultats peuvent donner une stratégie importante pour les concepteurs de programmes de pleine conscience. Pour les femmes, le message peut être de garder le cap, mais pour les hommes, la meilleure idée peut être d'adapter différemment la pleine conscience.

«La pleine conscience est un peu comme un cocktail de médicaments - il y a beaucoup d'ingrédients et nous ne sommes pas sûrs des ingrédients qui font quoi», dit Britton. "Mais je pense qu'une stratégie consistant à isoler les" ingrédients actifs "potentiels et à utiliser des modèles légèrement plus innovants pour répondre aux besoins des différentes populations est ce qu'il faut".

Pour les autres chercheurs en pleine conscience, dit Britton, l'étude met l'accent sur un avantage à comptabiliser le genre. Si elle ne l'avait pas fait dans cette étude, elle aurait rapporté un effet nul sur l'affect alors qu'en fait les femmes en ont bénéficié de manière significative. Dans le même temps, si la population de l'étude avait été fortement orientée vers les femmes plutôt que plus équilibrée, elle aurait pu mesurer un avantage plus fort qui aurait été incorrectement extrapolé aux hommes.

Les Instituts nationaux de la santé, l'Institut Mind and Life, la Fondation Lenz, la Fondation Hershey et l'Université Brown University ont financé la recherche.

La source: Université Brown

Livres connexes:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = attention, maxresults = 3}

Why Mindfulness May Not Work As Well For Men

Mindfulness

Why Mindfulness May Not Work As Well For Men

Mindfulness courses have less effect on the attitudes and emotions of men than on those of women, new research suggests.

In a study of a scholarly course on mindfulness that also included meditation labs, researchers found that the practice on average significantly helped women overcome “negative affect”—a downcast mood—but did not help men.

The finding, the authors say, should call more attention to considering gender as a potential factor in assessing mindfulness efficacy.

More women than men engage in mindfulness meditation, the practice of intentionally and non-judgmentally directing one’s attention to present sensations and feelings, says Willoughby Britton, assistant professor of psychiatry and human behavior and of behavioral and social sciences at Brown University.

“I wouldn’t be surprised if this is a widespread phenomenon that researchers hadn’t bothered to investigate.”

There hasn’t been a prevailing notion in the research literature that the practice affects men and women differently. Yet the data Britton and her coauthors present in a new paper in Frontiers in Psychology show a clear gender difference in outcomes for mood.

“That was the surprising part,” Britton says. Since this study, though, she has found the same pattern in two other studies under review for future publication. “I wouldn’t be surprised if this is a widespread phenomenon that researchers hadn’t bothered to investigate.”

On the other hand, Britton adds, it was encouraging to see a clear benefit for women, who are generally more vulnerable to negative affect and depression, she notes.

“Emotional disorders like depression in early adulthood are linked to a litany of negative trajectories that further disadvantage women, such as poor academic performance, school drop-out, early pregnancy, and substance abuse,” she says.

“The fact that a college course could teach women skills to better manage negative affect at this early age could have potentially far-reaching effects on women’s lives.”

Co-lead author Rahil Rojiani, a medical student at Yale University, says he hopes the study will narrow disparities in mental health care.

“The gender gap in mental health has been inadequately targeted and often only within the standard medical arsenal of pharmacological treatment,” Rojiani says. “Our study is one of the first to explore the effects of mindfulness across gender.”

Men vs. women

The study measured changes in affect, mindfulness, and self-compassion among 41 male and 36 female students over the course of a full, 12-week academic class on mindfulness traditions with papers, tests, and presentations that also included an experiential component of three hour-long meditation labs a week.

Coauthor Harold Roth, professor of religious studies, taught the labs, which included about 30 minutes per session of specific contemplative practice from Buddhist or Daoist traditions. Mindfulness has become popular on college campuses, Britton says, as students and administrators look to it as a potential way of helping students manage stress or depression.

For this study, students filled out questionnaires at the beginning and the end of the class. Over the course of the study, the average student had engaged in more than 41 hours of meditation in class and outside. There was no statistically significant difference in the amount of meditation practice by gender. Men and women also entered the class with no difference in their degree of negative affect.

As a group, the 77 students also did not leave the class showing a significant difference in negative affect. That’s because while women showed a significant 11.6 percent decline on the survey’s standardized score (which is a positive psychological outcome), men showed a non-significant 3.7 percent increase in their scores.

Alongside those changes in affect, each gender showed progress in skills taught as part of meditation. Both genders gained in several specific mindfulness and self-compassion skills and their overall scores increased significantly. That finding shows that the classes were effective in teaching the techniques, though women made greater gains than men on four of five areas of mindfulness.

When the researchers dug further into the data, they saw that in women several of the gains they made in specific skills correlated with improvements in negative affect.

“Improved affect in women was related to improved mindfulness and self-compassion skills, which involved specific subscales for approaching experience and emotions with non-reactivity, being less self-critical and more kind with themselves, and over-identifying less with emotions,” the authors write.

Meanwhile, among men, only one of the specific skills was associated with better affect.

“To the extent that affect improved, changes were correlated with an improved dimension of mindfulness involving the ability to identify, describe, and differentiate one’s emotions,” they write.

A new hypothesis on mindfulness

Britton says the results suggest a new hypothesis, which is that mindfulness regimens, at least as they are often structured, may be better attuned to addressing the ways that women typically process emotions than the ways that men often do. Mindfulness guides practitioners to focus on and acknowledge feelings but to do so in a non-judgmental and non-self-critical way.

“The mechanisms are highly speculative at this point, but stereotypically, women ruminate and men distract,” Britton says. “So for people that tend to be willing to confront or expose themselves or turn toward the difficult, mindfulness is made for [improving] that. For people who have been largely turning their attention away from the difficult, to suddenly bring all their attention to their difficulties can be somewhat counterproductive.”

“While facing one’s difficulties and feeling one’s emotions may seem to be universally beneficial,” he continues, “it does not take into account that there may be different cultural expectations for men and women around emotionality.”

If that hypothesis is supported in further research, the findings may yield an important strategy for the designers of mindfulness curricula. For women, the message may be to stay the course, but for men the best idea may be to tailor mindfulness differently.

“Mindfulness is a little bit like a drug cocktail—there are a lot of ingredients and we’re not sure which ingredients are doing what,” Britton says. “But I think a strategy of isolating potential ‘active ingredients’ and using slightly more innovative designs to tailor to the needs of different populations is what’s called for.”

For fellow mindfulness researchers, Britton says, the study emphasizes a benefit to accounting for gender. Had she not done so in this study, she would have reported a null effect on affect when in fact women benefitted significantly. At the same time, if the study population had been heavily skewed toward women rather than more balanced, she might have measured a stronger benefit that would have been improperly extrapolated to men.

The National Institutes of Health, the Mind and Life Institute, the Lenz Foundation, the Hershey Foundation, and the Brown University Contemplative Studies Initiative funded the research.

Source: Brown University

Related Books:

Mindfulness: An Eight-Week Plan for Finding Peace in a Frantic World

MindfulnessAuthor: Mark Williams
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Mindfulness: An Eight-Week Plan for Finding Peace in a Frantic World

Brand: Unknown
Creator(s):
  • Jon Kabat-Zinn

Studio: Rodale Books
Label: Rodale Books
Publisher: Rodale Books
Manufacturer: Rodale Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review: THE LIFE-CHANGING INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER.

MINDFULNESS reveals a set of simple yet powerful practices that you can incorporate into daily life to help break the cycle of anxiety, stress, unhappiness, and exhaustion. It promotes the kind of happiness and peace that gets into your bones. It seeps into everything you do and helps you meet the worst that life throws at you with new courage.

The book is based on Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT). MBCT revolves around a straightforward form of mindfulness meditation which takes just a few minutes a day for the full benefits to be revealed. MBCT has been clinically proven to be at least as effective as drugs for depression and is widely recommended by US physicians and the UK's National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence - in other words, it works. More importantly it also works for people who are not depressed but who are struggling to keep up with the constant demands of the modern world.

MBCT was developed by the book's author, Oxford professor Mark Williams, and his colleagues at the Universities of Cambridge and Toronto. By investing just 10 to 20 minutes each day, you can learn the simple mindfulness meditations at the heart of MBCT and fully reap their benefits. The book includes links to audio meditations to help guide you through the process. You'll be surprised by how quickly these techniques will have you enjoying life again.




Wherever You Go, There You Are: Mindfulness Meditation in Everyday Life

MindfulnessAuthor: Jon Kabat-Zinn
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Motivational poster that is perfect for classrooms
  • High quality image, crisp and clear
  • Allow your mind to wander to endless landscapes of possibility
  • Durable and long lasting design will allow for generations of minds to think differently and positively
  • 13.4 x 19 inches will provide your wall with an inspirational message that all ages can appreciate

Brand: TREND ENTERPRISES INC.
Studio: Hachette Books
Label: Hachette Books
Publisher: Hachette Books
Manufacturer: Hachette Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review: When Wherever You Go, There You Are was first published in 1994, no one could have predicted that the book would launch itself onto bestseller lists nationwide and sell over 750,000 copies to date. Ten years later, the book continues to change lives. In honor of the book's 10th anniversary, Hyperion is proud to be releasing the book with a new afterword by the author, and to share this wonderful book with an even larger audience.




Mindful Kids: 50 Mindfulness Activities for Kindness , Focus and Calm

MindfulnessAuthor: Focus and Calm Mindful Kids: 50 Mindfulness Activities for Kindness
Binding: Pamphlet
Brand: BAREFOOT BOOKS
Studio: Stewart, Whitney
Label: Stewart, Whitney
Publisher: Stewart, Whitney
Manufacturer: Stewart, Whitney

Buy Now
Editorial Review: This boxed card deck includes 50 creative mindfulness games, visualizations and exercises divided into 5 categories to help children feel grounded, find calm, improve focus, practice loving-kindness and relax. Whimsical full-color illustrations on both sides of the cards break down each practice into easy-to-follow steps. Tips on individual cards plus an 8-page instructional booklet show modifications that make these activities inclusive for children of all abilities.




Mindfulness
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}