لماذا اليقظه قد لا تعمل جيدا بالنسبة للرجال

لماذا اليقظه قد لا تعمل جيدا بالنسبة للرجال

توصلت دراسة حديثة إلى أن دورات اليقظه لها تأثير أقل على مواقف وعواطف الرجال أكثر من تأثيرها على النساء.

في دراسة أجريت على دورة دراسية علمية حول الذهن شملت أيضًا مختبرات التأمل ، وجد الباحثون أن هذه الممارسة ساعدت بشكل كبير في المتوسط ​​النساء على التغلب على "التأثير السلبي" - وهو مزاج متدهور - ولكن لم يساعد الرجال.

ويقول الباحثون إن هذه النتيجة يجب أن تدعو لمزيد من الاهتمام إلى اعتبار الجندر عاملاً محتملاً في تقييم فعالية الذهن.

عدد النساء اللواتي ينخرطن في التأمل الذهن أكثر من الرجال ، وهي الممارسة التي توجه انتباه المرء عن قصد وغير قضائي إلى الأحاسيس والمشاعر الحالية ، كما يقول ويلوغبي بريتون ، أستاذ مساعد في الطب النفسي والسلوك البشري والعلوم السلوكية والاجتماعية في جامعة براون.

"لن أكون مندهشًا إذا كانت هذه ظاهرة شائعة لم يزعج الباحثون التحقيق فيها".

لم يكن هناك مفهوم سائد في الأدبيات البحثية أن هذه الممارسة تؤثر على الرجال والنساء بشكل مختلف. ومع ذلك فإن البيانات Britton و coauthors لها موجودة في ورقة جديدة في الحدود في علم النفس إظهار اختلاف واضح بين الجنسين في نتائج المزاج.

"هذا هو الجزء المفاجئ" ، يقول بريتون. منذ هذه الدراسة ، على الرغم من أنها وجدت نفس النمط في دراستين أخريين قيد المراجعة للنشر المستقبلي. "لن أكون مندهشًا إذا كانت هذه ظاهرة شائعة لم يزعج الباحثون التحقيق فيها".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


من ناحية أخرى ، تضيف بريتون ، أنه من المشجع رؤية فائدة واضحة للنساء ، اللواتي هن بشكل عام أكثر عرضة للتأثير السلبي والاكتئاب ، كما تلاحظ.

"إن الاضطرابات العاطفية مثل الاكتئاب في مرحلة البلوغ المبكر ترتبط بمجموعة من المسارات السلبية التي تضر المرأة أكثر ، مثل الأداء الأكاديمي الضعيف ، والانقطاع عن الدراسة ، والحمل المبكر ، وتعاطي المخدرات" ، كما تقول.

"إن حقيقة أن دورة الكلية يمكن أن تعلم مهارات المرأة لتحسين إدارة التأثيرات السلبية في هذا العمر المبكر يمكن أن يكون لها تأثيرات بعيدة المدى على حياة النساء".

يقول راؤول روجياني ، وهو طالب مشارك ، وهو طالب في كلية الطب بجامعة ييل ، إنه يأمل أن تضيق الدراسة التباينات في الرعاية الصحية العقلية.

يقول روجياني: "الفجوة بين الجنسين في الصحة العقلية لم يتم استهدافها بشكل كافٍ ، وغالبًا ما تكون فقط ضمن الترسانة الطبية القياسية للمعالجة الدوائية". "دراستنا هي واحدة من أولى استكشاف آثار الذهن عبر الجنسين."

الرجال مقابل النساء

وقامت الدراسة بقياس التغيرات في التأثير والذهن والتعاطف الذاتي بين طلبة 41 من الذكور و 36 خلال دورة أكاديميّة كاملة في الأسبوع 12 على تقاليد اليقظة مع الأوراق والاختبارات والعروض التقديمية التي تضمنت أيضًا عنصرًا تجريبيًا في ثلاثة مختبرات التأمل لمدة ساعة في الأسبوع.

وقد قام Coauthor Harold Roth ، أستاذ الدراسات الدينية ، بتدريس المختبرات ، والتي شملت محاضر 30 لكل جلسة لممارسة تأملية محددة من التقاليد البوذية أو الطاوية. لقد أصبحت اليقظه شائعة في حرم الجامعات ، كما تقول بريتون ، حيث ينظر الطلاب والمسؤولون إليها كطريقة محتملة لمساعدة الطلاب على إدارة الإجهاد أو الاكتئاب.

في هذه الدراسة ، قام الطلاب بملء الاستبيانات في بداية ونهاية الفصل الدراسي. على مدار الدراسة ، شارك الطالب العادي في أكثر من 41 ساعة من التأمل في الفصل وخارجه. لم يكن هناك فروق ذات دلالة إحصائية في مقدار ممارسة التأمل حسب الجنس. كما دخل الرجال والنساء في الفصل دون فرق في درجة تأثيرهم السلبي.

كمجموعة ، لم يترك طلاب 77 الفصل الدراسي الذي يظهر اختلافًا كبيرًا في التأثير السلبي. ويرجع ذلك إلى أنه في حين أظهرت النساء انخفاضًا ملحوظًا في نسبة 11.6 في النتيجة القياسية للمسح (وهي نتيجة نفسية إيجابية) ، أظهر الرجال زيادة غير هامة في نسبة 3.7 في درجاتهم.

جنبا إلى جنب مع هذه التغييرات في التأثير ، أظهر كل جنس التقدم المحرز في المهارات التي تدرس كجزء من التأمل. اكتسب كلا الجنسين في العديد من المهارات الذهنية والتعاطف الذاتي ، وزادت درجاتهم الكلية بشكل ملحوظ. وتبين هذه النتيجة أن الفصول الدراسية كانت فعالة في تدريس التقنيات ، رغم أن المرأة حققت مكاسب أكبر من الرجال في أربعة من خمسة مجالات من الذهن.

عندما اكتشف الباحثون المزيد في البيانات ، رأوا في النساء العديد من المكاسب التي حققوها في مهارات محددة مرتبطة بالتحسينات في التأثير السلبي.

"كان التأثير المحسّن في النساء مرتبطًا بتحسين الذهن ومهارات التراحم الذاتي ، التي اشتملت على مقاييس معينة من أجل الاقتراب من التجربة والعواطف مع عدم التفاعل ، وكونها أقل انتقادا للذات وأكثر صداقة مع أنفسهم ، والإفراط في تحديد أقل مع العواطف". يكتب المؤلفون.

في غضون ذلك ، بين الرجال ، كان يرتبط فقط واحدة من المهارات المحددة مع تأثير أفضل.

"إلى الحد الذي يؤثر على التحسن ، ارتبطت التغييرات مع تحسين البعد من الذهن بما في ذلك القدرة على تحديد ووصف والتمييز بين العواطف ،" يكتبون.

فرضية جديدة على الذهن

يقول بريتون أن النتائج تشير إلى فرضية جديدة ، وهي أن نظم الذهن ، على الأقل كما هي غالباً ما تكون مهيكلة ، قد تكون أكثر ملاءمة للتعامل مع الطرق التي عادة ما تعالج النساء بها العواطف من الطرق التي غالباً ما يفعلها الرجال. يوجه اليقظه الممارسين للتركيز على وتسلم المشاعر ولكن للقيام بذلك بطريقة غير قضائية وغير انتقادية الذاتي.

تقول بريتون: "الآليات عالية المضاربة في هذه المرحلة ، ولكن بصورة نمطية ، فإن النساء يجترن ويصرف الرجال." "لذلك بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين يميلون إلى الاستعداد لمواجهة أو فضح أنفسهم أو التوجه نحو الصعوبة ، يتم وضع الذهن [لتحسين] ذلك. بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين حولوا انتباههم إلى حد بعيد عن الصعوبات ، فإن جلب كل اهتمامهم إلى صعوباتهم قد يؤدي إلى نتائج عكسية نوعًا ما.

"في الوقت الذي تواجه فيه صعوبات المرء ويشعر أن عواطف المرء قد تبدو مفيدة على المستوى العالمي" ، يواصل قائلاً: "لا يأخذ في الاعتبار أنه قد يكون هناك توقعات ثقافية مختلفة للرجال والنساء حول الانفعالات".

إذا تم دعم هذه الفرضية في إجراء مزيد من البحوث ، قد تؤدي النتائج إلى استراتيجية مهمة لمصممي المناهج الدراسية الذهن. بالنسبة للنساء ، قد تكون الرسالة هي الاستمرار في الدورة ، لكن بالنسبة إلى الرجال ، قد تكون أفضل فكرة هي تكييف الذهن بشكل مختلف.

يقول بريتون: "إن اليقظه هو مثل كوكتيل المخدرات ، فهناك الكثير من المكونات ، ونحن لسنا متأكدين من المكونات التي تقوم بعمل ما". "لكنني أعتقد أن استراتيجية عزل" المكونات النشطة "المحتملة واستخدام تصميمات أكثر ابتكارًا بشكل طفيف لتلائم احتياجات المجموعات السكانية المختلفة هي ما يسمى".

ويقول الباحثون إن الدراسة تؤكد على فائدة حساب النوع الاجتماعي. لو لم تكن قد فعلت ذلك في هذه الدراسة ، لكانت قد أبلغت عن تأثير ضار على التأثير عندما استفادت النساء بشكل كبير. في الوقت نفسه ، إذا كان مجتمع الدراسة قد انحرف بشكل كبير نحو النساء بدلاً من أن يكون أكثر توازناً ، فقد تكون قد قاست منفعة أقوى كان يمكن استقراءها بشكل غير مناسب للرجال.

مولت المعاهد الوطنية للصحة ، ومعهد العقل والحياة ، ومؤسسة لينز ، ومؤسسة هيرشي ، ومبادرة الدراسات التأملية لجامعة براون البحث.

مصدر: جامعة براون

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = الذهن، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Mindfulness May Not Work As Well For Men

Mindfulness

Why Mindfulness May Not Work As Well For Men

Mindfulness courses have less effect on the attitudes and emotions of men than on those of women, new research suggests.

In a study of a scholarly course on mindfulness that also included meditation labs, researchers found that the practice on average significantly helped women overcome “negative affect”—a downcast mood—but did not help men.

The finding, the authors say, should call more attention to considering gender as a potential factor in assessing mindfulness efficacy.

More women than men engage in mindfulness meditation, the practice of intentionally and non-judgmentally directing one’s attention to present sensations and feelings, says Willoughby Britton, assistant professor of psychiatry and human behavior and of behavioral and social sciences at Brown University.

“I wouldn’t be surprised if this is a widespread phenomenon that researchers hadn’t bothered to investigate.”

There hasn’t been a prevailing notion in the research literature that the practice affects men and women differently. Yet the data Britton and her coauthors present in a new paper in Frontiers in Psychology show a clear gender difference in outcomes for mood.

“That was the surprising part,” Britton says. Since this study, though, she has found the same pattern in two other studies under review for future publication. “I wouldn’t be surprised if this is a widespread phenomenon that researchers hadn’t bothered to investigate.”

On the other hand, Britton adds, it was encouraging to see a clear benefit for women, who are generally more vulnerable to negative affect and depression, she notes.

“Emotional disorders like depression in early adulthood are linked to a litany of negative trajectories that further disadvantage women, such as poor academic performance, school drop-out, early pregnancy, and substance abuse,” she says.

“The fact that a college course could teach women skills to better manage negative affect at this early age could have potentially far-reaching effects on women’s lives.”

Co-lead author Rahil Rojiani, a medical student at Yale University, says he hopes the study will narrow disparities in mental health care.

“The gender gap in mental health has been inadequately targeted and often only within the standard medical arsenal of pharmacological treatment,” Rojiani says. “Our study is one of the first to explore the effects of mindfulness across gender.”

Men vs. women

The study measured changes in affect, mindfulness, and self-compassion among 41 male and 36 female students over the course of a full, 12-week academic class on mindfulness traditions with papers, tests, and presentations that also included an experiential component of three hour-long meditation labs a week.

Coauthor Harold Roth, professor of religious studies, taught the labs, which included about 30 minutes per session of specific contemplative practice from Buddhist or Daoist traditions. Mindfulness has become popular on college campuses, Britton says, as students and administrators look to it as a potential way of helping students manage stress or depression.

For this study, students filled out questionnaires at the beginning and the end of the class. Over the course of the study, the average student had engaged in more than 41 hours of meditation in class and outside. There was no statistically significant difference in the amount of meditation practice by gender. Men and women also entered the class with no difference in their degree of negative affect.

As a group, the 77 students also did not leave the class showing a significant difference in negative affect. That’s because while women showed a significant 11.6 percent decline on the survey’s standardized score (which is a positive psychological outcome), men showed a non-significant 3.7 percent increase in their scores.

Alongside those changes in affect, each gender showed progress in skills taught as part of meditation. Both genders gained in several specific mindfulness and self-compassion skills and their overall scores increased significantly. That finding shows that the classes were effective in teaching the techniques, though women made greater gains than men on four of five areas of mindfulness.

When the researchers dug further into the data, they saw that in women several of the gains they made in specific skills correlated with improvements in negative affect.

“Improved affect in women was related to improved mindfulness and self-compassion skills, which involved specific subscales for approaching experience and emotions with non-reactivity, being less self-critical and more kind with themselves, and over-identifying less with emotions,” the authors write.

Meanwhile, among men, only one of the specific skills was associated with better affect.

“To the extent that affect improved, changes were correlated with an improved dimension of mindfulness involving the ability to identify, describe, and differentiate one’s emotions,” they write.

A new hypothesis on mindfulness

Britton says the results suggest a new hypothesis, which is that mindfulness regimens, at least as they are often structured, may be better attuned to addressing the ways that women typically process emotions than the ways that men often do. Mindfulness guides practitioners to focus on and acknowledge feelings but to do so in a non-judgmental and non-self-critical way.

“The mechanisms are highly speculative at this point, but stereotypically, women ruminate and men distract,” Britton says. “So for people that tend to be willing to confront or expose themselves or turn toward the difficult, mindfulness is made for [improving] that. For people who have been largely turning their attention away from the difficult, to suddenly bring all their attention to their difficulties can be somewhat counterproductive.”

“While facing one’s difficulties and feeling one’s emotions may seem to be universally beneficial,” he continues, “it does not take into account that there may be different cultural expectations for men and women around emotionality.”

If that hypothesis is supported in further research, the findings may yield an important strategy for the designers of mindfulness curricula. For women, the message may be to stay the course, but for men the best idea may be to tailor mindfulness differently.

“Mindfulness is a little bit like a drug cocktail—there are a lot of ingredients and we’re not sure which ingredients are doing what,” Britton says. “But I think a strategy of isolating potential ‘active ingredients’ and using slightly more innovative designs to tailor to the needs of different populations is what’s called for.”

For fellow mindfulness researchers, Britton says, the study emphasizes a benefit to accounting for gender. Had she not done so in this study, she would have reported a null effect on affect when in fact women benefitted significantly. At the same time, if the study population had been heavily skewed toward women rather than more balanced, she might have measured a stronger benefit that would have been improperly extrapolated to men.

The National Institutes of Health, the Mind and Life Institute, the Lenz Foundation, the Hershey Foundation, and the Brown University Contemplative Studies Initiative funded the research.

Source: Brown University

Related Books:

Mindfulness: An Eight-Week Plan for Finding Peace in a Frantic World

MindfulnessAuthor: Mark Williams
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Mindfulness: An Eight-Week Plan for Finding Peace in a Frantic World

Brand: Unknown
Creator(s):
  • Jon Kabat-Zinn

Studio: Rodale Books
Label: Rodale Books
Publisher: Rodale Books
Manufacturer: Rodale Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review: THE LIFE-CHANGING INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER.

MINDFULNESS reveals a set of simple yet powerful practices that you can incorporate into daily life to help break the cycle of anxiety, stress, unhappiness, and exhaustion. It promotes the kind of happiness and peace that gets into your bones. It seeps into everything you do and helps you meet the worst that life throws at you with new courage.

The book is based on Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT). MBCT revolves around a straightforward form of mindfulness meditation which takes just a few minutes a day for the full benefits to be revealed. MBCT has been clinically proven to be at least as effective as drugs for depression and is widely recommended by US physicians and the UK's National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence - in other words, it works. More importantly it also works for people who are not depressed but who are struggling to keep up with the constant demands of the modern world.

MBCT was developed by the book's author, Oxford professor Mark Williams, and his colleagues at the Universities of Cambridge and Toronto. By investing just 10 to 20 minutes each day, you can learn the simple mindfulness meditations at the heart of MBCT and fully reap their benefits. The book includes links to audio meditations to help guide you through the process. You'll be surprised by how quickly these techniques will have you enjoying life again.




Wherever You Go, There You Are: Mindfulness Meditation in Everyday Life

MindfulnessAuthor: Jon Kabat-Zinn
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Motivational poster that is perfect for classrooms
  • High quality image, crisp and clear
  • Allow your mind to wander to endless landscapes of possibility
  • Durable and long lasting design will allow for generations of minds to think differently and positively
  • 13.4 x 19 inches will provide your wall with an inspirational message that all ages can appreciate

Brand: TREND ENTERPRISES INC.
Studio: Hachette Books
Label: Hachette Books
Publisher: Hachette Books
Manufacturer: Hachette Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review: When Wherever You Go, There You Are was first published in 1994, no one could have predicted that the book would launch itself onto bestseller lists nationwide and sell over 750,000 copies to date. Ten years later, the book continues to change lives. In honor of the book's 10th anniversary, Hyperion is proud to be releasing the book with a new afterword by the author, and to share this wonderful book with an even larger audience.




Mindful Kids: 50 Mindfulness Activities for Kindness , Focus and Calm

MindfulnessAuthor: Focus and Calm Mindful Kids: 50 Mindfulness Activities for Kindness
Binding: Pamphlet
Brand: BAREFOOT BOOKS
Studio: Stewart, Whitney
Label: Stewart, Whitney
Publisher: Stewart, Whitney
Manufacturer: Stewart, Whitney

Buy Now
Editorial Review: This boxed card deck includes 50 creative mindfulness games, visualizations and exercises divided into 5 categories to help children feel grounded, find calm, improve focus, practice loving-kindness and relax. Whimsical full-color illustrations on both sides of the cards break down each practice into easy-to-follow steps. Tips on individual cards plus an 8-page instructional booklet show modifications that make these activities inclusive for children of all abilities.




Mindfulness
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}