كيف يمكنك إعادة كتابة سيناريو حياتك

كيف يمكننا إعادة كتابة سيناريو حياتناالصور: مايكل دروموند، شريط الفيلم الرقمي (CC0 1.0)

يبدو أن محتوى حياتك يتدفق بسلاسة ، ولكنه في الواقع أكثر من سلسلة من الأطر الثابتة ، مثل فيلم. يتحرك الفيلم من خلال جهاز العرض ويعرض ككل متماسك ، ولكننا نعلم أنه في الواقع عبارة عن سلسلة من الإطارات المتميزة الثابتة. عند إيقاف الحركة وتجميد الإطار ، يصبح الفيلم عرض شرائح.

وبالمثل ، حياتنا هي سلسلة من "اللحظات" التي تتدفق معا. نميل إلى استخراج إطار واحد هنا ، وآخر هنا ، وصنع قصصًا عنها. يطلق عليها اسم "سدادات تظهر". قد يواجه شخص ما فجأة مشكلة في شيء ما يحدث ... وتستمر الفرامل. فجأة ، هناك قصة لمعالجة. "لماذا قلت ذلك لي؟ ماذا تقصد بذلك؟ "أو" هذا يذكرني بالوقت ... "

قصة واحدة تولد آخر

قصص تولد مع بعضها البعض. واحد يحفز آخر. أي شيء يقال ينشط شيئًا ما في قاعدة بياناتك القصصية ، ويذكرك بطريقة غير واعٍ لك بشيء آخر حتى يتم إعادة سرد قصة قديمة أو إنشاء قصة جديدة.

يعيش معظم الناس على هذا النحو ، من قصة إلى قصة 24 / 7. ولكن ماذا ستكون ... من سيكون من دون كل تلك القصص؟ ماذا سيكون مجرد الاستمتاع بصدق ، محادثة إيجابية ممزوجة بالصمت؟ هل يبدأ تصور حقيقي للواقع في إظهار نفسه؟ نعم ، هذا بالضبط ما يحدث.

فكر في حياتك بتفاصيلها العديدة وقل لنفسك: "إذا تركت كل هذا ، فمن سأكون؟" هذا الشكل غير دائم. كل المحتوى غير دائم. في مرحلة ما ، سيكون عليك أن تدعها تذهب. ماذا لو سمحت بتركها الآن ، قبل أن تجبرك الموت الجسدي؟ "ما الذي يمكنني تجربته ، من سأكون ، دون كل هذا المحتوى؟"

رحيمة السماح للآخرين المعاناة

كنت أشاهد قصة إخبارية مؤخراً عن البغايا في لاس فيغاس. واحدًا تلو الآخر وصفوا معاناتهم ، البؤس والدراما في حياتهم. أتوقع أن معظم المشاهدين كانوا يحكمون على هذا الأمر على أنه أمر مروع ، وربما يدين هؤلاء النساء ، وربما يشعرون بالأسف تجاههم. ولكن من منظور شامل ، كانت هذه التجربة صالحة لهم. هذا هو المكان الذي كانت أقدامهم في هذه اللحظة.

هل يمكنك السماح للآخرين بمعاناتهم؟ بالطبع ، أنت تمدنا في التعاطف ، ولكن الوعي الأكثر تعاطفا هو أن تسمح للآخرين بكامل تجاربهم الخاصة. الأمر متروك لهم للخروج من ذلك.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


في اللحظة التي يختارون فيها شيئًا مختلفًا تصبح التجربة التالية التي حان الوقت بالنسبة لهم. لا أحد منا في وضع يسمح له بالتعجيل بتلك اللحظة لأي شخص ، بناء على بعض الحكمة أو الفهم المتفوق المفترض بشأن ما ينبغي أو لا ينبغي عليه القيام به. بعد كل شيء ، انها تجربة حياتهم ، وليس لنا! كما أنهم يمثلون جزءًا منا ، لأنه كل وعي واحد. إذا كانوا يعانون ، جزء مني يعاني ولا يمكنني تغيير جزء منه. يجب أولاً أن أشفي نفسي قبل أن أتمكن من مساعدة الآخرين. يبدأ التعاطف الحقيقي مع حب الذات.

قبول التعلم دون حكم

عملت واحدة من شركائنا في الواقع في كازينو لاس فيغاس. بعد أن شاركت في برنامجنا لفترة من الوقت بدأت في الحكم على نفسها لوجودها هناك. قالت لي: "إنها شديدة الكثافة وغير فعالة". "جميع العملاء أنانية ؛ هم عادة ما يكونون في حالة سكر و قهري. يصطف الموظفون على باب مكتبي كل يوم ، على وشك الانهيار العصبي. ماذا أفعل هناك؟

أتذكر أن أقول لها شيئاً كهذا: "حسناً ، يمكنك أن تولد الله في نفسك بشكل جيد. ما هو المكان الأفضل من الكازينو إلى الله في كل شخص آخر؟ طالما كان هذا هو المكان الذي وجدت فيه نفسها ، فقد كان المكان المثالي لتعلم القبول بدون حكم ، لرؤية الله في الجميع ، كما فعلت الأم تريزا.

تتطور نحو "لا قصة"

إن السعي وراء الصوفي الحقيقي هو الجلوس في الفراغ ، ولا يحتاج إلى أي محتوى ، ويختبر من تكون في جوهره دون أية قصص على الإطلاق. مثل هذا الشخص يتطور نحو "لا قصة." في كل تقاليد الحكمة تجد مبدأ "التنازل". الرهبان ، التأمل ، يدركون أنه يجب عليهم التبسيط. هذا هو ما علمتنا موكتاندا في وقت مبكر ولكن ليس له علاقة بالتخلي عن ممتلكاتنا. هو دائما عن التخلي عن قصص وهمية.

بالنسبة للمبتدئين ، يمكنك البدء في التأكيد على الصمت والاستمتاع به فيما يتعلق بالضجيج ، فقط بضع قصص فيما يتعلق بالعديد من القصص. بما أن معظم الناس لا يستطيعون العثور على السكون على الفور ، فإن تغيير التوازن تدريجيا مثل هذا يساعد.

يمكنك أيضًا البدء في سرد ​​قصص صادقة عن هويتك وما هي الحياة. قصصك الخيالية تدور حول من لا تعرفه. قصصك الصادقة حول من أنت حقا. بالطبع ، التأكيدات المتكررة هي إحدى طرق القيام بذلك. "أنا مصدر الوعي ... أنا واحد وكامل".

بمجرد زيادة التوازن عن طريق تقليل حجم القصة الخادعة وزيادة حجم القصة الحقيقية ، ستجد السكون بسهولة أكبر. تبدأ في العيش في منطقة لا قصة. المتأملون المتقدمون قادرون على الجلوس في التأمل ويكونون مطلقين في العقل بدون أي أفكار أو قصص على الإطلاق ، لكن هذه قدرة طوروها بمرور الوقت.

عندما تستيقظ وتشعر بوعي الشاهد بشكل أكثر تناسقًا ، فإنك تصبح كاتبًا للقصصي ، أقل تحديدًا مع المحتوى وأكثر تحديدًا مع الشخص الذي يراقب المحتوى. يزيد إدراكك الحقيقي للواقع.

أعد كتابة سيناريو حياتنا

نحتاج إلى محادثة أقل خيالية ومحادثة أكثر صدقًا ولكن هذا يخيف معظم الناس. لماذا ا؟ لأن الإغريق موجود فقط لإدارة العالم الوهمي لذا هم يائسون للحفاظ على أنفسهم من خلال الحفاظ على قاعدة بيانات شاملة من القصص الخيالية. غير خيالي يخيف الأنا حتى يدافع عن نفسه من خلال خلق الانحرافات والهروب.

شيء مثير للاهتمام يحدث بعد الاستيقاظ. تبدأ في رسم "أقران" جدد لنفسك وفي نفس الوقت تنأى بنفسك عن الآخرين الذين تم تعريفهم بأنفسهم والذين لم يعودوا "حيث توجد أقدامكم". أنت لا تشارك نفس القيم أكثر من ذلك حتى تبدأ في الابتعاد تلقائيًا عن بعضها البعض. تتباعد قصص تياراتك ويظهر أشخاص جدد فجأة ممن يشبهونك أكثر ، حيث تكون قدميك أكثر. تتغير محادثتك من وهم سائد إلى مهيمن على الحقيقة ، ولكن ليس دائمًا مع نفس الأشخاص.

قصة صادقة للتوسع في الوعي

سرد صديق لي حساب واحد من هذا اثارة. في عمر 21 وجد نفسه يعمل كمحفر الماس في براري كولومبيا البريطانية. لقد كان عملاً شاقاً وكان الطاقم أكثر خشونة. في أحد الأيام ، عندما ارتد في شاحنة صغيرة على بعض الطرق الخلفية ، ذكر مقالاً قرأه عن الأشرم ، فصرخ أنه مثير للاهتمام.

كان رد فعل اثنين من زملائه الوعدين بألفاظ بذيئة. في الحقيقة ، أخبرني بأنهم طردوه من الشاحنة. لماذا رد فعل ساخن؟ لقد قال للتو قصة حقيقية لتوسيع الوعي وهدد هوياتهم مفتول العضلات. بحكمة ، لم يأتِ بها مرة أخرى ، لكن رد فعلهما كان شديدًا لدرجة أنه أقنعه بأنه يجب أن يكون هناك شيء يستحق الاهتمام حول هذا الموضوع.

بعد سنوات وجد نفسه يعيش في الأشرم! واحد من هؤلاء الأصدقاء القدامى مات في حادث سيارة فظيع ، سكران ورجم. هنا كان رجلان يجلسان بجانب بعضهما البعض. ثم تباينت حياتهما ، حيث تبع كل منهما خيطًا مختلفًا في القصة ، خياليًا وواحدًا غير خيالي ، تجاه نتيجتين مختلفتين تمامًا.

عندما تحول قيمك ، ينتقل عالمك

عندما تأتي اليقظة ، تتغير قيمك. وبسبب ذلك ، يتغير عالمك وكذلك صداقاتك. سوف تقترب أكثر مع أولئك الذين ينتمون إلى المكان الذي تقوم فيه أقدامكم الآن بتوليد ومشاركة حقائق الإجماع التي تدعمك حيث تكون قدميك معًا. سوف يبتعد آخرون للعثور على الرنين والإجماع مع الآخرين حيث أقدامهم.

يمكن أن تخدم القصص إمّا انحرافات من الآن أو كأدوات لخلق الواقع. كل هذا يتوقف على ما إذا كنا نستخدم قصصنا لخلق واقع ملائم أو للبقاء في الوهم الأناني لما نحن لسنا.

تتحول قصصك من الخيال إلى غير روائي عندما ، بدلاً من الاعتقاد بأن "أنا منفصل عنك ،" تكتب قصة جديدة: "هناك واحد فقط". is قصة حقيقية. أنت ، أنا ، كل شيء ، واحد. يمكنك أن تقول لنفسك ، "أنا واحد ، هنا والآن في هذه اللحظة ، أعاني نفسي كوعي ولا انفصال". هذا يدل على عكس الهيمنة المستقطبة.

ما قصة جديدة هل ستخبر؟

إن الأولوية المصاحبة لتحقيق التوازن في أي لحظة هي العيش في مسألة ما is حقيقة. "هل هذه هي الحقيقة أم أنها مجرد قصة أخبرها بما يحدث ، وإذا كان الأمر كذلك ، فهل يمكن أن أحكي قصة مختلفة؟ ما هي القصة الجديدة التي سأرويها حول ما سيحدث وكيف سيؤثر ذلك على نظرتي للواقع؟

مع مرور الوقت ، يمكنك أن تبسط من قاعدة بيانات واسعة مليئة بالقصص الخيالية إلى قصة صادقة واحدة تخبرها بنفسك وتشاركها مع الآخرين الذين يهتمون بالواقع أكثر من الأوهام المولدة بالأنانية.

مع تقدمنا ​​في العمر ، غالبًا ما تصبح قصصنا متكررة. "يا لا ، ليس مرة أخرى" ، قد تكون صرخة صامتة للزوج أو الأطفال أو الأصدقاء أثناء إطلاقنا لمراجعة ملحمية لبعض القصص التي تعطينا معنى يكفي لننسى بسهولة أننا أخبرناها مرات عديدة من قبل.

تكشف القصص المعاد تدويرها الأنماط ، وعندما تكون الصدمة متورطة ، قد يصعب التخلص منها. بيتر ليفين يكتب عن هذا في شفاء الصدمة.

"إننا ننجر بشكل لا ينفصم في حالات تتكرر فيها الصدمة الأصلية بطرق واضحة وأقل وضوحًا. ويعتبر البغي أو المتعري الذي له تاريخ من الاعتداء الجنسي في مرحلة الطفولة مثالاً شائعاً. قد نجد أنفسنا نعيد تجربة آثار الصدمة إما من خلال الأعراض الجسدية أو من خلال التفاعل الكامل مع البيئة الخارجية.

"قد يتم إجراء إعادة تشريع في العلاقات الحميمة ، أو مواقف العمل ، أو الحوادث المتكررة أو الحوادث ، أو أحداث أخرى تبدو عشوائية. قد تظهر أيضا في شكل أعراض جسدية أو أمراض نفسية جسدية. عادة ما يعيد الأطفال الذين لديهم تجربة مؤلمة إعادة إنشائها في مسرحيتهم. وكالكبار ، غالباً ما نضطر إلى إعادة تفعيل صدماتنا المبكرة في حياتنا اليومية. الآلية مشابهة بغض النظر عن عمر الفرد ".

تقدم القصة إلى "لا توجد تحديات هذا الشهر!"

ربما كانت قصتك الوهمية هي أنك لن تختبر على الفور عمق الاستيقاظ الذي فعله الصوفي أو القديس العظيم. توقف! المقارنة هي الوهم. لا توجد تجربتان بشريتان متطابقتان ، وفريدتك فريدة بالنسبة إليك. احتفل به! إذا لم تحتفل به ، فمن سيفعل؟ الليلة المظلمة للروح هي جزء من الرحلة وقد عانى معظمنا من بعض هؤلاء!

أنت تتطور من وجود العديد من التحديات الوهمية لإصطيادها ، والوعي بسرعة أكبر ، وإسقاط الاستثمار في الوهم ، واختيار الاستيقاظ والتشويش بالوهم كليًا ، وكلها تتقدم إلى تلك اللحظة: "لا توجد تحديات هذا الشهر!"

بالطبع ، كثيرا ما أسمع كيف كان كل شيء عظيم ... في البداية. "كان لدي كل هذه التأملات السلمية الرائعة ولكن الآن ذهني قد جن جنونه ولدي مثل هذه التجارب السيئة. ما الخطأ؟ "لا شيء خطأ. التأمل الخاص بك هو العمل حقا! إنه ينشر بيانات قديمة غير متناسقة لمعالجة.

ترجمات من InnerSelf.

© 2011 by Master Charles Cannon and Synchronicity Foundation، Inc.
أعيد طبعها بإذن. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
الناشر: SelectBooks، Inc. ، نيويورك

المادة المصدر

غفور لا غفور له: قوة الحياة الشمولي من قبل سيد تشارلز كانون.غفور لا غفور له: قوة الحياة الشمولي
من قبل ماجستير تشارلز كانون.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.

عن المؤلف

سيد تشارلز كانونالسيد تشارلز كانون هو المدير الروحي لمؤسسة التزامن للروحانية المعاصرة. له كتب أخرى تشمل: الحياة: أيقظت الحياة: دروس الحب. غفور لا يغتفر. الصحوة من الحلم الأمريكي. النعيم من الحرية. الروحانية الحديثة و The Meditation Toolbox. لمزيد من المعلومات ، اتصل بـ Synchronicity Foundation. زيارة الموقع: www.Synchronicity.org

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

من المحررين

لقد حان يوم الحساب لل GOP
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لم يعد الحزب الجمهوري حزبا سياسيا مواليا لأمريكا. إنه حزب سياسي زائف غير شرعي ومليء بالراديكاليين والرجعيين هدفه المعلن هو زعزعة الاستقرار وزعزعة الاستقرار و ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...

How You Can Rewrite the Script of Your Life

How We Can Rewrite the Script of Our LivesImage Credits: Michael Drummond, Digital Film Strip (CC0 1.0)

The content of your life seems to flow seamlessly but it’s really more of a succession of still frames, like a movie. Film moves through the projector and displays as a coherent whole, but we know that it is actually a series of distinct, still frames. When you stop the motion and freeze the frame, the movie becomes a slide show.

Similarly, our lives are a series of “moments” that flow together. We tend to extract one frame here, another one there, and fabricate stories about them. Good ones are called “show stoppers.” Someone may sud­denly take issue with something that is happening and... the brakes go on. Suddenly, there’s a story to process. “Why did you say that to me? What did you mean by that?” Or, “that reminds me of the time ...”

One Story Breeds Another

Stories breed with each other. One triggers another. Whatever is said activates something in your database of stories, unconsciously reminding you of something else so an old story is re-told or a new one created.

Most people live like this, from story to story 24/7. But what would you be ... who would you be, without all those stories? What would it be like to simply enjoy truthful, positive conversation mingled with silence? Might a truthful perception of reality begin to show itself? Yes, that’s exactly how it happens.

Consider your life with its many details and say to yourself, “If I let all of this go, who would I be?” This form is impermanent; all content is impermanent. At some point you will have to let it all go. What if you consciously let it go now, before physical death forces you to? “What could I experience, who would I be, without all this content?”

Compassionately Allowing Others Their Suffering

I was watching a news story recently about prostitutes in Las Vegas. One after another they described their suffering, the misery and drama of their lives. I expect that most viewers were judging this as hor­rible, maybe condemning these women, maybe feeling sorry for them. But from a holistic perspective this was the experience that was valid for them. This is where their feet were at the moment.

Can you allow others their suffering? Of course, you extend compassion, but the most compassionate awareness is to allow others the fullness of their own experience. It is up to them to make a move out of it.

The moment they choose something different that becomes the next experience whose time has come for them. None of us are in any position to rush that moment for anyone, based on some assumed superior wisdom or understanding about what they should or should not be doing. After all, it’s their life experience, not ours! Also, they represent a part of us, because it’s all one consciousness. If they are suffering, a part of me is suffering and only I can change my part of it. I must first heal myself before I can assist others. True compassion begins with self-love.

Learning Acceptance Without Judgment

One of our associates actually worked in a Las Vegas casino. After she had been involved with our program for a while she began to judge herself for being there. “It’s so dense and dysfunctional,” she told me. “All the customers are egocentric; they are usually drunk and compulsive. Employees line up at my office door every day, on the verge of nervous breakdowns. What am I doing there?”

I remember telling her something like this: “Well, you can source God in yourself very well. What better place than a casino to source God in everyone else?” She got it. As long as this was the place where she found herself, it was the perfect place to learn acceptance without judgment, to see God in everyone, as Mother Theresa did.

Evolving Towards "No Story"

The quest of the true mystic is to sit in emptiness, needing no con­tent, experiencing who you are in essence without any stories at all. Such a person evolves towards “no story.” In all of the wisdom traditions you find the principle of “renunciation.” Monks, contemplatives, recognize they must simplify. That is what Muktananda taught us early on but it had nothing to do with giving away our possessions; it is always about relinquishing illusory stories.

For starters, you can begin to emphasize and enjoy silence in rela­tion to noise, just a few stories in relation to many stories. Since most people can’t find stillness right away, shifting the balance gradually like this helps.

You can also begin to tell truthful stories about who you are and what life is. Your fictional stories are all about who you are not; your truthful stories are about who you really are. Of course, repeating affirmations is one way of doing this. “I am Source Consciousness ... I am One and whole.”

Once you increase balance by reducing the volume of illusory story and increasing the volume of truthful story, you find stillness more eas­ily. You begin to live in the no-story zone. Advanced meditators are able sit in meditation and be absolutely still in the mind with no thoughts or stories at all, but that’s an ability they developed over time.

As you awaken and experience witness consciousness more consis­tently, you become a writer of nonfiction, less identified with content and more identified with the one who is observing content. Your truth­ful perception of reality increases.

Re-writing the Script of Our Lives

We need less fictional conversation and more truthful conversation but that frightens most people. Why? Because egos only exist to man­age the illusory world so they are desperate to preserve themselves by maintaining a comprehensive database of fictional stories. Non­fiction frightens the ego so it defends itself by creating distractions and escapes.

Something interesting happens post-awakening. You begin to draw new “peers” to yourself and simultaneously distance yourself from ego-identified others who are no longer “where your feet are.” You just don’t share the same values any more so you automatically start distanc­ing from each other. Your streams of stories diverge and suddenly new people show up who are more like you, more where your feet are. Your conversation changes from illusion-dominant to truth-dominant, but not always with the same people.

A Truthful Story of Expanding Awareness

A friend of mine recounted one stirring account of this. At age 21 he found himself working as a diamond driller in the wilds of British Columbia. It was rough work and the crew was even rougher. One day, bouncing along in a pickup truck on some back road, he mentioned an article he had read about ashrams, musing that it sounded interesting.

His two rugged co-workers reacted with immediate profanity. In fact, he told me that they almost threw him out of the truck. Why the heated reaction? He’d just told a truthful story of expanding awareness and it threatened their macho identities. Wisely, he didn’t bring it up again, but their reaction was so severe that it convinced him there must be some­thing worthwhile about the topic.

Years later he found himself living in an ashram! And one of those old friends died in a terrible car accident, drunk and stoned. Here were two men sitting right beside each other. Then their lives diverged as each followed a different story thread, one fictional and one non-fictional, towards two very different results.

When Your Values Shift, Your World Shifts

When awakening comes, your values shift. Because of that, your world changes and so do your friendships. You will move closer with those who are aligned to where your feet now are to generate and share consensus realities that support you where your feet are together. Oth­ers will move away to find resonance and consensus with others where their feet are.

Stories can serve either as distractions from now or as tools for real­ity creation. It all depends on whether we use our stories to create a rel­evant reality or to stay lost in the egocentric illusion of what we are not.

Your stories change from fiction to nonfiction when, instead of believ­ing that “I am separate from you,” you write a new story: “There is only one.” That is a true story. You are, I am, all is, One. You then can say of yourself, “I am one, here and now in this moment, I am experiencing myself as consciousness and there is no separation.” This demonstrates the reversal of polarized dominance.

What New Story Are You Going To Tell?

A companion priority to bringing balance in any moment is to live in the question of just what is real. “Is this the truth or is this simply a story I’m telling about what’s happening and, if so, could I possibly tell a different story? What is a new story I’m going to tell about what happens and how will that flavor my perception of reality?”

Over time, you can simplify from a vast database full of fictional stories down to one truthful story that you tell yourself and share with others who are more interested in reality than ego-generated fantasies.

As we age, our stories often become repetitive. “Oh no, not again,” may be the silent cry of a spouse, children, or friends as we launch into an epic retelling of some story that gives us meaning enough to conve­niently forget that we’ve told it many times before.

Recycled stories reveal patterns and, when trauma is involved, they can be hard to shake. Peter Levine writes about this in Healing Trauma.

“We are inextricably drawn into situations that replicate the original trauma in both obvious and less obvious ways. The prostitute or strip­per with a history of childhood sexual abuse is a common example. We may find ourselves re-experiencing the effects of trauma either through physical symptoms or through a full-blown interaction with the exter­nal environment.

“Re-enactments may be played out in intimate relationships, work situations, repetitive accidents or mishaps, or other seemingly random events. They may also appear in the form of bodily symptoms or psy­chosomatic diseases. Children who have had a traumatic experience will often repeatedly re-create it in their play. As adults, we are often compelled to re-enact our early traumas in our daily lives. The mecha­nism is similar regardless of the individual’s age.”

Progressing The Story To “No Challenges This Month!”

Perhaps your illusory story is that you won’t immediately experience the depth of awakening that a great mystic or saint did. Stop! Com­parison is illusion. No two human experiences are the same and yours is unique to you. Celebrate it! If you don’t celebrate it, who will? The dark night of the soul is part of the journey and most of us have expe­rienced a few of those!

You progress from having many illusory challenges to catching them, becoming aware more quickly, dropping investment in illusion, choosing wakefulness and dis-identifying with illusion altogether, all progressing to that moment: “No challenges this month!”

Of course, I often hear how great everything was ... at first. “I had all these wonderful peaceful meditations but now my mind has gone crazy and I am having such bad experiences. What’s wrong?” Noth­ing is wrong. Your meditation is really working! It is bringing up old, incongruent data to process.

Subtitles by InnerSelf.

©2011 by Master Charles Cannon and Synchronicity Foundation, Inc.
Reprinted with permission. All Rights Reserved.
Publisher: SelectBooks, Inc., New York

Article Source

Forgiving The Unforgivable: The Power of Holistic Living by Master Charles Cannon.Forgiving The Unforgivable : The Power of Holistic Living
by Master Charles Cannon.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.

About the Author

Master Charles CannonMaster Charles Cannon is the Spiritual Director of Synchronicity Foundation for Modern Spirituality. His other books include: Living An Awakened Life: The Lessons of Love; Forgiving the Unforgivable; Awakening from the American Dream; The Bliss of Freedom; Modern Spirituality; and The Meditation Toolbox. For more information contact Synchronicity Foundation. Visit the website: www.Synchronicity.org
 

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

Rachael Wallis
What happens if you decide to jump in, Escape to the Country-style, and flee the city rat race?

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

Nicole Racine and Sheri Madigan
Bubble-wrapping children doesn’t work. They need to experience mild adversity, to know how to overcome it when they inevitably face it in life.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

What Are Panic Attacks And What's Happening When We Have Them?

What Are Panic Attacks And What's Happening When We Have Them?

Lynne Harris
What would you think was happening to you if out of nowhere your heart started to race, you were drenched in sweat, you found yourself trembling uncontrollably, short of breath, with chest pain and feeling nauseated, dizzy and lightheaded as though you might…