Utiliser la pleine conscience pour briser les mauvaises habitudes

Utiliser la pleine conscience pour briser les mauvaises habitudes

Pratiquer la pleine conscience peut vous aider à reconnaître les habitudes et à les remplacer par de nouvelles et meilleures. C'est un élément essentiel de la pleine conscience, et en effet pourquoi la pleine conscience est elle-même appelée une «pratique».

Comme l'histoire le dit, après l'illumination du Bouddha, on lui demanda s'il était un dieu. Il a répondu qu'il n'était pas un dieu; Au contraire, il était réveillé. En fait, le terme Bouddha signifie "Eveillé".

Qu'est-ce que cela signifie d'être éveillé? Évidemment, cela ne signifie pas que le Bouddha dormait et venait de sortir du lit. Au contraire, cela signifie qu'il ne fonctionnait pas sur ce que nous appellerions «pilote automatique».

Marcher et mâcher de la gomme

À bien des égards, bien sûr, la capacité de faire les choses automatiquement est une aubaine. Imaginez avoir à faire attention à vos pieds et votre mâchoire pendant que vous marchez et mâchez la gomme. Quelque part dans notre histoire évolutionniste, la capacité d'accomplir plusieurs tâches a aidé nos ancêtres à survivre. Sans pensée consciente, nous pouvons effectuer des mouvements habiles comme la marche et le vélo et des routines plus complexes appelées habitudes.

Notre attention consciente est une ressource précieuse et limitée. Notre mémoire de travail - la partie de notre mémoire qui traite de ce qui se passe dans le moment présent - semble avoir un seul canal pour la vue et un autre pour le son. En utilisant un sens particulier, nous pouvons faire attention à une seule chose à la fois. Il est difficile d'écouter une conversation pendant que vous écoutez la radio, par exemple.

Heureusement, nos ancêtres ont développé la capacité de faire beaucoup de choses sans attention consciente. Ceci est fait par le système des habitudes du cerveau. Au fur et à mesure que les récompenses deviennent prévisibles, le cerveau porte la responsabilité des comportements qui les produisent dans le système des habitudes, tout comme les ouvriers d'usine qui effectuent des tâches routinières peuvent être remplacés par des machines.

Les habitudes se développent par la répétition

La première fois que nous faisons quelque chose - disons, conduire à un nouvel emploi - nous faisons attention de peur de faire une erreur ou de se perdre. Mais nous ne portons pas autant d'attention à conduire le 249th temps. Le virage à droite après le Safeway devient automatique.

Si le système des habitudes fonctionne inconsciemment, et vous ne choisissez pas délibérément d'effectuer vos habitudes, que fait le choix?

La psychologue Wendy Wood souligne que les habitudes ont des déclencheurs. "La plupart des gens pensent que leur comportement est interne", m'a dit Wood. «Nous faisons les choses parce que nous le voulons.» Mais les habitudes, a-t-elle dit, sont déclenchées par quelque chose d'extérieur - une personne, un lieu ou une chose familière. "C'est l'environnement qui détermine le comportement", a déclaré Wood.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Nous pouvons choisir quand partir pour le travail, mais sur un trajet typique du matin, nous pouvons être oublieux la plupart du temps - au moins jusqu'à ce que quelqu'un claque sur les freins devant nous. "Quand quelque chose se produit de manière inattendue, vous revenez à la conscience", a-t-elle dit.

Faire et casser des habitudes

Benjamin Franklin fut peut-être le premier auteur américain à donner des conseils sur les habitudes de fabrication et de rupture. Dans son autobiographie, Franklin identifie treize vertus qu'il souhaite pratiquer de façon habituelle, en commençant par la modération en mangeant et en buvant. "Je suis déterminé à accorder une attention stricte d'une semaine à chacune des vertus successivement", écrit Franklin. Les experts modernes sont d'accord avec Franklin sur l'importance d'une attention particulière lorsqu'ils tentent de changer une habitude.

Wendy Wood a étudié les gens en essayant de briser leurs habitudes. Elle dit que prendre conscience de notre comportement automatique est la clé pour passer outre une habitude. C'est ce que l'attention est: prendre conscience de ce que nous faisons, avec ce qui nous arrive, dans le moment présent et avec un esprit de gentillesse.

Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

Cependant, il est difficile de prêter attention à ce que nous faisons tout le temps. Wood a constaté que les gens sont plus susceptibles de retomber dans leurs vieilles habitudes lorsqu'ils sont fatigués ou épuisés. De même, dans son livre 2011 Volonté, le psychologue Roy Baumeister observe que la volition consciente nécessite en réalité de grandes quantités de glucose. Le système des habitudes, étant automatique, nécessite moins de traitement du cerveau et moins de glucose. Ainsi, lorsque notre taux de sucre dans le sang est bas, nous sommes moins capables d'exercer notre volonté et plus susceptibles de retomber dans des habitudes automatiques.

Le bois voit donc la conscience consciente non comme quelque chose qui peut être maintenu en tout temps, mais comme ouvrant une brève fenêtre d'opportunité pour passer à une nouvelle et meilleure habitude. La neuroscientifique MIT Ann Graybiel a constaté que les traces d'une habitude mettent longtemps à disparaître. "Tout le monde dit toujours que vous ne pouvez pas casser une habitude", m'a dit Graybiel. "Vous devez le remplacer par une autre habitude."

© 2015 par Rick Heller. Tous les droits sont réservés.
Reproduit avec la permission de l'éditeur,

New World Library, Novato, CA 94949. newworldlibrary.com.

Source de l'article

Méditation séculière: Pratiques 32 pour cultiver la paix intérieure, la compassion et la joie par Rick Heller.Méditation Secular: Pratiques 32 pour Cultiver la paix intérieure, Compassion, et Joy
par Rick Heller.

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre.

A propos de l'auteur

Rick HellerRick Heller est un journaliste indépendant et un instructeur de méditation. Il est le facilitateur de la Humaniste Mindfulness Groupe et a dirigé des méditations parrainées par la communauté humaniste à Harvard depuis 2009. Rick est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en génie électrique du MIT, d'une maîtrise en politique publique de l'Université Harvard et d'une maîtrise en journalisme de l'Université de Boston. Visitez son site web à www.rickheller.com

Regardez des vidéos avec Rick Heller.

Using Mindfulness to Break Bad Habits

Using Mindfulness to Break Bad Habits

Practicing mindfulness can help you recognize habits and replace them with newer and better ones. This is a core element of mindfulness, and indeed why mindfulness is itself called a “practice.”

As the story goes, after the Buddha’s enlightenment, he was asked whether he was a god. He answered that he was not a god; rather, he was awake. In fact, the term Buddha means “Awakened One.”

What does it mean to be awake? Obviously, it doesn’t mean that the Buddha was sleeping and just rolled out of bed. Rather, it means that he was not operating on what we would call “auto­matic pilot.”

Walk and Chew Gum

In many respects, of course, the ability to do things automatically is a boon. Imagine having to pay attention to your feet and your jaw as you walk and chew gum. Somewhere back in our evolutionary history, the ability to multitask helped our ancestors survive. Without conscious thought we can perform skilled movements like walking and bicycling and more complex routines called habits.

Our conscious attention is a valuable and limited resource. Our working memory — the part of our memory that deals with what is happening in the present moment — appears to have only one channel for sight and one for sound. Using any particular sense, we can pay attention to only one thing at a time. It’s hard to listen to a conversation while you’re listening to the radio, for instance.

Luckily, our ancestors evolved the ability to do many things without conscious attention. This is done by the brain’s habit sys­tem. As rewards become predictable, the brain hands responsi­bility for the behaviors that produce them to the habit system, just as factory workers who do routine tasks can be replaced by machines.

Habits Develop Through Repetition

The first time we do something — say, drive to a new job — we pay attention for fear of making a mistake or getting lost. But we don’t pay as much attention driving to work the 249th time. The right turn after the Safeway becomes automatic.

If the habit system works unconsciously, and you don’t delib­erately choose to perform your habits, what does the choosing?

The psychologist Wendy Wood emphasizes that habits have triggers. “Most people think of their behavior as being internally driven,” Wood told me. “We do things because we want to.” But habits, she said, are triggered by something external — a familiar person, place, or thing. “It’s the environment cuing the behav­ior,” Wood said.

We may choose when to leave for work, but on a typical morning commute, we may be oblivious much of the time — at least until someone slams on the brakes ahead of us. “When some­thing occurs that’s unexpected, you come back to consciousness,” she said.

Making and Breaking Habits

Benjamin Franklin was perhaps the first American author to give advice on making and breaking habits. In his autobiogra­phy, Franklin identifies thirteen virtues that he wished to practice habitually, starting with moderation in eating and drinking. “I determined to give a week’s strict attention to each of the vir­tues successively,” Franklin writes. Modern experts agree with Franklin on the importance of close attention when trying to change a habit.

Wendy Wood has studied people as they try to break habits. She says that becoming conscious of our automatic behavior is the key to overriding a habit. That’s what mindfulness is: becoming aware of what we are doing, along with what is happening to us, in the present moment and with a spirit of kindness.

Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

It’s challenging, however, to pay attention to what we’re do­ing all the time. Wood has found that people are more likely to relapse into old habits when they’re tired or depleted. Similarly, in his 2011 book Willpower, the psychologist Roy Baumeister ob­serves that conscious volition actually requires large amounts of glucose. The habit system, being automatic, requires less brain processing and less glucose. Thus, when our blood sugar is low, we’re less able to exert willpower and more likely to fall back into automatic habits.

Wood therefore sees conscious awareness not as something that can be maintained at all times, but as opening a brief win­dow of opportunity to switch to a new and better habit. The MIT neuroscientist Ann Graybiel has found that traces of a habit take a long time to disappear. “Everyone always says that you cannot break a habit,” Graybiel told me. “You’ve got to replace it with another habit.”

©2015 by Rick Heller. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher,

New World Library, Novato, CA 94949. newworldlibrary.com.

Article Source

Secular Meditation: 32 Practices for Cultivating Inner Peace, Compassion, and Joy by Rick Heller.Secular Meditation: 32 Practices for Cultivating Inner Peace, Compassion, and Joy
by Rick Heller.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.

About the Author

Rick HellerRick Heller is a freelance journalist and meditation instructor. He is the facilitator of the Humanist Mindfulness Group and has led meditations sponsored by the Humanist Community at Harvard since 2009. Rick holds a bachelor's degree in electrical engineering from MIT, a master's degree in public policy from Harvard University, and a master's degree in journalism from Boston University. Visit his website at www.rickheller.com

Watch videos with Rick Heller.
 

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

Rachael Wallis
What happens if you decide to jump in, Escape to the Country-style, and flee the city rat race?

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

Nicole Racine and Sheri Madigan
Bubble-wrapping children doesn’t work. They need to experience mild adversity, to know how to overcome it when they inevitably face it in life.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

What Are Panic Attacks And What's Happening When We Have Them?

What Are Panic Attacks And What's Happening When We Have Them?

Lynne Harris
What would you think was happening to you if out of nowhere your heart started to race, you were drenched in sweat, you found yourself trembling uncontrollably, short of breath, with chest pain and feeling nauseated, dizzy and lightheaded as though you might…