العطل والمغفرة: أي طفل صغير سيقودهم

الأعياد والمغفرة

Hالعطلات والأيام المقدسة هي دائما أوقات صعبة إذا كانت الأمور لا تسير على ما يرام. يعني أن تكون مواسم الفرح والسعادة ، فإنها يمكن أن تجلب الحزن بدلا من ذلك. ومع ذلك ، يمكن أن تكون هذه أوقات الشفاء. لأنه يمكن فتح القلب بسهولة أكبر في أي وقت تنقله تقاليد وثقافة الناس إلى مكان يتذكرون فيه أسرار الحياة العظيمة.

قد يكون رمضان. يمكن أن يكون روش Hashanah. يمكن أن يكون بلتان. لا توجد مشكلة. جميع التقاليد والثقافات لها أيام وأوقات خاصة يتم فيها التعبير عن أعمق الحكمة وأعلى سعادتهم من خلال الاحتفال والطقوس ، من خلال الأغاني والرقص ، من خلال التجمع العائلي وتبادل الفرح والاحتفال بالحياة نفسها.

احتفالات عطلة صعبة مع العائلة

لم يكن الاحتفال بالضبط هو المزاج الذي وجده كيفن دونكا في بداية موسم عيد الميلاد. في الواقع ، كان يشعر بالوحدة والانفصال.

لو فهموا فقط! كان يعتقد في نفسه. لو أنها ستتوقف عن أن تكون حرجة للغاية! فقط لو ...

تطورت بعض حالات سوء الفهم الخطيرة في عائلة كيفن. كانت أخته بالكاد تتحدث إليه. كان أخوه غاضبًا أيضًا. حتى أن والده انضم إلى المعركة وليس من جانب كيفن. وعلى الرغم من أن عيد الميلاد لم يكن وقتًا للجدل ، فقد انعكس كيفن بحزن ، كان من الصعب تجاهل الشعور بأن أسرته قد أصدرت بعض الأحكام غير العادلة عليه.

الأمر كله يتعلق باتفاقية تجارية أبرمها مع صهره. بطريقة ما ، خلص الجميع إلى أن كيفن لم يكن حتى نهاية مساومة الصفقة.

لو كانوا فقط يستمعون! فكر كيفن الآن. أخبرني بمرارة أنني الوحيد الذي يجري عدالة في هذا الشأن. أنا الوحيد فقط. أنا الوحيد فقط!


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الغضب والاحتفالات لا تخلط

كان غاضبا. في الواقع ، خلال الأسبوع الذي يسبق عيد الميلاد ، كان الأمر يتعلق بكل ما يستطيع التفكير فيه. لقد قرر تقريبًا عدم اصطحاب عائلته إلى منزل والده لحضور عطلة عيد الميلاد السنوية.

يتذكر قائلا: "كنت في حالة ذهول". "لم أكن أعرف ماذا أفعل أو كيف أشفي الخلافات بيننا. ولم أكن أرغب في الذهاب إلى هناك ولدي كل هذا التوتر في الهواء ، خاصة مع الأطفال المحيطين بهم. يمكن للأطفال معرفة ذلك. تعتقد أنهم لا يعرفون ما الذي يحدث ، لكنهم يعرفون. يمكنهم الشعور به. لم أكن أريد أن يفسد كل ذلك عيد الميلاد ".

حاول كيفن كل ما يعرفه لتجاوز مشاعره. كان يقرأ ، في ذلك الوقت ، كتاب يسمى الاتفاقيات الأربع من دون ميجيل رويز. الآن حاول تطبيق أحد الاتفاقيات الأربعة للعيش الصحي المذكور في النص: لا تأخذ أي شيء شخصيًا.

يقول: "كان الأمر صعبًا". "إنه اتفاق كبير أن أقوم به مع الحياة ، لكنه صعب عندما تكون عائلتك خاصة وأن تكون أنتقد للغاية. أنت أعتقد أنهم يعرفونني بشكل أفضل من ذلك".

كيفن دونكا هو مقوم العظام في ليك هيلز ، إلينوي ، وقد شفى الكثير من الناس هناك.

لكن الآن ، سخر من السخرية ، لم يستطع حتى أن يشفي نفسه. بالطبع ، كان هذا حزنًا للقلب ، ولم يكن حالة للجسم ، كما أخبر نفسه ، وكان الأمر مختلفًا. الطريقة التي تسير بها الأمور ، هذا سيستغرق بعض التدخل الإلهي. شيء أكبر بكثير من أي شيء علموه في مدرسة العلاج بتقويم العمود الفقري.

ثم جاء السبت قبل عيد الميلاد. كان العشاء في منزل دونكا طبيعيًا ، إذا كان هادئًا. عرف كيفن أنه سيتعين عليه اتخاذ قرار نهائي قريبًا - وإخبار أسرته بذلك. كيف سيشرح لأطفاله أنهم لن يروا "غرامبا" يوم عيد الميلاد؟ كيف يمكن أن يشارك مع زوجته ، كريستين ، عمق مراره؟

يقول الأطفال الأشياء الأكثر حكمة

"يا أبي ، تعال ، شاهدني!" مرت ماريا البالغة من العمر ست سنوات بسرور حيث استقر الجميع في غرفة العائلة بعد العشاء. تألقت عيونها الخضراء ، وشعرها البني الناعم يتأرجح وهي تنتقل إلى موسيقى بريتني سبيرز. كانت تمارس أغنية مع مشغل الأقراص المدمجة المحمول طوال اليوم. "هل يمكنك الفيديو لي ، يا أبي؟" تسولت. "أريد مشاهدته لاحقًا وأرى كيف أفعل!"

ابتسم كيفن. يجلب الأطفال مثل هذا الفرح. وتم تحويل عقله ، ولو للحظات فقط ، عن أفكاره الأكثر قتامة. لذلك ذهب الاثنان إلى الطابق السفلي إلى المساحة الأكبر التي كان يمكن أن يطلق عليها في شباب كيفن "حجرة الصدمة". هناك ، أخرج كاميرا الفيديو ، ووجد موقعًا جيدًا على الأريكة ، ووجه العدسة إلى ماريا وهي تبدأ روتينها من جديد.

وحدتي تقتلني

في أغنية بريتني سبيرز تغني ، هناك سطر يقول: "وحدتي تقتلني". لكن كيفن لاحظ أن ماريا غنتها بطريقة مختلفة. غنت ماريا ، "وحدتي تقتلني".

"حبيبتي ، هذا ليس ما تقوله" ، صحح كيفن ابنته بلطف. "هذه ليست الكلمات". وأخبرها كيف ذهبت الكلمات الحقيقية.

فكرت ماريا للحظة. ثم قالت ، "أنا أحب ذلك أفضل طريقي!"

تجاهل كيفين ، ابتسم ، وبدأوا في التسجيل مرة أخرى. هذه المرة ، الآن في مزاج لإثارة والدها ، فعلت ماريا شيئًا ما مباشرة من شغفها البالغ من العمر ست سنوات. عندما وصلت إلى الخط الذي قام والدها بتصحيحها ، انحرفت نحو الكاميرا ، ووضعت وجهها مباشرة في العدسة ، وغنت مباشرة إلى كيفن: وحدك يقتلك يا أبي!

تراجعت كيفن من جانبه من العدسة ، ثم التقطت الترباس في وضع مستقيم. يتذكر "شعرت كما لو أنني تعرضت للضرب مرتين في الرابعة".

مشاعر انفصاله عن عائلته الأصلية تحطمت من خلال روحه. جاءت كلماته الخاصة إليه. إذا فقط ... إذا فقط ... أنا الوحيد ...

رسالة من الله

الأعياد والمغفرةثم عرف أنه تلقى رسالة من مكان بعيد عن كل من هو وابنته ماريا الصغيرة - ومع ذلك ، يوجد هناك بداخلها.

في وقت لاحق من تلك الليلة ، بينما كان مستلقياً على السرير ، التقط كتابًا آخر كان يقرأه الصداقة مع الله. بعد بضع صفحات فقط ، التفت إلى كريستين.

وقال "يجب أن أخبركم بشيء حدث الليلة" ، وربط تجربته مع ماريا والأغنية. "أعتقد أن الله كان يتحدث معي حول كل هذه الأشياء مع عائلتي. يقول في هذا الكتاب أن الله يتحدث إلينا طوال الوقت. علينا فقط أن نكون منفتحين عليه".

"أعرف" ، وافقت زوجته بهدوء. "إذن ، ماذا ستفعل حيال ذلك؟"

تتبعت المسيل للدموع طريقًا إلى فم كيفين ، وتذوق مالحته. لقد تذكر السؤالين من كتب The God التي كان يحفظها.

هل هذا من أنا حقا؟
ماذا أحب أن تفعل الآن؟

"سأذهب هناك في يوم عيد الميلاد وأحبهم ، بغض النظر عما يفعلونه وقوله".

ابتسمت كريستين.

في اليوم التالي ، دعا كيفن والده.

"نود أن نجلب العائلة لعيد الميلاد ، يا أبي ، إذا كان كل شيء على ما يرام معك. أود أن أتجاوز كل هذه الأشياء التي بيننا. دعونا نتمتع بعطلة لطيفة."

لم يتوقف والده حتى. وقال "هذا ما أريده أيضا ، كيفن".

ولم يكن موت كيفين يقتله بعد الآن.

من أفواه الأطفال غالباً ما نتلقى أعظم الحكمة لدينا ، وحالة ماريا دونكا الصغيرة هي مثال رائع ومثير للحزن.

أن تكون وحيدا ضد العالم

إن الشعور بالوحدة ضد العالم أمر شائع للغاية. ما هو ضروري للتغلب على هذا الشرط ، كما فعل كيفن في التجربة أعلاه ، هو لحظة وعي أكبر. في بعض الأحيان ، قد تغربنا أغرب الأشياء في هذا الوعي. مثل بيان طفل بريء ، لا علاقة له على ما يبدو.

ولكن لم يكن تصريح ماريا ذا صلة؟ هل كانت حقًا لا علاقة لها بما كان يحدث في حياة والدها في تلك اللحظة؟ هل كان هذا مجرد كلام الفرصة ، فورة ساذجة ، لفتاة صغيرة لعوب؟ أم كانت هذه حالة تدخل إلهي ، من أكثر الأنواع خفيًا؟ هل كان هذا محادثة مع الله؟

أعتقد أنه كان. في الواقع ، أنا أعلم أنه كان. وأعتقد أن الله يتحدث إلينا من خلال أفواه الأطفال في كثير من الأحيان. لماذا ا؟ لأن الأطفال لم ينسوا. الأطفال لم "يبتعدوا" لفترة كافية لفقدهم الاتصال بأعمق الحقيقة وأعلى حقيقة.

هل حقيقة أن تمنحك الحرية

أتذكر القصة التي أخبرتها حوارات مع الله، كتاب 1 حول الطفلة التي جلست على طاولة مطبخها ذات يوم ، مشغول بالعمل مع الطباشير الملون. جاءت والدتها لترى ما كانت تشعر فيه بالقلق الشديد.

"ماذا تفعل يا حبيبتي؟" هي سألت.

نظرت الفتاة الصغيرة لأعلى "أنا أرسم صورة الله!"

ابتسمت والدتها "أوه ، هذا حلو للغاية ، لكنك تعلم ، عزيزتي ، لا أحد يعرف حقًا شكل الله".

قالت الفتاة الصغيرة: "حسنًا ، إذا سمحت لي أن أنهي."

ترى كيف الحال مع الأطفال؟ لا يحدث لهم حتى أنهم لا يستطيعون معرفة ما ليس لدى الآخرين في العالم - ما يسمى بالغين الأذكياء - أي فكرة. ليس فقط الأطفال واضحون تمامًا ، فهم لا يحكمون على أنفسهم لقولهم ما يفكرون فيه. الأطفال يشرحون بالحقيقة ويسقطون حكمتهم ويرقصون.

صديقي الرائع القس مارغريت ستيفنز يروي قصة على نفسها للحظة تقول إنها لن تنسى أبدًا. لقد أعطت ابنتها الصغيرة سواتاً لطيفة في أسفلها وصارمة تتحدث معها عن شيء فعله الطفل. عندما بدأت ابنتها في البكاء ، نظرت إليها مارغريت وقالت: "حسناً الآن ، أسامحك".

نظرت ابنتها إليها مباشرة وقالت: "كلماتك تغفر لي ، لكن عينيك لا تفعلان ذلك".

هذا هو البرد الحجري ، والبصر الميت. إنه نوع من الأشياء التي يمكن للطفل فقط رؤيتها ، والطفل فقط يمكنه أن يقول ذلك بوضوح.

ما زالت مارجريت ، في الثمانينات من عمرها ، تستخدم تلك اللحظة كأداة تعليمية في محادثاتها وخطبها ، واصفةً كيف جلب لها طفلها درسًا مدى الحياة عن المغفرة ، ويجب ألا تكون مجرد خدمة شفاه ، بل تأتي من القلب.

والآن ، في هذه القصة ، يتلقى كيفن دونكا تعاليم أيضًا - هذه الحكمة الخاصة المنقولة "بالصدفة" من خلال الكلمة المختلطة لطفل صغير. ولكن هل كان خلط؟ هل كان حادث؟

مرة أخرى أقول لا.

حوادث أم رسائل؟

الأعياد والمغفرةولم يكن من قبيل الصدفة أن أخبرني الله بهذه القصة ، من خلال كيفن. لم يكن المقصود من هذا التدريس فقط بالنسبة للأسرة دونكا في ليك هيلز ، إلينوي ، ولكن بالنسبة لآلاف الأشخاص الذين سيأتون إلى هذه الكلمات هنا ، في هذا الكتاب.

الآن أريد أن أخبركم أن التدريس أكبر مما تعتقد. لأنني عندما فكرت في الدروس المستفادة في قصة كيفن ، أدركت أنه كان هناك ما هو أكثر مما تراه العين.

رأيت بوضوح أن "الوحدة" هي حالة روحية. يمكن أن يكون غير مفيد أو مفيد ، وهذا يتوقف على الطريقة التي نختبرها.

إذا فهمنا الوحدة على أنها تعني أننا منفصلون عن أي شخص آخر - "الشخص الوحيد" الذي يقوم بهذا أو ذاك ، "الشخص الوحيد" الذي لديه تجربة معينة - عندها ستكون الوهن.

إذا فهمنا أن الوحدة تعني أننا متحدون مع أي شخص آخر - أنه لا يوجد أحد سوى "نحن" ، وأننا جميعًا واحدًا - عندها فقط سوف يتم تنشيط الوحدة.

إما أن نكون أكبر ، أو نحن أصغر ، من خلال فهمنا للوحدة.

هذا هو فهمي.

هناك "الله وحده" في الكون. لا يوجد شيء آخر. الآن هذا هو بيان غير عادي ، من الآثار المترتبة على لالتقاط الأنفاس. من بينها: نحن حقا كل واحد. نحن مصنوعين من نفس الشىء. أو كما يقول الفيزيائي البارز الدكتور جون هاجلين ، "في الأساس ، كل شيء في الحياة متحد. الحياة ميدان موحد".

كيف موحدة نحن؟

لقد صدم العالم عندما علم 2001 في فبراير أن التركيب الوراثي للبشر متطابق بنسبة 99.9. أسفرت نتائج مشروع الجينوم البشري الذي قام به فريقان منفصلان من العلماء في جميع أنحاء العالم عن اكتشافات مذهلة حول جنسنا البشري - دليل يعطي أخيرًا مصداقية علمية لما أخبرنا به المعلمون الروحيون منذ بداية الزمان.

من بين النتائج الأولية لهذه الدراسات العلمية:

* هناك عدد أقل بكثير من الجينات البشرية التي يعتقدها أي شخص - ربما يكون مجرد 30,000 أو نحو ذلك ، وليس 100,000 الذي تنبأ به معظم العلماء. هذا هو فقط ثلث أكثر من تلك الموجودة في الديدان المستديرة.

* من بين هذه الجينات البشرية لـ 30,000 ، تم العثور على 300 فقط والتي لم يكن لها نظير يمكن التعرف عليه في الماوس.

هل سمعت أن هناك ست درجات فقط من الفصل بين جميع البشر؟ حسنًا ، هناك جينات 300 فقط للفرق بين البشر وميكي ماوس.

الحياة والحب والله

كلما اكتشفنا أكثر عن عالمنا وكيف هو ، وعن الحياة وكيف تعمل ، كلما اكتشفنا أننا نعيش في عالم يدعى ماريا الصغيرة الجميلة فقط. الحياة هي الشيء الوحيد الموجود. كل ما سنراه كلما اكتشفنا المزيد والمزيد عن ذلك هو مجرد أشكال مختلفة للموضوع.

أنا أسمي هذا الموضوع الله.

ما يدعونا إلى التطور هو تغيير تفكيرنا حول العداوة ، ووضع حد لوحدة الانفصال ، والبدء في وحدة الوحدة.

عندما نرى حقًا أن الحياة هي الشيء الوحيد الموجود ، فسنرى أن الحب هو الشيء الوحيد الموجود أيضًا. وكذلك ، هل سنرى ذلك عن الله. للحياة ، الحب ، والله هي نفس الشيء. هذه الكلمات قابلة للتبادل. يمكنك استبدال أي واحد للآخر في أي جملة تقريبًا دون تغيير المعنى أو تقليل الفهم. في الواقع ، سوف توسعها.

تتواصل معنا الحياة والحب والله بمئات الطرق كل يوم ، وأحيانًا من خلال أصوات الأطفال وأحيانًا عبر همسات أحد الأصدقاء داخل ....

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر، هامبتون الطرق.
© 2001. www.hamptonroadspub.com

لحظات النعمة التي كتبها نيل دونالد والشالمادة المصدر:

لحظات النعمة: عندما يلمس الله حياتنا بشكل غير متوقع
بواسطة Walsch دونالد نيل.

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب

عن المؤلف

نيل دونالد والش المؤلف من المحادثات مع اللهنيل دونالد Walsch وهو مؤلف من المحادثات مع الله، كتب 1, 2و3، محادثة مع الله للشباب, الصداقة مع اللهو مع الله، وجميعها من أكثر الكتب مبيعا في نيويورك تايمز. ترجمت الكتب إلى أكثر من عشرين لغة ، وقد بيعت في ملايين النسخ. وقد كتب عشرة كتب أخرى حول مواضيع ذات صلة. يقدم Neale محاضرات ويستضيف المعتكفات الروحية في جميع أنحاء العالم لدعم ونشر الرسائل الواردة في كتبه.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Holidays and Forgiveness: A Little Child Shall Lead Them

Holidays and Forgiveness

Holidays and holy days are always difficult times if things aren't going well. Meant to be seasons of joy and gladness, they can bring sadness instead. Yet, these can be times of healing. For the heart can be opened more easily at any time that a people's traditions and culture bring them to a place of remembering the great secrets of life.

It could be Ramadan. It could be Rosh Hashanah. It could be Beltane. It does not matter. All traditions and all cultures have special days and times when their deepest wisdom and their highest happiness are openly expressed through commemoration and ritual, through song and dance, through familial gathering and the sharing of joy and the celebration of Life Itself.

Difficult Holiday Celebrations With The Family

Celebration wasn't exactly the mood in which Kevin Donka found himself at the start of one particular Christmas season, however. In fact, he was feeling very lonely, very separated.

If only they would understand! he thought to himself. If only they would stop being so critical! If only ...

Some serious misunderstandings had developed in Kevin's family. His sister was hardly speaking to him. His brother was angry, too. Even his father had joined the fray and not on Kevin's side. And while Christmas was not a time to be arguing, Kevin reflected sadly, it was hard to ignore the feeling that his family had made some very unfair judgments about him.

It all had to do with a business agreement he'd entered into with his brother-in-law. Somehow, everyone had concluded that Kevin wasn't living up to his end of the bargain.

If only they would listen! Kevin thought now. I'm the only one who's being fair about this, he told himself bitterly. I'm the only one. I'm the ONLY ONE!


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Anger and Celebrations Just Don't Mix

He was angry. In fact, during the week before Christmas it was just about all he could think about. He had almost decided not to take his own family to his father's house for the annual Christmas holiday gathering.

"I was distraught," he remembers. "I didn't know what to do or how to heal the disagreements between us. And I didn't want to go over there and have all that tension in the air, especially with the kids around. Kids can tell, you know. You think they don't know what's going on, but they know. They can feel it. I didn't want all of that spoiling their Christmas."

Kevin tried everything he knew to get past his feelings. He'd been reading, at the time, a book called The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz. Now he tried to apply one of the four agreements for healthful living mentioned in the text: Never take anything personally.

"It was hard," he says. "It's a great agreement to make with life, but it's hard when it's your own family that's being so judgmental, so critical of you. I thought they knew me better than that."

Kevin Donka is a chiropractor in Lake Hills, Illinois, and has healed many people there.

But now, he mused ironically, he could not even heal himself. Of course, this was a sadness of the heart, not a condition of the body, he told himself, and so it was different. The way things were going, this would take some divine intervention. Something much larger than anything they taught him in chiropractic school.

Then came the Saturday before Christmas. Dinner at the Donka home was normal, if subdued. Kevin knew he'd have to make a final decision soon -- and tell his family about it. How would he explain to his own children that they weren't going to see "Grampa" on Christmas Day? How could he share with his wife, Cristine, the depth of his bitterness?

Children Say The Wisest Things

"Daddy, Daddy, come watch me!" six-year-old Mariah squealed with delight as everyone settled down in the family room after dinner. Her green eyes sparkled, and her soft, straight brown hair swayed as she moved to the music of Britney Spears. She'd been practicing a song with her portable CD player all day. "Can you video me, Daddy?" She begged. "I want to watch it later and see how I'm doing!"

Kevin smiled. Children bring such joy. And his mind was diverted, if only momentarily, from his darker thoughts. So the two went downstairs to the larger space that in Kevin's youth would have been called the "rumpus room." There, he took out the video camera, found a good position on the sofa, and pointed the lens at Mariah as she started her routine all over again.

My Loneliness Is Killing Me

In the song Britney Spears sings, there's a line that goes: "My loneliness is killing me." But Kevin noticed that Mariah sang it differently. Mariah sang, "My onlyness is killing me."

"Sweetie, that's not what she says," Kevin gently corrected his daughter. "Those aren't the words." And he told her how the actual lyrics went.

Mariah thought for a moment. Then she said, "I like it better my way!"

Kevin shrugged, smiled, and they began taping again. This time, now in the mood to tease her father, Mariah did something straight out of her six-year-old impishness. When she came to the line on which her Dad had corrected her, she sashayed toward the camera, put her face directly into the lens, and sang right to Kevin: Your onlyness is killing you, Daddy!

Kevin blinked from his side of the lens, then snapped bolt upright. "I felt as if I'd been hit by a two-by-four," he remembers.

His feelings of separation from his family of origin seared through his soul. His own words came back to him. If only ... if only ... I'm the only one ....

Message From God

Holidays and ForgivenessThen he knew that he'd received a message from a place far distant from both he and his little girl Mariah -- and yet, existing right there inside of them.

Later that night, as he lay in bed, he picked up another book that he'd been reading Friendship with God. After just a few pages, he turned to Cristine.

"I have to tell you about something that happened tonight," he said, and related his experience with Mariah and the song. "I think it was God talking to me about all this stuff with my family. It says in this book that God talks to us all the time. We just have to be open to it."

"I know," his wife agreed softly. "So, what are you going to do about it?"

A tear traced a path to Kevin's mouth, and he tasted its saltiness. He remembered the two questions from the With God books that he'd memorized.

Is this who I really am?
What would love do now?

"I'm going to go over there on Christmas Day and love them, no matter what they are doing and saying."

Cristine smiled.

The next day, Kevin called his father.

"We'd like to bring the family over for Christmas, Dad, if that's all right with you. I'd like to get past all this stuff that's between us. Let's have a nice holiday."

His father didn't even pause. "That's what I want, too, Kevin," he said.

And Kevin's onlyness wasn't killing him anymore.

It is from the mouths of babes that we so often receive our greatest wisdoms, and the case of little Mariah Donka is a wonderful and heartwarming illustration.

Being Alone Against the World

Feelings of being alone against the world are very common. What is necessary to overcome this condition, as Kevin did in the experience above, is a moment of greater awareness. Sometimes the strangest things can startle us into that awareness. Like the innocent, seemingly unrelated, statement of a child.

But was Mariah's statement unrelated? Did it really have nothing to do with what was going on in her father's life at that moment? Was it simply the chance utterance, the naive outburst, of a rambunctious, playful little girl? Or was this a case of Divine Intervention, of the most surreptitious kind? Could this have been a conversation with God?

I believe it was. In fact, I know it was. And I think that God speaks to us through the mouths of children often. Why? Because children have not forgotten. Children have not been "away" long enough to have lost touch with the deepest truth and the highest reality.

The Truth Will Set You Free

I am reminded of the story I told in Conversations with God, Book 1 about the little girl who sat at her kitchen table one day, busy working with her crayons. Her mom came over to see what it was in which she was so engrossed.

"What are you doing, honey?" she asked.

The little girl looked up, beaming. "I'm drawing a picture of God!"

"Oh, that's so sweet," her mom smiled, "but you know, honey, nobody really knows what God looks like."

"Well," said the little girl, "if you'll just let me finish . . . "

You see how it is with children? It doesn't even occur to them that they cannot know what other people in the world -- the so-called smarter adults -- have no idea about. Not only are children totally clear, they do not judge themselves for saying what they think. Children just blurt out the truth, drop their wisdom, and dance away.

My wonderful friend Rev. Margaret Stevens tells a story on herself of a moment she says she will never forget. She had given her little girl a gentle swat on the bottom and a stern talking-to for something the child had done. When her daughter began to cry, Margaret looked at her and said, "It's okay now, I forgive you."

Her daughter looked straight at her and said, "Your words forgive me, but your eyes don't."

That's a stone-cold, dead-on insight. It's the kind of thing that only a child could see, and only a child could say, so clearly.

Margaret, today in her eighties, still uses that moment as a teaching tool in her talks and sermons, describing how her own child brought her a lifelong lesson about forgiveness, and that it must not be just lip service, but come from the heart.

And now, here in this story, Kevin Donka receives a teaching, too -- this particular wisdom transmitted "by accident" through the mixed-up word of a little child. But was it a mix-up? Was it an accident?

Again I say, no.

Accidents or Messages?

Holidays and ForgivenessNor was it an accident that God told me this story, through Kevin. For this teaching was meant not only for the Donka household in Lake Hills, Illinois, but for the many thousands of people who will come to these words here, in this book.

Now I want to tell you that the teaching is larger than you might think. For as I pondered the lessons in Kevin's story, I realized that there was more here than meets the eye.

I saw clearly that "onlyness" is a spiritual condition. It can be non-beneficial or beneficial, depending upon which way we experience it.

If we understand onlyness as meaning that we are separate from everyone else -- the "only one" doing this or that, the "only one" having a particular experience -- then onlyness will be debilitating.

If we understand onlyness to mean that we are united with everyone else -- that there is no one but "us," that we are all One -- then onlyness will be enlivening.

We are either made bigger, or we are made smaller, by our understanding of onlyness.

Here is my understanding.

There is "only God" in the universe. There is nothing else. Now that is an extraordinary statement, of breathtaking implications. Among them: we truly are all One. We are made of the same stuff. Or, as eminent physicist Dr. John Hagelin puts it, "at its basis, everything in life is united. Life is a Unified Field."

Just how unified are we?

The world was shocked to learn in February 2001 that the genetic structure of human beings is 99.9 percent identical. Findings of the Human Genome Project undertaken by two separate teams of scientists around the world produced startling revelations about our species -- evidence that finally gives scientific credence to what spiritual teachers have been telling us from the beginning of time.

Among the early conclusions of these scientific studies:

* There are far fewer human genes than anyone thought -- probably a mere 30,000 or so, and not the 100,000 that most scientists had predicted. That is only a third more than those found in roundworms.

* Of those 30,000 human genes, only 300 have been found that had no recognizable counterpart in the mouse.

You've heard that there are only six degrees of separation between all human beings? Well, there are only 300 genes of difference between human beings and Mickey Mouse.

Life, Love, and God

The more we find out about our world and how it is, and about life and how it works, the more we discover that we do live in a universe of what beautiful little Mariah called onlyness. Life is the only thing there is. All we will see as we discover more and more about it are mere variations on a theme.

I call that theme God.

What evolution invites us to do is to shift our thinking about onlyness, to end the onlyness of separation, and begin the onlyness of unity.

When we truly see that Life is the Only Thing There Is, then we will see that Love is the Only Thing There Is also. And so, too, will we see that about God. For Life, Love, and God are the same thing. These words are interchangeable. You can exchange any one for any other in virtually any sentence without altering the meaning or reducing comprehension. Indeed, you will expand it.

Life, Love, and God are communicating with us in a hundred ways every day, sometimes through the voices of children and sometimes through the whispers of a Friend Within....

Reprinted with permission of the publisher, Hampton Roads.
©2001. www.hamptonroadspub.com

Moments of Grace by Neale Donald WalschArticle Source:

Moments of Grace: When God touches our Lives Unexpectedly
by Neale Donald Walsch.

Info/Order this book

About the Author

Neale Donald Walsch author of Conversations with GodNeale Donald Walsch is the author of Conversations with God, Books 1, 2, and 3, Conversation with God for Teens, Friendship with God, and Communion with God, all of which have been New York Times bestsellers. The books have been translated into more than two dozen languages and have sold in the multi-millions of copies. He has written ten other books on related topics. Neale presents lectures and hosts spiritual retreats around the world to support and spread the messages contained in his books.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}