خمس خطوات قصيرة لإيجاد الطريق إلى السلام

04 27 خمس خطوات
تصوير: توماس ليث-أولسن. (CC 2.0)

من ناحية القرن الحادي والعشرين، ونحن بحاجة فقط إلى أعلى في عمليات الإقلاع عقولنا للمشاركة في الإنترنت النفسية التي تتصل بالفعل نحن، وبالتالي التغلب على وهم الانفصال. كل واحدة من الديانات الكبرى لديها هدف واحد: أن توفر لنا وسيلة لمعرفة وتجربة الله. والفرق الوحيد يكمن في تعليمات لإنجاز هذا العلم.

وقد وجدت الملايين من الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم من خلال الله الفيدا، البهاغافاد غيتا، التوراة، العهد الجديد، والقرآن الكريم. ويمكن الاطلاع على عقيدة رسمية تدرس من قبل كل دين، من دون ازدراء، كنوع من "البرمجيات مقدس". وكان الغرض الأصلي من كل دين لتقدم لنا سر أو طقوس للسماح لنا تجربة والتحدث مع الله. التفكير في الأمر: لقرون لا تعد ولا تحصى كنا خوض الحروب المقدسة أكثر من البرمجيات!

عندما كين ويلبر يكتب من المسارات الروحية مختلف كما يقول،

واضاف "انهم ليسوا المعتقدات، وليس النظريات والأفكار لا، لا لاهوتية، والمذاهب لا بل هم المركبات، بل هي ممارسات التجريبي وهي تجارب لتنفيذ ...". (من مقدمة كتاب ليكس Hixon، و العودة الى الوطن)

المال لا يشتري السعادة

هنا في وادي السيليكون، بواسطة شواطئ جميلة خليج سان فرانسيسكو، ونحن نعيش في عالم التكنولوجيا والمطاعم. العديد من سكان هذه المنطقة المزدهرة بعنف تركز بشدة على والمال والهيئات الاشياء،. مأساة الازدهار لدينا هو أنه في حين أن فرص متنوعة لكسب المال في كل مكان، مما يجعل، وإعطاء وتلقي الحب وغالبا ما يتلقى أولوية أدنى - انتشار الإعلانات الشخصية لا يقاوم. في الانكماش الاقتصادي من 1980s، فقدت الكثير من تحلق على ارتفاع عال من الرجال والنساء الشقق الخاصة بهم وأجبروا على النوم في سيارات BMW الخاصة بهم.

في مشروع كبير آخر أنا، راسل، كما عملت على عالم الفضاء، وأعطيت مجموعتي من مليار دولار لتركيب جهاز ليزر قوية جدا على متن طائرة بوينغ 747 لاسقاط صواريخ سكود. هذا المشروع يعمل فيها حوالي 100 محليا العلماء والمهندسين الذين عملوا معا في التنافر وعدم احترام عميق. في مناسبة واحدة زميل قال لي، "كان هناك الكثير من الخوف في تلك الجلسة، هل يمكن أن رائحة لها عندما دخل الغرفة." حافزي خاص لكتابة هذا الكتاب هو مساعدة أخوتي وأخواتي في الفضاء لايجاد وسيلة لاختيار مرة أخرى - لاختيار امتنانه لحياتنا غرامة بدلا من الخوف.

يخشى الناس من عدم وجود مواعيد نهائية ، أو تجاوز الميزانيات ، أو عدم الوفاء بمتطلبات تقنية مستحيلة ، أو الوصول إلى طريق مسدود ، أو فقدان وظائفهم. كل هذه المخاوف تنبع من الشعور بالندرة.

في وادي السليكون ، الناس أكثر خوفا من الفقر أكثر من الموت أو المرض. في مرحلة ما من حياتي ، كنت في مثل هذه الأزمة من عدم المعنى واليأس ، كنت أقود عندي في ركوب دراجتي النارية دون خوذة ، مع فكرة أنه إذا تم قتلها ، فلن يكون خطأي. أدركت في النهاية أن العيش في كرسي متحرك مع كسر في الجمجمة لن يحسن كثيرا من احتمالات حياتي.

لا شيء من أي وقت مضى "اجعلني" سعيد

نحن قلقون من عدد لا يحصى من المشاكل: دفع قروض الرهن العقاري لدينا ، وكشف الرسوم الدراسية الكلية ، والعثور على رفيقة ، وما إذا كان جيري رايس من سان فرانسيسكو 49ers سيكون قادرا على لعب المباراة القادمة. كعضو نشط في المجتمع ، من الصعب معرفة أين نركز انتباهي لإيجاد السلام. أنا حزين لاكتشاف أنني لا أستطيع العثور عليه في صباحي نيويورك تايمز.

لقد تعلمت من عقود من الألم وسط الكثير أنه لن يجعلني أشعر بالسعادة. لا يمكن العثور على السعادة أو تحقيقها. إنها عملية ، وحالة ذهنية محددة ذاتيا. الحدث المثير والسعيد الذي اشتاق إليه ، عندما حدث أخيراً ، انتهى في لحظة. ثم أعود إلى حالتي الذهنية السابقة - مهما كانت.

البيانات والأفكار التي تبدأ ، "سأكون في النهاية سعيدة ، عندما ..." ببساطة خاطئة. على سبيل المثال ، من المثير للدهشة أن المزيد من الأرواح تدمر أكثر من إنقاذها من خلال الفوز باليانصيب. الطلاق والإفلاس هي نتيجة أكثر بكثير من النعيم أو الحرية المالية. قد يفسر هذا ، كما قال أستاذ الدين روبرت ثورمان ، العدد المتزايد من المشاهير البوذيين ، الذين أدركوا أن أهدافهم النهائية من الشهرة والثروة لم تجلب السعادة.

ما هي مصادر السعادة الحقيقية؟

في كتابه الرائد تدفق: علم نفس التجربة المثلى، مقابلات مع النفس ميهالي Csikszentmihalyi الآلاف من الأفراد حول التجربة الداخلية حياتها. من هذه البيانات، وهو يصف المصادر الناس من السعادة:

ما أنا "اكتشف" وكان أن السعادة ليست شيئا يحدث. انها ليست نتيجة لحسن الحظ، أو فرصة عشوائي. ليس من شيء يمكن ان تنفق أو سلطة الأوامر. انها لا تعتمد على أحداث خارج، ولكن بدلا من ذلك على كيف لنا أن نفسر لهم. السعادة، في الواقع، هو شرط لا بد أن تكون مستعدة ل، زراعتها ودافع للقطاع الخاص من قبل كل شخص. الناس الذين تعلم السيطرة الذاتية الداخلية، وسوف تكون قادرة على تحديد نوعية حياتهم، والذي هو أقرب ما أي واحد منا يأتي إلى سعيدة.

فيلسوف ومعلم أندرو كوهين يكتب أيضا عن البحث عن راحة البال. "ما لم يكن الفرد هو الالتزام على الأقل 51 في المئة في تلك الحالة من عدم معرفة [تسليم] العقل"، كما يكتب، "سيكون من المستحيل أن تؤثر على أي درجة من الكمال، والذي هو تعبير حقيقي عن المصدر النهائي من الوجود. .. " وبعبارة أخرى، والعلوم وتحليل ليست دائما هي الحل.

العديد من المدارس من التحليل النفسي وعلم انه من غير المجدي بالنسبة للمعالج ذكي لوصف مشكلة المريض له أو لها. يجب على المريض يتعرض لها. هذا من الصعب جدا للعقل عقلاني لفهم. لدينا لتجربة الإجابة على الصعيد غير التحليلية والبصيرة، أو جسدية من الوعي، لأن هذا هو أين تكمن المشكلة تكمن.

من اليأس إلى "الحب والارتباط"

واحد المشكلة الرئيسية في العديد من الكنائس والمعابد اليهودية اليوم هو أن الجميع هو مريح الحديث عن الله ولكن الصمت يصبح لا يطاق عندما يطلب منا لتجربة الله. تجربة الله لا توصف وصامت. مع الرغبة المتزايدة للحياة الروحية في جميع أنحاء أمريكا، ووعي تشرق أنه يتطلب على حد سواء التي تواجه مشقة لنا مع السكون ويجري على استعداد للتغيير.

كثير من الناس، حتى العلماء، وتدرك أنه إذا كان علينا أن نركز على الدوام حياتنا على الظواهر، على الحصول على الأشياء في المستقبل، مثل المال، والممتلكات، أو الجنس، أو حتى الموت، فإن النتيجة ستكون حتما بعض تشكيلة من اليأس والغضب والاستياء ، والخوف. وسوف تنفق في المئة 100 من وقتك في التفكير المال، والهيئات، والاشياء يؤدي حتما إلى اليأس. والإنفاق في المئة 100 المحبة التي تعاني من وقتك والترابط، وسوف يؤدي على الأرجح إلى تعويم بسعادة من الطائرة المادية، وربما لأنك قد نسيت لتناول الطعام.

وأنا لا يطرق بحماقة الجنسية - بل على العكس تماما. بطبيعة الحال، فإنه يغذي الجسم والعقل والروح. نحن نشعر بالقلق من أن التركيز المادي وتملكي سائدة حتى في وسائل الإعلام، في غرفة خلع الملابس، وفي محادثة عادية كثيرا ما يؤدي إلى، ألم الحزن والتسطيح،.

تغيير عقلي: من الخوف إلى الامتنان

العثور على الطريق إلى السلام: خمس خطوات قصيرة على الطريقلا يتطلب الأمر سوى القليل جدًا لتحريك تركيزك من الخوف إلى الامتنان - ويمكنك الاختيار! أهم خطوة يمكن أن يتخذها الشخص هي الخوف من الامتنان. الامتنان هو النعمة: الهدايا غير المكتسبة من الله ، أو الكون ، التي تجعل حياتنا أكثر صحة وأكثر وفرة من أي مكان أو وقت آخر في تاريخ العالم.

أدركت أنه حتى إذا كان تركيزي على الامتنان لبضع لحظات من اليوم ، فلا يزال بإمكاني قضاء النصف الآخر من وقتي في القلق والتحليل والاستياء. ليس من الضروري التخلي عن العقل المتميز لتحقيق السلام والمعنى في الحياة. يبدو وكأنه خطوة صغيرة ، ولكن كان لديه القدرة على إحداث تغيير كبير في اهتمامي ، وبالتالي ، في تجربتي. الشيء الأكثر إثارة للاهتمام في هذه الخطوة هو أنني لم أكن لأفعل أي شيء. أنا فقط اضطررت لتغيير رأيي.

على سبيل المثال، عندما يستيقظ كل صباح، ولدي اختيار ما برنامج لتشغيل العقلية. أستطيع أن أبدأ في التفكير اليوم حول مشروع قانون لدفع وفرص العمل وحتى النهاية، أو أستطيع أن أفتح عيني واشكروا أنني هنا ليوم آخر، أن أتمتع بصحة جيدة بشكل معقول، وأنني أعيش في مجتمع سلمي. وكان لي علاقة لها ثروتي جيدة لتكون ولدت في بلد مسالم نسبيا، على سبيل المثال، لذلك يكون ممتنا ربما الأكثر ملاءمة.

الآن، ينبغي أن الذي أشكره؟ بالنسبة للبعض، ليس هناك سؤال: أنت والحمد لله. بالنسبة لي، وجهة النظر مجسم من الله ليست الإجابة مفيدة تماما. فإن البوذية أشكر كارما له، وقانون السبب والنتيجة، التي تبدو الى حد كبير مثل "مبدأ تنظيم الكون" آينشتاين. وبعضها الآخر قد أشكر الكون، أو إله الحب، والتي وصفها الصوفيون من جميع الأعمار. هذا الأخير هو تجلي الله الذي هو الأكثر بسهولة من ذوي الخبرة. بعد الاستيقاظ من النوم في الصباح، ويمكنني أن تختار: "الحياة هي العاهرة ثم أموت" أو "شكرا لك الله، ليوم آخر من الإمكانيات". آخر قرار صعب!

الاهتمامات الرئيسية في الحياة: السلام ، الحب ، العرفان ، المجتمع

طريقة واحدة للانتقال من الخوف إلى الامتنان هي زراعة بعض الطقوس بوعي للمساعدة في هدوء أحاديثنا العقلية. مثل هذا المسار قد يساعدنا على تجربة الود غير المقيد الذي يقول بوذا إنه يتدفق بسهولة من عقل مريح ، ويصبح مدركًا لطبيعتنا الحقيقية ، وهو الوعي غير المقيد.

علم بوذا الصلاة التي تنجز كل هذه الأشياء. يطلق عليه صلاة ميتا ، أو صلاة المحبة اللطف. حتى أن عالما متشككًا يمكن أن يكون مرتاحًا مع صلاة 2,500 هذه ، لأنها لا تتطلب أن يصدق أي شيء. هذه الصلاة القصيرة قد تجذب العلماء أيضا بسبب كفاءتها البارزة. يتناول في خمسة خطوط قصيرة العديد من اهتمامات الحياة الرئيسية: السلام ، الحب ، الامتنان ، والمجتمع.

قد أكون في سلام.
قلبي قد تبقى مفتوحة.
اسمحوا لي أن توقظ إلى النور الذي هو طبيعتي الحقيقية.
يمكن أن تلتئم أنا.
أنا قد تكون مصدرا للشفاء لجميع البشر.

قد أكون في سلام. لا نستطيع لديك سلام؛ التحدي الذي يواجهنا هو أن نتعلم be سلام.

قلبي قد تبقى مفتوحة. تدرك هذه الصلاة أن قلوبنا مفتوحة بالفعل لتقديم الحب وتلقيه. من أجل الإقامة في هذه الحالة السلمية ، من الضروري معرفة كيفية الخروج من الفصل الذي نميل إلى تعزيزه لتأكيد شخصيتنا الحبيبة والتحكم.

هل لي أن أستيقظ على ضوء طبيعتي الحقيقية. طبيعتنا الحقيقية هي الحب. يمتلئ الكون بالوعي ، الذي ينعش ويلهم كل واحد منا ، والذي نعبر عنه باهتمامنا.

يمكن أن تلتئم أنا. الخطوة الأولى نحو الشفاء هي إدراك أن الغفران يزيل فكرنا عن العداوات القديمة.

هل يمكن أن أكون مصدرًا للشفاء لجميع الكائنات. في عالمنا غير المحلي ، إذا كان كل واحد منا مركزًا لطيبة المحبة ، فيمكننا المساعدة في شفاء جميع الكائنات ، أو على الأقل من حولنا ، عن طريق نقل أنفسنا من الاستياء إلى الاحترام.

©1999، 20111. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من مكتبة العالم الجديد.
www.newworldlibrary.com.

المادة المصدر

قلب العقل: استخدام عقولنا لتحويل وعينا
من قبل جين كاترا ورسل تارج.

قلب العقل: استخدام عقولنا لتحويل وعينا بجين كاترا ورسل تارج.وسواء كنا نسميها بالارتباط بالله أو الساتوري أو وعي الوحدة ، فإن المؤلفين يصفونه بأنه التفويض التطوري ليصبحوا وكلاء نشطين في تحول الوعي من خلال تحويل انتباهنا بعيدا عن ذواتنا المنفصلة. وبناءً على هذه التعاليم القديمة ، تستكشف كاترا وتارغ كيفية الاستكشاف العلمي الحديث للظواهر النفسية - من الأدلة المختبرية للارتباطات بين العقل والعقل ، ودراسات المستشفيات للشفاء البعيد ، والبحوث التي تُظْهِر إدراك المستقبل ، والأدلة المدهشة على ما تم التحقق منه في الماضي. ذكريات الحياة --- تشير جميعها إلى أن الوعي يمتد إلى ما هو أبعد من الذات الفردية. كما هو الحال في استكشافهم السابق غير المسبوق للعقل غير المسمى والشفاء الروحي ، فإن معجزات العقل ، تارج وكاترا تتعاون هنا لإظهار كيف أننا متشددون من أجل الوعي العالي.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب. (طبعة جديدة) متوفر أيضًا في إصدار Kindle.

عن المؤلفين

جين كترا، دكتوراه وروسل Targ.JANE كترا، دكتوراه لقد كان هذا المعالج ممارسة الروحي لخمسة وعشرين عاما. وهي حاصلة على درجة الدكتوراه في التعليم والصحة والتغذية والصحة تدرس الفصول الدراسية في جامعة ولاية أوريغون. الدكتور كترا يعمل حاليا بدوام جزئي ك "مدرب جهاز المناعة"، في حين أن الكتابة والمشاركة في البحوث وعيه. من تأليفه، مع Targ روسل، من معجزات العقل: استكشاف الوعي غير محلي والشفاء الروحي.

كان RUSSELL TARG رائداً في تطوير الليزر وأحد مؤسسي تحقيق معهد أبحاث ستانفورد في القدرة النفسية في 1970s و 1980s. وتشمل كتبه الوصول إلى العقل: العلماء ينظرون إلى القدرات النفسية و سباق العقل: فهم واستخدام قدرات نفسية. وهو أحد كبار العلماء المتقاعدين في شركة Lockheed Missile and Space ، وهو الآن يتابع أبحاث ESP في شركة Interval Research Corporation في بالو ألتو ، كاليفورنيا. قم بزيارة موقع المؤلفين على www.espresearch.com.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = russell targ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Five Short Steps To Find The Path to Peace

04 27 five steps
Photo Credit: Thomas Leth-Olsen. (CC 2.0)

In twenty-first century terms, we need only to boot-up our minds to participate in the psychic internet to which we are already connected, thus overcoming the delusion of separation. Each of the major religions has the same goal: to provide us with a way to know and experience God. The only difference lies in the instructions for accomplishing this knowing.

Millions of people throughout the world have found God through the Vedas, the Bhagavad Gita, the Torah, the New Testament, and the Koran. The formal doctrine taught by each religion can be viewed, without disrespect, as a kind of "sacramental software". The original intent of each religion was to offer us a sacrament or ritual to allow us to experience and talk with God. Think of it: For countless centuries we have been fighting holy wars over software!

When Ken Wilber writes of the various spiritual paths he says, 

"They are not beliefs, not theories, not ideas, not theologies, and not doctrines. Rather they are vehicles; they are experiential practices. They are experiments to perform..." (From the foreword of Lex Hixon's book, Coming Home)

Money Does Not Buy Happiness

Here in Silicon Valley, by the shores of beautiful San Francisco Bay, we live in a world of technology and restaurants. Many residents of this wildly prosperous region focus desperately on money, bodies, and stuff. The tragedy of our prosperity is that while diverse opportunities for making money are everywhere, making, giving, and receiving love often receive a lower priority -- the proliferation of personal ads not withstanding. In the economic downturn of the 1980s, many high-flying men and women lost their condos and were forced to sleep in their BMWs.

In the last large project I, Russell, worked on as an aerospace scientist, my group was given a billion dollars to install a very powerful laser on a Boeing 747 aircraft to shoot down scud missiles. This project employed locally about one hundred scientists and engineers who worked together in profound disharmony and disrespect. On one occasion a colleague told me, "There was so much fear at that meeting, you could smell it when you walked into the room." My particular motivation for writing this book is to help my brothers and sisters in aerospace to find a way to choose again -- to choose gratitude for our fine lives instead of fear.

People are afraid of missing deadlines, exceeding budgets, failing to meet impossible technical requirements, reaching career dead-ends, or losing their jobs. All of these concerns derive from a feeling of scarcity.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In Silicon Valley, people are much more frightened of poverty than of death or illness. At one point in my life, I was in such a crisis of meaninglessness and desperation, I was purposely riding my motorcycle without a helmet, with the idea that if I were killed it wouldn't be my fault. I eventually realized that living in a wheelchair with a fractured skull would not greatly improve my life prospects.

Nothing Will Ever "Make Me" Happy

We are worried about a myriad of problems: paying our mortgages, scraping together college tuition, finding a mate, and whether Jerry Rice of the San Francisco 49ers will be able to play the next game. As an active member of society, it's very hard to know where to focus my attention to find peace. I am sad to discover that I can't find it in my morning New York Times.

I have learned from decades of pain amidst plenty that nothing will ever make me happy. Happiness cannot be found or achieved. It is a process, and a self-determined state of mind. The thrilling, happy event I've longed for, when it finally occurs, is over in an instant. Then I return to my previous state of mind -- whatever it was.

Statements and thoughts that begin, "I will finally be happy, when. . . " are simply false. For instance, amazingly, more lives are ruined than saved by winning the lottery. Divorce and bankruptcy are far more common a result than bliss or financial freedom. This may explain, as professor of religion Robert Thurman has suggested, the growing number of celebrity Buddhists, who have realized that their ultimate goals of fame and wealth did not bring happiness.

What Are the True Sources of Happiness?

In his groundbreaking book Flow: The Psychology of Optimal Experience, psychologist Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi interviewed thousands of individuals about their inner-life experience. From these data, he describes people's sources of happiness:

What I "discovered" was that happiness is not something that happens. It is not the result of good fortune, or random chance. It is not something that money can buy or power command. It does not depend on outside events, but rather on how we interpret them. Happiness, in fact, is a condition that must be prepared for, cultivated and defended privately by each person. People who learn to control inner experience, will be able to determine the quality of their lives, which is as close as any of us come to being happy. 

Philosopher and teacher Andrew Cohen also writes about the search for peace of mind. "Unless the individual is abiding at least 51 percent in that state of not knowing [surrendering] the mind," he writes, "it will be impossible to affect any degree of perfection, which is the true expression of the ultimate source of being..."  In other words, science and analysis are not always the answer.

Many schools of psychoanalysis teach that it is useless for the astute therapist to describe a patient's problem to him or her. The patient must experience it. This is very hard for the rational mind to understand. We have to experience the answer at the non-analytic, visionary, or somatic level of awareness, because that's where the problem resides.

From Desperation to "Love and Connectedness"

One main problem with many churches and synagogues today is that everyone is comfortable talking about God but the silence becomes unbearable when we are asked to experience God. The experience of God is ineffable and silent. With the increasing desire for a spiritual life throughout America, the awareness is dawning that it requires both facing our discomfort with stillness and being willing to change.

Many people, even scientists, are recognizing that if we perpetually focus our lives on externals, on acquiring things in the future, such as money, possessions, sex, or even death, the result will inevitably be some assortment of desperation, anger, resentment, and fear. Spending 100 percent of your time thinking about money, bodies, and stuff will definitely lead to desperation. And spending 100 percent of your time experiencing love and connectedness, will likely lead to blissfully floating off the material plane, perhaps because you have forgotten to eat.

I am not foolishly knocking sexuality -- quite the contrary. Of course, it nourishes the body, mind, and spirit. We are concerned that the materialistic and possessive focus so prevalent in the media, in the locker room, and in ordinary conversation frequently leads to trivialization, pain, and grief.

Changing My Mind: From Fear to Gratitude

Finding the Path to Peace: Five Short Steps on the PathIt takes very little to move your focus from fear to gratitude - and you get to choose! The most important step a person can take is from fear toward gratitude. The gratitude is for grace: the unearned gifts from God, or the Universe, that make our lives healthier and more abundant than almost any other place or time in the history of the world.

I realized that even if my focus is on gratitude for a few moments of the day, I still can spend the other half of my time worrying, analyzing, and resenting. It's not necessary to give up a discerning mind to achieve peace and meaning in life. It seems like a small step, but it had the power to effect great change in my attention, and therefore, in my experience. The most interesting thing about this step is that I didn't have to do anything. I just had to change my mind.

For example, when awakening every morning, I have the choice of what mental program to run. I can start the day thinking about bills to pay and jobs to finish, or I can open my eyes and give thanks that I am here for another day, that I enjoy reasonably good health, and that I live in a peaceful community. I had nothing to do with my good fortune to be born in a relatively peaceful country, for example, so being grateful is probably most appropriate.

Now, whom should I thank? For some, there is no question: you thank God. For me, the anthropomorphic view of God is not an entirely helpful answer. The Buddhist would thank his karma, the law of cause and effect, which sounds very much like Einstein's "organizing principle of the universe". Others may thank the universe, or the God of love, described by the mystics of all ages. This latter is the manifestation of God that is most easily experienced. Upon awakening in the morning, I can choose: "Life's a bitch and then I die" or "Thank you God, for another day of infinite possibilities". Another difficult decision!

Life's Principal Concerns: Peace, Love, Gratitude, Community

One way to move from fear to gratitude is to consciously cultivate some ritual to help quiet our mental chatter. Such a path might help us experience the unrestrained friendliness the Buddha said flowed easily from a relaxed mind, and to become aware of our true nature, which is unrestrained consciousness.

The Buddha taught a prayer that accomplishes all these things. It's called the metta prayer, or prayer of loving kindness. Even a skeptical scientist can be comfortable with this 2,500-year-old prayer, because it doesn't require one to believe anything. This brief prayer might also appeal to scientists because of its remarkable efficiency. It addresses in five short lines many of life's principal concerns: peace, love, gratitude, and community.

May I be in peace.
May my heart remain open.
May I awaken to the light which is my true nature.
May I be healed.
May I be a source of healing for all beings.

May I be in peace. We can't have peace; our challenge is to learn to be peace.

May my heart remain open. This prayer recognizes that our hearts are already open to give and receive love. To reside in this peaceful state it is essential to know how to move out of the separation we tend to foster to assert our beloved individuality and control.

May I awaken to the light of my true nature. Our true nature is love. The universe is filled with consciousness, which animates and inspires each of us, and which we express with our caring attention.

May I be healed. The first step toward healing is to recognize that forgiveness clears our mind space of old animosities.

May I be a source of healing for all beings. In our non-local world, if each of us is a center of loving kindness, we can help to heal all beings, or at least those around us, by moving ourselves from resentment to respect.

©1999, 20111. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of New World Library.
www.newworldlibrary.com.

Article Source

The Heart of the Mind: Using Our Mind to Transform Our Consciousness
by Jane Katra and Russell Targ.

The Heart of the Mind: Using Our Mind to Transform Our Consciousness by Jane Katra and Russell Targ.Whether we call it connecting to God, satori, or unity consciousness, the authors describe it as our evolutionary mandate to become active agents of consciousness transformation by turning our attention away from our separate selves. Building on these ancient teachings, Katra and Targ explore how modern scientific exploration of psychic phenomena --- from laboratory evidence of mind-to-mind connections, hospital studies of distant healing, research showing precognition of the future, and fascinating evidence of verified past-life memories---all indicate that consciousness extends beyond the individual self. As in their previous groundbreaking exploration of nonlocal mind and spiritual healing, Miracles of Mind, Targ and Katra team up here to show how we are hard-wired for higher consciousness.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book. (new edition) Also available in a Kindle edition.

About The Authors

Jane Katra, Ph.D. & Russell Targ. JANE KATRA, Ph.D. has been a practicing spiritual healer for twenty-five years. She holds a doctorate in health education and has taught nutrition and health classes at the University of Oregon. Dr. Katra currently works part-time as an "immune-system coach", while writing and participating in consciousness research. She is the author, with Russell Targ, of Miracles of Mind: Exploring Nonlocal Consciousness and Spiritual Healing

RUSSELL TARG was a pioneer in the development of the laser and cofounder of the Stanford Research Institute's investigation into psychic ability in the 1970s and 1980s. His books include Mind Reach: Scientists Look at Psychic Abilities and The Mind Race: Understanding and Using Psychic Abilities. A retired senior staff scientist for Lockheed Missile and Space, he now pursues ESP research at Interval Research Corporation, in Palo Alto, California. Visit the authors' website at www.espresearch.com.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=russell targ;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}