كيف تفقد روحنا الصغيرة طريقها

كيف تفقد روحنا الصغيرة طريقها
الصورة عن طريق دانيال كيرش

في كتابه والأرض الجديدة, يصف إيكهارت توللي الأنا على أنها "إحساس وهمي بالذات" يقوم على تحديد اللاوعي مع ذكرياتنا وأفكارنا. يخلق هذا التعريف ما يسميه Tolle لدينا جسم الألم ، تراكم الألم العاطفي القديم. في الاتفاقيات الأربع, دون ميغيل يسمي الروح الصغيرة أ طفيلي، لأنه بالنسبة لمعظم البالغين ، انفصلت شخصيتنا عن روحنا الكبيرة وتتغذى الآن على طاقة الخوف.

يستخدم توللي ودون ميغيل كلمات مختلفة ، لكنهما يصفان نفس المفهوم: فصل روحنا الصغيرة عن روحنا الكبيرة.

أرى الروح الصغيرة كطفل صغير. عندما يكون الطفل مرتبطًا ارتباطًا وثيقًا برعاية رعاية محبة وحكيمة ورعاية (Big Soul) ، من الممتع الخروج واستكشاف العالم ثم العودة ومشاركة ما تعلمه. إذا اكتشفت طفلة شيئًا مخيفًا أو مربكًا أثناء استكشافاتها ثم عادت للتحقق من صديقتها الأكبر سناً والأكثر حكمة ، فإنها تذكرها بالصورة الكبيرة من خلال إظهار أنها جزء من شيء واسع ورائع.

بمجرد طمأنتها ، تبتسم الطفلة وتذهب للعب مرة أخرى ، مدركة أنها تنخرط في حلم رائع تقوم بتأسيسه. وهكذا يكتسب الطفل الخبرات وينضج من قاعدة الحب والأمن غير المشروطين. هذا بالطبع هو الوضع المثالي ، لكن الكثير منا لا يعرف حتى أن هذا ممكن.

هل تعتقد أنك فقدت طريقك إلى Big Soul؟

تخيل الآن ماذا سيحدث إذا خرج هذا الطفل للعب وفقد طريقه إلى Big Soul ، أفضل صديق له ودليله الحكيم. هل يمكنك أن تتخيل نفسك كطفل صغير ضائع في سوق مزدحم بالخارج؟ كيف سيكون شعورك؟ ماذا كنت ستفعل؟

خذ لحظة لتتخيل هذا الإحساس بالفقدان والاعتقاد بأنه عليك معرفة كيفية البقاء آمنًا في عالم يبدو غير ودي وغير مألوف.

في هذه اللحظة من فقدان علاقتنا مع Big Soul التي تعتمد على الخوف I ولدت روحنا الصغيرة. أنا منفصل ، أنا وحيد ، لا أعرف أين أنا ، لا أعرف كيف أكون.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


عندما تبدأ Little Soul المنفصلة والمنفصلة في البحث عن مصدرها الحقيقي للراحة ، Big Soul ، تأتي عبر مصادر أخرى تحاكي بشكل غير كاف كيف تشعر في حضور Big Soul. ما وجدته بدلاً من ذلك هو عدد محير من القواعد حول كيف من المفترض أن تتصرف ومن يفترض أن تحصل على هذه الراحة.

استيعاب الاستقرار في عالم مربك

بدون توجيهات Big Big Soul في الصورة ، تبدأ روحك الصغيرة في امتصاص المفاهيم والمعتقدات الجديدة التي ليست أعلى الحقيقة ولكن يبدو أنها الحقيقة فقط. ثم يتم تعريف Little Soul على مفهوم العقاب والمكافأة ويبدأ في الخوف من ألم الحب الذي يتم حجبه. ونتيجة لذلك ، يستنتج Little Soul أنه ليس كافيًا ويعتقد أن السلامة الوحيدة هي الملاءمة ، أو أن السلامة الوحيدة هي التمرد وعدم الملاءمة. في كلتا الحالتين ، فإن Little Soul يمسك بهوية لإعطائها شعور بالاستقرار في عالم مربك للغاية.

يقضي روحك الصغير سنواتًا في تكوين من يعتقد أنه من المفترض أن يكون محبوبًا ومقبولًا. في كل مرة يعتقد أنها تفكر في كيف من المفترض أن تكون ، مثل يجب أن أكون سعيدًا طوال الوقت ، or إذا كنت سعيدًا ، سيشعر الناس بالغيرة مني ، or إذا كنت جيدًا بما فيه الكفاية ، كنت سأجني الكثير من المال ، or أصدقائي لن يوافقوا علي if أخبرتهم أنني أحب البيسبول ، يقيم Little Soul جدرانًا صغيرة تفصله أكثر عن ارتباطه بحقيقة Big Soul الخاصة به.

تذكر أن Big Soul لم تذهب إلى أي مكان. بدلا من ذلك ، روحك الصغيرة يعتقد ضائعة وحيدة ولا يمكنها أن تجد طريقها إلى مصدرها. هناك دائما بصيص من نظرة Big Soul من خلال إظهار الطريق إلى المنزل. لكن روحك الصغيرة مشتتة للغاية بالتفكير في كيفية أن تكون هذه اللمحات عن الوجود ببساطة تغطيها القصص بسرعة.

خوف الروح الصغيرة

هنا نظرة محددة على كيف تفقد روحنا الصغيرة طريقها ، مأخوذة من كتابي كتاب صغير عن الحرية الكبيرة:

أنا في الثالثة من العمر ، ألعب مع أختي النابضة بالحياة البالغة من العمر ثماني سنوات. نحن نضحك ونركض بسعادة حول المنزل ، ويلوحون بالأذرع ، بالكاد تلامس الأرض الأرض.

فجأة ، سمعت صوت ضجيج خلفي ، وألتفت لأرى أن أختي طرقت عن طريق الخطأ مزهرية ، تحطمت في جميع أنحاء الأرض. نحن نتجمد وننظر إلى بعضنا البعض ، متسائلين ماذا نفعل بعد ذلك. أختي تهز رأسها وتقول: "من الأفضل أن ننظف هذا قبل أن تعود أمي إلى الداخل." ولكن عندما نذهب إلى المطبخ للحصول على المكنسة ، قررنا تناول وجبة خفيفة أولاً. قبل فترة طويلة ، يضحك كلانا ويلعبون مرة أخرى ، وينسون كل شيء عن المزهرية.

في هذه الأثناء ، كانت والدتنا بالخارج تعمل في الحديقة. إنها ساخنة ومرهقة وما زالت مستاءة من جدالها مع أبي في وقت سابق من اليوم. إنها تفكر في كل شيء تحتاجه للقيام به ، وتحاول تقوية نفسها لدفع حالتها الجسدية والعاطفية الحالية.

يوم أمي غير الجيد على وشك أن يزداد سوءًا.

أثناء دخولها المنزل ، تسمع شقيقتي وأنا تضحك وتجري. ثم ترى مزهرية جدتها -الشيء الوحيد الذي أعطته لها والدتها الكبرى- تحطمت على الأرض.

على الرغم من أنها نادرا ما تصرخ أو تنزعج منا ، إلا أنها تفقدها اليوم. بدأت تصرخ ، "من كسر مزهري ؟! من كسر مزهري ؟! "

جئت أنا وأختي نركض إلى الغرفة الأمامية ، خائفين على حد سواء وهي تصرخ في وجهنا حول المزهرية ، مطالبة بمعرفة من كسرها.

في ذعر ، أختي تشير إلي وتقول: "لقد فعلتها!"

أنظر إليها ، ثم إلى والدتي ، وهي تلعثم ، "أنا. . . أنا . . . لم أكن- "

"أنت! اذهب الى غرفتك الان!" أمي تصيح.

الآن أغمض عينيك للحظة وتخيل أنك طفل وأنك عوقبت للتو على شيء لم تفعله. كيف يشعر هذا في جسمك؟ ما هي الأفكار التي تدور حول عقلك؟

قد يكون لديك رد فعل عاطفي قوي ، وخز يملئك من الرأس إلى أخمص القدمين. من الناحية الجسدية ، قد تشعر بارتجاف في معدتك ، أو ضيق في حلقك ، أو تمزق في صدرك. قد تكون غاضبًا وتشعر بالخيانة. قد تشعر بالخوف أو الارتباك.

العاطفة نفسها ليست هي المشكلة ، ولكن ماذا نفعل بعد ذلك يخلق علفًا لمعظم معاناتنا المستمرة كبالغين.

نقول لأنفسنا قصة.

كطفل صغير ، فكر في بعض الأشياء التي قد تخبرها لنفسك للمساعدة في فهم ما حدث للتو:

أمي تحب أختي أكثر مما تحبني.

الناس يكذبون أو يخونونني لخدمة مصلحتهم الخاصة.

إذا كذبت ، لن أعاقب.

ليس من الآمن اللعب أو الشعور بالفرح ؛ سأقع في مشكلة.

لا يمكنني الوثوق بأمي.

يجب أن أكون أكثر حذراً وأن أكسب شعور الحب والأمان.

أنا سيء ، أخرق ، غبي.

الأشياء المادية أكثر أهمية من الناس.

الحياة ليست عادلة.

لا يمكن لأي من هذه الأفكار أن تكون شيئًا - مثل نفخة الهندباء التي تهب في الريح ولا تتجذر. أو يمكن أن تهبط النفخة على التربة الخصبة وتبدأ في نمو الجذور وإخراج الأوراق. قبل أن تعرفه ، ظهر حقل أعشاب كامل.

بذور الشك والارتباك وسوء الفهم

هذه الأفكار الصغيرة لها قوة هائلة - ليس قوتها بل القوة التي نعطيها لها. نحن مبدعون لا يصدقون ، لكن ما ننشئه غالبًا يعتمد على بذور الأفكار الخاطئة التي ، عند زراعتها ، تتجذر وتزدهر في الاتفاقات التي نصنعها مع أنفسنا ومع الآخرين.

في حين أن الوضع مع المزهرية هو صدمة طفيفة نسبيًا ، فإن الهدف هو معرفة كيف يمكن لحادث قصير أن يزرع بذور الشك والارتباك وسوء الفهم ، والتي يمكن أن تنمو بعد ذلك إلى اتفاقيات أكبر تؤثر على حياتنا بأكملها حتى نحقق فيها ونقتلعها .

قد لا تتذكر الطفلة في هذا السيناريو الحادثة عندما تكبر ، ولكن يمكنك رؤية التأثير الذي يمكن أن يحدثه على تفكيرها - خاصة إذا حدثت أشياء كهذه على أساس منتظم. على مستوى اللاوعي ، سوف تخلق حرفيا واقعًا سينمو من حفنة من اتفاقيات الطفولة. ستصبح هذه المعتقدات أرضية مهتزة لجميع أعمالها المستقبلية.

خذ لحظة للتفكير في تجاربك الخاصة:

أين نصبت جدرانًا تشبه السجن استنادًا إلى قصص الماضي؟

ما هي القصص التي تخبرها لنفسك والتي تجعلك تشعر بالعجز أو الضحية بدلاً من القوة والثقة؟

بأي طرق يحدون من كيفية إدراكك لقصة حياتك ومواهبك وإمكانياتك المستقبلية؟

بالنسبة للكثيرين منا ، هناك أكثر من عدد قليل منها في مجموعة متنوعة من المجالات. في بعض الأحيان أخبرنا أنفسنا بهذه القصص لفترة طويلة لدرجة أننا لم نعد نعترف بها كقصص. نحن نخطئهم على أنهم "الطريقة التي تسير بها الأمور". يمكن أن يستغرق اكتشاف هذه المعتقدات وقتًا وطاقة ، ولكن يجب أن نكشفها ونشطبها إذا أردنا أن نكون أحرارًا.

الخبر السار هو أنك لست بحاجة إلى معرفة أصل هذه المعتقدات لتصحيحها واستبدالها ؛ كل ما عليك فعله هو (1) أن تكون صادقًا مع نفسك بشأن الوضع الحالي لمنزلك الداخلي ؛ و (2) الاستعداد للقيام بالعمل لإعادة تشكيله من الألف إلى الياء.

نحن منشئون رائعون ، لكن ما ننشئه غالبًا يعتمد على أساس من الأفكار الخاطئة التي نبني منها بعد ذلك هيكلًا كاملاً ومحدودًا للاتفاقيات. كما يكتب دون ميغيل الكتاب المصاحب للاتفاقيات الأربعة, تخيل أن كل اتفاق يشبه لبنة. يصنع البشر هيكلًا كاملاً من الطوب ، ونحن نلصقه مع إيماننا. نحن نؤمن بلا شك بكل المعرفة داخل الهيكل. إن إيماننا محاصر داخل هذا الهيكل لأننا وضعنا إيماننا في كل اتفاق. ليس من المهم إذا كان صحيحا أو غير صحيح. نحن نؤمن بذلك ، وبالنسبة لنا هذا صحيح ".

واقعك الحالي

كيف صنعت واقعك الحالي بناءً على قصص أو اتفاقيات قديمة قمت بها مع نفسك ، حول ما قيل لك عندما كنت طفلاً؟ ولماذا هذه القصص الزائفة مغرية للغاية بحيث يمكنك نسيان دفء روحك الكبيرة؟ لنلقي نظرة.

كأطفال ، كل منا اعتنق معتقدات أو اتفاقيات أبعدتنا عن روحنا الكبيرة. تم تمرير العديد من هذه الاتفاقيات ، المصممة لإعطائنا شعورًا بالأمان عندما نشعر بالضياع والارتباك ، بقوة من والدينا ومقدمي الرعاية الآخرين. البعض تحاكينا مما رأيناه من حولنا ، والبعض الآخر صنعناه بمفردنا ، مثل الاعتقاد أمي تحب أختي أكثر في السيناريو الموضح أعلاه.

ومع ذلك ، فقد تأثرت القصص التي أنشأناها كطفل بشكل كبير ليس فقط باتفاقيات الأشخاص من حولنا ولكن أيضًا بما يسميه تولتيك حلم الكوكب- منظور الإنسانية الجماعي. كما وصف دون ميغيل وابنه دون خوسيه في الاتفاقية الخامسة: "كان الحلم المشترك للبشرية ، حلم الكوكب ، موجودًا قبل ولادتك ، وهكذا تعلمت كيفية إنشاء فنك الخاص ، قصة لك."

يمكنك بسهولة رؤية التأثير غير المرئي ولكن المنتشر لحلم الكوكب من خلال تشغيل الأخبار الليلية أو قراءة عناوين الصحف الرئيسية أو مشاهدة المسلسلات أو النظر في الإعلانات. تفيد معظم وسائل الإعلام بالخوف والندرة. يتم توجيه الإعلانات إلى مدى الكمال الذي ستكون عليه إذا استخدمت منتجهم ، وليس كم أنت مثالي الآن. . . .

المعلومات حول كيفية التفكير وكيفية التصرف وكيف يتم إنشاؤها من قبل وسائل الإعلام - إنها مجرد انعكاس للاتفاقيات التي أبرمناها. يوضح لنا محتوى وسائل الإعلام لدينا أن معظمنا يختبر الواقع من خلال أعين الصراع والخوف والندرة والشعور بعدم كونه جيدًا بما فيه الكفاية. هذه الصفات المقيدة هي التي تلفت انتباهنا لأنها تبدو مألوفة لنا ، وفي هذه الألفة ، نجد شعورًا (زائفًا) بالأمان.

نظرًا لأن كل واحد تقريبًا - من آبائنا إلى معلمينا إلى أصدقائنا - منغمس في هذه الطريقة في إدراك العالم ، يبدو من الطبيعي بالنسبة لنا أن نعتقد أننا لسنا محبوبين أو أنه يجب أن نكون طريقة معينة للقبول. لكن هذه ليست حالتنا الطبيعية ، ولهذا السبب تشعر بعدم الارتياح لنا! لهذا السبب نحن نبحث دائمًا عن الراحة والشيء لإكمالنا. هذا هو السبب في أننا نسعى إلى المنزل.

© 2020 by HeatherAsh Amara. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
مقتطف بإذن من: The Heart Waror Heart Practice.
الناشر: سانت مارتن الأساسية ، www.stmartins.com.

المادة المصدر

محارب القلب الممارسة
بواسطة هيذرأش عمارة

ممارسة محارب القلب من قبل هيذرش عمارةعملية ثورية تعتمد على الغرف الأربعة للقلب وتتجذر في حكمة التولتيك التي تجلب الوضوح العاطفي والشفاء والحرية. ممارسة القلب المحارب هي طريقة جديدة قوية لإعادة الاتصال بإحساسنا بالأصالة والمعرفة الداخلية وإعادة التنظيم مع طبيعتنا الحقيقية. مؤلف كتاب الأكثر مبيعا المحارب آلهة التدريبتدربت هيذرأش عمارة على نطاق واسع في تقاليد تولتيك تحت وصاية دون ميغيل رويز ، مؤلف كتاب الاتفاقيات الأربع. (متاح أيضًا كإصدار من Kindle ، و Audiobook ، و Audio CD.)

لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب ، انقر هنا.

المزيد من الكتب من قبل هذا المؤلف

عن المؤلف

هيذراش عمارةهيذرآش عمارة هو مؤلف عدد من الكتب بما في ذلك سلسلة "تدريب المحارب آلهة". إنها تجلب رؤية عالمية متفتحة وشاملة لكتاباتها وتعاليمها ، وهي مزيج غني من حكمة تولتيك والشامانية الأوروبية والبوذية وحفل الأمريكيين الأصليين. تسافر وتدرس في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة وكذلك دوليا. زيارة موقعها على الانترنت لمعرفة المزيد في HeatherashAmara.com

فيديو / عرض تقديمي مع هيذر آش عمارة: الخوف والمماطلة وغير ذلك

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

من المحررين

أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
يكلف جائحة الفيروس التاجي بأكمله ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروة ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون قبل الأوان بشكل مباشر ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)
ترك راندي قمع غضبي
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4-26) لم أتمكن من كتابة شيء أرغب في نشره في الشهر الماضي ، ترى أنني غاضب. انا فقط اريد انتقاد.
إعلان خدمة بلوتو
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4/15/2020) الآن بما أن كل شخص لديه الوقت الكافي للإبداع ، لا يوجد ما يقوله عن الترفيه عن نفسك الداخلية.

How Our Little Soul Loses Its Way

How Our Little Soul Loses Its Way
Image by Daniel Kirsch

In his book A New Earth, Eckhart Tolle describes our ego as an “illusory sense of self” based on unconscious identification with our memories and thoughts. This identification creates what Tolle calls our pain-body, an accumulation of old emotional pain. In The Four Agreements, don Miguel calls the Little Soul a parasite, because for most adults, our ego-personality has split from our Big Soul and now feeds on the energy of fear.

Tolle and don Miguel are using different words, but they are describing the same concept: the separation of our Little Soul from our Big Soul.

I see the Little Soul as a small child. When a child is in­timately connected to a loving, wise, nurturing caretaker (Big Soul), it is fun to go out and explore the world and then come back and share what it has learned. If a child discovers some­thing scary or confusing during her explorations and then comes back to check in with her older and wiser best friend, Big Soul reminds her of the big picture by showing her that she is part of something vast and wonderful.

Once reassured, the child smiles and goes off to play again, realizing that she is engaging in a fabulous dream that she is cocreating. The child thus gains experiences and matures from a base of uncondi­tional love and security. This is, of course, the ideal situation, but many of us do not even know that this is possible.

Think You've Lost Your Way Back to Big Soul?

Now imagine what would happen if that child went out to play and lost her way back to Big Soul, her best friend and wise guide. Can you imagine yourself as a little kid lost in a busy outdoor marketplace? How would you feel? What would you do?

Take a moment to imagine that sense of being lost and of believing that you have to figure out how to stay safe in a seem­ingly unfriendly, unfamiliar world.

It is in this moment of losing our connection to our Big Soul that the fear-based I of our Little Soul is born. I am separate, I am alone, I don’t know where I am, I don’t know how to be.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


As your lost and disconnected Little Soul starts looking for its true source of comfort, Big Soul, it comes across other sources that inadequately mimic how it feels to be in Big Soul’s presence. What it finds instead is a bewildering number of rules about how it is supposed to behave and who it is supposed to be to receive that comfort.

Grasping for Stability in a Confusing World

Without your Big Soul’s big-picture guidance, your Little Soul starts soaking up new concepts and beliefs that are not highest truth but only appear to be truth. Little Soul is then in­troduced to the concept of punishment and reward and begins to fear the pain of love being withheld. As a result, Little Soul concludes that it is not enough and believes that the only safety is in fitting in, or that the only safety is to rebel and not fit in. In either case, your Little Soul grasps for an identity to give it a sense of stability in a very confusing world.

Your Little Soul spends years carefully constructing who it believes it is supposed to be to be loved and accepted. Each time it believes a thought about how it is supposed to be, such as I should be happy all the time, or If I’m happy, people will be jealous of me, or If I were good enough, I’d make lots of money, or My friends won’t approve of me if I let them know I love baseball, your Little Soul erects tiny walls that further separate it from its connection to its own Big Soul truth.

Remember, Big Soul hasn’t gone anywhere. Rather, your Little Soul believes it is lost and alone and can’t find its way back to its source. There are always glimmers of Big Soul peeking through, showing the way home. But your Little Soul is so dis­tracted by thinking about how to be that these glimpses of sim­ply being are quickly covered over by stories.

The Little Soul’s Fear

Here is a specific look at how our Little Soul loses its way, taken from my book A Little Book on Big Freedom:

I am three years old, playing with my rambunctious eight-year- old sister. We’re laughing and gleefully running around the house, arms waving, feet barely touching the ground.

Suddenly, I hear a loud noise behind me, and I turn to see that my sister has accidentally knocked over a vase, which has shattered all over the floor. We freeze and look at each other, wondering what to do next. My sister shakes her head and says, “We’d better clean this up before Mom comes back inside.” But when we go into the kitchen to get the broom, we decide to have a snack first. Before long, the two of us are laughing and playing again, forgetting all about the vase.

Meanwhile, our mom has been outside working in the garden. She is hot, tired, and still upset over an argument she had with Dad earlier in the day. She’s thinking about every thing she needs to get done, and trying to fortify herself to push through her current state of physi­cal and emotional overwhelm.

Mom’s not-good day is about to get worse.

As she walks into the house, she hears my sister and me laughing and running around. Then she sees her grandmother’s vase—the only thing her grand mother had ever given her— shattered on the floor.

Even though she has rarely yelled or gotten upset with us, today she just loses it. She starts yelling, “Who broke my vase?! Who broke my vase?!”

My sister and I come running into the front room, both scared as she shouts at us about the vase, demand­ing to know who broke it.

In a panic, my sister points at me and says, “She did it!”

I look at her, and then at my mother, stuttering, “I . . . I . . . I didn’t—”

“You! Go to your room now!” Mom yells.

Now close your eyes for a moment and imagine that you are a child and that you have just been punished for something you didn’t do. How does this feel in your body? What thoughts are beginning to cycle through your mind?

You may have a strong emotional reaction, a tingling that fills you from head to toe. Physically, you may feel a churning in your stomach, a tightness in your throat, or a tearing feeling in your chest. You may be angry and feel betrayed. You may feel scared or confused.

The emotion itself is not the problem, but what we do next creates the fodder for most of our ongoing suffering as adults.

We tell ourselves a story.

As a little kid, consider some of the things you may tell yourself to help make sense of what just happened:

Mom loves my sister more than she loves me.

People will lie or betray me to serve their own interest.

If I lie, I won’t get punished.

It’s not safe to play or feel joy; I’ll get in trouble.

I can’t trust Mom.

I have to be extra careful and earn the feeling of love and safety.

I’m bad, clumsy, and stupid.

Material objects are more important than people.

Life’s not fair.

Any one of these thoughts could be nothing—like a dande­lion puff blowing in the wind and not taking root. Or the puff could land on fertile soil and start growing roots and shoot­ing out leaves. Before you know it, a whole field of weeds has sprouted.

Seeds of Doubt, Confusion, and Misunderstanding

These tiny thoughts have immense power— not their own power but the power we give to them. We are incredible creators, but what we often create is based on the seeds of false thoughts that, when planted, take root and blossom into agree­ments that we make with ourselves and with others.

While the situation with the vase is a relatively minor trauma, the point is to see how a brief incident can plant seeds of doubt, confusion, and misunderstanding, which can then grow into larger agreements that affect our entire lives until we investigate and uproot them.

The child in this scenario may not even remember the incident when she grows up, but you can see the impact it could have on her thinking—especially if things like this occur on a regular basis. On an unconscious level, she will literally create a reality that will grow from this handful of childhood agreements. These beliefs will become a shaky floor for all her future actions.

Take a moment to reflect on your own experiences:

Where have you erected jail-like walls based on past stories?

What are the stories you tell yourself that make you feel helpless or victimized instead of powerful and confident?

In what ways do they limit how you perceive your life story, your talents, and your possibilities for the future?

For many of us, there are more than a few of these in a vari­ety of areas. Sometimes we have told ourselves these stories for so long that we no longer recognize them as stories. We mistake them for “the way things are.” Unearthing these beliefs can take time and energy, but we must reveal and expunge them if we are going to be free.

The good news is that you do not need to know the origin of these beliefs to correct and replace them; all you need to do is (1) be honest with yourself about the current state of your internal house; and (2) be willing to do the work to remodel it from the ground up.

We are incredible creators, but what we often create is based on a foundation of false thoughts from which we then build an entire, limiting structure of agreements. As don Miguel writes in The Four Agreements Companion Book, “Imagine every agreement is like a brick. Humans create an entire structure out of bricks, and we glue it together with our faith. We believe without doubt in all the knowledge within the structure. Our faith gets trapped inside that structure because we put our faith in each agreement. It’s not important if it is or isn’t true; we believe it, and for us it is true.”

Your Current Reality

How have you created your current reality based on old stories or agreements you made with yourself, about what you were told as a child? And why are these false stories so allur­ing that you could forget the warmth of your Big Soul? Let’s take a look.

As children, each of us took on beliefs or agreements that moved us further away from our Big Soul. Many of these agree­ments, which are designed to give us a sense of safety when we feel lost and confused, were passed on energetically from our parents and other caretakers. Some we mimicked from what we saw around us, and others we made up all on our own, like believing Mom loves my sister more in the scenario illustrated above.

However, the stories we created as a child were highly influenced not only by the agreements of the people around us but also by what the Toltecs call the dream of the planet—humanity’s collective perspective. As don Miguel and his son don Jose de­scribe in The Fifth Agreement: “The shared dream of humanity, the dream of the planet, was there before you were born, and this is how you learned to create your own art, the story of you.”

You can easily see the invisible but pervasive influence of the dream of the planet by turning on the nightly news, reading the headlines of major newspapers, watching soap operas, or looking at advertisements. Most media report fear and scarcity; advertising is geared to how perfect you would be if you used their product, not how perfect you are now. . . .

The information on how to think and how to act and how to be is not created by the media—it is merely a reflection of the agreements we’ve made. The content of our media shows us that most of us are experiencing reality through the eyes of conflict, fear, scarcity, and a sense of not being good enough. These limiting qualities are what hook our attention because they feel familiar to us, and in that familiarity, we find a (false) sense of safety.

Since almost every one—from our parents to our teachers to our friends—is immersed in this way of perceiving the world, it seems natural for us to believe that we are not lovable or that we have to be a certain way to be accepted. But this is not our natu­ral state, and that’s why it feels so uncomfortable to us! That’s why we are always looking for comort and for something to complete us. That’s why we are seeking the path home.

©2020 by HeatherAsh Amara. All Rights Reserved.
Excerpted with permission from: The Warrior Heart Practice.
Publisher: St Martin's Essential, www.stmartins.com.

Article Source

Warrior Heart Practice
by HeatherAsh Amara

Warrior Heart Practice by Heatherash AmaraA revolutionary process based on the four chambers of the heart and rooted in Toltec wisdom that brings emotional clarity, healing, and freedom. The Warrior Heart Practice is a powerful new method to reconnect with our sense of authenticity and inner-knowing and realign with our true nature. Author of the bestselling book Warrior Goddess Training, HeatherAsh Amara has trained extensively in the Toltec tradition under the tutelage of don Miguel Ruiz, author of The Four Agreements. (Also available as a Kindle edition, an Audiobook, and an Audio CD.)

For more info and/or to order this book, click here.

More Books by this Author

About the Author

Heatherash AmaraHeatherAsh Amara is the author of a number of books including the 'Warrior Goddess Training' series. She brings an openhearted, inclusive worldview to her writings and teachings, which are a rich blend of Toltec wisdom, European shamanism, Buddhism, and Native American ceremony. She travels and teaches throughout the United States as well as internationally. Visit her website to learn more at HeatherashAmara.com

Video/Presentation with HeatherAsh Amara: Fear, procrastination, and more

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)
Letting Randy Funnel My Furiousness
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(Updated 4-26) I have not been able to right-write a thing I am willing to publish this last month, You see I am furious. I just want to lash out.
Pluto Service Announcement
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(updated 4/15/2020) Now that everybody has the time to be creative, there's no telling what you will find to entertain your inner self.