التصوف والسياسة: وفاء من خلال التأمل ، والعمل ، والخدمة

التصوف والسياسة: وفاء من خلال التأمل ، والعمل ، والخدمة
الصورة عن طريق ستيوارت هامبتون

كثيرا ما نسمع أن جميع المسارات الدينية والصوفية تؤدي إلى نفس الهدف - الله. هذا صحيح بلا شك إذا أخذنا نظرة تطورية بعيدة المدى للوجود ، إذا فكرنا في مئات من المرات بدلاً من واحدة. ولكن إذا نزلنا من اعتبارات نهائية إلى اعتبارات فورية ، فسوف نجد أن هناك اختلافات مهمة بين تحصيل المسارات المختلفة.

التصوف بلد غريب. الناسك الغامضون الذين ينسحبون من زملائهم جسديًا قد ينسحبون من زملائهم شعورهم في الوقت المناسب أيضًا. عندما يستقرّون للاستمتاع بالسلام الداخلي الذي ستحققه النسيان العالمي ، هناك خطر من الانطواء التام على التعاطف ، والتركيز الشديد على الذات في العلاقات الاجتماعية ، واللامبالاة الباردة بمصير البشرية. نحن نرى ذلك في الأشخاص من الزاهدين واليوغيين على وجه الخصوص ، الذين - نظرًا لأنهم محاطون بهدوء شديد في سلامهم الداخلي - يُنظر إليهم على أنهم حكماء مثاليون من قِبل شعب جاهل ويتم تكريمهم وفقًا لذلك.

يجب ألا نفشل في الإشارة إلى أن ملايين البشر الذين يعانون من المخلوقات البشرية سوف يشاركون في هذا الوجود المفترض. إن مثل هذا اللامبالاة الميتافيزيقية المزعجة والقليلة تجاه العالم يؤدي حتما إلى عدم مبالاة تجاه البشرية جمعاء. رفاهها ليس همهم. وبالتالي ، من وجهة نظر اجتماعية يصبحون عاجزين. لإظهار ، في مواجهة معاناة العالم ، فإن القسوة العاطفية واللامبالاة الفكرية هي عظمة روحية ليس لدي رغبة في تحقيقها. على العكس من ذلك ، أود أن أعتبرها صغارة روحية.

أردت أن أعرف لماذا يلعب الصوفيون دورًا مهمًا في الحياة الجماعية للبشرية ، إذا كانت نظرياتهم صحيحة وتوجد سلطاتهم ، فيجب أن يلعبوا دورًا بارزًا. لأنني اعتقدت آنذاك ، وحتى أكثر من ذلك الآن ، أن القيمة النهائية لوجهة نظر للحياة تغرس الوحدة الخفية للعائلة البشرية هي قدرتها على إيجاد التعبير في الحياة البشرية للبشرية. أعتقد أن أولئك الذين يمتلكون مثل هذه النظرة يجب أن يحاولوا جعلها فعالة ، أولاً في وجودهم اليومي ، والثاني في وجود المجتمع ، وألا يكتفوا بالحلم أو الحديث عنها.

أعتقد أن هناك واجب عليهم في محاولة لصياغة الذهن العام ، مهما كان طفيفًا ؛ محاولة توجيه حركات الرفاه العام المعاصرة وإلهامها ؛ في محاولة للتأثير أو تقديم المشورة للقادة والمثقفين. لا ينبغي عليهم أن يجدوا عذرًا لفشلهم في فعل ذلك في الضيق العام بسبب التصوف ، لأنهم لا يُطلب منهم التغلب على الموضوع نفسه ، ولكن فقط ثماره في خدمة مفيدة وإرشادات حكيمة.

ولا ينبغي عليهم أن يرفضوا المهمة كما كان متوقعًا للفشل في مواجهة الكرمة العامة الشريرة. من واجبهم أن يحاولوا ، دون قلق ، أن يتركوا كل النتائج إلى المغتربين. باختصار ، إذا كانت ادعاءاتهم المتعلقة بالمعرفة الباطنية والقوى غير العادية تستحق أي شيء على الإطلاق ويمكن إظهارها بالنتائج ، فيجب عليهم محاولة ترك بصماتهم على التاريخ بطريقة لا لبس فيها.

التصوف والسياسة

هناك اعتقاد شائع بأن كتاب الفكر الأعلى يجب أن يتجنبوا السياسة ، لكنه اعتقاد شائع فقط بين الذهن المائل أو العقلي المذهل ، وليس بين المدربين فلسفياً. النوع الوحيد من التصوف الذي أتبعه هو النوع الفلسفي. الآن ، من بين أشياء أخرى كثيرة ، جزء من عمل الفلسفة لدراسة المبادئ السياسية والمشاكل الأخلاقية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ومع ذلك ، فإن أولئك الذين اعتادوا على التحرك في مدار ثابت من التصوف الزاهد ، مع ابتعادها عن السياسة كتعبير عن بمعزل عن كل الأشياء الدنيوية ، قد يفاجأ أو حتى بالصدمة من الاعتقاد بأن الصوفي المعلن يجب أن يطرح مثل هذه الأفكار يمكن العثور عليها في الصفحات القليلة المقبلة. قد يسيء الكثير منهم الحكم عليهم ويعتقدون أنني أقفز في غمار السياسة أو أبث التحيزات القومية.

هؤلاء الأصدقاء ، الذين يعرفونني حقًا ، لن يرتكبوا هذا الخطأ. أستطيع أن أقول بأمانة مع توماس باين ، "العالم هو بلدي!" لقد وجدت أصدقاء مخلصين ومحبين وأعداء ضارين في كل قارة ، بين الآسيويين وبين الغربيين ، وبين الرأسماليين على الأقل من الشيوعيين ، وقد جئت إلى يجب مراعاة جميع الشعوب ذات العين المتساوية والعالمية بشكل أو بآخر ، مع العلم أنها دائمًا ما تكون الفرد حرف ذلك يعد، ذلك يحسب. إذا كان أي شخص يتحدث عن الله ولكن يكره الآخر لمجرد وجود اختلاف عرقي أو لوني ، فتأكد من أنه لا يزال يعيش في الظلام.

إذا كنت أغامر الآن في ما يبدو وكأنه سياسة لبضع دقائق ، فذلك لأنني لا أفعل ذلك ولا أستطيع أن أفصل أي شيء - ولا حتى السياسة - عن الحياة وبالتالي عن الحقيقة والواقع. ليس لدي أي فائدة من الخير الذي يهدر نفسه مثل زهرة وحيدة في الهواء الصحراوي ، ولا يتراجع عن الرهبانية التي تعجبني ذاتيًا ، حيث أنني لا أستخدم عقيدتي أو عقيدة تقتصر على الأرفف غير النشطة للمكتبات أو القيل والقال fitful من طاولات الشاي.

الاستيقاظ وكسر سحر المتفرج

هؤلاء المعاصرون - وهم قليلون بالفعل - الذين فروا من اضطراب الحياة ووجدوا الرضا والسلام في الأشرم الهندي المنعزل أو ما يعادلها في الغرب ، لا يمثلون الجنس البشري الحديث ولكنهم يمثلون ارتدادًا إلى حد ما لأوقات بدائية أكثر وتوقعات أكثر عفا عليها الزمن ، الأشخاص طاردوا تمامًا من خلال تعقيد وضغوط الحياة الحالية. لسوء الحظ ، فإنهم يتجاهلون حقيقة أن فهم هذا التعقيد على وجه التحديد وإتقان مثل هذا الكفاح هو ما دفعهم به الله الذي يصرّون على طاعته إلى أجسام غربية حديثة.

هل يعتقدون بجدية أنهم يولدون من جديد على الأرض فقط لتمرير نفس التجربة ونفس البيئة في كل مرة؟ لا! الحياة جديدة بشكل دائم ويعودون لتعلم دروس جديدة من تجارب جديدة في محيط جديد. إن الانكماش من الحاضر الصعب والعودة إلى الماضي الأسهل ، والتهرب من مشاكل الحداثة باللجوء إلى العصور القديمة ، وعدم الحصول على مصدر إلهام من مواردها الخاصة والعودة إلى موارد الناس في العصور الوسطى ، هو أن تصبح من الانهزاميين.

كانت الحرب فرصتهم للاستيقاظ ، لتسريع عملية تفكيرهم. إذا لم تفتح أعين هؤلاء Rip Van Winkles الغامضين ، فإن رعبها الوحشي وإرهابها الناري كان بلا جدوى. إذا لم تنهض الحرب سحرها غير الصحي ، فمن المؤكد أن فترة ما بعد الحرب لا تستطيع أن تفعل ذلك. قد يحافظ الصوفيون الذين ظلوا مجرد متفرجين في الصراع العالمي على سلامهم الداخلي بلا إزعاج. ولكن ليست هناك حاجة لممارسة اليوغا للحصول على هذا النوع من السلام السلبي. كل ساكن في مقبرة لديه.

أنا أكتب فقط للآخرين وهم الأغلبية - الذين أثاروا غضبهم بشكلٍ كافٍ من الوقوع في هروبٍ يهرب من مشاكل المعيشة ولا يحلها ، والذين لا يرغبون في العودة إلى الأذى الروحي في عالم تقدمي ، والذين أثارتها معاناة البشرية في زمن الحرب للبحث عن طريق وعرة إلى الحقيقة لا تقل عن الطريق الأكثر سلاسة نحو السلام ، والذين أدركوا أن السؤال المرضي الوحيد هو الذي يجمع بين السعي وراء الحقيقة والسلام مع الخدمة غير الأنانية الإنسانية. [يشير PB إلى الحرب العالمية الثانية ، لكن إشاراته إلى الحرب والأزمات العالمية تنطبق أيضًا على الوضع العالمي الحالي.]

من النظرية إلى الممارسة: النمو في العمل غير المهتم

الفكر ، مهما تعالى ، والشعور ، مهما تم تنقيته ، ليسا في حد ذاته كافيين لتحقيق الكمال في تحقيق الذات. إنها البذور التي يجب أن تنمو حتى تزهر في زهرة العمل غير المهتم. لذلك ، فلسفة الحقيقة لا تعرف الفرق بين النظرية والتطبيق ، فكل منهما حقًا واحد.

للطالب كل الحق في أن يسأل عن الغرض العملي ، وما الفائدة الإنسانية ، وما هي النتيجة الملموسة التي يجب البحث عنها من هذه الدراسات. لا يمكن استنباط اختبار أفضل للتدريس من ذلك الاختبار البسيط الذي استخدمه يسوع لسماعه: "من خلال ثمارهم ، تعرفونهم". إنه اليوم سليم وفعال كما كان في زمانه.

يتم طرح هذه النقاط نفسها بارتياح كبير بسبب الحربين العالميتين وما تلاهما. كيف يمكننا أن نبقى غير مبالين أو حتى غير مهتمين ، معزولين في سلامنا ، في مواجهة عالم يعاني كما لم يعان من قبل ، إذا شعرنا حقًا بوحدتنا الصوفية مع الآخرين؟ الجواب ، الذي يُعطى بقبول ومقبول بسذاجة ، هو أن الصوفيين يعرفون أفضل ما يجب عليهم فعله ، وأنه يكفيهم أن يعملوا على طائرات "روحية" غامضة من الوجود ، وأنه من المقدّس بالنسبة لنا أن ننتقدهم.

لكن إجابتي هي أن الأحلام تصبح فعلية عندما تترك الرأس وتصل إلى اليد وبكلمات بوذا: "إن الفكر الجميل أو الكلمة التي لا يتبعها إجراء مماثل ، مثل زهرة ذات ألوان زاهية لا تتحمل أي فاكهة."

وفاء من خلال التأمل ، والعمل ، والخدمة

قد يقف الزاهد الصوفي جانباً دون مبالاة ، لكن الطالب الفلسفي لا يستطيع أن يفعل ذلك ولا يستخدم البحث كاعتذار عن القصور الذاتي عند مواجهة المسؤوليات الاجتماعية. لا يمكن للفلسفة تحقيق نفسها في الفرد وحده. يجب أن تعمل من خلال المجتمع أيضا. التفاعل بين الاثنين ، في طاعة قوانين الحياة العليا ، يوفر المجال للتعبير الكامل. هذا هو الفرق الأساسي بين التدريس القديم والحديث. الأول عادة ما يفصل بين التأمل والحياة النشطة ، في حين أن الثاني يوحدهم دائمًا.

كان على المسيحيين والهندوس والبوذيين عادة الانسحاب من حظيرة المجتمع لمتابعة الحياة الداخلية حتى نهايتها المنطقية ، في حين يلقي الصوفيون الفلسفيون اليوم أنفسهم بحماس في الساحة العالمية لخدمة الآخرين. يرى الجميع الصراع التاريخي بين القوى الخبيثة والقادرة في الحياة ، وبين ما يمكن أن يثير الكراهية ويحفز الأنانية بين الناس وما يمكن أن يثير التعاطف ويحفز نكران الذات ، لكن الحكيم وحده هو الذي يرى هذا النضال والوحدة المخفية تحته.

لا ينبغي أن يتردد تلاميذ الفلسفة في أن يصبحوا قوة في العالم ، مستفيدين من تلك القوة ليس فقط لمصلحتهم الشخصية ولكن على قدم المساواة وحتى أكثر لصالح الإنسانية. مهمتهم الاجتماعية هي ضبط الرفاهية الشخصية مع الرفاهية المشتركة وعدم تجاهلها على حساب الآخر.

إن القيام بشيء يستحق العناء في الحياة لأنفسهم هو ثمرة الطموح ، لكن القيام بشيء يستحق العناء للبشرية هو ثمرة الطموح. إنها طبيعة التظاهر لتكون نشطة دائمًا ؛ وبالتالي لا يمكننا الهروب من المشاركة في عمل من نوع ما. ولكن ما يمكننا وما يجب أن نهرب منه هو أن نعلق على أفعالنا.

© 1984 / 1985 ، 2019 لمؤسسة بول برونتون الفلسفية.
نسخة 2nd المنقحة والموسعة ، التي نشرتها:
التقاليد الداخلية الدولية. www.innertraditions.com.

المادة المصدر

تعليمات للحياة الروحية
بول برونتون

تعليمات للحياة الروحية التي كتبها بول برونتونبغض النظر عن مكان وجودنا في تطورنا الروحي ، لدينا جميعًا أسئلة حول ممارستنا وما الذي نواجهه - كل من التحديات والفرص. كيف يمكنني التغلب على كفاحي للتأمل بشكل أعمق؟ هل هناك حاجة لمعلم ، أو هل يمكنني الاعتماد على نفسي؟ هل يمكنني الوثوق بحدسي؟ هل من الممكن سماع "الكلمة الداخلية" ، صوت الروح ، وكيف يمكنني التأكد من أن هذا ما أسمعه؟ هل الذات العليا في القلب؟ يقدم المعلم الروحي الشهير Paul Brunton ، تقديم إجابات جديرة بالثقة لهذه الأسئلة والعديد من الأسئلة الأخرى ، تعليمات لتوجيه تطور الفرد في ثلاثة مجالات أساسية من المسار الروحي: التأمل ، والفحص الذاتي ، وتكشف الصحوة. (متوفر أيضًا على شكل كتاب صوتي وبتنسيق Kindle)

انقر لطلب على الأمازون




المزيد من الكتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف

عن المؤلف

بول برونتون (1898-1981)يحظى بول برونتون (1898-1981) بتقدير واسع النطاق لدمجه الخلاق في التعاليم الروحية وأنظمة التأمل في العالم في نهج عملي واضح ومناسب للحياة المعاصرة. وهو مؤلف لأكثر من كتب 10 ، بما في ذلك الأكثر مبيعًا بحث في الهند السريةالتي أدخلت رامانا مهارشي إلى الغرب. لمزيد من المعلومات ، يرجى زيارة https://www.paulbrunton.org/

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Mysticism and Politics: Fulfillment Through Contemplation, Action, and Service

Mysticism and Politics: Fulfillment Through Contemplation, Action, and Service
Image by stuart hampton

We often hear that all religious and mystical paths lead to the same goal—God. This is doubtless true if we take a long-range evolutionary view of existence, if we think in terms of hundreds of lifetimes rather than a single one. But if we descend from ultimate to immediate considerations, we shall find that there are important differences among the attainments of the different paths.

Mysticism is a strange country. Mystical hermits who withdraw from their fellows physically may in time withdraw their fellow-feeling from them, too. When they settle down to enjoy the inward peace that world-shunning will admittedly yield, there arises the danger of a complete introversion of the sympathies, a callous self-centeredness in social relations and a cold indifference to the fate of humankind. We see it in the persons of ascetics and yogis especially, who—because they are so sublimely wrapped up in their own inner peace—are regarded as perfect sages by an ignorant populace and are honored accordingly.

We must not fail to note the implication that the millions of suffering human creatures would then share in this supposed non-existence. Such a crankily ascetic and confusedly metaphysical indifference to the world leads inevitably to an indifference toward all humankind. Its welfare is not their concern. Thus, from a social standpoint they become impotent. To show, in the face of world agony, an emotional callousness and an intellectual apathy is a spiritual greatness that I have no desire to attain. On the contrary, I would regard it as spiritual littleness.

I wanted to know why mystics play such an insignificant part in the collective life of humankind when, if their theories are true and their powers exist, they ought to be playing a leading part. For I believed then, and even more so now, that the ultimate worth of an outlook on life that inculcates the hidden unity of the human family is its power to find expression in the earthly life of humankind. I believe that those who possess such an outlook should endeavor to render it effectual, first in their own everyday existence, and second in that of society, and not be content only with dreaming or talking about it.

I believe that there is laid upon them the duty to try to mold, however slightly, the public mind; to try to guide the contemporary public welfare movements and to inspire; to try to influence or counsel the leaders and intelligentsia. They should not find an excuse for their failure to do so in the public distaste for mysticism, for they are not asked to obtrude the subject itself, but only its fruits in useful service and wise guidance.

Nor ought they to refuse the task as foredoomed to failure in the face of evil public karma. It is their duty to try, unconcernedly, leaving all results to the Overself. In short, if their claims to esoteric knowledge and extraordinary powers are worth anything at all and can be demonstrated by results, they ought to try to leave their mark on history in a most unmistakable manner.

Mysticism and Politics

There is a common belief that writers on a higher thought should avoid politics, but it is a belief common only among the mystically inclined or monastically minded, not among the philosophically trained. The only kind of mysticism I follow is the philosophical kind. Now it is, among several other things, part of the business of philosophy to examine political principles and ethical problems.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Nevertheless, those accustomed to move in the fixed orbit of ascetic mysticism, with its aloofness from politics as an expression of its aloofness from all earthly things, may be surprised or even shocked at the thought that a professed mystic should put forth such ideas as will be found in the next few pages. Many may consequently misjudge them and think that I am stooping into the dust of politics or airing nationalistic prejudices.

Those friends, however, who really know me will not make this error. I can honestly say with Thomas Paine, “The world is my country!” I have found loyal, loving friends and bitter malicious enemies in every continent, among the Asians as among the Westerners, among capitalists no less than communists, and have come to regard all peoples with a more or less equal and cosmopolitan eye, knowing that it is always and ever the individual character that counts. If anyone speaks of God but dislikes another merely because of racial or color difference, be sure he or she is still living in darkness.

If I venture now into what seems like politics for a few minutes, it is only because I do not and cannot divorce anything—not even politics—from life and hence from truth and reality. I have no use for a goodness that wastes itself like a lonely flower in the desert air, nor for self-admiring monastic retreats, as I have no use for a faith or doctrine that is to be confined to the inactive shelves of libraries or the fitful gossip of tea tables.

Waking Up and Breaking the Bewitchment of Spectatorship

Those contemporaries—and they are few indeed—who fled from the turmoil of life and have found satisfaction and peace in secluded Indian ashrams or their Western equivalents, do not represent modern humankind but are rather atavistic throwbacks to more primitive times and more obsolete outlooks, persons quite understandably repelled by the complexity and strain of present-day life. Unfortunately, they overlook the fact that it is precisely to understand such complexity and to master such struggle that the God they profess to obey has thrown them into modern Western bodies.

Do they seriously believe that they are reborn on earth only to pass through the same experience and the same environment each time? No! Life is perennially fresh and they return to learn new lessons from new experiences in new surroundings. To shrink from the difficult present and retreat to the easier past, to evade the problems of modernity by taking refuge in antiquity, to gain no inspiration from their own resources and to lapse back into those of medieval people, is to become defeatists.

The war was their chance to wake up, to quicken their process of thought. If it did not open the eyes of these mystical Rip Van Winkles, then its bestial horror and fiery terror was for them in vain. If the war did not break their unhealthy bewitchment, then the postwar period certainly cannot do so. Mystics who remained mere spectators of the world conflict may have kept their inner peace undisturbed. But there is no need to practice yoga to obtain this kind of negative peace. Every inhabitant of a graveyard has it.

I write only for the others and they are the majority—who are sufficiently aroused not to fall into an escapism that merely evades the problems of living and does not solve them, who do not wish to revert to spiritual atavism in a progressive world, who have been stirred by humankind’s wartime agonies to seek the rugged road to truth no less than the smoother path to peace, and who have come to understand that the only satisfactory question is the one that combines the pursuit of both truth and peace with the unselfish service of humanity. [PB is referring to World War II, but his references to war and world crises also apply to the current world situation.]

From Theory to Practice: Growing Into Disinterested Action

Thought, however exalted, and feeling, however purified, are not of themselves enough to perfect us in the realization of the Overself. They are the seeds that must grow until they blossom into the flower of disinterested action. Therefore, the philosophy of truth knows no difference between theory and practice, for to it both are really one.

The student has every right to ask what practical purpose, what human benefit, what tangible result is to be looked for from these studies. No better test of a teaching can be devised than that simple one that Jesus bade his hearers apply: “By their fruits shall ye know them.” It is as sound and effective today as it was in his own time.

These same points are thrown into high relief by the two world wars and their aftermath. How can we remain indifferent or even indolent, isolated in our own peace, in the face of a world suffering as it never suffered before, if we really feel our mystical oneness with others? The answer, glibly given and gullibly accepted, is that the mystics know best what they ought to do, that it suffices for them to work on mysterious “spiritual” planes of being, and that it is sacrilege for us to criticize them.

But my answer is that the dreams become actual when they leave the head and reach the hand and that in Buddha’s words: “A beautiful thought or word that is not followed by a corresponding action, is like a bright-hued flower that will bear no fruit.”

Fulfillment Through Contemplation, Action, and Service

The mystical ascetic may stand indifferently aside, but the philosophic student cannot do so nor use the quest as an apology for inertia when faced with social responsibilities. Philosophy cannot fulfill itself in the individual alone. It must work through society also. The interaction of both, in obedience to the higher laws of life, provides the field for its complete expression. This is a fundamental difference between the ancient and the modern teaching. The first usually separated the contemplative from the active life, whereas the second always unites them.

The Christian, the Hindu, the Buddhist mystics usually had to withdraw from society’s fold to pursue the inner life to its logical end, whereas philosophic mystics of today throw themselves ardently into the world arena to serve others. Everybody sees the historic struggle between the malefic and benefic forces in life, between what would arouse antipathy and stimulate selfishness among people and what would arouse sympathy and stimulate selflessness, but only the sage sees both this struggle and the concealed oneness beneath it.

The disciples of philosophy should not hesitate to become a power in the world, utilizing that power not only for their personal benefit but equally and even more for humanity’s benefit. Their social task is to adjust personal welfare to the common welfare and not to ignore either at the expense of the other.

To do something worthwhile in life for themselves is the fruit of ambition, but to do something worthwhile for humanity also is the fruit of aspiration. It is the nature of manifestation to be ever-active; hence we cannot escape being involved in action of some kind. But what we can and should escape is being attached to our actions.

©1984/1985, 2019 by Paul Brunton Philosophic Foundation.
Revised and expanded 2nd edition, published by:
Inner Traditions International. www.innertraditions.com.

Article Source

Instructions for Spiritual Living
by Paul Brunton

Instructions for Spiritual Living by Paul BruntonNo matter where we are in our spiritual development, we all have questions about our practice and what we are experiencing - both the challenges and opportunities. How can I overcome my struggles to meditate more deeply? Is there a need for a guru, or can I rely on myself? Can I trust my intuition? Is it possible to hear the "Inner Word", the voice of the soul, and how can I be sure that's what I'm hearing? Is the Higher Self in the heart?  Offering trustworthy answers to these and many more questions, renowned spiritual teacher Paul Brunton provides instructions to guide one's development in three fundamental areas of the spiritual path: meditation, self-examination, and the unfolding of awakening. (Also available as an Audiobook and in Kindle format)

click to order on amazon

 

 


More books by this Author

About the Author

Paul Brunton (1898-1981)Paul Brunton (1898-1981) is widely esteemed for creatively integrating the world’s spiritual teachings and meditation systems into a clear, practical approach best-suited for contemporary life. He is the author of more than 10 books, including the bestselling A Search in Secret India, which introduced Ramana Maharshi to the West. For more info, visit https://www.paulbrunton.org/

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…