Weisheit hat keine Altersbeschränkung - kein Startdatum, keine Ziellinie

Weisheit hat keine Altersbeschränkung
Bild von Lorri Lang

Vielleicht haben Sie, wie viele, geglaubt, dass Weisheit mit dem Alter einhergeht. Je älter du wirst, desto weiser wirst du. Und während dies im Allgemeinen wahr sein kann, sind in letzter Zeit so viele weise junge Stimmen in den Vordergrund getreten, dass die Einzigartigkeit dieses Glaubens in Frage gestellt wird.

Der erste "weise junge Mensch", der mir in den Sinn kommt, ist heute weltweit berühmt. Die schwedische Staatsbürgerin Greta Thunberg inspiriert andere, sich gegen den Klimawandel zu stellen, sowohl durch ihr Handeln als auch durch ihre Weisheit, die über das hinausgeht, was normalerweise von jemandem in ihrem Alter erwartet wird. Und vielleicht ist das eines unserer Probleme ... unsere Erwartung, dass Kinder eine leere Tafel sind und dass wir viel mehr wissen als sie, weil wir älter sind.

Während es wahr sein mag, dass wir mehr Wissen haben, müssen wir nicht notwendigerweise mehr Weisheit haben, da Wissen erworben wurde. Schauen Sie sich nur die Welt um uns herum an ... Umweltverschmutzung, Opioid-Epidemien, globale Erwärmung, Missbrauch von Personen, Ländern und der Umwelt ... Ich denke, die Ergebnisse von "Handlungen von Erwachsenen" sprechen nicht von Weisheit, sondern von etwas anderem ... Vielleicht Gier oder Apathie oder einfach nur der Versuch, in einem Rattenfresser-Rennen zu überleben. (Ich lehne den allgemeinen Ausdruck "Hund-fress-Hund" ab, weil ich keine Hunde kenne, die sich gegenseitig fressen ... Wohlgemerkt, ich kenne auch keine Ratten, die sich gegenseitig fressen, aber ich liebe Hunde wirklich und weigere mich maligne sie.)

Es mag sein, dass in früheren Generationen und Stammeskulturen die Ältesten in der Tat klüger waren, weil Wissen durch Erfahrung gewonnen wurde. Aber heutzutage wird Wissen in erster Linie aus dem gewonnen, was andere uns erzählen ... entweder in der Schule, in Büchern oder in den Medien. Unser Wissen wird nicht durch Erfahrung erworben, sondern durch Hörensagen. Wenn Sie es in einem Buch lesen oder in den Medien sehen, leben Sie die Erfahrung nicht, sondern hören nur von jemand anderem . Unser Wissen kommt also im Allgemeinen nicht mit der Weisheit, die Erfahrung erzeugt.

Und so können die Kinder und Jugendlichen von heute den Erwachsenen gleichgestellt sein, da sie Zugang zu mehr Wissen haben als jemals zuvor, und das können sie, indem sie einfach ihr Smartphone fragen. Macht das sie notwendigerweise weiser? Nein, aber es öffnet vielleicht die Tür zu mehr Einsichten und dem "Zusammenfügen von Zwei und Zwei", wenn all das Wissen zu ihrem Bewusstsein gelangt.

Ich habe vorhin Greta Thunberg erwähnt ... sie ist erst 16 Jahre alt. Greta war in dem Jahrhundert, mit dem die meisten von uns am vertrautesten sind, nicht einmal am Leben. (Siehe unten ihr Interview mit Trevor Noah von The Daily Show.)


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Eine andere "jüngere Person", die ich mit ihrer Weisheit und ihrem Eifer beeindruckt finde, ist Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (auch bekannt als AOC). Sie haben vielleicht ihren Namen in Verbindung mit gehört Der grüne New Deal, ein Gesetzesentwurf der Vereinigten Staaten, der den Klimawandel und die wirtschaftliche Ungleichheit angehen soll. Oder Sie haben vielleicht ihren Namen als Teil von "The Squad" gehört - vier fortschrittliche demokratische nichtkaukasische Kongressfrauen, die in 2018 in das Repräsentantenhaus gewählt wurden und Teil des vielfältigsten Kongresses in der Geschichte der USA wurden. (Siehe das Video unten von einer leidenschaftlichen Rede, die Alexandria hielt im Oktober 2019 auf dem C40 World Mayors Summit in Kopenhagen.)

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez ist ein weiteres Beispiel für Weisheit in der Jugend ... obwohl sie ungefähr zweimal so alt ist wie Greta (Alexandria wurde im Oktober 30 2019). AOC ist beeindruckend in ihrer klaren Vision, ihrer leidenschaftlichen Stimme und ihrer Haltung "Wir können es schaffen". Dies sind zwei der heutigen Jugend, die für mich die Weisheit jüngerer Generationen veranschaulichen.

Eine weitere in 1997 geborene Stimme, Malala Yousafzai, ist die jüngste Person im Alter von 17, die den Friedensnobelpreis erhalten hat. (Video unten von ihrer Rede zum Friedensnobelpreis.) Im zarten Alter von 10 war sie bereits Aktivistin für das Recht einer Frau auf Bildung. Dies führte dazu, dass sie von den Taliban in 2012 als Vergeltung in den Kopf geschossen wurde. Die 2013-, 2014- und 2015-Ausgaben von Zeit Das Magazin zeigte sie als eine der einflussreichsten Personen weltweit. Und das alles, bevor sie überhaupt 20 wurde.

Diese drei Beispiele veranschaulichen die Weisheit in Aktion. Sie tragen nicht nur Weisheit in sich, sondern greifen auch nach ihr, teilen sie und inspirieren andere um sie herum zum Handeln.

Es gibt so viele Kinder, die Weisheit nur als gesunden Menschenverstand ausdrücken ... was es in der Tat ist. Vielleicht lässt die Tatsache, dass jüngere Menschen nicht viele Jahrzehnte an Programmierkenntnissen zu überwinden haben, oder vielleicht, weil sie den "Vorteil" haben, das Ergebnis unseres Handelns und die Konsequenzen aus erster Hand zu erleben, ihre innere Weisheit an die Oberfläche kommen noch einfacher. Sie sind vielleicht nicht besorgt darüber, was "andere" denken, da sie keinen Arbeitgeber haben, der sie besänftigen könnte, Nachbarn, mit denen sie gut umgehen können, und religiöse Führer, die sie befolgen müssen.

Was auch immer der Grund für ihre Weisheit ist, sie wird in dieser Zeit benötigt und am meisten begrüßt, da wir definitiv alle Weisheit brauchen, die wir bekommen können, um uns aus dem Sumpf des modernen Lebens mit seinen emotionalen, physischen und ökologischen Belastungen und Herausforderungen herauszubewegen. Ich bin so dankbar für ihr Erscheinen und ihre Teilnahme auf der Weltbühne.

Wir können ihre Beispiele auch als Inspiration verwenden, um die Glut unserer eigenen Weisheit und unserer eigenen Leidenschaft zu wecken, damit wir einen Beitrag zur Schaffung einer besseren Welt leisten können - nicht nur für uns selbst, sondern auch für die Kinder von heute und der Zukunft.

Verwandte Buch:

Das Geschenk der Veränderung: Spirituelle Anleitung für Ihr bestes Leben
von Marianne Williamson.

Das Geschenk der Veränderung: Spirituelle Anleitung für Ihr bestes Leben von Marianne Williamson.Wir leben mit einem beständigen Gefühl der kollektiven Angst. Marianne Williamson zeigt, wie wir in unserem gegenwärtigen Zustand der Angst und Wut gelähmt sind, weil wir uns nicht mit den wahren Ursachen unserer Ängste und Befürchtungen auseinandersetzen müssen. Sie bietet Hoffnung und Heilung, während sie zehn grundlegende Veränderungen beleuchtet, die jeder von uns vornehmen kann, wenn wir lernen, die Welt mit den Augen der Liebe zu betrachten, anstatt mit Angst.

Info / Bestellen Sie dieses Buch. Auch als Kindle Edition und als Hörbuch erhältlich.

Weitere verwandte Bücher

Über den Autor

Marie T. Russell ist der Gründer der Innerself Magazin (Gegründet 1985). Sie hat auch produziert und moderiert eine wöchentliche Radiosendung South Florida, innere Kraft, aus 1992-1995, die zu Themen wie Selbstwertgefühl, persönliches Wachstum und Wohlbefinden ausgerichtet. Ihre Artikel über Transformation und die Verbindung zu unserer eigenen inneren Quelle der Freude und Kreativität zu konzentrieren.

Creative Commons 3.0: Dieser Artikel unterliegt einer Creative Commons Namensnennung-Weitergabe unter gleichen Bedingungen als 3.0-Lizenz. Beschreibe den Autor: Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com. Link zurück zum Artikel: Dieser Artikel erschien ursprünglich auf InnerSelf.com

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Wisdom Has No Age Restriction -- No Start Date, No Finish Line

Wisdom Has No Age Restriction
Image by Lorri Lang

Perhaps you've believed, as many do, that wisdom comes with age. That the older you get, the wiser you get. And while that can generally be true, recently so many wise young voices have come to the forefront, that the uniqueness of this belief is being challenged.

The first "wise young person" that comes to mind is now famous world-wide. Swedish citizen Greta Thunberg is inspiring others to take a stand against climate change, both through her actions and her wisdom beyond what is usually expected of someone her age. And perhaps that is one of our problems... our expectation that children are a blank slate, and that we know much more than they do because we are older.

While it might be true that we may have more knowledge, since knowledge is acquired, we may not necessarily have more wisdom. Just look at the world around us... pollution, opioid epidemics, global warming, abuse of individuals, countries, and the environment... I think the results of "adult actions" speak not of wisdom but of something else... perhaps greed, or apathy, or just plain trying to survive in a rat-eat-rat race. (I refuse to use the common expression "dog-eat-dog" because I know of no dogs that eat each other... Mind you, I know of no rats that eat each other either, but I really love dogs and refuse to malign them.)

It may be that in previous generations and tribal cultures, the elders were indeed wiser because knowledge was gained through experience. But these days, knowledge is gained first and foremost from what others tell us... either in school, or in books, or in the media. Our knowledge is not earned through experience, but through hearsay -- after all if you're reading it in a book, or seeing it in the media, you're not living the experience, you're just hearing about it from someone else. So, our knowledge does not generally come with the wisdom that experience generates.

And thus the children and youth of today may now be on equal footing with the adults since they have access to more knowledge than we ever did, and they can get it just by asking their smartphone. Does this make them necessarily wiser? No, but it does perhaps open the door to more insights and "putting two-and-two together" as all the knowledge comes to their awareness.

I mentioned Greta Thunberg earlier... she's only 16 years old. Greta wasn't even alive in the century that the majority of us are most familiar with. (See below her interview with Trevor Noah of The Daily Show.)


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Another "younger person" that I find impressive with her wisdom and gumption is Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (aka AOC). You may have heard her name in conjunction with The Green New Deal, a proposed United States legislation that aims to address climate change and economic inequality. Or you may have heard her name as part of  "the Squad" — four progressive Democratic non-Caucasian congresswomen who were elected to the House in 2018 and became part of the most diverse Congress in U.S. history. (See the video below of an impassioned speech Alexandria gave in October 2019 at the C40 World Mayors Summit in Copenhagen.) 

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez is another example of wisdom in youth... though she is about twice Greta's age (Alexandria turned 30 in October 2019). AOC is impressive in her clear vision, her impassioned voice, and her "we can get it done" attitude. These are two of today's youth that for me exemplify the wisdom of younger generations.

Another voice, born in 1997, Malala Yousafzai is the youngest person, at 17 years of age, to have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize. (Video below of her Nobel Peace Prize speech.) At the tender age of 10, she was already an activist for a woman's right to education. This led her to be shot in the head as retaliation by the Taliban in 2012. The 2013, 2014 and 2015 issues of Time magazine featured her as one of the most influential people globally. And all of this before she even turned 20.

These three examples exemplify wisdom in action. Not only do they carry wisdom within them, but they reach out and share it, and inspire others around them to action.

There are so many children who express wisdom as just plain common-sense... which indeed it is. Perhaps the fact that younger people don't have numerous decades of programming to overcome, or perhaps because they have the "benefit" of experiencing first-hand the result of our actions and the consequences, is what lets their inner wisdom come to the surface more easily. They are not, perhaps, concerned about what "others" think since they don't have an employer to placate, neighbors to be on good terms with, and religious leaders to obey.

Whatever the cause of their wisdom, it is needed and most welcomed in this time as we definitely need all the wisdom we can get to move us out of the quagmire of modern-day life with its emotional, physical, and environmental stresses and challenges. I am so grateful for their appearance and participation on the world stage.

We can also use their examples as inspiration to help stir the embers of our own wisdom and our own passion, so that we can step forth and play our part in creating a better world -- not just for ourselves, but for the children of today and of the future.

Related Book:

The Gift of Change: Spiritual Guidance for Living Your Best Life
by Marianne Williamson.

The Gift of Change: Spiritual Guidance for Living Your Best Life by Marianne Williamson.We live with an abiding sense of collective anxiety. Marianne Williamson shows how we are paralyzed in our current state of fear and anger because we are not facing and dealing with the true causes of our anxieties and fears. She delivers hope and healing as she illuminates ten basic changes that each of us can make as we learn to view the world through the eyes of love instead of fear.

Info/Order this book. Also available as a Kindle edition, and as an Audiobook.

More Related Books

 

About The Author

Marie T. Russell is the founder of InnerSelf Magazine (founded 1985). She also produced and hosted a weekly South Florida radio broadcast, Inner Power, from 1992-1995 which focused on themes such as self-esteem, personal growth, and well-being. Her articles focus on transformation and reconnecting with our own inner source of joy and creativity.

Creative Commons 3.0: This article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 License. Attribute the author: Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com. Link back to the article: This article originally appeared on InnerSelf.com

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Acceptance and Change: Nature Changes Often
Acceptance and Change: Fighting the Current? Nature Changes Often
by Lawrence Doochin
When we resist change, we will be fearful. When we judge ourselves, we will also be fearful. Thus…
Horoscope for Astrological Week: May 10 - 16, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: May 10 - 16, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
by Tjitze de Jong
Joanna was a classic example of how easily and fast healing can occur when the physical body,…
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
by Vir McCoy and Kara Zahl
If we stay focused on the growth potential offered through the “initiation” of disease, it can…
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
by Joyce Vissell
Clinical trials have shown that hugs are positive to your physical and mental health, and they even…
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
by Kristi Hugstad
It’s not the latest trend. It’s not a hashtag on social media. And it’s certainly not selfish.…
What Michelangelo Taught Me About Finding Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
What Michelangelo Taught Me: Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
by by Wendy Tamis Robbins
Two weeks after separating from my first husband, I booked a bus tour through Italy, my first trip…
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
by Maureen J. St. Germain
You are about to learn a very specific technique for clearing your subconscious of all the old…

MOST READ

Plant Flower Billboards In Your Garden To Help Bugs In Trouble
Plant Flower Billboards In Your Garden To Help Bugs In Trouble
by Samantha Murray, University of Florida
Insects are attracted to landscapes where flowering plants of the same species are grouped together…
What Michelangelo Taught Me About Finding Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
What Michelangelo Taught Me: Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
by by Wendy Tamis Robbins
Two weeks after separating from my first husband, I booked a bus tour through Italy, my first trip…
Inner Child Speaks: "Listen To Me! I Can Help You!"
Inner Child Speaks: "Listen To Me! I Can Help You!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The inner child waits patiently for the adult to notice it, to talk to it. It asks itself: "How can…
Opening Ourselves To The Full Potential Of What We Can Achieve Together
Opening Ourselves To The Full Potential Of What We Can Achieve Together
by Dawna Markova
It's time to ignite a small revolution, a revolution of angels carrying stories to balance the…
High-Tech Contact Lenses Are Straight Out Of Science Fiction — And May Replace Smart Phones
High-Tech Contact Lenses Are Straight Out Of Science Fiction — And May Replace Smart Phones
by Bishakh Rout, McGill University
Over the years, new scientific discoveries have led to softer and more comfortable contact lenses.…
DNA-based Cancer Vaccine Triggers Immune Attack On Tumors
DNA Based Cancer Vaccine Triggers Immune Attack On Tumors
by Jim Goodwin, Washington University in St. Louis
We think this is the first report of the use of a neoantigen DNA vaccine in a human, and our…
Why Family Meals Are Good for Grown-ups and Kids
Why Family Meals Are Good for Grown-ups and Kids
by Anne Fishel, Harvard University
Most parents already know that family mealtimes are great for the bodies, the brains and the mental…
Repair Cafés: A World­wide Movement of Passionate Volunteers
Repair Cafés: A World­wide Movement of Passionate Volunteers
by Martine Postma
Apparently people worldwide are ready for change, ready to say goodbye to our throwaway society and…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.