التحرير الكبير: التخلي عن نفسك إلى تجربتك

التحرر العظيم: تخلي نفسك عن تجربتك

قد يجادل العالم والفيلسوف في نهاية الوقت ، لكن في الوقت نفسه ، فإن عطش النفس البشري ، وعلم النفس ، وكاهن ، والصوفي ، يمتلكان القدرة على الإيحاء بأنه قد تكون هناك طرق للتغلب على الأسرار المطلقة ، بخلاف المراقبة المختبرية والمنطق البحت. في حين أن العالم وعلماء التشريح يحللون ويحلل ، فإن الصوفي يبحث عن المعنى في الكل.

في كل لحظة ، يقبل الصوفي كامل خبرته ، بما في ذلك نفسه كما هو ، وظروفه كما هي ، والعلاقة بينهما كما هي. الكمال هو كلمته قبوله كلي ، وهو لا يستثني أي جزء من خبرته ، مهما كان غير لائق. وفي هذا يكتشف أن الكمال هو القداسة ، وأن القداسة هي اسم آخر للمقبولية.

إنه رجل مقدس لأنه قبل كل شيء بنفسه ، وبالتالي جعل قدوس ما هو ، هو ، ويجب أن يكون في كل لحظة من حياته. إنه يعلم أنه في كل لحظات من تلك اللحظات يتحد مع الله ، وأنه سواء كان قديسًا أو خاطئًا ، فإن شدة تلك الوحدة لن تتغير أبدًا. لأن الله هو كمال الحياة ، والذي يشمل كل جانب ممكن من الإنسان ومعروف في قبول كل خبرتنا في كل لحظة. وبالنسبة لأولئك الذين لا يفهمون كلمة "الله" ، أقتبس من غوته جزء من الطبيعة:

طبيعة! نحن محاطون بها ، مقيدة من قبلها - من المستحيل الهروب منها ومن المستحيل الاقتراب منها ... والأكثر غرابة هو الطبيعة أيضًا. من يراها ليس من كل جانب يرى لها مكانا حقيقيا .... في كل لحظة تبدأ في رحلة طويلة ، وفي كل لحظة تصل إلى نهايتها .... وهي تسمح لكل طفل أن يوسعها ، كل أحمق يحكم عليها ، الآلاف يمرون بلا كلل فوقها ، ولا يرون شيئًا ؛ ومع ذلك لديها أصدقاء بين الجميع ولها تعويض من الجميع. حتى في مقاومة قوانينها يطيع أحدهم. ويعمل واحد معها حتى في الرغبة في العمل ضدها .... الحب هو تاجها. فقط من خلال الحب لا أحد يقترب منها ... لقد عزلت كل الأشياء حتى تتمكن من جمع كل شيء معا ... كل موجود إلى الأبد فيها ، لأنها لا تعرف الماضي ولا المستقبل. بالنسبة لها فإن الحاضر أبدية.

الحرية والليبرالية

في الواقع ، يبدو أن كلمات غوتة توحي بحرية الاحتمالات المرعبة ، والإمكانيات التي عرفها حكماء آسيا ومفهومة لها ، والتي قد يعرفها أيضًا المتصوفون من المسيحية ولكنهم لم يتحدثوا إلا بأكبر قدر من العناية. لجميع الأشياء الممكنة للرجل الحرولكن ليس من المحتمل.

يتم تأسيس حريته في معرفة أن اتحاده مع الله أو الحياة أو الطبيعة لا يمكن تدميره أبدًا. أنه في الوقت الذي يعيش فيه (وربما عندما يكون ميتًا) لا يستطيع أن يفعل شيئًا سوى التعبير عن الله أو الطبيعة في كل ما يفكر ويفعله.

إنه حر لأنه يعلم أنه حتى لو كان ينزل إلى أعماق الفساد فليس بإمكانه بأي حال من الأحوال أن ينكر أو يفصل نفسه عن كونه يشمل كل التطرف وبالتالي لا يمكنه أن يعاني من أي شيء. لأنه كما أن الله "يجعل من شمسه ترتفع على الشر والخير" هكذا هو أيضا يوفر لهم أن شمسه هو رمز - نفسه. كما يقول ويتمان في قصيدته "لعاهرة مشتركة"

لا تستثني الشمس حتى تستثنيك ،

ليس إلى أن ترفض المياه أن تتلألأ من أجلك وأوراقها لكي تصطاد حفيفًا ، فهل ترفض كلماتي أن تتلألئ وتصفي من أجلك.

وهكذا في حرية الروح ، نتفهم أننا سواء أحبنا الحياة أو نكرهها ، سواء كنا مليئين بالحنان أو الكراهية أو العجب أو الشهوة أو الجمال أو الرعب أو الحكمة أو الجهل - كل هذه الأضداد كلها مقبولة اليوم. والليل والهدوء والعاصفة والاستيقاظ والنوم. نحن لا نشعر بالالتزام من خلال أي نمط مسبوق من حسن الخلق للرد على تجربتنا في الطريقة "الصحيحة" ؛ في أي لحظة ، قد نتفاعل مع تلك التجربة بالضبط كما نرغب ونكون متوحشين مثلما يكون الحيوان البري هو الغريزة.

في الحزن يشعر الرجل الحر نفسه بالحرية للبكاء ، وألم يصيح ، وغضبًا للقتل ، وللسعور بالملل ، وفي الكسل إلى الخمول. هذا هو بالضبط شعور الحرية الذي يعفيه من ضرورة القيام بهذه الأشياء.

هو مثل رجل مع خرطوم الحريق. الفوهة هي جسده المادي ودماغه ، والماء هو قوة الحياة. وهو حر في تحويل هذا الخراطيم في أي اتجاه يمكن تصوره ، لأنه من خلال عدم الالتواء أو الدوران يمكنه قطع إمدادات المياه التي تعطي الحياة والتي لا تتوقف عن التدفق بكل قوتها. في مزاج الكآبة أو التباطؤ ، قد نفكر في أنه قد تدفقت ، ولكن هذا فقط لأننا لا نعطي الحرية المزاجية لتوسيع نفسها. نحن نشير إلى الفوهة على الأرض والقوة التي نستخدمها لإبقائها هي جهدنا لقمع المزاج.

الرقص والمركز

لدينا عبارة شعبية تصف هذه الحرية - "اسمح لنفسك بالذهاب!" بلغة الدين وعلم النفس يطلق عليه اسم التخلي عن الذات. أساسا التخلي عن الذات في الحياة هو براعة. لا يمكن القيام بمحاولة متعمدة للتخلي عن النفس دون إيمان ، لأنه يبدو وكأنه يغرق في سيل هائل.

يحكي كونفوشيوس عن رجل نجح في القدوم بأمان إلى شلال ضخم عن طريق التخلي عن نفسه إلى طبيعة المياه المتساقطة. لكن الإيمان سيتبع الهجر شريطة ألا نتسكع على حافة الهاوية ونمنع أنفسنا من القفز عن طريق الاندفاع المتزايد من الهواجس - شريطة أن نقفز فورا. هذا هو التخلي عن تجربتك ، وحالتك الذهنية كما هي في هذه اللحظة بالذات ، كونك مستعدا لتركها تأخذك أينما تشاء.

ولكن ، بمجرد أن تدع الحياة تعيش ، تكتشف أنك تعيش حياة مليئة بالامتلاء والحماس. للرجوع إلى قياس الرقص ، يبدو الأمر كما لو سمحت لشريك حياتك ، أن تأرجح معك حتى تحصل على "الشعور" بالرقص الذي تقوم به "بالتأرجح" بنفس قدر شريكك. وبعد ذلك سوف تضحك عليك وتخبرك أنك تقوم بذلك طوال الوقت ، فقط أنك كنت مشغولاً للغاية في محاولة معرفة الخطوات بنفسك أنك نسيت شريكك ونسيت حتى أنه كان رقصة.

وهكذا فإن الإنسان الحر لديه شعور بمركز لا يتغير في ذاته - مركز ليس بالضبط في غروره وليس في الحياة أو الطبيعة أو اللاوعي تمامًا كأنه مستقل عن الأنا. إنها منتصف الرقص ، النقطة التي يدور حولها الشريكان والتي يدركان النقابة.

إنه حر لأن هذا المركز يجعله يشعر بأمان تام وفي المنزل في الكون. يمكن أن يأخذها إلى أي مكان ، ويجعلها تفعل أي شيء ، لأنه ، كما يقول لاو تزو عن تاو ، "باستخدامه ، يجد أنه لا ينضب".

هذا المركز هو النقطة التي يعتمد عليها شعوره بالكمال ، ويتطور من الإيمان - لأنه يثق ويتخلى عن نفسه من ناحية ومن نفسه ومن الآخر ، وكذلك الرقص الذي بينهما. يهب الله حياته وقوته لكل المخلوقات ، ويثق بهم لاستخدامها كما يريدون ، لأن الله هو مبدأ الإيمان والمحبة.

عندما يمكن للإنسان أن يكون لديه نفس الإيمان ويحب كل مخلوقات عقله ، والتي هي حالات ذهنه من لحظة إلى لحظة ، ثم يصبح في واحد مع الله. في الواقع ، إن ملكوت السماوات هو في داخلنا - صورة مصغرة للماكروكوسم - ويجد الإنسان حريته من خلال الإيمان في كونه الخاص ، وجعل شمس قبوله ترتفع على الشر والخير.

الآن في هذا التواضع عميق ، لأن الله يعرف نفسه في الخاطىء وكذلك في القدّيس ، في الوحل وكذلك في النجوم ، كذلك الإنسان ، في المشاركة في حرية الله ، يجب أن يدرك نفسه في حياته. أعماق وكذلك في ارتفاعاته. لأن معلمينا الحقيقيين في الحكمة ليسوا الحكماء وكتاباتهم وإنما مخلوقات عقولنا ، آلهة وشياطين الفكر والشعور وردود فعلهم على العالم الخارجي من التجربة. ومن هذه الشياطين يطلق على أشد الناس سوادًا "لوسيفر" ، حامل الضوء ، لأنه جعلنا نري أن هناك نورًا في الظلام وكذلك في الضوء. في كلمات Monoimus الغنوصية:

توقف عن السعي وراء الله (كما هو بدونك) ، والكون ، وأشياء مشابهة لتلك ؛ أطلب منه من نفسك ، وتعلم من أين هو الحزن والفرح ، والحب والكراهية ، والاستيقاظ على الرغم من واحد لن ، والنوم على الرغم من واحد لا ، والغضب على الرغم من واحد لا ، وتقع في الحب على الرغم من واحد لا. وإذا كنت يجب أن تحقق عن كثب في هذه الأمور ، فستجده في نفسك ، واحدًا وكثيرًا ، تمامًا كالذرة. وبالتالي تجد من نفسك وسيلة للخروج من نفسك.

حق النشر ©2018 by Joan Watts and Anne Watts.
طبع بإذن من مكتبة العالم الجديد
www.newworldlibrary.com

المادة المصدر

معنى السعادة: البحث عن حرية الروح في علم النفس الحديث وحكمة الشرق
من جانب آلان واتس

معنى السعادة: البحث عن حرية الروح في علم النفس الحديث وحكمة الشرق بقلـم آلان واتسفي أعماقه ، يعتقد معظم الناس أن السعادة تأتي من وجود or فعل شيئا ما. هنا ، في الكتاب الثالث الرائد ألان واتس (الذي نشر أصلا في 1940) ، يقدم أطروحة أكثر تحديا: السعادة الحقيقية تأتي من احتضان الحياة ككل في جميع تناقضاتها ومفارقاتها ، وهو الموقف الذي يطلق عليه واتس "طريقة القبول". بالاعتماد على الفلسفة الشرقية ، والتصوف الغربي ، وعلم النفس التحليلي ، يوضح واتس أن السعادة تأتي من قبول كل من خارجي العالم من حولنا و داخلي العالم داخلنا - العقل اللاواعي ، مع رغباته اللاعقلانية ، الكامنة وراء الوعي الأنا.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب الورقي و / أو تحميل طبعة الكتاب الإلكتروني.

عن المؤلف

واتس آلانآلان واتس (يناير 6 ، 1915 - نوفمبر 16 ، 1973) كان الفيلسوف الأمريكي المولود في بريطانيا ، والكاتب ، والمتحدث ، والبطل المضاد ، المعروف باسم مترجم للفلسفات الآسيوية للجمهور الغربي. كتب عن كتب 25 والعديد من المقالات التي تطبق تعاليم الدين والفلسفة الشرقية والغربية على حياتنا اليومية.

المزيد من الكتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = alan watts؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

The Great Liberation: Abandoning Yourself To Your Experience

inspiration

the great liberation: abandon yourself to your experience

Scientist and philosopher may argue to the end of time, but meanwhile the human soul thirsts, and psychologist, priest, and mystic have the temerity to suggest that there may be ways of approach to the ultimate mysteries other than laboratory observation and pure logic. For while scientist and logician dissect and analyze, the mystic looks for meaning in the whole.

At each moment the mystic accepts the whole of his experience, including himself as he is, his circumstances as they are, and the relationship between them as it is. Wholeness is his keyword; his acceptance is total, and he excludes no part of his experience, however unsavory it may be. And in this he discovers that wholeness is holiness, and that holiness is another name for acceptability.

He is a holy man because he has accepted the whole of himself and thus made holy what he was, is, and shall be in every moment of his life. He knows that in each of those moments he is united with God, and that whether he is saint or sinner the intensity of that union never changes. For God is the wholeness of life, which includes every possible aspect of man and is known in accepting the whole of our experience at each moment. And for those who do not understand the word “God,” I quote from Goethe’s Fragment upon Nature:

Nature! We are encompassed by her, enfolded by her—impossible to escape from her and impossible to come nearer to her....The most unnatural also is nature. Who sees her not on all sides sees her truly nowhere....At each moment she starts upon a long, long journey and at each moment reaches her end....She lets every child enlarge upon her, every fool judge her, thousands pass heedlessly over her, seeing nothing; yet she has friends among all and has her recompense from all. Even in resisting her laws one obeys them; and one works with her even in desiring to work against her....Love is her crown. Only through love does one come near her....She has isolated all things so that she may bring all together....All is eternally present in her, for she knows neither past nor future. For her the present is eternity.

Freedom and Libertinism

Indeed, Goethe’s words seem to suggest a freedom of terrifying possibilities, possibilities which the sages of Asia have known and understood, and which the mystics of Christianity may also have known but of which they have spoken only with the greatest care. For all things are possible to the free man—but not probable.

His freedom is founded in the knowledge that his union with God, life, or nature can never be destroyed; that while he lives (and perhaps when he is dead) he can never do anything but express God or nature in all that he thinks and does.

He is free because he knows that even if he descends to the uttermost depths of depravity he can in no way deny or separate himself from a universe which includes all extremes and hence can suffer from none. For as God “maketh his sun to rise on the evil and the good” so also He provides them with that of which His sun is a symbol—Himself. As Whitman says in his poem “To a Common Prostitute,”

Not till the sun excludes you do I exclude you,

Not till the waters refuse to glisten for you and the leaves to rustle for you, do my words refuse to glisten and rustle for you.

Thus in the freedom of the spirit we understand that whether we love life or loathe it, whether we are filled with compassion or hatred, wonder or lust, beauty or horror, wisdom or ignorance—each and all of these opposites are as acceptable as day and night, calm and storm, waking and sleeping. We do not feel bound through any preconceived pattern of good character to react to our experience in the “proper” way; at any moment we may react to that experience just exactly as we please and consciously be just as uninhibited as the wild animal is by instinct.

In sorrow the free man feels himself free to weep, in pain to scream, in anger to kill, in tedium to get drunk, and in laziness to idle. It is precisely this feeling of freedom which absolves him from the necessity of doing these things.

He is like a man with a fire hose; the nozzle is his physical body and brain, and the water is the power of life. He is free to turn that hose in any conceivable direction, for by no twist or turn can he cut off the supply of life-giving water which never ceases to flow out in all its power. In moods of depression or sluggishness we may think that it has run low, but this is only because we do not give the mood freedom to expand itself; we are pointing the nozzle at the ground and the force we employ to keep it down is our effort to repress the mood.

The Dance and the Center

We have a popular phrase that describes this freedom—“Let yourself go!” In the language of religion and psychology it is called self-abandonment. Essentially self-abandonment to life is a knack. A deliberate attempt to abandon oneself cannot be done without faith, for it seems like taking a plunge into a roaring torrent.

Confucius tells of a man who managed to come safely down a huge waterfall by abandoning himself to the nature of falling water. But faith will follow abandonment provided we do not hang about on the brink and prevent ourselves from jumping by an increasing rush of misgivings—provided we jump immediately. This is to abandon yourself to your experience, your state of mind as it is at this very moment, being prepared to let it take you wherever it wills.

But, as soon as you let life live you, you discover that you are living life with an altogether new fullness and zest. To return to the analogy of the dance, it is as if you allowed your partner, life, to swing you along until you so get the “feel” of the dance that you are doing the “swinging” just as much as your partner. And then she will laugh at you and tell you that you were doing it all the time, only that you were so busy trying to figure out the steps by yourself that you forgot your partner and even forgot that it was a dance.

Thus the free man has the feeling of an unchanging center in himself—a center which is not exactly in his ego and not exactly in life, nature, or the unconscious as independent of the ego. It is the middle of the dance, the point around which the two partners revolve and in which they realize union.

He is free because this center makes him feel absolutely secure and at home in the universe; he can take it anywhere, make it do anything, for, as Lao Tzu says of the Tao, “Using it, he finds it inexhaustible.”

This center is the point on which his feeling of wholeness depends, and it develops out of faith—because he trusts and abandons himself to life on the one hand and to himself on the other, and also to the dance that is between them. God imparts His life and strength to all creatures, trusting them to use it as they will, because God is the principle of faith and love.

When man can have that same faith and love for all the creatures of his mind, which are the states of his mind from moment to moment, then he becomes at one with God. Indeed, the kingdom of heaven is within us—microcosm of the macrocosm—and man finds his freedom through faith in his own universe, making the sun of his acceptance to rise on the evil and the good.

Now in this there is profound humility, for as God knows Himself in the sinner as well as in the saint, in the slime as well as in the stars, so also man, in partaking of the freedom of God, must recognize himself in his depths as well as in his heights. For our true instructors in wisdom are not the sages and their writings but the creatures of our own minds, the gods and demons of thought and feeling and their reactions to the outer world of experience. And of these demons the blackest of all is called Lucifer, the bearer of light, for he is made to show us that there is light in the darkness as well as in the light. In the words of Monoimus the Gnostic:

Cease to seek after God (as without thee), and the universe, and things similar to these; seek Him from out of thyself,...and learn whence is sorrow and joy, and love and hate, and waking though one would not, and sleeping though one would not, and getting angry though one would not, and falling in love though one would not. And if thou shouldst closely investigate these things, thou wilt find Him in thyself, one and many, just as the atom; thus finding from thyself a way out of thyself.

Copyright ©2018 by Joan Watts and Anne Watts.
Printed with permission from New World Library
www.newworldlibrary.com

Article Source

The Meaning of Happiness: The Quest for Freedom of the Spirit in Modern Psychology and the Wisdom of the East
by Alan Watts

The Meaning of Happiness: The Quest for Freedom of the Spirit in Modern Psychology and the Wisdom of the East by Alan WattsDeep down, most people think that happiness comes from having or doing something. Here, in Alan Watts’s groundbreaking third book (originally published in 1940), he offers a more challenging thesis: authentic happiness comes from embracing life as a whole in all its contradictions and paradoxes, an attitude that Watts calls the “way of acceptance.” Drawing on Eastern philosophy, Western mysticism, and analytic psychology, Watts demonstrates that happiness comes from accepting both the outer world around us and the inner world inside us — the unconscious mind, with its irrational desires, lurking beyond the awareness of the ego.

Click here for more info and/or to order this paperback book and/or download the e-textbook edition.

About the Author

watts alanAlan Watts (January 6, 1915 – November 16, 1973) was a British-born American philosopher, writer, speaker, and counterculture hero, best known as an interpreter of Asian philosophies for a Western audience. He wrote over 25 books and numerous articles applying the teachings of Eastern and Western religion and philosophy to our everyday lives.

More books by this Author

inspiration
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

Support A Good Job!