Tellement d'être reconnaissant pour!

Tellement d'être reconnaissant pour!

Le mois de Thanksgiving ainsi que les vacances spécifiques sont mes moments préférés de l'année. Je suis reconnaissant de pouvoir prendre le temps d'apprécier ce que je ne tiens jamais pour acquis.

Ma nièce et moi écrivons quotidiennement des listes reconnaissantes et nous les envoyons par courriel, alors je n'attends pas le mois de novembre pour commencer une telle introspection. Tout en faisant des remerciements fait partie de ma routine quotidienne, surtout en cette période de l'année, je me concentre sur ce que je suis reconnaissant, sachant que malgré mes défis, je peux toujours être reconnaissant. Il ne peut jamais être banal de réfléchir à ce que nous apprécions dans nos vies.

Il y a trente-cinq ans, mon deuxième fils est né, un jour avant les vacances, et un rappel très spécial du don de la maternité. Je suis toujours reconnaissant pour un appel de mes trois fils. Quand ils finissent la conversation avec "Je t'aime", mon cœur fond, peu importe la fréquence ou la vitesse à laquelle les mots coulent.

Je suis marié à mon mari depuis plus de quatre décennies et il dit toujours ces mêmes mots, et surtout, il les veut dire. Je suis reconnaissant pour cela et pour la capacité de vieillir ensemble. Cela arrive sans préavis jusqu'à ce qu'un jour je me regarde dans le miroir et que je vois mes cheveux grisonnants, mes lignes et mes creux, mais la réalisation la plus étonnante est qu'il voit toujours mon moi plus jeune. Et, le meilleur de tous, il nous aime tous les deux.

Je suis à l'âge d'aujourd'hui, quand j'apprécie que mon alarme se déclenche, me rappelant le don d'un autre jour où vivre et apprécier ceux que j'aime ainsi que les activités qui me font la joie. Quelle chance d'avoir eu une carrière de quatre décennies, une carrière qui a donné un sens à ma vie, une carrière qui m'a permis d'aider quotidiennement les jeunes âmes à comprendre la lecture, l'écriture et elles-mêmes!

Aujourd'hui, j'aide le bénévolat et je passe du temps précieux avec mes deux petits-enfants. C'est un euphémisme de dire que je suis reconnaissant pour mon petit-fils de trois ans et ma petite-fille de neuf mois. Quand je suis avec eux, je me pince, je le fais vraiment! Ces deux petits êtres pourraient-ils être plus délicieux? Ils nourrissent mon âme d'une manière que je ne peux pas articuler. Je suis particulièrement reconnaissant envers mon fils et ma belle-fille pour leur réponse à ma demande: «Puis-je passer du temps avec les petits?» Leur réponse est: toujours "Oui."

J'apprécie que mon esprit fonctionne toujours, que je puisse sortir mes phrases et que je me souvienne de mon passé et de mon présent. Je ne prends pas ma mémoire pour acquis, car l'Alzheimer de ma grand-mère est un rappel de la fragilité d'un esprit. Ainsi, j'ai la chance d'avoir la capacité mentale de penser et de méditer, ce qui me permet encore de ressentir une grande joie, et, oui, une grande tristesse, et de lire des mots avec un sens, et de se souvenir d'eux!

Je suis reconnaissant d'avoir vu le verre à moitié plein, un cadeau de mon père. Mon attitude positive et ma nature décontractée m'ont bien servi dans cette vie et m'ont permis de rebondir résilientement face à l'adversité, dont j'ai eu ma part. J'apprécie les temps difficiles, mes difficultés, car ils m'ont appris bien plus que les jours faciles pour lesquels je lutte. De tels défis ont été les vrais enseignants de mon esprit.

Mes copines sont l'un des cadeaux de mon coeur. Un de mes amis a été avec moi toute ma vie, mais les autres ont marché avec moi sur différents chemins, ce que j'apprécie. Même lorsque nous ne parlons pas tout le temps, un courriel ou une conversation nous permet de revenir en arrière et me donne une telle joie.

Mes parents sont tous les deux partis, et bien qu'étant la génération plus âgée maintenant, j'espère toujours que quelqu'un me rappelle de «prendre mon chandail», une mère préoccupée par mon rhume. Pourtant, je suis reconnaissant d'avoir eu cette expérience, d'avoir eu deux parents qui m'aimaient, qui m'avaient pourvu pour que je puisse être un enfant quand j'étais supposé être un enfant, et qui m'a aidé à mûrir.

Je suis tellement reconnaissante que j'ai un frère qui est le seul autre vivant vivant qui possède la génétique et l'ADN de la mémoire de ma famille d'origine, qui peut demander: «Que dirait Maman?» Et nous savons tous deux sans avoir à répondre. Mais, en toute justice, sa femme, ma belle-sœur, a été si longtemps dans la famille qu'elle peut répondre à cette question avec une précision extrême. Je remercie mes chanceuses étoiles que mon frère l'a épousée, alors je pourrais avoir une sœur qui me complète.

Quel cadeau ma douce Emma a été pour moi - 14-livres de peluches blanches. Elle sait ce que je pense et m'aime quand même! Avoir l'amour d'un enfant à fourrure, c'est avoir de l'amour inconditionnel tous les jours.

Enfin, je suis reconnaissant d'avoir la capacité d'écrire des morceaux de mon cœur, des pièces uniques qui flottent à la surface, et qui me rendent complet, car l'écriture me complète.

Copyright 2017 par Barbara Jaffe. Tous les droits sont réservés.

Livre par cet auteur

Quand serai-je assez bien?: Le voyage d'un enfant de remplacement vers la guérison
par Barbara Jaffe Ed.D.

Quand serai-je assez bien?: Un voyage de remplacement pour la guérison par Barbara Jaffe Ed.D.Barbara est née pour remplir le poste laissé vacant par son petit frère, décédé à l'âge de deux ans. Ce livre raconte à la multitude de lecteurs qui ont été des «enfants de remplacement» pour de nombreuses raisons, qu'ils peuvent, eux aussi, trouver espoir et guérison, comme l'a fait Barbara.

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre.

A propos de l'auteur

Barbara JaffeBarbara Jaffe, Ed.D. est un professeur d'anglais primé à El Camino College, en Californie et est membre du département de l'éducation de l'UCLA. Elle a offert d'innombrables ateliers aux étudiants pour les aider à trouver la voix de leurs auteurs en écrivant des ouvrages non romanesques. Son collège l'a honorée en nommant sa femme exceptionnelle de l'année et professeur éminent de l'année. Visitez son site web à BarbaraAnnJaffe.com

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = gratitude; maxresults = 3}

So Much to be Grateful For!

So Much to be Grateful For!

The month of Thanksgiving as well as the specific holiday are my most favorite times of the year. I am thankful that I can take the time to appreciate what I never take for granted.

My niece and I write daily grateful lists and we email them to each other, so I do not wait until November to begin such introspection. While giving thanks is part of my daily routine, especially at this time of year, I focus on what I am thankful for, knowing that despite my challenges, I can always be grateful.   It can never be trite to reflect on what we appreciate in our lives.

Thirty-five years ago, my second son was born, one day before the holiday, and a very special reminder of the gift of motherhood. I am always grateful for a call from my three sons.  When they end the conversation with "Love you," my heart melts no matter how often or how fast the words flow.  

I have been married to my husband for over four decades and he still says these same words, and most of all, he means them.  I am grateful for this and for the ability to grow older together. It happens without notice until one day I look in the mirror and I see my graying hair, my lines and sags, but the most amazing realization is that he stills sees my younger self.  And, best of all, he loves us both.

I am at the age now, when I am appreciative of my alarm going off, reminding me of the gift of another day in which to live and enjoy those whom I love as well as the activities that give me joy. How fortunate I am to have had a career spanning four decades, a career that provided meaning in my life, one which allowed me to help younger souls on a daily basis to understand reading, writing, and themselves!  

Today, I help through volunteer work and in spending precious time with my two, dear grandchildren. It is an understatement to say that I am grateful for my three-year old grandson and my nine-month-old granddaughter. When I am with them, I pinch myself, I actually do! Could these two little beings be any more delicious? They feed my soul in ways I cannot articulate. I am especially grateful to my son and daughter-in-law for their response to my request, “Can I spend time with the little ones?” Their answer is always “Yes.”

I appreciate that my mind still works, that I can get my sentences out and that I can remember my past as well as my present. I do not take my memory for granted, as my grandmother’s Alzheimer’s is a reminder how fragile a mind can be. Thus, I am fortunate to have the mental capacity to think and ponder, one which still enables me to feel great joy, and, yes, great sadness, and to read words with meaning, and to remember them!

I am grateful for seeing the glass half full, a gift from my father. My positive attitude and easy-going nature have served me well in this life and enabled me to resiliently bounce back from adversity, of which I have had my share. I appreciate the hard times, my difficulties, for they have taught me far more than the easy days for which I strive. Such challenges have been the true teachers of my spirit.

My girlfriends are one of the gifts of my heart. One of my friends has been with me for my entire life, but the others have walked with me on various paths, which I appreciate. Even when we do not talk all the time, one email or one conversation enables us to pick back up and gives me such joy.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


My parents are both gone, and despite being the older generation now, I still long for someone to remind me to ‘take my sweater,’ a mother concerned about my catching a cold. Yet, I am thankful that I had this experience, that I had two parents who loved me, who provided for me so I could be a child when I was supposed to be a child, and who helped me mature.

I am so grateful that I have a brother who is the only other human alive who has my family of origin’s genetics and memory DNA, who can ask, “What would Mom say?” and we both just know without having to answer. But, in all fairness, his wife, my amazing sister-in-law, has been in the family so long that she can answer this question with pinpoint accuracy. I thank my lucky stars that my brother married her, so I could have a sister who completes me.

What a gift my sweet Emma has been to me -- 14-pounds of white fluff. She knows what I am thinking and loves me anyway! To have the love of a furry child is to have unconditional love every day.

Finally, I am thankful that I have the ability to write down bits of my heart, the unique pieces that float to the surface, and that make me whole, for writing completes me.

Copyright 2017 by Barbara Jaffe. All Rights Reserved.

Book by this Author

When Will I Be Good Enough?: A Replacement Child’s Journey to Healing
by Barbara Jaffe Ed.D.

When Will I Be Good Enough?: A Replacement Child’s Journey to Healing by Barbara Jaffe Ed.D.Barbara was born to fill the vacancy left by her little brother, who died at the age of two. This book tells the multitude of readers who have been “replacement children” for many reasons, that they, too, can find hope and healing, as did Barbara.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.accepting

About the Author

Barbara JaffeBarbara Jaffe, Ed.D. is an award-winning English professor at El Camino College, California and is a Fellow in UCLA’s Department of Education. She has offered countless workshops to students to help them find their writers’ voices through writing non-fiction. Her college has honored her by naming her Outstanding Woman of the Year and Distinguished Teacher of the Year. Visit her website at BarbaraAnnJaffe.com

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=gratitude;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…