Les cinq obstacles: les voleurs de votre croissance spirituelle

Les cinq obstacles: les voleurs de votre croissance spirituelle

Regardons quelques-uns des obstacles à notre croissance spirituelle. Permettez-moi de vous demander ceci: avez-vous déjà été coincé dans la circulation et pensé à vous-même, "Si ce n'était pas pour toutes ces autres voitures sur la route, je me rendrais au travail (ou à la maison) beaucoup plus vite"?

Eh bien, le développement spirituel est similaire à cela. S'il n'y avait pas les obstacles mentaux et émotionnels, nous pourrions développer la pleine conscience plus rapidement.

Il y a plusieurs obstacles communs, et en prenant conscience d'eux, nous pouvons minimiser leur effet sur nous. Dans le bouddhisme, ceux-ci sont appelés les cinq entraves:

  • Désir sensuel. Ceci est notre désir de plaire à nos cinq sens et les émotions.

  • Aversion. C'est une aversion pour quelqu'un ou quelque chose. C'est le contraire du désir. Nous essayons naturellement d'éviter les choses désagréables.

  • Léthargie. C'est une stupidité mentale qui découle de l'ennui ou de l'absence de stimulation mentale. C'est le résultat de ne pas pouvoir profiter du moment présent.

  • Agitation. C'est essentiellement le contraire de la léthargie. C'est la sur-stimulation de notre esprit.


    Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


  • Doute. C'est un manque de conviction ou de confiance dans notre pratique de la méditation.

Afin de mieux comprendre les cinq troubles, il pourrait être utile de comprendre certains de nos instincts humains fondamentaux. En grandissant, la plupart d'entre nous développons un concept de ce qu'est le bonheur et comment l'atteindre.

Désir sensuel

Dans notre société, nous sommes encouragés à poursuivre nos rêves, car on nous dit qu'ils nous apporteront le bonheur. Ces rêves consistent généralement en une carrière réussie, l'accession à la propriété, la recherche d'un partenaire et l'installation. Pour certaines personnes, leurs rêves peuvent consister en quelque chose de complètement différent. Quoi qu'il en soit, ces réalisations nous apportent une certaine forme de satisfaction émotionnelle, ou une satisfaction de nos sens, c'est-à-dire qu'elles satisfont nos désirs.

Le désir sensuel devient un obstacle parce qu'il occupe énormément d'attention. Nous passons beaucoup de temps, d'argent et d'efforts à poursuivre nos désirs. La façon dont le désir sensuel se manifeste pendant notre méditation passe par la fantasmatisation. Nous pensons à des choses comme la nourriture, le sexe, l'argent ou toute autre chose qui nous apporte la gratification.

De plus, nous commençons à développer une tolérance aux objets de nos désirs. Donc quand les sentiments agréables s'usent, nous avons besoin de plus de ces objets pour nous apporter le même niveau de satisfaction. Ceci est particulièrement vrai dans les relations intimes. Le cycle ne finit jamais parce qu'il n'y a pas de fin à nos désirs et nos désirs. Certaines personnes passent leur vie entière à chasser des biens matériels, pour découvrir qu'elles ne leur apportent pas un bonheur durable.

Cette approche pour atteindre le bonheur peut nous avoir bien servi dans le passé. Mais maintenant que nous sommes sur un chemin spirituel, nous voulons grandir au-delà de ce niveau. Par la pratique de la pleine conscience, nous pouvons parvenir à une paix intérieure plus stable. Notre bonheur ne dépendra plus des conditions extérieures, sur lesquelles nous n'avons aucun contrôle, mais de notre condition spirituelle, sur laquelle nous avons le contrôle.

Aversion

L'aversion fonctionne presque de la même manière que le désir, seulement dans la direction opposée. Nous essayons d'éviter tout ce qui déclenche des émotions désagréables, alors nous passons beaucoup de temps à chercher du plaisir et à éviter la douleur.

L'aversion peut aussi se manifester dans la colère ou la mauvaise volonté. Nous nous mettons généralement en colère quand quelqu'un blesse nos sentiments, ou fait quelque chose que nous n'aimons pas. La colère peut être très séduisante et addictive parce que nous en avons parfois la précipitation. Il est facile de justifier notre colère à cause de l'injustice de quelqu'un d'autre. Nous pouvons aussi l'utiliser pour manipuler les autres et faire ce que nous voulons.

Si nous ne pardonnons jamais aux gens de nous nuire, nous continuerons à porter notre colère sous la forme du ressentiment. Dans les cas extrêmes, cette colère peut se transformer en une profonde haine. Accrocher à la colère et au ressentiment nous empêchera de grandir. Comme quelqu'un l'a déjà dit: «Tenir la colère, c'est comme saisir un charbon chaud avec l'intention de le jeter à quelqu'un d'autre; vous êtes celui qui est brûlé. "

Léthargie

La léthargie est un état de matité mentale qui découle de l'ennui. Je sais par expérience personnelle que la somnolence peut être un problème lors de la méditation. Le degré de léthargie peut varier d'une simple somnolence à une torpeur totale. C'est généralement le résultat de faire ou d'être exposé à quelque chose qui ne stimule aucun de nos sens ou de nos émotions. Maintenant, il y a une différence entre la léthargie et la fatigue physique. La léthargie vient de l'ennui, et la fatigue vient du manque de sommeil.

Certains d'entre nous sont accro à l'excitation. Nous devons avoir quelque chose d'excitant continuant tout le temps. Si ce n'est pas le cas, alors nous sommes agités ou ennuyés. Nous essayons donc de créer de l'excitation, et cette excitation ne doit pas nécessairement être positive. Nous créons même parfois le chaos dans nos vies pour maintenir l'adrénaline. C'est ainsi que nous devenons accro au drame.

Agitation

L'agitation est essentiellement le contraire de la léthargie. C'est la sur-stimulation de notre esprit. Pour éviter de nous ennuyer, nous faisons des choses pour occuper notre esprit, comme regarder la télévision, écouter la radio ou participer à de nombreuses activités. Maintenant, ces activités ne sont pas nécessairement mauvaises, mais nous les utilisons souvent inconsciemment pour créer du bruit dans notre esprit, de sorte que nous gardons des pensées inconfortables de surgir. Nous jouons parfois la radio ou la télévision en arrière-plan pour nous tenir compagnie. Cela stimule tellement notre esprit que nous ne sommes pas capables de rester assis. Ensuite, nous avons besoin de plus de bruit pour étouffer le bruit qui est déjà là. C'est un cercle vicieux.

L'agitation se manifeste également sous la forme d'inquiétude. Nous nous inquiétons de perdre les choses qui, selon nous, nous apporteront du bonheur, comme les relations, l'argent et les choses matérielles. Nous nous inquiétons aussi de notre santé et de notre mortalité. Il n'y a jamais de pénurie de choses à s'inquiéter. Le moyen d'arrêter de s'inquiéter est de changer notre compréhension de ce qui crée le bonheur.

Doute

Le cinquième obstacle, le doute, est un manque de conviction et de confiance. C'est l'incapacité de décider de la ligne de conduite à suivre parce qu'on ne sait pas ce qui est le mieux. En méditation, il s'agit de questionner notre pratique. Nous commençons à nous demander si ces trucs de méditation fonctionnent vraiment, ou si c'est une grosse perte de temps.

Le doute a ses racines dans la peur et l'ignorance. Si nous ne comprenons pas très bien une situation, nous avons peur de prendre la mauvaise décision. Nous commençons donc à trop réfléchir et à devenir incapables de prendre une décision. Cela peut être plus commun au début de votre pratique, mais diminuera une fois que vous aurez de l'expérience.

Comment surmonter les cinq obstacles

Alors, comment pouvons-nous surmonter les cinq obstacles dans notre pratique de la méditation? C'est en fait assez simple. Ce que nous allons essentiellement faire, c'est les regarder à mort. Bien sûr, c'est plus facile à dire qu'à faire, mais pas aussi dur que vous pourriez le penser. Voici comment cela fonctionne: pensez à un moment où vous faisiez quelque chose de mal, par exemple, conduire trop vite.

Supposons maintenant que vous passiez devant un policier garé sur le bord de la route, et qu'il vous surveillait pendant que vous passiez. Quelle a été ta première réaction? Vous avez arrêté d'accélérer, bien sûr. C'est une réaction naturelle.

Quand nous savons que quelqu'un nous regarde faire quelque chose de mal, nous nous arrêtons immédiatement. Nous traiterons les Cinq Hindous de la même manière. Nous allons monter la garde comme l'agent de police sur le bord de la route, et surveiller cet automobiliste quand il passe. Autrement dit, nous allons être conscients des obstacles quand ils se posent, et quand ils se dissipent.

Nous devons être particulièrement attentifs à la léthargie, car elle peut prendre de l'élan très rapidement, et avant que nous le sachions, nous nous endormons. Au début de notre pratique, nous devons apprendre à identifier les obstacles quand ils surgissent en les nommant consciemment. Après un peu de pratique, nous serons en mesure de les reconnaître plus facilement et d'être juste conscients de leur présence.

En pratiquant de cette façon, nous supprimerons ces obstacles de notre méditation, et de commencer à développer l'attention beaucoup plus rapide. Rappelez-vous, la méditation est comme toute autre compétence-plus vous pratiquez, plus vous aurez à elle.

La dernière chose que je voudrais dire au sujet des obstacles est que nous pouvons nous énerver lorsque nous perdons notre concentration ou notre attention durant la méditation. Ne t'attends pas à la perfection. Maintenir notre concentration et notre attention peut être difficile. Les bonnes nouvelles sont qu'avec la pratique, les obstacles deviendront moins un problème. En outre, lorsque nous observons les obstacles qui se présentent, nous pratiquons réellement la pleine conscience. En étant conscients d'eux, nous sommes conscients. Alors laissez-les monter. Finalement, ils vont diminuer.

Adapté avec la permission du livre
"La méditation de pleine conscience rendue simple"

Mindfulness Meditation Made Simple: Votre guide pour trouver la vraie paix intérieure par Charles A. Francis.Source de l'article:

Mindfulness Meditation Made Simple: Votre guide pour trouver la vraie paix intérieure
par Charles A. Francis.

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon.

A propos de l'auteur

Charles A. Francis, auteur de: Mindfulness Meditation Made SimpleCharles A. Francis est titulaire d'une maîtrise en administration publique de l'Université de Syracuse, axée sur la gestion et la politique des soins de santé. Il est l'auteur de Mindfulness Meditation Made Simple: Votre guide pour trouver la vraie paix intérieure (Paradigm Press), et co-fondateur et directeur du Mindfulness Meditation Institute. Il enseigne la méditation de la pleine conscience aux individus, développe des programmes de formation à la pleine conscience pour les organisations, et dirige des ateliers et des retraites de méditation de pleine conscience. En savoir plus sur MindfulnessMeditationInstitute.org.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

The Five Hindrances: The Thieves of Your Spiritual Growth

The Five Hindrances: The Thieves of Your Spiritual Growth

Let's look at some of the obstacles to our spiritual growth. Let me ask you this: have you ever been stuck in traffic and thought to yourself, “If it weren't for all these other cars on the road, I would get to work (or home) much faster”?

Well, spiritual development is similar to that. If it weren't for the mental and emotional obstacles, we could develop mindfulness much faster.

There are several common obstacles, and by becoming aware of them, we can minimize their effect on us. In Buddhism, these are called the Five Hindrances:

  • Sensual desire. This is our desire to please our five senses and emotions.

  • Aversion. This is a dislike for someone or something. It is the opposite of desire. We naturally try to avoid things that are unpleasant.

  • Lethargy. This is a mental dullness that arises from boredom, or lack of mental stimulation. It is the result of not being able to enjoy the present moment.

  • Agitation. This is essentially the opposite of lethargy. It is the over-stimulation of our mind.


     Get The Latest From InnerSelf


  • Doubt. This is a lack of conviction or trust in our meditation practice.

In order to understand the Five Hindrances better, it might be helpful to understand some of our basic human instincts. Growing up, most of us develop some concept of what happiness is, and how to attain it.

Sensual Desire

In our society, we are encouraged to pursue our dreams, because we’re told that they will bring us happiness. These dreams usually consist of a successful career, home-ownership, finding a mate, and settling down. For some people, their dreams may consist of something entirely different. Whatever the case, these achievements bring us some form of emotional gratification, or a pleasing of our senses—that is, they fulfill our desires.

Sensual desire becomes a hindrance because it occupies a tremendous amount of our attention. We spend a great deal of time, money, and effort chasing our desires. The way sensual desire manifests itself during our meditation is through fantasizing. We think about things like food, sex, money, or anything else that brings us gratification.

What's more, we begin to develop a tolerance to the objects of our desires. So when the pleasant feelings wear off, we need even more of these objects to bring us the same level of satisfaction. This is especially true in intimate relationships. The cycle never ends because there is no end to our wants and desires. Some people spend their whole lives chasing material possessions, only to find out that they don't bring them lasting happiness.

This approach to achieving happiness may have served us well in the past. But now that we're on a spiritual path, we want to grow beyond this level. Through the practice of mindfulness, we can achieve an inner peace that is more stable. Our happiness will no longer depend on outside conditions, which we don't have control over, but rather our spiritual condition, which we do have control over.

Aversion

Aversion works almost the same way as desire, only in the opposite direction. We try to avoid anything that triggers unpleasant emotions, so we spend a great deal of our time seeking pleasure and avoiding pain.

Aversion can also manifest itself into anger, or ill will. We usually get angry when someone hurts our feelings, or does something we don’t like. Anger can be quite seductive and addictive because we sometimes get a rush from it. It’s easy to justify our anger because of someone else's injustice. We can also use it to manipulate others into doing what we want.

If we never forgive people for harming us, we'll continue to carry our anger in the form of resentment. In extreme cases, that anger can turn into a deep hatred. Hanging on to anger and resentment will prevent us from growing. As somebody once said, “Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned.”

Lethargy

Lethargy is a state of mental dullness that arises from boredom. I know from personal experience that sleepiness can be a problem when meditating. The degree of lethargy can vary from simple drowsiness to utter torpor. It's usually the result of doing, or being exposed, to something that doesn't stimulate any of our senses or emotions. Now, there’s a difference between lethargy and physical fatigue. Lethargy comes from boredom, and fatigue comes from lack of sleep.

Some of us are addicted to excitement. We need to have something exciting going on all the time. If there isn't, then we get either restless or bored. So we try to create some excitement, and that excitement doesn't necessarily have to be positive. We sometimes even create chaos in our lives to keep the adrenaline going. This is how we become addicted to drama.

Agitation

Agitation is essentially the opposite of lethargy. It is the over-stimulation of our mind. To avoid getting bored, we do things to occupy our mind, such as watching TV, listening to the radio, or getting involved in many activities. Now, these activities aren't necessarily bad, but we often unconsciously use them to create noise in our mind, so that we keep uncomfortable thoughts from arising. We sometimes play the radio or television in the background to keep us company. This stimulates our mind so much that we're not able to sit still. Then we need more noise to drown out the noise that's already there. It's a vicious cycle.

Agitation also manifests itself in the form of worry. We worry about losing the things we think will bring us happiness, such as relationships, money, and material things. We also worry about our health and our mortality. There is never a shortage of things to worry about. The way to stop worrying is to change our understanding of what creates happiness.

Doubt

The fifth hindrance, doubt, is a lack of conviction and trust. It is the inability to decide on which course of action to follow because we don't know which is best. In meditation, it takes the form of questioning our practice. We start wondering if this meditation stuff really works, or if it's a big waste of time.

Doubt has its roots in fear and ignorance. If we don't understand a situation very well, we become afraid to make the wrong decision. So we begin thinking too much, and become unable to make any decision. This may be more common in the beginning of your practice, but will diminish once you have some experience.

How to Overcome the Five Hindrances

So how do we overcome the Five Hindrances in our meditation practice? It's actually quite simple. What we're essentially going to do is watch them to death. Of course, this is easier said than done, but not as hard as you might think. Here's how it works: think about a time when you were doing something wrong, for example, driving too fast.

Now suppose you drove past a police officer parked on the side of the road, and he watched you as you drove by. What was your first reaction? You stopped speeding, of course. That's a natural reaction.

When we know someone is watching us do something wrong, we immediately stop. We will deal with the Five Hindrances in the same manner. We're going to stand guard like the police officer on the side of the road, and watch for that speeding motorist when he passes by. That is, we're going to be mindful of the hindrances when they arise, and when they dissipate.

We have to be especially mindful of lethargy, because it can gain momentum very quickly, and before we know it, we're falling asleep. In the beginning of our practice, we need to learn how to identify the hindrances when they arise by consciously naming them. After some practice, we'll be able to recognize them more easily and just be mindful of their presence.

By practicing this way, we'll remove these obstacles of our meditation, and begin to develop mindfulness much faster. Remember, meditation is like any other skill—the more you practice, the better you'll get at it.

The last thing I would like to say about the hindrances is that we may get upset with ourselves when we lose our concentration or mindfulness during meditation. Don’t expect perfection. Maintaining our concentration and mindfulness can be challenging. The good news is that with practice, the hindrances will become less of a problem. In addition, when we observe the hindrances as they arise, we are actually practicing mindfulness. By being aware of them, we are being mindful. So let them come up. Eventually, they will diminish.

Adapted with permission from the book
"Mindfulness Meditation Made Simple"

Mindfulness Meditation Made Simple: Your Guide to Finding True Inner Peace by Charles A. Francis.Article Source:

Mindfulness Meditation Made Simple: Your Guide to Finding True Inner Peace
by Charles A. Francis.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

About the Author

Charles A. Francis, author of: Mindfulness Meditation Made SimpleCharles A. Francis has a master's degree in Public Administration from Syracuse University, with a focus on health care management and policy. He is the author of Mindfulness Meditation Made Simple: Your Guide to Finding True Inner Peace (Paradigm Press), and co-founder and director of the Mindfulness Meditation Institute. He teaches mindfulness meditation to individuals, develops mindfulness training programs for organizations, and leads workshops and mindfulness meditation retreats. Learn more at MindfulnessMeditationInstitute.org.

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

First name:E-mail:
 

{emailcloak=off}

DAILY INSPIRATION

Daily Inspiration: March 7, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 7, 2021
Our culture has relegated aging to the closet. It is not something to be discussed, or even done,…
citizen of the world dress
Daily Inspiration: March 6, 2021
It is said that when someone asked Socrates what country he was from, his response was "of the…
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
There's no need to run away, or run to others for answers. Close your eyes and talk to your Self...

INNERSELF VOICES

We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
by Pierre Pradervand
How I see my life path is a choice I make minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day… And this…
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
by James Endredy
For most people, walking is an activity that requires no thought or intention -- it is rarely even…
Young girl sitting surrounded by lots of book of various colors
How to Recognize Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
by Thom Hartmann
ADHD is not an all-or-nothing diagnosis. There appears to be a curve of behaviors and personality…
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
by Bridgit Dengel Gaspard
You may not think you have a core negative belief, but if you’re mysteriously stuck, one or two…
Scrabble letters that spell out: NO HATE
Vaccination or No Vaccination? That Is Not the Question Here...
by Joyce Vissell
This is not an article about the benefits of getting a vaccination. Nor is it an article about not…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
Photo of aurora and moon by Markus Varik on February 22, 2021, Tromsø Norway
Horoscope Current Week: March 1 - 7, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…

MOST READ

silhouette of a woman's head and it is disintegrating
Letting Go of All Perceived Pain, Ignorance, and Fear
by Alexis I. Jordan
Thank you, infinite goodness, for your bounteous gifts, including peace, love, freedom and joy,…
picture of colorful fireworks in the sky
Cancer Meditation and Cancer Medication: A Powerful Combination
by Joyce Whiteley Hawkes
Each cell has its own biological clock that controls its individual rate of repair, replication,…
Emotions and Your Moon Sign
How To Deal with Your Emotions According To Your Moon Sign
by Donna Cunningham
The Moon, in the astrological chart, can help us understand how we deal with our emotions. It shows…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
by Vicky Armstrong
Many of us may be looking to art activities to keep children busy while at home. If you are, I want…
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
by Barry Sultanoff, MD.
We came into this world with special "buttons" pre-installed. These "buttons" are specific spots on…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
image of a girl looking into a gloomy forest but with light ray shining through
Changing Your Nightmares or Fearful Dreams Into Pleasant Experiences
by Serge Kahili King
The following sentence is the most important thing I have to say about dreams and dreaming: AFTER A…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.