تواجه الموت: كيف نرد على الأطفال فاة أحد الوالدين

تواجه الموت: كيف يتأثر الأطفال

تواجه الموت: كيف يتأثر الأطفال

الطريق أطفالك لرد على احتمال وفاة أحد الوالدين هو الذهاب الى مفاجأة لك، الأم أيضا. وليس كل المفاجآت سوف تكون ممتعة.

تذكر أن يتركز على الاطلاق عالم الطفل على نفسه. كما الوحيد الذي ينمو نحو مرحلة البلوغ لم نكتسب القدرة على رؤية من خلال عيون الآخرين، والمشي ميل في الاخفاف شخص آخر.

الشيء المهم أن نتذكر، في أولادكم نبدأ في النظر نحو المستقبل، هو أن كل عائلة فريدة من نوعها، ولكل طفل سترد على طريقته الخاصة. لا توجد قواعد صارمة وسريعة على ما هو الرد المناسب وما هو غير ذلك، وهناك مبادئ توجيهية فقط. والمبدأ الأول هو أن يعمل الأطفال إلى الخارج من حاجاته الخاصة.

والسؤال: "لماذا"

عند نقطة ما، سوف أطفالك يطلب منها: لماذا؟

لقد تعاملت مع عائلات كل طائفة: الأسر التي تعتقد في الآخرة السعيدة والعائلات التي تؤمن لا شيء؛ العائلات اليهودية الذي يقول لي أحد أفراد أسرته تعيش في الناس الذين أحبوها، والبوذيين الذين التناسخ شرح لي ولهم الأطفال. في بعض الأحيان، إذا كان الطفل يطلب مني "، لماذا؟" وأنتقل للسؤال حول ونسأل: "ماذا تفعل أنت اعتقد؟ لماذا لا تفعل الأشياء الله انه او انها لا؟ "

عادة، أجد أن الأطفال لديهم بعض بدايات توضيحا، بناء على ما تعلموه في المنزل، وعلى الكنيسة، وفي الحياة.

التعامل مع الغضب أطفالك واليأس

يجب أن تكون مستعدة للتعامل مع الغضب واليأس. لقد قال لي أطفال، وقال "اعتقد الله أمر فظيع، وأنا لا أريد أن تؤمن بالله بعد الآن." وأقر بأن، ونقول لهم، وقال "يبدو أنك حقا غاضب على الله، وكأنك اللوم حقا لله على كل هذا." وأقترح أنه بعد فترة من الوقت، والطفل الحديث بها مع كاهن الأسرة، وزير، الحاخام، أو مستشار.

أحيانا الأطفال ترغب فقط في انتقاد، وأنا أقول لهم: "أنا أفهم كيف يجب أن تكون مجنونا، وليس فقط في الله، ولكن الجميع كنت تعتقد أن لها علاقة مع لماذا أمك وهو يحتضر، والأطباء، والممرضات، والآخر سائق، والسيارة صانع، وشركة السجائر ... "

وعادة ما أجد أن الأطفال سوف تعطي في لمشاعرهم وثم ترك الحاجة إلى تفسير وراءها. "الحياة غير عادلة." وهذا شيء طيب، إنها مفيدة بالنسبة لهم. وليس هناك في الواقع أي تفسير نهائي لماذا نحن المد والجزر كما نفعل نحن.

كيف نحزن الأطفال: معالجة الخسارة

تواجه الموت: كيف يتأثر الأطفال

إذا كنت تريد أن يأتي إلى مكتبي في هذه النقطة، أود أن أعطيك مقال القليل ما يسمى ب "الحزن من الأطفال." كانت مكتوبة من قبل وولسي سوزان، من معلومات الدول الجزرية الصغيرة النامية ولاية ماريلاند ومشروع الإرشاد، وانها من افضل ملخص قصير وجدتها حول كيفية معالجة الأطفال المأساة الفظيعة في وفاة أحد الوالدين، وكيف أن الأم على قيد الحياة يمكن أن تساعدهم عن طريق.

[ملاحظة المحرر: ما تبقى من هذا المقال هو جزء من مقال المذكور أعلاه من قبل سوزان وولسي]

التفسيرات التي قد لا تساعد: حقيقة ام خيال؟

المبينة أدناه من التفسيرات أن البالغين قد يعطي الطفل أملا في شرح لماذا الشخص الذي تحبه قد مات. لسوء الحظ، لا يمكن الإجابة بسيطة ولكنها غير شريفة لا تؤدي إلا إلى زيادة الخوف وعدم اليقين الذي يشعر الطفل.

الأطفال تميل الى ان تكون حرفية جدا - إذا كان الكبار يقول ان "توفي الجد لانه كان يبلغ من العمر والتعب" قد يتساءل الطفل أيضا عندما تكون قديمة جدا، وأنه يحصل بالتأكيد متعب - ما هو متعب يكفي أن يموت؟

  • "والجدة تنام في سلام إلى الأبد". وهذا قد يؤدي إلى تفسير خوف الطفل من الذهاب إلى السرير أو النوم.
  • "انها ارادة الله". والطفل لا يفهم الله الذي يأخذ أحد أفراد أسرته لأنه يحتاج هذا الشخص نفسه. أو "اتخذ الله له لأنه كان جيدا للغاية." يمكن للطفل أن يقرر أن يكون سيئا للغاية الله لن تأخذ منه أيضا.
  • "ذهب الأب في رحلة طويلة، وسوف لن يعود لفترة طويلة." يمكن للطفل نتساءل لماذا هذا الشخص غادر دون أن يقول وداعا. في نهاية المطاف وقال انه يدرك الأب لا يعود، ونشعر ان هناك شيئا انه لم يتسبب الأب إلى ترك.
  • "كان جون المرضى وذهبت الى المستشفى حيث توفي." والطفل في حاجة الى شرح عن "قليل" و "كبيرة" الامراض. خلاف ذلك، قد يكون في شدة الخوف إذا كان هو أو أي شخص يحب أن يذهب إلى المستشفى في المستقبل.

طرق لمساعدة الطفل من خلال حزنهم

كما هو الحال في جميع الحالات، فإن أفضل طريقة للتعامل مع الأطفال هو بصراحة. التحدث مع الطفل باللغة التي يفهمها. تذكر للاستماع إلى الطفل، ومحاولة فهم ما يقوله الطفل، وبنفس القدر من الأهمية، ما انه لا يقول. الأطفال في حاجة الى الشعور بأن الموت هو موضوع مفتوح وأنهم يستطيعون التعبير عن أفكارهم أو الأسئلة عند ظهورها.

ويمكن للكبار مساعدة في إعداد الطفل للتعامل مع الخسائر المستقبلية من أولئك الذين هم كبير من خلال مساعدة الطفل التعامل مع أصغر الخسائر من خلال تقاسم مشاعرهم عندما يموت حيوان أليف أو عند مناقشة الموت في قصة أو على شاشات التلفزيون.

في مساعدة الأطفال على فهم والتعامل مع الموت، تذكر أربعة مفاهيم أساسية هي: أن المحبة، يمكن قبولها أو نكون صادقين، وتكون متسقة.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
جريفين سانت مارتن / سانت. مارتن برس. www.stmartins.com
© 1994، 2011 بواسطة McCue كاثلين مع بون رون


وقد تم تكييف هذا المقال بإذن من كتاب:

كيفية مساعدة الأطفال من خلال مرض الأم الشديد: داعمة، ونصائح عملية من أخصائي الطفل الحياة الرائد
- بواسطة MACCLS McCue كاثلين مع بون رون.

كيفية مساعدة الأطفال من خلال مرض الأم الشديدمراجعته وتحديثه، وهذه الطبعة الجديدة ويستكشف أيضا القضايا الرئيسية والتطورات من خلال العقد الماضي التي تؤثر على الأطفال اليوم، بما في ذلك المخاطر والفرص التي تتيحها شبكة الإنترنت، فهم أعمق لكيفية أمراض وراثية تؤثر على الأطفال، وتأثير النمو في البلاد المتفجرة في الأسر ذات العائل الواحد، ورؤى جديدة في كيفية صدمة الأسرة ومرض أحد الوالدين النفسية قد تؤثر على الأطفال.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.


حول المؤلف

كاثلين MCCUE، MA، CCLSرائدة كاثلين MCCUE، MA، CCLS والرعاية والعلاج للأطفال وشددت من قبل مرض أحد الوالدين الخطيرة في عيادتها الشهير واللعب في مؤسسة كليفلاند كلينيك. أسست بعد ذلك ويستمر في توجيه برنامج للأطفال في مكان التجمع، ومركز تقديم الدعم للأسر لمسها من قبل السرطان، في كليفلاند. ويستند هذا الكتاب على حياتها من الخبرة في هذا المجال التي ساعدت في خلق.

RON BONNRON بون، على جائزة إيمي ثلاث مرات الفوز الصحفي التلفزيوني، ويعلم الآن الصحافة في جامعة سان دييغو. من 1960 إلى 2000 رون بون بمثابة منتج منتج والتنفيذية لسي بي اس نيوز، ان بي سي نيوز، وغيرها، بما في ذلك خمس سنوات مع منتج كبير من "وشبكة سي بي اس الاخبارية المسائية مع والتر كرونكايت"، وإنشاء برامج مثل "الكون"، والعلم مجلة للتلفزيون.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Facing Death: How Children React to the Death of a Parent

Facing Death: How Children React

Facing Death: How Children React

The way your children react to the prospect of a parent's death is going to surprise you, the well parent. And not all the surprises are going to be pleasant.

Remember that a child's world is absolutely centered on himself. Only as we grow toward adulthood do we gain the ability to see through others' eyes, walk the mile in someone else's moccasins.

The important thing to remember, as your children begin to look toward the future, is that every family is unique, and every child will respond in his own way. There are no hard-and-fast rules as to what is the proper response and what isn't; there are only guidelines. And the first guideline is that the child works outward from his own needs.

The Question: "Why?"

At some point, your children will ask it: Why?

I've dealt with families of every denomination: Families that believe in a joyous afterlife and families that believe in none; Jewish families who tell me a loved one lives on in the people who loved her, and Buddhists who explain reincarnation to me and their children. Sometimes, if a child asks me, "Why?" I will turn the question around and ask, "What do you think? Why does God do the things He or She does?"

Usually, I find that children have some beginnings of an explanation, based on what they've learned at home, and at church, and in life.

Dealing with Your Children's Fury and Despair

You must be prepared to deal with fury and despair. Children have told me, "I think God is terrible, and I don't want to believe in God anymore." I acknowledge that, tell them, "It sounds like you're really angry at God, like you really blame God for all this." And I suggest that, after a while, the child talk it out with the family priest, minister, rabbi, or counselor.

Sometimes children just want to lash out, and I tell them, "I understand how mad you must be, not only at God, but everybody you think had anything to do with why your mom is dying—the doctors, the nurses, the other driver, the car-maker, the cigarette company..."

Usually I find that children will give in to their feelings and then leave the need for explanation behind them. "Life is unfair." And that's fine; it's useful for them. And there really is no final explanation for why we ebb and flow as we do.

How Children Grieve: Processing the Loss

Facing Death: How Children React

If you were to come to my office at this point, I would give you a little essay called "The Grief of Children." It was written by Susan Woolsey, of the Maryland SIDS Information and Counseling Project, and it's the best short summary I've found about how children process the terrible tragedy of a parent's death and how the surviving parent can help them through.

[Editor's Note: The rest of this article is a section of the aforementioned essay by Susan Woolsey.]

EXPLANATIONS THAT MAY NOT HELP: FACTS OR FICTION?

Outlined below are explanations that adults may give a child hoping to explain why a person she loved has died. Unfortunately, simple but dishonest answers can only serve to increase the fear and uncertainty that the child is feeling.

Children tend to be very literal — if an adult says that "Grandpa died because he was old and tired" the child may wonder when he too will be too old; he certainly gets tired — what is tired enough to die?

  • "Grandma will sleep in peace forever." This explanation may result in the child's fear of going to bed or to sleep.
  • "It is God's will." The child will not understand a God who takes a loved one because He needs that person Himself. Or "God took him because he was so good." The child may decide to be bad so God won't take him too.
  • "Daddy went on a long trip and won't be back for a long time." The child may wonder why the person left without saying good-bye. Eventually he will realize Daddy isn't coming back and feel that something he did caused Daddy to leave.
  • "John was sick and went to the hospital where he died." The child will need an explanation about "little" and "big" sicknesses. Otherwise, he may be extremely fearful if he or someone he loves has to go to the hospital in the future.

WAYS TO HELP CHILDREN THROUGH THEIR GRIEF

As in all situations, the best way to deal with children is honestly. Talk to the child in a language that he can understand. Remember to listen to the child and try to understand what the child is saying and, just as important, what he's not saying. Children need to feel that the death is an open subject and that they can express their thoughts or questions as they arise.

Adults can help prepare a child to deal with future losses of those who are significant by helping the child handle smaller losses through sharing their feelings when a pet dies or when death is discussed in a story or on television.

In helping children understand and cope with death, remember four key concepts: be loving, be accepting, be truthful, and be consistent.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
St. Martin's Griffin/St. Martin's Press. www.stmartins.com
©1994, 2011 by Kathleen McCue with Ron Bonn


This article was adapted with permission from the book:

How to Help Children Through a Parent's Serious Illness: Supportive, Practical Advice from a Leading Child Life Specialist
-- by Kathleen McCue M.A. C.C.L.S. with Ron Bonn.

How to Help Children Through a Parent's Serious IllnessFully revised and updated, this new edition also explores the major issues and developments from the last decade that affect children today, including the dangers and opportunities of the Internet, a deeper understanding of how hereditary diseases affect children, the impact of the nation's explosive growth in single-parent families, and new insights into how family trauma and a parent’s mental illness may affect children.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


About the Authors

KATHLEEN MCCUE, M.A., C.C.L.S.KATHLEEN MCCUE, M.A., C.C.L.S. pioneered the care and treatment of children stressed by a parent’s grave illness in her renowned clinic and playroom at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation. She then founded and continues to direct the children’s program at The Gathering Place, a support center for families touched by cancer, in Cleveland. This book is based on her lifetime of experience in the field she helped create.

RON BONNRON BONN, a three-time Emmy Award winning television journalist, now teaches journalism at the University of San Diego. From 1960 to 2000 Ron Bonn served as producer and executive producer for CBS News, NBC News, and others, including five years as senior producer of "The CBS Evening News with Walter Cronkite" and creation of such programs as "Universe," the science magazine for television.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}