وهكذا تستمر الحياة: صعود وهبوط تجربتنا

وهكذا تستمر الحياة عن طريق ماري تي راسل

بينما كان يتحدث إلى أحد الأصدقاء الذي تم مؤخرا "فقدت" واحدة عزيزة على الموت، تذكرت أننا أحيانا لا تشعر بالراحة حول مثل هذه الحالات. أفكار يأتي: "؟ ماذا أقول كيف يمكن جعل هذا الشخص يشعر على نحو أفضل هل الأفضل أن يتكلم أو أن تكون صامتة"

أتذكر أنه عندما كان عمري 20 عامًا ، عندما مات والداي في حادث سيارة ، شعرت حقًا بالسعادة عندما لم أكن أتذكر غيابهم - أعرف أن هذا قد يبدو واضحًا ، ولكن فكر في الأمر. عندما نتحدث عن شيء ما ، فإنه يأخذ وعينا بالكامل ، ويضع نغمة تجربتنا بأكملها.

الشعور بالأسف على نفسي

الأوقات التي كنت فيها عالقة في الاكتئاب كانت الأوقات التي شعرت فيها بالأسف على نفسي ولم أبدو قادراً على التفكير في أي شيء آخر سوى خسارتي. لم أتقدم إلى المرحلة حيث أتذكرهم بالحب والامتنان والذكريات السعيدة. كنت ما زلت في مرحلة "المسكين لي" ، لذا فكرت فيها ، أو تذكري بها ، فقط أخرجت الدموع ، وليس الابتسامات والذكريات العزيزة.

كانت هناك أيام أو لحظات أخرى عندما كنت أعيش في عالم من المتعة والجمال أستمتع بالحاضر. شعرت مرة أخرى بحب الحياة وسأخرج لمقابلتها براحة البال ، دون التركيز على خسارتي. ثم يأتي شخص ما ، بالطبع ، بحسن نية ، سيقول "أوه ، أنا آسف حقًا لخسارتك ..." وما إلى ذلك. أود مرة أخرى أن أسقط طول موجة "الشعور بالسعادة" وإلى أحد من "الشعور بالحزن والأسف على نفسي".

أتذكر أنني كنت أكره تلك المواقف ... لدرجة أنني ابتعدت عن مجتمعنا من أجل البدء من جديد دون كل هذه التذكيرات المؤلمة. (في تلك الأيام ، كان الهروب هو دوائي المفضل).

الآن ، بالطبع ، أرى بوضوح أكبر أنني لم أتمكن بعد من مواجهة والتعامل مع العواطف التي ظهرت في داخلي بعد وفاة والدي ... الغضب والحزن والذنب والألم والرفض والتخلي وفقدان السيطرة ... وبعبارة أخرى ، كانت جميع أشيائي قادمة - ولكن في ذلك الوقت لم أكن قد اكتشفت بعد الأدوات اللازمة لمعالجة كل هذه المسألة العاطفية واضطررت لمغادرة مسرح الجريمة (حتى الجاسوس!) من أجل شفاء جروحى.

لقد شعرت بالفعل وكأنني حيوان مصاب ، وبالتأكيد لم أقدر الناس الذين يريدون التفضل بالحفر في جرحي. فعلت ما تفعله الحيوانات عندما تؤذي ... تنفجر وحدها للراحة والشفاء. إنهم "لا يتسكعون مع العلبة" للتعاطف مع جرحهم ، بل يذهبون في عزلة للسماح للطبيعة بالذهاب إلى الشفاء.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تصبح مرتاحا مع مشاعر غير مريحة

وأنا أدرك أن نشعر بعدم الراحة في الكثير من الحالات الأخرى ليوم يوم. قد تكون لدينا مشاعر يأتي ذلك نحن لا نريد أن ننظر، أو أننا ببساطة لا نعرف كيف نرد. نحن غالبا ما تستجيب بالطريقة التي تعلمناها ... نحن نتعاطف، ونحن نقول "آه، أنت فقير" - ما إذا كان تناول التعليق لنا، أو لشخص آخر.

الاستجابة النموذجية عندما يكون شخص مريض ، يتحدث عن المرض ، أو عندما يذهب حبيبان بطريقتين منفصلتين ، نتحدث عن الانفصال ، أو أي موقف آخر عندما نتعاطف مع الموقف "السلبي" للآخر. نرد عادةً "بالتعاطف" ، مما يعني عادةً أننا نعلق بعض التعليقات على ما يعادل "مسكينك".

يعني التعاطف (وفقًا لـ Webster) مشاركة مشاعر الآخرين ... إنها ليست طريقة رائعة ومثيرة للتعامل مع الأحداث السلبية. لا يمكننا إخراج شخص من الخندق من خلال مشاركة محنته والدخول في الخندق بنفسك - ثم سنكون في الخندق ، وسنحتاج إلى شخص آخر "لإنقاذهم". لا يسعنا إلا أن نرفعهم من فوق.

هكذا أيضا مع خنادق عاطفية. لديك على البقاء في الخارج حتى تتمكن من مد يد المساعدة من خلال توسيع الحب والإلهام. والدخول في شبق نفسك مع "تعاطفه" بالتأكيد لن يجعل الشخص الآخر يشعر على نحو أفضل. فإنها قد فقط في نهاية المطاف شعور أسوأ من ذلك بكثير عندما كنت أتفق معهم أنهم في الواقع في وضع رهيب، مما يضيف الزيت على النار ... تبادل الأفكار على طول "الفقراء لكم" الخط، وcommiserating مع شخص على مدى سوء الأمور، لن بأي حال من الأحوال رفع أو الإلهام.

التعاطف ليس تعاطفًا

وأنا لا أشير إلى التعاطف الشعور، والذي هو مختلف تماما ... عندما كنا نتعاطف، ونحن "فهم ألم الآخر"، ولكن نحن لا ندخل في شبق معهم. التعاطف يسمح لنا للحصول على اتصال مع مشاعر لحظة، ويشعر ما يشعرون به، تصبح على بينة من خبراتهم، ومن ثم الاستجابة من مكان "العليا" في وعينا.

قد يكون علينا أن نفكر مرتين قبل أن ينطق تعاطف مبتذلة في مثل هذه الحالات، ونسأل أنفسنا بدلا من ذلك "ما هو الشيء الأكثر محبة أن تقوله وتفعله؟" كل حالة، كل لحظة مختلفة، لذلك قد لحظة واحدة أن تكون استجابة مختلفة تماما عن الاستجابة في اليوم التالي.

في بعض الحالات، وهو مطلوب رعاية عناق والسماح للأخرى للتعبير عن آلامهم وحزنهم. في أوقات أخرى، قد يكون أكثر حبا لعدم التحدث عن الوضع "سلبي" أو مؤلمة وبدلا من جلب بعض الفرح والضوء إلى الشخص "المنكوبة". قد يكون في الواقع عمل المحبة للغاية على الخروج ولعب التنس مع الشخص، وبذلك متعة في الحياة، بدلا من الدخول في التعاطف أو "الفقراء لكم" الإطار.

عندما نأخذ لحظة "للتناغم" والتفكير ، ونطلب من ذاتنا العليا الإلهام ، سيتم توجيهنا إلى الكلمات أو الإجراءات "الصحيحة". يجب أن تكون نيتنا هي الدعم والحب ، بأي طريقة تبدو مناسبة في الوقت الحالي.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ماري رسل هو مؤسس مجلة InnerSelf (تأسست 1985). إنها أنتجت أيضا واستضافت الأسبوعية جنوب فلوريدا وبثت الاذاعة، والسلطة الداخلية، من 1992-1995 التي ركزت على موضوعات مثل احترام الذات، ونمو الشخصية، والرفاه. مقالاتها تركز على التحول وإعادة الاتصال مع مصدر لدينا الداخلية الخاصة بها من الفرح والإبداع.

المشاع الإبداعي 3.0: تم ترخيص هذا المقال بموجب ترخيص Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0. صف المؤلف: ماري T. راسل ، InnerSelf.com. رابط العودة إلى المادة: ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على InnerSelf.com

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

لماذا الأقنعة مسألة دينية
لماذا الأقنعة مسألة دينية
by ليزلي دوروف سميث
ما الذي تريده؟
ما الذي تريده؟
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…
عندما يكون ظهرك مقابل الحائط
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
احب الانترنت. الآن أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم الكثير من الأشياء السيئة ليقولوها عن ذلك ، لكني أحب ذلك. مثلما أحب الناس في حياتي - فهم ليسوا مثاليين ، لكني أحبهم على أي حال.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 23 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
ربما يتفق الجميع على أننا نعيش في أوقات غريبة ... تجارب جديدة ، مواقف جديدة ، تحديات جديدة. ولكن يمكن أن نشجع على تذكر أن كل شيء في حالة تغير مستمر ، ...

And So Life Goes: The Ups and Downs of Our Experience

and so life goes by marie t russell

While speaking to a friend who has recently "lost"a dear one to death, I was reminded that we sometimes don't feel comfortable around such situations. The thoughts come up: "What do I say? How can I make that person feel better? Is it better to speak or to be silent?"

I recall that at 20 years of age, when my parents died in a car accident, I really felt happier when I was not remembering their absence -- I know this may seem obvious, but think about it. When we dwell on something, it takes up our whole consciousness, and sets the tone for our whole experience.

Feeling Sorry for Myself

The times when I was stuck in depression were the times when I felt sorry for myself and did not seem to be able to think of anything else but my loss. I had not progressed to the stage where I could remember them with love and gratitude, and happy memories. I was still in the "poor me" stage, so thinking about them, or being reminded of them, just brought out the tears, not the smiles and cherished memories.

There were other days or moments when I would be living in a world of pleasure and beauty enjoying the present. I once again felt in love with life and would go out to meet it with peace of mind, not focusing on my loss. Then someone would come along who, of course with good intentions, would say "Oh, I'm really sorry about your loss..." etc. I would once again drop off of the wavelength of 'feeling happy' and on to one of 'feeling sad and sorry for myself'.

I remember hating those situations... to the point where I moved away from our community in order to start anew without all these painful reminders. (In those days, running away was my medicine of choice.)

Now, of course, I see more clearly that I was not yet able to face and deal with the emotions that were coming up in me following my parent's death ...anger, sorrow, guilt, pain, rejection, abandonment, lack of control... In other words, all my stuff was coming up -- but at that time I had not yet discovered the tools to process all this emotional matter and had to leave the scene of the crime (so to spea!) in order to heal my wounds.

I did indeed feel like a wounded animal and certainly did not appreciate people kindly wanting to dig into my wound. I did what animals do when hurt... They go off alone to rest and heal. They don't "hang out with the pack" for sympathy for their wound, but rather go away in solitude to let nature take its healing course.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Becoming Comfortable with Uncomfortable Feelings

I realize that we feel uncomfortable in a lot of other day to day situations. We may have feelings come up that we don't want to look at, or we simply don't know how to respond. We often respond in the way that we have learnt... we sympathize, we say "Aah, poor you" -- whether the comment is addressed to us, or to someone else.

The typical response when someone is ill, is talking about the illness, or when two lovers go separate ways, we talk about the separation, or any other situation when we sympathize with the other's "negative" situation. We usually respond with "sympathy", which usually means we utter some comment to the equivalent of "poor you".

Sympathizing means (according to Webster) sharing another's feelings... It is not a very uplifting and positive way to deal with negative occurrences. We cannot get someone out of the ditch by sharing their plight and getting into the ditch yourself -- then we'll both be in the ditch, and will need someone else to "rescue" us. We can only help by lifting them out from above.

So also with emotional ditches. You have to stay on the outside so you can lend a helping hand by extending love and inspiration. Getting into the rut yourself with "sympathy" will certainly not make the other person feel better. They may just end up feeling much worse when you agree with them that they are indeed in a terrible situation, thus adding fuel to the fire... Sharing thoughts along the "poor you" line, and commiserating with the person on how bad things are, will not in any way uplift or inspire.

Empathy Is Not Sympathy

I am not referring to feeling empathy, which is quite different... When we empathize, we "understand the other's pain", but we don't get into the rut with them. Empathizing allows us to get in touch with the emotions of the moment, feel what they are feeling, become aware of their experience, and then respond from a "higher" place in our consciousness.

It might serve us to think twice before uttering trite sympathies in such situations, and instead ask ourselves "what is the most loving thing to do and say?" Each situation, each moment is different, so the response one moment may be entirely different than the response the next.

In some situations, a caring hug and allowing the other to express their pain and their grief is required. At other times, it may be more loving to not speak about the "negative" or painful situation and instead bring some joy and light to the "afflicted" person. It may be indeed a highly loving action to go out and play tennis with the person, bringing pleasure to their life, rather than get into a sympathy or "poor you" framework.

When we take a moment to "tune in" and reflect, and ask our Higher Self for inspiration, we will be guided to the "right" words or action. Our intention must be to support and love, in whatever way feels appropriate at the moment.

About The Author

Marie T. Russell is the founder of InnerSelf Magazine (founded 1985). She also produced and hosted a weekly South Florida radio broadcast, Inner Power, from 1992-1995 which focused on themes such as self-esteem, personal growth, and well-being. Her articles focus on transformation and reconnecting with our own inner source of joy and creativity.

Creative Commons 3.0: This article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 License. Attribute the author: Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com. Link back to the article: This article originally appeared on InnerSelf.com

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)