أروع رحلة: الموت والحزن والحب والدعم

أروع رحلة: الموت والحزن والحب والدعم

حان الوقت قصة (...)

رن جرس الهاتف. كانت والدتي. قد أيدا جدتي توقفت عن تناول الطعام. كنت أعرف ما يعنيه ذلك. وجدتي تحتضر.

كنت خائفة. كنت خائفة من الموت. كنت أخشى أن يكون معها عندما توفيت. كنت خائفة من الحزن على كل ما كان يحدث أن يشعر. وكنت خائفة من ألم الجميع، وأيضا.

كونها هناك بالنسبة لها

كنت أعرف أنني يمكن أن يبقى في ولاية كاليفورنيا والسماح لها يموتون دون لي، ولكن لا يستطيع أن يفعل ذلك. كما خائفا لأنني كنت، كنت أريد أن أمسك يدها وتكون هناك لبلدها.

كان في رحلة إلى كونيكتيكت أسرع إذا كنت قد أخذت عربة الآبار فارجو المهر. العاشرة والنصف من تلك الليلة أخذت سيارة أجرة إلى الحافلة، ثم الحافلة الى الطائرة، والطائرة إلى طائرة أخرى. حوالي ظهر اليوم التالي، وصلت في، ثلجي ذائب بوسطن المريرة الباردة، واشتعلت آخر أجرة في حافلة متجهة الى هارتفورد. حول 3: 30 مساء، اعترض والدي لي في محطة للحافلات هارتفورد مع عبارة "الجدة هي في حالة سيئة وقالت إنها قد لا تجعل من خلال اليوم".

وقفزت نحن في السيارة. "الطابق ذلك، يا أبي". كانت رحلة لمدة ساعة الى دار لرعاية المسنين، وأردت أن نصل الى هناك بأسرع ما نستطيع. شعرت بإحساس من الإلحاح. ومع ذلك، وسافرنا، بدأت أشعر باحساس مختلف. شعرت لم يكن لدينا على عجل. كنت ما زلت تشعر ويريد الوصول الى هناك بأسرع وقت ممكن، لكنني لم أشعر المحمومة. شعرت الهدوء.

في 4: 45 مساء، وصلنا إلى دار لرعاية المسنين، ولأن والدي سحب ما يصل الى مدخل لكنني قفزت من السيارة وركض أسفل المدخل إلى وحدة الجدة بلدي. أنا اقتحم غرفة. وكانت والدتي هناك، وابتسامة حلوة على وجهها. وكان لي الجدة إيدا توفي في 2: 10 أكثر من ساعتين في وقت سابق.

لا تغرق في حزنك

في السنة السابقة، وكنت قد قابلت باربارا برينان، مؤلف كتاب يد النور و الضوء الناشئة. وكان باربارا قال لي إذا كنت تحب شخصا ما يموت، في محاولة لتبقى مفتوحة وعدم الغرق في الحزن الخاص. الشخص الذي قد مات وغالبا ما يكون هدية كبيرة بالنسبة لك، ولكي يحصل ذلك يجب التزام الهدوء والانفتاح.

وفقا لباربارا، إذا كانت مغمورة لك الحزن، لا يمكن أن يتم استلام الهدية، وكان في الواقع المؤلم للذي قد مات ليس لتكون قادرة على إعطائها. باربارا تقاسمها مع لي كيف أنها تلقت هذه الهدية، وتدفق جميل من الحب، وضوء، والحكمة، من والدها عندما مر هو فوق.

لقد كنت واضحا - أردت أن تبقى مفتوحة لتلقي هدية جدتي. لم تكن جدتي انتقلت. وقالت انها لا تزال ترقد على السرير. بدا جسدها في سلام. شعرت بالسعادة لبلدها. كانت حرة. الآن أنها يمكن أن تكون مع والدتها وجميع الذين اجتازوا أكثر من الذي أحبت. وأنا أيضا، ورأى في السلام. ومكثت في النفس والكبار وقلبي المفعم بالمحبة.

فقدان الخوف من الموت

تذكرت المرأة في المجموعة قائلا: كم فاتها أن تكون قادرة على تلمس جدتها. أنا أميل أكثر وقبلها بلطف جبين جدتي ل. لم أكن خائفا. شعرت مثل هذا الحب الحلو في داخلي. وصلت عن طريق الأغطية وأمسك يدها. داعبت شعرها وطفلها لينة الجلد حتى تم تأمين الذاكرة في كياني.

تبحث في هيئة جدتي، وأدركت أنني كنت أبحث في قذيفة. تستخدم جدتي ليكون في ذلك. وكان الآن أنها ليست هناك. وكان جوهر جدتي في مكان آخر، وليس في ذلك قذيفة.

في تلك اللحظة، لقد فقدت خوفي مدى الحياة من الموت. كل سنة من الخوف - وكلاهما من الموت، ولها من كل ما له علاقة الموت - ذاب بعيدا. وكنت أعتقد عندما يقوم شخص ما مات، انه جمد في جسده، وكأنه ممثل فيلم التظاهر للقتل. هذا لم يكن ما رأيت. جدتي كانت ببساطة ليست في أن أي قذيفة لفترة أطول. لم يكن هناك في أنها جمدت. في الواقع، انها لم تكن في هناك على الإطلاق!

شعرت بإحساس عميق من الرهبة حول سر كل شيء الأبدية. تذكرت جدتي إيمان ثابت في الله. وفي هذه اللحظة شعرت أيضا الإيمان العميق بالله وعملية من جميع الكائنات الحية.

بلدي الجدة كان يعطيني هدايا كبيرة

تحدثت إليها. وكان من الغريب الحديث مع جسدها. لكن لم أكن أعرف أي مكان آخر في الغرفة لتبدو. فكنت إذا كانت لا تزال في غرفة، والتي افترضت أنها كانت، وقالت انها تفهم كنت أعرف أنها ليست في جسدها بعد الآن. في ذلك الوقت كان هو مكان مناسب بالنسبة لي للتركيز عيني. قلت لها إنني أحبها إلى الأبد، وأنها قامت بعمل عظيم في كونه أفضل الجدة في العالم.

كان متعهد دفن الموتى تنتظر في الردهة. كان بحاجة إلى اتخاذ الجسم وانتظرت حتى اللحظة الأخيرة لذلك يمكن أن يكون هناك. بدأت أمي عندما وصلنا الى المنزل، لأنها تخسر. وكانت تحتفظ قائلا: "لا أستطيع أن أصدق أمي قد ماتت، وأنا فقط لا يمكن أن أصدق ذلك." وأجبته: "هذا لأنها ليست كذلك. لا اعتقد انها ماتت، واعتقد انها على قيد الحياة أكثر من ذي قبل." يمكن أن أشعر به. كنت أعرف ذلك. شعرت أن حبها بشدة. وكانت جدتي الحرة.

وبقيت في نفسي بالغ، وإعطاء الدعم ومطمئنة، والتحدث والاستماع والمشاركة. ثم توجه والدي وأنا إلى مخزن لالتقاط بعض محلات البقالة. في السيارة وكنت آمل أننا سوف يستمر الحديث عن مشاعرنا. بدلا من ذلك، تراجعت والدي في الحديث عن العلامات التجارية من الآيس كريم يحب أو يكره وفريقه لكرة السلة لديك.

كنت أعرف والدي أحب جدتي. لم أستطع أن أتخيل كيف انه ذاهب للتو، وعلى نحو كل هذه الامور التافهة كما لو كان قد حدث شيء. ثم أدركت كل شخص يتعامل مع الحزن بشكل مختلف. حسنا، يا أبي، دعونا نتحدث عن Fudgesicles.

تقاسم الحب والدعم

في اليوم التالي في جنازة، وطلب لي أربع سنوات من العمر سام ابن أخ لي إذا كانت قديمة. قلت له أنني كنت فقط قليلا من كبار السن من بابا له. وقال: "لا، ليس هذا ما أعنيه. هل أنت كبار السن والمرضى والذهاب للموت؟" أنا بالارتياح له. "لا، وسام، وأنا لست كذلك."

لقد فقدت عدة مرات قبل الجنازة التي، فإنه أيضا. أخذت أختي في القانون، روكسان، يدي وضغط ذراعي بيدها الأخرى. ورأى أن دعم قوي.

كما شعرت آخر موجة من الحزن، أنا أميل إلى والدي. وضع ذراعه حولي وقال: "أنا أحبك، والعسل". ورأى أنه جيد جدا ليشعر حبه والدعم، أيضا.

بدأ أحد الأطفال للاستيلاء على يدي والبديل. يصرف طاقة طفل لعوب لي من شعور الحزن بلا حول ولا قوة. وضعها ابتسامة على وجهي. أدركت كان هناك العديد من الطرق للشفاء.

وكان في جنازة المحبة وحميمة: مع والدي إجراء. وإن لم يكن رسميا حاخام، على مر السنين والدي الذي هو أحد علماء الكتاب المقدس، وأجرى في كثير من الأحيان الخدمات للجالية اليهودية في مسقط رأس والدي. قرأ الصلوات المناسبة، تحدث عن حماتها في منهم من قال انه يعتز، وبعد ذلك دعا التجمع حميم من العمات والأعمام وأبناء العمومة، والأحفاد لتبادل كذلك.

كما كل واحد منا منعطفا الحديث، يا عمة شيرلي، في أسلوبها جوان ريفرز "من التسليم، وقال:" والدتي ودعا لي دائما، وهاريت لها اثنين من الماس، وهي لا تحتاج الى أي مجوهرات أخرى. كنا الأحجار الكريمة لها. وعندما الاطفال استخدامها لندف لي في المدرسة، واتصل بي الدهون، وقالت انها تريد أن تخبرني أنه كان لأنها كانت كل غيور ".

كان لجدتي نظرا الكثير من الحب للجميع في عائلتها عن طريق الغذاء. حساء الدجاج مع كرات خبز فطير، والكبد المفروم، ورقائق البطاطا، محشوة الهنغارية الملفوف - لا يمكن لأحد أن ينافس خبرتها في المطبخ. وقالت انها كانت طباخا الهائل الذي كان قد سعداء في رؤية الخدود ممتلئ الجسم من شخص ما جيدا بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي.

كان لدينا نكتة في الأسرة. إذا قال شخص ما جدتي وجهها تبدو جيدة، وهذا يعني من جانب بقية المعايير في المجتمع، لانها في حاجة للذهاب على نظام غذائي. أعتقد أنها تحب الطبخ وخاصة بالنسبة لي لأنني كنت مسواك رقيقة عندما كنت صغيرا.

على الرغم من أنها كانت تعيش في حالة من الفقر لسنوات عديدة، كانت قد دعت دائما الفقراء لتناول الطعام مع العائلة. كانت واحدة من هؤلاء الناس الذين لديهم نوع خاص من القلب.

ضحك الجميع في قصة عمتي. وكانت جدتي بالتأكيد "Yiddishe ماما" وكان ذلك ما يمكن أن توضع على شواهد القبور لها: "إيدا Fourman، زوجه الحبيب، Yiddishe ماما"

هدية الحب الغير مشروط وهبة الايمان

قلت حول العديد من الهدايا التي تلقيتها من جدتي، بما في ذلك هدية من الحب غير المشروط وهبة الإيمان. لقد تحدثت عن تجربتي يجري معها بعد وفاتها، وكيف فقدت خوفي من الموت بسبب ذلك. وتحدثت عن كيف تتطلع إلى التواصل معها من خلال أحلامي أو بأي وسيلة كانت تأتيني.

كنت أرغب كثيرا في التخفيف من آلام الشعب التي تم جمعها. كنت أريد أن يعرف الجميع أنه كان حسنا أن تموت، وأنها آمنة، وليس هناك حاجة للخوف من الموت. ثم أدركت كل ما استطعت فعله كان نصيب تجربتي الخاصة. ان كل شخص دمج خبراتها وتفعل بالضبط ما يلزم القيام به لأنفسهم.

وبعد أسبوع، سمع أختي في القانون الخاص بي لمدة أربع سنوات من العمر سام ابن أخ يتحدث إلى أصدقائه في مرحلة ما قبل المدرسة. سام قال لهم: "حزموا عظيم لي، الجدة في مربع حانوكا كهدية لهاشم (الله)".

في كل عام لحانوكا، بالبريد والدي علبة كبيرة من اللعب إلى ألاباما لالأحفاد بهم. ويجب أن شهدت سام والنجمة اليهودية على التابوت واستنتج أن النعش كان "مربع حانوكا". كنت أحب عن جزء كبير بين الجدة كونها "هبة من الله". حصلت سام على حق.

ما وسيلة لعرض فقدان أحد أفراد أسرته - التي يجري تقديمها إلى الله كهدية. انها واحدة من أكثر العبارات رائعة وجميلة سمعت من أي وقت مضى. صورة "التعبئة الجدة الكبرى" يجعل ابتسامة قلبي وأنا متأكد من جدتي قد حصلت على الضحك جيدة للخروج منه أيضا.

فكرت كيف كانت قلقة من جدتي يموتون من أجل ما يقرب من ثلاثين عاما. تذكرت مرة عندما كانت في السبعينات من عمرها في وقت مبكر، والتفكير أنها كانت تحصل على القديم وشعرت بالرعب من فقدان لها. كنت أتساءل من سيكون معي. والذين يحملون وراحة لي عندما الحدث المروع الذي حدث؟

بعد مرور عشر سنوات من قبل، فكرت ماذا عن كل شخص كنت قد تم في علاقة مع أن تكون واحدة من اجل اراحة لي عندما ماتت. كما كل علاقة انتهت، على أمل عقد ومواساتهم من قبل أن شريك خاص انتهت كذلك.

هدية لا تقلق

وفاة جدتي وكيف كان رد فعل لأنه لم يلعب خارج كما كنت أخشى أو المتوقع. لم أكن قد يحتاج أي شخص إلى عقد لي. والمثير للدهشة، لقد كنت المعزي الذي يمكن أن يكون هناك لأمي، وغيرها.

أنا لا يمكن أن توقع هذه النتيجة. كان ما كان، وحدث ذلك على النحو الذي حدث. مرة أخرى، تذكرت كلام جدتي - "إذا كان بوسعي أن أعطيك هدية واحدة، انها ستكون هدية لا داعي للقلق ما العمل لا تقلق، mamaleh انه سوف يعمل كل خارج."

وأتطلع إلى التواصل معها. أنا صورتها محاطة بالحب وأتصور الله قائلا لها: "العمل بصورة جيدة، وإيدا. قمت به بشكل جيد". أنا صورتها حرة، سعيدة، وعلى قيد الحياة تماما.

تعلمت ليس هناك فقدان الحب في الكون. يجوز للهيئة تموت، ولكن الروح أبدا. جوهر الوجود، وروح، ويمضي. وحيث كان هناك مرة واحدة الحب، وسيكون هناك دائما الحب. دائما.

الحب تطول وتطول وتطول.

خطوات إلى السعادة الآن!

  1. ازمة على مدار الساعة.

  2. في حين مرة الحزن الشديد لخسارة، كنت على الهاتف يتحدث مع والدتي. بكاء هستيري، قلت لها. "أنا لا أعرف كيف انا ذاهب الى الحصول من خلال ذلك اليوم." لن أنسى أبدا استجابة لها. "مجرد الحصول من خلال ساعة المقبلة، وإذا كنت لا تستطيع أن تفعل ذلك، ثم تحصل فقط من خلال الدقيقة التالية."

  3. لاحظ الجمال.

  4. حتى عندما يشعر الحياة لا تطاق، والطيور لا يزال الغناء والزهور ما زالت تنمو. اغتنام كل الفرص التي يمكن أن نلحظ والجمال المحيطة بك. فهو يساعد. الاستماع الى الطيور. يرح رائحة جميلة من الزهور. تلمس نعومة من الحجر.

  5. التركيز على ما هو أبدي.

  6. خلال خسارة الأخيرة، وقال مارك لي صديق لي، "والآن هو الوقت المناسب للحصول على اتصال مع ما هو الخالدة. يشعر الشمس على وجهك. كن مع الجبال والمحيطات، والأشجار". المشي في الطبيعة. لأنها تساعدنا على التواصل مع تلك التي تطول وتطول وراء أفكارنا المسبقة بشري.

  7. أن يكون حقيقيا.

  8. انه يعطي الآخرين إذن أن تفعل الشيء نفسه.

آخر مرة بينما الحزن، وبدأت تتحدث إلى رجل يجلس بجواري على متن طائرة. امتد أنا الدموع تتساقط، أحشاء بلدي لهذا غريب مجموع وتخمين ما؟ بسبب عمق المشاركة، قمنا بتطوير صداقة خاصة جدا. وكان ذلك قبل عامين. وقال مؤخرا قال لي أنه بسبب الصدق لي والضعف، وقال انه شعر دائما آمنا للتعبير عن كل ما هو هذا الشعور أيضا.

المادة المصدر:

كربي إلى سعيد بواسطة Peyser راندي. كربي لسعيد: خطوات صغيرة لالسعادة كبيرة الآن!
بواسطة راندي Peyser.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر، العجلة الحمراء / Weiser، عيد م. ©2002. www.redwheelweiser.com

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.

عن المؤلف

روحانية

راندي Peyser هو رئيس التحرير السابق للقوات المسلحة من الحفاز، وهو مواطن مجلة العصر الجديد. لديها عرض على امرأة واحدة في سان فرانسيسكو ودعا كربي إلى سعيد، وخلالها وقالت انها تجد نفسها اعتقل من قبل "شرطة الفكر" لكونه سجينا من أفكارها الخاصة، ويدور، والعجلة من يخطأ "وترقص في" شقرا، وهم يرددون، تشا تشا ". زيارة راندي في www.crappytohappy.com

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

A Most Magnificent Journey: Death, Grief, Love and Support

Spirituality

A Most Magnificent Journey: Death, Grief, Love and Support

IT'S STORY TIME...

The phone rang. It was my mom. My grandmother Ida had stopped eating. I knew what this meant. My grandma was dying.

I was afraid. I was afraid of death. I was afraid to be with her when she died. I was afraid of all the grief I was going to feel. And I was afraid of everyone else's pain, too.

Being There For Her

I knew I could stay in California and let her die without me, but I couldn't do that. As frightened as I was, I wanted to hold her hand and be there for her.

The journey to Connecticut would have been faster if I had taken the wells Fargo pony wagon. At ten-thirty that night I took a taxi to the bus, then the bus to a plane, and the plane to other plane. Around noon the next day, I arrived in slushy, snowy, bitter-cold Boston and caught another cab to a bus headed to Hartford. Around 3:30 P.M., my father intercepted me at the Hartford bus station with the words, "Grandma is in bad shape. She might not make it through today."

We jumped in the car. "Floor it, Dad." It was an hour's trip to the nursing home and I wanted to get there as quickly as we could. I felt a sense of urgency. However, as we drove, I started to feel a different sensation. I felt we didn't have to hurry. I was still concerned and wanted to get there as quickly as possible, but I didn't feel frantic. I felt calm.

At 4:45 P.M., we arrived at the nursing home, and as my father pulled up to the entrance, I jumped out of the car and ran down the hallway to my grandma's unit. I burst into the room. My mom was there, a sweet smile on her face. My grandma Ida had died at 2:10 more than two hours earlier.

Do Not Drown in Your Grief

The previous year, I had interviewed Barbara Brennan, author of Hands of Light and Light Emerging. Barbara had told me if someone you love dies, try to stay open and not drown in your grief. The person who has died often has a great gift for you, and in order to receive it you must remain calm and open.

According to Barbara, if you were overwhelmed by grief, the gift couldn't be received and it was actually painful for the one who had died not to be able to give it. Barbara shared with me how she had received this gift, a beautiful flow of love, light, and wisdom, from her father when he passed over.

I was clear -- I wanted to stay open to receive my grandmother's gift. My grandma had not been moved. She was still lying on the bed. Her body looked at peace. I felt happy for her. She was free. Now she could be with her mother and all who had passed over whom she loved. I, too, felt at peace. I stayed in my adult-self and my heart filled with love.

Losing the Fear of Death

I recalled the woman in the group saying how much she missed being able to touch her grandmother. I leaned over and gently kissed my grandma's forehead. I was not afraid. I felt such a sweet love inside me. I reached through the covers and held her hand. I stroked her hair and her baby-soft skin until the memory was locked in my being.

Looking at my grandma's body, I realized I was looking at a shell. My grandma used to be in it. And now she was not there. The essence of my grandma was somewhere else, not in that shell.

In that moment, I lost my lifelong fear of death. All the years of fear -- both of her dying and of anything related to death -- melted away. I used to think when someone died, he was frozen in his body, like a movie actor pretending to be killed. That was not what I saw. My grandma simply was not in that shell any longer. She wasn't frozen in there. In fact, she wasn't in there at all!

I felt a profound sense of awe about the mystery of everything eternal. I remembered my grandmother's steady faith in God. And in this moment I also felt a deep faith in God and in the process of all living things.

My Grandma Was Giving Me Great Gifts

I talked to her. It was strange talking to her body. However I didn't know where else in the room to look. I figured if she was still in the room, which I assumed she was, she would understand I knew she wasn't in her body anymore. At the time it was a convenient place for me to focus my eyes. I told her I loved her forever and that she had done a great job at being the best grandma in the world.

The mortician was waiting in the hallway. He needed to take the body and had waited till the last minute so I could be there. When we reached home, my mom started to lose it. She kept saying, "I can't believe my mother is dead. I just can't believe it." And I replied, "That's because she isn't. I don't think she's dead, I think she's more alive than before." I could feel it. I knew it. I could feel her love so strongly. My grandma was free.

I stayed in my adult self, giving support, comforting, talking, listening, sharing. Then my dad and I headed to a store to pick up some groceries. In the car I was hoping we would continue talking about our feelings. Instead, my father plunged into a conversation about brands of ice-cream he liked or disliked and his favorite basketball team.

I knew my father loved my grandmother. I couldn't fathom how he was just going on and on about all this trivial stuff as though nothing had happened. Then I realized everyone handles grief differently. Okay, Dad, let's talk about Fudgesicles.

Sharing Love and Support

The next day at the funeral, my four-year-old nephew Sam asked me if I was old. I told him I was just a little older than his daddy. He said, "No, that's not what I mean. Are you old and sick and going to die?" I comforted him. "No, Sam, I'm not."

A few times before the funeral started, I lost it too. My sister-in-law, Roxane, took my hand and squeezed my arm with her other hand. The support felt solid.

As I was feeling another wave of sadness, I leaned into my father. He put his arm around me and said, "I love you, honey." It felt so good to feel his love and support, too.

One of the kids started to grab my hand and swing. The playful kid energy distracted me from the feeling of helpless grief. It put a smile on my face. I realized there were many ways to heal.

The funeral was loving and intimate: with my father conducting. Although not officially a rabbi, over the years my Dad who is a biblical scholar, has often conducted services for the Jewish community in my parent's hometown. He read the appropriate prayers, spoke about the mother-in-law whom he treasured, and then invited the intimate assembly of aunts, uncles, cousins, and grandchildren to share as well.

As each of us took a turn talking, my Aunt Shirley, in her Joan Rivers' style of delivery, said, "My mother always called me and Harriet her two diamonds. She didn't need any other jewels. We were her gems. And when the kids used to tease me in school and call me fat, she'd tell me it was because they were all jealous."

My grandmother had given lots of love to everyone in her family through food. Chicken soup with matzo balls, chopped liver, potato flakes, Hungarian stuffed cabbage -- no one could rival her expertise in the kitchen. She had been a phenomenal cook who had delighted in seeing the plump cheeks of someone well-fed.

We had a running joke in the family. If my grandmother told someone her face looked good, that meant by the rest of society's standards, she needed to go on a diet. I think she especially liked cooking for me because I was toothpick thin when I was young.

Although she had lived in poverty for many years, she had always invited poorer people to eat with the family. She was one of those people who had a special kind of heart.

Everyone laughed at my aunt's story. My grandmother was definitely a "Yiddishe Mama" and that was what would be put on her tombstone: "Ida Fourman, Beloved Wife, Yiddishe Mama."

The Gift Of Unconditional Love and The Gift Of Faith

I told about the many gifts I had received from my grandmother, including the gift of unconditional love and the gift of faith. I spoke about my experience of being with her after she died, and how I lost my fear of death because of it. And I spoke about how I looked forward to communicating with her through my dreams or in whatever way she comes to me.

I wanted so much to ease the pain of the people gathered. I wanted everyone to know it was okay to die, that it was safe, and there was no need to fear death. Then I realized all I could do was share my own experience. Each person would integrate their experience and do exactly what they needed to do for themselves.

A week later, my sister-in-law overheard my four-year-old nephew Sam talking to his friends at preschool. Sam told them, "They packed my great-grandma in a Chanukah box as a gift to HaShem (God)."

Every year for Chanukah, my parents mailed a big box of toys to Alabama for their grandkids. Sam must have seen the Jewish star on the coffin and deduced that the casket was a "Chanukah box." I loved the part about great-grandma being a "gift to God." Sam got it right.

What a way to view the loss of a loved one -- that they are being presented to God as a gift. It's one of the most brilliant and beautiful statements I've ever heard. The image of "packing great grandma" makes my heart smile and I'm sure my grandma has gotten a good laugh out of it too.

I thought about how I had worried about my grandmother dying for nearly thirty years. Back when she was in her early seventies, I remembered thinking she was getting old and I was terrified of losing her. I wondered who would be with me. Who would hold and comfort me when the dreaded event happened?

As the years went by, I thought about how each person I had been in relationship with would be the one to comfort me when she died. As each relationship ended, the hope of held and comforted by that particular partner ended as well.

The Gift of Not Worrying

My grandmother's death and how I reacted to it never played out as I had feared or expected. I hadn't needed anyone to hold me. Surprisingly, I was the comforter who could be there for my mom and others.

I could not have predicted this outcome. It was what it was, and it happened the way it happened. Once again, I remembered my grandmother's words -- "If I could give you one gift, it would be the gift not to worry. Things work out. Don't worry, mamaleh. It'll all work out."

I look forward to communicating with her. I picture her surrounded by love and I imagine God saying to her, "A job well done, Ida. You've done well." I picture her free, happy, and quite alive.

I learned there is no loss of love in the universe. The body may die, but never the soul. The essence of being, the spirit, goes on. And where there has once been love, there always will be love. Always.

Love goes on and on and on.

Steps to Happiness NOW!

  1. Crunch the clock.

  2. Once while intensely grieving a loss, I was on the phone talking with my mother. Crying hysterically, I told her. "I don't know how I'm going to get through the day." I'll never forget her response. "Just get through the next hour, and if you can't do that, then just get through the next minute."

  3. Notice beauty.

  4. Even when life feels unbearable, the birds still sing and the flowers still grow. Take every opportunity you can to notice the beauty surrounding you. It helps. Listen to the birds. Smell the beautiful scent of the flowers. Touch the smoothness of a stone.

  5. Focus on that which is eternal.

  6. During a recent loss, my friend Mark said to me, "Now is the time to get in touch with that which is Eternal. Feel the sun on your face. Be with the mountains, the ocean, the trees." Walk in nature. It helps us to connect with that which goes on and on beyond our mortal preconceptions.

  7. Be real.

  8. It gives others permission to do the same.

Another time while grieving, I started talking to a man sitting next to me on a plane. Tears falling, I spilled my guts to this total stranger and guess what? Because of the depth of sharing, we developed a very special friendship. That was two years ago. Recently he told me that because of my honesty and vulnerability, he has always felt safe to express whatever he's feeling, too.

 Article Source:

Crappy to Happy by Randy Peyser. Crappy to Happy: Small Steps to Big Happiness NOW!
by Randy Peyser.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher, Red Wheel/Weiser, LLC. ©2002. www.redwheelweiser.com

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.

 About the Author

Spirituality

Randy Peyser is the former editor-in-chief of Catalyst, a national new age magazine. She has a one-woman show in San Francisco called Crappy to Happy, during which she finds herself arrested by the "Thought Police" for being a prisoner of her own thoughts, spins 'The Wheel of Faulting" and dances the "Chakra-Chanting-Cha-Cha." Visit Randy at www.crappytohappy.com

Spirituality
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}