قبول الموت: تطوير الشعور الدائم بالسلام

قبول الموت: تطوير معنى دائم للسلام

حيث يمكن لنوعية الحياة للشخص يموتون تتأثر تأثرا إيجابيا التفاعلات مفتوحة ونزيهة، لا بد من أن كل واحد منا - المهنية والعلمانيين على حد سواء - تبدأ في تفكيك مؤامرة الصمت التي مكفن الموت لفترة طويلة، والعمل على تحويل خوفنا والحرمان إلى المعرفة والقبول.

طريقة واحدة قوية للبدء في وفاة التفاهم هو لتعكس بوعي على ذلك. مجرد الجلوس بهدوء والتفكير في الموت لمدة دقيقة. انها ليست سهلة! بعد ان نفى ذلك لفترة طويلة، ونحن لا يمكن ان تساعد ولكن يجدون صعوبة في تصور الموت على الإطلاق. ماذا تبدو مثل الموت؟

الموت أمر لا مفر منه

واحد إدراك أهمية واضحة يمكن ان يأتي الى النور عند التفكير في الموت هو أن الموت أمر لا مفر منه. الوقت سيأتي الموت غير مؤكد، إلا أنه سيصل لا يمكن دحضه. سيكون كل شيء وكل شخص على قيد الحياة الآن يوم واحد يكون قد مات. هذا الاعتراف - لا يمكن أن الموت يمكن التغلب عليها - يضرب ضربة قاضية إلى أسطورة من اليقين. تفكر في احتمال الموت يجلب الفورية إلى اللحظة الراهنة، وفجأة واقعا مختلفا جدا يمكن أن تتكشف.

من خلال هذه العملية من المزيد من التفكير، وزيادة الوعي وفاة تحدث في نهاية المطاف ويمكن وضعها على وجود الهدوء في مواجهة الموت. كثير من الناس يموتون بشكل عفوي وطبيعي جدا تحول تركيزها بعيدا عن مشاكل الدنيا وتصبح المعنية بدلا من ذلك مع تساؤلات حول معنى وهدف الحياة - التحقيق التي يمكن أن تكون ملهمة، فضلا عن تنشيط. كما ستيفن ليفين يقول: "كثير من الناس يقولون انهم لم تكن على قيد الحياة وذلك في الوقت الذي يموتون". بالنسبة لأولئك الأطباء والممرضين والأحباب، والأصدقاء الذين هم قادرين على البقاء منفتح وجريئة في مواجهة الموت، ويمكن أن روابط قوية بشكل غير عادي من الحب والتفهم تطوير بينها وبين الشخص الذي يموت.

التفكير في معتقداتك والمخاوف حول وفاة

للأسف، على الرغم من أن معظم الناس قد لا تنعكس على معتقداتهم والمخاوف حول وفاة، وبالنسبة لهم قد يكون من الصعب جدا، إن لم يكن مستحيلا، أن تظل دون حراسة، وفتح عند التعامل مع شخص يموتون. الخوف والقلق تلوث تبادل ويمكن أن تسد احتمال وجود صلة حقيقية القلبية، وخصوصا عندما أحداث غير متوقعة أو غير عادي يحدث. على الرغم من أن بعض الناس لا تواجه أحداثا غير عادية حول الموت، الكثير من القيام به، وانها لذلك من المهم أن نعترف إمكانية حدوث مثل هذه الأمور، وتعلم كيفية تقبلها بعقل مفتوح.

تجربة غير عادية عن وفاة

وكان لي تجربة غير عادية عندما كازو، رجل مسن اليابانية، استدعاني إلى جواره فقط قبل وفاته. وكان كازو السرطان وكان يحتضر في البيت، محاطا بعائلته المحبة: زوجة وأختين، وأربع بنات. وقد زرته مرتين في الأسبوع لتقييم عقاقير مضادة للألم، ومساعدة أسرته مع المشاكل. وأنا وضعت كازو فهم تتجاوز الروتين اليومي للإدارة الحالة، ويوم واحد قال لي بصوت خافت السرية، "وقتي ليموت قريبا." وقال أيضا أنه كان يخشى أن يترك لأنه لا يريد أن يخيب آمال زوجته والأخوات الذين كانوا يخططون باستمرار مستقبله معه، ومذكرا له: "الصيف المقبل، وكازو، نذهب الى لاس، نعم؟"

عفويا، همست في أذن كازو، ويقول "هل تسمي لي عندما حان الوقت للذهاب. أنا سوف تسمع ويأتي ومساعدتك." أنا شككت على الفور في ذهني حساسية من وعد من هذا القبيل. كيف يمكن أن يحدث؟ ويمكن كازو ولا حتى استخدام الهاتف. بعد ذلك بيومين، بينما كنت تتحول الى موقف للسيارات في مستشفى الملكة في هونولولو في طريقي إلى 9: أنا 00 صباحا الجلسة، استمع بوضوح صوت ينادي اسمي: "مارجي" فكرت انه لحظة ولكن بعد ذلك حققت ما يصل الى الاجهاد أو حقيقة انني حقا لا تريد لحضور الاجتماع. ثم سمعت صوت مرة أخرى وشعرت بالتأكيد كان لكازو. لقد غيرت مسار بسرعة وتوجهوا إلى منزله. كانت النساء فوجئت جدا لرؤيتي منذ لم يكن مقررا أن آتي في ذلك اليوم. "كيف كازو؟" سألت. "أوه، ودفع غرامة"، أجاب زوجته، "كان لديه بعض الشاي لتناول الافطار."


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ذهبت إلى السرير كازو، حيث كان يرقد مغلقا عينيه. بدا متعبا جدا، وانه لا تنظر في وجهي، ولكن تقلص بهدوء يدي وأنا انزلق عليه في بلده. أضع أصابعي بلطف عبر معصمه. وكان له نبض واهن وسريع. قال بهدوء أنا "، كازو، سمعت أنك سوف يتصلون بي وأنا هنا الآن إذا كنت تريد أن تذهب كل شيء الحق؛.. أنا سوف تساعد النساء لا بأس إذا كنت ترغب في ترك". كما تحدثت، أصبحت دقات نبض له أكثر عدم انتظام، ثم توقفت. أنا صدمت تماما، وهم في حالة ذهول. وذهب!

لحظات عدة فكرت في ما هو الدور الذي كنت قد لعبت في وفاته من خلال حثه على مغادرة البلاد. ثم جاء الأخوات وراء وسألني كيف كان. توقفت أنا غير قادر على تسجيل عمق ما حدث، لوقت، واستيعاب عن وسيلة لإعدادهم. فقلت له: "أنا وهو يزداد ضعفا. لا اعتقد انه في حالة جيدة." بدأت الشقيقتين البكاء، وبعد ذلك جاء غيرهم من أفراد الأسرة في غرفة وقفت يمسك بعضها البعض بالقرب من الباب. صرخت زوجته: "من فضلكم لا تموت، وكازو. أوه، من فضلك لا تترك لنا!" بعد حوالي خمس دقائق طويلة، وقلت بصوت عال: "اذهب بسلام، كازو، والمرأة هنا أحب كل ما عليك بما يكفي للسماح لك أن تذهب في سلام نسمع كيف هادئ في غرفة أصبحت". والبكاء تضاءلت، والنساء تجمعوا أنفسهم جنبا إلى جنب مع الكرامة النبيلة التي تناسب كازو المحبوب. كما كل واحد منا يعمل بصمت من خلال واقع مذهل من الموت، ونحن شكلية عابرة كازو من قبل الاستحمام جسده بالماء المعطر، وخلع الملابس وسلم في بعض من الملابس المفضلة لديه.

ما وراء الواقع من التفكير العادي من الموت

قبول الموت: تطوير معنى دائم للسلامتجارب مثل هذه واحدة مع كازو يذكرني بأن ما وراء حقيقة ما يسمى التفكير العادي وعادة دنيوية، وهو عالم متعال من التجربة الداخلية موجود ويمكن أيضا أن تكون معروفة. لقد علمتنا الحوادث لا يمكن تفسيره من هذا القبيل في وقت وفاة شخص ما لي للحفاظ على بعقل متفتح وموقف أكثر قبولا. تجاهل، خصم، أو pathologize أحداث غير عادية وغامضة يسد الباب أمام فهم أعمق. على ان تبقى مفتوحة لهم - وجميع callings الداخلية - يسمح في عملية الشفاء تتكشف.

في الممارسة التمريضية لي أنا شخصيا لاحظت إما أو سمعت عن المئات من الأحداث المحيطة الموت التي لا يمكن تفسيرها من خلال التفكير التقليدي - ومضات خاطفة من البصيرة، لحظات وجيزة من فهم واضح من القوة بحيث أنها تغير نقطة الشاهد وجهة نظر عميقة. وكان لي مثل هذه التجربة عندما أفضل صديق لي، كاثرين، لقوا حتفهم.

وكانت كاثرين في حادث سيارة بينما كنا في الكلية والتي خلفت مشلول لها حتى ذلك الوقت ان وفاتها، بعد عشر سنوات. طوال حياتها طويلة وتعرض للتعذيب في كثير من الأحيان بعد وقوع الحادث، تدوير كاثرين مرات عديدة خلال المراحل الخمس من الموت حددت أصلا من قبل كوبلر روس: إنكار، والغضب، والمساومة، والاكتئاب، والقبول. لحسن الحظ، كانت عائلة كاترين قادرة على توفير لها مع كل المساعدات المادية المطلوبة انها في حاجة: والديها وأضاف جناح ضخم وحمام عائق إلى وطنهم وتوظيف بدوام كامل الحضور.

عاش كاثرين هناك لعدة سنوات في حين انها ناضلت مع المعنى من القيود المفروضة عليها حديثا. بناء على طلبها عشت هناك أيضا، في الانتقال إلى مدرسة للتمريض في مدينة سان فرانسيسكو. بعد خمس سنوات، بعد أنا وزوجي قد تزوج، وكان لدينا طفلان، بنينا، بالإضافة إلى استوديو منزلنا في ابتوس بحيث كاثرين يمكنه ان يبقى معنا، وعندما حالتها المادية كانت لا تزال قوية، وانها جاءت في كثير من الأحيان.

كنت أخاف من مواجهة الموت

بعد سنوات قليلة من الزيارة التي قامت بها الأخيرة، ودعا شقيق كاثرين لي يوم واحد ليقول أن كاثرين كانت "يبتعد". وأنا مندهش، وقال "ماذا تقصد" يبتعد "؟ قال لي أنه لم يعد للسرطان كانت قد وضعت في مثانتها ترد أو التي تسيطر عليها الآن أن العلاج الكيميائي وكانت الانزلاق في غيبوبة. وقال أيضا إن كانت قد طلبت مني عدة مرات، وأنني يجب أن تأتي لترى حقها بعيدا. كان من الصعب بالنسبة لي أن توافق على الذهاب إليها في تلك الليلة. كانت رحلة طويلة، ولكن في الحقيقة كنت خائفة من مواجهة الموت كاترين. لم أكن أعرف ماذا أقول لها، وأنا لا نريد أن نرى ليموت. ماذا لو ماتت حق عندما كنت هناك؟ ماذا أفعل؟

كممرضة كان من المفترض أن يعرف ماذا يفعل حول الموت، ولكن، في تلك المرحلة، لم أكن. لم أتمكن من النوم في تلك الليلة، ودعا البيت كاترين في وقت مبكر من صباح اليوم التالي. أجاب أخيها الهاتف وقال لي ان المشرحة اتخذت جسدها بعيدا فقط قبل ساعة. "ماتت؟" أنا لاهث. "سوف أكون هناك."

يقود سيارته عبر جسر البوابة الذهبية إلى المشرحة، تذكرت شقة رائعة على تلة تلغراف التي كنا قد المشتركة مرة واحدة مع اثنين من أصدقاء آخرين. لو كنا جميعا في المدرسة الإعدادية معا، وأصبحت بعد ذلك الأخوات سكن جامعي للطالبات في جامعة كاليفورنيا بيركلي. وتركزت حياتنا الاجتماعية على الطرفين، والملابس، والزواج. نحن أبدا النظر بجدية في أن الموت لن يكون أبدا جزءا من حياتنا. الآن، بعد مرور عشر سنوات فقط، وكانت كاثرين الميت. كنت أتساءل لماذا لم أكن قد سارع لرؤيتها في الليلة السابقة في حين كانت لا تزال على قيد الحياة، بدلا من التسرع لرؤيتها الآن، عندما ذهبت بالفعل هي.

قريبا كنت أنتظر بعصبية في غرفة خاصة من المشرحة - والدة كاترين قد أعطاني الإذن لعرض الجثة. سمعت شخصا اخرين من المعدن، ومن ثم فتح الباب ومتعهد دفن الموتى بعجلات في هيئة عقد محفة كاترين رايات. بعد ان غادر، وأنا رفعت بحذر الورقة التي غطت وجهها بلا حراك. 1/2 وأغلقت عينيها. نظروا غائم والجافة. وبدا انفاسها الأخيرة من إغلاقه، لشنق مسموع تقريبا في مجموعة من فمها. حاربت للحفاظ على من البكاء، وحلقي في حدود ضيقة في ألم. يميل أكثر ويحدق في وجهها، ورأيت الدموع تنهمر من عيني ضرب الجرانيت الأزرق والأبيض من خدها ولفة على نحو سلس، مثل قطرات المطر أسفل التمثال، إلى ورقة أدناه. وقفت هناك الذهول.

متصلة ومترابطة مع كل شيء

يجري مع كاثرين من هذا القبيل بعد أن لقوا حتفهم نقل البيانات إلى مسافة أبعد من حدود تفكيري التقليدية الخاصة. أدركت أن الألم التي تجتاح صدري كما كنت قد بحثت في جثتها وكان الظل الغامق من إحساس نفسي من الخسارة. انها، من جهة أخرى، كانت حرة أخيرا من الحدود المادية والشلل الذي قد احتفظ لها مقفل في موقف واحد لفترة طويلة.

شعرت وجودها في الغرفة. كانت هناك، شعرت، ولكنها لم تعد جزءا من جثة الصامتة التي اعتادت ان تكون كاثرين. أنا قبلت لها المثلج الشفاه، وشكر لها لتدريس لي الكثير عن الصداقة والحب، والخوف على الحياة والتغيرات المستمر. على الرغم من المؤسف للغاية لأنه لم يكن حاضرا جسديا خلال لحظات كاترين الماضي، حيث وقفت هناك مراقبة على جثتها بعد الموت، وشعرت أنني شرفت مع وجهة نظر واضحة بشكل مثير للدهشة من اتساع عدم الثبات. شعرت متصلة ومترابطة تماما مع كل شيء. وكانت في الماضي والمستقبل، والموت، والحياة كلها موجودة في آن واحد.

على الرغم من أننا طويل للغاية لديمومة، الموت يعلمنا مع وضوح مذهل أنه لم يعثر على أثر. عندما يموت الأحباء، مرور وجودهم المادي من العالم يفرض الحساب مع حتمية وفيات والتغيير. مرة بعد مرة، والتذكير تظهر ما كان مرة واحدة ولكنه لم يعد - منامة المتوفى بأنهم وراء هذا تعرقل، أو قبعة يشق بلا مبالاة إلى الجزء الخلفي من خزانة، أو مذكرة كتب على قطعة من الورق تكوم. بعد وفاة شخص لم يعد ماديا في العالم، لم يعد لها وجود فعلي في مجرى الأحداث.

الموت مؤلم على الإقرار وصعوبة القبول

الموت مؤلم للاعتراف به ويصعب القبول به ، ولكنه أيضا النتيجة الطبيعية والطبيعية للحياة. الموت هو المصير المشترك الشامل لكل شيء يعيش ، وهو المعلم الأقوى لحالة عدم اليقين في الحياة والتواجد الكلي في عدم الثبات.

إذا استطعنا أن نفتح أنفسنا بشجاعة على هذه الحقائق ، فيمكننا في نهاية المطاف أن نطور إحساسًا دائمًا بالسلام - والأهم من ذلك ، يمكننا تقديم مساعدة حقيقية للآخرين.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
Shambhala Publications Inc. © 2002، 2003.
http://www.shambhala.com


مقتبسة من هذه المادة:

ممر مقدس: كيفية توفير الرعاية الشريرة والشفقة للموت
بواسطة مارجريت Coberly، Ph.DRN

مقدس المروروتشمل المواضيع: كيف يمكن للمرضى المستقيميين أن يعانوا من الشفاء العاطفي والروحي حتى عندما لا يستطيعون الشفاء * لماذا كان تركيز الطب الغربي بلا هوادة على علاج المرض قد أدى إلى عدم كفاية الرعاية للموت * ماذا تتوقع خلال عملية الموت؟ الحرمان من الموت تضر بالوفاة * تقنيات لمساعدة مقدمي الرعاية في الترويج لبيئة سلمية للموت وأحبائهم * كيفية تلبية الاحتياجات الجسدية والعاطفية المتغيرة للموت * نصائح مفيدة حول ماذا تقول وكيف تتصرف حول المرضى المستقيميين . معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب.


عن المؤلف

مارغريت كوبرلي مؤلف قبول الموت

وكانت مرجريت COBERLY، دكتوراه، RN، وهي ممرضة لأكثر من ثلاثين عاما، والعمل في مراكز صدمة داخل المدن والأماكن في المستشفيات. وهي حاصلة على شهادة الدكتوراه في علم النفس ومحاضرات في جامعة هاواي. الدكتور Coberly هو أيضا مرب ممرضة ويعمل مديرا للبحث والتطوير في دار العجزة هاواي في هونولولو. وهي مؤلفة من "مقدس المرور".

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Acceptance of Death: Developing a Lasting Sense of Peace

Acceptance of Death: Develop a Lasting Sense of Peace

Since the quality of life for a dying person can be positively influenced by open and honest interactions, it is imperative that all of us -- professional and lay people alike -- begin to dismantle the conspiracy of silence that has enshrouded death for so long, and work to transform our fear and denial into knowledge and acceptance.

One powerful way to begin understanding death is to consciously reflect on it. Just sit quietly and think about death for a minute. It's not easy! Having denied it for so long, we can't help but find it difficult to imagine death at all. What does death look like?

Death Is Inevitable

One important and obvious realization that can come to light when thinking about death is that death is inevitable. The time death will come is uncertain, but that it will arrive is irrefutable. Everything and everyone now alive will one day be dead. This recognition -- that death cannot be overcome -- strikes a fatal blow to the myth of certainty. Contemplating the prospect of death brings immediacy to the present moment, and suddenly a very different reality can unfold.

Through the process of further reflection, a greater awareness of death occurs and eventually a calm presence in the face of death can be developed. Many dying people quite spontaneously and naturally turn their focus away from worldly problems and become concerned instead with questions about the meaning and purpose of life -- an investigation that can be inspirational as well as enlivening. As Stephen Levine says, "Many people say that they have never been so alive as at the time they are dying." For those physicians, nurses, loved ones, and friends who are able to remain open-minded and unafraid in the face of death, unusually strong bonds of love and understanding can develop between them and the person who is dying.

Reflect On Your Beliefs and Fears About Death

Unfortunately, though, most people have not reflected on their own beliefs and fears about death, and for them it can be very difficult, if not impossible, to remain unguarded and open when interacting with a dying person. Fear and anxiety contaminate the exchange and can block the possibility of a real, heartfelt connection, especially when unexpected or unusual events occur. Although some people do not experience extraordinary events around death, many do, and it's therefore important to acknowledge the possibility of such occurrences and learn to accept them open-mindedly.

An Extraordinary Experience About Death

I had an extraordinary experience when Kazu, an elderly Japanese man, summoned me to his bedside just prior to his death. Kazu had cancer and was dying at home, surrounded by his loving family: a wife, two sisters, and four daughters. I visited him twice a week to assess pain medications, and to assist his family with problems. Kazu and I developed an understanding that went beyond the daily routine of case management, and one day he told me in a confidential whisper, "My time to die is soon." He also said that he was afraid to leave because he did not want to disappoint his wife and sisters who were constantly planning their future with him, and reminding him, "Next summer, Kazu, we go to Vegas, yeah?"

Spontaneously, I whispered into Kazu's ear, "You call me when it is time to go. I will hear you and come and help you." I immediately questioned in my own mind the sensibility of such a promise. How could it happen? Kazu couldn't even use a phone. Two days later, as I was turning into the parking lot of the Queen's Hospital in Honolulu on my way to a 9:00 A.M. meeting, I distinctly heard a voice call out my name: "Margie." I considered it for a moment but then chalked it up to stress or the fact that I really didn't want to attend the meeting. Then I heard the voice again and definitely felt it was Kazu's. I quickly changed course and drove to his house. The women were very surprised to see me since I wasn't scheduled to come that day. "How is Kazu?" I asked. "Oh, fine," his wife replied, "he had some tea for breakfast."


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


I went to Kazu's bedside, where he lay with his eyes closed. He seemed so tired, and he did not look at me, but softly squeezed my hand as I slipped it into his. I lay my fingers gently across his wrist. His pulse was faint and rapid. Softly I said, "Kazu, I heard you calling me. I am here now. If you want to go it's all right; I will help the women. It's okay if you want to leave." As I spoke, the beats of his pulse became more erratic, and then they stopped. I was completely shocked, dazed. He was gone!

For several moments I thought about what role I might have played in his death by encouraging him to leave. Then the sisters came up behind me and asked how he was. Unable to register the profundity of what had happened, I stalled for time, grasping for a way to prepare them. I said, "He is getting weaker. I don't think he is doing well." The two sisters began weeping, and then the other family members came into the room and stood clutching one another near the door. His wife wailed, "Please don't die, Kazu. Oh, please don't leave us!" After about five long minutes, I said out loud, "Go in peace, Kazu; the women here all love you enough to allow you to go in peace. Hear how quiet the room is becoming." The crying diminished, and the women gathered themselves together with a noble dignity that suited their beloved Kazu. As each of us silently worked through the startling reality of death, we ritualized Kazu's passing by bathing his body with perfumed water and dressing him in some of his favorite clothes.

Beyond the Reality of Ordinary Thinking of Death

Acceptance of Death: Develop a Lasting Sense of PeaceExperiences such as this one with Kazu remind me that beyond the so-called reality of ordinary thinking and mundane habit, a transcendent realm of inner experience exists and can also be known. Such inexplicable occurrences at the time of someone's death have taught me to maintain an open mind and a more accepting attitude. To ignore, discount, or pathologize unusual and mysterious events forecloses the door to deeper understanding. To remain open to them -- and all inner callings -- allows the healing process to unfold.

In my nursing practice I have either personally observed or heard about hundreds of events surrounding death that cannot be explained by conventional thinking -- fleeting flashes of insight, brief moments of clear understanding so powerful that they alter the witness's point of view profoundly. I had such an experience when my best friend, Catherine, died.

Catherine had been in an automobile accident while we were in college that left her quadriplegic until the time that she died, ten years later. Throughout her long and often tortured life following the accident, Catherine cycled many times through the five stages of dying originally identified by Kubler-Ross: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. Fortunately, Catherine's family was able to provide her with all the required physical assistance that she needed: her parents added a huge suite and a handicap bathroom to their home and hired full-time attendants.

Catherine lived there for several years while she struggled with the meaning of her newly imposed limitations. At her request I lived there too, commuting to nursing school in San Francisco. Five years later, after my husband and I had married and had our two children, we built a studio addition to our house in Aptos so that Catherine could stay with us, and when her physical condition was still strong, she came often.

I Was Afraid of Facing Death

A few years after her last visit, Catherine's brother called me one day to say that Catherine was "drifting away." I was startled and said, "What do you mean 'drifting away'?" He told me that the cancer she had developed in her bladder could no longer be contained or controlled by chemotherapy and that now she was slipping into unconsciousness. He also said that she had asked for me several times, and that I ought to come to see her right away. It was difficult for me to agree to go to her that night. It was a long drive, but really I was afraid of facing Catherine's death. I didn't know what I would say to her, and I did not want to see her die. What if she died right while I was there? What would I do?

As a nurse I was supposed to know what to do around death, but, at that point, I didn't. I was unable to sleep that night and called Catherine's home early the next morning. Her brother answered the phone and told me that the mortuary had taken her body away just an hour ago. "She died?" I gasped. "I will be right there."

Driving across the Golden Gate Bridge to the mortuary, I remembered the wonderful apartment on Telegraph Hill that we had once shared with two other friends. We had all been in prep school together and had then become sorority sisters at UC Berkeley. Our social lives were focused on parties, clothes, and marriage. We never seriously considered that death would ever be part of our lives. Now, just ten years later, Catherine was dead. I wondered why I hadn't hurried to see her the night before while she was still alive, instead of rushing to see her now, when she was already gone.

Soon I was waiting nervously in a special room of the mortuary -- Catherine's mother had given me permission to view the corpse. I heard the clanging of metal, and then the door opened and the mortician wheeled in the gurney holding Catherine's draped body. After he left, I cautiously lifted the sheet that covered her motionless face. Her eyes were half shut. They looked cloudy and dry. Her last breath seemed to linger, to hang almost audibly in the set of her mouth. I fought to keep from crying, and my throat constricted in pain. Leaning over and gazing at her, I saw tears from my eyes hit the blue-white granite of her cheek and smoothly roll, like raindrops down a statue, to the sheet below. I stood there transfixed.

Connected and Interrelated with Everything

Being with Catherine like that after she had died transported me to a space beyond the confines of my own conventional thinking. I realized that the pain gripping my chest as I looked at her corpse was the dark shadow of my own sense of loss. She, on the other hand, was finally free from physical boundaries and the paralysis that had kept her locked in one position for so long.

I felt her presence in the room. She was there, I sensed, but no longer a part of the silent corpse that used to be Catherine. I kissed her ice-cold lips and thanked her for teaching me so much about friendship, love, and the uncertainty of life and its constant changes. Though deeply regretful for not having been physically present during Catherine's last moments, as I stood there observing her body after death, I felt graced with an amazingly clear view of the vastness of impermanence. I felt entirely connected and interrelated with everything. Past, future, death, and life were all present at once.

Although we deeply long for permanence, death teaches us with stunning clarity that it is nowhere to be found. When loved ones die, the passage of their physical presence from the world forces a reckoning with the inevitability of mortality and change. Time after time, reminders appear of what once was but is no longer -- the deceased's pajamas lying behind the hamper, or a hat carelessly shoved to the back of the closet, or a note scribbled on a crumpled piece of paper. Yet the dead person is no longer materially in the world, no longer a physical presence in the stream of events.

Death is Both Painful to Acknowledge and Difficult to Accept

Death is both painful to acknowledge and difficult to accept, but it is also the natural and normal outcome of life. Death is the universally shared destiny of everything that lives and is the most powerful teacher of the uncertainty of life and the omnipresence of impermanence.

If we can courageously open ourselves to these truths, we can eventually develop a lasting sense of peace -- and, most importantly, we can be of real assistance to others.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Shambhala Publications Inc. ©2002, 2003.
http://www.shambhala.com


This article is excerpted from:

Sacred Passage: How to Provide Fearless, Compassionate Care for the Dying
by Margaret Coberly, Ph.D. R.N.

Sacred PassageTopics include: How the terminally ill can experience emotional and spiritual healing even when they can't be cured * Why Western medicine's relentless focus on curing disease has led to inadequate care for the dying * What to expect during the dying process How our fear and denial of death harm the dying * Techniques to help caregivers promote a peaceful environment for the dying and their loved ones * How to meet the changing physical and emotional needs of the dying * Helpful advice on what to say and how to behave around the terminally ill. Info/Order this book.


About the Author

Margaret Coberly Author Of Acceptance of Death

MARGARET COBERLY, PH.D., R.N., has been a nurse for more than thirty years, working in inner-city trauma centers and in hospice settings. She holds a doctorate in psychology and lectures at the University of Hawaii. Dr. Coberly is also a nurse educator and works as the director of research and development at Hospice Hawaii in Honolulu. She is the author of "Sacred Passage".

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}