مواجهة الألم والحزن بقصد الشفاء

مواجهة الألم والحزن بقصد الشفاء
الصورة عن طريق كارين سميتس

النية هي القدرة على تقرير ما نريد تحقيقه ثم الشروع في تحقيق هذا الهدف. نحن نستخدم قوة النية في الأعمال والسياسة والتعليم. هل يمكننا استخدامه في شفاء آلامنا؟

عندما نحدد نيتنا للشفاء ، فإننا نلتزم بنسبة 100 في المائة لتحمل مسؤولية أفكارنا. نحن لا "نحاول" الاستماع إلى أفكارنا ، أو "نأمل" في الاستماع إلى أفكارنا ، أو "نرغب" في الاستماع إلى أفكارنا ، نحن فقط نفعل ذلك. حتى عندما لا ننجح ، ما زلنا نشارك في العملية. فقط ليس بنجاح في الوقت الراهن. كيف يمكننا بعد ذلك اختيار تلك الأفكار التي من شأنها أن تبقينا منفتحين على إطلاق تجاربنا والتحول الذي هو جوهر؟ من خلال "تحديد نيتنا".

هناك حالة وعي نسميها حالة الشاهد. في حالة الشهادة ، أو الوعي الموضوعي ، نبدأ في الاستماع إلى استعراض أفكارنا. نحدد نيتنا. نشاهد الأفكار تمر كما لو كنا نشاهد استعراضًا. نحن لا نمارس حكمًا نقديًا بشأن ما نفكر فيه ؛ نحن ببساطة نصبح بارعين في مشاهدة أفكارنا. نحن نتنصت على المحادثة الجارية في أذهاننا.

بعد فترة ، بدأنا في التعرف على بعض الأفكار التي تعزز الشعور بالرفاهية وكذلك الأفكار الأخرى التي تثير مشاعرنا وتزيد من حدة مشاعر القلق. هل نريد الكرب؟ احيانا الجواب نعم هل يمكننا حماية أنفسنا من الضياع في الكرب؟ هل يمكننا توفير حافظة للحياة لإخراجنا قبل أن نغرق؟ ماذا يفعل اختيار الألم لمساعدتنا في تحقيق نيتنا؟

بعد عامين ونصف من وفاة والدي ، قمت أنا وزوجي برحلة إلى هاواي. كانت المرة الأولى التي أزور فيها الجزيرة. عندما هبطنا ، شعرت بموجة من فقدان الأب تغمرني كما لم أشعر بها بعد. كل ما شعرت به هو كيف ذهب والدي. لقد صدمت من شدة هذه المشاعر وعدم توقعها. أخبرت بيل على الفور وتمشينا خارج المحطة. في المطر اللطيف الدافئ ، كان من السهل البكاء ، لأكون حاضرًا لما كنت أشعر به بصدق. مر من خلالي في وقت قصير جدا. ضمان المستقبل من خلال الحفاظ على الماضي.

ما الذي يتطلبه توخي اليقظة في لحظات الضياع ، حتى لا تغرينا درامانا ، ودموعنا؟ أحد مخاطر الحزن هو إمكانية التلوث. نحن نلوث صدق خسارة لحظة بأي خسارة أخرى لم ندمجها أو نعترف بها بعد. عندما ينزف حزن إلى آخر ، يمكننا أن نصبح منحلين في حزننا. نضيع في محيط من الحزن بدلاً من التفاوض على مدخل خسارة واحدة محددة.

ألم الخسارة

يمكن أن يكون ألم الخسارة ساحقًا. عندما نشعر بالألم ، يريد كل شيء فينا الإغلاق. في هذه العملية غالبًا ما نستبعد بالضبط ما نحتاجه. نحبس أنفسنا في الداخل مع الألم كما لو أن دخيلًا دخل منزلنا ، وبإغلاق الأبواب ومنع النوافذ ، نحبس أنفسنا بالداخل مع العدو. ولكن هل الألم هو "العدو" أم أنه موجود لتذكيرنا بأننا في خطر من نوع ما؟ الألم هو آلية التغذية الراجعة الحيوية. إنها هدية التطور التي تتيح لنا معرفة أن شيئًا ما خطأ ونحتاج إلى معرفة ماهيته. بدقة. إذا حددنا الألم في جانبنا نتيجة لكدمة وكان حقًا ملحقًا ممزقًا ، فنحن في مشكلة!


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


يتطلب اختراق أصول ألمنا فيما يتعلق بالخسارة قدرًا كبيرًا من الاهتمام والنية. لا نريد ببساطة التخلص من الألم من خلال التخدير الجسدي أو العاطفي حتى نواجه وجهًا لوجه مع ما يجب أن تخبرنا به. من خلال تكريم وجود الألم ، والاعتراف بملاءمة الألم ، والاستعداد لمواجهة الألم ، فإننا ننتبه إليه بطريقة تبدأ في السماح لنا بعلاقة معه. "ماذا؟" تسأل ، "هل لديك علاقة مع الألم؟" قد يبدو هذا جنونًا ، إلا أن الألم هو أحد الطرق المؤدية إلى المقدس.

المقدس هو المقدس. أن تكون مقدسًا هو أن تكون كاملاً. الألم والحب ليسا وجهين لعملة واحدة ، إنهما عملة واحدة. الحب هو المخاطرة بالألم ، ودعوة الألم إلى حياتنا. تأتي كلمة "شغف" من اللاتينية "يعاني". عندما نكون أكثر حماسًا ، سواء مع شخص أو فكرة ، فإننا نعاني من فقدان أنفسنا في شخص آخر. وعندما يتركنا هذا الآخر ، فإننا محرومون.

إن البديل عن اختيار الألم هو أن نسمح لأنفسنا أن نبقى منفتحين على الألم الذي ، في الواقع ، يكرم الحب. هناك فرق بين البقاء منفتحًا على الألم والانهيار في الألم. لهذا السبب يجب أن ننتبه لأنفسنا ونياتنا. ماذا ننوي أن نفعل بهذا الألم؟ كيف نستضيف هذه الخسارة؟ الأمر متروك لنا فيما إذا كنا نفقد أنفسنا في الخسارة أو ما إذا كنا نستخدم الخسارة كمسار لحكمة أعمق.

إذا كان جوهر الحياة هو الخسارة ، فإن الخسارة تأخذنا إلى جوهر الحياة. يضيع النصف الأول من الجملة حتى عندما نقول النصف الثاني. تضيع كل دقيقة مع مرور الوقت. الخلايا تموت ونحن نتحدث. يخبرنا المعلم البوذي ، ثيش نهات هانه ، أن الوردة في طريقها إلى أن تصبح قمامة وأن القمامة في طريقها إلى أن تصبح وردة.

إعارة الانتباه

الجهل ليس النعيم! ما لا نعرف أننا نفكر فيه ، يمكن أن يؤذينا. الخطوة الأولى في الشفاء هي الانتباه إلى ما يجذبنا إلى جانب أو آخر. في تلك اللحظات التي نكون فيها بمفردنا ولا نشارك بنشاط - ربما أثناء سفرنا من وجهة إلى أخرى ، أو أثناء انتظارنا في طابور في البنك ، أو في الانتظار على الهاتف ، أو في تأمل هادئ على الشاطئ أو في الغابة أو في المنزل - تدرب على الاستماع إلى الأفكار التي تدور في ذهنك. لاحظ تلك التي تتعافى وداعمة.

لاحظ تلك التي تسبب الألم والشك والخوف. التقط بلطف الأفكار التي لن تأخذك إلى حيث تريد أن تذهب. اقتلع الأفكار كما لو كانت أعشابًا ضارة في حديقتك. اقتلعهم بدون حكم أو غضب أو استياء لأنهم لا يخدمونك ولأنك تنوي الشفاء.

على سبيل المثال ، إذا وجدت نفسي أفكر في أنني لن أرى والدي مرة أخرى أبدًا ولاحظت حزنًا عميقًا ، فأنا أنتبه لما سيأتي بعد ذلك. إذا واصلت التعمق في الخسارة بطريقة أعاني منها أكثر فأكثر ، فإنني أتنفس بعمق. أعترف بالغياب الذي جلبه لي موته. لكنني أقر أيضًا بالعديد من الطرق التي ما زلت أشعر بها ، وأستمع إليه ، وأراه. في إحدى هذه اللحظات ، أدركت أنه على الرغم من وفاة والدي منذ أربع سنوات ، إلا أن حبي له استمر في النمو في ذلك الوقت. في كل يوم من أيام حياتي ، أصبح الحب الذي أحمله لأبي أكبر ، دون أن يعيقه غيابه المادي. أنا أحب هذا الفكر! لم يخبرني أحد من قبل أن "تنمية" الحب الذي نتمتع به تجاه شخص ما لا يعتمد على كونه على قيد الحياة جسديًا. لم يكن بإمكاني الوصول إلى هذه الفكرة لو كنت قد واصلت التعمق أكثر فأكثر في معاناتي في غيابه. في نيتي تكريم حضوره وليس غيابه.

من خلال الانتباه إلى نيتنا ، نلتزم بأن نكون حاضرين وقلوبنا مفتوحة ، مما يسمح بحرية الحركة للمشاعر. نحن نقاوم التعلق بشعور أو مقاومة لشعور آخر. دعهم يأتون ويذهبون. يطلب الحزن أن نكون حاضرين تمامًا في أفكارنا ثم نختار ، بمسؤولية ، تلك الأفكار التي تحترم العلاقة التي نحزن عليها.

© 1998. طبع مع إذن.
نشر من قبل مؤسسة شيفا. www.goodgrief.org

المادة المصدر:

يا للعجب: الشفاء من خلال الظل من الخسارة
بواسطة كورييل ديبورا موريس.

الحزن وجيه: الشفاء من خلال الظل من الخسارة ديبورا موريس كورييل.ببطء وبلاغة ، تقود بيدك إلى العديد من الكنوز في قاع بئر الحزن. على طول الطريق ، ستواجه تحديًا لتقبل كل خسارة - لرفض الدافع لتجنبها أو توقع زوالها بعد فترة زمنية محددة مسبقًا. سيتم حثك أيضًا على التوقف عن تصنيف ومقارنة خسائرك بخسائر الآخرين وبدلاً من ذلك احتضانها بالكامل. في هذه العملية ، ستجد أن الخسارة تحدث "لك" وليس "لك".

معلومات / كتاب طلب. متوفر أيضًا كإصدار Kindle.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ديبورا موريس كورييلوقد عملت ديبورا موريس كورييل في المجال الصحي لأكثر من 25 سنوات. حبلت ووجه برنامج الصحة / التعليم في مزرعة الوادي في توسون. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فقد نصح هي الأسر والأفراد في مواجهة مواقف الحياة كارثية. تحاضر ويؤدي البرامج في جميع أنحاء البلاد. هي الشريك المؤسس والمدير التنفيذي لمؤسسة شيفا، وهي منظمة غير ربحية تهدف إلى التعليم والدعم لتلك التي تتعامل مع الخسارة والموت. مؤسسة شيفا، 551 كوردوفا الثالثة. # 709، سانتا في، شمال البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​87501. 800-720-9544. www.goodgrief.org

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أحصل على القليل من المساعدة من أصدقائي

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 18 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نحن نعيش هذه الأيام في فقاعات صغيرة ... في منازلنا وفي العمل وفي الأماكن العامة ، وربما في أذهاننا ومع مشاعرنا. ومع ذلك ، نعيش في فقاعة ، أو نشعر وكأننا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 11 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الحياة رحلة ، وكما هو الحال في معظم الرحلات ، تأتي مع تقلباتها. ومثلما يتبع النهار دائمًا الليل ، تنتقل تجاربنا الشخصية اليومية من الظلام إلى النور ، ذهابًا وإيابًا. ومع ذلك،…
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 4 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
مهما كان ما نمر به ، فرديًا وجماعيًا ، يجب أن نتذكر أننا لسنا ضحايا لا حول لهم ولا قوة. يمكننا استعادة قوتنا لنحت طريقنا وشفاء حياتنا روحياً ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 27 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إحدى أعظم قوة الجنس البشري هي قدرتنا على أن نكون مرنين ، وأن نكون مبدعين ، وأن نفكر خارج الصندوق. أن نكون شخصًا آخر غير ما كنا عليه بالأمس أو في اليوم السابق. يمكننا ان نغير...…
ما يصلح لي: "لأعلى خير"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...

Facing Pain and Grief with the Intention to Heal

Facing Pain and Grief with the Intention to Heal
Image by Karen Smits

Intention is the ability to decide what it is we want to achieve and then setting out to achieve that goal. We use the power of intention in business, politics, and education. Can we use it in healing our pain?

When we set our intention to heal, we make a 100 percent commitment to take responsibility for our thoughts. We don't "try" to listen to our thoughts, or "hope" to listen to our thoughts, or "wish" to listen to our thoughts, we just do it. Even when we're not succeeding, we're still engaging the process. Just not successfully in the moment. How can we then choose those thoughts that will keep us open to the unlayering of our experiences and to the transformation that is at the core? By "setting our intention".

There is a state of consciousness we call the witness state. In the witness state, or objective consciousness, we begin to listen to the parade of our thoughts. We set our intent. We watch the thoughts go by as if we were watching a parade. We don't exercise critical judgment about what we are thinking; we simply become adept at watching our thoughts. We are eavesdropping on the conversation going on in our minds. 

After a while we begin to recognize certain thoughts that promote a feeling of wellbeing as well as others that torque us and intensify feelings of anguish. Do we want the anguish? Sometimes the answer is yes. Can we protect ourselves from getting lost in the anguish? Can we provide a life preserver to get us out before we drown? What does choosing anguish do for helping us achieve our intention?

Two and a half years after the death of my father, my husband and I took a trip to Hawaii. It was my first time visiting the island. As we landed, I felt a wave of father-loss wash over me such as I had not yet felt. All I could feel was how gone my dad was. I was shocked by the intensity and the unexpectedness of these feelings. I told Bill immediately and we took a walk outside the terminal. In the warm gentle rain it was easy to weep, to be present for what I was honestly feeling. It passed through me in a very brief time. No more, and no less.

What does it take to be vigilant in moments of loss, so that we are not seduced by our own drama, our own tears? One of the dangers in grieving is the possibility of contamination. We contaminate the honesty of a moment's loss with any other loss that we have not yet integrated or acknowledged. When one grief bleeds into another, we can become promiscuous in our grieving. We get lost in an ocean of grief instead of negotiating the inlet of one specific loss.

The Pain of Loss

The pain of loss can be overwhelming. When we are in pain, everything in us wants to close down. In the process we often shut out precisely what we need. We lock ourselves inside with the pain as if an intruder has entered our home and, in locking the doors and barring the windows, we lock ourselves inside with the enemy. But is pain "the enemy" or is it there to remind us that we are in some kind of danger? Pain is a bio-feedback mechanism. It is a gift of evolution that lets us know something is wrong and we need to find out what it is. Accurately. If we identify the pain in our side as a result of a bruise and it is really a ruptured appendix, we are in trouble!


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


To penetrate the origins of our pain in relation to loss takes a great deal of attention and intention. We don't want to simply get rid of the pain through physical or emotional anesthetics until we have come face to face with what it needs to tell us. By honoring the presence of pain, by acknowledging the appropriateness of the pain, by being willing to face the pain, we pay attention to it in a way that begins to allow us to have a relationship with it. "What?" you ask, "have a relationship with pain?" Crazy as it might sound, pain is one path to the sacred.

The sacred is that which is holy. To be holy is to be whole. Pain and love are not two sides of the same coin, they are one coin. To love is to risk pain, to invite pain into our lives. The word "passion" comes from the Latin "to suffer". When we are most passionate, whether with a person or an idea, we suffer the loss of ourselves in another. And when that other leaves us, we are bereft.

The alternative to choosing anguish is to allow ourselves to stay open to the pain which, in effect, honors the love. There is a difference between staying open to the pain and collapsing in the pain. That is why we must pay attention to ourselves and our intention. What do we intend to do with this pain? How will we host this loss? It is up to us whether we lose ourselves in the loss or whether we use the loss as a path to deeper wisdom. 

If the very essence of life is loss, then loss takes us to life's essence. The first half of a sentence is lost even as we are saying the second half. Each minute, as it goes by, is lost. Cells are dying as we speak. The Buddhist teacher, Thich Nhat Hanh, tells us that the rose is on its way to becoming garbage and the garbage is on its way to becoming a rose.

Paying Attention

Ignorance is not bliss! What we don't know we are thinking, can hurt us. The first step in healing is paying attention to what pulls us to one side or another. In those moments when we are alone and not actively engaged -- perhaps as we travel from one destination to another, as we wait in line at the bank, or on hold on the telephone, or in quiet contemplation at the beach or in the woods or at home -- practice listening to the thoughts parading through your mind. Notice the ones that are healing, supportive.

Notice those that create pain, doubt, and fear. Gently pluck the thoughts that are not going to take you where you want to go. Pluck the thoughts out as if they were weeds in your garden. Pluck them out, without judgment, anger, or resentment because they don't serve you and because it is your intention to heal.

For instance, if I find myself thinking that I will never see my father again and I notice a profound sadness, I pay attention to what comes next. If I continue to deepen into the loss in such a way that I suffer more and more deeply, I take a deep breath. I acknowledge the absence that his death brings to me. But I also acknowledge the many ways in which I continue to feel him, hear him, see him. In one such moment, I come to realize that although my father has been dead for four years my love for him has continued to grow in that time. Each day of my life the love I have for my father has gotten bigger, unimpeded by his physical absence. I love that thought! No one had ever told me that "growing" the love we have for someone is not dependent upon their being physically alive. I could not have arrived at that thought if I had continued spiraling down deeper and deeper into my suffering at his absence. My intention is to honor his presence not his absence.

By paying attention to our intention we commit to being present with our hearts open, allowing the free movement of feelings. We resist being attached to one feeling or resistant to another. Let them come and go. Grieving asks that we be fully present in our thoughts and then to choose, responsibly, those thoughts that honor the relationship for which we grieve.

©1998. Reprinted with permission.
Published by The Shiva Foundation. www.goodgrief.org 

Article Source:

Good Grief: Healing Through the Shadow of Loss 
by Deborah Morris Coryell.

Good Grief: Healing Through the Shadow of Loss by Deborah Morris Coryell. Slowly and eloquently, you are lead by the hand to the many treasures at the bottom of the well of grief. Along the way, you will be challenged to embrace all loss -- to refuse the impulse to avoid it or expect it to go away after a preordained period of time. You will also be urged to stop grading and comparing your losses with those of others and instead to embrace them fully. In the process, you will find that loss happens "for" you, not "to" you.

Info/Order book. Also available as a Kindle edition.

About The Author 

Deborah Morris CoryellDEBORAH MORRIS CORYELL has worked in the health field for more than 25 years. She conceived and directed the Wellness/Education Program at Canyon Ranch in Tucson. In addition, she has counseled families and individuals confronted with catastrophic life situations. She lectures and leads programs throughout the country. She is co-founder and executive director of The Shiva Foundation, a non-profit organization dedicated to education and support for those dealing with loss and death. The Shiva Foundation, 551 Cordova Rd. #709, Santa Fe, NM 87501. 800-720-9544. www.goodgrief.org

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: October 18, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
These days we are living in mini-bubbles... in our own homes, at work, and in public, and possibly in our own mind and with our own emotions. However, living in a bubble, or feeling like we are…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 11, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Life is a journey and, as most journeys, comes with its ups and downs. And just like day always follows night, so do our personal daily experiences go from dark to light, and back and forth. However,…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 4, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Whatever we are going through, both individually and collectively, we must remember that we are not helpless victims. We can reclaim our power to carve our own path and to heal our lives, spiritually…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…