Un endroit pour se reposer: cimetières verts et enterrements d'arrière-cour

Un endroit pour se reposer: cimetières verts et enterrements d'arrière-cour
Cimetière funéraire naturel de Green Acres dans le comté de Boone, Missouri. Crédit photo: Gray Wanderer, CC 3.0

Les principes de base d'une vie respectueuse de l'environnement sont désormais posés pour une mort respectueuse de l'environnement. L'enterrement vert est une question de durabilité et de développement de pratiques funéraires qui soutiennent et guérissent la nature plutôt que de la perturber et de la nuire.

Les cimetières verts ou naturels sont une des clés du mouvement d'enterrement naturel, tout comme le cimetière de la ville et le champ des agriculteurs où les corps étaient autrefois enterrés dans un linceul ou une boîte biodégradable. Aujourd'hui, les cimetières modernes ont presque complètement remplacé ces pratiques, mais la bonne nouvelle est que les cimetières traditionnels sont en déclin. Ils perdent des affaires à cause de la crémation, et avec des enterrements verts en hausse, des cimetières verts semblent les accueillir.

Cependant, pour beaucoup, il y a quelque chose d'attrayant dans le retour aux parcelles familiales du cimetière sur les terres familiales. Bien sûr, cette pratique jouit d'une très, très longue tradition en Amérique. C'est ce que les familles ont fait pendant des générations - enterrer leurs proches sur la propriété familiale.

Cimetières verts

Un cimetière vert n'essaie pas de contrôler la nature avec des pesticides, des pelouses immaculées, des cercueils non biodégradables et des chambres fortes en béton. Les cimetières verts permettent au monde physique de s'épanouir et de s'épanouir; ils encouragent les arbustes, les fleurs sauvages, les boisés et les prairies indigènes qui abritent les oiseaux et autres animaux sauvages de la région.

Bien sûr, vous pouvez ou non trouver un véritable cimetière vert où vous vivez. Cependant, certains cimetières traditionnels autorisent certaines pratiques vertes, alors demandez toujours. Par exemple, selon la National Funeral Directors Association, «l'utilisation de conteneurs ou de chambres fortes funéraires externes n'est pas exigée par la loi fédérale ou d'État, mais est exigée par de nombreux cimetières. Dans de nombreuses zones rurales, les voûtes ou les fosses ne sont généralement pas nécessaires. »La raison pour laquelle les cimetières traditionnels nécessitent généralement une voûte est d'empêcher leurs cimetières de développer un aspect ondulé. Une fois que les cercueils biodégradables se décomposent, la terre se dépose, laissant des dépressions.

Les trois catégories de lieux de sépulture verts

Le Green Burial Council distingue trois types de cimetières verts: hybrides, naturels et de conservation. Voici leur définition officielle de chacun:

  • Lieux d'enterrement hybrides sont des cimetières conventionnels offrant la possibilité d'enfouir sans avoir besoin d'une chambre forte (partielle, inversée ou autre), d'un couvercle de chambre forte, d'une boîte en béton, d'une dalle ou d'une doublure cloisonnée. Les lieux de sépulture hybrides ne doivent pas nécessiter l'embaumement des défunts et doivent permettre tout type de conteneurs funéraires respectueux de l'environnement, y compris les haubans.

  • Lieux d'enterrement naturels nécessitent l'adoption de pratiques / protocoles qui économisent l'énergie, minimisent les déchets et n'exigent pas l'utilisation de produits chimiques toxiques. Un cimetière naturel obtient la certification GBC en interdisant l'utilisation de voûtes (partielles, inversées ou autres), de couvercles de voûte, de boîtes en béton, de dalles ou de revêtements cloisonnés, et en interdisant l'enfouissement de défunts embaumés avec des produits chimiques toxiques, ainsi que par interdire les conteneurs funéraires non fabriqués à partir de matériaux naturels ou d'origine végétale. Il doit avoir mis en place un programme de lutte intégrée contre les ravageurs (IPM) et être conçu, exploité et entretenu pour produire un aspect naturaliste, basé sur l'utilisation de plantes et de matériaux originaires de la région, et des modèles de paysage dérivés et compatibles avec les régions. les écosystèmes.

  • Lieux de sépulture de conservation, en plus de répondre à toutes les exigences relatives à un cimetière naturel, doit favoriser davantage la conservation des terres. Il doit protéger à perpétuité une zone de terre spécifiquement et exclusivement réservée à la conservation. Un cimetière de conservation doit impliquer une organisation de conservation établie qui détient une servitude de conservation ou a mis en place une restriction d'acte garantissant une intendance à long terme.

S'il n'y a pas de cimetière naturel ou de conservation près de chez vous, un cimetière hybride peut être plus facile à trouver. Ce sont des cimetières standard qui ont généralement une zone réservée qui ne nécessite pas de cercueil ou de tombe. Partout dans le pays, des cimetières envisagent et ouvrent des sections pour les sépultures naturelles, alors n'hésitez pas à prendre le téléphone et à demander directement à votre cimetière local.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


En recherchant d'éventuels cimetières, vous découvrirez que certains cimetières sont situés dans un environnement naturel très contemporain. Le cimetière de Williamsburg à Kitchener, en Ontario, possède de magnifiques terres humides, encourage l'observation des oiseaux et possède des sentiers de randonnée et des étangs naturels; ce cimetière a pleinement intégré leurs sépultures dans un jardin d'aspect naturel. Mais malgré cet extérieur serein et réfléchissant, tous les tombes nécessitent des revêtements, et donc cela ne peut pas être considéré comme un cimetière hybride, naturel ou de conservation.

Et si vous possédez déjà des lots de cimetière?

Comme je l'ai dit, la plupart des cimetières locaux nécessitent l'utilisation d'une chambre forte funéraire pour maintenir un terrain plat dans leur parc commémoratif. Cependant, demandez si le cimetière permettra de placer la voûte funéraire à l'envers, au-dessus du cercueil. Cela permet de garantir deux choses: le cercueil peut être aussi près du sol que possible, de sorte que le défunt rejoindra finalement la terre, et pourtant cela fournit toujours une surface appropriée pour maintenir le sol à niveau.

De toute évidence, si vous payez pour un espace funéraire dans un cimetière funéraire vert ou un cimetière hybride, ils vous couvrent. Vous pourrez avoir un enterrement vert, et vous n'aurez pas à vous soucier de la logistique, comme vous le faites avec un enterrement d'arrière-cour. Pourtant, si utiliser votre propre John Deere et faire votre propre trou dans le sol est important pour vous, vous devez trouver un emplacement différent d'un cimetière traditionnel.

Inhumations dans la cour

Un enterrement d'arrière-cour consiste à enterrer une personne sur une propriété résidentielle ou sur un terrain privé. Cela exclut tout terrain qui a été approuvé comme un véritable cimetière. La plupart des corps sont enterrés dans des cimetières établis, mais l'enterrement sur une propriété privée peut être possible. Les lois varient non seulement d'un État à l'autre, mais d'un comté à l'autre; c'est le plus accepté et typique en milieu rural.

Si vous envisagez un enterrement dans la cour, réfléchissez bien à ce que cela peut signifier pour la propriété elle-même et la personne qui en est propriétaire (qui peut être vous-même). Tous les autres problèmes mis à part, enterrer quelqu'un sur un terrain privé a un impact sur la vente future de cette propriété. De plus, si éloigné que soit le problème, vous devez réfléchir à ce que vous ressentiriez et à ce que vous feriez si votre proche décédé résidait sur un bien dont vous n'étiez plus propriétaire.

Par exemple, selon le type de propriété, le terrain pourrait devenir fondamentalement non commercialisable pour les acheteurs suivants si le corps enterré n'est pas déplacé, et même dans ce cas, une stigmatisation pourrait subsister qui rendrait la vente du terrain difficile. Non seulement cela, exhumer et transférer un corps coûte cher. Cependant, même si cela n'est pas fait et que la propriété est vendue, les membres de la famille et d'autres personnes n'auront plus nécessairement accès à la propriété pour visiter le lieu de sépulture. Peut-être le plus troublant de tous, que se passe-t-il si la terre est vendue et développée pour un usage différent, une terre qui secoue les os dans leur lieu de repos?

À la lumière de ces questions, réfléchissez à tous les résultats possibles avant de vous engager à créer un cimetière privé sur une propriété résidentielle zonée. De plus, ne prenez pas cette décision sans conseils et consultations juridiques et commencez le processus de planification bien à l'avance. Cela peut impliquer beaucoup de paperasse.

Mais ne laissez pas ces mises en garde vous décourager si tel est votre rêve ou le souhait final de quelqu'un que vous aimez. Je trouve vraiment que les gens adoptent de plus en plus l'état d'esprit des cendres aux cendres et de la poussière à la poussière, et de nombreuses familles que j'ai servies ne l'auraient pas fait autrement.

Considérations juridiques avec les enterrements résidentiels

En ce qui concerne la future vente de la propriété, il est de la responsabilité du propriétaire de divulguer si des restes humains sont enterrés n'importe où sur le terrain. Le propriétaire doit accepter de tenir à jour et de fournir des documents sur la disposition de la propriété et de divulguer la disposition des restes humains lors de la vente de la propriété.

Quant à la légalité de l'enterrement lui-même, la propriété sera régie par les lois locales, alors consultez votre autorité sanitaire locale avant de planifier l'inhumation. Personnellement, je gère chaque adresse par le service de zonage et de planification de mon comté juste pour m'assurer. Pour ce guide, j'hésite à généraliser, car les règles varient selon le comté et la ville. En substance, l'enterrement de propriété privée est souvent autorisé, mais chaque zone a des exigences légèrement différentes.

Une chose que vous devez faire, peu importe dont le nom figure sur l'acte de propriété, est d'obtenir le consentement écrit de tout détenteur d'hypothèque ou de privilège. De plus, vous devez satisfaire à toutes les exigences de l'État pour remplir le certificat de décès et acquérir tous les permis de transport ou autres documents requis.

Les inhumations à domicile en Oregon doivent respecter certaines normes environnementales. Par exemple, les terres dans lesquelles l'eau de surface ou le drainage du sol pénètrent dans d'autres sources d'eau - comme un étang, un ruisseau, un puits, un affluent, etc. - ne peuvent pas être utilisées à des fins d'inhumation sans l'approbation écrite du Département de la protection de l'environnement de l'Oregon.

J'ai lu d'autres règlements qui stipulent que les lieux de sépulture privés «devraient être à 150 pieds d'un approvisionnement en eau, à 100 pieds d'un puits foré et à 25 pieds d'une ligne électrique ... C'est aussi une bonne idée d'enterrer au moins 20 pieds de la marge de recul sur votre propriété. »Enfin, même lorsque vous pouvez créer un cimetière familial sur votre propre terre, vous ne pouvez pas facturer de l'argent pour les rites funéraires. La plupart des gens ne le feraient pas, mais ce n'est qu'un exemple des nombreux problèmes et préoccupations que vous devriez étudier avant d'aller de l'avant.

Pointe: Le Réseau Mère Nature offre cet excellent conseil: «Si vous enterrez un corps sur un terrain privé, vous devez dessiner une carte de la propriété montrant le cimetière et la déposer avec l'acte de propriété afin que l'emplacement soit clair pour les autres à l'avenir.»

Enterrement en mer

L'enterrement en mer est une méthode d'élimination qui libère un corps décédé dans l'océan, de sorte qu'il coule et se décompose naturellement. Un enterrement en mer peut être considéré comme un enterrement vert si, comme pour tout enterrement vert, il ne s'agit pas d'embaumement traditionnel ou de conteneurs en acier, béton ou autres matériaux non biodégradables.

Organiser un enterrement en mer est possible pour n'importe qui, quelle que soit la distance de l'eau où vous vivez. Cependant, cela nécessite un bateau, et si vous n'en avez pas, vous devrez en contracter un. De plus, un enterrement en mer (ainsi que l'épandage de cendres incinérées en mer) doit suivre un ensemble de règles différent de celui des enterrements sur terre.

L'Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) supervise les lois et réglementations américaines relatives aux enterrements en mer. Le permis général est publié dans les règlements fédéraux (disponibles en ligne), et les règles prescrivent que le site de l'inhumation se trouve à trois milles marins de la terre et à une profondeur d'au moins six cents pieds. En outre, la règle exige que «toutes les mesures nécessaires soient prises pour garantir que les restes coulent au fond rapidement et de façon permanente».

New England Burials at Sea est une entreprise du Massachusetts qui peut être embauchée pour ce service, et elle fournit également de l'aide et des informations aux familles intéressées par cette option. J'ai eu un bel échange de courriels avec le propriétaire, le capitaine Brad White, qui a dit que les voyages prenaient environ quarante-cinq minutes pour atteindre l'emplacement souhaité, à environ trois milles de la côte à une profondeur de l'océan de six cents pieds.

Effectuer un enterrement vert en mer est possible sans l'aide d'un service contractuel. Si vous le souhaitez, consultez le Site Web «L'Enterrement en mer» de l'EPAet gardez à l'esprit ces deux étapes importantes:

  • L'EPA doit être notifiée dans les trente jours d'un enterrement complet du corps en mer avec les détails suivants: date, heure, lieu, nom du défunt et personne responsable de l'enterrement du corps en mer.

  • Il faut veiller à ce que le corps coule au fond de l'océan. Soit alourdir un linceul biodégradable, soit percer un cercueil en bois naturel avec suffisamment de trous pour qu'il prenne l'eau (le site Web de l'EPA contient des instructions).

Extrait du livre Le guide d'enterrement vert.
droit d'auteur ©2018 par Elizabeth Fournier.
Imprimé avec la permission de New World Library
www.newworldlibrary.com.

Source de l'article

Le Guide Green Burial: Tout ce dont vous avez besoin pour planifier un enterrement abordable et respectueux de l'environnement
d'Elizabeth Fournier, «The Green Reaper»

Le guide d'enterrement vert: tout ce dont vous avez besoin pour planifier un enterrement abordable et respectueux de l'environnement par Elizabeth Fournier, «The Green Reaper»Aux États-Unis, les frais funéraires dépassent en moyenne 10,000 XNUMX $. Et chaque année, les funérailles conventionnelles enterrent des millions de tonnes de bois, de béton et de métaux, ainsi que des millions de gallons de liquide d'embaumement cancérigène. Il y a une meilleure façon de faire, et Elizabeth Fournier, surnommée affectueusement le «Faucheur vert», vous guide pas à pas. Elle fournit des conseils complets et compatissants, couvrant tout, de la planification des funérailles vertes aux bases des funérailles à domicile, aux directives juridiques et aux options originales, telles que les enterrements en mer. Fournier ouvre la voie à des pratiques funéraires écologiques qui prennent en compte à la fois le bien-être environnemental de la planète et le bien-être économique des êtres chers. (Également disponible en édition Kindle.)

cliquez pour commander sur amazon




Livres connexes

A propos de l'auteur

Elizabeth Fournier, affectueusement surnommée «The Green Reaper»Elizabeth Fournier, affectueusement appelé «The Green Reaper», est l’auteur de Le Guide Green Burial: Tout ce dont vous avez besoin pour planifier un enterrement abordable et respectueux de l'environnement. Elle est propriétaire et exploitante de Cornerstone Funeral Services, à l'extérieur de Portland, en Oregon. Elle siège au conseil consultatif du Green Burial Council, qui établit la norme pour les enterrements verts en Amérique du Nord. Elle vit dans une ferme avec son mari, sa fille et de nombreuses chèvres. En savoir plus sur son travail sur www.thegreenreaper.org

Vidéo: l'expert en sépulture verte Elizabeth Fournier, alias la «faucheuse verte»

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

A Place to Rest: Green Cemeteries and Backyard Burials

A Place to Rest: Green Cemeteries and Backyard Burials
Green Acres natural burial cemetery in Boone County, Missouri. Photo credit: Grey Wanderer, CC 3.0

The basic tenets of environmentally friendly living are now being posed for environmentally friendly dying. Green burial is all about sustainability and developing funeral practices that support and heal nature rather than disrupt and harm it.

One key to the natural-burial movement is green or natural cemeteries, much like the town churchyard and farmer’s field where bodies were once buried in a shroud or biodegradable box. Today, modern cemeteries have almost completely replaced these practices, but the good news is that traditional cemeteries are on the decline. They are losing business to cremation, and with green burials on the rise, green cemeteries are appearing to accommodate them.

However, for many, there’s something appealing about the return to family cemetery plots on family land. Of course, this practice enjoys a very, very long tradition in America. It’s what families did for generations — burying loved ones on the family property. 

Green Burial Grounds and Cemeteries

A green cemetery doesn’t try to control nature with pesticides, pristine lawns, nonbiodegradable caskets, and concrete burial vaults. Green burial grounds allow the physical world to bloom and blossom; they encourage the indigenous shrubs, wildflowers, woodlands, and grasslands that support the area’s birds and other wildlife.

Of course, you may or may not be able to find a genuinely green cemetery where you live. However, some traditional cemeteries allow certain green practices, so always ask. For instance, according to the National Funeral Directors Association, “The use of outer burial containers or vaults is not required by federal or state law, but is required by many cemeteries. In many rural areas, vaults or grave liners are usually not required.” The reason traditional cemeteries usually require a vault is to keep their graveyards from developing a wavy-gravy look. Once biodegradable caskets decompose, the earth will settle, leaving depressions.

The Three Categories of Green Burial Grounds

The Green Burial Council distinguishes three types of green burial grounds: hybrid, natural, and conservation. Here is their official definition of each:

  • Hybrid Burial Grounds are conventional cemeteries offering the option for burial without the need for a vault (partial, inverted, or otherwise), a vault lid, concrete box, slab, or partitioned liner. Hybrid Burial Grounds shall not require the embalming of decedents and must allow for any kind of eco-friendly burial containers, including shrouds.

  • Natural Burial Grounds require the adoption of practices/protocols that are energy-conserving, minimize waste, and do not require the use of toxic chemicals. A Natural Burial Ground achieves GBC certification by prohibiting the use of vaults (partial, inverted, or otherwise), vault lids, concrete boxes, slabs, or partitioned liners, and by prohibiting the burial of decedents embalmed with toxic chemicals, as well as by banning burial containers not made from natural/plant-derived materials. It must have in place a program of Integrated Pest Management (IPM) and be designed, operated, and maintained to produce a naturalistic appearance, based on use of plants and materials native to the region, and patterns of landscape derived from and compatible with regional ecosystems.

  • Conservation Burial Grounds, in addition to meeting all the requirements for a Natural Burial Ground, must further legitimate land conservation. It must protect in perpetuity an area of land specifically and exclusively designated for conservation. A Conservation Burial Ground must involve an established conservation organization that holds a conservation easement or has in place a deed restriction guaranteeing long-term stewardship.

If there is not a natural or conservation burial ground close to you, a hybrid burial ground may be easier to find. These are standard cemeteries that typically have an area set aside that does not require a casket or grave liner. Cemeteries all over the country are considering and opening sections for natural burial spaces, so never hesitate to pick up the phone and ask your local cemetery directly.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


As you research possible cemeteries, you will find some graveyards are set in very contemporary, natural environs. Williamsburg Cemetery in Kitchener, Ontario, boasts beautiful wetlands, encourages bird-watching, and has natural walking trails and ponds; this cemetery has fully integrated their burial areas in a natural-looking garden. But despite this serene and reflective exterior, all gravesites require liners, and therefore this cannot be considered a hybrid, natural, or conservation cemetery.

What If You Already Own Cemetery Lots?

As I’ve said, most local cemeteries require the use of a burial vault to maintain flat ground in their memorial park. However, ask if the cemetery will allow for the burial vault to be placed upside down, over the top of the casket. This helps ensure two things: The casket can be as close to the ground as possible, so the deceased will eventually rejoin with the earth, and yet this still provides a suitable surface for maintaining level ground.

Obviously, if you are paying for a grave space at a green burial cemetery or hybrid cemetery, they have you covered. You’ll be able to have a green burial, and you won’t need to worry about the logistics, as you do with a backyard burial. Still, if using your own John Deere and making your own hole in the ground is important to you, you need to find a different location than a traditional cemetery.

Backyard Burials

A backyard burial encompasses burying a person on residential property, or land that is privately owned. This precludes any land that has been endorsed as an actual cemetery. Most bodies are buried in established cemeteries, but burial on private property may be possible. Laws vary not only state to state but county to county; it’s most accepted and typical in rural settings.

If you are considering a backyard burial, think carefully about what it may mean for the property itself and the person who owns it (which may be yourself). All other issues aside, burying someone on private land impacts the future sale of that property. In addition, however remote the concern may be, you should consider how you’d feel, and what you would do, if your deceased loved one resided on property that you no longer owned.

For instance, depending on the type of property, the land could become fundamentally unmarketable to succeeding buyers if the interred body isn’t relocated, and even then, a stigma might remain that makes selling the tract difficult. Not only that, exhuming and transferring a body is expensive. However, even if this isn’t done and the property is sold, family members and others won’t necessarily have access to the property to visit the gravesite anymore. Perhaps most unsettling of all, what if the land is sold and developed for a different use, one that rattles the bones in their resting place?

In light of these issues, reflect on all the possible outcomes before committing to creating a private burial ground on residentially zoned property. Further, don’t make this decision without legal guidance and consultation, and begin the planning process well in advance. It can involve a lot of paperwork.

But do not let these cautions discourage you if this is your dream or the final wishes of someone you love. I am truly finding that people are increasingly embracing the mindset of ashes to ashes and dust to dust, and many families I have served would not have done it any other way.

Legal Considerations with Residential Burials

Regarding the future sale of the property, it is the responsibility of the property owner to disclose if human remains are buried anywhere on the land. The owner must agree to maintain and provide records of the disposition on the property, and agree to disclose the disposition of human remains upon sale of the property.

As for the legality of the burial itself, the property will be governed by local laws, so consult with your local health authority prior to planning the burial. Personally, I run every address by my county’s zoning and planning department just to make sure. For this guidebook, I hesitate to generalize, as the rules vary by county and town. In essence, private property burial is often allowed, but each area has slightly different requirements.

One thing you must do, no matter whose name is on the property’s deed, is to get the written consent of any mortgage or lien holders. As well, you must meet all state requirements for the completion of the death certificate and acquire all transport permits or other required documentation.

Home burials in Oregon must meet certain environmental standards. For instance, land in which surface water or ground drainage enters other water sources — like a pond, stream, well, tributary, and so on — cannot be used for burial purposes without written approval from the Oregon Department of Environmental Protection.

I’ve read other regulations that stipulate that private burial sites “should be 150 feet from a water supply, 100 feet from a drilled well, and 25 feet from a power line....It’s also a good idea to bury at least 20 feet from the setback on your property.” Finally, even when you can create a family burial ground on your own land, you cannot charge money for burial rites. Most people wouldn’t, but this is just an example of the many issues and concerns you should investigate before moving forward.

Tip: Mother Nature Network offers this excellent advice: “If you bury a body on private land, you should draw a map of the property showing the burial ground and file it with the property deed so the location will be clear to others in the future.”

Burial at Sea

Burial at sea is a disposition method that releases a deceased body into the ocean, so that it sinks and decomposes naturally. A burial at sea can be considered a green burial if, as with any green burial, it does not involve traditional embalming or containers made of steel, concrete, or other nonbiodegradable materials.

Arranging a burial at sea is possible for anyone, no matter how far from the water you live. However, it requires a boat, and if you don’t have one, you’ll need to contract one. Also, a burial at sea (as well as spreading cremated ashes at sea) must follow a different set of rules than for burials on land.

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) oversees US laws and regulations for burials at sea. The general permit is published in the federal regulations (available online), and the rules mandate that the site of the water interment be three nautical miles from land and at a depth of at least six hundred feet. Furthermore, the rule requires that “all necessary measures shall be taken to ensure that the remains sink to the bottom rapidly and permanently.”

New England Burials at Sea is a Massachusetts company that can be hired for this service, and they also provide help and information for families interested in this option. I had a lovely email exchange with the owner, Captain Brad White, who said voyages take about forty-five minutes to reach the desired location, approximately three miles off the coast at an ocean depth of six hundred feet.

Performing a green burial at sea is possible without the help of a contracted service. If you wish to do so, consult the EPA’s “Burial at Sea” website, and keep these two important steps in mind:

  • The EPA must be notified within thirty days of a full-body burial at sea with the following details: date, time, place, name of the deceased, and person responsible for burying the body at sea.

  • Care needs to be taken to ensure that the body sinks to the ocean floor. Either weigh down a biodegradable shroud, or drill a natural wood coffin with enough holes that it will take on water (the EPA website has instructions).

Excerpted from the book The Green Burial Guidebook.
Copyright ©2018 by Elizabeth Fournier.
Printed with permission from New World Library
www.newworldlibrary.com.

Article Source

The Green Burial Guidebook: Everything You Need to Plan an Affordable, Environmentally Friendly Burial
by Elizabeth Fournier, “The Green Reaper”

The Green Burial Guidebook: Everything You Need to Plan an Affordable, Environmentally Friendly Burial by Elizabeth Fournier, “The Green Reaper”Funeral expenses in the United States average more than $10,000. And every year conventional funerals bury millions of tons of wood, concrete, and metals, as well as millions of gallons of carcinogenic embalming fluid. There is a better way, and Elizabeth Fournier, affectionately dubbed the “Green Reaper,” walks you through it, step-by-step. She provides comprehensive and compassionate guidance, covering everything from green burial planning and home funeral basics to legal guidelines and outside-the-box options, such as burials at sea. Fournier points the way to green burial practices that consider both the environmental well-being of the planet and the economic well-being of loved ones. (Also available as a Kindle edition.)

click to order on amazon

 

 


Related Books

About the Author

Elizabeth Fournier, affectionately called “The Green Reaper”Elizabeth Fournier, affectionately called “The Green Reaper,” is the author of The Green Burial Guidebook: Everything You Need to Plan an Affordable, Environmentally Friendly Burial. She is owner and operator of Cornerstone Funeral Services, outside of Portland, Oregon. She serves on the Advisory Board for the Green Burial Council, which sets the standard for green burial in North America. She lives on a farm with her husband, daughter and many goats. Find out more about her work at www.thegreenreaper.org

Video:  Green Burial Expert Elizabeth Fournier, aka the "Green Reaper"

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…