مكان للراحة: المقابر الخضراء ودفن الفناء الخلفي

مكان للراحة: المقابر الخضراء ودفن الفناء الخلفي
مقبرة الدفن الخضراء الطبيعية في مقاطعة بون ، ميزوري. الصورة الائتمان: غراي واندر، CC 3.0

يتم الآن طرح المبادئ الأساسية للحياة الصديقة للبيئة للموت الصديق للبيئة. الدفن الأخضر يدور حول الاستدامة وتطوير ممارسات الجنازة التي تدعم الطبيعة وتداويها بدلاً من تعطيلها وإلحاق الأذى بها.

أحد المقومات الرئيسية لحركة الدفن الطبيعي هي المقابر الخضراء أو الطبيعية ، مثل ساحة كنيسة المدينة وحقل المزارعين حيث دُفنت الجثث مرة واحدة في صندوق كفن أو قابل للتحلل. اليوم ، استبدلت المقابر الحديثة هذه الممارسات تمامًا تقريبًا ، لكن الخبر السار هو أن المقابر التقليدية آخذة في الانخفاض. إنهم يفقدون أعمالهم بسبب حرق الجثث ، ومع ارتفاع المدافن الخضراء ، تظهر المقابر الخضراء لاستيعابها.

ومع ذلك ، بالنسبة للكثيرين ، هناك شيء جذاب حول عودة قطع أراضي المقبرة العائلية على أرض العائلة. بالطبع ، تتمتع هذه الممارسة بتقليد طويل جدًا في أمريكا. هذا ما فعلته العائلات منذ أجيال - دفن أحبائهم على ممتلكات العائلة.

أراضي الدفن الأخضر والمقابر

لا تحاول المقبرة الخضراء السيطرة على الطبيعة باستخدام المبيدات الحشرية والمروج الطبيعية والبكرات غير القابلة للتحلل وقبوات الدفن الخرسانية. تسمح أسباب الدفن الأخضر للعالم المادي بالازدهار والإزهار ؛ أنها تشجع الشجيرات الأصلية ، والأزهار البرية والأراضي الحرجية والأراضي العشبية التي تدعم الطيور في المنطقة وغيرها من الحيوانات البرية.

بالطبع ، قد تكون أو لا تكون قادرًا على العثور على مقبرة خضراء حقيقية تعيش فيها. ومع ذلك ، فإن بعض المقابر التقليدية تسمح ببعض الممارسات الخضراء ، لذلك اسأل دائمًا. على سبيل المثال ، وفقًا للرابطة الوطنية لمديري الجنازات ، فإن "استخدام حاويات الدفن الخارجية أو الأقبية ليس مطلوبًا بموجب القانون الفيدرالي أو قانون الولاية ، ولكنه مطلوب في العديد من المقابر. في العديد من المناطق الريفية ، عادة ما تكون القناطر أو القبور غير مطلوبة. "والسبب في أن المقابر التقليدية عادة ما تتطلب قبوًا هو منع مقابرها من تطوير شكل مرق. بمجرد أن تتحلل الصناديق القابلة للتحلل ، ستستقر الأرض تاركةً المنخفضات.

الفئات الثلاث للأرض الخضراء الدفن

يميز مجلس الدفن الأخضر ثلاثة أنواع من أراضي الدفن الأخضر: هجين ، طبيعي ، وحفظ. هنا هو التعريف الرسمي لكل منها:

  • الهجين الدفن هي مقابر تقليدية تقدم خيارًا للدفن دون الحاجة إلى قبو (جزئي أو مقلوب أو غير ذلك) أو غطاء قبو أو صندوق خرساني أو لوح أو بطانة مقسمة. يجب ألا تتطلب أراضي الدفن الهجينة تحنيط المفسدين ويجب أن تسمح بأي نوع من حاويات الدفن الصديقة للبيئة ، بما في ذلك الأغطية.

  • أرض الدفن الطبيعية تتطلب اعتماد ممارسات / بروتوكولات تحفظ الطاقة وتقلل من النفايات ولا تتطلب استخدام مواد كيميائية سامة. تحصل أرض الدفن الطبيعية على شهادة GBC عن طريق حظر استخدام الخزائن (جزئية أو مقلوبة أو غير ذلك) أو أغطية قبو أو صناديق خرسانية أو ألواح أو بطانات مقسمة ، وعن طريق حظر دفن مفسدين محنط بمواد كيميائية سامة ، وكذلك عن طريق حظر حاويات الدفن غير المصنوعة من المواد الطبيعية / المشتقة من النباتات. يجب أن يكون لديها برنامج للإدارة المتكاملة للآفات (IPM) وأن يتم تصميمه وتشغيله وصيانته لإنتاج مظهر طبيعي ، يعتمد على استخدام النباتات والمواد الأصلية في المنطقة ، وأنماط المناظر الطبيعية المستمدة من ومتوافقة مع الإقليمية النظم البيئية.

  • الحفاظ على أسباب الدفن، بالإضافة إلى تلبية جميع المتطلبات اللازمة لأرض الدفن الطبيعي ، يجب تعزيز الحفاظ على الأراضي بشكل مشروع. يجب أن تحمي إلى الأبد مساحة من الأرض على وجه التحديد والمخصصة حصرا للحفظ. يجب أن تتضمن أرض دفن الحفظ منظمة صيانة قائمة تمتلك حافظة ترشيد للحفظ أو لديها قيد صك يضمن الإشراف طويل الأجل.

إذا لم تكن هناك أرض دفن طبيعية أو مقبرة قريبة منك ، فقد يكون العثور على أرض دفن هجين أسهل في العثور عليها. هذه مقابر قياسية تحتوي عادةً على منطقة مخصصة جانبيًا ولا تتطلب بطانة النعش أو القبر. تدرس المقابر في جميع أنحاء البلاد وتفتح أقسامًا لمساحات الدفن الطبيعية ، لذلك لا تتردد أبدًا في التقاط الهاتف واطلب من المقبرة المحلية مباشرةً.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


أثناء البحث في المقابر المحتملة ، ستجد بعض المقابر في محيطات طبيعية معاصرة للغاية. مقبرة ويليامزبرغ في كيتشنر ، أونتاريو ، تتميز بالأراضي الرطبة الجميلة ، وتشجع مراقبة الطيور ، ولها مسارات المشي الطبيعية والبرك. دمجت هذه المقبرة مناطق دفنها بالكامل في حديقة ذات مظهر طبيعي. ولكن على الرغم من هذا الجزء الخارجي الهادئ والعاكس ، فإن جميع المقابر تتطلب بطانات ، وبالتالي لا يمكن اعتبار هذه المقبرة مختلطة أو طبيعية أو محمية.

ماذا لو كنت تملك بالفعل الكثير المقبرة؟

كما قلت ، تتطلب معظم المقابر المحلية استخدام قبو الدفن للحفاظ على أرض مستوية في متنزهها التذكاري. ومع ذلك ، اسأل عما إذا كانت المقبرة ستسمح بوضع قبو الدفن رأسًا على عقب ، أعلى الجزء العلوي من النعش. يساعد ذلك في ضمان أمرين: يمكن أن يكون النعش قريبًا من الأرض قدر الإمكان ، وبالتالي فإن المتوفى سوف ينضم مجددًا إلى الأرض ، ومع ذلك لا يزال هذا يوفر سطحًا مناسبًا للحفاظ على مستوى الأرض.

من الواضح ، إذا كنت تدفع مقابل مساحة مقبرة في مقبرة دفن خضراء أو مقبرة هجينة ، فقد قمت بتغطيتها. ستتمكن من الحصول على دفن أخضر ، ولن تحتاج إلى القلق بشأن الخدمات اللوجستية ، كما تفعل مع الدفن الخلفي. ومع ذلك ، إذا كان استخدام John Deere الخاص بك وجعل الثقب الخاص بك مهمًا بالنسبة لك ، فأنت بحاجة إلى العثور على موقع مختلف عن المقبرة التقليدية.

دفن الفناء الخلفي

ويشمل دفن الفناء الخلفي دفن شخص على الممتلكات السكنية ، أو الأرض المملوكة ملكية خاصة. يحول هذا دون أي أرض تم اعتمادها كمقبرة فعلية. يتم دفن معظم الجثث في مقابر ثابتة ، ولكن قد يكون من الممكن دفنها على ممتلكات خاصة. تختلف القوانين ليس فقط من ولاية إلى أخرى ولكن من مقاطعة إلى أخرى ؛ انها أكثر قبولا ونموذجية في المناطق الريفية.

إذا كنت تفكر في دفن في الفناء الخلفي ، فكر جيدًا في ما قد يعنيه العقار نفسه والشخص الذي يملكه (والذي قد يكون هو نفسك). جميع القضايا الأخرى جانبا ، فإن دفن شخص ما على أرض خاصة يؤثر على البيع المستقبلي لتلك الممتلكات. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، بغض النظر عن مدى القلق ، يجب عليك أن تفكر في ما تشعر به وماذا ستفعل ، إذا كان شخصك المتوفى يقيم في ملكية لم تعد ملكًا لك.

على سبيل المثال ، اعتمادًا على نوع العقار ، يمكن أن تصبح الأرض غير قابلة للتسويق بشكل أساسي للمشترين اللاحقين إذا لم يتم نقل الجسم المدخل ، وحتى ذلك الحين ، قد تظل وصمة العار التي تجعل بيع المسالك صعبة. ليس ذلك فحسب ، فإن استخراج الجثث ونقلها أمر مكلف. ومع ذلك ، حتى لو لم يتم ذلك وتم بيع العقار ، فلن يتمكن أفراد الأسرة وغيرهم بالضرورة من الوصول إلى العقار لزيارة المقبرة بعد الآن. ربما الأكثر إثارة للقلق على الإطلاق ، ماذا لو تم بيع الأرض وتطويرها لاستخدامات مختلفة ، تلك التي تزعج العظام في مكانها المريح؟

في ضوء هذه المشكلات ، فكر مليا في جميع النتائج المحتملة قبل الالتزام بإنشاء أرض دفن خاصة على الممتلكات السكنية. علاوة على ذلك ، لا تتخذ هذا القرار دون توجيهات واستشارات قانونية ، وابدأ عملية التخطيط في وقت مبكر. يمكن أن تنطوي على الكثير من الأوراق.

لكن لا تدع هذه التنبيهات تثبطك إذا كان هذا هو حلمك أو الرغبات النهائية لشخص تحبه. أجد حقًا أن الناس يحتضنون بشكل متزايد عقلية الرماد إلى رماد وتراب إلى غبار ، وأن العديد من العائلات التي خدمتها لم تكن لتفعل ذلك بأي طريقة أخرى.

الاعتبارات القانونية مع الدفن السكنية

فيما يتعلق ببيع العقار في المستقبل ، تقع على عاتق مالك العقار مسؤولية الكشف عما إذا كانت البقايا البشرية مدفونة في أي مكان على الأرض. يجب على المالك الموافقة على الاحتفاظ بالسجلات المتعلقة بالتصرف في الممتلكات وتقديمها ، والموافقة على الكشف عن التصرف في الرفات البشرية عند بيع العقار.

أما بالنسبة لشرعية الدفن نفسه ، فسيخضع العقار للقوانين المحلية ، لذلك استشر هيئة الصحة المحلية قبل التخطيط للدفن. أنا شخصياً أدير كل عنوان من قبل قسم التخطيط والتخطيط في مقاطعتي للتأكد من ذلك. بالنسبة لهذا الدليل ، أتردد في التعميم ، حيث تختلف القواعد حسب المقاطعة والمدينة. في جوهرها ، غالبًا ما يُسمح بدفن الممتلكات الخاصة ، لكن لكل منطقة متطلبات مختلفة قليلاً.

شيء واحد يجب عليك فعله ، بغض النظر عن اسمه في سند الملكية ، هو الحصول على موافقة خطية من أي حاملي رهن أو رهن. كذلك ، يجب عليك تلبية جميع متطلبات الدولة لاستكمال شهادة الوفاة والحصول على جميع تصاريح النقل أو الوثائق الأخرى المطلوبة.

يجب دفن المنازل في ولاية أوريغون معايير بيئية معينة. على سبيل المثال ، لا يمكن استخدام الأراضي التي تدخل فيها المياه السطحية أو الصرف الأرضي في مصادر مياه أخرى - مثل البركة ، والبئر ، والروافد ، وما إلى ذلك - لأغراض الدفن دون موافقة كتابية من إدارة حماية البيئة في ولاية أوريغون.

لقد قرأت اللوائح الأخرى التي تنص على أن مواقع الدفن الخاصة "يجب أن تكون على بعد 150 قدمًا من مصدر مياه ، و 100 قدم من بئر محفورة ، و 25 قدمًا من خط كهرباء .... إنها أيضًا فكرة جيدة لدفن ما لا يقل عن 20 أخيرًا ، حتى عندما تتمكن من إنشاء أرض دفن للعائلة على أرضك ، لا يمكنك تحصيل رسوم مقابل طقوس الدفن. معظم الناس لن يفعلوا ذلك ، لكن هذا مجرد مثال على العديد من القضايا والمخاوف التي يجب عليك التحقيق فيها قبل المضي قدمًا.

تلميح: تقدم شبكة الطبيعة الأم هذه النصيحة الممتازة: "إذا قمت بدفن جثة على أرض خاصة ، فيجب أن ترسم خريطة للعقار توضح أرض الدفن وتودعها في سند الملكية حتى يكون الموقع واضحًا للآخرين في المستقبل".

الدفن في البحر

الدفن في البحر هو وسيلة للتخلص من المواد التي تطلق جثة متوفاة في المحيط ، بحيث تغرق وتتحلل بشكل طبيعي. يمكن اعتبار الدفن في البحر دفنًا أخضر إذا كان ، كما هو الحال مع أي مدفن أخضر ، لا يتضمن تحنيطًا تقليديًا أو حاويات مصنوعة من الصلب أو الخرسانة أو مواد أخرى غير قابلة للتحلل.

يمكن ترتيب الدفن في البحر لأي شخص ، بغض النظر عن المسافة التي تعيشها. ومع ذلك ، فإنه يتطلب قارب ، وإذا لم يكن لديك قارب ، فستحتاج إلى التعاقد مع قارب. أيضًا ، يجب أن يتبع الدفن في البحر (وكذلك نشر الرماد المحترق في البحر) مجموعة مختلفة من القواعد مقارنة بالمدافن على الأرض.

تشرف وكالة حماية البيئة (EPA) على القوانين واللوائح الأمريكية المتعلقة بالمدافن في البحر. يتم نشر التصريح العام في اللوائح الفيدرالية (المتاحة عبر الإنترنت) ، وتنص القواعد على أن يكون موقع نقطة المياه على بعد ثلاثة أميال بحرية من الأرض وعلى عمق لا يقل عن ستمائة قدم. علاوة على ذلك ، تتطلب القاعدة "اتخاذ جميع التدابير اللازمة لضمان أن بقايا تغرق إلى أسفل بسرعة وبشكل دائم."

New England Burials at Sea هي شركة في ولاية ماساتشوستس يمكن استئجارها لهذه الخدمة ، كما أنها توفر المساعدة والمعلومات للعائلات المهتمة بهذا الخيار. كان لديّ تبادل بريد إلكتروني رائع مع المالك ، الكابتن براد وايت ، الذي قال إن الرحلات تستغرق حوالي خمسة وأربعين دقيقة للوصول إلى الموقع المرغوب ، على بعد حوالي ثلاثة أميال من الساحل على عمق محيط يبلغ ستمائة قدم.

من الممكن القيام بدفن أخضر في البحر دون مساعدة من الخدمة المتعاقد عليها. إذا كنت ترغب في القيام بذلك ، راجع موقع "دفن في البحر" الخاص بوكالة حماية البيئةمع مراعاة هاتين الخطوتين المهمتين:

  • يجب إخطار وكالة حماية البيئة خلال ثلاثين يومًا من دفن كامل الجسم في البحر مع التفاصيل التالية: التاريخ والوقت والمكان واسم المتوفى والشخص المسؤول عن دفن الجثة في البحر.

  • يجب توخي الحذر للتأكد من أن الجسم يغرق في قاع المحيط. إما أن تزن كفن قابل للتحلل أو تحفر تابوتًا من الخشب الطبيعي به ثقوب تكفي ليأخذها في الماء (يحتوي موقع ويب EPA على تعليمات).

مقتطف من الكتاب دليل الدفن الأخضر.
حق النشر ©2018 من قبل إليزابيث فورنييه.
طبع بإذن من مكتبة العالم الجديد
www.newworldlibrary.com.

المادة المصدر

دليل الدفن الأخضر: كل ما تحتاجه للتخطيط لدفن ميسور صديق للبيئة
بقلم إليزابيث فورنييه ، "The Green Reaper"

دليل الدفن الأخضر: كل ما تحتاجه للتخطيط لدفن ميسور ، صديق للبيئة من تأليف إليزابيث فورنييه ، "The Green Reaper"نفقات الجنازة في الولايات المتحدة في المتوسط ​​أكثر من 10,000،XNUMX دولار. وفي كل عام تُدفن الجنازات التقليدية ملايين الأطنان من الخشب والخرسانة والمعادن ، بالإضافة إلى ملايين الجالونات من سائل التحنيط المُسرطن. هناك طريقة أفضل ، وإليزابيث فورنييه ، التي يطلق عليها اسم "المفغر الأخضر" ، ترشدك ، خطوة بخطوة. إنها توفر إرشادات شاملة وعاطفية ، تغطي كل شيء بدءًا من التخطيط للدفن الأخضر وأساسيات الجنازة المنزلية وحتى الإرشادات القانونية والخيارات الخارجية ، مثل الدفن في البحر. يشير Fournier إلى ممارسات الدفن الخضراء التي تراعي كل من الرفاهية البيئية للكوكب والرفاهية الاقتصادية للأحباء. (متاح أيضًا كإصدار من Kindle.)

انقر لطلب على الأمازون




كتب ذات صلة

عن المؤلف

إليزابيث فورنييه ، التي يطلق عليها اسم "The Green Reaper"إليزابيث فورنييه، الذي يطلق عليه اسم "The Green Reaper" ، هو مؤلف كتاب دليل الدفن الأخضر: كل ما تحتاجه للتخطيط لدفن ميسور صديق للبيئة. وهي مالك ومشغل كورنرستون جنازة الخدمات ، خارج بورتلاند ، ولاية أوريغون. تعمل في المجلس الاستشاري لمجلس الدفن الأخضر ، الذي يحدد معيار الدفن الأخضر في أمريكا الشمالية. تعيش في مزرعة مع زوجها وابنتها والعديد من الماعز. معرفة المزيد عن عملها في www.thegreenreaper.org

فيديو: خبيرة الدفن الأخضر إليزابيث فورنييه ، الملقب بـ "الحنطة الخضراء"

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

8 أشياء نفعلها بالفعل تخلط بين كلابنا
8 أشياء نفعلها بالفعل تخلط بين كلابنا
by ميليسا ستارلينغ وبول ماكجريفي
الشركة التي تحتفظ بها: تعلم الارتباط بشكل انتقائي
الشركة التي تحتفظ بها: تعلم الارتباط بشكل انتقائي
by الدكتور بول نابر ، Psy.D. والدكتور أنتوني راو ، دكتوراه
5 أساطير عن القمر
5 أساطير عن القمر
by دانيال براون

A Place to Rest: Green Cemeteries and Backyard Burials

A Place to Rest: Green Cemeteries and Backyard Burials
Green Acres natural burial cemetery in Boone County, Missouri. Photo credit: Grey Wanderer, CC 3.0

The basic tenets of environmentally friendly living are now being posed for environmentally friendly dying. Green burial is all about sustainability and developing funeral practices that support and heal nature rather than disrupt and harm it.

One key to the natural-burial movement is green or natural cemeteries, much like the town churchyard and farmer’s field where bodies were once buried in a shroud or biodegradable box. Today, modern cemeteries have almost completely replaced these practices, but the good news is that traditional cemeteries are on the decline. They are losing business to cremation, and with green burials on the rise, green cemeteries are appearing to accommodate them.

However, for many, there’s something appealing about the return to family cemetery plots on family land. Of course, this practice enjoys a very, very long tradition in America. It’s what families did for generations — burying loved ones on the family property. 

Green Burial Grounds and Cemeteries

A green cemetery doesn’t try to control nature with pesticides, pristine lawns, nonbiodegradable caskets, and concrete burial vaults. Green burial grounds allow the physical world to bloom and blossom; they encourage the indigenous shrubs, wildflowers, woodlands, and grasslands that support the area’s birds and other wildlife.

Of course, you may or may not be able to find a genuinely green cemetery where you live. However, some traditional cemeteries allow certain green practices, so always ask. For instance, according to the National Funeral Directors Association, “The use of outer burial containers or vaults is not required by federal or state law, but is required by many cemeteries. In many rural areas, vaults or grave liners are usually not required.” The reason traditional cemeteries usually require a vault is to keep their graveyards from developing a wavy-gravy look. Once biodegradable caskets decompose, the earth will settle, leaving depressions.

The Three Categories of Green Burial Grounds

The Green Burial Council distinguishes three types of green burial grounds: hybrid, natural, and conservation. Here is their official definition of each:

  • Hybrid Burial Grounds are conventional cemeteries offering the option for burial without the need for a vault (partial, inverted, or otherwise), a vault lid, concrete box, slab, or partitioned liner. Hybrid Burial Grounds shall not require the embalming of decedents and must allow for any kind of eco-friendly burial containers, including shrouds.

  • Natural Burial Grounds require the adoption of practices/protocols that are energy-conserving, minimize waste, and do not require the use of toxic chemicals. A Natural Burial Ground achieves GBC certification by prohibiting the use of vaults (partial, inverted, or otherwise), vault lids, concrete boxes, slabs, or partitioned liners, and by prohibiting the burial of decedents embalmed with toxic chemicals, as well as by banning burial containers not made from natural/plant-derived materials. It must have in place a program of Integrated Pest Management (IPM) and be designed, operated, and maintained to produce a naturalistic appearance, based on use of plants and materials native to the region, and patterns of landscape derived from and compatible with regional ecosystems.

  • Conservation Burial Grounds, in addition to meeting all the requirements for a Natural Burial Ground, must further legitimate land conservation. It must protect in perpetuity an area of land specifically and exclusively designated for conservation. A Conservation Burial Ground must involve an established conservation organization that holds a conservation easement or has in place a deed restriction guaranteeing long-term stewardship.

If there is not a natural or conservation burial ground close to you, a hybrid burial ground may be easier to find. These are standard cemeteries that typically have an area set aside that does not require a casket or grave liner. Cemeteries all over the country are considering and opening sections for natural burial spaces, so never hesitate to pick up the phone and ask your local cemetery directly.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


As you research possible cemeteries, you will find some graveyards are set in very contemporary, natural environs. Williamsburg Cemetery in Kitchener, Ontario, boasts beautiful wetlands, encourages bird-watching, and has natural walking trails and ponds; this cemetery has fully integrated their burial areas in a natural-looking garden. But despite this serene and reflective exterior, all gravesites require liners, and therefore this cannot be considered a hybrid, natural, or conservation cemetery.

What If You Already Own Cemetery Lots?

As I’ve said, most local cemeteries require the use of a burial vault to maintain flat ground in their memorial park. However, ask if the cemetery will allow for the burial vault to be placed upside down, over the top of the casket. This helps ensure two things: The casket can be as close to the ground as possible, so the deceased will eventually rejoin with the earth, and yet this still provides a suitable surface for maintaining level ground.

Obviously, if you are paying for a grave space at a green burial cemetery or hybrid cemetery, they have you covered. You’ll be able to have a green burial, and you won’t need to worry about the logistics, as you do with a backyard burial. Still, if using your own John Deere and making your own hole in the ground is important to you, you need to find a different location than a traditional cemetery.

Backyard Burials

A backyard burial encompasses burying a person on residential property, or land that is privately owned. This precludes any land that has been endorsed as an actual cemetery. Most bodies are buried in established cemeteries, but burial on private property may be possible. Laws vary not only state to state but county to county; it’s most accepted and typical in rural settings.

If you are considering a backyard burial, think carefully about what it may mean for the property itself and the person who owns it (which may be yourself). All other issues aside, burying someone on private land impacts the future sale of that property. In addition, however remote the concern may be, you should consider how you’d feel, and what you would do, if your deceased loved one resided on property that you no longer owned.

For instance, depending on the type of property, the land could become fundamentally unmarketable to succeeding buyers if the interred body isn’t relocated, and even then, a stigma might remain that makes selling the tract difficult. Not only that, exhuming and transferring a body is expensive. However, even if this isn’t done and the property is sold, family members and others won’t necessarily have access to the property to visit the gravesite anymore. Perhaps most unsettling of all, what if the land is sold and developed for a different use, one that rattles the bones in their resting place?

In light of these issues, reflect on all the possible outcomes before committing to creating a private burial ground on residentially zoned property. Further, don’t make this decision without legal guidance and consultation, and begin the planning process well in advance. It can involve a lot of paperwork.

But do not let these cautions discourage you if this is your dream or the final wishes of someone you love. I am truly finding that people are increasingly embracing the mindset of ashes to ashes and dust to dust, and many families I have served would not have done it any other way.

Legal Considerations with Residential Burials

Regarding the future sale of the property, it is the responsibility of the property owner to disclose if human remains are buried anywhere on the land. The owner must agree to maintain and provide records of the disposition on the property, and agree to disclose the disposition of human remains upon sale of the property.

As for the legality of the burial itself, the property will be governed by local laws, so consult with your local health authority prior to planning the burial. Personally, I run every address by my county’s zoning and planning department just to make sure. For this guidebook, I hesitate to generalize, as the rules vary by county and town. In essence, private property burial is often allowed, but each area has slightly different requirements.

One thing you must do, no matter whose name is on the property’s deed, is to get the written consent of any mortgage or lien holders. As well, you must meet all state requirements for the completion of the death certificate and acquire all transport permits or other required documentation.

Home burials in Oregon must meet certain environmental standards. For instance, land in which surface water or ground drainage enters other water sources — like a pond, stream, well, tributary, and so on — cannot be used for burial purposes without written approval from the Oregon Department of Environmental Protection.

I’ve read other regulations that stipulate that private burial sites “should be 150 feet from a water supply, 100 feet from a drilled well, and 25 feet from a power line....It’s also a good idea to bury at least 20 feet from the setback on your property.” Finally, even when you can create a family burial ground on your own land, you cannot charge money for burial rites. Most people wouldn’t, but this is just an example of the many issues and concerns you should investigate before moving forward.

Tip: Mother Nature Network offers this excellent advice: “If you bury a body on private land, you should draw a map of the property showing the burial ground and file it with the property deed so the location will be clear to others in the future.”

Burial at Sea

Burial at sea is a disposition method that releases a deceased body into the ocean, so that it sinks and decomposes naturally. A burial at sea can be considered a green burial if, as with any green burial, it does not involve traditional embalming or containers made of steel, concrete, or other nonbiodegradable materials.

Arranging a burial at sea is possible for anyone, no matter how far from the water you live. However, it requires a boat, and if you don’t have one, you’ll need to contract one. Also, a burial at sea (as well as spreading cremated ashes at sea) must follow a different set of rules than for burials on land.

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) oversees US laws and regulations for burials at sea. The general permit is published in the federal regulations (available online), and the rules mandate that the site of the water interment be three nautical miles from land and at a depth of at least six hundred feet. Furthermore, the rule requires that “all necessary measures shall be taken to ensure that the remains sink to the bottom rapidly and permanently.”

New England Burials at Sea is a Massachusetts company that can be hired for this service, and they also provide help and information for families interested in this option. I had a lovely email exchange with the owner, Captain Brad White, who said voyages take about forty-five minutes to reach the desired location, approximately three miles off the coast at an ocean depth of six hundred feet.

Performing a green burial at sea is possible without the help of a contracted service. If you wish to do so, consult the EPA’s “Burial at Sea” website, and keep these two important steps in mind:

  • The EPA must be notified within thirty days of a full-body burial at sea with the following details: date, time, place, name of the deceased, and person responsible for burying the body at sea.

  • Care needs to be taken to ensure that the body sinks to the ocean floor. Either weigh down a biodegradable shroud, or drill a natural wood coffin with enough holes that it will take on water (the EPA website has instructions).

Excerpted from the book The Green Burial Guidebook.
Copyright ©2018 by Elizabeth Fournier.
Printed with permission from New World Library
www.newworldlibrary.com.

Article Source

The Green Burial Guidebook: Everything You Need to Plan an Affordable, Environmentally Friendly Burial
by Elizabeth Fournier, “The Green Reaper”

The Green Burial Guidebook: Everything You Need to Plan an Affordable, Environmentally Friendly Burial by Elizabeth Fournier, “The Green Reaper”Funeral expenses in the United States average more than $10,000. And every year conventional funerals bury millions of tons of wood, concrete, and metals, as well as millions of gallons of carcinogenic embalming fluid. There is a better way, and Elizabeth Fournier, affectionately dubbed the “Green Reaper,” walks you through it, step-by-step. She provides comprehensive and compassionate guidance, covering everything from green burial planning and home funeral basics to legal guidelines and outside-the-box options, such as burials at sea. Fournier points the way to green burial practices that consider both the environmental well-being of the planet and the economic well-being of loved ones. (Also available as a Kindle edition.)

click to order on amazon

 

 


Related Books

About the Author

Elizabeth Fournier, affectionately called “The Green Reaper”Elizabeth Fournier, affectionately called “The Green Reaper,” is the author of The Green Burial Guidebook: Everything You Need to Plan an Affordable, Environmentally Friendly Burial. She is owner and operator of Cornerstone Funeral Services, outside of Portland, Oregon. She serves on the Advisory Board for the Green Burial Council, which sets the standard for green burial in North America. She lives on a farm with her husband, daughter and many goats. Find out more about her work at www.thegreenreaper.org

Video:  Green Burial Expert Elizabeth Fournier, aka the "Green Reaper"

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…