رعاية لوالدينا المسنين

رعاية لوالدينا المسنين

في السنوات الأخيرة ، قمت برحلات لا حصر لها إلى ألمانيا. لا ، للأسف ، للاستمتاع بالمناظر الطبيعية ، ولكن الاهتمام أولاً بأبي حتى وفاته في 2013 ، والآن بالنسبة لأمي ، التي عانت من ثلاث جروح خطيرة ، يكاد يكون أعمى ، ولديه خرف.

يحدث ذلك أنني مجرد طفل يعيش في بلد بعيد ، لا يوجد لديه أشقاء أو أقارب يعتمدون عليه. رغم أن وضعي قد يكون غير عادي في بعض النواحي ، فأنا أعرف العديد من الأشخاص الذين قاموا برحلات مماثلة. في مرحلة ما ، حدث انعكاس دور ، وأصبحوا مقدم رعاية آبائهم.

كما يعرف أي شخص من يهتم بوالد مسن ، ليس من السهل. إنها مهمة مقدسة وتحوّية بلا شك ، ولكنها قد تكون صعبة للغاية. المطالب المفروضة على مقدمي الرعاية ضخمة. قد يتم دعوتهم لاتخاذ قرارات صعبة في مطلع عشرة سنتات. قد يضطرون للتعامل مع الأزمات الصحية والأطباء غير الأكفاء والكوارث غير المتوقعة. الإجهاد المالي هو الضغط الشائع. قد يكون آباؤهم عنيدون ، في حالة نكران ، أو نرجسيين ، أو عاديين صعبين. وقد تنفجر جروح الطفولة غير المكشوفة ، مما يؤدي إلى عواصف داخلية من الغضب والحزن والاستياء والسلبية.

وكما لو أن كل ذلك لم يكن كافيا ، فهناك أيضا معاناة الاضطرار إلى مشاهدة معاناة شخص تحبه في حين أنه غير قادر على المساعدة. لن أنسى أبداً الألم الذي شعرت به عندما زرت والدي قبل أسابيع قليلة من وفاته. لقد وجدته مستلقيا في سريره ، كضحية هزلية كضحية للمحرقة ، وجهه مغطى بكدمات سوداء و زرقاء من سقوط حديث ، مسجون في جسد لم يعد يستطيع دعمه بأي شكل من الأشكال. ارتدت القلب ، وتراجعت إلى الحمام وتبكي.

لا شيء أعدني لهذا

نشأ ، لا أعتقد أنه حدث لي في يوم من الأيام ، سوف أكون مسؤولاً عن الشخصين اللتين اتصلت بهما لأمي وأبي. من المؤكد أن الموضوع لم يثر في المدرسة أو الكلية. أعتقد أننا جميعًا نتوقع توقعًا غامضًا أنه بمجرد أن يصبح آباؤنا مسنين بحيث لا يمكنهم العيش في المنزل ، فإنهم ينتقلون إلى نوع معين من مرافق المعيشة المساعدة. لم نشجع أبدًا على التفكير في ما قد يستتبعه ذلك ، أو ما قد يكون دورنا في هذه العملية. في نظرنا ، كان الأمر بسيطًا جدًا: فقد كان دور أبوينا هو توفير الحماس لنا وتلقيه.

بالطبع ، في العديد من الأنواع الحيوانية ، هذا هو بالضبط كيف تعمل الأشياء: تدفقات التغذية في اتجاه واحد فقط: من الأم إلى الطفل. ومع ذلك فنحن البشر نفعل الأشياء بشكل مختلف. في المجتمعات البشرية في جميع أنحاء العالم ، من المعتاد للشباب أن يعتني بالمسنين. في البداية ، نتلقى تغذية ، نقدمها لاحقًا أيضًا. في هذا ، فأنواعنا ليست وحدها. فعلى سبيل المثال ، غالباً ما تهتم الأفيال الشابة بالشيخوخة والمسيحيين المشاكسين بحنان هائل ، وتحميهم من الحيوانات المفترسة وتساعدهم على الوصول إلى الغذاء.

دور عكس

وبالمثل ، في النوع الخاص بنا ، من الواضح أن رعاية المسنين هي جزء لا يتجزأ من معنى أن تكون إنسانًا. وبعبارة أخرى ، فإن عكس الدور الذي يمكن أن نواجهه في عصر الوالدين ليس شذوذًا أو حادثًا مؤسفًا. هذا متوقع. إنها الطريقة التي تعمل بها الأشياء. لكن لأنه نادرا ما يتم الحديث عنه ، فإننا غالبًا ما نكون غير مستعدين حين يحدث.

كيف يمكننا أن نهتم بالشيوخ والقائمين على رعايتهم بطرق أكثر رحمة وبهيجة؟ كيف نحافظ على سلامة النظام الذي لدينا (لأن هناك صلاح فيه ، جنباً إلى جنب مع الخلل الوظيفي الرهيب) أثناء إنشاء نماذج جديدة تلبي احتياجات جميع الأجيال؟ لست متأكد. لكنني على ثقة من وجود حلول ، وأنا أعلم أن الاتصال هو المفتاح للعثور عليهم.

فتح الباب أمام رؤية جديدة

بعد أن عملت مع تجمعات دائرة لأكثر من ثلاثين عامًا ، أعرف قوتهم لتوحيدنا معاً حول نية مشتركة. لذلك ، أشجعك على إنشاء دوائر حيث يمكنك مشاركة آمالك وأحلامك ومعرفتك وخبرتك.

والآن ، قد تسأل نفسك: "ماذا أحب أن أراه يحدث؟"

إن إنشاء شيء جديد يبدأ دائماً برؤية. لذا افتح الباب لرؤيتك ، تحدثها ، شاركها. معا ، يمكننا أن نخلق عالما تحصل فيه جميع الأجيال على الدعم الذي تحتاجه لتعيش حياة غنية وممتعة.

حقوق الطبع والنشر 2018 بواسطة Jalaja Bonheim. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

كتاب من هذا المؤلف

The Magic of Circlework: ممارسة المرأة حول العالم تستخدم للشفاء وتمكين أنفسهن
بواسطة Jalaja Bonheim

The Magic of Circlework: ممارسة المرأة حول العالم تستخدم للشفاء وتمكين نفسها بواسطة Jalaja Bonheimسحر الدائرة يتضمن قصص وأصوات العديد من النساء اللواتي يستخدمن Circlework لشفاء حياتهن وعلاقاتهن. أي شخص مهتم بعملية الشفاء والتطور سيحب قصصهم عن المواجهات التي تغيّر الحياة والاستيقاظ. في الوقت نفسه ، يؤكد المؤلف أن بإمكان القراء استخدام مبادئ العمل الدائري حتى لو لم يحضروا اجتماع الدائرة. العمل الدائري هو ، في النهاية ، ليس مجرد عملية جماعية. إنها أيضًا ممارسة روحية تقترب من الدائرة كدواء شفاء داخلي يولد فيه جميع البشر.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب الورقي أو شراء أوقد الطبعة.

عن المؤلف

جالاغا بونهايم ، دكتوراه.جالاغا بونهايم ، دكتوراه ، مؤسسة معهد Circlework ، هي متحدثة شهيرة دوليا ومؤلفة حائزة على جوائز ، وتشرف على النساء في جميع أنحاء العالم ، ودربت المئات من قادة الدوائر ، وحصدت إشادة خاصة لعملها الرائد في الشرق الأوسط ، حيث الدوائر توحيد النساء اليهوديات والفلسطينيات. وهي مؤلفة العديد من الكتب بما في ذلك الأنا المقدسة: صنع السلام مع أنفسنا وعالمنا التي فازت بجائزة نوتيلوس لأفضل كتاب من 2015. زيارة موقعها على الانترنت في www.jalajabonheim.com

المزيد من الكتب من قبل هذا المؤلف

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 1583949437. maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 0983346658. maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 1626523606. maxresults = 1}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

الخوف والرهاب: كيف نواجههم وننتشرهم
الخوف والرهاب: كيف نواجههم وننتشرهم
by روبرت تي. لندن ، دكتوراه في الطب

Caring for Our Aging Parents

Caring for Our Aging Parents

In recent years, I’ve taken countless trips to Germany. Not, unfortunately, to enjoy the scenery, but rather to care, first for my father until his death in 2013, and now for my mother, who has suffered three serious strokes, is nearly blind, and has dementia.

It so happens that I’m an only child who lives in a far-away country, with no siblings or relatives to lean on. Yet while my situation may be unusual in some respects, I know many people who have undertaken similar journeys. At some point, a role reversal occurred, and they became their parents’ caregiver.

As anyone knows who’s cared for an elderly parent, it’s not easy. It’s an unquestionably sacred and transformative task, but it can also be extremely difficult. The demands placed on caregivers are huge. They may be called upon to make difficult decisions at the turn of a dime. They may have to deal with health crises, incompetent doctors and unexpected disasters. Financial stress is a common stressor. Their parents might be stubborn, in denial, narcissistic, or just plain difficult. Unhealed childhood wounds may get ripped open, triggering inner storms of anger and grief, resentment and negativity.

And as if all that weren’t enough, there’s also the agony of having to witness the suffering of someone you love while being completely unable to help. I’ll never forget the anguish I felt when I visited my father a few weeks before his death. I found him lying in bed, as emaciated as a Holocaust victim, his face covered in black and blue bruises from a recent fall, imprisoned in a body that could no longer support him in any way. Heart-broken, I retreated to the bathroom and sobbed.

Nothing Had Prepared Me For This

Growing up, I don’t think it ever occurred to me that someday, I would be responsible for the two people I called mom and dad. Certainly the subject was never raised in school or in college. I think we all shared a vague expectation that once our parents got too old to live at home, they would move to some type of assisted living facility. We were never encouraged to think about what that might entail, or what our own role in this process might be. In our eyes, it was very simple: our parents’ role was to provide nurturance, ours to receive it.

Of course, in many animal species, that is exactly how things work: nurturance flows in one direction only: from mother to child. Yet we humans do things differently. In human societies the world over, it’s customary for the young to care for the aged. Initially, we receive nurturance, later, we also provide it. In this, our species is by no means alone. Young elephants, for example, often care for aging and demented elders with tremendous tenderness, shielding them from predators and helping them access food.

Role Reversal

Similarly, in our own species, caring for the elderly is clearly an integral part of what it means to be human. In other words, the role reversal that we may experience as our parents age is not an anomaly or an unfortunate accident. It’s to be expected. It’s the way things work. Yet because it’s rarely talked about, we’re often woefully unprepared when it happens.

How can we care for both elders and their caretakers in ways that are more compassionate and joyful? How can we conserve the goodness of the system that we have (for there is goodness in it, side by side with terrible dysfunction) while creating new models that address the needs of all generations? I’m not sure. But I trust that solutions exist, and I know that connection is the key to finding them.

Opening the Door to a New Vision

Having worked with circle gatherings for over thirty years, I know their power to unite us together around a shared intention. Therefore I would encourage you to co-create circles where you can share your hopes and dreams, knowledge and experience.

And right now, you might ask yourself: “What would I like to see happen?”

The creation of something new always begins with a vision. So open the door to your visions, speak them, share them. Together, we can create a world where all generations receive the support they need to lead rich, joyful lives.

Copyright 2018 by Jalaja Bonheim. All Rights Reserved.

Book by this Author

The Magic of Circlework: The Practice Women Around the World Are Using to Heal and Empower Themselves
by Jalaja Bonheim

The Magic of Circlework: The Practice Women Around the World Are Using to Heal and Empower Themselves by Jalaja BonheimThe Magic of Circlework includes the stories and voices of many women who are using Circlework to heal their lives and relationships. Anyone interested in the process of healing and evolution will love their stories of life-altering encounters and awakenings. At the same time, the author emphasizes that readers can use the principles of Circlework even if they never attend a circle gathering. Circlework is, after all, not just a group process. It's also a spiritual practice that approaches the circle as an inner healing medicine that all humans are born with.

Click here for more info and/or to order this paperback book or purchase the Kindle edition.

About the Author

Jalaja Bonheim, Ph.D.Jalaja Bonheim, Ph.D., founder of the Institute for Circlework, is an internationally acclaimed speaker and award winning author who mentors women worldwide and has trained hundreds of circle leaders, gathering special acclaim for her groundbreaking work in the Middle East, where her circles unite Jewish and Palestinian women. She is the author of many books including The Sacred Ego: Making Peace with Ourselves and Our World which won the Nautilus Award for best book of 2015. Visit her website at www.jalajabonheim.com

More Books by this Author

The Sacred Ego: Making Peace with Ourselves and Our World (Sacred Activism)
deathAuthor: Jalaja Bonheim
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: North Atlantic Books
List Price: $22.95

Buy Now

Stepping Into Ourselves: An Anthology of Writings on Priestesses
deathBinding: Paperback
Publisher: Goddess Ink
List Price: $34.95

Buy Now

Evolving Toward Peace: Awakening the Global Heart
deathAuthor: Jalaja Bonheim
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Two Harbors Press
List Price: $15.99

Buy Now

enzh-CNtlfrhiides

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}