كيف يمكن للروح البشرية أن تمكّن الحياة اليومية

كيف يمكن للروح البشرية أن تمكّن الحياة اليومية

نحن عندما يهتف لروح رياضي صحيح، ما نحيي هو دليل على أهمية كل من هو روح الكلمة يستتبع بالنسبة لنا: الشجاعة والمثابرة والالتزام والمواءمة مع المبدأ، ومظاهرة للامتياز والشرف، والاحترام، والتواضع. ليلهم يعني ملء مع روح؛ متشائم يعني مكتئب، هزم اليأس،. لكن بالضبط ما لا روح مصطلح يعني؟

ويمكن فهمه مجمل جماعي من التجربة الإنسانية في عبارات مثل "روح الفريق"، أو عندما نحث الناس على "في الحصول على روح". هذه الروح هي عامل واقعية للغاية، والتي يمكن أن تحدد الفرق بين النصر والهزيمة، ومن المعروف جيدا من قبل القادة العسكريين والمدربين والمديرين التنفيذيين. الموظف أو غيره من الأعضاء في المجموعة التي لا تدخل في روح المؤسسة مجموعة سرعان ما يجد نفسه من دون وظيفة أو مجموعة.

لذلك فمن الواضح أن روح يشير إلى جوهر الغيب، الذي لا يتغير، على الرغم من التعبير عنها يختلف من حالة إلى أخرى. هذا الجوهر هو حيوي، وعندما نفقد روحنا، نموت - نحن تنتهي من عدم وجود ما يلهم.

متحدثا سريريا، ثم، يمكننا ان نقول ان روح تماهيا مع الحياة، ويمكن تسميتها طاقة الحياة نفسها روح. الروح هي التي ترافق aliveness، وتعبير عن والمواءمة مع طاقة الحياة. القوة الحقيقية = الحياة = روح، في حين ضعف = قوة = الموت. عندما يكون شخص قد فقدت أو تفتقر إلى تلك الصفات نحن مصطلح الروحية، فإنه يصبح خاليا من الإنسانية، والحب، واحترام الذات، وأنه قد يصبح حتى الأنانية والعنف. عندما ينحرف الأمة من تحالفها مع روح الإنسان، يمكن أن تصبح جنائية دولية.

من الأخطاء الشائعة تحديد الروحانية مع الدين. يميز دستور الولايات المتحدة ، وشرعة الحقوق ، وإعلان الاستقلال بوضوح بين الروحية والدينية. يحظر على حكومة الولايات المتحدة إقامة أي دين ، لئلا يضعف ذلك حرية الناس ؛ لكن هذه الوثائق نفسها تفترض أن سلطة الحكومة مستمدة من المبادئ الروحية.

في الواقع ، فإن مؤسسي الديانات العظيمة في العالم سيصابون بالصدمة إزاء الأفعال غير الأخلاقية التي حدثت بأسمائهم عبر التاريخ - وكثير منها سوف يجعل المرتعش الوثني. القوة تشوه الحقيقة دائمًا لأغراضها الذاتية. بمرور الوقت ، تصبح المبادئ الروحية التي تقوم عليها الأديان مشوهة لأهداف مناسبة ، مثل السلطة والمال وغير ذلك من الدنيوية.

الروحي متسامح ، لكن التدين غير متسامح بشكل عام. الأول يؤدي إلى السلام ، وهذا الأخير إلى الفتنة وسفك الدماء والإجرام المتدين. لا يزال هناك دفن في كل دين ، الأساس الروحي الذي نشأت منه. مثل الأديان ، تضعف الثقافات بأكملها عندما تكون المبادئ التي تستند إليها محجوبة أو ملوثة بتفسير كاذب.

لمزيد من فهم كامل لطبيعة الروح في السلطة، وكيف تنشأ وتعمل كحركة اجتماعية، سنفعل جيدا لدراسة تنظيم المعاصرة الروحي للقوة هائلة ونفوذ - عن كل شيء من الذي سجل العام - واحد وهذا المعلن عنها تتماشى مع روح الإنسان، حتى الآن ينص صراحة على أنه لا ديني. هذا هو تنظيم 55 عاما والمعروفة باسم مدمني الخمر دون الكشف (AA).

السلطة من 12 خطوة البرامج

كلنا نعرف شيئاً عن مدمني الخمر المجهولين ، لأن عدد أتباعه هم بالملايين ، ولكن أيضاً لأنه أصبح منسجماً مع نسيج المجتمع الحديث ذاته. وقد قدر أن AA ومنظماتها الفرعية تأثيرها ، بطريقة أو بأخرى ، على حياة حوالي 50 في المائة من الأمريكيين في هذا الوقت.

حتى عندما لا تدخل مجموعات المساعدة الذاتية المستندة إلى الخطوة 12 الأرواح مباشرة ، فإنها تؤثر على الجميع بشكل غير مباشر لأنها تعزز قيمًا معينة حسب المثال. دعونا ندرس مبادئ القوة التي تستند عليها AA وكيف تأسس هذا الأساس على مر التاريخ ، ودراسة تأثير هذه المبادئ على عموم السكان ، وكذلك بين الأعضاء. يمكننا أن ننظر إلى ما هو AA وأيضا ما هو غير ذلك ، والتعلم من كليهما.

وفقا لديباجته، وAA "لن تتحالف مع أي طائفة، طائفة، والسياسة، أو منظمة". وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإنه "ليس لديها رأي في مسائل خارج." انها لا لولا ضد أي نهج آخر لمشكلة الإدمان على الكحول. ليس لديها أي مستحقات أو الرسوم، لا احتفالات، زخارف، وضباط، أو القوانين. وتمتلك أي ممتلكات، بل لا يوجد لديه الصروح. ليس فقط هي كل أعضاء متساوين، ولكن كل المجموعات AA هي مستقلة ومكتفية ذاتيا. حتى يتم تحديد الخطوات الأساسية التي 12 أعضاء استرداد كما فقط "الاقتراحات". يتم تجنب استخدام الإكراه من أي نوع، ويتم التأكيد من قبل شعارات مثل "يوم واحد في وقت واحد"، "من السهل يفعل ذلك"، "أول الأشياء أولا"، والأهم من ذلك، "عش ودع غيرك يعيش".

مدمنون الكحول المجهولون يحترم الحرية ، في أنه يترك الخيار حتى الفرد. وأنماط القوة التي يمكن تحديدها هي أنماط الصدق والمسؤولية والتواضع والخدمة وممارسة التسامح وحسن النية والأخوة. لا يشترك AA في أي أخلاقيات معينة ، وليس لديه أي قانون للخطأ والصواب أو حسن أو سيئ ، ويتجنب الأحكام الأخلاقية.

AA لا تحاول السيطرة على أي شخص ، بما في ذلك أعضائه. ما يفعله بدلاً من ذلك هو رسم مسار. تقول فقط لأعضائها: "إذا مارست هذه المبادئ في كل شؤونك ، فسوف تتعافى من هذا المرض المميت الخطير والتقدمي ، وتستعيد صحتك واحترامك لذاتك ، والقدرة على العيش حياة مثمرة ومرضية لنفسك والآخرين ".

AA هو المثال الأصلي لقوة هذه المبادئ لعلاج مرض ميئوس منه وتغيير أنماط الشخصية المدمرة للأعضاء. من هذا النموذج جاء كل أشكال العلاج الجماعي اللاحقة ، من خلال اكتشاف أن مجموعات من الناس الذين يجتمعون على أساس رسمي لمعالجة مشاكلهم المتبادلة لديهم سلطة هائلة: آل عنون لأزواج أعضاء AA. ثم الأتاتين لأطفالهم. ثم Gamblers مجهول ، المخدرات مجهول ، الآباء مجهول ، Overeaters مجهول ، وهلم جرا.

هناك الآن على مقربة من 300 منظمات المساعدة الذاتية 12-step المجهولة التي تتعامل مع كل شكل من أشكال المعاناة البشرية. لقد تحول الأميركيون ، نتيجة لكل هذا ، إلى حد كبير الآن من إدانة السلوكيات المدمرة للذات إلى إدراك أن هذه الأمراض هي بالفعل أمراض قابلة للشفاء.

من وجهة نظر عملية، ويمكن احتساب تأثير كبير من منظمات المساعدة الذاتية في المجتمع على، ليس فقط في تخفيف المعاناة الإنسانية وإعادة العائلات، ولكن في تحقيق وفورات من المليارات من الدولارات. التغيب عن العمل، وجميع أسعار التأمين على السيارات، والرعاية الاجتماعية، والرعاية الصحية، وتكاليف نظام العقوبات خاضعة للإشراف إلى حد كبير من تغير في السلوك على نطاق واسع التي تنتجها هذه الحركة. لذلك فإن التكلفة المشورة التي توفرها الدولة، والعلاج الجماعي وحده لملايين الأفراد المضطربة خدم تكون مذهلة.

من قبل الملايين، وأعضاء هذه المنظمات توافق بالإجماع على أن قبول القيود المفروضة على الأنا الفردية سمحت لهم لتجربة القوة الحقيقية، وأنه من تلك القوة التي أسفرت عن شفائهم - الذي ههنا إلى أي شيء على الأرض، بما في ذلك الطب والطب النفسي ، أو أي فرع من فروع العلوم الحديثة، تمكنت من القيام به.

التاريخ من مدمني الخمر دون الكشف

يمكننا أن نجعل بعض الملاحظات الهامة من قصة كيف النموذج 12 خطوة منظمة، مدمني الخمر دون الكشف، جاء إلى حيز الوجود. مرة أخرى في 1930s، تم قبول إدمان الكحول، كما كان على مر القرون، والمرض، وميئوس منه التقدمية التي حيرت العلوم الطبية والدينية كذلك. (وفي الواقع، فإن انتشار إدمان الكحول بين رجال الدين في حد ذاته كان ارتفاع المرعب.) ويعتقد أن كل أشكال الإدمان على المخدرات ليكون غير قابل للشفاء، وعندما وصلت إلى مرحلة معينة، والضحايا كانوا ببساطة "وضعت بعيدا".

في 1930s في وقت مبكر، وكان رجل أعمال بارز الأمريكية (المعروفة لدينا مثل رولاند ه)، وتسعى إلى كل علاج لإدمان الكحول له، من دون جدوى. ثم ذهب لرؤية الشهيرة النفسي السويسري كارل يونغ لتلقي العلاج. تعامل جونغ رولاند ه لمدة سنة تقريبا، وهو الوقت الذي كنت حققت قدرا من الرصانة. وعاد رولاند الى الولايات المتحدة مليئة بالأمل ... فقط ليصيبه مرة أخرى مع إدمان الكحول نشط.

ذهبت مرة أخرى إلى سويسرا رولاند لرؤية جونغ مرة أخرى، ونسأل لمزيد من العلاج. وقال جونغ بتواضع له ان لا علم له ولا فن قد يساعده أيضا، ولكن هذا الرجل على مر التاريخ - إلا نادرا، ولكن من وقت لآخر - بعض الذين تخلوا عن أنفسهم تماما لبعض التنظيم الروحي وسلموا أنفسهم إلى الله للحصول على مساعدة للشفاء.

عادت رولاند إلى الولايات المتحدة ، لكنّه اتبع نصيحة يونغ وسعى إلى تنظيم ذلك الوقت باسم مجموعات أكسفورد. كانت هذه مجموعات من الأفراد الذين التقوا بانتظام لمناقشة الحياة المعيشية وفقا للمبادئ الروحية ، يشبه إلى حد كبير تلك التي اعتمدت لاحقا من قبل AA. من خلال هذه الوسائل ، تعافى رولاند في الواقع ، وكان تعافيه مصدرا للدهشة لطرف آخر معني يدعى إدوين تي ، أو "إببي" ، الذي كان أيضا مدمناً على الكحول يائسة. عندما أخبرت رولاند Ebby عن كيف تعافى ، حذت Ebby حذوها وحصلت على الرصانة.

ثم امتد نمط شخص يساعد شخصًا آخر بنفس المشكلة ، من إببي إلى صديقه بيل و. ، الذي كان يتم إدخاله إلى المستشفى بشكل متكرر بسبب إدمانه على الكحول الذي لا طائل منه ، وكانت حالته خطيرة من الناحية الطبية. أخبر إباي بيل أن تعافيه كان مستندًا إلى الخدمة للآخرين ، والتنظيف الأخلاقي ، وإخفاء الهوية ، والتواضع ، والاستسلام لسلطة أكبر من نفسه.

وكان مشروع قانون جورج ملحدا، وجدت فكرة الاستسلام للأعلى سلطة غير جذابة، على أقل تقدير. وكانت الفكرة كلها من الاستسلام المقيتة إلى الفخر بيل، وبالتالي، وقال انه غرق الى اليأس المطلق، أسود. كان لديه هاجس عقلي مع وحساسية المادية ل، والكحول - والذي حكم عليه المرض والجنون، والموت، والتكهن بأنه تم بوضوح له وزوجته، لويس. في النهاية، وقدم بيل تصل تماما، في هذه المرحلة لديه خبرة عميقة من وجود لانهائي والضوء وشعرت شعورا كبيرا للسلام. في تلك الليلة، وكان في النهاية قادرا على النوم، وعندما استيقظت في اليوم التالي، وقال انه شعر كما لو كان عنيدا وتحولت في بعض الطريق لا يوصف.

وقد أكدت فعالية تجربة بيل من قبل د. الدكتور وليام Silkworth، طبيبه في ما كان يعرف آنذاك مستشفى المدينة، وعلى الجانب الغربي من مدينة نيويورك. وكان Silkworth علاج أكثر من المدمنين على الكحول و10,000، في هذه العملية، قد اكتسبت حكمة كافية لندرك أهمية عميق من تجربة بيل. أنه هو الذي قدم في وقت لاحق مشروع قانون لكتاب عظيم النفس وليم جيمس الكلاسيكية، أصناف من الخبرة الدينية.

أراد بيل تمرير هديته إلى الآخرين ، وكما قال هو نفسه ، "لقد قضيت الأشهر القليلة المقبلة في محاولة لتفادي حالة السكارى ، ولكن دون نجاح." في نهاية المطاف ، اكتشف أنه من الضروري إقناع موضوع يأس حالته - في المصطلحات النفسية الحديثة ، للتغلب على إنكاره. كان نجاح بيل الأول هو الدكتور بوب ، وهو جراح من أكرون ، أوهايو ، الذي تبين أنه يتمتع بقدرات كبيرة للروحانية - أصبح لاحقاً أحد مؤسسي AA. حتى وفاته في 1956 ، لم يتناول بوب أي شراب آخر (لم يفعل بيل و. ، الذي توفي في 1980.)

لقد تجلت القوة الهائلة التي تحققت من خلال تجربة بيل دبليو خارجياً في ملايين الأرواح التي تغيرت بسببها. في قائمة Life من 100 أعظم الأمريكيين الذين عاشوا في أي وقت مضى ، يعود الفضل لـ Bill W. في كونه المنشئ لحركة المساعدة الذاتية بأكملها.

قصة جورج بيل هو نموذجي من الأفراد الذين كانوا قنوات قوة عظمى - المبادئ التي تنقل في مهنة موجز إعادة ترتيب حياة الملايين على مدى فترات طويلة من الزمن. يسوع المسيح، على سبيل المثال، تدرس لثلاث سنوات فقط قصيرة، وبعد تعاليمه حولت كل من المجتمع الغربي للأجيال منذ ذلك الحين؛ لقاء الرجل مع هذه التعاليم وتقع في قلب التاريخ الغربي على مدى السنوات 2,000 الماضي.

السلطة من حيث المبدأ لم يتغير طوال الوقت. إذا كنا نفهم تماما لهم أم لا، وهذه المبادئ هي المثل التي تسعى البشرية. من نضالنا من أجل تحسين أنفسنا، ونحن نعلم التعاطف مع أولئك الذين ما زالوا في قبضة الصراع الداخلي، للخروج من هذا ينمو من الحكمة، بما في ذلك شفقة، عن حالة البشرية كلها.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
Hay House Inc. © 1995، 1998، 2002، 2012.
كل الحقوق محفوظة. www.hayhouse.com.

المادة المصدر:

القوة مقابل القوة: محددات الخفية للسلوك البشري
بواسطة ديفيد هوكينز ر.

القوة مقابل القوة من قبل ديفيد هوكينز ر.يشرح ديفيد ر. هوكينز كيف يمكن لأي شخص حل أهم المعضلات الإنسانية: كيفية تحديد الحقيقة أو الباطل لأي عبارة أو حقيقة مفترضة على الفور. يستخدم الدكتور هوكينز ، الذي عمل "طبيبًا نفسيًا شافيًا" خلال مسيرته الطويلة والمتميزة ، المفاهيم النظرية من فيزياء الجسيمات والديناميكيات غير الخطية ونظرية الفوضى لدعم دراسته للسلوك البشري. هذا هو عمل رائع من شأنها أن تثير القراء من جميع مناحى الحياة!

معلومات / اطلب هذا الكتاب (طبعة جديدة منقحة / غلاف مختلف)..

عن المؤلف

ديفيد هوكينز ر دكتوراه في الطب، دكتوراه

الدكتور ديفيد هوكينز هو محاضر شهير وخبير في العمليات العقلية. عضو مدى الحياة في جمعية الطب النفسي الأمريكية ، بدأ العمل في الطب النفسي في 1952. منذ التنازل عن ممارسته الواسعة في نيويورك لحياة بحثية ، استمر في التدريس الروحي. الدكتور هوكينز هو مؤلف العديد من الأوراق العلمية وأشرطة الفيديو. في 1973 شارك في تأليف العمل المبتكر بالتصحيح الجزيئي الطب النفسي مع جائزة نوبل لينوس بولينغ الفائز. الدكتور هوكينز يشغل حاليا منصب مدير معهد البحوث النظرية المتقدمة.

المزيد من الكتب كتبها هذا الكاتب

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = David R. Hawkins؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

How The Human Spirit Can Empower Everyday Life

How The Human Spirit Can Empower Everyday Life

When we cheer the spirit of the true athlete, what we applaud is a demonstration of all of the significance's the word spirit entails for us: courage, tenacity, commitment, alignment with principle, demonstration of excellence, honor, respect, and humility. To inspire implies filling with spirit; dispirited means dejected, hopeless, defeated. But what exactly does the term spirit signify?

The collective totality of human experience can be comprehended in phrases such as "team spirit" or when we exhort people to "get in the spirit." That spirit is a highly pragmatic factor, which can determine the difference between victory and defeat, is well known by military commanders, coaches, and CEOs. An employee or other group member who doesn't enter into the spirit of the group enterprise soon finds himself without a job or group.

So it's clear that spirit refers to an unseen essence, which never changes, even though its expression varies from one situation to another. This essence is vital; when we lose our spirit, we die -- we expire from lack of that which inspires.

Clinically speaking, then, we can say that spirit equates with life; the energy of life itself can be termed spirit. Spirit is the aliveness that accompanies, and is an expression of, alignment with life energy. True power = life = spirit, whereas force = weakness = death. When an individual has lost or lacks those qualities we term spiritual, he becomes devoid of humanity, love, and self-respect; he may even become selfish and violent. When a nation veers from its alignment with the spirit of man, it can become an international criminal.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


It's a common error to identify spirituality with religion. The United States Constitution, the Bill of Rights, and the Declaration of Independence clearly differentiate between the spiritual and the religious. The United States government is forbidden to establish any religion, lest it impair the freedom of the people; yet these same documents presume that government's authority derives from spiritual principles.

In fact, the founders of the world's great religions would be shocked at the profoundly unspiritual deeds wrought in their names through history -- many of which would make a heathen shudder. Force always distorts truth for its own self-serving purposes. Over time, the spiritual principles upon which religions are based become distorted for expedient ends, such as power, money, and other worldliness.

The spiritual is tolerant, yet religiosity is commonly intolerant; the former leads to peace, the latter to strife, bloodshed, and pious criminality. There remains, however, buried within every religion, the spiritual foundation that it originated from. Like religions, entire cultures are weakened when the principles that they're based upon are obscured or contaminated by false interpretation.

To more fully understand the nature of spirit in power and how it originates and operates as a social movement, we'll do well to study a contemporary spiritual organization of enormous power and influence -- about which everything is of public record -- one that's avowedly aligned with the spirit of man, yet flatly states that it is not religious. That is the 55-year-old organization known as Alcoholics Anonymous (AA).

The Power of 12-Step Programs

We all know something about Alcoholics Anonymous, because its adherents number in the millions, but also because it has become woven into the very fabric of modern society. AA and its offshoot organizations have been estimated to affect, in one way or another, the lives of about 50 percent of Americans at this time.

Even where the 12-step-based self-help groups don't enter lives directly, they affect everyone indirectly because they reinforce certain values by example. Let's study the power principles that AA is based upon and how this foundation came about historically, and examine the impact that these principles have within the general population, as well as among members. We can look at what AA is and also what it is not, and learn from both.

According to its preamble, AA is "not allied with any sect, denomination, politics, or organization." In addition, it has "no opinion on outside matters." It's neither for nor against any other approach to the problem of alcoholism. It has no dues or fees, no ceremonies, trappings, officers, or laws. It owns no property; it has no edifices. Not only are all members equal, but all AA groups are autonomous and self-supporting. Even the 12 basic steps by which members recover are specified as only "suggestions." The use of coercion of any kind is avoided and is emphasized by slogans such as "One day at a time," "Easy does it," "First things first," and, most important, "Live and let live."

Alcoholics Anonymous respects freedom, in that it leaves choice up to the individual. Its identifiable power patterns are those of honesty, responsibility, humility, service, and the practice of tolerance, goodwill, and brotherhood. AA doesn't subscribe to any particular ethic, has no code of right and wrong or good and bad, and avoids moral judgments.

AA doesn't try to control anyone, including its own members. What it does instead is chart a path. It merely says to its members, "If you practice these principles in all of your affairs, you'll recover from this grave and progressive fatal illness, and regain your health and self-respect, and the capacity to live a fruitful and fulfilling life for yourself and others."

AA is the original example of the power of these principles to cure hopeless disease and change the destructive personality patterns of members. From this paradigm came all subsequent forms of group therapy, through the discovery that groups of people coming together on a formal basis to address their mutual problems have enormous power: Al-Anon for the spouses of AA members; then Alateen for their children; then Gamblers Anonymous, Narcotics Anonymous, Parents Anonymous, Overeaters Anonymous, and so on.

There are now close to 300 anonymous 12-step self-help organizations dealing with every form of human suffering. Americans, as a result of all of this, have now largely turned from condemning self-destructive behaviors to recognizing that these conditions are indeed curable diseases.

From a practical viewpoint, the sizable impact of self-help organizations on society can be counted on, not only in the relief of human suffering and the reconstitution of families, but in savings of billions of dollars. Absenteeism, automobile insurance rates, welfare, health care, and penal system costs are all greatly moderated by the widespread behavioral change produced by this movement. The cost of state-provided counseling and group therapy alone for the millions of troubled individuals served would be staggering.

By the millions, the members of these organizations unanimously agree that admitting the limitations of their individual egos allowed them to experience a true power, and that it's that power that brought about their recovery -- which hither to nothing on Earth, including medicine, psychiatry, or any branch of modern science, had been able to do.

The History of Alcoholics Anonymous

We can make some important observations from the story of how the prototype 12-step organization, Alcoholics Anonymous, came into existence. Back in the 1930s, alcoholism was accepted, as it had been over the centuries, as a hopeless, progressive disease that had baffled medical science and religion as well. (In fact, the prevalence of alcoholism among the clergy itself was alarmingly high.) All forms of drug addiction were thought to be incurable, and when they reached a certain stage, victims were simply "put away."

In the early 1930s, a prominent American businessman (known to us as Rowland H.), had sought every cure for his alcoholism, without avail. He then went to see the famous Swiss psychoanalyst Carl Jung for treatment. Jung treated Rowland H. for approximately a year, by which time he'd achieved some degree of sobriety. Rowland returned to the United States full of hope ... only to fall ill again with active alcoholism.

Rowland went back to Switzerland to see Jung again and ask for further treatment. Jung humbly told him that neither his science nor art could help him further, but that throughout man's history -- rarely, but from time to time -- some who had abandoned themselves completely to some spiritual organization and surrendered to God for help had recovered.

Rowland returned to the United States dejected, but he followed Jung's advice and sought out an organization of that time called the Oxford Groups. These were groups of individuals who met regularly to discuss living life according to spiritual principles, very much like those adopted later by AA. Through these means, Rowland in fact recovered, and his recovery was a source of astonishment to another concerned party named Edwin T., or "Ebby," who was also a desperate alcoholic beyond all help. When Rowland told Ebby of how he had recovered, Ebby followed suit and also got sober.

The pattern of one person helping another with the same problem then extended from Ebby to his friend Bill W., who had been hospitalized frequently for hopeless, incurable alcoholism and whose condition was medically grave. Ebby told Bill that his recovery was based on service to others, moral housecleaning, anonymity, humility, and surrendering to a power greater than himself.

Bill W. was an atheist, and found the idea of surrendering to a higher power unappealing, to say the least. The whole idea of surrender was abhorrent to Bill's pride; consequently, he sank into an absolute, black despair. He had a mental obsession with, and a physical allergy to, alcohol -- which condemned him to sickness, insanity, and death, a prognosis that had been clearly spelled out to him and his wife, Lois. Ultimately, Bill gave up completely; at this point he had the profound experience of an infinite Presence and Light and felt a great sense of peace. That night, he was finally able to sleep, and when he awoke the next day, he felt as though he'd been transformed in some indescribable way.

The efficacy of Bill's experience was confirmed by Dr. William D. Silkworth, his physician at what was then Town's Hospital, on the west side of New York City. Silkworth had treated more than 10,000 alcoholics and, in the process, had acquired enough wisdom to recognize the profound importance of Bill's experience. It was he who later introduced Bill to the great psychologist William James's classic book, The Varieties of Religious Experience.

Bill wanted to pass his gift on to others, and as he himself said, "I spent the next few months trying to sober up drunks, but without success." Eventually, he discovered that it was necessary to convince the subject of the hopelessness of his condition -- in modern psychological terms, to overcome his denial. Bill's first success was Dr. Bob, a surgeon from Akron, Ohio, who turned out to have a great aptitude for the spiritual -- he later became a cofounder of AA. Until his death in 1956, Dr. Bob never took another drink (neither did Bill W., who died in 1980.)

The enormous power that was realized through Bill W.'s experience has manifested itself externally in the millions of lives that have been transformed because of it. In Life's listing of the 100 greatest Americans who ever lived, Bill W. is credited with being the originator of the entire self-help movement.

The story of Bill W. is typical of individuals who have been channels of great power -- the principles they convey in a brief career reorder the lives of millions over long periods of time. Jesus Christ, for instance, taught for only three short years, and yet his teachings transformed all of Western society for the generations since; man's encounter with these teachings lies at the center of Western history for the last 2,000 years.

The power of a principle remains unchanged throughout time. Whether we fully understand them or not, these principles are the ideals for which mankind strives. From our own struggles to better ourselves, we learn compassion for those still in the grip of inner conflict; out of this grows a wisdom, including compassion, for the entire human condition.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Hay House Inc. ©1995, 1998, 2002, 2012.
All Rights Reserved. www.hayhouse.com.

Article Source:

Power vs. Force: The Hidden Determinants of Human Behavior
by David R. Hawkins.

Power vs. Force by David R. Hawkins. David R. Hawkins details how anyone may resolve the most crucial of all human dilemmas: how to instantly determine the truth or falsehood of any statement or supposed fact. Dr. Hawkins, who worked as a "healing psychiatrist" during his long and distinguished career, uses theoretical concepts from particle physics, nonlinear dynamics, and chaos theory to support his study of human behavior. This is a fascinating work that will intrigue readers from all walks of life!

Info/Order this book (new revised edition/different cover)..

About the Author

David R. Hawkins M.D, Ph.D.

Dr. David R. Hawkins is a renowned lecturer and expert on mental processes. A lifetime member of the American Psychiatric Association, he began work in psychiatry in 1952. Since relinquishing his extensive New York practice for a life of research, he continues spiritual teaching. Dr. Hawkins is the author of numerous scientific papers and videotapes; in 1973 he co authored-the innovative work Orthomolecular Psychiatry with Nobel Prize winner Linus Pauling. Dr. Hawkins is currently the director of The Institute for Advanced Theoretical Research.

More books by this author

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=David R. Hawkins;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}