ماذا يعني أن تكون روحية؟

روحانية

ماذا يعني أن تكون روحية؟على نحو متزايد ، يتعرف جيل الألفية في أمريكا الشمالية على أنه روحاني مقابل ديني. بالنسبة لهم ، جزء من هذه الروحانية يعني أن يكونوا عطوفين ومتعاطفين ومفتوحين. (صراع الأسهم)

أصبحت الروحانية نوعًا من الكلمات الطنانة في ثقافة اليوم، وخاصة بالنسبة للجيل الألفية. على نحو متزايد ، يعرف الأمريكيون الشماليون روحية مقابل الدينية.

ماذا وراء الشعبية المتصاعدة للروحانية بدون دين؟ وقد اقترح بعض النقاد أنه هو ناتج عن ثقافة الذات المهووسة اليوموالدليل على النرجسية الوباء. هذا النقد مشابه لما تم إطلاقه في الجيل الألفي (المولود بين 1980-2000) بشكل عام ، ما أطلق عليه بعض العلماء "جيل لي."

على الرغم من أنني لا أتفق مع هذه التوصيفات ، إلا أنني أعتقد أن هناك الكثير من القصة. منذ 2015 لقد أجريت بحثًا معمقًا مع جيل الألفية الكندي ، وإجراء المقابلات 33 من جيل الألفية الكنديين الذين يميزون أنفسهم على أنهم روحانيون ولكن ليسوا متدينين - من أجل فهم أفضل لمعتقداتهم وممارساتهم.

أعتقد أنه عندما يصف الناس أنفسهم بالروحانية ، فإنهم يشيرون في الأساس إلى ثلاثة أمور: أولاً ، أنهم يعتقدون أن العالم أكثر مما يراه العين ، أي أكثر من مجرد مادة. ثانيًا ، أنهم يحاولون أن يحضروا حياتهم الداخلية - لحالاتهم العقلية والعاطفية - على أمل اكتساب نوع معين من المعرفة الذاتية. ثالثًا ، أنهم يقدرون الفضائل التالية: كونهم متعاطفين ومتعاطفين ومفتوحين.

أسئلة حول معنى وقيمة في العالم

تكمن أصول كلمة "الروحانية" ، في سياق اللاهوت المسيحي ، في الاسم اللاتيني spiritualitas، والتي اشتقت من الاسم اليوناني pneuma ، معنى الروح. من المثير للاهتمام أن "الروح" في سياقها الأصلي لم يكن عكس "المادية" أو "المادية" ، بل "الجسد" ، أو كل شيء ليس من الله. لذلك "الشخص الروحي" ، بالمعنى المسيحي الأصلي ، كان ببساطة شخصًا يسكنه روح الله.

على الرغم من ذلك ، بين الأجيال التي قابلتها ، فإن "الروحانية" تتناقض بشكل عام مع "المادية". ولذلك فهي تشير إلى ما نحتاج إلى العيش فيه ، لكننا لا نستطيع إدراكه أو قياسه.

إن الديانة ، كما يعتقد كثيرون تقليديًا ، هي التي تحضر إلى مجال الخبرة الإنسانية التي تهم أسئلتنا الأساسية - أسئلة المعنى والغرض والقيمة. لكن منذ التنوير ، العديد من الأفراد في بلدان شمال الأطلسي طوروا فهمهم لأنفسهم كعلماني ، أو حديث.

بالنسبة للكثيرين ، لا يبدو الدين كخيار قابل للتطبيق. يبدو عفا عليه الزمن ، أو على خلاف مع الفهم العلمي للعالم (أو ، على الأقل أجزاء منه). ومع ذلك ، ورغم هذا التحول ، تظل أسئلة المعنى والغرض والقيمة قائمة.

علاوة على ذلك ، بالنسبة للعديد من المشاركين في الدراسة ، فإن العلم عاجز عن الإجابة بشكل كافٍ عن بعض أهم أسئلة الحياة: ما هو الجمال؟ كيف يجب أن أتعامل مع العالم الطبيعي؟ إلى من (أو ماذا) يجب أن أرتكب حياتي؟ لماذا تكون فقط؟ ما هي العدالة؟

على الرغم من أن العلوم يمكن أن تقدم إجابات على هذه الأسئلة ، إلا أن الإجابات نادراً ما تلهم المشاركين كما يحلو لهم. وبالنسبة للكثيرين ، لا تكفي إجابات العلوم ببساطة لمساعدتهم في عيش حياتهم أثناء تجربتهم.

لذا عندما يتحدث الناس عن الروحانية ، فإنهم عادة ما يتذرعون بإطار من المعنى يمكِّنهم من فهم معنى ما يخفق العلم في معالجته.

هذا هو السبب في أن الملحدين واللاأدريين والمؤمنين يستطيعون كلهم ​​- وغالبا ما يفعلون - أن يتعرفوا على أنهم روحانيون. لا يحتاج المرء أن يؤمن بالله لكي يكون لديه أسئلة لا تستطيع المادية العلمية الإجابة عليها.

الثقافة الغربية تركز أيضا على النجاح المادي

الجانب الثاني من الروحانية ينطوي على التحرك إلى الداخل ، أو الانتباه إلى الحياة الداخلية للإنسان ، في كثير من الأحيان كوسيلة لتكريم الأبعاد غير المادية للحياة. يعتقد معظم المشاركين في الدراسة أن الثقافة الغربية المعاصرة تركز بشكل كبير على الخارج ، مما يمجد النجاح المادي والمشتريات على حساب الأشياء المهمة حقًا.

يتفقون مع الناقد الثقافي الشهير إريك فروم ، الذي أكد في 1970s أن المجتمعات الحديثة تؤكد على وجود أشياء بدلاً من مجرد الوجود. تؤكد الروحانية على أهمية الانصياع لحياتنا الداخلية - كطريقة لمقاومة الضغط المستمر الذي تمارسه ثقافتنا لتقدير ما يقع خارجنا ، وكذلك وسيلة لإيجاد مكان للجوء.

هذا هو أحد الأسباب ، على سبيل المثال ، لقد أيد علماء البيئة في كثير من الأحيان الروحانية. ويقول هؤلاء الباحثون أن أحد الأسباب الرئيسية لتغير المناخ والدمار البيئي هو السعي الدؤوب للنمو الاقتصادي ، الذي يغذيه منطق رأسمالي للتملك والتوسع.

ماذا يعني أن تكون روحية؟قال الدالاي لاما ذات مرة ، بينما كان الغرب مشغولاً باستكشاف الفضاء الخارجي ، كان الشرق مشغولاً باستكشاف الفضاء الداخلي. (صراع الأسهم)

كان الدالاي لاما ساخرا ، بينما كان الغرب مشغولا في استكشاف الفضاء الخارجي ، كان الشرق مشغولا باستكشاف الفضاء الداخلي. وبغض النظر عن صحة هذا التعميم ، كان يحصل على شيء يشعر به العديد من المشاركين في دراستي: أن المجتمعات المعاصرة في العالم الغربي منظمة بطريقة تجعل السكوت والسكون هما الاستثناء وليس القاعدة.

عندما يقول جيل الألفية أنهم يسعون إلى أن يصبحوا أكثر روحية ، فإنهم غالبا ما يقولون إنهم يحاولون مقاومة هذا الاتجاه.

النظر إلى الداخل للعمل بمزيد من الحكمة

بالنسبة للعديد من جيل الألفية الذين ينظرون إلى الداخل ، فإن هذا مسعى أخلاقي. أن تكون روحيًا لهم يعني السعي إلى فهم أفضل لحياة الإنسان الداخلية من أجل التصرف بحكمة أكبر في العالم. بالنسبة للكثيرين ، أصبح التأمّل أو الإلمام بحياتهم الداخلية يسمح لهم بالتفاعل مع الآخرين بطريقة أقل تفاعلية وأقل ضرراً وأكثر أصالة بالنسبة إلى من يفكرون في أنفسهم.

وهكذا ، هناك بعض الفضائل التي أصبحت مرتبطة بالروحانية: الرحمة والتعاطف والانفتاح. هذه الفضائل تتدفق بشكل طبيعي من التأمل المتأصل في الروحانية لأنها تتطلب في نهاية المطاف مستوى عال من معرفة الذات. هذا هو ، معرفة لماذا لدينا معتقدات نفعل ، ومعرفة لماذا نتصرف بطرق معينة ، والأهم من ذلك ، معرفة ترابطنا.

وهذه المعرفة - المكتسبة إما من خلال ممارسات مثل التأمل ، والتأمل الذاتي ، والعلاج النفسي (في بعض الحالات) - تقود المرء إلى أن يصبح أكثر حساسية لمشاعر الآخرين ، وحتى للبيئات المحيطة به ، الاجتماعية والطبيعية على حد سواء.

ما هو spiritualty3 1 4يعتقد العديد من جيل الألفية أن المجتمعات المعاصرة في العالم الغربي منظمة بطريقة تجعل السكوت والسكون هما الاستثناء وليس القاعدة. (صراع الأسهم)

وهكذا ، فإن المسار إلى الداخل ، في أفضل شكل له ، لا يكمن في النرجسية بل يستند إلى أخلاقيات قوية - الرغبة في مواجهة الشياطين من أجل فهم أفضل لحالة الإنسان.

بالنسبة للبعض ، فإن هذا المسار نحو الداخل هو في نهاية المطاف حول التحول الذاتي ، أو تجاوز برمجة الطفل في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة وتحقيق نوع معين من إتقان الذات. بالنسبة للآخرين ، فإنه ينطوي على توحيد أنفسهم للأبعاد غير المادية للحياة.

إن الإطار الذي رسمته أعلاه لا يستنفذ المدى الكامل للمعاني التي يستدعيها مصطلح الروحانية. كما أنني لا أقترح أن جميع الأفراد الذين ينطبق عليهم الوصف أعلاه هم بالضرورة روحانيون. أعني فقط أن أقترح أن هذه الخصائص الثلاث تغطي الكثير مما يعني جيل الألفية عندما يسمون أنفسهم روحية.

ما أوضحته لا ينبغي أن يؤدي بالقراء إلى الاعتقاد بأن جميع جيل الألفية الذين يطلقون على أنفسهم روحية يعيشون هذه المثل الأخلاقية. إن قدرتنا على تحقيق مُثُلنا الأخلاقية لا تعتمد فقط على رغبتنا الخاصة ، بل أيضاً على القيود الاجتماعية والاقتصادية التي نعيشها.

وهكذا يسعى بحثي الحالي لفهم الروحانية الحية بشكل أفضل ، أو كيف تعمل الروحانية في حياة الناس اليومية. في نهاية المطاف ، يجب إجراء المزيد من الأبحاث لفهم هذا الاتجاه الناشئ بشكل أفضل.

As عدد الأشخاص الذين يصفونهم بـ "الروحانية" يستمر في الصعود، من المرجح أن الروحانية سوف تأتي لتشكيل مجتمعات أمريكا الشمالية بطرق مهمة ودائمة.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جالين واتس ، طالب دكتوراه في برنامج الدراسات العليا للدراسات الثقافية ، جامعة كوينز ، أونتاريو

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

Girl، Wash your Face: Stop Confieving the Lies About Who Are Are You Become Become Who You are be be be be be
روحانيةمؤلف: راشيل هوليس
ملزم: غلاف فني
الناشر: توماس نيلسون
قائمة الأسعار: $22.99

اشتر الآن

الموت السريع للدين: وصعود الروحانية العالمية
روحانيةمؤلف: د. باتريك ميلر
ملزم: أوقد الطبعة
شكل: أوقد الكتاب الاليكترونى
الناشر: كتب لا يعرف الخوف

اشتر الآن

الجيل Y ، الروحانية والتغير الاجتماعي
روحانيةملزم: كتاب ورقي الغلاف
الناشر: جيسيكا كينغسلي الناشرين
قائمة الأسعار: $24.95

اشتر الآن

روحانية
enarزكية-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

الأبراج الأسبوع الحالي: يناير 14 إلى 20 ، 2019
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans
قوة الإفراج والتأجير
by باربارا بيرجر
أسبوع الأبراج: ديسمبر 31 ، 2018 حتى يناير 6th ، 2019
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans
كيف تزيد مشاعر الحب في أي وقت من السنة
by جود بيجو ، ماجستير ، MFT
أسبوع الأبراج: ديسمبر 24 إلى 30 و 2018
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

What Does It Mean To Be Spiritual?

What Does It Mean To Be Spiritual?Increasingly, North American millennials identify as spiritual as opposed to religious. To them, part of this spirituality means being compassionate, empathetic and open-hearted. (Shutterstock)

Spirituality has become a kind of buzzword in today’s culture, especially for the millennial generation. Increasingly, North Americans identify as spiritual as opposed to religious.

What is behind the rising popularity of spirituality without religion? Some critics have suggested it is a byproduct of the self-obsessed culture of today, evidence of a narcissism epidemic. This criticism is similar to that launched at the millennial generation (born between 1980-2000) in general, what some scholars have called “Generation Me.

Although I don’t disagree with these characterizations, I believe there is more to the story. Since 2015 I have conducted in-depth research with Canadian millennials, interviewing 33 Canadian millennials who self-identify as spiritual but not religious — in order to better understand their beliefs and practices.

I believe when people call themselves spiritual they are basically signaling three things: first, that they believe there is more to the world than meets the eye, that is to say, more than the mere material. Second, that they try to attend to their inner life — to their mental and emotional states — in the hopes of gaining a certain kind of self-knowledge. Third, that they value the following virtues: being compassionate, empathetic and open-hearted.

Questions about meaning and value in the world

The origins of the word “spirituality,” in the context of Christian theology, lie in the Latin noun spiritualitas, which derived from the Greek noun pneuma, meaning spirit. Interestingly, “spirit” in its original context was not the opposite of the “physical” or “material,” but of “flesh,” or everything that is not of God. Therefore a “spiritual person,” in its original Christian sense, was simply a person within whom the Spirit of God dwelt.

Despite this, among the millennials I’ve interviewed, “spirituality” is generally contrasted with “materiality.” It therefore gestures towards that which we require to live, but which we cannot perceive or measure.

Religion, many conventionally think, attends to the field of human experience that concerns our most fundamental questions — questions of meaning, purpose and value. But since the Enlightenment, many individuals in North Atlantic countries have developed a self-understanding of themselves as secular, or modern.

For many, religion does not seem like a viable option. It seems outdated, or at odds with a scientific understanding of the world (or, at least parts of it do). Yet, despite this shift, questions of meaning, purpose and value remain.

Moreover, for many of my study participants, science is incapable of adequately answering some of life’s most crucial questions: What is beauty? How should I relate to the natural world? To whom (or what) should I commit my life? Why be just? What is justice?

Although science can provide answers to these questions, the answers rarely inspire my participants as they would like them to. And for many, science’s answers simply don’t suffice to help them live their lives as they experience them.

So when people speak of spirituality they are generally invoking some framework of meaning that enables them to make sense of that which, for them, science fails to address.

This is why atheists, agnostics and believers can all — and often do — identify as spiritual. One need not believe in God in order to have questions that scientific materialism cannot answer.

Western culture too focused on material success

The second aspect of spirituality involves a move inward, or an attention to one’s inner life, often as a means of honouring the immaterial dimensions of life. Most of my study participants think contemporary Western culture is far too outward focused, glorifying material success and procurement at the expense of the things that really matter.

They would agree with the famous cultural critic Erich Fromm, who in the 1970s argued modern societies emphasize having things as opposed to just being. Spirituality stresses the importance of attuning to our inner life — both as a way of resisting the constant pressure our culture exerts to value what lies outside of us, as well as a means of finding a place of refuge.

This is one reason why, for instance, environmentalists have often endorsed spirituality. One of the major causes of climate change and environmental destruction, these environmentalists argue, is the never-ending quest for economic growth, fuelled by a capitalist logic of acquisition and expansion.

What Does It Mean To Be Spiritual?The Dalai Lama once said, while the West was busy exploring outer space, the East was busy exploring inner space. (Shutterstock)

The Dalai Lama once quipped, while the West was busy exploring outer space, the East was busy exploring inner space. Regardless of the veracity of this generalization, he was getting at something that many of my study participants feel: that contemporary societies in the western world are structured in such a way that silence and stillness are the exception, not the rule.

When millennials say they are seeking to become more spiritual, they are often saying that they are trying to resist this trend.

Looking inward to act more wisely

For many millennials looking inward is an ethical endeavour. Being spiritual to them implies seeking to better understand one’s inner life in order to act more wisely in the world. For many, becoming more contemplative or aware of their inner life allows them to interact with others in a way that is less reactive, less harmful and more authentic to who they think themselves to be.

Thus, there are certain virtues which have come to be associated with spirituality: compassion, empathy and open-heartedness. These virtues naturally flow out of the introspection inherent to spirituality because they ultimately require a high level of self-knowledge. That is, knowledge of why we hold the beliefs we do, knowledge of why we act in certain ways, and most importantly, knowledge of our interdependence.

This knowledge — acquired either through practices like meditation, self-reflection and (in some cases) psychotherapy — leads one to become more sensitive to the emotions of others, and even to one’s surrounding environments, both social and natural.

what is spiritualty3 1 4Many millennials believe contemporary societies in the western world are structured in such a way that silence and stillness are the exception, not the rule. (Shutterstock)

Thus the path inward, in its best form, is not rooted in narcissism but rather based in a robust ethicality — a willingness to face one’s demons in order to better understand the human condition.

For some, this path inward is ultimately about self-transformation, or transcending one’s early childhood programming and achieving a certain kind of self-mastery. For others, it entails attuning themselves to the immaterial dimensions of life.

The framework I’ve sketched above doesn’t exhaust the full range of meanings the term spirituality invokes. Nor am I suggesting that all individuals who fit the above description are necessarily spiritual. I only mean to propose that these three characteristics cover a lot of what millennials mean when they call themselves spiritual.

What I’ve outlined should not lead readers to think that all millennials who call themselves spiritual live these ethical ideals. Our ability to realize our ethical ideals depends not only our own willingness, but also the social and economic constraints that we live within.

Thus my current research seeks to better understand lived spirituality, or, how spirituality operates in people’s everyday lives. Ultimately, more research needs to be done to better understand this emerging trend.

As the number of people who identify as “spiritual” continues to climb, it is likely that spirituality will come to shape North American societies in important and enduring ways.The Conversation

About The Author

Galen Watts, PhD Candidate in the Cultural Studies Graduate Program, Queen's University, Ontario

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=millennial spirituality;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

Rachael Wallis
What happens if you decide to jump in, Escape to the Country-style, and flee the city rat race?

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

Nicole Racine and Sheri Madigan
Bubble-wrapping children doesn’t work. They need to experience mild adversity, to know how to overcome it when they inevitably face it in life.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

What Are Panic Attacks And What's Happening When We Have Them?

What Are Panic Attacks And What's Happening When We Have Them?

Lynne Harris
What would you think was happening to you if out of nowhere your heart started to race, you were drenched in sweat, you found yourself trembling uncontrollably, short of breath, with chest pain and feeling nauseated, dizzy and lightheaded as though you might…