هي عواطف سيئة أو بوابة لروحك؟

هي عواطف سيئة أو بوابة لنفسك؟

نحن في كثير من الأحيان لديهم اعتقاد خاطئ بأن عواطفنا تتداخل مع تجربتنا للسلام في نهاية المطاف: أن تكون العاصفة التي تصرف لنا من الهدوء واسعة. ويبدو انهم للحد من تجربتنا من الحرية ويحجب مجال لا حدود لها من نعمة، والتي بحكم طبيعتها واسعة وحرة وبلا عواطف.

هناك الكثير من المفاهيم الخاطئة حول العواطف. نتعلم عادة في سن مبكرة أن هناك عواطف "جيدة" وعواطف "سيئة". إذا صرنا كطفل ، يسارع أبواؤنا إلى إغلاق هذه المشاعر "السيئة" ، قائلين: "هيا عزيزي ، جفف دموعك. حان الوقت للذهاب إلى المدرسة."

فقط المشاعر "الجيدة" مسموح بها. إذا شعرنا بالخوف ، أو المخجل ، أو الأذى ، أو الغضب ، فنحن نتعلم كيفية تغطيته ، وندفعه ، ونكون أقوياء. المشاعر "السيئة" تجعلنا فقط نبدو مذنبين لبقية العالم ، و "سيسي" لأولئك الأقوياء منا.

قريبا جدا، ويمكن أي عاطفة قوية تتسبب في اغلاق فوري والتستر، ونحن نحاول بسرعة لتحويله الى شيء أكثر راحة للمجتمع. حتى لو كنا عزل أنفسنا سرا بعيدا، مختبئا في غرفة نوم جهدنا لنسمح لأنفسنا بضع لحظات خاصة لتجربة العاطفة الشديدة، لا يزال في كثير من الأحيان ونحن نحاول التحدث أنفسنا للخروج منه أو يقلل من أهميته، وربما حتى يشعر بالخجل من ضعف "لدينا. "

أي شيء لحظة ينشأ من أننا أو يشعر المجتمع هو عاطفي جدا، وبكل ما نملك من الاستراتيجيات للقضاء، وحرمان، أو نحول ذلك تنشأ: نحن نقاتل، ومقاومة، ومحاولة لتفسير ذلك بعيدا، ونحن يجادل، مشروع، والبعض الآخر اللوم، ونلوم أنفسنا. في النهاية، ونحن نبدأ لتطوير المزيد من الاستراتيجيات طويلة الأجل للقمع. نتناول التدخين وشرب الكحول، الإفراط في تناول الطعام، لا معنى له مشاهدة التلفزيون، القراءة التي لا نهاية لها من كل شيء تقريبا - كل ذلك في محاولة لتخدير، ووضع للنوم أي وجميع العواطف ما يسمى غير مقبول يمكن أن يجرؤ على رفع رؤوسهم، ومحاولة لتدمير سلامنا، أو يحرمنا من قبول الذات لدينا أو قبول أكبر من المجتمع.

العواطف ليست الجناة

العواطف تصبح الجناة ليتم تدميرها قبل ان يدمروا لنا. هو تقريبا كما لو بعض الشيطان رهيب دعا العواطف يتربص في كل من كياننا، ومهمتنا هي لقمع لهم، اطاحة بهم، إخضاعهم، والتخلص منهم، ودفعهم مرة أخرى إلى أعماق وعينا - مرة أخرى في غياهب النسيان، المكان الذي ينتمون إليه.

بعض التقاليد الروحية تدربك على تكرار المانترا أو التعويذ في أي وقت ينشأ فيه شعور "سلبي" - لتجنب آثاره السيئة والحفاظ على انتباهك إلى الأعلى. وتطلب التقاليد الأخرى من الطامحين أن يقدموا أنفسهم إلى التقشف الشديد والحرمان من الذات - الذين يتحدون العناصر ويؤذون الجسم ويخضعون للصيام - ويعاقبون أجسادهم على أنها سفن غير نقية تؤدي إلى هذه المشاعر "السيئة".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


بعض اليوغيون التأمل في الكهوف منذ سنوات، لذلك فإنها لن تكون هناك حاجة إلى الانخراط في أي نشاط يمكن أن يسبب الانفعال أن تنشأ: بهذه الطريقة لا تعاني من قبل هؤلاء "الشياطين الدنيوية". حتى بعض الديانات الغربية تشويه صورة العواطف: إما في مقصورات المذهبية أو الشهادات إلى التجمعات، واحد يعترف خطيئة تعاني من مشاعر غير مقدس أو نبضات نجس. ثم قمت بتوفير مزيد من التكفير عن الذنب من خلال إجراء سلسلة من المهام، وصعوبة والتي تمليها مدى سوء عاطفة أو الدافع كان.

تقريبا كل التقاليد الروحية تشدد على الحاجة للتخلص من قهر أو التعبير الطبيعي من المشاعر الإنسانية، ويتم الاحتفال به تلك الكائنات النادرة التي يبدو انها قد نجحت تنقية أنفسهم من عواطفهم غير مقدس كما القديسين أو القديسين.

في الواقع، في كل مكان تقريبا ونحن ننظر، في سياق كل ذلك، يبدو أن المجتمع والتآمر لقتل عواطفنا، لقمع مشاعرنا الطبيعية. يبدو أن الجميع متفقون تقريبا مع الاعتقاد مكيفة ثقافيا أن معظم العواطف هي سيئة ويجب أن يكون هادئا في جميع التكاليف.

قتال الحروب ضد العدو الداخلي

فلا عجب أننا لا نستطيع أن تجربة السلام في أية فترة من الوقت. ونحن دائما في ساحة المعركة، خوض حروب ضد عدو داخلي - واحدة التي لن تعطينا أي بقية، عن اقرب وقت ونحن قمع كتيبة واحدة، موجة القادمة من العاطفة ويأتي يسيرون وراء ذلك، في تيار لانهائي من أبدا إنهاء موجات. انها معركة الكفاح ونحن جميعا، على الرغم من أننا نعرف انها واحدة اننا لن يفوز.

لطالما لدينا نفس في اجسادنا وتكون له الحياة في وجودنا، والعواطف تأتي كجزء طبيعي للإنسان. يبدو الأمر كما لو أننا نقاتل أنفسنا جدا.

ما هو غير مثمرة، معركة لا تنتهي من ذلك. انها مرهقة. انها غير فعالة كما يقف على الشاطئ ويحملون درع ضد موجة المد والجزر. في الحقيقة، هو كفاحنا ضد جدا الشعور بأن يسلب منا من سلامنا ويزعج رفاهنا - وليس "السلبية" العاطفة نفسها، ولكن النضال ضدها؛ لم يكن الشعور، ولكن ضراوة من إرادتنا للقضاء عليها . عندما يضيع الكثير من الجهد في محاولة لمقاومة التدفق الطبيعي للحياة، وليس هناك الكثير من قوة الحياة تركت لتجربة فرحة المتأصلة في الحياة.

ثم عندما تصبح المعركة أكثر من اللازم ، فإننا ننهار في حالة من الكآبة ، إلى مكان خدر ، حيث لا يمكن للألم الحاد في القتال أن يصل إلينا. نطلب من المستشارين المساعدة في شرح طريقنا للخروج من منطقة الحرب ، أو نطلب من الأطباء والأطباء النفسيين وصف الأدوية لمنع مشاعرنا الشديدة. أو ننخرط في أنشطة لا طائل من شأنها أن تصرفنا عن مشاعرنا: فنحن نشاهد برامج التلفزيون الفارغة.

نقوم بغسل السيارة أو تنظيف السجاد عندما تكون نظيفة بالفعل. نحن نراهن أو نأخذ عقاقير ترويحية. نحن نثرثر وننتهي عن مشاكل الآخرين - كل ذلك في لعبة تجنب العاطفي. أو نرفع العلم الأبيض مؤقتًا ونناشد الرحمة: نتحول إلى الله ونصلي ، ونسعى للراحة ، أو نذهب إلى سيد مستنير ، ونتعلم كيفية التأمل أو قراءة العبارات. في أحسن الأحوال ، لا توفر هذه الأشياء سوى نافذة قصيرة من السلام قبل بدء المعركة التالية.

انه لم يحدث لنا للتخلي عن دور المحارب، والكف عن المعركة تماما.

تقرير عدم اللعب لعبة الحرب ضد أنفسنا

هي عواطف سيئة أو بوابة لنفسك؟لكن، ماذا لو كنت قررت عدم لعب لعبة الحرب؟ ماذا لو قال أخيرا: "لا، أنا لا أريد أن أكون جنديا من مشاة البحرية. لم أكن وقعت للجيش في المقام الأول." ماذا بعد ذلك؟ ماذا لو تخلى عن المقاومة؟ ماذا لو رفضت ببساطة لمحاربة؟

ماذا لو، بدلا من ذلك، وقال: "تعالوا واحد، كل ذلك يأتي. كل مشاعري وسهلا بكم في المحيط من الحب الذي هو دائما هنا"؟ ماذا لو، بدلا من ساحة المعركة، كنت اكتشف أن الحياة هي في الواقع الميداني لا نهائية - حقل، والثقة الحب والانفتاح؟

ماذا لو كان، في هذا المجال لا حصر له، كل التدفق الطبيعي للمشاعر الحياة كانت حرة لتأتي وتذهب؟ ماذا لو كنت تقدم أي مقاومة من أي نوع على التدفق الطبيعي للحياة؟ وأتساءل ما الذي سيحدث.

ما عليك أن تقاوم ما زالت مستمرة.

مقاومة لعاطفة يديم الشيء الذي ترغب لم يكن هناك. انها في لحظة استسلام حقيقي، والانفتاح، والقبول بأن العواطف يشعرون بأنهم موضع ترحيب، بحيث يأتي بسهولة، وبنفس السهولة تذهب. المقاومة وتبقي عواطفك في اللعب ويخلق أكثر من نفسها فقط. يولد المقاومة مقاومة.

تلبية لدعوة هو وضع النهاية ذراعيك، يا عزيزي واحد، ونرحب بكل من حياة من كل قلبك. والعدو القديم الخاص بك تتحول إلى أن تكون أقرب صديق لديك، وسوف تتحقق العدو فقط لا يزالون طلقاء أن تكون المقاومة نفسها.

صداقة مع عواطفك

لقد حان الوقت لاقامة علاقات صداقة مع العواطف. فهي بوابة لنفسك.

دعونا بحث عواطفنا. فقط ما هي؟ في الوقت الراهن، تسمح شعور أن تثير في حد ذاته - أي عاطفة. إذا كنت حقا الترحيب، سوف يكتشف أن تنشأ فيها بسهولة تامة.

لكن ما هو؟ عن المشاعر هو في الواقع مجرد إحساس بسيط في الجسم. بعض هذه الأحاسيس مريحة وممتعة، وبعضها غير مريح، ولكنها جميعا في النهاية مجرد حفنة من الاستجابات الجسدية للمواد الكيميائية من خلال الفيضانات في الجسم. يمكن أن نقاوم إما الطوفان أو نرحب به، والسماح لها بالتدفق من خلال.

إذا اخترنا لمقاومة أو قمع الشعور، فإنه يحصل فقط مدفوعة أعمق في عقلنا الباطن، وتأتي بشكل مكثف في وقت لاحق. عندما نقاوم عن المشاعر، لأنه عقد في الخليج، وأنه ينتظر فقط في أجنحة للحصول على فرصة للعودة على خشبة المسرح ليكون من ذوي الخبرة تماما.

ومع ذلك، إذا نحن نرحب به، والشعور هو حر في الارتفاع، ويمكن الشعور تماما، وتهدأ بشكل طبيعي. طالما نحن لا نشارك في أي قصة حول هذا الموضوع أو إثارة أي دراما عن ذلك - طالما نحن مجرد السماح لها تنشأ تماما، بحتة، دون فحص أو تحليل - ثم سوف ببساطة تشعرون بها وحل العودة الى وعيه. وبهذه الطريقة لا يحصل في أي مكان أو تخزينها مدفوعة في أي مكان. العاطفة يشعر ترحيب بذلك، مجانا، لدرجة أن يذوب تماما في حمام من أحب المقدمة، ولا يكلف نفسه عناء النظر عادة لنا. في الحرية وأحضان الحب لا يقدم أي مقاومة، والعواطف تنحسر بشكل طبيعي وتتدفق مثل المد والجزر.

هل سبق لك أن جلست ويشاهد لعب الأطفال الرضع؟ أنه يجلس محتوى تماما، ويستريح فقط في بعض البراءة الحلو من الوجود. ثم، فإن بعض عاطفة قوية تأتي الفيضانات في وعيها، والطفل وأنها تجربة بحرية وعلنية - تقديم أية مقاومة لها. من العدم، لسبب لا يبدو، سوف يأتي من خلال الفرح، والطفل سيضحك، قرقر، بصق، وقهقه مثل موجة من الدورات بلا سبب السعادة من خلال وعيه. ثم، في اللحظة التالية، قد تنشأ عدم الراحة: وفيات الرضع والمسمار في الوجه، والعبوس، حسم بقبضة اليد لها، والجنيه الاسترليني مقابل قضبان من روضة للأطفال. عندما يمر هذا أيضا، مرة أخرى، فإن الأطفال الرضع فقط في راحة مفتوحة العينين الوعي. فقد لاحظت وجود العائمة المحمول هزلي فوق رأسه، وتضيع في عجب كاملة. المقبل، قد تصل لشيء خارج سيطرتها، وسوف تبكي بشكل فادح في إحباط مدقع. في نهاية المطاف، كل عاطفة يذوب، ومرة ​​أخرى يتم ترك الأطفال في حضور مفتوحة.

لوحة كاملة من الرقصات المشاعر الإنسانية من خلال وعيه الرضيع، ولكن لأنه لم يتعلم بعد أن من المفترض أن تقاوم العواطف، وذلك فقط يتيح ببراءة طوفان المشاعر الطبيعية عن طريق. في النهاية، وبمنأى عن طفل من جانب أي من ذلك. العاطفة لا عصا في أي مكان لأنه ليس هناك مقاومة لذلك. مثل المد والجزر في الربيع، يرتفع تماما، ويرى في مجملها، ثم ينحسر ويتراجع. لا يتأثر جوهر الرضيع، ووجودها، أو تغييرها بأي شكل من الأشكال. لا تزال مفتوحة على مصراعيها وحرة.

بطبيعة الحال، فإن الأطفال الرضع والآباء، وقبل الأطفال الرضع يمكن أن نفهم حتى لغة، والآباء الشروع في هذا المشروع الضخم من "التنشئة الاجتماعية": تعليمات للطفل في طريق المحارب العاطفي وكيفية قمع، قهر، خدر، وتنكر بسيطة، والمشاعر الطبيعية التي تأتي من خلال وعيه.

توفير أي مقاومة

وأتساءل ماذا سيحدث لو أننا لم تقدم المقاومة؟ وسيتم التطرق جوهر لنا بأي شكل من الأشكال من قبل ما جاء من خلال ذلك؟

كثيرا ما أسمع من البالغين ويقول: "أشعر قطع ذلك من نفسي، وأنا فقط لا يمكن ان يبدو للوصول إلى الحقيقية لي. لقد قرأت في الكتب أن هناك امكانات ضخمة في الداخل، ولكن بطريقة أو بأخرى أن يتملص لي. وانا اشعر انه هناك وأنا لا أعرف كيف تحصل على الماضي الكتل داخل أنا لا أعرف كيف للعثور عليه ".

بالطبع لم يفعلوا! لقد فقدوا البصر من النفس لا حصر له، من جوهرها - انهم فقدوا اتصالهم قلوبهم لأنهم قد أمضى حياته في ساحة المعركة، وحرمان المشاعر التي هي التعبير الطبيعي للجوهر الخاصة بهم. عندما ننكر أن التعبير، وأنها تحرم نفسها. تفقد الاتصال مع أنفسهم، ويشعرون منفصلة، ​​ومجردة، وحده، ونأى، خدر، وفصله.

وحتى الآن، في كل مرة تنشأ عن المشاعر، وانها تقدم دعوة مفتوحة لتجربة نفسك. انها تقدم مدخل إلى جوهر الخاص بك، وبوابة لروحك.

أحيانا مثل البالغين نحن في نهاية المطاف على بحث لا نهاية لها لتجربة الإلهي، لمعرفة الحقيقة وجودنا نفسه، ولكن في كل مرة ينشأ عن المشاعر، ونحن دفعها بعيدا. في القيام بذلك، ونحن دفع بعيدا الفرصة لفتح في لانهائية. ويجري أجاب صلاتنا، ولكننا نتجاهل استجابة لأنها لا تأتي في شكل متوقع.

هذا الذي وصلنا إلى الخوف، وبالتالي اخضاع هو، في الواقع، مدخلا لروحك.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر، جديد المكتبة العالمية.
www.newworldlibrary.com. جميع الحقوق محفوظة.
حقوق الطبع والنشر © 2006. بواسطة Manifest الوفرة غير محدود.


تم اقتباس هذا المقال من:

الحرية هي: تحرير المحتملة الخاصة بك بلا حدود
من الخلجان براندون.

الحرية هي: تحرير المحتملين بلا حدود، الخلجان براندونتستخدم براندون بايز ، التي بدأت عملها الملهم بعد شفاء ورم كبير من خلال وسائل طبيعية ، أسلوبها البسيط والواثق والرائع لعلامتها التجارية لتوجيه القراء نحو السكون والفرح بداخلها. وهي رائدة شعبية في الندوة وورشة العمل ، وهي تعتمد على تلك التجربة لمساعدة القراء على التخلص من القطع العاطفية ، ورفع الصور الذاتية السلبية ، وإلغاء القيود السابقة. الحرية هي يحتوي على عمل عملية فعالة للغاية ، وأدوات سهلة الاستخدام ، وتأملات ، تأملات ، وقصص ملهمة من الندوات الشعبية للمؤلف.

للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.


نبذة عن الكاتب

الخلجان براندونالخلجان براندون هو مؤلف من أكثر الكتب مبيعا الدولي الرحلة. وهي تسافر في جميع أنحاء العالم مما تعاليم لها الشفاء والصحوة إلى الآلاف من الناس كل عام. رائدة في عملها في التحول من خلال تجربتها الشخصية للشفاء بشكل طبيعي من وجود ورم كبير بدون عقاقير أو جراحة. موقعها على الانترنت هو www.thejourney.com.

مشاهدة الفيديو / التأمل بمساعدة مرشد براندون: الترحيب بأعمق عواطفك: عملية لطيفة


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Are Emotions Bad or A Gateway to Your Soul?

Are Emotions Bad or A Gateway to Your Self?

We so often have the misconception that our emotions interfere with our experience of ultimate peace: that they are the storm that distracts us from spacious calm. They seem to limit our experience of freedom and obscure the boundless field of grace, which by nature is vast, free, and emotionless.

There are so many false notions about emotions. We usually learn at an early age that there are "good" emotions and "bad" emotions. If we cry as a child, our parents are quick to shut those "bad" emotions down, saying, "Come on dear, dry your tears. It's time to go to school. Chin up..."

Only "good" emotions are allowed. If we feel fearful, shameful, hurt, or angry, we are taught to cover it up, push through, and be strong. "Bad" feelings only make us appear a wimp to the rest of the world, and a sissy to those more strong than us.

Pretty soon, any strong emotion can cause an instantaneous shutdown and cover-up, as we quickly try to transmute it into something more comfortable to society. Even if we secretly sequester ourselves away, hiding in our bedrooms to allow ourselves a few private moments to experience an intense emotion, still we often try to talk ourselves out of it or diminish its importance, and maybe even feel ashamed of our "weakness."

The instant anything arises that we or society feel is too emotional, all our strategies to annihilate, deny, or transmute it arise: we fight, resist, and try to explain it away; we argue, project, blame others, and blame ourselves. Ultimately, we start to develop more long-term strategies for suppression. We take up smoking, drinking alcohol, overeating, senseless television watching, endless reading of just about anything - all in an effort to numb and put to sleep any and all so-called unacceptable emotions that might dare to raise their heads and try to destroy our peace, or rob us of our self-acceptance or the larger acceptance of society.

Emotions Are Not The Culprits

Emotions become the culprits to be destroyed before they destroy us. It is almost as if some terrible devil called emotions lurks within each of our beings, and our job is to quell them, oust them, subdue them, get rid of them, push them back into the recesses of our consciousness - back into oblivion, where they belong.

Some spiritual traditions train you to repeat mantras or incantations anytime a "negative" emotion arises - to avoid its ill effects and keep your attention on the supreme. Other traditions ask aspirants to submit themselves to extreme austerities and self-deprivations - braving the elements, chastising the body, undergoing fasts ­- punishing their bodies as impure vessels that give rise to these "bad" emotions.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Some yogis meditate in caves for years, so they won't be required to engage in any activity that might cause emotion to arise: that way they aren't plagued by these "worldly demons." Even some Western religions demonize emotions: either in confessional booths or testimonials to congregations, one confesses the sin of experiencing unholy feelings or impure impulses. Then you provide further penance by performing a series of tasks, the difficulty of which is dictated by how bad your emotion or impulse was.

Nearly every spiritual tradition stresses the need to get rid of or conquer the natural expression of human feelings, and those rare beings who seem to have successfully purified themselves of their unholy emotions are celebrated as saints or holy ones.

Indeed, almost everywhere we look, in every context, it seems that society is conspiring to kill our emotions, to suppress our natural feelings. It seems nearly everyone agrees with the culturally conditioned belief that most emotions are bad and must be subdued at all costs.

Fighting Wars Against An Internal Enemy

It's no wonder we can't experience peace for any length of time. We are always on the battlefield, fighting wars against an internal enemy - one that won't give us any rest, for as soon as we quell one regiment, the next surge of emotion comes marching behind it, in an endless stream of never-ending waves. It's a battle we all fight, even though we know it's one we will never win.

For as long as we have breath in our bodies and have life in our being, emotions will come as a natural part of being human. It is as if we are fighting our very selves.

What a fruitless, endless battle it is. It's exhausting. It's as ineffective as standing on the shore and holding up a shield against a tidal wave. In fact, it is our very struggle against feeling that robs us of our peace and disturbs our well-being - not the "negative" emotion itself, but the struggle against it; not the feeling, but the ferocity of our will to kill it. When so much effort is wasted trying to resist the natural flow of life, there is not much life force left to experience the inherent joy of life.

Then, when the battle becomes too much, we collapse into depression, into a place of numbness, where the acute pain of the fight cannot reach us. We seek counselors to help explain our way out of the war zone, or we ask doctors and psychiatrists to prescribe drugs to block out our intense feelings. Or we engage in pointless and mind-numbing activities to distract us from our feelings: We zone out watching vacuous television shows.

We wash the car or vacuum the carpets when they're already clean. We gamble or take recreational drugs. We chatter and gossip endlessly about other people's problems - all in a game of emotional avoidance. Or we temporarily raise the white flag and plead for mercy: we turn to God and pray, seeking respite, or we go to an enlightened master and learn to meditate or to recite mantras. At best, these things provide only a short window of peace before the next battle begins.

It never occurs to us to drop the role of warrior and cease the battle altogether.

Deciding Not To Play The Game of War Against Ourselves

Are Emotions Bad or A Gateway to Your Self?But, what if you decided not to play the game of war? What if you finally said, "No, I don't want to be a marine. I never signed up for the army in the first place." What then? What if you gave up all resistance? What if you simply refused to fight?

What if, instead, you said, "Come one, come all. All of my emotions are welcome into the ocean of love that is always here"? What if, instead of a battlefield, you discovered that life is actually an infinite field - a field of trust, openness, love?

What if, in this infinite field, all the natural flow of life's feelings were free to come and go? What if you provided no resistance whatsoever to the natural flow of life? I wonder what would happen.

That which you resist persists.

Your resistance to emotion perpetuates the very thing you wish was not there. It's in the moment of true surrender, openness, and acceptance that your emotions feel so welcome that they easily come and just as easily go. Resistance keeps your emotions in play and creates only more of itself. Resistance begets resistance.

The invitation is to finally lay down your arms, dear one, and welcome all of life with all your heart. Your old enemy will turn out to be your closest friend, and the only enemy still at large will be realized to be resistance itself.

Befriending Your Emotions

The time has come to befriend your emotions. They are the gateway to your self.

Let's examine our emotions. Just what are they? Right now, allow a feeling to give rise to itself - any emotion. If you are really welcoming, you will discover that it arises quite easily.

But what is it? An emotion is actually just a simple sensation in the body. Some of these sensations are comfortable and pleasant, and some are uncomfortable, but they are all ultimately just a bunch of physical responses to chemicals flooding through the body. We can either resist the flood or welcome it and allow it to flow through.

If we choose to resist or suppress the feeling, it only gets driven deeper into our subconscious and comes up more intensely later. When we resist an emotion, hold it at bay, it merely waits in the wings for the chance to come back on stage to be fully experienced.

However, if we welcome it, the feeling is free to rise, be fully felt, and subside naturally. As long as we don't engage in any story about it or stir up any drama about it - as long as we just let it arise completely, purely, without examination or analysis - then it will simply be felt and dissolve back into consciousness. In this way it doesn't get driven anywhere or stored anywhere. The emotion feels so welcome, so free, that it just dissolves in the bath of love provided and doesn't bother to habitually revisit us. In freedom, the embrace of love provides no resistance, and emotions naturally ebb and flow like the tide.

Have you ever sat and watched an infant playing? It sits completely content, just resting in some sweet innocence of being. Then, some strong emotion will come flooding into its consciousness, and the child will experience it freely and openly - providing no resistance to it. Out of nowhere, for seemingly no reason, joy will come through, and the baby will laugh, gurgle, splutter, and giggle as the wave of causeless happiness courses through consciousness. Then, in the next moment, discomfort may arise: the infant will screw up its face, pout, clench its fists, and pound against the rails of the playpen. When this too passes, once again the infant will just rest in open-eyed awareness. It may notice a mobile floating playfully above its head and get lost in complete wonder. Next, it may reach for something beyond its grasp, and it will cry inconsolably in abject frustration. Eventually, each emotion melts away, and once again the child is left in open presence.

The whole palette of human emotion dances through an infant's consciousness, but because it has not yet learned that it is supposed to resist emotions, it just innocently lets the natural feelings flood through. Ultimately, the child is untouched by any of it. The emotion doesn't stick anywhere because there is no resistance to it. Like a spring tide, it rises fully, is felt in its totality, then subsides and recedes. The infant's essence, its being, isn't affected or changed in any way. It remains wide open and free.

Of course, the infant has parents, and before the infant can even understand language, the parents embark on the huge project of "socialization": instructing the child in the way of the emotional warrior and how to suppress, subdue, narcotize, and deny the simple, natural feelings that come through consciousness.

Providing No Resistance

I wonder what would happen if we provided no resistance? Would our essence be touched in any way by what came through it?

I often hear adults say, "I feel so disconnected from myself. I just can't seem to access the real me. I've read in books that there is a huge potential inside, but somehow it eludes me. I sense it's there; I just don't know how to get past the blocks inside. I don't know how to find it."

Of course they don't! They've lost sight of the infinite self, of their essence - they're out of touch with their own hearts because they've spent a lifetime on the battlefield, denying the feelings that are the natural expression of their own essence. When they deny that expression, they deny themselves. They lose touch with themselves, and they feel separate, bereft, alone, distanced, numb, and disconnected.

And yet, every time an emotion arises, it's presenting an open invitation to experience your self. It is offering a doorway to your own essence, a gateway to your soul.

Sometimes as adults we end up on an endless search to experience the divine, to find the truth of our own being, yet every time an emotion arises, we push it away. In so doing, we push away the opportunity to open into the infinite. Our prayer is being answered, but we ignore the response because it doesn't come in the expected form.

This that you have come to fear and therefore subdue is, in fact, a gateway to your soul.

Reprinted with permission from the publisher, New World Library.
www.newworldlibrary.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright © 2006. by Manifest Abundance Unlimited.


This article was excerpted from:

Freedom Is: Liberating Your Boundless Potential
by Brandon Bays.

Freedom Is: Liberating Your Boundless Potential by Brandon BaysBrandon Bays, who began her inspirational work after healing a large tumor through natural means, uses her trademark simple, sure, and gentle approach to guide readers toward the stillness and joy within them. A popular seminar and workshop leader, she draws on that experience to help readers eliminate emotional blocks, lift away negative self-images, and release past limitations. Freedom Is contains powerfully effective process work, user-friendly tools, meditations, contemplations, and inspiring stories from the author's popular seminars.

For More Info or To Order This book


About The Author

Brandon BaysBrandon Bays is the author of the international bestseller The Journey. She travels all over the world bringing her teachings of healing and awakening to thousands of people each year. She pioneered her transformative work through her own experience of healing naturally from a large tumor without drugs or surgery. Her website is www.thejourney.com.

Watch a video/guided meditation with Brandon: Welcoming Your Deepest Emotions: A Gentle Process


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}