المراحل الخمس من الإسقاط: إعادة امتلاكنا لنفسنا المهجورة

المراحل الخمس من الإسقاط: إعادة امتلاكنا لنفسنا المهجورة
الصورة عن طريق جيرد التمان وبواسطة Reimund بيرترامز

لماذا نحن لدينا أجزاء المشروع المكبوت؟ لماذا لا يمكن أو لا فقط تلك الأجزاء لا تزال مدفونة بسلام - أو نائما في الطابق السفلي - واسمحوا لنا على المضي قدما دون إزعاج مع حياتنا "طبيعية"؟ واحد الاحتمالات هو أن الإسقاط يزيد من المسافة النفسية بيننا وبين الصفات المتوقعة، والدفاع عن أنفسنا وبالتالي من احتمال أن نمتلك تلك الصفات.

ولكن هناك احتمال آخر. وبما أن الأساطير في كل العصور - وعلماء النفس العميقين في القرن العشرين - كانوا يقولون لنا ، فهناك هذا الحافز الذي لا يمكن كبته في كل واحد منا نحو الكمال. قد يقول البعض أن هذا هو سبب تجسدنا ، لكي نصبح أكثر اكتمالا من نحن في أعمق جوهرنا. إن الحقيبة السوداء الطويلة التي نسحبها خلفنا هي مخزن شامل ومخصص للجميع لكل ما نحتاج إليه في سعينا لنصبح كليًا.

لن تكون النفس سعيدة إذا حاولنا أن ننام في حياتنا ، رغم أننا قد ننجح في ذلك رغم ذلك. الروح لا تستطيع أن تجعلنا نستيقظ ، ولكن يمكنها أن ترى ذلك ونرى ذلك. وبهذه الطريقة ، من المحتمل أن ندير صفعة في جدار إمكاناتنا غير المحققة. إذا استطعنا التعرف على توقعاتنا ، فعندئذ يمكننا احتضان الفرصة المؤلمة للشفاء وكامل أنفسنا.

لذلك نحن المشروع. على ما يبدو ليس هناك طريقة لتجنب ذلك حتى مع وجود وسائل غير محدودة لتجاهل أو نفي ذلك.

إسقاطاتنا تساعدنا على رؤية جوانبنا المخفية

روبرت بلاي يوافق على أن الإسقاط هو شيء محظوظة فعلا. دون ذلك، على حد تعبيره، ونحن قد لا تتاح لي الفرصة مرة أخرى لامتلاك تلك التي كانت مخبأة، وليس ولكن في ذات جسدت أجزاء. والحمد لله، ثم، لالشاشات التي نعتمد عليها المشروع: لدينا أصدقاء، عائلة، الشهير، سيئة السمعة، والأجانب، الكفار، وأشكال وقوى الطبيعة. بدون تلك الشاشات، وتوقعاتنا ببساطة الابحار في الفضاء الخارجي مثل موجات الراديو المخطئين، ونحن لن تحصل على رؤية الجوانب الخفية لدينا.

هناك بالفعل اثنين من الطرق التي نتبعها في المشروع على الآخرين. الأول، هو أننا عندما مشروعنا الخاص الصفات الشخصية غير المعترف بها. والثاني هو عندما نسلط الضوء على الصفات من شخص ما من ماضينا على الناس في حاضرنا.

يشير علماء النفس إلى هذا الأخير على أنه انتقال - يتم نقل النشاط العاطفي غير المكتمل من ماضينا إلى علاقاتنا الحالية. الأكثر شيوعًا ما لم يكتمل هو علاقاتنا مع آبائنا (أو غيرهم من مقدمي الرعاية في مرحلة الطفولة).


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

إعادة النظر في المركزية ، في كثير من الأحيان الصدمة ، وعلاقات ماضينا

تريدنا أرواحنا أن نعيد النظر في تلك العلاقات المركزية ، التي غالباً ما تكون مؤلمة ، وغير كاملة حتى نتمكن من الشفاء والتعلم. الروح تفعل هذا من خلال ترتيب لنا لتجربة الناس من حياتنا الحالية - عشاقنا ، الأصدقاء ، أزواج الأصدقاء ، الزملاء ، أرباب العمل ، المعلمين ، المعالجين النفسيين ، المعلمون - كما لو كانوا نفس النوع من الناس مثل هؤلاء اللاعبين الرئيسيين من طفولتنا. بهذه الطريقة يمكننا أن نجد أنفسنا نشكل العلاقات الحالية التي تشبه تلك من ماضينا.

بوعي، ونحن لا نريد ذلك. لكن أرواحنا تعترف فرصة. اذا كنا نستطيع إعادة إنشاء هذا النوع من المشاكل علاقة أننا لم نتمكن من حل في مرحلة الطفولة، لدينا فرصة أخرى للحصول على الحق، والعمل على ربط في الطرق التي لا تحد لنا.

نقل يتيح لنا الفرصة لاكتشاف كيفية التي أنشأناها عن غير قصد العديد من الصفات الخلل الوظيفي في علاقاتنا (القديمة والجديدة) في محاولاتنا لحماية أنفسنا من التخلي أو إبادة العاطفي كما الأطفال. الآن، في مرحلة البلوغ، لدينا فرصة لإزالة هذه العوائق التي تحول دون التعبير عن الذات والتميز وتضميد الجراح يتعرض عندما نفعل. ولكن نحن ليس من المرجح أن يقوموا بهذا العمل حتى نستطيع أن نرى تلك الحواجز. كيف لنا أن نراهم؟ من خلال نقل المشاعر القديمة على العلاقات الحالية.

المراحل الخمس من الإسقاط: إعادة امتلاكنا لنفسنا المهجورة

سحب التوقعات من خلال إدراكنا بأننا نتوقعالمحلل جيمس اليونغي هوليس يلخص خمس مراحل في إسقاط وإعادة امتلاك-الأجزاء المهجورة من أنفسنا.

في المرحلة الأولى ، نحن مقتنعون بأن ما نتوقعه بلا وعي هو الصحيح للطرف الآخر. عندما نقع في الحب ، على سبيل المثال ، نحن على يقين بأن الآخر (الذي لا نعرف عنه شيئًا على الإطلاق) هو أكثر الأشياء إثارة على وجه الكوكب. نحن نتوقع الصفات المرغوبة والمطلوبة من الآخر (النفس) و / أو الصفات المرغوبة لشخص ما من ماضينا.

في المرحلة الثانية ، أصبحنا مدركين بشكل مثير للصدمة من التناقض بين من كنا نظن أن الآخر (وكان من المفترض أن يكون) ومن يتحولون إلى أن يكونوا. نحن على يقين من أنه يجب أن يكون هناك خطأ ما في الآخر ونحاول السيطرة عليه ، وتغييره ، وإصلاحه. الآن نحن نتوقع على الآخر الصفات السلبية من الآخر الآخر و / أو الشخص من ماضينا.

المرحلة الثالثة يتطلب منا، للمرة الأولى، للنظر حقا في الطرف الآخر، لنرى بوضوح أكثر من هم، والبدء لطرح ما يجري في الواقع في في علاقتنا.

في المرحلة الرابعة، ونحن سحب هذه الخطط من قبل الاعتراف بأننا كنا في الواقع، وإسقاط هذا ما كنا نظن والآخر كان في الواقع الخارجي، في جزء منه، الداخلية و / أو شخص من ماضينا.

وأخيرا، في المرحلة الخامسة، من خلال عملنا الداخلي، جئنا لنرى بالضبط ما كان عليه في إسقاط لنا كنا في المقام الأول، والسبب في ذلك.

التعرف على وإسقاط الإسقاطات

الانسحاب من الإسقاطات يحتم علينا أن يعاني بوعي التناقض بين ما كنا نأمل فيه، وما نحن لها. هذا يحتاج الى شجاعة من ذلك بكثير، في القلب، والصدق، ورغبة كبيرة لتنمو وتصبح كلها، الرغبة التي يجب أن تكون أقوى من الرغبة ليتم حفظها من قبل القاهر أخرى، أو أن تبقى مريحة وآمنة.

كيف لنا أن نعرف متى ونحن مقابل إسقاط يجري في محادثة حقيقية مع الآخر؟ لا توجد مؤشرات مضمونة. لكن التوقعات ومن المرجح أن يكون جزءا هاما من هذا المزيج عندما نقع في الحب، وعندما يكون لدينا مشاعر قوية - إيجابية أو سلبية - عن الناس ونحن لا نعرف سوى القليل عنه، عندما يكون لدينا رد فعل جسدية قوية (على سبيل المثال، الغثيان، والفراشات ، الدوار) إلى / شخص و، أو عندما لاحظنا رد فعل عاطفي لدينا ويبدو أن تكون أكبر بكثير من الظروف. ونحن بالتأكيد إسقاط عندما نرى شخص آخر (أو الأمة)، والشر أو، على العكس، عندما نرى ما يجري لجعل كل شيء على ما يرام بالنسبة لنا.

الوعي والفحص الذاتي

من أجل البدء في سحب توقعاتك ، يجب عليك أولا أن تدرك أنك تسقط. (هناك فرصة ضئيلة أو معدومة ستصطاد نفسك قبل أن تفعل ذلك. يجب أن تعاني أولاً من التناقض والتعرف عليه كمصدر لمعاناتك.) ثم يمكنك أن تسأل نفسك:

ما هي بالضبط نوعية أحب أو لا أحب في الآخر؟

ما هي المشاعر التي حركها تلك الصفات؟

كيف تصرفت على هذه المشاعر؟

أين أجد هذه الصفات نفسها في نفسي؟

ماذا فعلت لتبرئهم ولماذا؟

بأي طريقة يمكن أن تكون تجربتي مع هذا الشخص مشابهة لكيفية تجربة شخص من عائلتي الأصلية؟

ثم هل يمكن التعرف على أجزاء من نفسك أنك قد تبرأت ومنحهم أسماء. استخدام عميق عمل الصور (وجود يوصى دليل الصور المدربين)، يمكنك تطوير علاقة مع تلك الأجزاء يتبرءوا. حوار مع تلك الأجزاء، سواء في التصوير أو باستخدام الكراسي الفارغة وتخيل تلك الأجزاء في تلك الكراسي. قد تختار أيضا على الجلوس في الكراسي الفارغة، وتحل محل الأجزاء الأخرى والاستجابة لهذه الأنا. أو هل يمكن قيام حوار في مجلة الخاص بك.

قد تلاحظ أيضا أن أجزاء بك يتبرءوا تظهر حتى في أحلامك. ويمكن لهذه الشخصيات حلم تعمل على إثراء مزيج من كل من العمل ورقتك والصور عميق مع أجزاء يتبرءوا الخاص.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
جديد المكتبة العالمية. © 2003. www.newworldlibrary.com

المادة المصدر

Soulcraft: عبور في أسرار الطبيعة والنفس
بيل بلوتكين، دكتوراه

غلاف الكتاب: Soulcraft: العبور إلى أسرار الطبيعة والنفسية بقلم بيل بلوتكين ، دكتوراه.هناك شوق كبير في جميع الناس لكشف أسرار وأسرار حياتنا الفردية ، والعثور على الهدية الفريدة التي ولدناها لنجلبها إلى مجتمعاتنا ، وتجربة عضويتنا الكاملة في عالم أكثر من البشر. هذه الرحلة إلى الروح هي نزول إلى طبقات من الذات أعمق بكثير من الشخصية ، وهي رحلة مخصصة لكل واحد منا ، وليس فقط لأبطال وبطلات الأساطير.

كتيب حديث للرحلة ، Soulcraft ليس تقليدًا لطرق السكان الأصليين ، بل هو نهج معاصر قائم على الطبيعة نشأ من تجربة الحياة البرية وتقاليد الثقافة الغربية والتراث الثقافي لكل البشر. مليئة القصص والقصائد والمبادئ التوجيهية ، Soulcraft يقدم أكثر من ممارسات 40 التي تسهل النزول إلى الروح ، بما في ذلك أعمال الحلم ، وصيام رؤية الحياة البرية ، والتحدث عبر حدود الأنواع ، والمجلس ، والحفل المصمم ذاتيًا ، وعمل الظل المبني على الطبيعة ، وفنون الرومانسية ، الضياع ، ورواية القصص.

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب. A ؛ متوفر ككتاب صوتي ، قرص مضغوط صوتي ، وإصدار Kindle.

عن المؤلف

صورة بيل بلوتكين ، دكتوراه.مشروع قانون بلوتكين، دكتوراه، هو عالم نفس الأعماق ، ودليل الحياة البرية ، وعامل التطور الثقافي. كمؤسس لمعهد أنيماس فالي في غرب كولورادو في عام 1981 ، قام بتوجيه الآلاف من الباحثين من خلال مقاطع تمهيدية قائمة على الطبيعة ، بما في ذلك التكيف الغربي المعاصر للرؤية الشاملة للثقافة بسرعة. في السابق ، كان عالمًا نفسيًا باحثًا (يدرس حالات الوعي غير العادية) ، وأستاذًا في علم النفس ، ومعالجًا نفسيًا ، وموسيقي موسيقى الروك ، ودليل نهر وايت ووتر.

بيل هو مؤلف Soulcraft: عبور في أسرار الطبيعة والنفس (دليل تجريبي) ، الطبيعة والروح البشرية: زراعة الكمال والمجتمع في عالم مجزأ (نموذج مرحلي قائم على الطبيعة للتطور البشري طوال العمر الافتراضي) ، العقل البري: دليل ميداني لنفسية الإنسان (خريطة مركزية للنفسية - للشفاء والنمو الكامل والتحول الثقافي) ، و رحلة بدء الروح: دليل ميداني للحالمين والتطوريين والثوار (دليل تجريبي للنزول إلى الروح). حصل على دكتوراه في علم النفس من جامعة كولورادو في بولدر.

بزيارته على الإنترنت على http://www.animas.org.

المزيد من الكتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف
  

المزيد من المقالات من قبل هذا المؤلف

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

إلهام ماري تي راسل اليومي

أصوات INNERSELF

لا يمكننا الاختباء من الحقيقة: القمر الخارق الكامل في برج العقرب
لا يمكننا الاختباء من الحقيقة: القمر الخارق الكامل في برج العقرب
by سارة فاركاس
هذا القمر العملاق ممتلئ في برج العقرب الساعة 3:33 صباحًا يوم 27 أبريل 2021. إنه يقع مقابل بقية ...
سلاسل أقحوان الأحلام المعرفية: تفاصيل الحياة "التافهة"
سلاسل أقحوان الأحلام المعرفية: تفاصيل الحياة "التافهة"
by إريك وارجو
ستكتشف مع نمو دفتر يوميات أحلامك أن أحلامك مترابطة في شبكة واسعة أو ...
أسبوع الأبراج الحالي: 26 أبريل - 2 مايو 2021
أسبوع الأبراج الحالي: 26 أبريل - 2 مايو 2021
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans
تستند هذه المجلة الفلكية الأسبوعية إلى تأثيرات الكواكب ، وتقدم وجهات نظر و ...
السفر بين العوالم: أغمض عينيك حتى تتمكن من الرؤية
أغمض عينيك حتى تتمكن من رؤية: السفر بين العوالم والسعي لإعادة الاتصال
by فابيانا فونديفيلا
منذ بدايات الحضارة الإنسانية ، استخدمت جميع شعوب الأرض تقريبًا بعض ...
6 خطوات لإنشاء ممارسة تمارين منزلية حساسة للصدمات
6 خطوات لإنشاء ممارسة تمارين منزلية حساسة للصدمات
by لورا خضري
اكتشاف كيفية البدء (أو العودة) لممارسة الرياضة بطريقة تشعر بها عاطفياً وجسديًا ...
على ماذا تعتمد سلطتنا؟
الانتقال من السلطة الاستبدادية "الخارجية" إلى السلطة "الداخلية" الروحية
by بيير Pradervand
لآلاف السنين ، منذ أن بدأت البشرية بالاستقرار في المدن ، تطورنا بشكل جامد ، ...
ولادة عالم جديد يكافح من أجل أن يولد
ولادة عالم جديد يكافح من أجل أن يولد
by ارفين لازلو
غالبًا ما يُقابل الحديث عن التغيير الأساسي في العالم من حولنا بالتشكيك. التغيير في المجتمع ...
اربح المعركة في رأسك: مسائل المنظور
اربح المعركة في رأسك: مسائل المنظور
by بيتر روبرت
كلنا نختبر الحديث الإيجابي والسلبي عن النفس بشكل منتظم. سواء كنت تدرك ذلك أو ...

الأكثر قراءة

هل غرفة نومك المقدس؟
هل غرفة نومك مقدسة؟ تكريم محميتك الشخصية
by جون روبرتسون
غرفة النوم هي موطن صلواتنا وأحلامنا ، وحدتنا وجنسنا. في هذا الحرم الداخلي ...
4 طرق لبناء قدرتك على التسامح مع الغموض - وحياتك المهنية العالمية
4 طرق لبناء قدرتك على التسامح مع الغموض - وحياتك المهنية العالمية
by بولا كاليجيوري ، دكتوراه.
حتى لو كان تحملك للغموض أقل ، فهناك طرق مثبتة لبناء هذا المهم ...
Defund الشرطة؟ بدلًا من ذلك ، قم بإنهاء الذكورة السامة و "رجال الشرطة المحاربين"
Defund الشرطة؟ بدلًا من ذلك ، قم بإنهاء الذكورة السامة و "رجال الشرطة المحاربين"
by أنجيلا وركمان ستارك ، جامعة أثاباسكا
يحاكم ضابط الشرطة المتهم بالقتل في وفاة جورج فلويد حاليًا في ...
العنف المنزلي: تزايدت طلبات المساعدة - لكن الإجابات لم تكن أسهل
العنف المنزلي: تزايدت طلبات المساعدة - لكن الإجابات لم تكن أسهل
by تارا إن.ريتشاردز وجوستين نيكس ، جامعة نبراسكا أوماها
توقع الخبراء زيادة ضحايا العنف الأسري الذين يطلبون المساعدة العام الماضي (2020). ضحايا ...
يهدد تغير المناخ القهوة - لكننا وجدنا أنواعًا برية لذيذة يمكن أن تساعد في إنقاذ مشروب الصباح
يهدد تغير المناخ القهوة - لكننا وجدنا أنواعًا برية لذيذة يمكن أن تساعد في إنقاذ مشروب الصباح
by آرون بي ديفيس ، الحدائق النباتية الملكية ، كيو
العالم يحب القهوة. بتعبير أدق ، تحب قهوة أرابيكا. من رائحتها الطازجة ...
اربح المعركة في رأسك: مسائل المنظور
اربح المعركة في رأسك: مسائل المنظور
by بيتر روبرت
كلنا نختبر الحديث الإيجابي والسلبي عن النفس بشكل منتظم. سواء كنت تدرك ذلك أو ...
6 خطوات لإنشاء ممارسة تمارين منزلية حساسة للصدمات
6 خطوات لإنشاء ممارسة تمارين منزلية حساسة للصدمات
by لورا خضري
اكتشاف كيفية البدء (أو العودة) لممارسة الرياضة بطريقة تشعر بها عاطفياً وجسديًا ...
مالك الحزين المطل على الماء
تمهل واحتضن الطبيعة - كيفية إنشاء مدن أفضل
by بيورن ويكنبرج ، جامعة لوند
طوال العام الماضي من العمل من المنزل ، قضيت أوقاتًا عديدة في الصباح ووقت الغداء و ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

The Five Stages of Projection: Re-Owning Our Abandoned Self

The Five Stages of Projection: Re-Owning Our Abandoned Self
Image by Gerd Altmann and by Reimund Bertrams

Why do we project our repressed parts? Why can't or don't those parts just remain peacefully buried -- or asleep in the basement -- and let us go on undisturbed with our "normal" lives? One possibility is that projection increases the psychological distance between ourselves and the projected qualities, thereby defending ourselves from the possibility that we possess those qualities.

But there is another possibility. As the mythologies of all time -- and the depth psychologists of the twentieth century -- have been telling us, there is this irrepressible urge within each of us toward wholeness. Some would say this is why we have incarnated, to become more fully who we are in our deepest essence. The long black bag we drag behind us is an all-inclusive, custom-made storehouse of everything we need in our quest to become whole.

The soul is not going to be happy if we try to sleep away our lives, although we may succeed at it nonetheless. The soul can't make us wake up, but it can and does see to it that we project. That way we are likely to run smack into the wall of our own unlived potential. If we can recognize our projections, then we can embrace the painful opportunity to both heal and whole ourselves.

So we project. Apparently there is no way to avoid it even while there are limitless ways to ignore or deny it.

Our Projections Help Us See Our Hidden Aspects

Robert Bly agrees that projection is a fortunate thing indeed. Without it, he notes, we might never have the opportunity to own back those hidden, not-yet-embodied parts. Thank god, then, for the screens upon which we project: our friends, family, the famous, the infamous, foreigners, infidels, and the forms and forces of nature. Without those screens, our projections would simply sail into outer space like errant radio waves, and we would never get to see our hidden aspects.

There are actually two ways in which we project onto others. The first is when we project our own unrecognized personal qualities. The second is when we project the qualities of someone from our past onto people in our present.

Psychologists refer to the latter as transference -- unfinished emotional business from our past is transferred onto our current relationships. Most commonly what is unfinished is our relationships with our parents (or other childhood caregivers).


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Revisiting the Central, Often Traumatic, Relationships of Our Past

Our souls want us to revisit those central, often traumatic, and incomplete relationships so that we can heal and learn. The soul does this by arranging for us to experience people from our current life -- our lovers, friends, friends' spouses, colleagues, bosses, teachers, psychotherapists, gurus -- as if they were the same sort of people as those major players from our childhood. That way we can find ourselves forming current relationships that resemble those from our past.

Consciously, we don't want that. But our souls recognize an opportunity. If we can re-create the same kinds of relationship problems we were unable to solve in childhood, we have another chance to get it right, to act and relate in ways that don't limit us.

Transference gives us the opportunity to discover how we have unwittingly created many of the dysfunctional qualities of our relationships (both old and new) in our attempts to protect ourselves from abandonment or emotional annihilation as children. Now, in adulthood, we have the opportunity to remove those barriers to self-expression and individuation and heal the wounds exposed when we do. But we aren't likely to do that work until we can see those barriers. How are we going to see them? Through the transference of old feelings onto current relationships.

The Five Stages of Projection: Re-Owning Our Abandoned Self

Withdrawing Projections by Being Aware That We Are ProjectingThe Jungian analyst James Hollis summarizes five stages in projecting and re-owning the abandoned parts of ourselves.

In the first stage, we are convinced that what we are unconsciously projecting is true of the other. When we fall in love, for example, we are certain the other (about whom we almost never really know anything) is the most extraordinary being on the face of the planet. We are projecting the desirable and desired qualities of the inner Other (the soul) and/or the desirable qualities of someone from our past.

In stage two, we become increasingly and shockingly aware of the discrepancy between who we thought the other was (and was supposed to be) and who they are turning out to be. We become certain there must be something wrong with the other and we attempt to control them, change them, fix them. Now we are projecting onto the other the negative qualities of the inner Other and/or the person from our past.

The third stage requires us, for the first time, to really look at the other, to see more clearly who they are, and to begin to ask what is actually going on in our relationship.

In stage four, we withdraw the projections by recognizing that we were in fact projecting, that what we thought was the outer Other was actually, in part, the inner and/or the person from our past.

And, finally, in stage five, through our inner work, we come to see exactly what it was in us we were projecting in the first place, and why.

Recognizing and Withdrawing Projections

The withdrawal of projections obliges us to consciously suffer the discrepancy between what we had hoped for and what we have. This takes much courage, heart, honesty, and a great desire to grow and become whole, a desire that must be stronger than the wish to be saved by an omnipotent other or to remain comfortable and secure.

How do we know when we are projecting versus being in genuine conversation with another? No guaranteed signs. But projection is likely to be a significant part of the mix when we fall in love, when we have strong feelings -- positive or negative -- about people we know little about, when we have a strong somatic reaction (e.g., queasiness, butterflies, lightheadedness) to someone, and/or when we notice our emotional reaction seems to be much greater than the circumstances warrant. We are surely projecting when we see another person (or nation) as evil or, conversely, when we feel someone is going to make everything all right for us.

Awareness and Self-Examination

In order to begin to withdraw your projections, you must first become aware that you are projecting. (There is little or no chance you will catch yourself before you do it. You must first suffer the discrepancy and recognize it as the source of your suffering.) Then you can ask yourself:

What exactly is the quality I like or don't like in the other?

What emotions are evoked by those qualities?

How have I acted on those emotions?

Where do I find these same qualities in myself?

What have I done to disown them and why?

In what ways might my experience of this person be similar to how I experienced someone from my family of origin?

Then you might identify the parts of your self that you have disowned and give them names. Using deep imagery work (having a trained imagery guide is recommended), you can develop a relationship with those disowned parts. Dialogue with those parts, either in your imagery or by using empty chairs and imagining those parts in those chairs. You might also choose to sit in the empty chairs and take the place of the other parts and respond to the ego. Or you might carry out the dialogue in your journal.

You might also notice that your disowned parts are showing up in your dreams. These dream characters can serve to enrich the mix of both your journal work and deep imagery with your disowned parts.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
New World Library. ©2003. www.newworldlibrary.com

Article Source

Soulcraft: Crossing into the Mysteries of Nature and Psyche
by Bill Plotkin, Ph.D.

book cover: Soulcraft: Crossing into the Mysteries of Nature and Psyche by Bill Plotkin, Ph.D.There’s a great longing in all people to uncover the secrets and mysteries of our individual lives, to find the unique gift we were born to bring to our communities, and to experience our full membership in the more-than-human world. This journey to soul is a descent into layers of the self much deeper than personality, a journey meant for each one of us, not just for the heroes and heroines of mythology.

A modern handbook for the journey, Soulcraft is not an imitation of indigenous ways, but a contemporary nature-based approach born from wilderness experience, the traditions of Western culture, and the cross-cultural heritage of all humanity. Filled with stories, poems, and guidelines, Soulcraft introduces over 40 practices that facilitate the descent to soul, including dreamwork, wilderness vision fasts, talking across the species boundaries, council, self-designed ceremony, nature-based shadow work, and the arts of romance, being lost, and storytelling.

Info/Order this book. A;so available as an Audiobook, Audio CD, and a Kindle edition.

About the Author

photo of Bill Plotkin, Ph.D.Bill Plotkin, Ph.D., is a depth psychologist, wilderness guide, and agent of cultural evolution. As founder of western Colorado’s Animas Valley Institute in 1981, he has guided thousands of seekers through nature-based initiatory passages, including a contemporary, Western adaptation of the pan-cultural vision fast. Previously, he has been a research psychologist (studying non-ordinary states of consciousness), professor of psychology, psychotherapist, rock musician, and whitewater river guide.

Bill is the author of Soulcraft: Crossing into the Mysteries of Nature and Psyche (an experiential guidebook), Nature and the Human Soul: Cultivating Wholeness and Community in a Fragmented World (a nature-based stage model of human development through the entire lifespan), Wild Mind: A Field Guide to the Human Psyche (an ecocentric map of the psyche — for healing, growing whole, and cultural transformation), and The Journey of Soul Initiation: A Field Guide for Visionaries, Evolutionaries, and Revolutionaries (an experiential guidebook for the descent to soul). He has a doctorate in psychology from the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Visit him online at http://www.animas.org.

More Books By This Author
  

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration
 

INNERSELF VOICES

Acceptance and Change: Nature Changes Often
Acceptance and Change: Fighting the Current? Nature Changes Often
by Lawrence Doochin
When we resist change, we will be fearful. When we judge ourselves, we will also be fearful. Thus…
Horoscope for Astrological Week: May 10 - 16, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: May 10 - 16, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
by Tjitze de Jong
Joanna was a classic example of how easily and fast healing can occur when the physical body,…
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
by Vir McCoy and Kara Zahl
If we stay focused on the growth potential offered through the “initiation” of disease, it can…
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
by Joyce Vissell
Clinical trials have shown that hugs are positive to your physical and mental health, and they even…
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
by Kristi Hugstad
It’s not the latest trend. It’s not a hashtag on social media. And it’s certainly not selfish.…
What Michelangelo Taught Me About Finding Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
What Michelangelo Taught Me: Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
by by Wendy Tamis Robbins
Two weeks after separating from my first husband, I booked a bus tour through Italy, my first trip…
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
by Maureen J. St. Germain
You are about to learn a very specific technique for clearing your subconscious of all the old…

MOST READ

Plant Flower Billboards In Your Garden To Help Bugs In Trouble
Plant Flower Billboards In Your Garden To Help Bugs In Trouble
by Samantha Murray, University of Florida
Insects are attracted to landscapes where flowering plants of the same species are grouped together…
Repair Cafés: A World­wide Movement of Passionate Volunteers
Repair Cafés: A World­wide Movement of Passionate Volunteers
by Martine Postma
Apparently people worldwide are ready for change, ready to say goodbye to our throwaway society and…
What Michelangelo Taught Me About Finding Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
What Michelangelo Taught Me: Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
by by Wendy Tamis Robbins
Two weeks after separating from my first husband, I booked a bus tour through Italy, my first trip…
Opening Ourselves To The Full Potential Of What We Can Achieve Together
Opening Ourselves To The Full Potential Of What We Can Achieve Together
by Dawna Markova
It's time to ignite a small revolution, a revolution of angels carrying stories to balance the…
Inner Child Speaks: "Listen To Me! I Can Help You!"
Inner Child Speaks: "Listen To Me! I Can Help You!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The inner child waits patiently for the adult to notice it, to talk to it. It asks itself: "How can…
High-Tech Contact Lenses Are Straight Out Of Science Fiction — And May Replace Smart Phones
High-Tech Contact Lenses Are Straight Out Of Science Fiction — And May Replace Smart Phones
by Bishakh Rout, McGill University
Over the years, new scientific discoveries have led to softer and more comfortable contact lenses.…
Five Steps to Get Out of Your Funky Attitude
Five Steps to Get Out of Your Funky Attitude
by Jude Bijou
Do you get in a negative mood and have a hard time getting out? Do your lingering feelings seem to…
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
by Maureen J. St. Germain
You are about to learn a very specific technique for clearing your subconscious of all the old…
Why Family Meals Are Good for Grown-ups and Kids
Why Family Meals Are Good for Grown-ups and Kids
by Anne Fishel, Harvard University
Most parents already know that family mealtimes are great for the bodies, the brains and the mental…
Changes In The Weather: El Niño and La Niña Explained
Changes In The Weather: El Niño and La Niña Explained
by Jaci Brown, CSIRO
We wait in anticipation of droughts and floods when El Niño and La Niña are forecast but what are…
DNA-based Cancer Vaccine Triggers Immune Attack On Tumors
DNA Based Cancer Vaccine Triggers Immune Attack On Tumors
by Jim Goodwin, Washington University in St. Louis
We think this is the first report of the use of a neoantigen DNA vaccine in a human, and our…
To Lower Cancer Risk, Eat More Mushrooms?
To Lower Cancer Risk, Eat More Mushrooms?
by Sara LaJeunesse, Penn State
Replenishing antioxidants in the body may help protect against oxidative stress and lower the risk…
Why Some People Don't Experience Vaccine Side-effects, And Why It's Not A Problem
Why Some People Don't Experience Vaccine Side-Effects, and Why It's Not A Problem
by Veenu Manoharan, Cardiff Metropolitan University
If that’s the immune system doing what it’s supposed to do, does a lack of side-effects mean my…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.