La peur de dire "je t'aime"

La peur de dire "je t'aime"
Image Jakob-Wiesinger

Dans le film de roman épique Pearl Buck, The Good Earth, Wang Lung, le jeune protagoniste, entend sa femme roucoule avec bonheur à leur nouveau-né et lui disant combien il est merveilleux. Le nouveau père lève les yeux vers le ciel et, dans une voix pleine de fanfaronnades et de feinte colère, dit le Tout-Puissant de ne pas l'écouter, de reconnaître qu'il ne s'agit que d'une plaine, bébé ordinaire, un bébé ne-compte. Puis il châtie sa femme pour jouer avec le feu, pour tenter les dieux.

Le sacrifice humain - et, en particulier, le sacrifice du nourrisson - peut-être le précurseur de l'aube-temps du tabou contre l'éloge d'un enfant. Nous ne voulons pas de pousser notre chance, les dieux peuvent se retourner contre nous, contre toute la communauté. Si nous agissons comme si notre progéniture délicat et précieux et tout à fait étonnante étaient pas grand-chose, peut-être Dieu lui donnera la santé et longue vie. Nous avons évité la présomption que notre enfant peut être mieux, plus intelligemment, plus beau, ou plus fort que les autres dans la communauté.

Est-ce que la louange va vraiment à votre tête?

Une autre source du tabou contre la louange de votre enfant est la notion que l'éloge lui ira à la tête: elle saura qu'elle est intelligente, il saura qu'il est beau. Les deux deviendront vaniteux et ressenties par la communauté à la suite de cette connaissance.

Les parents dévalorisent les talents et les forces de leur progéniture en public, ne voulant pas trop se montrer (bien que les grands-parents aient une marge de manœuvre face à leurs petits-enfants). Mais, plus important encore, ils n'expriment souvent pas d'éloges et d'admiration pour les talents et les forces de leurs enfants en privé, au visage de leur enfant, où la sur-orgueil n'est pas en cause.

Ne vous méprenez pas, les enfants de tous âges ne se lasse pas d'entendre les éloges de leurs parents. Dans mes entretiens avec des enfants adultes, un thème récurrent était l'échec des parents pour valider ou même de reconnaître les réalisations de leurs enfants, y compris la substance de leurs vies.

L'importance de la louange

L'importance de l'éloge - parfois appelé coups - ne peut pas être surestimée. Mais il y a des problèmes à donner des compliments.

Flax et Ubell soulignent que "le problème avec ces compliments est qu'ils portent un message caché." Le message implicite des parents est: "Je sais ce qui est bon pour vous, et je vous dirai quand vous vous portez bien, si je retiens les louanges, vous saurez que vous faites quelque chose de mal." De plus, même les jeunes enfants détectent une hypocrisie. Vous ne voulez pas être pris à faire des remarques flatteuses à votre enfant adulte que vous ne ressentez pas.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Que dites-vous à votre fils lorsqu'il vous montre un assemblage qu'il a créé et que vous pensez être un exemple du plus mauvais type d'art moderne? Comment réagissez-vous lorsque votre fille 32-year-old parades sa dernière tenue qui est un vêtement mal ajusté, étiré, et ridée qui vous regarde comme si elle sortait de la boîte gratuite au refuge pour sans-abri?

Directives à la sincérité

Voici quelques lignes directrices relatives à la sincérité qui devrait vous aider à donner plus d'éloges librement à votre enfant d'âge adulte:

* Vous n'avez pas besoin d'aimer quelque chose que votre fils ou votre fille fait afin de donner sa louange. Demandez-lui d'expliquer la conception du site web, les réseaux de pluie forêt d'action, ou clubs de collectionneurs de poupée Barbie. En se contentant de montrer l'intérêt et l'écoute de ses explications que vous fournissez la reconnaissance et la validation. Votre fille sera l'entendre comme s'il s'agissait d'éloges.

* Dites-lui "C'est vous!" Vous n'auriez pas douze horloges anciennes dans votre vie et salles à manger tous les retardements et bonging tout de suite sans relâche, mais à votre fils, le collecteur d'horloge et le restaurateur, c'est le nirvana. Profitez de son unicité, son enthousiasme, ses connaissances, son métier. Il n'a pas besoin d'être comme vous. Il doit être lui-même, et je voudrais votre accusé de réception pour son individualité.

* Êtes-vous une faveur et en apprendre davantage sur actuelles icônes de la culture, les tendances et les changements dans la perception. Reconnaître que nous sommes tous coincés dans nos passés dans une certaine mesure. Si vous étiez un adolescent dans les «40s ou des 50s vous avez peut-être pas remarqué quand les Beatles, Bob Dylan, et le Grateful Dead est arrivé sur la scène. Mais pour quelqu'un né en 1954 ou 1958 ou 1963, ces musiciens étaient plus grands que la vie, plus qu'un divertissement, plus de groupes de danse. Vous aurez besoin de savoir quelque chose sur les sites culturels importants dans le passé de votre enfant. Vous voudrez peut-être à l'os sur le relâchement des mœurs sexuelles, y compris les co-ed dortoirs et de la cohabitation sans mariage, ainsi que l'utilisation de drogues récréatives, Rock / musique rap et la culture informatique, même généralisée. Toutes ces choses, et plus, ont influencé la vie de votre enfant adulte. Vous aurez besoin de les connaître si vous allez lui donner la validation, la reconnaissance et de louange.

Sincérité *, après tout, naît de l'amour. Si vous aimez votre enfant adulte, vous pouvez apprécier ses réalisations, même si elles sont largement divergentes des choses que vous considérez utile ou beau.

Fille Ellen, Grace, a jeté chaque centime de rechange dans l'équipement pour sa chambre noire. Elle a travaillé comme serveuse, mais la photographie était sa passion. Elle a pris des gros plans de plantes, les résultats étant des conceptions plus ou moins géométriques. Ellen ne savais pas quoi faire de Grace cher, beaucoup de temps passe-temps. Les images semblent inlassablement répétée. Grace ne pas entrer dans les compétitions, ont indices galerie ou de vendre des photos. Elle n'a même pas accrocher tout sur ses murs. Ellen a voulu dire: «Ce n'est pas menant nulle part. Essayez quelque chose d'autre», mais elle a tenu sa langue. Elle aimait son 30-année-vieille fille et j'ai senti la fierté de Grace dans son métier. Elle s'entendit dire, un jour, "je vous admire, Grace, pour votre dévouement à ce travail. Je ne pouvais pas le faire." Grâce rayonnait.

Dire "Je t'aime" à votre enfant adulte

Beaucoup de parents dans la cinquantaine et la soixantaine ont grandi dans des maisons où leurs parents ne leur ont jamais dit «je t'aime». Ce résultat provocateur a émergé d'une cohorte d'entrevues de parents à mi-vie trop petit pour être statistiquement significatif, mais je pense qu'il est néanmoins important. Pas une seule personne interrogée ne s'est souvenue d'avoir été "un je t'aime" par ses parents une seule fois.

Pourquoi cela devrait-il être ainsi? Qu'y a-t-il à dire, à plat, «Je t'aime» à nos enfants, qui a été rejeté par beaucoup et qui peut constituer un tabou pour les parents d'aujourd'hui?

"Est-ce que mes parents m'aiment?" est une question profonde et chargée d'émotion que la plupart des gens préfèrent éviter. Une réponse Oui ou Non à la question peut être incomplète et insatisfaisante. Nous pouvons dire: «Oui, bien sûr, ils m'aiment, ils m'ont nourri, ils m'ont logé, ils m'ont vêtu, ils m'ont élevé à l'âge adulte, ils sont mes parents, bien sûr, ils m'aiment.

Nous pouvons aussi dire: «Mes proches me disent que mes parents ne m'ont jamais vraiment aimé, au fond je me sens mal aimé, indésirable, pas d'accord, peut-être qu'ils ont essayé, peut-être qu'ils étaient convaincus qu'ils m'aimaient beaucoup.

L'estime de soi et les mots "je t'aime"

Provoqué par mes données d'entrevues, je me débattais avec les questions suivantes: Dans quelle mesure est l'estime de soi influencé ou renforcé par l'énoncé de "Je t'aime" par les parents? En outre, sont équivalents fonctionnels il des trois petits mots - embrasser, étreindre, toucher, et la tenue - qui rendent les mots simplement une variante de l'expression de l'affection? Un enfant peut se sentir profondément et solidement aimé et apprécié, sans jamais avoir entendu les mots "je t'aime" de ses parents?

Beaucoup de mes enfants qui répondent à des adultes ne se souvenait pas avoir entendu l'expression utilisée dans leur maison. Non seulement leurs parents s'abstiennent de le dire aux enfants, mais ils n'ont pas non plus le dire à l'autre. Un répondant a estimé qu'il y avait une connotation sexuelle distincte à la phrase "Je t'aime" et que les pères, en particulier, de s'abstenir de le dire à leurs filles.

Les tabous à propos de dire "je t'aime"

Romans, films, la plupart des cultures (en effet à la fois haute et basse) investir "Je t'aime" à contenu érotique forte. Bien sûr, nous pouvons utiliser l'expression pour exprimer des amitiés étroites ou lien parent-enfant. Ou nous pouvons l'utiliser à la légère, frivole - comme certains stars d'Hollywood sont réputés pour utiliser le mot «Dahling." Néanmoins, la profonde, romantique, sentiment-ton de la phrase renforce le tabou contre son utilisation par les parents et les enfants adultes.

Dire «Je t'aime» à ses fils révèle un autre, quoique lié tabou, un tabou contre les menaces perçues à la virilité. Sons, dans notre culture, sont censés absorber les valeurs masculines de force, orientation vers l'action, et l'affirmation de soi, et ne pas se fier trop sur le sentiment. Au cours de la sensibilité chez les hommes est découragée. Dire «Je t'aime» à des garçons comme ils grandissent peut être considérée comme une "femme" de fil en douceur, la douceur (à Dieu ne plaise), et le redoutable «sissy» épithète.

Je soupçonne que beaucoup de parents tiens à dire à leurs enfants ouvertement qu'ils les aiment, à la fois dans leur enfance et à l'âge adulte, mais se sentent obligés de le faire. Ils peuvent faire une grande variété de choses pour essayer de transmettre le même message - la remise de cadeaux, services, conseils, des sourires chaleureux - mais les trois petits mots eux-mêmes sont évités.

Une personne qui grandit dans une telle maison peut-être inconsciemment imiter ses parents quand il a des enfants, et de perpétuer le tabou. Dire «Je t'aime» est jugée inadaptée ou même erronée. Alternativement, il peut faire une tentative consciente de déclarer ouvertement son amour pour ses enfants régulièrement. Je voudrais croire que cela peut fonctionner, que les gens puissent se détacher de l'héritage de ce tabou sans peur et sans mauvaises conséquences pour parent ou un enfant. Pour sortir du cycle de la contrainte, il peut être utile de voir comment fonctionne le tabou.

Le don de dire "je t'aime"

Quand nous disons "je t'aime" à quelqu'un, n'importe qui, nous leur donnons un grand cadeau. Si ce cadeau ne nous était pas systématiquement donné, nous ne le transmettrions probablement pas aux autres. Parce que nous n'avons pas à le donner: c'est, par définition, donné librement.

C'est quelque chose de plus grand qu'un cadeau d'anniversaire (un rituel bien accepté) ou un appel de vacances. Ce n'est pas une finesse sociale. Il n'est pas pris en charge par la coutume (bien qu'il ne soit pas nécessaire d'aller à l'encontre de la coutume). C'est, surtout, trois petits mots, pas dix ou quinze petits mots (je t'aime parce que tu es si gentille, mignonne, petite fille, etc.). Parce qu'il n'y a que ces trois mots non qualifiés, nous disons: "Ici et maintenant, tout le monde donne mon amour à vous tous."

Donc, puissant et puissant est l'expression de notre culture qu'il est, malheureusement, parfois évitées même dans les relations amoureuses romantiques, le plus souvent par les hommes. Dire «Je t'aime» implique dévouement et l'engagement. Il ouvre la porte à l'intimité. On peut se demander, "Est-il possible que de nombreux parents évitent de l'intimité avec leurs enfants?"

La peur de dire "je t'aime"

Mes entretiens ont montré que le tabou parental qui consiste à dire «je t'aime» à ses jeunes enfants se répercute sur les enfants adolescents et adultes. L'enfant adulte peut alors avoir beaucoup de difficulté à dire «Je t'aime» à ses parents. L'un des sentiments les plus forts autour de cette question est l'embarras.

Il y a quelque chose d'envahissant, une sorte de nudité émotionnelle, qui s'accroche à la phrase «je t'aime» qui fait que beaucoup d'adultes l'évitent. Il se peut aussi qu'en disant «je t'aime», les gens se sentent menacés d'être repoussés. L'autre partie peut ne pas être en mesure de rendre la pareille. Ça fait mal beaucoup.

Si la crainte de rebuffade est vraiment au cœur de ce tabou, alors les questions de savoir qui dit que les trois petits mots d'abord et, ensuite, qui les dit plus souvent, deviennent des enjeux plus sincères. Ceci est plus apparente dans les relations amoureuses, dans lequel, généralement, chaque partie a besoin des preuves de dévouement ou au moins des signes d'affection, afin de faire ressortir les déclarations d'amour de l'autre. Mais cependant différente de la relation parent-enfant / adulte est de le romantique, la crainte de rebuffade, et il est émanation, la fierté de ne pas avoir besoin d'affection de quelqu'un, sont très peu près la même dans les deux.

Ce n'est pas drôle de se mettre à une autre, qu'il s'agisse de ses enfants, ses parents, ou une connaissance, et de découvrir qu'ils ne répondent pas en nature. Un de mes répondants m'a dit la vignette ci-dessous:

Elle et son père étaient assis sur les marches de la cabine d'été de la famille dans le Vermont, en regardant un magnifique coucher de soleil, en écoutant le pays semble d'insectes et d'oiseaux, en appréciant le cadre idyllique.

Jean se souvenait de cette scène avec la douleur et de regret vingt ans plus tard, cette scène où rien ne s'est passé - précisément parce que rien ne s'est passé. Elle voulait mettre ses bras autour de son père et dire quelque chose le long des lignes de "Gee, papa, Je t'aime." Elle imaginait il se sentait un désir similaire. Mais tous les deux laissez-passer le moment.

Je soupçonne que la combinaison de l'embarras et la réticence à prendre ce risque infime de rebuffade étaient ce qui a gardé l'interaction de la floraison. Il est certainement possible de sentir la chaleur et de convivialité dans le silence d'un coucher de soleil. Mais si une personne veut dire "Je t'aime" et ne peuvent tout simplement pas dire les mots, un grave problème, culturellement fondée sur interpersonnelle est révélé.

L'amour est infiniment renouvelable

La vérité sur l'amour, c'est qu'il est infiniment reconstitué et plus nous donnons, plus nous avons à donner. Mais beaucoup de gens ne le savent pas. Je pense que beaucoup pensent que si elles donner de l'amour trop librement, ils seront épuisés, et ils doivent retenir de s'engager explicitement à un don de l'amour en ne disant pas "Je t'aime."

Peut-on, alors, faire le saut et de dire qu'il n'y a rien qui puisse égaler l'utilisation régulière de la phrase "Je t'aime" avec nos enfants? Je ne peux pas, en toute équité, suggèrent que la panoplie totale de gestes d'amour manifesté par les parents à leurs enfants ne pas envoyer le message complet si elle manque de l'utilisation fréquente de l'expression orale. Mais je suis hanté par la façon dont l'expression semble faire tomber les barrières à l'intimité et ouvriront la voie à quelque chose de profondément guérison.

Vous voudrez peut-être aux prises avec le "Je t'aime" question en répondant aux questions ci-dessous. Obtenez personnelle. Demandez-vous comment fonctionne le tabou, de quelles façons vous participez de celui-ci et comment vous pourriez être en mesure de vous sortir de là si vous vous sentez ses contraintes.

* Ce que vos parents disent régulièrement: «Je t'aime» pour vous?

* Avez-vous le dire à vos enfants adultes?

* Si non, serait-il aider votre relation, si vous étiez à le faire?

* Vous sentez-vous contraint, embarrassé, maladroit ou à la pensée de dire "Je t'aime" pour eux?

* Si oui, pouvez-vous penser pourquoi cela pourrait être?

* Est-ce qu'ils vous dire?

* Si oui, ne vous sentez-vous bien de l'entendre?

Vous pourriez être surpris de découvrir que vous voulez dire «Je t'aime» pour eux, et que vous seriez très heureux d'entendre vos enfants adultes, il vous le dis, si elles ne le font pas déjà.

Reproduit avec la permission de l'éditeur,
Les éditeurs de la nouvelle société. © 2001.
http://www.newsociety.com

Source de l'article

Tous grandi: Vivre heureux pour toujours avec vos enfants adultes
par Roberta Maisel.

All Grown Up par Roberta Maisel.All Grown Up décrit comment les parents à mi-vie et leurs enfants adultes peuvent célébrer ensemble cette nouvelle vie en développant des amitiés amoureuses et égalitaires positives et sans culpabilité. En utilisant des stratégies de résolution de conflit empruntées au domaine de la médiation, un respect sain pour les problèmes de génération engendrés par les révolutions sociales des 1960 et des 70, et une perspective spirituelle large, l'auteur fournit des solutions pratiques aux problèmes actuels, comme ainsi que des discussions stimulantes sur la façon dont ces problèmes sont apparus.

Info / Commander ce livre.

A propos de l'auteur

Roberta Maisel

ROBERTA MAISEL est un médiateur bénévole Service de Berkeley de règlement des différends à Berkeley, en Californie. Elle est une mère enthousiaste de trois enfants adultes et, à plusieurs reprises dans sa vie, elle a été enseignante à l'école et au collège, propriétaire de magasin d'antiquités, pianiste et militante politique travaillant avec et pour les réfugiés centraméricains, les sans-abri et la paix au Moyen-Orient. . Elle a donné des conférences et des ateliers sur le vieillissement, la vie avec perte, et s'entendre avec les enfants adultes.

The Fear of Saying "I Love You"

The Fear of Saying "I Love You"
Image by jakob-wiesinger

In the movie of Pearl Buck's epic novel, The Good Earth, Wang Lung, the young protagonist, hears his wife cooing happily to their new-born baby and telling it how wonderful it is. The new father looks up to the heavens and, in a voice full of bluster and feigned anger, tells the Almighty not to listen to her, to recognize that this is only a plain, ordinary baby, a no-account baby. Then he chastises his wife for playing with fire, for tempting the gods.

Human sacrifice -- and, in particular, infant sacrifice -- may be the dawn-of-time precursor of the taboo against praising a child. We don't want to push our luck, the gods may turn against us, against the whole community. If we act as though our delicate and precious and utterly amazing offspring were nothing much, maybe God will give it health and long life. We have avoided the presumption that our child may be better, smarter, handsomer, or stronger than others in the community.

Does Praise Really Go To Your Head?

Another source of the taboo against praising your child is the notion that praise will go to her head: she will know she's smart, he will know he is good-looking. Both will become conceited and resented by the community as a result of this knowledge.

Parents down-pedal their offsprings' talents and strengths in public, not wanting to show off too much (although grandparents are allowed some leeway vis-a-vis their grandchildren). But, more importantly, they often don't express praise and admiration for their children's talents and strengths in private, to their child's face, where over-pridefulness is not at issue.

Make no mistake, children of all ages never tire of hearing praise from their parents. In my interviews with adult children, a recurring theme was parents' failure to validate or even to recognize their children's accomplishments, including the ongoing stuff of their lives.

The Importance of Praise

The importance of praise -- sometimes referred to as strokes -- cannot be overstated. But there are problems in giving compliments.

Flax and Ubell point out that "the trouble with these compliments is that they carry a hidden message." The implied message from the parents is: "I know what's good for you, and I will tell you when you are doing well. If I withhold praise, therefore, you'll know you are doing something wrong." Furthermore, even young children detect insincerity. You don't want to be caught making flattering remarks to your adult child that you don't feel.

What do you say to your son when he shows you an assemblage that he has created that you think is an example of the very worst type of modern art? How do you react when your 32-year-old daughter parades her latest outfit which is an ill-fitting, stretched, and wrinkled garment that looks to you as though it came out of the free box at the homeless shelter?

Guidelines to Sincerity

Below are some guidelines relating to sincerity that should help you to give praise more freely to your adult child:

* You don't have to like something that your son or daughter does in order to give her praise. Ask her to explain web site design, rain forest action networks, or Barbie doll collector's clubs. By merely showing interest and listening to her explanations you are providing acknowledgment and validation. Your daughter will hear it as though it were praise.

* Tell him "It's you!" You wouldn't have twelve antique clocks in your living and dining rooms all ticking and bonging away at once with no let-up, but to your son, the clock collector and restorer, this is nirvana. Enjoy his uniqueness, his enthusiasm, his knowledge, his craft. He doesn't need to be like you. He needs to be himself, and would like your acknowledgment for his individuality.

* Do yourself a favor and learn about current cultural icons, trends, and changes in perception. Recognize that we are all stuck in our pasts to some extent. If you were a teenager in the '40s or '50s you may have not have noticed when the Beatles, Bob Dylan, and the Grateful Dead arrived on the scene. But for someone born in 1954 or 1958 or 1963, these musicians were larger-than-life, more than entertainment, more than dance bands. You will need to know something about the significant cultural landmarks in your child's past. You may want to bone up on the loosening of sexual mores, including co-ed dormitories and cohabitation without marriage, as well as recreational drug use, rock/rap music, and even widespread computer literacy. All of these things, and more, have influenced your adult child's life. You will need to know about them if you are going to give him validation, recognition, and praise.

* Sincerity, after all, grows out of love. If you love your adult child you can appreciate her accomplishments even if they are widely divergent from things you consider valuable or beautiful.

Ellen's daughter, Grace, threw every spare dime into equipment for her darkroom. She worked as a waitress but photography was her passion. She took close-ups of plants, the results being more-or-less geometric designs. Ellen didn't know what to make of Grace's expensive, time-consuming hobby. The pictures seemed endlessly repetitive. Grace didn't enter competitions, have gallery showings or sell any pictures. She didn't even hang any on her walls. Ellen wanted to say, "This is not leading anywhere. Try something else," but she held her tongue. She loved her 30-year-old daughter and sensed Grace's pride in her craft. She heard herself saying, one day, "I admire you, Grace, for your devotion to this work. I couldn't do it." Grace beamed.

Saying "I Love You" To Your Adult Child

Many parents now in their fifties and sixties grew up in homes where their parents never said "I love you" to them. This provocative finding emerged from an interview cohort of midlife parents too small to be statistically significant, but I think it is important nonetheless. Not a single interviewee remembered being told "I love you" by his or her parents even once.

Why should this be so? What is it about saying, flat out, "I love you" to our children that has been shunned by many and may still constitute a taboo among middle-aged parents today?

"Do my parents love me?" is a deep and emotionally-charged question which most people would rather avoid. Either a Yes or a No answer to the question may be incomplete and unsatisfying. We can say, "Yes, of course they love me. They fed, housed, and clothed me. They raised me to adulthood. They're my parents. Of course they love me."

We may also say, "My insides tell me that my parents really never loved me. At bottom I feel unloved, unwanted, not okay. Maybe they tried, maybe they were convinced that they loved me very much. But something went wrong."

Self-Esteem and the Words "I Love You"

Provoked by my interview data, I wrestled with the following questions: To what extent is self-esteem influenced or buttressed by the utterance of "I love you" by the parents? Further, are there functional equivalents of the three little words -- kissing, hugging, touching, and holding -- that render the words merely one variant of expression of affection? Can a child feel deeply and securely loved and appreciated without ever hearing the words "I love you" from her parents?

Many of my adult child respondents could not remember hearing the phrase used in their home. Not only did their parents refrain from saying it to the children but they also didn't say it to each other. One respondent felt there was a distinct sexual connotation to the phrase "I love you" and that fathers, especially, refrain from saying it to their daughters.

The Taboos About Saying "I Love You"

Novels, movies, indeed most cultures (both high and low) invest "I love you" with strong erotic content. Of course, we can use the phrase to express close friendships or parent-child bond. Or we can use it lightly, frivolously -- as some Hollywood stars are reputed to use the word "dahling." Nevertheless, the deep, romantic, feeling-tone of the phrase reinforces the taboo against its use by parents and adult children.

Saying "I love you" to one's sons reveals a different, though related taboo, a taboo against perceived threats to manliness. Sons, in our culture, are supposed to absorb the male values of strength, action orientation, and assertiveness, and not to place too much reliance on feeling. Over-sensitivity in males is discouraged. Saying "I love you" to boys as they are growing up may be seen as a "female" thing leading to softness, gentleness (heaven forbid), and the dreaded "sissy" epithet.

I suspect that many parents would like to tell their children openly that they love them, both in their childhood and in their adult years, but feel constrained from doing so. They may do a wide variety of things to try to convey the same message -- giving gifts, services, advice, warm smiles -- but the three little words themselves are avoided.

A person growing up in such a home may unconsciously imitate his parents when he has children, and perpetuate the taboo. Saying "I love you" is felt to be inappropriate or even wrong. Alternatively, he may make a conscious attempt to openly declare his love for his children regularly. I would like to believe that this can work, that people can break away from the legacy of this taboo without fear and without bad consequences for parent or child. To break out of the cycle of constraint, it may be useful to see how the taboo works.

The Gift of Saying "I Love You"

When we say "I love you" to someone, anyone, we are giving them a great gift. If this gift were not routinely given to us, we probably wouldn't pass it along to others. Because we don't have to give it: it is, by definition, freely given.

It is something bigger than a birthday present (a well-accepted ritual) or a holiday phone call. It is not a social nicety. It is not supported by custom (although it need not go against custom). It is, importantly, three little words, not ten or fifteen little words (I love you because you're such a nice, cute, little girl, etc.). Because there are only these three, unqualified words, we are saying, "Right here and right now, all of me is giving my love to all of you."

So powerful and potent is the phrase in our culture that it is, sadly, sometimes avoided even in romantic love relationships, most frequently by men. Saying "I love you" involves devotion and commitment. It opens the door to intimacy. We may well ask, "Is it possible that many parents shy away from intimacy with their children?"

The Fear of Saying "I Love You"

My interviews have shown that the parental taboo against saying "I love you" to one's young children carries over to adolescent and adult children. The adult child may then have great difficulty in saying "I love you" to her parents. One of the most strongly held feelings around this issue is embarrassment.

There is something invasive, a kind of emotional nakedness, that clings to the phrase "I love you" that causes many adults to avoid it. It may also be that by saying "I love you" people feel themselves at risk of being rebuffed. The other party may not be able to reciprocate. That hurts a lot.

If fear of rebuff is really at the heart of this taboo, then the questions of who says the three little words first and, subsequently, who says them more often, become heartfelt issues. This is more apparent in romantic relationships, in which, typically, each party requires proofs of devotion or at least signs of affection in order to bring out declarations of love from the other. But however different the parent/adult child relationship is from the romantic one, the fear of rebuff, and it's offshoot, pride in not needing anyone's affection, are very much the same in both.

It is no fun to put oneself out to another, whether it be one's children, one's parents, or a casual acquaintance, and discover that they don't respond in kind. One of my respondents told me the following vignette:

She and her father were sitting on the steps of the family's summer cabin in Vermont, watching a beautiful sunset, listening to the country sounds of insects and birds, enjoying the idyllic setting.

Jean remembered this scene with pain and regret twenty years later, this scene where nothing happened -- precisely because nothing happened. She wanted to put her arms around her father and say something along the lines of, "Gee, Dad, I love you." She imagined he felt a similar longing. But both of them let the moment pass.

I suspect that a combination of embarrassment and unwillingness to take that tiny risk of rebuff were what kept the interaction from flowering. It is certainly possible to feel warmth and togetherness in the silence of a sunset. But if a person wishes to say "I love you" and simply cannot say the words, a serious, culturally-based, interpersonal problem is being revealed.

Love Is Infinitely Replenishable

The truth about loving is that it is infinitely replenishable and the more we give, the more we have to give. But many people don't know this. I suspect many feel that if they give love too freely they will be depleted, and they must hold back from explicitly committing themselves to a gift of love by not saying "I love you."

Can we, then, make the leap and say that there is nothing that can equal the regular use of the phrase "I love you" with our children? I cannot, in all fairness, suggest that the total panoply of loving gestures shown by parents to their children does not send the complete message if it lacks frequent use of the spoken phrase. But I am haunted by the way in which the phrase seems to break down barriers to intimacy and break through to something profoundly healing.

You may want to wrestle with the "I love you" issue by answering the questions below. Get personal. Ask yourself how the taboo works, in what ways you partake of it and how you might be able to extricate yourself from it if you feel its constraints.

* Did your parents regularly say "I love you" to you?

* Do you say it to your adult children?

* If not, would it help your relationship if you were to do so?

* Do you feel constrained, embarrassed, or awkward at the thought of saying "I love you" to them?

* If yes, can you think why this might be?

* Do they say it to you?

* If so, does it make you feel good to hear it?

You might be surprised to discover that you would like to say "I love you" to them, and that you would be very pleased to hear your adult children say it to you, if they don't already do so.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
New Society Publishers. ©2001.
http://www.newsociety.com

Article Source

All Grown Up: Living Happily Ever After with Your Adult Children
by Roberta Maisel.

All Grown Up by Roberta Maisel. All Grown Up describes how mid-life parents and their grown children can celebrate this new lease on life together by developing loving and egalitarian friendships that are positive and guilt-free. Using conflict resolution strategies borrowed from the field of mediation, a healthy respect for generation-gap issues engendered by the social revolutions of the 1960s and '70s, and a broad spiritual perspective, the author provides both practical solutions to on-going problems, as well as thought-provoking discussions of how these problems came to be.

Info/Order this book.

About the Author

Roberta Maisel

ROBERTA MAISEL is a volunteer mediator with Berkeley Dispute Resolution Service in Berkeley, California. She is an enthusiastic parent of three grown children and, at various times in her life, has been a school and college teacher, antique shop owner, piano accompanist, and political activist working with and for Central American refugees, homeless people and Middle East peace. She has given talks and workshops on aging, living with loss, and getting along with adult children.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}