كيفية منع التأثيرات البيولوجية طويلة المدى لإجهاد كوفيد -19 على صحة الأطفال وتطورهم في المستقبل

التأثيرات البيولوجية طويلة المدى لإجهاد كوفيد -19 على صحة الأطفال وتطورهم في المستقبل
قد يكون للضغوط التي يتعرض لها الأطفال والمراهقون نتيجة للاستجابة للجائحة آثار طويلة الأمد على صحتهم ورفاههم.
(صراع الأسهم)

أحد الجوانب المحظوظة لـ COVID-19 هو أن الأطفال كانوا أقل تأثراً بالمرض. ولكن على الرغم من الانخفاض النسبي في معدل الإصابة بالأمراض الشديدة لدى الأطفال ، فإن الاستجابة للوباء قد يكون لها آثار ضارة طويلة المدى على صحة ورفاه الأطفال والمراهقين.

كباحثين في علم النفس وعلم الوراثة وعلم الأحياء التنموي في مجموعة أبحاث الكشف الاجتماعي at جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية و برنامج تنمية الطفل والدماغ من CIFAR، نحن نبحث في الآليات البيولوجية التي العوامل الاجتماعية "تحت الجلد"للتأثير على صحة الطفل ونموه. نحن قلقون لأن بعض العواقب غير المقصودة لاستجابة الصحة العامة للوباء هي زيادة الضغوطات للأطفال والمراهقين.

هذه الضغوطات - انخفاض دخل الأسرة وانعدام الأمن الغذائي وإجهاد الوالدين وإساءة معاملة الأطفال - يمكن أن تصبح متأصلة بيولوجيًا و تؤثر سلبًا على أدمغة الأطفال النامية وأنظمتهم المناعية وقدرتهم على النمو. في حين أن بعض التأثيرات ستكون فورية ، فإن العديد منها سيظهر بعد عقود من الآن.

يمكن أن تترك الضغوطات بصمة دائمة على الصحة

قد تُطبع ضغوطات الوباء بيولوجياً عند الأطفال.قد تُطبع ضغوطات الوباء بيولوجياً عند الأطفال. (Pixabay)

لأكثر من 500,000 طفل كندي تحت سن 18 يعيشون في فقر (وواحد من كل أربعة أطفال في أسر وحيدة الوالد) قبل انتشار الوباء ، كانت الصدمات كبيرة. اعتبارًا من يونيو ، معدل البطالة في كندا وصلت إلى مستوى قياسي بلغ 13.7 في المائة ، مع خسائر توظيف تراكمية تزيد عن ثلاثة ملايين منذ فبراير. هذا مقلق بشكل خاص. يوضح أحد الأمثلة الصارخة أن المصاعب المالية في الحياة المبكرة مرتبطة بـ ارتفاع خطر الإصابة بمتلازمة التمثيل الغذائي و مشاكل الصحة الجسدية في مرحلة البلوغ، غالبًا ما تكون مستقلة عن دخل وموارد الكبار. القلق الآن هو مدى تأثير هذه الصدمات الهائلة على صحة الأطفال ورفاههم مدى الحياة.

يواجه الأطفال والمراهقون هذه الضغوطات دون الوصول إلى إجراءات وأنشطة التثبيت التي تدعم نموهم عادةً. معظم المدارس الكندية مغلقة أو مفتوحة فقط بدوام جزئي. مع الصيف المقبل ، والإلغاء والقيود رياضة الشباب و المخيمات الصيفية يعني المزيد من فقدان فرص التعلم والتفاعل الاجتماعي واللعب. بالنسبة للمراهقين ، الذين يحتاجون إلى تفاعل الأقران لدعم التنمية ، من المحتمل أن يكون هناك الحرمان الاجتماعي وفرص التعلم الاجتماعي المنخفضة عواقب بعيدة المدى على تنميتها و الصحة النفسية.

المسارات البيولوجية

قد تصبح الضغوطات الناجمة عن الوباء مطبوع بيولوجيا في الأطفال وتترك بصمة دائمة على صحة الأطفال والكبار ورفاههم. هناك العديد من المسارات البيولوجية التي يمكن تعديلها من خلال تجارب الحياة المبكرة ، ولكن علم التخلق - وهي عملية تعمل على تشغيل الجينات أو "إيقاف تشغيلها" - تمت دراستها جيدًا بشكل خاص. التغيرات فوق الجينية المرتبطة بالتجارب المبكرة يمكن أن تستمر حتى مرحلة البلوغ وقد تكون مرتبطة بالتوتر والالتهاب والحالات الصحية المزمنة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الضغوطات أثناء جائحة COVID-19 والتدخلات التي يمكننا القيام بها لرعاية صحة ورفاه الأطفال والمراهقين.الضغوطات أثناء جائحة COVID-19 والتدخلات التي يمكننا القيام بها لرعاية صحة ورفاه الأطفال والمراهقين. (مقدم المؤلف), مؤلف المنصوص

بينما يواصل العلماء رسم خريطة للآليات الدقيقة التي تؤثر بها التجارب المبكرة على صحة البالغين ، فإن الأمر الواضح هو أن الأطفال الذين يعانون من المحن في وقت مبكر من حياتهم يتعرضون لخطر متزايد للإصابة بمشاكل نفسية واجتماعية وجسدية لاحقة. هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من الحماية للأطفال والعائلات لمنع الآثار السلبية لـ COVID-19 من متابعة الأطفال ، وخاصة أولئك المعرضين بالفعل لخطر أكبر ، إلى مرحلة البلوغ.

كندا ليست وحدها التي فشلت في إعطاء الأولوية للاحتياجات الأساسية للأطفال والمراهقين في إعادة فتح الخطط. في المملكة المتحدة ، أ رسالة مفتوحة رئيس الوزراء وقعه 1,500 طبيب أطفال في 17 يونيو مشيرين إلى مخاطر "تشويه فرص الحياة لجيل من الشباب" بسبب الإغلاق المطول للمدارس. حثت هذه الرسالة الحكومة على إعطاء الأولوية لفتح المدارس لمنع اتساع التفاوتات وتعطل التعلم وعدم القدرة على تقديم الدعم الأساسي للأطفال ، بما في ذلك دعم الصحة العقلية والعلاجات والوجبات المدرسية وخدمات السنوات الأولى.

مطلوب خطط إبداعية وآمنة لإعادة فتح المدارس والسماح بالتفاعلات الاجتماعية الآمنة. ستفيد هذه التدابير جميع الشباب ، ولكن هناك حاجة إلى تركيز محدد لدعم الشباب الأكثر تضرراً تضخيم التفاوتات الاجتماعية. على وجه الخصوص ، مع خروجنا من هذه الأزمة ، هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من الدعم لأولئك الذين قد يكونون قد مروا إساءة معاملة الأطفال و العنف المنزلي.

مساعدة الأطفال والمراهقين على الازدهار

لم يفت الأوان لمنع الأطفال والمراهقين الذين نشأوا في ظل الوباء من أن يصبحوا ضحايا غير مقصودين. نحن نواجه احتمال حدوث تحولات زلزالية في صحة السكان ورفاههم إذا لم نتحرك. النبأ السار هو أن هناك إجراءات محددة وقائمة على الأدلة يمكننا اتخاذها.

إن وجود بالغين دافئين وداعمين يمكن أن يحمي الأطفال من أحداث الحياة المجهدة.إن وجود بالغين دافئين وداعمين يمكن أن يحمي الأطفال من أحداث الحياة المجهدة. (Pexels / Ketut Subiyanto)

إن وجود بالغين دافئين وداعمين يمكن أن يحمي الأطفال من أحداث الحياة المجهدة. الروابط الوثيقة بين الآباء والأطفال تحمي من الآثار الضارة طويلة المدى لانعدام الأمن المالي على جهاز المناعة - تمتد حتى مرحلة البلوغ. يقدم الأجداد والمعلمون والمدربون وغيرهم من البالغين المهمين والمجتمعات المتماسكة في حياة الأطفال أمثلة ملهمة عن كيفية التواصل الإبداعي ودعم الأطفال رقميًا وفيزيائيًا ، ولكن ليس اجتماعيًا.

خلق الفرص ل الأطفال والمراهقين للمشاركة في خطة إعادة البناء يمكن تمكين الشباب كقادة. متنوع المجلس الاستشاري للشباب، مثل ال لجنة الصحة العقلية التابعة لمجلس الشباب الكندي، يمكن أن تدعو من خلال دمج الحكمة والرؤية من تجارب الشباب الحية.

نحث صانعي السياسات على البحث عن أدلة علمية والتشاور مع الخبراء الذين يركزون على تنمية الطفل ، بما في ذلك أطباء الأطفال وعلماء النفس والباحثين في بيولوجيا تجارب الحياة المبكرة. للبدء ، يجب على صانعي السياسات الاستثمار في الحلول لتقليل الاستناد إلى الأدلة أهم 10 تهديدات التي حددها أطفال أولا كندا. وتشمل هذه الاكتئاب والقلق وإساءة معاملة الأطفال - وكلها عوامل تتفاقم بفعل الوباء. أخيرًا ، نحث على إنشاء مجموعة متنوعة من التعافي من الجائحة الفيدرالية والإقليمية فرق العمل لإنشاء إستراتيجية مبنية على الأدلة لدعم الأطفال والمراهقين.

كما أن للمؤسسات والمعلمين وكبار العلماء دور في الدفاع عن الشباب الذين لا يصوتون ، ونتيجة لذلك غالبًا لا يكون لهم صوت في المناقشات السياسية. الراحل الدكتور كلايد هيرتزمان المدير المؤسس لـ شراكة التعلم المبكر البشري، كان مناصراً دؤوباً لزيادة الاستثمارات في صحة الأطفال والتعليم للوقاية الشدائد في الطفولة من التطور إلى مرض. لم يكن شعار حياته "لا يجب أن يكون الأمر بهذه الطريقة" أكثر أهمية من أي وقت مضى.

حان الوقت الآن للعمل بسرعة وبشكل جماعي لضمان ألا يترك هذا الوباء بصماته في أعماق بيولوجيا الجيل القادم.المحادثة

حول المؤلف

مايكل إس كوبور ، رئيس أبحاث كندا في علم التخلق الاجتماعي وأستاذ ، قسم الوراثة الطبية بجامعة كولومبيا البريطانية ، جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية؛ كانديس أودجرز ، أستاذة علم النفس ، جامعة كاليفورنيا في ايرفين؛ كيم شميدت ، مدير الأبحاث ، موضوع البدايات الصحية ، معهد أبحاث مستشفى الأطفال في كولومبيا البريطانية ؛ عضو اللجنة التوجيهية ، مجموعة أبحاث الكشف الاجتماعي ، جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية، وروان فينت-شميدت ، مدير الأبحاث ، مجموعة أبحاث Exposome الاجتماعي ، جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 18 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نحن نعيش هذه الأيام في فقاعات صغيرة ... في منازلنا وفي العمل وفي الأماكن العامة ، وربما في أذهاننا ومع مشاعرنا. ومع ذلك ، نعيش في فقاعة ، أو نشعر وكأننا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 11 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الحياة رحلة ، وكما هو الحال في معظم الرحلات ، تأتي مع تقلباتها. ومثلما يتبع النهار دائمًا الليل ، تنتقل تجاربنا الشخصية اليومية من الظلام إلى النور ، ذهابًا وإيابًا. ومع ذلك،…
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 4 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
مهما كان ما نمر به ، فرديًا وجماعيًا ، يجب أن نتذكر أننا لسنا ضحايا لا حول لهم ولا قوة. يمكننا استعادة قوتنا لنحت طريقنا وشفاء حياتنا روحياً ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 27 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إحدى أعظم قوة الجنس البشري هي قدرتنا على أن نكون مرنين ، وأن نكون مبدعين ، وأن نفكر خارج الصندوق. أن نكون شخصًا آخر غير ما كنا عليه بالأمس أو في اليوم السابق. يمكننا ان نغير...…
ما يصلح لي: "لأعلى خير"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...

How To Prevent Long-Term Biological Effects of Covid-19 Stress on Kids’ Future Health and Development

The Long-Term Biological Effects of Covid-19 Stress on Kids’ Future Health and Development
Stressors put on children and adolescents as a result of the pandemic response may have long-lasting effects on their health and well-being.
(Shutterstock)

One fortunate aspect of COVID-19 is that children have been less directly affected by the disease. But despite the relatively low incidence of severe illness in children, the response to the pandemic may have long-term adverse effects on the health and well-being of children and adolescents.

As researchers in psychology, genetics and developmental biology in the Social Exposome Research Cluster at University of British Columbia and the Child and Brain Development Program of CIFAR, we investigate the biological mechanisms by which social factors get “under the skin” to influence child health and development. We are concerned because some of the unintended consequences of the public health response to the pandemic are increased stressors for children and adolescents.

These stressors — reduced family income, food insecurity, parental stress and child abuse — can become biologically embedded and negatively impact children’s developing brains, immune systems and ability to thrive. While some effects will be immediate, many will surface decades from now.

Stressors can leave lasting imprint on health

Stressors from the pandemic may become biologically imprinted in children. Stressors from the pandemic may become biologically imprinted in children. (Pixabay)

For the more than 500,000 Canadian children under the age of 18 living in poverty (and one in four children in single-parent households) prior to the pandemic, the shocks have been great. As of June, the unemployment rate in Canada reached a record high of 13.7 per cent, with cumulative employment losses over three million since February. This is especially worrisome. One striking example shows that financial hardship in early life is related to higher risk of metabolic syndrome and physical health problems in adulthood, often independent of adult income and resources. The concern now is the extent to which these massive shocks will impact children’s lifelong health and well-being.

Children and adolescents are facing these stressors without access to the stabilizing routines and activities that typically support their development. Most of Canada’s schools are closed or only open part-time. With the summer ahead, cancellations and restrictions of young people’s sports and summer camps means further loss of opportunities for learning, social interaction and play. For adolescents, who need peer interaction to support development, social deprivation and reduced opportunities for social learning are likely to have far-reaching consequences on their development and mental health.

Biological pathways

Stressors stemming from the pandemic may become biologically imprinted in children and leave a lasting mark on child and adult health and well-being. There are several biological pathways that can be modulated by early life experiences, but epigenetics — a process that turns genes “on” or “off” — is particularly well-studied. Epigenetic changes associated with early experiences can last into adulthood and may be linked to stress, inflammation and chronic heath conditions.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Stressors during the COVID-19 pandemic and interventions we can take to look after the health and well-being of children and adolescents. Stressors during the COVID-19 pandemic and interventions we can take to look after the health and well-being of children and adolescents. (Author provided), Author provided

While scientists continue to map the exact mechanisms by which early experiences impact adult health, what is clear is that children who experience adversity early in life are at heightened risk for later mental, social and physical health problems. Additional protections for children and families are needed to prevent the negative effects of COVID-19 from following children, especially those already at greatest risk, into adulthood.

Canada is not alone in failing to prioritize the basic needs of children and adolescents in reopening plans. In the United Kingdom, an open letter to the prime minister was signed by 1,500 pediatricians on June 17 citing the risks of “scarring the life chances of a generation of youth” due to the prolonged closure of schools. This letter urged the government to prioritize the opening of schools to prevent widening inequalities, disruption of learning and the inability to deliver essential supports for children, including mental health supports, therapies, school meals and early years services.

Creative and safe plans are required for reopening schools and allowing safe social interactions. These measures will benefit all young people, but a specific focus is needed to support young people most affected by the amplification of social inequalities. In particular, as we emerge from this crisis, more support is required for those who may have experienced child abuse and domestic violence.

Helping children and adolescents thrive

It’s not too late to prevent children and adolescents growing up in the pandemic from becoming unintended casualties. We are facing the possibility of seismic shifts in population health and well-being if we do not act. The good news is that there are specific and evidence-based actions we can take.

The presence of warm and supportive adults can protect children from stressful life events. The presence of warm and supportive adults can protect children from stressful life events. (Pexels/Ketut Subiyanto)

The presence of warm and supportive adults can protect children from stressful life events. Close bonds between parents and children are protective against the harmful, long-term effects of financial insecurity on the immune system — extending into adulthood. Grandparents, teachers, coaches, other important adults and close-knit communities in the lives of children are offering inspiring examples of how to creatively connect and support children digitally and in physically, but not socially, distanced ways.

Creating opportunities for children and adolescents to be involved in the rebuilding plan can empower young people as leaders. A diverse youth advisory council, such as the Mental Health Commission of Canada’s Youth Council, can advocate by incorporating the wisdom and vision of young people’s lived experiences.

We urge policy-makers to seek scientific evidence and consult with experts focused on child development, including pediatricians, psychologists and researchers in the biology of early life experiences. To start, policy-makers should invest in solutions to minimize the evidence-based Top 10 Threats outlined by Children First Canada. These include depression, anxiety and child abuse — all of which are amplified by the pandemic. Finally, we urge the creation of diverse federal and provincial pandemic recovery task forces to create an evidenced-based strategy for supporting children and adolescents.

Institutions, educators and leading scientists also have a role to play in advocating for young people who do not vote, and as a result often do not have a voice in policy discussions. The late Dr. Clyde Hertzman, founding director of the Human Early Learning Partnership, was a tireless advocate for increasing investments in child health and education to prevent adversity in childhood from evolving into disease. His life motto of “it doesn’t have to be this way” has never been more relevant.

Now is the time to work quickly and collectively to ensure that this pandemic does not leave its imprint deep in the biology of the next generation.The Conversation

About the Authors

Michael S. Kobor, Canada Research Chair in Social Epigenetics and Professor, UBC Department of Medical Genetics, University of British Columbia; Candice Odgers, Professor of Psychological Science, University of California, Irvine; Kim Schmidt, Research Manager, Healthy Starts Theme, BC Children's Hospital Research Institute; Steering Committee Member, Social Exposome Research Cluster, University of British Columbia, and Ruanne Vent-Schmidt, Research Manager, Social Exposome Research Cluster, University of British Columbia

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: October 18, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
These days we are living in mini-bubbles... in our own homes, at work, and in public, and possibly in our own mind and with our own emotions. However, living in a bubble, or feeling like we are…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 11, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Life is a journey and, as most journeys, comes with its ups and downs. And just like day always follows night, so do our personal daily experiences go from dark to light, and back and forth. However,…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 4, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Whatever we are going through, both individually and collectively, we must remember that we are not helpless victims. We can reclaim our power to carve our own path and to heal our lives, spiritually…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…