يعتبر تحديد كيفية إعادة فتح المدارس وما إذا كان سيتم إعادة فتحه أمرًا معقدًا وإليك كيف يمكن لعلماء الصواريخ تطوير خطة

يعتبر تحديد كيفية إعادة فتح المدارس وما إذا كان سيتم إعادة فتحه أمرًا معقدًا وإليك كيف يمكن لعلماء الصواريخ تطوير خطة
لقد واجهت الولايات المتحدة تحديات كبيرة تطلبت تنسيقًا معقدًا من قبل ، بما في ذلك مشروع أبولو. وكالة ناسا

سيتطلب التعامل مع الاضطرابات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الناجمة عن جائحة الفيروس التاجي مهارات ومواهب العديد من أنواع المهن - الطاقم الطبي وخبراء الصحة العامة وأولياء الأمور والطلاب والمعلمين والمشرعين وسلطات الإنفاذ وغيرها الكثير. حتى الآن ، على الرغم من ذلك ، الولايات المتحدة لديها كافح ليصعد استجابة وطنية منسقة للقضاء على COVID-19 بشكل فعال ، حتى كما أظهرت دول أخرى في أوروبا وشرق آسيا أن يمكن السيطرة على المرض.

في الماضي ، حشدت الولايات المتحدة بنجاح لمواجهة تحديات معقدة للغاية وأعتقد أن أحد هؤلاء - إرسال رواد فضاء إلى القمر - يمكن أن يكون مفيدًا اليوم ، على الرغم من أن الوباء يمثل تحديًا مختلفًا تمامًا.

بعد مرور اثني عشر عامًا على مشروع أبولو الشهير لإنزال رجال على القمر في عام 1969 ، استأجرت جنرال موتورز مدير ناسا السابق روبرت فروش لجلب تكنولوجيا عصر الفضاء إلى صناعة السيارات. قام بتكليف فريق عمل صغير لدمج عملية أبولو الهندسية في تصميم المركبات. بدأت مسيرتي المهنية في هندسة النظم في فريق العمل هذا وأعمل الآن دمج العلوم الإحصائية والإدارية في المستقبل.

اليوم ، يعتبر نهج هندسة الأنظمة هذا محوريًا في "إطلاق" السيارات لإنشاء مركبات بدون سائق. وأعتقد أن طريقة أبولو يمكن تطبيقها على بعض القضايا الشائكة للوباء. لننظر إلى التحدي المتمثل في تعليم أطفال الولايات المتحدة كمثال.

مراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها المبادئ التوجيهية نوصي بإعادة فتح المباني المدرسية في الخريف - مع مختلف احتياطات السلامة. ولكن على عكس الدول الأخرى التي فرضت بروتوكولات محددة ، فوضت الولايات المتحدة تلك القرارات لمقاطعات فردية. هذا هو المكان الذي يمكن أن يساعد فيه نظام أبولو الهندسي: من خلال تحديد التقسيم المناسب للمسؤولية على أساس الخبرة.

تتضمن هندسة النظم ست خطوات رئيسية:

تحديد المتطلبات. تتمثل الخطوة الأولى في التخطيط لإعادة الطلاب إلى الفصول الدراسية أو التدريس عبر الإنترنت في تحديد أصحاب المصلحة - بما في ذلك الآباء والطلاب والمعلمين والجيران وأرباب العمل - للاستماع إلى مخاوفهم. بعد ذلك ، يجب على المخططين تحديد الفوائد الرئيسية التي توفرها المدرسة بالإضافة إلى التعليم ، مثل: رعاية الطفل للآباء العاملين ، ووجبات الطعام للأطفال الجياع ، والانضباط والتنشئة الاجتماعية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


إنشاء اللجان ذات الصلة وإسناد المسؤوليات. يعد التنسيق بين مجموعة واسعة من الخبراء أمرًا بالغ الأهمية لتعليم الأطفال شخصيًا بأمان. للقيام بذلك ، يجب أن تحدد فرقة العمل الصغيرة نهجًا شاملاً يقسم الجهد العام إلى الأجزاء المكونة له ، مثل النقل إلى المدارس ، والتهوية المدرسية والصرف الصحي ، وتطوير المناهج الدراسية وتقديم الوجبات. يقوم فريق العمل بعد ذلك بإنشاء لجنة لكل "مشكلة فرعية" ، مثل لجنة التعليم في الموقع ، والاختبار والتعقب ، ولجنة التعليم عن بعد ، واللجنة الطبية. لضمان مساهمة كل مجموعة على حدة في حل شامل ناجح ، يطور فريق العمل متطلبات اللجنة لتوجيه جهودهم وتقييمها ، مع منح كل لجنة أكبر قدر ممكن من المرونة في الاستفادة من خبرتها.

إنشاء اللجان الفرعية ذات الصلة وتحديد المسؤوليات. تحدد كل لجنة نهجها في حل مشكلتها الفرعية وتشكل لجان فرعية لتقديم مزيد من التفاصيل حول العناصر المختلفة للنهج. على سبيل المثال ، قد تنقسم لجنة التعليم في الموقع إلى مجموعات أصغر تتناول إنفاذ السلامة وتصميم الفصول الدراسية وتهوية المباني. يتم إعطاء كل لجنة فرعية "متطلبات اللجنة الفرعية" لتوجيه جهودها.

إذا لزم الأمر ، يمكن زيادة التخصص في العمل داخل اللجان الفرعية: تضمن برنامج المكوك الفضائي أكثر من اثني عشر مستوى من المسؤولية.

عمل الخطة. بينما تتولى كل لجنة فرعية مهمتها ، يقوم المنسقون بتنسيق جهودهم لتفادي الأخطاء وتعزيز التآزر بين المجموعات الأخرى. على سبيل المثال ، إذا استنتجت اللجنة الفرعية للسلامة أن بعض الأطفال لن تبقي الأقنعة في الفصل، قد ينشئ المنسق متطلبات أكثر صرامة لأولئك الذين يعملون في تصميم الفصول الدراسية والتهوية. عندما تنتهي لجنة فرعية من مهمتها ، يتم تقييم الحل وفقًا لمتطلبات تلك اللجنة الفرعية.

دمج المقترحات من كل لجنة. بمجرد معالجة جميع المشكلات التي تواجه التعليم في الموقع ، يتم تقييم الحلول الفردية - على الأقنعة ، وتهوية المبنى ، وتصميم الفصول الدراسية ، والاختبار والمزيد - ككل قبل الموافقة عليها باعتبارها الحل الشامل والمتكامل للجنة. ثم يتم تقييم حل اللجنة مقابل متطلبات اللجنة. ثم يتم تقييم كل حل من حلول اللجنة ككل قبل أن تصبح خطة فريق العمل. ثم يتم تقييم خطة فريق العمل مقابل متطلباتها. يقوم ممثلو أصحاب المصلحة بعد ذلك بتقييم ما إذا كانت الخطة تضمن أن المدارس يمكنها بالفعل فتح أبوابها بأمان.

دعم الطرح في البداية ، يتم تنفيذ هذه البروتوكولات على نطاق صغير ثم تكثيفها ببطء حيث يتم تدريب الجميع على فهم مسؤولياتهم: المعلمين والإداريين وغيرهم من الموظفين والآباء والطلاب وأصحاب العمل والشرطة والأطباء والأسر والسلطات الحكومية.

ستكون هناك حاجة إلى الصيانة المستمرة والتكيف الذكي للتعامل مع الأحداث غير المتوقعة مثل نفاد الأقنعة أو نفاد الأقنعة في المدارس الطلاب وطاقم المدرسة يمرضون. بمجرد أن يتوفر لقاح فعال وتلاشى الوباء ، يجب أن توضح الخطة بالتفصيل كيف يمكن تفكيك بعض البروتوكولات بأمان.

لا يُقصد من هذا التمرين في هندسة النظم أن يكون خطة افتتاحية فعلية للمدرسة ، ولكن بدلاً من ذلك ، منظور حول كيفية تنظيم الأشخاص لمعالجة المشكلات المعقدة التي تشمل العديد من مجموعات الأشخاص.

لقد أكملت الولايات المتحدة بنجاح طلقات القمر من قبل. بأمكاننا فعلها مجددا.المحادثة

عن المؤلف

روبرت بوردلي ، أستاذ ومدير البرامج ، هندسة النظم والتصميم ، جامعة ميشيغان

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…
عندما يكون ظهرك مقابل الحائط
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
احب الانترنت. الآن أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم الكثير من الأشياء السيئة ليقولوها عن ذلك ، لكني أحب ذلك. مثلما أحب الناس في حياتي - فهم ليسوا مثاليين ، لكني أحبهم على أي حال.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 23 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
ربما يتفق الجميع على أننا نعيش في أوقات غريبة ... تجارب جديدة ، مواقف جديدة ، تحديات جديدة. ولكن يمكن أن نشجع على تذكر أن كل شيء في حالة تغير مستمر ، ...

Deciding How and Whether To Reopen Schools Is Complex and Here's How Rocket Scientists Would Develop A Plan

Deciding How and Whether To Reopen Schools Is Complex and Here's How Rocket Scientists Would Develop A Plan
The US has taken on grand challenges that required complex coordination before, including Project Apollo. NASA

Dealing with the social and economic upheaval from the coronavirus pandemic will require the skills and talents of many types of professions – medical personnel, public health experts, parents, students, educators, legislators, enforcement authorities and many others. Until now, though, the U.S. has struggled to mount a coordinated national response to effectively stamp out COVID-19, even as other countries in Europe and East Asia have shown that the disease can be controlled.

In the past, the United States has successfully mobilized to address deeply complex challenges and I believe one of those – sending astronauts to the Moon – can be instructive today, even though a pandemic is a very different challenge.

Twelve years after the famed Project Apollo to land men on the Moon in 1969, General Motors hired former NASA Administrator Robert Frosch to bring space-age technology to car manufacturing. He commissioned a small task force to incorporate Apollo’s engineering process into the design of vehicles. I began my systems engineering career in this task force and now work on integrating the statistical and management sciences into future moonshots.

Today, this systems engineering approach is central to the automotive “moonshot” to create driverless vehicles. And I believe the Apollo method could be applied to some of the pandemic’s thornier issues. Let’s look at the challenge of educating U.S. children as an example.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention guidelines recommend reopening school buildings in the fall – with various safety precautions. But unlike other nations which have dictated specific protocols, the U.S. has delegated those decisions to individual districts. This is where the Apollo engineering system could help: by determining the appropriate division of responsibility based on expertise.

Systems engineering includes six key steps:

Define requirements. The first step in planning to return students to classrooms or teach online is identifying stakeholders – including parents, students, teachers, neighbors and employers – to hear their concerns. Then, planners must itemize the key benefits that school provides in addition to education, such as: child care for working parents, meals for hungry children, discipline and socialization.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Create the relevant committees and assign responsibilities. Coordinating a wide range of experts is critical to safely educating children in person. To do so, a small task force must outline an overarching approach breaking down the overall effort into its component parts, such as transportation to schools, school ventilation and sanitation, curriculum development and serving meals. The task force then creates a committee for each “sub-problem,” such as an on-site education committee, testing and tracing, a remote education committee and a medical committee. To ensure that each individual group contributes to a successful overall solution, the task force develops committee requirements to guide and evaluate their efforts, while giving each committee as much flexibility as possible in leveraging its expertise.

Create the relevant subcommittees and assign responsibilities. Each committee outlines its approach to its sub-problem and creates subcommittees to provide more detail on different elements of the approach. For example, the on-site education committee might break off into smaller groups that address safety enforcement, classroom design and building ventilation. Each subcommittee is given “subcommittee requirements” to guide its efforts.

If necessary, work can be further specialized within sub-subcommitees: The Space Shuttle program involved more than a dozen levels of responsibility.

Work the plan. As each subcommittee tackles its assignment, coordinators orchestrate their efforts to avert missteps and enhance synergies between other groups. For example, if the safety subcommittee concludes that some children will not keep masks on in class, the coordinator might create more aggressive requirements for those working on classroom design and ventilation. When a subcommittee finishes its assignment, the solution is evaluated against that subcommittee’s requirements.

Integrate proposals from every committee. Once all issues facing on-site education have been addressed, individual solutions – on masks, building ventilation, classroom design, testing and more – are evaluated as a whole before being approved as the committee’s integrated, overall solution. The committee solution is then evaluated against the committee’s requirements. Each of the committee solutions are then evaluated as a whole before becoming the task force’s plan. The task force’s plan is then evaluated against its requirements. Stakeholder representatives then evaluate whether the plan ensures that schools can, indeed, open safely.

Support rollout Initially, these protocols are implemented at a small scale and then ramped up slowly as all are trained to understand their responsibilities: teachers, administrators and other staff, parents, students, employers, police, doctors, families and government authorities.

Constant maintenance and nimble adaptation will be needed to deal with unforeseen events like schools running out of masks or from students and school staff getting sick. Once an effective vaccine is available and the pandemic dissipates, the plan must detail how some protocols can be safely dismantled.

This exercise in systems engineering is not meant to be an actual school opening plan but instead a perspective on how people can organize to address complex problems that involve many groups of people.

The U.S. has successfully completed moonshots before. We can do it again.The Conversation

About the Author

Robert Bordley, Professor and Program Director, Systems Engineering and Design, University of Michigan

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
Were You Part Of The Problem Last Time? Will You Be Part Of The Solution This Time?
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Have you registered to vote? Have you voted? If you are not going to vote, you will be part of the problem.
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…