كيف تساعد الفنون البصرية الشباب المهمشين على تعلم الذهن والرحمة الذاتية

كيف تساعد الفنون البصرية الشباب المهمشين على تعلم اليقظة والرحمة الذاتية "مع الفن ، لديك كل الألوان في العالم لتقاسم أفكارك" ، كتب أحد الشباب في البرنامج القائم على الفنون الشاملة في جامعة لورينتيان. (Unsplash / Rahul Jain)

كيف تشعر الفتيات قبل وبعد تعلم الذهن؟ رسمت الفتيات الست في برنامجنا ، اللائي تتراوح أعمارهن بين 11 و 12 عامًا ، صوراً توضح أن التعلم وممارسة الذهن ساعدهن على الشعور بمزيد من التحكم والرحمة ، وأقل تقديرية ، وسعداء ، ومركّز ، وهادئ ومنطقي ، خاصةً عندما يتخذون خيارات جيدة.

هؤلاء الفتيات قد أكملت للتو 12 أسبوع برنامج كلي يعتمد على الفنون (HAP) التي نقدمها في جامعة Laurentian ، التي تقوم بتدريس الممارسات والمفاهيم المستندة إلى الذهن باستخدام الفنون مثل الرسم والرسم والفن التصويري ، أو مواد مثل الطين والرمل. نحن أيضا دمج الألعاب وتاي تشي.

كيف تساعد الفنون البصرية الشباب المهمشين على تعلم اليقظة والرحمة الذاتية يصور المشاركون "التعلم من الذهن" ، ويظهر أحدهم باللون الأحمر في المخ المسمى "قبل الذهن" ، و "لون آخر باللون الوردي من الدماغ" يحمل اسم "بعد الذهن". (ديانا كوهوليتش)

لقد وضعت HAP بمساعدة هوي تشوأستاذ في قسم اللغة الإنجليزية مع تدريب في صناعة الأفلام والعلاج الزوجي والأسري وتاي تشي والعقل. جزء من فريقنا المبكر كان شون لوغيد (مع شهادة الدراسات العليا في رعاية الأطفال والشباب) ، وجنيفر Posteraro (منسق أبحاث مع درجة الدراسات العليا في علم النفس) وجولي ليبرتون (طالب العمل الاجتماعي).

الشباب يواجه التحديات

أردنا أن نستجيب لاحتياجات الأطفال المهمشين في مجتمعاتنا - مثل أولئك الذين مواجهة تحديات متنوعة، بما في ذلك التحديات الأكاديمية والصحية العقلية والاجتماعية ، وتلك التي تواجه ظروف الحياة مثل الإيذاء أو البلطجة أو الإقصاء الاجتماعي أو الفقر أو ضعف الأسرة.

أردنا مساعدتهم في بناء المهارات والقدرات مثل الاهتمام ، وتحسين العلاقات بين الأقران والمزاج. لكننا عرفنا أن هؤلاء الأطفال ربما لم يكن لديك مهارات الاهتمام مطلوب لبرنامج الذهن أكثر تقليدية.

كيف تساعد الفنون البصرية الشباب المهمشين على تعلم اليقظة والرحمة الذاتية خلق أحد الشباب هذا النتوء من الطين لإظهار كيف تغذي عملية اليقظة الجمال والنمو. ديانا كوهوليتش


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


في تطوير البرنامج ، اعتمدنا على قواعد المعرفة الواسعة من العلاج بالفن و أساليب الفنون مع الشباب. قمنا بعد ذلك بتنقيح البرنامج من خلال البحث مع الأطفال المشاركين في أنظمة رعاية الطفل و / أو الصحة العقلية.

نتلقى الإحالات للبرنامج من مجموعة متنوعة من المصادر ، بما في ذلك ممارسي الصحة العقلية ، ومستشاري التوجيه ، ومديري المدارس والمعلمين ، والعاملين في مجال رعاية الأطفال والإحالات الذاتية (معظمهم من الآباء).

التراحم الذاتي ، والقبول

يبدو أن المناقشات التي دارت حول اليقظة في كل مكان هذه الأيام ، بما في ذلك بعض المدارس. لقد حان الذهن تحت النقد كما اكتسب شعبية في جميع أنحاء الغرب. يقول البعض إن المؤسسات التي تستخدمه قد تشجع أو تصرف انتباه الناس عن الدعوة إلى التغيير المنهجي. نحن نفهم أن الأنظمة بحاجة إلى تحدي وتغيير. في برنامجنا ، نعمل على مساعدة الأفراد والجماعات على التعامل بشكل أفضل مع الأنظمة القمعية أو غير العادلة وتحديها في حياتهم.

منذ عام 2009 ، شارك أكثر من 300 شاب آخر من مجتمعنا في برنامجنا للفنون والعقل. على مدار ساعتين ، يقود اثنان من الميسرين مجموعات صغيرة من المشاركين. من خلال الأنشطة التي تهدف إلى مساعدة المشاركين على العمل معا ، والتعرف على أنفسهم والتعبير عن مشاعرهم وأفكارهم وممارسة التنفس والشفقة على النفس وقبولهم.

يعد رسم العديد من الفتيات في برنامج الدماغ قبل وبعد اليقظة تصويرًا رائعًا لفوائد تعلم الذهن ، غالبا ما يعرف كما القدرة على الاهتمام ، عن قصد ، في الوقت الحاضر دون أحكام سلبية. قوة اليقظة هي القدرة على اتخاذ قرارات بشأن مشاعر الفرد وأفكاره وسلوكياته بدلاً من التفاعل مع الآخرين.

"برنامج الوعي سعيد"

الأنشطة الإبداعية مثل رسم كيف تجعلك الموسيقى تشعر أو ترسم نفسك كشجرة مساعدة في تحديد المشاعر وتسميتها ، وتوصيل هذه المشاعر والأفكار واكتشاف أشياء عن نفسك بطرق فعالة وذات صلة بالتنمية. ينتمي إلى مجموعة داعمة تساعد الشباب تطوير مجموعة واسعة من القدرات ونقاط القوة مثل المهارات الاجتماعية والتعاطف والوعي الذاتي.

كيف تساعد الفنون البصرية الشباب المهمشين على تعلم اليقظة والرحمة الذاتية اقترح أحد الشباب إعادة تسمية برنامجنا باسم "برنامج التوعية السعيدة". (ديانا كوهوليتش)

الفوائد المشتركة المبلغ عنها غالبًا ما تتضمن التدخلات القائمة على الذهن مع الشباب تحسين تنظيم المشاعر والمزاج والرفاهية ونقص التوتر والإحساس بالقلق. وصف جميع الشباب الذين عملنا معهم تقريبًا البرنامج الشمولي القائم على الفنون بأنه "ممتع". اقترح أحد الشباب إعادة تسمية برنامجنا باسم "برنامج الوعي السعيد".

فوائد للصحة العقلية

لدينا في بحث مع قبول الشباب في برنامج صغير للصحة العقلية للمرضى الداخليين ، وجدنا أن الشباب الذين شاركوا في أنشطة البرنامج أفادوا أن البرنامج كان ممتعًا ومفيدًا لأنهم تعلموا كيفية تحديد ما يشعرون به والتعبير عنه ، ويمكنهم التركيز بشكل أفضل و فكر بطرق مختلفة.

لقد قابلنا الشباب وتبادلوا التعليقات حول تجاربهم:

"علمت أنني أحب ممارسة الأعمال الفنية وتريحني وتجعلني أفضل التعبير عن نفسي".

"أن تضع في اعتبارها يساعد في القلق الذي لدي ويساعدني فقط التركيز إما على عملي أو أي شيء آخر أقوم به."

"هناك الكثير من الأنشطة الترفيهية التي يمكن أن تساعدك في العثور على نفسك وإيجاد السلام بداخلك ، للاسترخاء والتقاط أفكارك بدلاً من القفز فوقها."

هناك العديد من البرامج القائمة على الذهن للشباب ، والتي تم تكييف الكثير منها من برنامجين معروفين تم تطويرهما أصلاً للبالغين: تقليل التوتر القائم على الذهنو العلاج المعرفي القائم على الذهن.

مثالان على برامج للشباب التي وضعها علماء النفس السريري الذهن القائم على العلاج المعرفي للأطفال و تعلم التنفس.

التغيير القائم على القوة

كيف تساعد الفنون البصرية الشباب المهمشين على تعلم اليقظة والرحمة الذاتية في أحد التمرينات ، يصنع المشاركون بصمات أيديهم ، ثم يحددون نقاط قوة بعضهم البعض. (ديانا كوهوليتش)

الأنشطة القائمة على الفنون لا يجب أن تكون معقدة. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن يؤدي وجود أعضاء في المجموعة إلى تدوين نقاط قوة بعضهم البعض إلى تغيير المعتقدات السلبية لدى الشباب عن أنفسهم. النامية الرحمة الذاتي وقبول الذات هو جزء مهم من العيش بمزيد من الاهتمام والانتباه للرفاه.

يمكن تسهيل الوعي والتعبير عن المشاعر من خلال رسم ما نسميه جرد المشاعر. مثل هذه المشاعر مخزونات دائما فريدة من نوعها.

كيف تساعد الفنون البصرية الشباب المهمشين على تعلم اليقظة والرحمة الذاتية قام الشباب برسم "قوائم جرد المشاعر" للتعرف على مشاعرهم وأفكارهم والتعبير عنها. (ديانا كوهوليتش)

استنادًا إلى تجاربنا البحثية ، أصبحنا دعاة قويين لتدريس الممارسات والمفاهيم القائمة على اليقظة من خلال الفنون.

من خلال هذا النهج ، يمكننا أن نجعل الفوائد التراكمية المتمثلة في ممارسة الذهن في متناول مجموعات متنوعة من الشباب - ويتم تمكين الشباب للتعبير عن أنفسهم بطرق ذات صلة وذات مغزى ومناسبة للتنمية.

لقد تعلمت من خلال عملى هذا التغيير لا يجب أن يكون مخيفا. يمكن أن يحدث التعلم المهم من خلال تجارب المرح والانتماء.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ديانا كوهوليتش ​​، أستاذة في كلية الخدمة الاجتماعية ، جامعة لورانس

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

5 أساطير عن القمر
5 أساطير عن القمر
by دانيال براون
تعلم القيادة في الحب
تعلم القيادة في الحب
by نانسي الرياح

How Visual Arts Help Marginalized Youth Learn Mindfulness and Self-Compassion

How Visual Arts Help Marginalized Youth Learn Mindfulness And Self-compassion “With art, you have all the colours in the world to share your thoughts,” wrote one youth in the Holistic Arts-based Program at Laurentian University. (Unsplash/Rahul Jain)

How do girls feel before and after learning mindfulness? The six girls in our program, aged 11 and 12, drew pictures showing that learning and practising mindfulness helped them feel more in control and compassionate, less judgmental, happy, focused, calm and logical, especially when they make good choices.

These girls had just completed the 12-week holistic arts-based program (HAP) that we offer at Laurentian University, which teaches mindfulness-based practices and concepts using arts like painting, drawing and collage, or materials like clay and sand. We also incorporate games and and tai chi.

How Visual Arts Help Marginalized Youth Learn Mindfulness And Self-compassion Participants’ depiction of learning mindfulness, showing one brain coloured red labelled ‘before mindfulness,’ and another brain coloured pink labelled ‘after mindfulness.’ (Diana Coholic)

I developed HAP with the help of Hoi Cheu, a professor in the English department with training in film making, marital and family therapy, tai chi and mindfulness. Part of our early team were Sean Lougheed (with a graduate degree in child and youth care), Jennifer Posteraro (research co-ordinator with a graduate degree in psychology) and Julie LeBreton (social work student).

Youth facing challenges

We wanted to respond to the needs of marginalized children in our communities — such as those who face diverse challenges, including academic, mental health and social challenges, and those facing life circumstances such as abuse, bullying, social exclusion, poverty or family dysfunction.

We wanted to help them build skills and capacities such as paying attention, and for improving peer relationships and mood. But we knew that these children may not have the attention skills required for a more traditional mindfulness program.

How Visual Arts Help Marginalized Youth Learn Mindfulness And Self-compassion One youth created this rose out of clay to show how the mindfulness process nurtures beauty and growth. Diana Coholic


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In developing the program, we drew on the extensive knowledge bases of art therapy and arts methods with youth. We then refined the program through research with children involved with the child welfare and/or mental health systems.

We receive referrals for the program from a variety of sources, including mental health practitioners, guidance counsellors, principals and teachers, child welfare workers and self-referrals (mostly from parents).

Self-compassion, acceptance

Discussions about mindfulness seem to be everywhere these days, including some schools. Mindfulness has come under criticism as it has gained in popularity throughout the West. Some say institutions that use it may encourage or distract people from advocating for systemic change. We understand that systems need to be challenged and changed. In our program, we work to assist individuals and groups to cope better with, and challenge, the oppressive or unjust systems in their lives.

Since 2009, more than 300 other youth from our community have participated in our arts and mindfulness program. Over a two-hour period, two facilitators lead small groups of participants. Through the activities they aim to help participants work together, learn about themselves and express their feelings and thoughts and practise breathing, self-compassion and acceptance.

The drawing by several girls in the program of a brain before and after mindfulness is a wonderful depiction of the benefits of learning mindfulness, often defined as the ability to pay attention, purposefully, to the present moment without negative judgements. The power of mindfulness is the ability to make choices about one’s feelings, thoughts and behaviours rather than reacting and acting out.

‘Happy awareness program’

Creative activities such as painting how music makes you feel or drawing yourself as a tree aid in identifying and naming feelings, communicating these feelings and thoughts and discovering things about yourself in ways that are effective and developmentally relevant. Belonging to a supportive group helps youth develop a wide variety of capacities and strengths such as social skills, empathy and self-awareness.

How Visual Arts Help Marginalized Youth Learn Mindfulness And Self-compassion One youth suggested we re-name our program the ‘Happy Awareness Program.’ (Diana Coholic)

Common reported benefits of mindfulness-based interventions with youth often include improved emotion regulation, mood and well-being and decreases in stress and feelings of anxiety. Almost all of the youth we have worked with described the holistic arts-based program as “fun.” One youth suggested we re-name our program the “Happy Awareness Program.”

Benefits to mental health

In our research with youth admitted to a small in-patient mental health program, we found that youth who participated in the program activities reported that the program was enjoyable and beneficial in that they learned to identify and express what they were feeling, and they could focus better and think in different ways.

We interviewed the youth and they shared feedback about their experiences:

“I learned that I like doing art and it relaxes me and makes me express myself better.”

“Being mindful helps with the anxiety that I have and helps me just focus either on my work or something else that I am doing.”

“There are a lot of fun activities that can help you find yourself and find peace within yourself, to relax and catch your thoughts instead of them jumping all over.”

There are a multitude of mindfulness-based programs for youth, many of which have been adapted from two well-known programs originally developed for adults: mindfulness-based stress reduction, and mindfulness-based cognitive therapy.

Two examples of programs for youth developed by clinical psychologists are Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy for Children and Learning to Breathe.

Strengths-based change

How Visual Arts Help Marginalized Youth Learn Mindfulness And Self-compassion In one exercise, participants make prints of their hands, and then identify each other’s strengths. (Diana Coholic)

Arts-based activities do not have to be complicated. For example, having group members notice and write down each other’s strengths can begin to shift the negative beliefs youth have about themselves. Developing self-compassion and self-acceptance is an important part of living more mindfully and experiencing well-being.

Awareness and expression of feelings can be facilitated by drawing what we call feelings inventories. Such feelings inventories are always unique.

How Visual Arts Help Marginalized Youth Learn Mindfulness And Self-compassion The youth drew ‘feelings inventories’ to identify and express their feelings and thoughts.‘ (Diana Coholic)

Based on our research experiences, we have become strong advocates of teaching mindfulness-based practices and concepts through the arts.

Through this approach, we can make the cumulative benefits of practising mindfulness more accessible to diverse groups of youth — and youth are enabled to express themselves in relevant, meaningful and developmentally appropriate ways.

I have learned through my work that change does not have to be daunting. Important learning can take place through experiences of fun and belonging.

About The Author

Diana Coholic, Professor, School of Social Work., Laurentian University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…