Comment les arts visuels aident les jeunes marginalisés à apprendre la pleine conscience et l'auto-compassion

Comment les arts visuels aident les jeunes marginalisés à apprendre la pleine conscience et l'auto-compassion «Avec l'art, vous avez toutes les couleurs du monde pour partager vos réflexions», a écrit un jeune du programme axé sur les arts holistiques de l'Université Laurentienne. (Unsplash / Rahul Jain)

Comment les filles se sentent-elles avant et après l'apprentissage de la pleine conscience? Les six filles de notre programme, âgées de 11 et 12 ans, ont dessiné des images montrant que l'apprentissage et la pratique de la pleine conscience les aidaient à se sentir plus en contrôle et compatissantes, moins de jugement, heureuses, concentrées, calmes et logiques, surtout lorsqu'elles font de bons choix.

Ces filles venaient de terminer les 12 semaines programme holistique basé sur les arts (HAP) que nous offrons à l'Université Laurentienne, qui enseigne des pratiques et des concepts basés sur la pleine conscience en utilisant des arts comme la peinture, le dessin et le collage, ou des matériaux comme l'argile et le sable. Nous incorporons également des jeux et du tai-chi.

Comment les arts visuels aident les jeunes marginalisés à apprendre la pleine conscience et l'auto-compassion Représentation par les participants de l'apprentissage de la pleine conscience, montrant un cerveau de couleur rouge étiqueté «avant la pleine conscience» et un autre cerveau de couleur rose étiqueté «après la pleine conscience». (Diana Coholic)

J'ai développé HAP avec l'aide de Hoi Cheu, professeur au département d'anglais avec une formation en réalisation de films, en thérapie conjugale et familiale, en tai-chi et en pleine conscience. Une partie de notre première équipe était Sean Lougheed (titulaire d'un diplôme d'études supérieures en soins aux enfants et aux jeunes), Jennifer Posteraro (coordonnatrice de la recherche avec un diplôme d'études supérieures en psychologie) et Julie LeBreton (étudiante en travail social).

Les jeunes face à des défis

Nous voulions répondre aux besoins des enfants marginalisés dans nos communautés - tels que ceux qui face à divers défis, y compris les défis scolaires, de santé mentale et sociaux, et ceux confrontés à des circonstances de la vie telles que la maltraitance, l'intimidation, l'exclusion sociale, la pauvreté ou le dysfonctionnement familial.

Nous voulions les aider à développer des compétences et des capacités telles que faire attention et améliorer les relations et l'humeur entre pairs. Mais nous savions que ces enfants ne pas avoir les compétences d'attention requis pour un programme de pleine conscience plus traditionnel.

Comment les arts visuels aident les jeunes marginalisés à apprendre la pleine conscience et l'auto-compassion Un jeune a créé cette rose en argile pour montrer comment le processus de pleine conscience nourrit la beauté et la croissance. Diana Coholic


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Pour développer le programme, nous nous sommes appuyés sur les vastes connaissances l'art-thérapie et méthodes artistiques avec les jeunes. Nous avons ensuite affiné le programme grâce à des recherches auprès d'enfants impliqués dans les systèmes de protection de l'enfance et / ou de santé mentale.

Nous recevons des références pour le programme de diverses sources, notamment des praticiens de la santé mentale, des conseillers d'orientation, des directeurs d'école et des enseignants, des travailleurs sociaux et des auto-références (principalement des parents).

Auto-compassion, acceptation

Les discussions sur la pleine conscience semblent être partout ces jours-ci, y compris quelques écoles. La pleine conscience est tombée la critique car elle a gagné en popularité dans tout l'Occident. Certains disent que les institutions qui l'utilisent peuvent encourager ou distraire les gens à plaider pour un changement systémique. Nous comprenons que les systèmes doivent être remis en question et modifiés. Dans notre programme, nous travaillons pour aider les individus et les groupes à mieux faire face aux systèmes oppressifs ou injustes et à les remettre en question dans leurs vies.

Depuis 2009, plus de 300 autres jeunes de notre communauté ont participé à notre programme d'arts et de pleine conscience. Sur une période de deux heures, deux animateurs dirigent de petits groupes de participants. À travers les activités, ils visent à aider les participants à travailler ensemble, à se connaître et à exprimer leurs sentiments et leurs pensées et à pratiquer la respiration, la compassion et l'acceptation.

Le dessin par plusieurs filles dans le programme d'un cerveau avant et après la pleine conscience est une merveilleuse représentation des avantages de l'apprentissage de la pleine conscience, souvent défini comme la capacité de prêter attention, délibérément, au moment présent sans jugements négatifs. Le pouvoir de la pleine conscience est la capacité de faire des choix concernant ses sentiments, ses pensées et ses comportements plutôt que de réagir et d'agir.

«Programme de sensibilisation heureux»

Activités créatives telles que peindre comment la musique vous fait sentir ou vous dessiner comme un arbre aide à identifier et nommer les sentiments, communiquer ces sentiments et ces pensées et découvrir des choses sur vous-même de manière efficace et pertinente sur le plan du développement. Appartenant à un un groupe de soutien aide les jeunes développer une grande variété de capacités et de forces telles que les compétences sociales, l'empathie et la conscience de soi.

Comment les arts visuels aident les jeunes marginalisés à apprendre la pleine conscience et l'auto-compassion Un jeune a suggéré de renommer notre programme «Programme de sensibilisation heureux». (Diana Coholic)

Avantages communs signalés des interventions basées sur la pleine conscience auprès des jeunes comprennent souvent une amélioration de la régulation des émotions, de l'humeur et du bien-être et une diminution du stress et des sentiments d'anxiété. Presque tous les jeunes avec lesquels nous avons travaillé ont décrit le programme holistique fondé sur les arts comme «amusant». Un jeune a suggéré de renommer notre programme «programme de sensibilisation heureux».

Avantages pour la santé mentale

Pendant nos recherche avec les jeunes admis à un petit programme de santé mentale en milieu hospitalier, nous avons constaté que les jeunes qui ont participé aux activités du programme ont déclaré que le programme était agréable et bénéfique en ce qu'ils ont appris à identifier et à exprimer ce qu'ils ressentaient, et penser de différentes manières.

Nous avons interviewé les jeunes et ils ont partagé leurs commentaires sur leurs expériences:

«J'ai appris que j'aime faire de l'art et cela me détend et me fait mieux m'exprimer.»

«Être attentif aide à l'anxiété que j'ai et m'aide à me concentrer uniquement sur mon travail ou sur autre chose que je fais.»

«Il y a beaucoup d'activités amusantes qui peuvent vous aider à vous retrouver et à trouver la paix en vous, à vous détendre et à capturer vos pensées au lieu de sauter partout.»

Il existe une multitude de programmes axés sur la pleine conscience pour les jeunes, dont beaucoup ont été adaptés de deux programmes bien connus développés à l'origine pour les adultes: la réduction du stress par la pleine conscience et thérapie cognitive basée sur la conscience.

Deux exemples de programmes pour les jeunes élaborés par des psychologues cliniciens sont Thérapie cognitive basée sur la pleine conscience pour les enfants et Apprendre à respirer.

Changement basé sur les forces

Comment les arts visuels aident les jeunes marginalisés à apprendre la pleine conscience et l'auto-compassion Dans un exercice, les participants font des empreintes de leurs mains, puis identifient leurs forces respectives. (Diana Coholic)

Les activités artistiques ne doivent pas être compliquées. Par exemple, demander aux membres du groupe de noter et d'écrire leurs forces mutuelles peut commencer à changer les croyances négatives que les jeunes ont d'eux-mêmes. Développement auto-compassion et l'acceptation de soi est une partie importante de la vie plus consciente et du bien-être.

La sensibilisation et l'expression des sentiments peuvent être facilitées en dessinant ce que nous appelons des inventaires des sentiments. De tels inventaires de sentiments sont toujours uniques.

Comment les arts visuels aident les jeunes marginalisés à apprendre la pleine conscience et l'auto-compassion Les jeunes ont dressé des «inventaires des sentiments» pour identifier et exprimer leurs sentiments et leurs pensées. » (Diana Coholic)

Sur la base de nos expériences de recherche, nous sommes devenus de fervents défenseurs de l'enseignement des pratiques et des concepts basés sur la pleine conscience à travers les arts.

Grâce à cette approche, nous pouvons rendre les avantages cumulatifs de la pratique de la pleine conscience plus accessibles à divers groupes de jeunes - et les jeunes peuvent s'exprimer de manière pertinente, significative et adaptée au développement.

J'ai appris mon travail ce changement ne doit pas être intimidant. Un apprentissage important peut avoir lieu à travers des expériences de plaisir et d'appartenance.

A propos de l'auteur

Diana Coholic, professeure, École de service social., Université Laurentienne

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

How Visual Arts Help Marginalized Youth Learn Mindfulness and Self-Compassion

How Visual Arts Help Marginalized Youth Learn Mindfulness And Self-compassion “With art, you have all the colours in the world to share your thoughts,” wrote one youth in the Holistic Arts-based Program at Laurentian University. (Unsplash/Rahul Jain)

How do girls feel before and after learning mindfulness? The six girls in our program, aged 11 and 12, drew pictures showing that learning and practising mindfulness helped them feel more in control and compassionate, less judgmental, happy, focused, calm and logical, especially when they make good choices.

These girls had just completed the 12-week holistic arts-based program (HAP) that we offer at Laurentian University, which teaches mindfulness-based practices and concepts using arts like painting, drawing and collage, or materials like clay and sand. We also incorporate games and and tai chi.

How Visual Arts Help Marginalized Youth Learn Mindfulness And Self-compassion Participants’ depiction of learning mindfulness, showing one brain coloured red labelled ‘before mindfulness,’ and another brain coloured pink labelled ‘after mindfulness.’ (Diana Coholic)

I developed HAP with the help of Hoi Cheu, a professor in the English department with training in film making, marital and family therapy, tai chi and mindfulness. Part of our early team were Sean Lougheed (with a graduate degree in child and youth care), Jennifer Posteraro (research co-ordinator with a graduate degree in psychology) and Julie LeBreton (social work student).

Youth facing challenges

We wanted to respond to the needs of marginalized children in our communities — such as those who face diverse challenges, including academic, mental health and social challenges, and those facing life circumstances such as abuse, bullying, social exclusion, poverty or family dysfunction.

We wanted to help them build skills and capacities such as paying attention, and for improving peer relationships and mood. But we knew that these children may not have the attention skills required for a more traditional mindfulness program.

How Visual Arts Help Marginalized Youth Learn Mindfulness And Self-compassion One youth created this rose out of clay to show how the mindfulness process nurtures beauty and growth. Diana Coholic


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In developing the program, we drew on the extensive knowledge bases of art therapy and arts methods with youth. We then refined the program through research with children involved with the child welfare and/or mental health systems.

We receive referrals for the program from a variety of sources, including mental health practitioners, guidance counsellors, principals and teachers, child welfare workers and self-referrals (mostly from parents).

Self-compassion, acceptance

Discussions about mindfulness seem to be everywhere these days, including some schools. Mindfulness has come under criticism as it has gained in popularity throughout the West. Some say institutions that use it may encourage or distract people from advocating for systemic change. We understand that systems need to be challenged and changed. In our program, we work to assist individuals and groups to cope better with, and challenge, the oppressive or unjust systems in their lives.

Since 2009, more than 300 other youth from our community have participated in our arts and mindfulness program. Over a two-hour period, two facilitators lead small groups of participants. Through the activities they aim to help participants work together, learn about themselves and express their feelings and thoughts and practise breathing, self-compassion and acceptance.

The drawing by several girls in the program of a brain before and after mindfulness is a wonderful depiction of the benefits of learning mindfulness, often defined as the ability to pay attention, purposefully, to the present moment without negative judgements. The power of mindfulness is the ability to make choices about one’s feelings, thoughts and behaviours rather than reacting and acting out.

‘Happy awareness program’

Creative activities such as painting how music makes you feel or drawing yourself as a tree aid in identifying and naming feelings, communicating these feelings and thoughts and discovering things about yourself in ways that are effective and developmentally relevant. Belonging to a supportive group helps youth develop a wide variety of capacities and strengths such as social skills, empathy and self-awareness.

How Visual Arts Help Marginalized Youth Learn Mindfulness And Self-compassion One youth suggested we re-name our program the ‘Happy Awareness Program.’ (Diana Coholic)

Common reported benefits of mindfulness-based interventions with youth often include improved emotion regulation, mood and well-being and decreases in stress and feelings of anxiety. Almost all of the youth we have worked with described the holistic arts-based program as “fun.” One youth suggested we re-name our program the “Happy Awareness Program.”

Benefits to mental health

In our research with youth admitted to a small in-patient mental health program, we found that youth who participated in the program activities reported that the program was enjoyable and beneficial in that they learned to identify and express what they were feeling, and they could focus better and think in different ways.

We interviewed the youth and they shared feedback about their experiences:

“I learned that I like doing art and it relaxes me and makes me express myself better.”

“Being mindful helps with the anxiety that I have and helps me just focus either on my work or something else that I am doing.”

“There are a lot of fun activities that can help you find yourself and find peace within yourself, to relax and catch your thoughts instead of them jumping all over.”

There are a multitude of mindfulness-based programs for youth, many of which have been adapted from two well-known programs originally developed for adults: mindfulness-based stress reduction, and mindfulness-based cognitive therapy.

Two examples of programs for youth developed by clinical psychologists are Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy for Children and Learning to Breathe.

Strengths-based change

How Visual Arts Help Marginalized Youth Learn Mindfulness And Self-compassion In one exercise, participants make prints of their hands, and then identify each other’s strengths. (Diana Coholic)

Arts-based activities do not have to be complicated. For example, having group members notice and write down each other’s strengths can begin to shift the negative beliefs youth have about themselves. Developing self-compassion and self-acceptance is an important part of living more mindfully and experiencing well-being.

Awareness and expression of feelings can be facilitated by drawing what we call feelings inventories. Such feelings inventories are always unique.

How Visual Arts Help Marginalized Youth Learn Mindfulness And Self-compassion The youth drew ‘feelings inventories’ to identify and express their feelings and thoughts.‘ (Diana Coholic)

Based on our research experiences, we have become strong advocates of teaching mindfulness-based practices and concepts through the arts.

Through this approach, we can make the cumulative benefits of practising mindfulness more accessible to diverse groups of youth — and youth are enabled to express themselves in relevant, meaningful and developmentally appropriate ways.

I have learned through my work that change does not have to be daunting. Important learning can take place through experiences of fun and belonging.

About The Author

Diana Coholic, Professor, School of Social Work., Laurentian University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…