لماذا نحتاج إلى دليل على أطفالنا؟

لماذا نحتاج إلى إثبات البيانات أطفال
حان الوقت لبدء التدقيق في البيانات أطفالنا. (صراع الأسهم)

وافقت Google مؤخرًا على دفع غرامة قدرها 170 مليون دولار أمريكي مقابل جمع بيانات الأطفال الشخصية بطريقة غير قانونية على YouTube دون موافقة الوالدين، وهو انتهاك بموجب قانون حماية خصوصية الأطفال على الإنترنت (COPPA).

تطلب الآن لجنة التجارة الفيدرالية بالولايات المتحدة والنائب العام لولاية نيويورك - اللذان رفعا معاً القضية ضد Google - من YouTube الحصول على موافقة الآباء قبل جمع المعلومات الشخصية أو مشاركتها. إضافةً إلى ذلك ، يجب على مُنشئي المحتوى الموجه للأطفال تحديد هويتهم لتقييد عرض الإعلانات المستهدفة.

إن الغرامة البالغة 170 مليون دولار هي عبارة عن مبلغ ضئيل بالنظر إلى تقييم شركة Alphabet Inc. (شركة Google القابضة) أكثر من 700 مليار دولار أمريكي.

يتعين على Google دفع 136 مليون دولار أمريكي إلى لجنة التجارة الفيدرالية و 34 مليون دولار أمريكي إلى ولاية نيويورك ، وهي أكبر عقوبة حصلت عليها FTC في قضية COPPA.

تشمل هوياتنا الرقمية البيانات التي تم جمعها عبر أنشطتنا ، مما يجعل المعلومات الشخصية أو التعريفية غير مهمة. يتم إخضاع الأطفال اليوم إلى نطاق جمع البيانات والاستهداف الذي لا يمكننا فهمه. في الوقت الحالي ، ليس لدينا أي فكرة عن العواقب ، والحماية التنظيمية لإثبات البيانات مستقبلهم بعيدة كل البعد عن اليقين.

إن بحثي المستمر حول كيفية استخدام الشركات الكبرى للتكنولوجيا والإعلام لتصميم النمط الغامق لتجاوز لوائح الخصوصية التي تحمي المعلومات الشخصية ، قد كشف عن مدى تعرض الأطفال لخطر جمع البيانات وكيف فشل التشريع الكندي على وجه الخصوص في إخفاقهم.

مقياس غير مفهومة

للبالغين والأطفال ، تتمتع Google بحق الوصول إلى كل شيء بدءًا من استعلامات البحث إلى عمليات الشراء عبر الإنترنت إلى أي تطبيق وموقع ويب مرتبط بحسابات gmail - بما في ذلك الحسابات المحذوفة - أو مرتبطة عبر عبر الإصبع الطباعة.

بصفتك أحد الوالدين ، تقوم بإنشاء شبكة من الاتصالات التبادلية عند إدخال المعلومات لإجراء عمليات شراء لطفلك عبر الإنترنت أو إعداد حسابات لطفلك على التطبيقات ومواقع الويب. يضاف إلى ذلك كل نشاط طفلك على YouTube و YouTube Kids ، ابحث في البيانات عن النقرات على مقاطع الفيديو الموصى بها للتراجع ومدة وقت اللعب.

ثم أضف بصمة عبر المستعرض ومؤخراً ، "حل إجمالي الناتج المحلي" الخاص بـ Google ، صفحات تتبع الويب المدفونة السرية التي تعمل كعلامات زائفة تتبع نشاط المستخدم عبر الويب.

تم الكشف عن هذا الانتهاك الأخير لخصوصية البيانات في شكوى إلى لجنة حماية البيانات الأيرلندية رفعت في نفس اليوم تم الإعلان عن غرامة Google.

نحن نتحدث عن حقول شاسعة من البيانات ، يصعب فهم حجمها ؛ يتم استخدام هذه البيانات لتغذية خوارزميات توصية الذكاء الاصطناعي من Google والتي تعمل الآن على توجيه كل شيء عمليات طلب التوظيف إلى التي يرجع تاريخها التطبيقات.

يتمتع الأطفال في الولايات المتحدة وكندا بساحة أخرى مهمة ومستمرة حيث يتم إنتاج المعلومات من قبلهم وجمعها بواسطة Google. دخلت Google المجال التعليمي في 2012 و يهيمن الآن على سوق التكنولوجيا التعليمية في الولايات المتحدة ، مما يمنح Google وصولاً غير مسبوق من قبل الوالدين إلى بيانات الأطفال من خلال رياض الأطفال إلى Grade 12.

لماذا نحتاج إلى دليل على أطفالنا؟
يثير الوجود المتزايد في الفصول الدراسية لأجهزة الكمبيوتر والأجهزة والإنترنت مخاوف بشأن خصوصية الأطفال وجمع البيانات من قبل الشركات الكبرى مثل Google.
شترستوك

الهيمنة في المجال التعليمي

تهيمن شركة Alphabet Inc. على المحتوى الموجه للأطفال والمميز للأطفال على الإنترنت من خلال YouTube Kids ، وقد استحوذت الآن على المساحات التعليمية عبر الإنترنت من خلال مستندات Google و G-Suite و Chromebooks حسابات Gmail المرتبطة بالأطفال المطلوبة للاستخدام.

وهذا يعني أن وصول Google إلى بيانات الأطفال يمتد إلى الترفيه (YouTube و YouTube Kids) ، وتاريخ البحث والشراء (عبر حسابات الوالدين المرتبطة) ، والقطاعات التعليمية.

إن أرقام الامتصاص في مجال التكنولوجيا التعليمية مذهلة. بين 2012 و 2016 ، انتقلت Google Chromebooks من أقل من واحد في المائة من سوق المدارس الأمريكية إلى أكثر من 50 في المائة - أكثر من 30 مليون Chromebooks تستخدم حاليًا في الفصول الدراسية الأمريكية.

بواسطة 2017 ، أكثر من 58 في المائة من الأجهزة المشتراة للمدارس الأمريكية كانت أجهزة جوجل; أكثر من 80 مليون معلم وطفل يستخدمونها على مستوى العالم.

معطى تاريخ Google لانتهاكات الخصوصية، ليس من المستغرب أن تعرض Google لأجهزة Chromebook انتهاكًا لخصوصية بيانات الأطفال. في البداية، قاومت Google الامتثال لقانون حقوق الخصوصية والتربية الأسرية الفيدرالي (FERPA)، توفير روابط لسياساتها الأمنية ، والتي رفضت FERPA.

في 2015 ، قدمت مؤسسة الحدود الإلكترونية (EFF) شكوى FTC لأن الإعدادات الافتراضية لجهاز Chromebook سمحت لـ Google في البداية بجمع بيانات المستخدم بما في ذلك "تاريخ تصفح الويب ، نتائج محرك البحث ، عادات مشاهدة YouTube وكلمات المرور المحفوظة."

صاغ هاري بريجنول ، المتخصص في تجربة المستخدم ، مصطلح "نمط مظلم" لوصف "واجهة المستخدم التي تم تصميمها بعناية لخداع المستخدمين للقيام بأشياء ، مثل شراء التأمين عند شرائهم أو الاشتراك في الفواتير المتكررة".

تظل حسابات Gmail الخاصة بالأطفال من الممارسات المعتادة في المدارس اليوم. الممارسة المعتادة لا تزال أن الأطفال المسجلين في المدارس بشكل جماعي في حسابات Gmail، غالبًا دون موافقة الوالدين ، واستخدام أسماءهم الكاملة ، و "في خدمات أخرى تجمع البيانات دون أي إشعار". يتم تقديم مجموعة البيانات هذه على أنها حميدة ، مما يؤدي إلى تحسين تجربة طفلك ، وإثراء التعليم ، وإضفاء الطابع الديمقراطي على موارد القرن 21st عبر الإنترنت.

تحديث القوانين

ما قامت به Google هو إنشاء نظام ديناميكي متكيف لجمع البيانات استعمر بالفعل مستقبل أطفالنا ، بالنظر إلى ما نعرفه الآن عن كيفية استهداف الإعلان يمكن أن يتعامل مع السلوك. ليس لدينا أي طريقة لمعرفة كيف يمكن استخدام عمق جمع البيانات هذا في السنوات القادمة.

في مارس 2019، قدم السيناتور الأمريكي إد ماركي وجوش هاولي مشروع قانون من الحزبين لتحديث COPPAوحظر استهداف الإعلانات للأطفال ، وتوسيع حماية الخصوصية إلى 13- إلى 15 من الأطفال حتى لا يمكن جمع البيانات دون إذن المستخدم و "زر ممحاة" من شأنه أن يسمح للآباء والأطفال بحذف المعلومات الشخصية.

هذا التحديث المقترح ل COPPA هو تشريع حاسم ينبغي أن يدرسه الكنديون - بالإضافة إلى اللائحة العامة لحماية البيانات في الاتحاد الأوروبي - ومرة ​​أخرى ، هناك حالات موثقة متعددة من فروع شركة Alphabet فشلت في حماية خصوصية الأطفال.

سيكون لهذا التشريع ، إذا تم إقراره ، تأثير هائل على إيرادات سوق الإعلانات الرقمية لجوجل وفيسبوك ، كإيرادات للإعلانات الرقمية في الولايات المتحدة. بلغ إجمالي 107 مليار دولار في 2018 يجب أن نتوقع مقاومة مستمرة من الشركات الفرعية لشركة Alphabet وغيرها من المنصات الرئيسية.

يجب أن يكون التركيز على كيفية ضمان الحماية المتسقة لخصوصية بيانات الأطفال والشباب أمرًا محوريًا في مناقشاتنا حول التكنولوجيا على مستوى العالم ومقترحات جوستين ترودو المقترحة الميثاق الرقمي وطنيا في كندا.

عن المؤلف

سيوبهان أوفلين، محاضر، جامعة تورنتو

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why We Need To Data-Proof Our Kids

Why We Need To Data-proof Are Kids
It’s time to start data-proofing our children. (Shutterstock)

Google recently agreed to pay a US$170 million fine for illegally gathering children’s personal data on YouTube without parental consent, which is a violation under the Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act (COPPA).

The United States Federal Trade Commission and the New York State Attorney General — who together brought the case against Google — now require YouTube to obtain consent from parents before collecting or sharing personal information. In addition, creators of child-directed content must self-identify to restrict the delivery of targeted ads.

The $170 million fine is a pittance given Alphabet Inc.’s (Google’s holding company) valuation of more than US$700 billion.

Google is required to pay US$136 million to the Federal Trade Commission and US$34 million to New York State, the largest penalty the FTC has ever obtained in a COPPA case.

Our digital identities comprise data collected across our activities, making personal or identifying information irrelevant. Children today are subjugated to a scale of data collection and targeting that we cannot fathom. Right now, we also have no clue about the consequences, and regulatory protections to data-proof their futures are far from certain.

My ongoing research on how big tech and media conglomerates are using dark pattern design to bypass privacy regulations protecting personal information has revealed how vulnerable children are to data collection and how Canada’s legislation in particular is failing them.

Incomprehensible scale

For adults and children, Google has access to everything from search queries to online purchases to any app and website associated with gmail accounts - including deleted accounts - or linked via cross-browser finger-printing.

As a parent, you create a network of cross-connections when you input information to make purchases for your child online or set up accounts for your child on apps and websites. Added to this is all your child’s activity on YouTube and YouTube Kids, search data to clicks on recommended videos to rewinds and duration of play time.

Then add cross-browser fingerprinting and most recently, Google’s “GDPR workaround,” secret buried web tracking pages that act as pseudonymous markers that track user activity across the web.

This latter violation of data privacy was revealed in a complaint to the Irish Data Protection Commission filed the same day Google’s fine was made public.

We are talking about vast fields of data, the scale of which is difficult to comprehend; this data is used to feed Google’s artificial intelligence recommendation algorithms that now steer everything from employment application processes to dating apps.

Children in the United States and Canada have another significant, persistent arena where information is being produced by them and collected by Google. Google entered the educational sphere in 2012, and now dominates educational technology market in the U.S., giving Google unprecedented parent-sanctioned access to children’s data through kindergarten to Grade 12.

Why We Need To Data-Proof Our Kids
The growing presence in classrooms of computers, devices and the internet raises concerns about children’s privacy and data collection by large corporations like Google.
Shutterstock

Dominance in the educational sphere

Alphabet Inc. dominates child-directed and child-featured content online through YouTube Kids and has now colonized online educational spaces through Google Docs, G-Suite, Chromebooks and the associated Gmail accounts for children that are required for use.

This means that Google’s access to children’s data spans entertainment (YouTube and YouTube Kids), search and purchase histories (via associated parental accounts), and educational sectors.

The uptake numbers in the educational technology sphere are staggering. Between 2012 and 2016, Google Chromebooks went from less than one per cent of the U.S. school market to over 50 per cent — more than 30 million Chromebooks are currently being used in American classrooms.

By 2017, more than 58 per cent of devices purchased for U.S. schools were Google devices; more than 80 million instructors and children use them globally.

Given Google’s history of privacy violations, it’s no surprise that Google’s rollout of Chromebooks again violated children’s data privacy. Initially, Google resisted complying with the federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), providing links to its security policies, which FERPA rejected.

In 2015, the Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF) filed an FTC complaint because Chromebook default settings initially allowed Google to collect user data including “Web browsing histories, search-engine results, YouTube viewing habits and saved passwords.”

Harry Brignull, a user experience specialist, coined the term “dark pattern” to describe a “user interface that has been carefully crafted to trick users into doing things, such as buying insurance with their purchase or signing up for recurring bills.”

Gmail accounts for children remain a standard practice in schools today. Standard practice continues to be that children are enrolled by schools en masse into Gmail accounts, often without parental consent, using their full names, and “into other services that collect data without any notification.” This data collection is presented as benign, optimizing your child’s experience, enriching education, democratizing access to 21st century online resources.

Updating the laws

What Google has done is create a dynamic, adaptive system of data collection that has already colonized our children’s futures, given what we now know of how ad targeting can manipulate behaviour. We have no way of knowing how this depth of data collection may be used in years to come.

In March 2019, U.S. senators Ed Markey and Josh Hawley introduced a bipartisan bill to update COPPA, banning targeting ads to children, extending privacy protections to 13- to 15-year-olds so data cannot be collected without user permission and an “eraser button” that would allow parents and kids to delete personal information.

This proposed update to COPPA is crucial legislation that Canadians should be studying - in addition to the European Union’s General Data Protection Regulation - as again, there are multiple documented instances of Alphabet’s subsidiaries failing to protect children’s privacy.

This legislation, if passed, would have enormous impact on the revenue of the digital ad market for Google and Facebook, as digital ad revenue in the U.S. totalled $107 billion in 2018 We should anticipate sustained resistance from Alphabet’s subsidiary companies and the other major platforms.

A focus on how we can ensure the consistent protection of the data privacy of children and youth must be central to our discussions of technology globally and to Justin Trudeau’s proposed Digital Charter nationally in Canada.

About the Author

Siobhan O'Flynn, Lecturer, University of Toronto

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}