Ce rappel amène une pensée flexible chez les enfants

Ce rappel amène une pensée flexible chez les enfants

Rappeler les recherches aux enfants en leur rappelant leurs multiples rôles - ami, voisin et fille - peut conduire à une meilleure résolution de problèmes et à une pensée plus flexible.

«C’est une des premières recherches sur la manière de rappeler aux enfants leur personnalité aux multiples facettes», explique l’auteur principale Sarah Gaither, professeure adjointe de psychologie et de neuroscience à l’Université Duke. "De tels rappels renforcent leurs compétences en résolution de problèmes et leur souplesse dans la perception de leur monde social, le tout à partir d'un simple changement d'état d'esprit."

Mieux résoudre les problèmes n’était qu’un des résultats positifs de l’étude, déclare Gaither. Après avoir examiné leurs propres identités, les enfants ont également montré une plus grande souplesse dans leur réflexion sur la race et les autres groupes sociaux - un comportement qui pourrait être précieux dans une société de plus en plus diversifiée.

La recherche apparaît dans le journal Science du développement.

Dans une série d'expériences, Gaither et ses collègues ont examiné des enfants 196, âgés de 6 et 7. Tous étaient de langue maternelle anglaise.

Dans une expérience, il a été rappelé au premier groupe d’enfants qu’ils avaient différentes identités, telles que fils, fille, lecteur ou assistant. On a rappelé à un deuxième groupe d’enfants leurs multiples attributs physiques (tels que la bouche, les bras et les jambes).

Dans une autre expérience, un groupe d'enfants a de nouveau reçu des rappels indiquant qu'ils avaient des identités variées. Un deuxième groupe d'enfants a reçu des invites similaires, mais concernant les nombreux rôles des autres enfants, pas les leurs.

Tous les enfants ont ensuite abordé une série de tâches. Les enfants à qui on a rappelé leurs différentes identités ont fait preuve de plus grandes capacités de résolution de problèmes et de pensée créatrice. Par exemple, quand on leur a montré des images d'un ours regardant une ruche remplie de miel en hauteur dans un arbre, ces enfants ont eu des idées plus créatives sur la manière dont l'ours pourrait obtenir le miel, tel que renverser un bol pour qu'il devienne un tabouret. En d'autres termes, ils ont vu une nouvelle utilisation du bol.

Les enfants à qui on a rappelé leurs rôles multiples ont également montré une plus grande souplesse dans leur réflexion sur les groupes sociaux. Lorsqu'on leur a demandé de classer différentes photos de visages, ils ont suggéré de nombreuses façons de le faire. Par exemple, ils ont identifié des visages souriants et non souriants, et des visages vieux et jeunes. Les autres enfants, quant à eux, regroupaient principalement les visages des personnes par race et par sexe.

Parce que les résultats suggèrent des moyens simples de promouvoir une pensée flexible et inclusive pour les jeunes, ils pourraient être particulièrement utiles pour les enseignants, explique Gaither.

«Dans notre société, nous avons tendance à ne penser qu'à nous en relation avec un groupe important à la fois», déclare Gaither. «Lorsque nous rappelons aux enfants qu'ils ont des identités variées, ils pensent au-delà des catégories par défaut de notre société et se rappellent qu'il existe de nombreux autres groupes en plus de la race et du sexe.

"Cela leur ouvre des horizons pour être un peu plus inclusif."

Les travaux ont bénéficié du soutien de la bourse de recherche postdoctorale NICHD de l'Université de Chicago Provost et du Chicago Center for Practical Wisdom.

La source: Duke University

livres_parents

This Reminder Brings Out Flexible Thinking In Kids

This Reminder Brings Out Flexible Thinking In Kids

Reminding children of their many roles—friend, neighbor, and daughter, for example—can lead to better problem-solving and more flexible thinking, research finds.

“This is some of the first research on reminding kids about their multi-faceted selves,” says lead author Sarah Gaither, an assistant professor of psychology and neuroscience at Duke University. “Such reminders boost their problem-solving skills and how flexibly they see their social worlds—all from a simple mindset switch.”

Better problem-solving was just one positive finding of the study, Gaither says. After considering their own various identities, children also showed more flexible thinking about race and other social groupings—a behavior that could be valuable in an increasingly diverse society.

The research appears in the journal Developmental Science.

In a series of experiments, Gaither and her colleagues looked at 196 children, ages 6 and 7. All were native English speakers.

In one experiment, the first group of children was reminded they have various identities, such as son, daughter, reader, or helper. A second group of children was reminded of their multiple physical attributes (such as a mouth, arms, and legs).

In another experiment, one group of children again received reminders they have various identities. A second set of children received similar prompts—but about other children’s many roles, not their own.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


All the children then tackled a series of tasks. Children who were reminded of their various identities demonstrated stronger problem solving and creative thinking skills. For instance, when shown pictures of a bear gazing at a honey-filled beehive high up in a tree, these children had more creative ideas for how the bear might get the honey, such as flipping over a bowl so that it becomes a stool. In other words, they saw a new use for the bowl.

Children who were reminded of their multiple roles also showed more flexible thinking about social groupings. When asked to categorize different photos of faces, they suggested many ways to do so. For instance, they identified smiling faces vs. unsmiling ones, and old vs. young faces. The other children, meanwhile, primarily grouped people’s faces by race and gender.

Because the results suggest simple ways to promote flexible, inclusive thinking for the young, they could be especially valuable for teachers, Gaither says.

“We have this tendency in our society to only think about ourselves in connection with one important group at a time,” Gaither says. “When we remind kids that they have various identities, they think beyond our society’s default categories, and remember that there are many other groups in addition to race and gender.

“It opens their horizons to be a little more inclusive.”

Support for the work came from the University of Chicago Provost’s Postdoctoral Scholarship NICHD, and the Chicago Center for Practical Wisdom.

Source: Duke University

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…