Diese Erinnerung bringt flexibles Denken bei Kindern zum Ausdruck

Diese Erinnerung bringt flexibles Denken bei Kindern zum Ausdruck

Wenn Kinder an ihre vielen Rollen erinnert werden, zum Beispiel an Freunde, Nachbarn und Töchter, kann dies zu einer besseren Problemlösung und einem flexibleren Denken führen.

"Dies ist eine der ersten Forschungen, die sich mit der Erinnerung von Kindern an ihr facettenreiches Ich befassen", sagt die Hauptautorin Sarah Gaither, Dozentin für Psychologie und Neurowissenschaften an der Duke University. "Solche Erinnerungen fördern ihre Fähigkeiten zur Problemlösung und wie flexibel sie ihre sozialen Welten sehen - alles mit einem einfachen Umdenken."

Eine bessere Problemlösung sei nur ein positiver Befund der Studie, sagt Gaither. Nach der Betrachtung ihrer eigenen Identität zeigten die Kinder auch ein flexibleres Denken über Rasse und andere soziale Gruppierungen - ein Verhalten, das in einer immer vielfältiger werdenden Gesellschaft von Nutzen sein könnte.

Die Forschung in der Fachzeitschrift erscheint Entwicklungswissenschaft.

In einer Reihe von Experimenten untersuchten Gaither und ihre Kollegen 196-Kinder im Alter von 6 und 7. Alle waren englische Muttersprachler.

In einem Experiment wurde die erste Gruppe von Kindern daran erinnert, dass sie verschiedene Identitäten haben, z. B. Sohn, Tochter, Leser oder Helfer. Eine zweite Gruppe von Kindern wurde an ihre vielfältigen körperlichen Eigenschaften (wie Mund, Arme und Beine) erinnert.

In einem anderen Experiment wurde eine Gruppe von Kindern erneut daran erinnert, dass sie verschiedene Identitäten haben. Eine zweite Gruppe von Kindern erhielt ähnliche Aufforderungen - aber zu den vielen Rollen anderer Kinder, nicht zu ihren eigenen.

Alle Kinder haben dann eine Reihe von Aufgaben in Angriff genommen. Kinder, die an ihre verschiedenen Identitäten erinnert wurden, zeigten stärkere Fähigkeiten zur Problemlösung und zum kreativen Denken. Zum Beispiel hatten diese Kinder, als sie die Bilder eines Bären sahen, der einen mit Honig gefüllten Bienenstock hoch oben auf einem Baum anstarrte, kreativere Ideen, wie der Bär den Honig erhalten könnte. Mit anderen Worten, sie sahen eine neue Verwendung für die Schüssel.

Kinder, die an ihre vielfältigen Rollen erinnert wurden, zeigten auch ein flexibleres Denken über soziale Gruppierungen. Als sie gebeten wurden, verschiedene Fotos von Gesichtern zu kategorisieren, schlugen sie viele Möglichkeiten vor, dies zu tun. Zum Beispiel identifizierten sie lächelnde und nicht lächelnde Gesichter sowie alte und junge Gesichter. Währenddessen gruppierten die anderen Kinder die Gesichter der Menschen in erster Linie nach Rasse und Geschlecht.

Da die Ergebnisse einfache Wege zur Förderung eines flexiblen, integrativen Denkens für junge Menschen aufzeigen, könnten sie für Lehrer besonders wertvoll sein, sagt Gaither.

„Wir haben in unserer Gesellschaft die Tendenz, immer nur in Verbindung mit einer wichtigen Gruppe an uns selbst zu denken“, sagt Gaither. „Wenn wir Kinder daran erinnern, dass sie unterschiedliche Identitäten haben, denken sie über die Standardkategorien unserer Gesellschaft hinaus und denken daran, dass es neben Rasse und Geschlecht noch viele andere Gruppen gibt.

"Es öffnet ihren Horizont, ein bisschen integrativer zu sein."

Die Unterstützung für die Arbeit kam vom Postdoktorandenstipendium der University of Chicago Provost (NICHD) und vom Chicago Center for Practical Wisdom.

Quelle: Duke University

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

This Reminder Brings Out Flexible Thinking In Kids

This Reminder Brings Out Flexible Thinking In Kids

Reminding children of their many roles—friend, neighbor, and daughter, for example—can lead to better problem-solving and more flexible thinking, research finds.

“This is some of the first research on reminding kids about their multi-faceted selves,” says lead author Sarah Gaither, an assistant professor of psychology and neuroscience at Duke University. “Such reminders boost their problem-solving skills and how flexibly they see their social worlds—all from a simple mindset switch.”

Better problem-solving was just one positive finding of the study, Gaither says. After considering their own various identities, children also showed more flexible thinking about race and other social groupings—a behavior that could be valuable in an increasingly diverse society.

The research appears in the journal Developmental Science.

In a series of experiments, Gaither and her colleagues looked at 196 children, ages 6 and 7. All were native English speakers.

In one experiment, the first group of children was reminded they have various identities, such as son, daughter, reader, or helper. A second group of children was reminded of their multiple physical attributes (such as a mouth, arms, and legs).

In another experiment, one group of children again received reminders they have various identities. A second set of children received similar prompts—but about other children’s many roles, not their own.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


All the children then tackled a series of tasks. Children who were reminded of their various identities demonstrated stronger problem solving and creative thinking skills. For instance, when shown pictures of a bear gazing at a honey-filled beehive high up in a tree, these children had more creative ideas for how the bear might get the honey, such as flipping over a bowl so that it becomes a stool. In other words, they saw a new use for the bowl.

Children who were reminded of their multiple roles also showed more flexible thinking about social groupings. When asked to categorize different photos of faces, they suggested many ways to do so. For instance, they identified smiling faces vs. unsmiling ones, and old vs. young faces. The other children, meanwhile, primarily grouped people’s faces by race and gender.

Because the results suggest simple ways to promote flexible, inclusive thinking for the young, they could be especially valuable for teachers, Gaither says.

“We have this tendency in our society to only think about ourselves in connection with one important group at a time,” Gaither says. “When we remind kids that they have various identities, they think beyond our society’s default categories, and remember that there are many other groups in addition to race and gender.

“It opens their horizons to be a little more inclusive.”

Support for the work came from the University of Chicago Provost’s Postdoctoral Scholarship NICHD, and the Chicago Center for Practical Wisdom.

Source: Duke University

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…