ماذا يعني أن تكون أبا جيدا لابنك؟

ماذا يعني أن تكون أبا جيدا لابنك؟ في البرامج التلفزيونية ، يشرع الأب والأبناء غالبًا في رحلة تخييم مغامرة مثل هذه الرحلة في بونافنتورا ، كندا. أليكس غيوم / Unsplash

ماذا يعني أن تكون "أبًا صالحًا؟" لعب الصيد كشكل من أشكال الأب الابن يمكن أن يكون شيئًا جيدًا ، فمن الضروري تحدي مفاهيم الأبوة المثالية الخاصة بنا والمستمدة من الثقافة الشعبية وبطاقات المعايدة على طراز هولمارك.

إن مفاهيم الأبوة هذه لها تأثير كبير في المجتمع الغربي ، خاصةً حول عيد الأب ، وهو وقت مناسب بشكل خاص لزيارة العلاقات بين الأب والابن.

الأولاد يكافحون عادة لتطوير التعاطف و الذكاء العاطفي. هذه المهارات غالبا ما تكون غائبة بسبب عدم وجود توجيهات من الرجال القدوة. لذلك ، من المهم أن يتخلى الآباء عن أفكارهم عن الرجولة ، وبدلاً من ذلك يصوغون السلوك الجيد.

عند وصف الأبوة ، غالبًا ما يقول الناس ، "إنه رجل جيد" ، أو "إنه أب جيد" كوسيلة لمكافأة الآباء على المشاركة في أنشطة "أنثوية" تقليدية مثل أنشطة تربية الأطفال أو تنشيتهم ، مثل حمل طفل أو تغيير حفاضات. ما يفعله هذا هو تعزيز الانقسامات بين الجنسين والتسلسلات الهرمية. إنه يروج لفكرة أن الرجال يجب أن يكافأوا لمجرد أداء واجباتهم كوالد ، بينما يتركون كمية غير متكافئة من التوقعات بين الجنسين على الأمهات.

المجتمع يعلم الرجال أنه يجب عليهم رعاية النساء من خلال الهيمنة. هذه التحيز الجنسي غالبًا ما يتم فرضه من خلال مفاهيم الرجال بوصفهم "معيلين" أو "كقادة" في أسرهم.

ماذا يعني أن تكون أبا جيدا لابنك؟ يُنظر إلى الأعمال المنزلية على أنها أنثوية تقليدية ويتم تخفيض قيمتها. نحن نحتاج لتغير هذا. شترستوك

هذه المفاهيم البيضاء والأوروبية المركزية للهياكل الأسرية تشبه البنى الأسرية المختلفة تعميم الأسرة من جنسين مختلفين من البيض ، من الطبقة الوسطى والغربية النووية المثالية، في حين إعادة المفصلية أساطير المفقودين الرجال السود داخل الأسر التي لا تنظر في العنصرية المعادية للسود.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


يمكن للرجال استخدام صور لأنفسهم لكونهم رجلاً أسريًا أو أبًا صالحًا ، لتعزيز عدم المساواة في المنزل ، وكذلك للاعتذار من الاعتداء الجنسي والعنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي. استخدم محامي دفاع بريت كافانو مفهوم "الرجل الطيب" خلال جلسات الاستماع العلنية الأمريكية بشأن اتهامات بالاعتداء الجنسي عليه. تهدف هذه الاستراتيجية إلى تمييز Kavanaugh عن "الأشرار" ، الذين لا "يهتمون" بأسرهم.

ثقافة فن البوب

صورت وسائل الإعلام الغربية الشعبية العلاقات بين الأب والابن في موضوعات الذكورة التقليدية المتمثلة في الترابط بين لعب ألعاب الصيد أو الذهاب في رحلات تخييم عائلية ، تتخللها لحظات من الفخر الأبوي ومحادثات الأب والابن المحرجة.

البرامج التلفزيونية مثل الأمير الجديد من بيل اير, عائلة سمبسون, ريفرديل, اتركه للسمور, الأسرة غي و تحسين المنزل (على سبيل المثال لا الحصر) ، صوروا جميعًا ديناميكيات الأب والابن ونسجوا في الأفكار التقليدية للرجولة إلى وضع الرجل داخل الأسرة النووية.

ماذا يعني أن تكون أبا جيدا لابنك؟ سنوات العجائب.

كبر ، شاهدت أنا وأبي برنامج 1980s التلفزيوني الكلاسيكي وتساءل سنوات، عن تجارب ومحن صبي صغير في سن الضواحي في أمريكا في أواخر 1960s. نحن المستعبدين من خلال إصدار هذا العرض الرومانسي للعائلة النووية.

ومع ذلك ، كما نشأت في بلدي مخنث الذاتي ، وتحديد في نهاية المطاف مثلي الجنس ، وهذا عقد تداعيات كبيرة على شعوري العام بالذات واحترام الذات. أدركت أنا ووالدتي أن نماذج العلاقات بين الأبوة والأب المبينة في هذا العرض لن تنجح بالنسبة لنا. وسعت من فهمي لذكوري وأظهر والدي المزيد من التعاطف والنعومة في كيفية تفاعله معي.

هذا العرض ، ووسائل الإعلام المماثلة الأخرى ، حول ما تمثله الأبوة في أمريكا الشمالية الوهمية ، تنتج صوراً طبيعية للرجولة البيضاء. يتم وضع الآباء كحماة وعائلتهم لعائلاتهم ، في حين يتوقع من أبنائهم إعادة إنتاج أفكار غير متجانسة عن الذكورة والعائلة النووية.

التحرر من هياكل الأسرة النووية

Heteronormativity، هيكل الذي يميز الأزواج على التوالي، يمحو عدد الهياكل الأسرية الموجودة خارج الأسرة النووية التقليدية للأم. لكن هياكل الأسرة ودينامياتها تتغير. المزيد من الأسر احتضان الآباء من نفس الجنس, تعدد الزوجات ديناميات والأسر مع أكثر من شخصيتين الوالدين، مع ظهور عدد من الآباء والأمهات الجنس غير المطابقة.

ماذا يعني أن تكون أبا جيدا لابنك؟ يشارك المحتفلون في الاحتفالات في برايد باريد السنوي في تورنتو يوم الأحد ، يوليو 3 ، 2016. الصحافة الكندية / مارك بلينش

للرجال مثلي الجنس ، الذين يكافحون عادة خلال مرحلة الطفولة مع علاقات الأب والابن، يمكن أن يكون هناك الكثير من العار في الشعور كما لو كانوا كذلك ليست جيدة أو مذكر بما فيه الكفاية لآبائهم.

آلان داونز ، عالم نفسي إكلينيكي مقره كاليفورنيا يصف كيف يعمل الخزي في حياة الرجال المثليين ، من مشاعر الطفولة من عدم كفاية ونقص. يعاني العديد من الرجال المثليين من مشاعر الفشل من خلال تعبيرات الطفولة عن الأنوثة وعدم التوافق بين الجنسين ، وهو ما يمكن أن يكون ولا سيما بوليس من قبل الآباء.

Femmephobia

بحثي الأولي مع مثليي الجنس ، ومزدوجي الميل الجنسيات والرجال من ذوي الخبرة بشأن تجاربهم المتعلقة بالاتصال العاطفي باستخدام تطبيقات التعارف عن طريق الرجال المثليين ، يوضح موضوعًا ثابتًا: التعبير عن العواطف وأشكال من الوفاء العاطفي بين الرجال مثلي الجنس هو المؤنث سلبا.

"Femmephobia"- في الأصل يطلق عليها جولد سيرانو ، عالمة الأحياء والكاتبة ، غير المتحالفة - هو انخفاض قيمة الأنوثة في المجتمعات الغريبة وعبر. Femmephobia غالبًا ما يكون غير مرئي ، لكنه لا يزال متأصلاً مجتمعات الرجال المثليين.

يصف العديد من المشاركين في بحثي هذا تشويه المؤنث باعتباره راسخًا من تجارب الطفولة في مجال الشرطة في مجال النوع الاجتماعي من قبل الآباء.

هذه الأحاديث حول تنوع الأبوة ضرورية لمساعدة الآباء على التحول إلى أن يصبحوا أكثر شمولاً كنماذج يحتذى بها في حياة أطفالهم. إنهم لا يحتاجون إلى فرض أفكار متحفظة وغير متجانسة لشخصيات الأب وشخصياته.

في نهاية المطاف ، يمكن أن يساعد تفكيك كيفية اختراق القواعد الجنسانية والعرقية ليوم الأب في الاعتراف بكيفية ذلك تتشابك الامتياز الأبيض والتغاير داخل مثل هذه الأعياد في هولمارك.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

آدم ديفيز ، مرشح دكتوراه ، جامعة تورنتو

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

What Does It Mean To Be A Good Father To Your Son?

What Does It Mean To Be A Good Father To Your Son? On TV shows, father and sons often embark on an adventurous camping trip like this one in Bonaventure, Canada. Alex Guillaume / Unsplash

What does it mean to be a “good father?” While playing catch as a form of father-son bonding can be a good thing, it is necessary to challenge our idealized concepts of fatherhood gleaned from popular culture and Hallmark-style greeting cards.

These notions of fatherhood are highly influential within western society, particularly around Father’s Day, an especially good time to visit father-son relationships.

Boys commonly struggle to develop empathy and emotional intelligence. These skills are often absent due to a lack of guidance from male role models. Therefore, it is important for fathers to unlearn their ideas of masculinity, and instead model good behaviour.

When describing fatherhood, people often say, “He’s a good guy,” or “He’s a good father” as a way to reward fathers for engaging in traditionally “feminine” activities like child-raising or nurturing activities, such as carrying a baby or changing a diaper. What this does is reinforce gender divisions and hierarchies. It promotes the idea that men should be rewarded for merely fulfilling their duties as a parent, while leaving an inequitable amount of gendered expectations on mothers.

Society teaches men that they should care for women through dominance. This benevolent sexism is often enforced through notions of men as “breadwinners” or as “leaders” in their families.

What Does It Mean To Be A Good Father To Your Son? Domestic chores are seen as traditionally feminine and are devalued. We need to change that. Shutterstock

These white and Eurocentric notions of family structures pathologize different family structures by universalizing the white, middle-class and western nuclear heterosexual family as the ideal, while re-articularing myths of missing Black men within families that do not consider structural anti-black Racism.

Men can use depictions of themselves being a family man or a good father, to reinforce inequities in the home, as well as to excuse sexual assault and gender-based violence. Brett Kavanaugh’s defense attorney used the concept of the “Good Guy” during the U.S. public hearings on the accusations of sexual assault against him. This strategy aimed to distinguish Kavanaugh from “bad guys,” who do not “care” for their family.

Pop culture

Popular western media has portrayed father and son relationships within themes of traditional masculinity represented by bonding over playing games of catch or going on family camping trips, punctuated with moments of fatherly pride and awkward father-son conversations.

TV shows like Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, The Simpsons, Riverdale, Leave it to Beaver, Family Guy and Home Improvement (to list a few), have all portrayed father-son dynamics and woven in traditional ideas of masculinity into a man’s position within the nuclear family.

What Does It Mean To Be A Good Father To Your Son? The Wonder Years.

Growing up, my father and I watched the classic 1980s television show The Wonder Years, about the trials and tribulations of a young boy coming of age in suburban America in the late 1960s. We bonded through that show’s romanticized version of the nuclear family.

However, as I grew into my effeminate-self, eventually identifying as gay, this held great ramifications on my overall sense of self and self-esteem. Both my father and I realized that the models for fatherhood and father-son relationships depicted in this show would not work for us. I expanded my understandings of my masculinity and my father developed more empathy and softness in how he interacted with me.

This show, and other similar media, about what fatherhood represents in the North American imaginary produce normalized images of white masculinity. Fathers are positioned as protectors of and breadwinners for their families, while their sons are expected to reproduce heteronormative ideas of masculinity and the nuclear family.

Breaking free of nuclear family structures

Heteronormativity, a structure which privileges straight couples, erases how many family structures exist outside of the traditional mother-father nuclear family. But family structures and dynamics are changing. More families embrace same-sex parents, polyamorous dynamics and families with more than two parental figures, with an emerging number of parents identifying as gender nonconforming.

What Does It Mean To Be A Good Father To Your Son? Revellers take part in festivities at the annual Pride Parade in Toronto on Sunday, July 3, 2016. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Mark Blinch

For gay men, who commonly struggle during childhood with father-son relationships, there can be a lot of shame in feeling as though they are not good or masculine enough for their fathers.

California-based clinical psychologist Alan Downs describes how shame functions in the lives of gay men, from childhood feelings of inadequacy and deficiency. Many gay men experience feelings of failure through childhood expressions of effeminacy and gender nonconformity, which can be especially policed by fathers.

Femmephobia

My preliminary research with gay, bisexual and queer men on their experiences of emotional connection using gay men’s online dating applications, demonstrates a consistent theme: expressing emotions and forms of emotional fulfilment amongst gay men is negatively feminized.

Femmephobia” — originally termed by trans feminist, biologist and writer, Julia Serano — is the devaluation of femininity in queer and trans communities. Femmephobia is often invisible, but still ingrained in gay men’s communities.

Many of my research participants describe this denigration of the feminine as being entrenched in them from childhood experiences of gender policing by fathers.

These conversations of the diversity of fatherhood are necessary to help dads shift to becoming more inclusive as role models in their children’s lives. They need not enforce conservative and heteronormative ideas of father figures and masculinities.

Ultimately, deconstructing how gendered and racial norms infiltrate Father’s Day can assist in acknowledging how white privilege and heteronormativity are intertwined within such Hallmark holidays.The Conversation

About The Author

Adam Davies, PhD Candidate, University of Toronto

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}