Die fünf besten Elternbücher in der Wissenschaft

Die fünf besten Elternbücher in der Wissenschaft(Nach) Bettzeit lesen. Shutterstock

Es erscheinen ständig neue Erziehungsbücher. Wie man das auf Französisch, Tiger Mom, New Kid bis Freitag oder wie man sich nur durchschleicht - die Wahl kann etwas überwältigend sein. Wie können wir wissen, welcher Führer uns Antworten auf die Fragen geben wird, die für unsere Bedürfnisse am relevantesten sind, mit einem Ansatz, mit dem wir uns wohl fühlen?

Ich stieß auf eine riesige Auswahl und las sie, während ich mein eigenes Elternbuch schrieb. Kleine Kinder, große Dilemmata: Ihre Elternprobleme werden von der Wissenschaft gelöst - und es scheint wirklich einen Leitfaden für alle zu geben. Für meinen eigenen Beitrag verwendete ich eine wissenschaftlich geführte, evidenzbasierter Ansatz. Und obwohl die Auswahl für wirklich forschungsorientierte Erziehungsbücher nicht besonders groß ist, gibt es einige, die ich sehr empfehlen kann.

Hier sind meine fünf wichtigsten Erziehungsbücher, die für die Navigation in den oft verwirrenden frühen Jahren zur Verfügung stehen. Was ist zu lesen, wenn Sie keine Zeit zum Lesen haben:

1. Unser Lieblingsgeschenk

Deine Babywoche für Woche von Simon Cave und Dr. Caroline Fertleman war das Buch, das ich für meine eigenen Kinder verwendete. Es war ein Geschenk an uns und ich habe es viele Male als Geschenk an andere gegeben. Das wirklich Tolle ist, dass Sie nach Belieben ein- und aussteigen können.

In den ersten Monaten, in denen Sie wirklich erschöpft sind und nur eine Antwort auf die Frage haben, die Sie suchen, enthält dieses Buch Einzelheiten zu Fragen wie Milch, Schlaf und Weinen, die Ihr Kind benötigt.

Das Wesentliche bei der Pflege Ihres Babys.

2. Mama weiß es am besten

Die Wissenschaft der Mutter: Ein auf Forschung basierender Leitfaden für das erste Jahr Ihres Babys von Alice Callahan PhD verfolgt einen klaren, gut gelaunten Ansatz, um den Leser durch die Wissenschaft zu einigen der umstrittensten Erziehungsfragen zu bringen.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Besonders relevant für das amerikanische Publikum des Autors ist die Impfdiskussion, die die Beweise auf eine zugängliche, unkomplizierte Weise darstellt.

Callaghan deckt auch die Forschung in vielen Bereichen ab, die Eltern am meisten interessieren, wie z. B. Füttern und Schlafen.

3. Wissenschaft für alle

ich mag wirklich Das informierte Elternteil: Eine wissenschaftsbasierte Ressource für die ersten vier Jahre Ihres Kindes von Tara Haelle und Emily Willingham PhD. Es liegt auf der Hand, dass die Autoren viel Erfahrung mit der Vermittlung von Wissenschaft an Laien haben. Sie präsentieren nicht nur das aktuelle Wissen zu kontroversen Themen, sie diskutieren dies auch in Bezug auf die persönlichen Entscheidungen, die sie bei der Erziehung ihrer eigenen Kinder getroffen haben.

Sie geben genau die richtige Menge an persönlichen Anekdoten, sodass die Überprüfung der Forschungsergebnisse leicht zu verstehen ist und das Buch insgesamt gut lesbar ist. Ich mag es auch, dass sie sich eingehend mit dem heiklen Thema Schlaftraining und kontrolliertes Weinen befassen.

Die fünf besten Elternbücher in der WissenschaftWarum haben Sie nicht das letzte Kapitel 1 gelesen? Shutterstock

4. Konzentriere dich auf Disziplin

Mit bereits verkauften 1.6m-Kopien 1-2-3 Magic: 3 Step-Disziplin für ruhiges, effektives und fröhliches Parenting von Dr. Thomas W. Phelan ist das Buch über Disziplin und kleine Kinder. Phelan glaubt, dass alle Disziplinen in zwei Kategorien eingeteilt werden können - die Verhaltensweisen, die Sie beginnen möchten (z. B. Aufräumen oder Vorbereitung auf die Schule) und diejenigen, die Sie aufhören möchten (z. B. Jammern, Kämpfen oder etwas Antisoziales).

Obwohl es manchmal übermäßig kontrollierend wirken kann, enthält dieses Buch klare praktische Ratschläge. Eltern finden bestimmt etwas Nützliches, um ihre disziplinierenden Repertorien zu ergänzen.

5. Ich rede darüber

So sprechen wir, damit kleine Kinder hören: Ein Überlebensleitfaden für das Leben mit Kindern im Alter von 2-7 von Joanna Faber und Julie King ist Teil der sehr populären Serie des ursprünglichen internationalen Bestsellers

Das GesprächAnhand von Beispielen aus der Praxis veranschaulichen die Autoren die nicht hilfreichen Kommunikationsmuster, in die Eltern oft geraten, wenn sie mit ihren Kindern umgehen. Sie bieten auch jede Menge Geschichtenbeispiele, auf die sich viele Eltern beziehen, und Beispiele, wie sie damit umgehen sollen. Hier ist für jeden etwas dabei.

Über den Autor

Sarah Kuppen, Dozentin für Entwicklungspsychologie, Anglia Ruskin University

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; keywords = 0091910552; maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; keywords = 1421417324; maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; keywords = 9780399171062; maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = 149262988X; maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; keywords = 9781848126145; maxresults = 1}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

The Five Best Parenting Books Grounded In Science

The Five Best Parenting Books Grounded In Science(After) bed-time reading. Shutterstock

New parenting books seem to pop up all the time. How to do it the French way, the Tiger Mom way, the New Kid by Friday way, or how to just muddle through – the choice can be a little overwhelming. How can we know which guide will give us the answers to the questions that are most relevant to our needs, with an approach that we feel comfortable with?

I came across – and read – a vast selection while writing my own parenting book, Little kids, big dilemmas: Your parenting problems solved by science – and there really does seem to be a guide for everyone. For my own contribution, I used a science-led, evidence-based approach. And while the selection for genuinely research-oriented parenting books is not particularly large, there are a few I would highly recommend.

So here are my top five parenting books to have within reach for help in navigating what are often those bewildering early years. What to read when you don’t really have time to read:

1. Our favourite gift

Your Baby Week by Week by Simon Cave and Dr Caroline Fertleman was the book I used for my own children. It was a gift to us and I have given it many times as a gift to others. The thing that’s really great is that you can dip in and out as you like.

In those first few months when you’re really exhausted and all you want is a response to the exact question you’re looking for, this book provides specifics on questions such as how much milk, sleep and crying time your child needs.

The real essentials to caring for your baby.

2. Mum knows best

The Science of Mom: A Research-Based Guide to Your Baby’s First Year by Alice Callahan PhD takes a clear, nicely paced approach to talking the reader through the science on some of the most contentious parenting issues.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Particularly relevant to the author’s American audience is the discussion on vaccination, which lays out the evidence in an accessible, no-nonsense fashion.

Callaghan also covers research on many of the areas parents care about most, such as feeding and sleeping.

3. Science for everyone

I really like The Informed Parent: A Science-Based Resource for Your Child’s First Four Years by Tara Haelle and Emily Willingham PhD. It’s obvious the authors have plenty of experience communicating science to the lay reader. Not only do they present the up-to-date knowledge on controversial topics, they also discuss this in relation to the personal choices they made when raising their own children.

They give just the right amount of personal anecdote, making the review of the research evidence easy to digest and the book overall an easy read. I also like that they address in detail the thorny topic of sleep training and controlled crying.

The Five Best Parenting Books Grounded In ScienceWhy didn’t you read past Chapter 1? Shutterstock

4. Focus on discipline

With 1.6m copies already sold, 1-2-3 Magic: 3 Step Discipline for Calm, Effective and Happy Parenting by Dr Thomas W. Phelan is the book on discipline and young children. Phelan believes that all discipline situations can be sorted into two categories – the behaviours you want to start (such as tidying up or getting ready for school) and those you want to stop (such as whining, fighting or anything anti-social).

While it can sometimes can feel overly controlling, this book is full of clear practical advice. Parents are certain to find something useful to add to their disciplining repertories.

5. Talking it over

How To Talk So Little Kids Will Listen: A survival guide to life with children ages 2-7 by Joanna Faber and Julie King is part of the very popular series emanating from the original international bestseller

The ConversationThrough the use of practical examples, the authors illustrate the unhelpful communication patterns parents often fall into when dealing with their kids. They also provide loads of story examples, which many parents will relate to, with examples of how to deal with them. There is something here for everyone.

About The Author

Sarah Kuppen, Senior Lecturer in Developmental Psychology, Anglia Ruskin University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=0091910552;maxresults=1}

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=1421417324;maxresults=1}

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=9780399171062;maxresults=1}

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=149262988X;maxresults=1}

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=9781848126145;maxresults=1}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…