لماذا النزاعات المبكرة مع الأم تجعلها أصعب لإيجاد غرض لاحقاً

لماذا النزاعات المبكرة مع الأم تجعلها أصعب لإيجاد غرض لاحقاً

توصلت دراسة جديدة إلى أن الأطفال الذين لديهم صراع أكبر مع أمهاتهم في السنوات الأولى من المدرسة الابتدائية قد يجدون صعوبة أكبر في إيجاد إحساس بالهدف مثل البالغين.

يقول باتريك هيل ، الأستاذ المشارك في العلوم النفسية والدماغية في جامعة واشنطن في سانت: "إن واحدة من أكبر الرسائل الجاهزة من هذه النتائج هي أن الطريق إلى حياة هادفة يبدأ مبكرا جدا ، قبل أن نبدأ النظر في أهداف مختلفة للحياة". لويس.

"يوضح هذا البحث أنه منظور الطفل للصراع الذي له أكبر تأثير على الإحساس المتأخر بالهدف ، والأهم في هذه المعادلة هو علاقة الطفل بأمه."

ووفقًا للدراسة ، فإن "الإحساس بالهدف" ينطوي على وجود هدف ثابت بعيد المدى ينظم ويحفز السلوكيات والأهداف لتعزيز التقدم نحو تحقيق هذا الهدف.

في حين أن وجود إحساس بالهدف مهم لتحديد الأهداف واختيار المهن ، فإنه يلعب أيضًا دورًا رئيسيًا في تحفيز الأطفال على تطوير المهارات الحياتية الضرورية للاستقلال - تعلم كيفية الطهي ، الالتزام بالميزانية ، شراء التأمين ، ومجموعة من مهارات البقاء على قيد الحياة يوما بعد يوم.

ماذا يقول الاطفال؟

وتعد هذه الدراسة واحدة من أولى الدراسات التي تبين الارتباطات طويلة المدى بين تقارير الطفل عن تجارب الحياة المبكرة وما إذا كان هذا الطفل يشعر بالاكتفاء في وقت لاحق من الحياة.

أثرت تجارب الصراع في العلاقات المبكرة مع الآباء تأثيراً سلبياً على إحساس الطفل بالهدف ، ولكنها لم تكن بنفس قوة الأمهات مع الأمهات. وتوقعت الصراعات مع الآباء أيضا أقل من الرضا عن الحياة في مرحلة البلوغ الناشئة.

مرة أخرى ، بدا فقط منظور الطفل يهم. كانت تقارير الوالدين عن العلاقات المضطربة مع أطفالهم الصغار تنبئًا ضعيفًا لإحساس الطفل فيما بعد.

الدراسة التي تظهر في مجلة الشباب والمراهقةواستخدمت بيانات من دراسة أجريت في ولاية أوريغون منذ فترة طويلة على طلاب 1,074 (الإناث 50 في المائة) وأولياء أمورهم ، أبلغوا جميعهم عن مستويات الصراع بين الوالدين والطفل في أسرهم خلال الصفوف 1-5.

"... من الواضح أن وجود إحساس بالهدف هو شيء أبعد من مجرد الاكتفاء بحياتك أو عدم الشعور بالتوتر".

استجاب الأطفال وأولياء الأمور لبيانات صحيحة أو كاذبة عن تفاعلاتهم ، مثل "نحن نكتظ في كثير من الأحيان" ، "نحن لا نلعب معا معا ،" أو "نحن نستمتع بالمحادثات التي لدينا". وتساءلت أسئلة أخرى عما إذا "نشعر بالغضب "على الأقل مرة واحدة في اليوم ، أو ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع ، أو" كثيرًا ".

تمت متابعة استبيانات المتابعة التي تضمنت أسئلة حول الرضا عن الحياة والإجهاد المتصور ، حتى يصل الطلاب إلى سن مبكرة (عمر 21-23 years).

للتعبير عن الإحساس بالهدف ، استخدم الباحثون ردودًا على عبارات مثل "هناك اتجاه في حياتي" ، "خططي للمباراة المستقبلية مع اهتماماتي وقيمي الحقيقية" ، "أعرف الاتجاه الذي سأتبعه في الحياة ، "و" حياتي تسترشد بمجموعة من الالتزامات الواضحة. "

ركزت أسئلة أخرى على رضا الحياة والإجهاد المتصور: في الشهر الماضي ، كم مرة شعرت فيها أنك غير قادر على التحكم في الأمور المهمة في حياتك ، واثقة من قدرتك على التعامل مع مشكلاتك الشخصية ، أن الأمور تسير في طريقك ، أو أن الصعوبات تتراكم بحيث لا يمكنك التغلب عليها؟

الطريق مع الغرض

استخدم الباحثون مجموعة البيانات لربط ما اعتقده الأطفال من علاقاتهم مع آبائهم تجاه مواقفهم من الهدف في الحياة حيث بدأوا في الدخول إلى مرحلة البلوغ.

"تظهر مجموعة متنامية من الأدب أن وجود إحساس بالهدف هو بوضوح شيء يتجاوز مجرد كونك راضيا بحياتك أو لا تشعر بالتوتر" ، كما تقول الكاتبة المسرحية ليا شولتز ، وهي طالبة دكتوراه في العلوم النفسية والدماغية.

"من خلال تصميمنا ، تمكنا من فصل هذه النتائج ورؤية العلاقة المباشرة بين نزاع الوالدين والشعور بالهدف. في هذه الدراسة ، كنا قادرين على النظر في عوامل العلاقة بين الوالدين والطفل ، مثل كم من الآباء والأمهات والأطفال تجربة الصراع.

"لكن سيكون من المهم للباحثين أن يفهموا ، على وجه التحديد ، كيف يظهر الوالدان قيمة حياة هادفة؟ كيف يساعدون الأطفال على تحديد ومتابعة مساراتهم الخاصة؟ يمكن أن يساعدنا فهم محتوى تلك المحادثات في فهم كيفية أهمية المحادثات للأطفال في حياتنا ".

مؤلفون إضافيون هم من جامعة واشنطن في سانت لويس ومعهد أبحاث أوريغون.

مصدر: جامعة واشنطن في سانت لويس

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = keyword development؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why Early Conflicts With One's Mother Makes It Tougher To Find Purpose Later

Why Early Conflicts With One's Mother Makes It Tougher To Find Purpose Later

Kids who have more conflict with their mothers while in the early years of elementary school may find it more difficult to find a sense of purpose as adults, a new study suggests.

“One of the biggest takeaway messages from these findings is that the path to a purposeful life starts very early, well before we start to consider different goals for life,” says Patrick Hill, associate professor of psychological and brain sciences at Washington University in St. Louis.

“This research shows that it’s the child’s perspective of conflict that has the greatest effect on later sense of purpose and what matters most in this equation is the child’s relationship with his or her mother.”

According to the study, a “sense of purpose” involves having a stable, far-reaching aim that organizes and stimulates behaviors and goals to promote progress toward that objective.

While having a sense of purpose is important to setting goals and picking careers, it also plays a key role in motivating children to develop the life skills necessary for independence—learning how to cook, stick to a budget, buy insurance, and a host of other day-to-day survival skills.

What do kids say?

The study is one of the first to show long-term associations between a child’s reports of early life experiences and whether that child feels purposeful later in life.

Experiences of conflict in early relationships with fathers negatively affected a child’s sense of purpose, but it was not nearly as strong as those with mothers. Conflicts with dads also predicted less life satisfaction in emerging adulthood.

Again, only the child’s perspective seemed to matter. Parental reports of troubled relations with their young kids were poor predictors of a child’s later sense of purpose.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The study, which appears in the Journal of Youth and Adolescence, used data from a long-running Oregon study of 1,074 students (50 percent female) and their parents, all of whom self-reported on levels of parent-child conflict in their families during grades 1-5.

“…having a sense of purpose is clearly something beyond just being satisfied with your life or not feeling stressed.”

Children and parents responded to true-or-false statements about their interactions, such as “We joke around often,” “We never have fun together,” or “We enjoy the talks we have.” Other questions asked whether “We get angry at each other” at least once a day, three times a week, or “a lot.”

Follow-up surveys, which included questions on life satisfaction and perceived stress, repeated until the students reached early adulthood (ages 21-23 years).

To score sense of purpose, researchers used responses to statements such as “There is a direction in my life,” “My plans for the future match with my true interests and values,” “I know which direction I am going to follow in my life,” and “My life is guided by a set of clear commitments.”

Other questions focused on life satisfaction and perceived stress: In the past month, how often have you felt that you were unable to control the important things in your life, confident about your ability to handle your personal problems, that things were going your way, or that difficulties were piling up so high that you could not overcome them?

Path with purpose

The researchers used the data set to link what children thought of their relationships with their parents to their attitudes about purpose in life as they were starting to enter adulthood.

“A growing body of literature shows that having a sense of purpose is clearly something beyond just being satisfied with your life or not feeling stressed,” says coauthor Leah Schultz, a psychological and brain sciences doctoral student.

“With our design, we were able to disentangle these outcomes and see the direct relationship between parent conflict and sense of purpose. In this study, we were able to look at factors of the parent-child relationship, like how much parents and children experience conflict.

“But it will be important for researchers to understand, specifically, how are parents demonstrating the value of a purposeful life? How are they helping children to define and pursue their own purposeful paths? Understanding the content of those conversations can help us all understand how conversations matter to the children in our lives.”

Additional coauthors are from Washington University in St. Louis and the Oregon Research Institute.

Source: Washington University in St. Louis

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=child development;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)