يتعاطى الطلاب المخدرات ولماذا

يتعاطى الطلاب المخدرات ولماذا
شترستوك

بالنسبة للعديد من الطلاب ، فإن الانتقال إلى الجامعة هو أول مرة يعيش فيها بعيداً عن المنزل. ومع كل الحريات التي يستتبعها العيش المستقل ، قد لا يكون من المستغرب إذن أن يكون استخدام المخدرات أعلى بكثير بين الطلاب من عموم السكان.

2017 Crime Survey of England and Wales وجدت أن حوالي واحد من كل خمسة بالغين في عمر 16 إلى 24 تناولوا دواءً في العام الماضي - لكن الرقم أعلى بكثير بالنسبة لطلاب الجامعات. حوالي اثنين من كل خمسة طلاب من متعاطي المخدرات ، وفقا ل دراسة من الاتحاد الوطني للطلاب.

أكثر المخدرات شعبية هي الحشيش والكوكايين والنشوة ، ولكن ارتفاع العقاقير الطبية - المدرجة في مسح الجريمة لمسح انجلترا وويلز لأول مرة في 2015 - يمثل تطور جدير بالملاحظة في المخدرات الناس باستخدام ذخيرة.

لمحاولة التعامل مع قضية انتشار تعاطي المخدرات على نطاق واسع في جامعات المملكة المتحدة ، تقوم جامعة واحدة بفرض سياسة خالية من المخدرات بين طلابها. في الرسالة الحديثة وقد أعلن نائب رئيس جامعة باكنغهام ، السير أنتوني سيلدون ، الذي طبع في صحيفة صنداي تايمز ، أن الجامعة ستصبح أول جامعة في المملكة المتحدة تطلب من الطلاب التوقيع على عقد يعد بعدم تعاطي المخدرات في ممتلكات الجامعة.

إن أخذ المخدرات ليس له مكان على الإطلاق في رؤيتنا لما تدور حوله الجامعة. إذا استمر الطلاب في تعاطي المخدرات ، فسوف يُطلب منهم المغادرة.

قد يبدو هذا جيداً وجيداً ، لكن هذا النوع من الحملات المقترحة على تعاطي المخدرات من المرجح أن يؤدي إلى تفاقم التوتر بين الطلاب. كما سيعني ذلك أن الطلاب سيكونون أكثر عرضة لإخفاء تعاطي المخدرات وأقل احتمال مناقشة أي مخاوف تتعلق بالمخدرات مع الموظفين أو الأقران.

ضغوط الصف

جزء من المشكلة هو أن الطلاب لا يستخدمون المخدرات فقط ليخرجوا ليلاً. بعيداً عن أن تُستخدم لأسباب مبدئية ، تُظهِر الأبحاث أن العديد من التلاميذ يقومون بالتطبيب الذاتي للمواد للتقدم في تعليمهم. هذا هو في جزء منه بسبب زيادة رسوم الطلاب والديون تؤدي إلى زيادة الضغط على الطلاب لتحقيق درجات عالية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


A الأخيرة مسح يوجوف وجدت أن 77 ٪ من جميع الطلاب ذكرت خوفًا من الفشل - مع أن السبب الرئيسي في الضغط على الدراسة الجامعية. هذا الخوف من الفشل والرغبة في الحصول على درجات عالية يؤدي إلى استعداد بعض الطلاب لفعل أي شيء لمواكبة - باستخدام "العقاقير الذكية"مثل Modafinil و Ritalin و Adderall ، وفقا لبعض التقارير.

يتم استخدام هذه الأدوية للمساعدة في تحسين تركيز الطلاب وتركيزهم ، خاصة عند الدراسة نحو التقييمات. يدعي الطلاب أن استخدامهم يعني أنهم يستطيعون الدراسة لفترات طويلة ومكافحة التسويف والإرهاق.

العلاج الذاتي

زيادة مستويات التوتر والقلق يمكن أيضا أن تمثل الاتجاه الأخير في الشباب باستخدام المزيد من البنزوديازيبينات، لا سيما Xanax. أصبح الوصول إلى هذه الأدوية أسهل مع نمو الصيدليات غير المشروعة على الإنترنت و "الشبكة السوداء".

وقد سلط الضوء أيضا على مدى مشاكل الصحة العقلية في جامعات المملكة المتحدة مسح يوجوف. ووجدت أن أكثر من ربع الطلاب أفادوا بوجود مشكلة صحية عقلية - مع الاكتئاب والقلق الأكثر شيوعًا. ذكر ما يقرب من ثلاثة أرباع الذين شملهم الاستطلاع أن الدراسة للحصول على شهادتهم كانت أحد مصادر إجهادهم الرئيسية.

في الدراسة الأخيرة للطلاب المستندين إلى 2,810 في المملكة المتحدة، التي أجراها الاتحاد الوطني للطلاب ، والصحة العقلية ظهرت بشكل بارز كعامل توضيحي لاستخدام المخدرات. وقال ثلث الطلاب الذين تعاطوا المخدرات ، إنهم فعلوا ذلك للتعامل مع الإجهاد ، في حين قال ربعهم تقريباً إنهم يستخدمونها في العلاج الذاتي لمشكلة صحية نفسية قائمة.

ما هو الجواب؟

كل ما يبينه هذا هو أن استخدام المخدرات جزء كبير من تجربة الطلاب. وبالنظر إلى أن تناول المخدرات يحدث في الجامعات لعدد لا يحصى من الأسباب ، فإن الحظر الشامل على المواد ليس هو الحل.

يجب أن تهدف سياسات الجامعة بدلاً من ذلك إلى تقليل التأثيرات الضارة بدلاً من إدانتها وحظرها ببساطة. وهذا أمر مهم ، لأن سياسات الحظر المتشددة تزيد من الوصمة وتثبط المشاركة في خدمات الدعم.

ما هو أكثر من ذلك ، الطلاب الذين يدرسون في الجامعة غالباً ما يكونون في حالة مالية وعاطفية ضعيفة. وتضطر الجامعات إلى رعاية ضمان أن طلابها مدعومون بشكل مناسب ، بدلاً من معاقبتهم.

عن المؤلفين

روبرت رالفز ، القارئ في علم الجريمة ، جامعة مانشستر متروبوليتان. مايك ساليناس ، محاضر في علم الجريمة ، جامعة مانشستر متروبوليتانريبيكا أسكو ، المحاضر الأقدم في علم الإجرام (استخدام المخدرات غير المشروعة والمخدرات) ، جامعة مانشستر متروبوليتان

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ، الكلمات الرئيسية = العقاقير المخدرة ، البالغين ، الحد الأقصى = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

The Drugs Students Are Taking And Why

students

The Drugs Students Are Taking And Why
shutterstock

For many students, the move away to university is the first time living away from home. And with all the freedoms independent living entails, it’s maybe not surprising then that drug use tends to be much higher among students than the general population.

The 2017 Crime Survey of England and Wales found that around one in five adults age 16 to 24 have taken a drug in the past year – but the figure is much higher for university students. About two in five students are drug users, according to a study from the National Union of Students.

The most popular drugs are cannabis, cocaine and ecstasy, but the rise in prescription drugs – included in the Crime Survey for England and Wales survey for the first time in 2015 – represents a noteworthy development in peoples’ drug using repertoires.

To try and deal with the issue of widespread drug use at UK universities, one university is enforcing a drug-free policy among its students. In a recent letter printed in the Sunday Times, the University of Buckingham’s vice chancellor, Sir Anthony Seldon, announced that the university was set to become the first in the UK to ask students to sign a contract promising not to take drugs on university property.

Drug taking has no place at all in our vision of what a university is about. If students persist in taking drugs, they will be asked to leave.

This might sound all well and good, but this type of proposed crackdown on drug use is likely to exacerbate stress among students. It will also mean that students will be more likely to hide drug use and less likely to discuss any drug concerns with staff or peers.

Grade pressures

Part of the problem is that students aren’t just using drugs to get high on nights out. Far from being used for hedonistic reasons, research shows many students are self medicating with substances to progress in their education. This is in part because increased student fees and debt are leading to greater pressure on students to achieve high grades.

A recent YouGov survey found that 77% of all students reported a fear of failure – with their primary cause of stress being university studies. This fear of failure and desire to attain high grades leads to a willingness among some students to do anything to keep up – using “smart drugs” such as Modafinil, Ritalin and Adderall, according to some reports.

These prescription medications are used to help improve students’ concentration and focus, particularly when studying toward assessments. Students claim that using them means they can study for long periods and combat procrastination and exhaustion.

Self medicating

Increased levels of stress and anxiety may also account for the recent trend in young people using more benzodiazepines, particularly Xanax. Access to these drugs has been made easier with the growth in online illicit pharmacies and the “dark web”.

The extent of mental health problems in UK universities was also highlighted in the YouGov survey. It found that over a quarter of students reported having a mental health problem – with depression and anxiety the most common. Almost three-quarters of those surveyed stated that studying for their degree was one of their main sources of stress.

In a recent study of 2,810 UK-based students, conducted by the National Union of Students, mental health featured prominently as an explanatory factor for drug use. One-third of students who used drugs, said they had done so to deal with stress, while almost a quarter said they use them to self medicate for an existing mental health problem.

What’s the answer?

What all this shows is that drug use is very much a part of the student experience. And, given that drug taking happens at universities for a myriad of reasons, a blanket ban on substances is not the answer.

University policies should instead aim to minimise harmful effects rather than simply condemn and prohibit them. This is important, because hard-line prohibitionist policies increase stigma and discourage engagement with support services.

What’s more, students studying at university are often in vulnerable financial and emotional states. And universities have a duty of care to ensure their students are appropriately supported, rather than punished.

About The Authors

Robert Ralphs, Reader in Criminology, Manchester Metropolitan University; Mike Salinas, Lecturer in Criminology, Manchester Metropolitan University, and Rebecca Askew, Senior Lecturer in Criminology (Illicit substance use and drug policy), Manchester Metropolitan University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Healing Your Grieving Heart for Teens: 100 Practical Ideas (Healing Your Grieving Heart series)
studentsAuthor: Alan D. Wolfelt PhD
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Companion Press
List Price: $11.95

Buy Now

Cover-up: Mystery at the Super Bowl
studentsAuthor: John Feinstein
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Yearling
List Price: $7.99

Buy Now

Beautifully Damaged: Book 1
studentsAuthor: Aleks Mitchell
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now

students
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}