لماذا النساء الحوامل مع الاكتئاب غالبا ما تنزلق من خلال الشقوق

لماذا النساء الحوامل مع الاكتئاب غالبا ما تنزلق من خلال الشقوقواحد في 7 تعاني النساء من الاكتئاب حول الحمل. Lopolo / shutterstock.com

تم التخطيط لحمل جودي الأول ، وكانت تتطلع إلى إنجاب طفل. ومع ذلك ، في منتصف فترة الحمل ، تغير شيء ما. بدأت تشعر بالسوء والسوء عن نفسها. كانت لديها طاقة أقل وكافحت للتركيز. بالتفكير في أن هذا جزء طبيعي من الحمل ، تجاهلت ذلك.

بعد أن سلمت ابنها ، ازداد الأمر سوءًا. شعرت كما لو أنها كانت في ثقب أسود من الحزن. وكثيرا ما أعطت ابنها لأمها ، ظنا منه أنه أفضل حالا بدونها. لم يكن ذلك إلا بعد عام ونصف ، عندما خرجت من الاكتئاب من تلقاء نفسها ، أنها أدركت أنها لم تكن هي نفسها.

جودي هي شخصية مركّبة ، تستند إلى آلاف النساء اللواتي كنّا نعتني بها أو نلتقي بها أثناء عملنا السريري وأبحاثنا. توضح قصتها التأثير العميق الذي يمكن أن يحدثه الاكتئاب على الأمهات وأطفالهن.

يمكن أن يكون إنجاب طفل يشكل تحديًا استثنائيًا. النساء عرضة للتغيرات العاطفية أثناء الحمل والسنة بعد الولادة. في الواقع ، والاكتئاب هو المضاعفات الأكثر شيوعا من الحمل. لكن النساء في كثير من الأحيان على الاطلاق أي فكرة لديهم الاكتئاب، ولا أحد في دائرة نفوذهم ، بما في ذلك مقدمي الخدمات الطبية.

نعتقد أن هناك فرصة ضائعة للتصدي للاكتئاب في التوليدات وطب الأطفال: الإعدادات التي تشاهد فيها النساء غالبًا أثناء الحمل والسنة التالية للولادة. غالبًا ما تغرق نساء مثل جودي في مرضهن ، دون أن يتكلمن أحد بهن عن إمكانية الاكتئاب. كيف ولماذا يسمح نظام الرعاية الصحية بحدوث ذلك؟

الاكتئاب غير المعالج

واحد في 7 النساء تجربة الاكتئاب خلال فترة الحمل وبعد الولادة. الاكتئاب يؤثر سلبا على الأمهات والأطفال والأسر. يمكن أن تؤثر نتائج الولادة, الطريقة التي ترتبط بها الأمهات مع أطفالهن ويمكن أن تؤثر الصحة العقلية للأطفال في وقت لاحق في الحياة.

عندما لا يعالج ، يمكن أن يؤدي الاكتئاب إلى نتائج مأساوية ، بما في ذلك الانتحار أو قتل الأطفال. حقيقة، الانتحار هو السبب الرئيسي للوفاة بين النساء بعد الولادة مع الاكتئاب.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


هذا المرض هو أيضا مكلف. حالة واحدة من الاكتئاب غير المعالج يقدر أن تكلف أكثر دولار أمريكي 22,000 سنويًا لكل زوج الأم والطفل.

على الرغم من كونه مرضًا شائعًا له تأثيرات سلبية عميقة ، فإن معظم حالات الاكتئاب بين النساء الحوامل والنساء بعد الولادة لا يتم التعرف عليها أو عدم معالجتها. من 4 مليون امرأة تلد في الولايات المتحدة كل عام ، فإن نسبة 14 في المائة ستصاب بالاكتئاب. على الأقل 80 في المئة لن تحصل على العلاج بشكل عام.

لم يكن هناك تاريخياً أي نظام للكشف عن الاكتئاب أو مساعدة النساء في الحصول على الرعاية. لكن الجمعيات المهنية و صناع القرار تبدأ في التوصية بالعروض ، في حين الممارسات الطبية بدأت ل دمج الاكتئاب في رعاية التوليد والأطفال.

هذه خطوة أولى رائعة. ومع ذلك ، لا يكفي الفحص. بعد الفحص ، يجب أن يضمن النظام الصحي حصول النساء على التشخيص المناسب والعلاج المناسب. لسوء الحظ، العديد من مقدمي الخدمات غير مدربين أو مجهزين بالموارد المناسبة لمساعدة النساء المصابات بالاكتئاب ، أو قد تكون مترددة للقيام بذلك.

MCPAP للامهات

استجابة لهذه الحاجة ، يعمل فريقنا على دمج الاكتئاب في رعاية التوليد في ولايتنا.

. برنامج ماساتشوسيتس الطفل للطب النفسي للأمهات، التي أطلقت في يوليو 2014 ، تساعد مقدمي الخدمات الطبية في الخطوط الأمامية على علاج الاكتئاب وغيره من مشكلات الصحة العقلية بين النساء الحوامل وبعد الولادة.

يوفر برنامج MCPAP for Moms التدريب ومجموعات الأدوات لمقدمي الخدمات ، بالإضافة إلى الاستشارة الهاتفية وجهاً لوجه. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن لمقدم جودي للتوليد أن يتصل بـ MCPAP من أجل الأمهات والتحدث إلى طبيب نفسي للحصول على إرشادات حول كيفية العلاج ، وبالتشاور ، لاتخاذ قرار بشأن خطة العلاج التي من شأنها أن تشمل العلاج. كما تقدم MCPAP for Moms الموارد مباشرة إلى النساء اللواتي يعانين من رعاية صحية نفسية مستمرة.

يمكن لكل مزود في Massachusetts الوصول إلى خدماتنا مجانًا. يتم تمويل MCPAP للامهات من خلال وزارة MA للصحة العقلية. كما يقدم الوصول إلى رعاية الصحة العقلية إلى النساء الحوامل وبعد الولادة في ولاية ماساتشوستس لأقل من $ 1 شهريا لكل امرأة. نحن الآن بصدد تقييم كيفية تأثير البرنامج على النتائج الخاصة بأكثر من مرضى 4,000 الذين يتم تقديمهم مباشرة منذ الإطلاق.

المحادثةوتبدأ ولايتان أخريان ، واشنطن وويسكونسن ، برامج مثل MCPAP for Moms ، ويسعى آخرون إلى 17 للحصول على التمويل. مثير للغاية ، الميزانية الفيدرالية للعام القادم يتضمن منح أموال لدول أخرى لإنشاء مثل هذه البرامج. نحن نتصور نظام الرعاية الصحية حيث جميع مقدمي الرعاية للنساء الحوامل وبعد الولادة مسلحين بالموارد التي يحتاجونها لدعم النساء المصابات بالاكتئاب.

نبذة عن الكاتب

تيفاني مور سيماس ، أستاذ مشارك في طب التوليد وأمراض النساء وطب الأطفال ، جامعة ماساتشوستس كلية الطب ونانسي بايت ، أستاذ مشارك في الطب النفسي والتوليد وأمراض النساء ، جامعة ماساتشوستس كلية الطب

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = الكساد، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why Pregnant Women With Depression Often Slip Through The Cracks

depression

Why Pregnant Women With Depression Often Slip Through The CracksOne in 7 women suffer depression around pregnancy. Lopolo/shutterstock.com

Judy’s first pregnancy was planned, and she was looking forward to having a baby. Yet, halfway through the pregnancy, something changed. She began to feel down and bad about herself. She had less energy and struggled to concentrate. Thinking this was a normal part of pregnancy, she ignored it.

After she delivered her son, it all got worse. She felt as if she was in a black hole of sadness. She often gave her son to her mother, thinking he was better off without her. It wasn’t until a year and a half later, when she came out of the depression on her own, that she realized that she had not been herself.

Judy is a composite figure, based on the thousands of women for whom we have cared for or met during our clinical work and research. Her story demonstrates the profound impact that depression can have on mothers and their children.

Having a baby can be extraordinarily challenging. Women are extremely vulnerable to emotional changes during pregnancy and the year after delivery. In fact, depression is the most common complication of pregnancy. But women often have absolutely no idea they have depression, nor do anyone in their circle of influence, including their medical providers.

We believe there’s a missed opportunity to address depression in obstetric and pediatric settings: settings in which women are seen often during pregnancy and the year after birth. Women like Judy often drown in their illness, without anyone ever speaking to them about the possibility of depression. How and why does the health care system let this happen?

Untreated depression

One in 7 women experience depression during pregnancy and after birth. Depression negatively impacts mothers, children and families. It can affect birth outcomes, the way moms bond with their baby and can affect children’s mental health later in life.

When untreated, depression can also lead to tragic outcomes, including suicide or infanticide. In fact, suicide is the leading cause of death among postpartum women with depression.

This illness is also costly. One case of untreated depression is estimated to cost over US$22,000 annually per mother and baby pair.

Despite being a common illness with profound negative effects, most depression among pregnant and postpartum women goes unrecognized and untreated. Of the 4 million women who give birth in the U.S. every year, about 14 percent will experience depression. At least 80 percent will not generally get treatment.

There’s historically been no system in place to detect depression or help women get care. But professional societies and policymakers are starting to recommend screenings, while medical practices are beginning to integrate depression into obstetric and pediatric care.

This is a great first step. However, screening is not enough. After screening, the health system must ensure women get appropriately diagnosed and treated. Unfortunately, many providers aren’t trained or equipped with the proper resources to help women with depression, or may be reluctant to do so.

MCPAP for Moms

In response to this need, our team is working on integrating depression into obstetric care in our state.

Our Massachusetts Child Psychiatry Access Program for Moms, launched in July 2014, helps front line medical providers screen for and treat depression and other mental health concerns among pregnant and postpartum women.

MCPAP for Moms provides training and toolkits for providers, as well as telephone and face-to-face psychiatric consultation. For example, Judy’s obstetric provider could call MCPAP for Moms and talk to a psychiatrist to get guidance on how to treat, and with consultation, decide on a treatment plan that would include therapy. MCPAP for Moms also offers resources directly to women with ongoing mental health care.

Every provider in Massachusetts can access our services free of charge. MCPAP for Moms is funded through the MA Department of Mental Health. It also offers access to mental health care to pregnant and postpartum women in Massachusetts for less than $1 per month per woman. We are now evaluating how the program has affected outcomes for the more than 4,000 patients directly served since launch.

The ConversationTwo other states, Washington and Wisconsin, are starting programs like MCPAP for Moms, and 17 others are seeking funding. Especially exciting, next year’s federal budget includes grant money for other states to establish such programs. We envision a health care system where all providers caring for pregnant and postpartum women are armed with the resources they need to support women with depression.

About The Author

Tiffany Moore Simas, Associate Professor of Obstetrics-Gynecology and Pediatrics, University of Massachusetts Medical School and Nancy Byatt, Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Obstetrics & Gynecology, University of Massachusetts Medical School

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Upward Spiral: Using Neuroscience to Reverse the Course of Depression, One Small Change at a Time
depressionAuthor: Alex Korb PhD
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: New Harbinger Publications
List Price: $17.95

Buy Now

The Depression Cure: The 6-Step Program to Beat Depression without Drugs
depressionAuthor: Stephen S. Ilardi
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Da Capo Lifelong Books
List Price: $15.99

Buy Now

How to Be Happy (Or at Least Less Sad): A Creative Workbook
depressionAuthor: Lee Crutchley
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: TarcherPerigee
List Price: $14.95

Buy Now

depression
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}