طب الأطفال ليسوا متأكدين إذا كان طفلك هو مجرد Crabby

طب الأطفال ليسوا متأكدين إذا كان طفلك هو مجرد Crabby

توصلت دراسة حديثة إلى أن مقدمي الرعاية الأولية وأطباء الأطفال قد يكونون أقل ثقة من الأطباء النفسيين من الأطفال والمراهقين في قدرتهم على معرفة ما إذا كانت التهيج في المرضى الصغار أمرًا طبيعيًا أو يمكن ربطه بمشاكل صحية عقلية أعمق.

علاوة على ذلك ، وجد الباحثون في دراستهم أن مقدمي الرعاية الأولية وأطباء الأطفال كانوا أكثر ميلاً لوصف الأدوية عندما اعتقدوا أن هناك مشكلة ، في حين كان الأطباء النفسيون أكثر عرضة للبدء بالعلاج السلوكي.

أكثر من الكآبة

بسبب القضايا والتحديات التي يواجهها الأطفال ، مثل البلطجة ، من المهم لمقدمي الرعاية الصحية أن يكونوا قادرين على تحديد الأطفال والمراهقين الذين تتجاوز مشكلاتهم المزاجية المعتادة ، كما تقول آنا سكاندينارو ، وهي طالبة في كلية الطب في ولاية بنسلفانيا. قد يكون المزيد من التعليم لهؤلاء مقدمي الخدمة مكانًا جيدًا للبدء.

"علينا أن نبدأ في السؤال عما إذا كان هناك أي شيء يمكننا القيام به لمنع حدوث هذه الأشياء" ، كما تقول. "هناك الكثير من القلق في الوقت الراهن حول الصحة العقلية للأطفال ، وأردنا أن نقارن كيف يمارس ممارسون مختلفون محاولتهم لمعرفة من يمر بالتهيج الطبيعي والذين قد يستفيدون من العلاج الإضافي".

إن التهيج هو جزء طبيعي من نمو الطفل ، لكنه يمكن أن يكون أيضًا أحد أعراض اضطرابات الصحة العقلية مثل اضطراب خلل اضطراب المزاج. قد يكون من الصعب على الأطباء أن يميزوا الفرق بين التهيج الحاد - أي المراهق الغاضب لبضعة أيام لأنه قد تأثر ، على سبيل المثال - والتهيج المزمن ، الذي قد يشير إلى مشاكل محتملة في الصحة العقلية.

الآباء: اتبع أمعائك

قام الباحثون بتوظيف مشاركين للدراسة من مركز طبي أكاديمي كبير وشملوا طب الأسرة ، ومقدمي خدمات طب الأطفال ، والطب النفسي. أجرى الباحثون مقابلات مع مزودي 17 حول كيفية تعريفهم للتهيج في المرضى في سن المدرسة ، وكيف يقيّمون التهيج ، وكيف يميزون بين التهيج الطبيعي وغير الطبيعي ، من بين أسئلة أخرى.

"وجدنا أن أطباء طب الأسرة وأطباء الأطفال يشعرون وكأنهم لا يملكون الموارد والتدريب الذي يحتاجونه لتقييم التهيج بشكل فعال في محيط العيادة ، خاصة في الوقت المحدود الذي لديهم" ، يقول إسكندينارو.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"لكن في الوقت نفسه ، هناك نقص وطني في الأطباء النفسيين للأطفال والمراهقين ، مما يزيد من الحاجة إلى أن يكون مقدمو الرعاية الأولية أكثر راحة في تحديد من يحتاج إلى رؤية أخصائي. وعلى الرغم من أن الدراسة كانت أولية ، إلا أنها تظهر أننا بحاجة إلى تحسين التعليم لمقدمي الرعاية الأولية ".

علاوة على ذلك ، في حين أن مقدمي خدمات طب الأسرة يبحثون عن القلق والمشاكل في المدرسة كأعراض للتهيج ، يميل الأطباء النفسانيون إلى التحقق مما إذا كان الأطفال قد أظهروا مزاجًا سلبيًا أو صعوبة في التعامل مع الإحباط. كما أفاد مقدمو الرعاية الأسرية أنهم مرتاحون لوصف الأدوية ولكنهم على الأرجح سيحيلون المرضى إلى أخصائي إذا كانوا بحاجة إلى أدوية وعلاج أقوى.

يتفق جميع المشاركين على أن قلة الوقت مع المرضى ، بالإضافة إلى بعض الإرشادات الملموسة حول ما يميز التهيج وكيفية علاجه ، يجعل تشخيص المرضى أكثر صعوبة.

النتائج التي تظهر في رفيق الرعاية الأولية لاضطرابات الجهاز العصبي المركزي، تشير إلى أن مقدمي الرعاية الأولية قد لا يكونوا واثقين من تقييم التهيج ، على الرغم من أن غالبية الأطفال يتلقون رعاية الصحة النفسية في إطار الرعاية الأولية ، وفقا للمعهد الوطني للصحة العقلية.

يقول إسكندينارو إن التدريب الإضافي والتعليم قد يساعدان مقدمي الرعاية الأولية وأطباء الأطفال على اكتساب المزيد من الثقة في تشخيص مرضاهم الأصغر سنا.

"يمكن أن تتمثل الخطوة التالية المحتملة في إنشاء أداة تعليمية يمكن استخدامها كطريقة سريعة لمقدمي الرعاية الأولية للمساعدة في تقييم المريض ومساعدتهم على تقرير ما إذا كان الأمر يتعلق بالتهيج الطبيعي أو شيء يتطلب منهم رؤية طبيب متخصص".

من المهم أيضًا أن يتبع الوالدين أمعائهم عندما يلاحظون شيئًا يبدو خطأً مع أطفالهم ، ويجب عليهم دائمًا التحدث إلى طبيبهم إذا كانوا مهتمين.

"إذا كنت تعتقد أن هناك شيئًا ما يحدث ، اجعله أولوية للتحدث مع طبيبك حول هذا الموضوع. لا تخف من ذكر ذلك إذا كان هناك شيء يبدو غير صحيح. لا تعني التهيج دائمًا أن الطفل مصاب باضطراب ثنائي القطب أو يعاني من مرض عقلي حاد ، ولا يلزم دائمًا أن يكون الدواء هو الخيار الأول. لكن من المهم التحدث عن ذلك ".

كما شارك في هذا البحث كل من عثمان حميد ، الأستاذ المساعد في الطب النفسي ، وشيريل أ. ديلاسيغا ، أستاذ الطب والعلوم الإنسانية. ساعدت جائزة مبادرة البحث النوعي في تمويل العمل.

مصدر: ولاية بنسلفانيا

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = moody kids؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Pediatricians Aren’t Sure If Your Kid Is Just Being Crabby

parenting

Pediatricians Aren’t Sure If Your Kid Is Just Being Crabby

Primary care providers and pediatricians may be less confident than child and adolescent psychiatrists in their ability to tell whether irritability in young patients is normal or could be linked to deeper mental health issues, a new study suggests.

Further, in their study, researchers found that primary care providers and pediatricians were more likely to prescribe medications when they thought there was a problem, while psychiatrists were more likely to start with behavioral therapy.

More than moodiness

Because of the issues and challenges that children face, such as bullying, it’s important for health care providers to be able to identify children and adolescents whose problems go deeper than typical moodiness, says Anna Scandinaro, a medical student at Penn State College of Medicine. More education for these providers may be a good place to start.

“We need to start asking if there’s anything we can do to prevent these things from happening,” she says. “There’s a lot of concern right now about children’s mental health, and we wanted to compare how different practitioners go about trying to figure out who’s going through normal irritability and who may benefit from additional treatment.”

Irritability is a normal part of a child’s development, but it can also be a symptom of mental health disorders like disruptive mood dysregulation disorder. It can be difficult for doctors to tell the difference between acute irritability—an adolescent being grumpy for a few days because he was grounded, for example—and chronic irritability, which could signal possible problems with mental health.

Parents: Follow your gut

Researchers recruited participants for the study from a large, academic medical center and included family medicine, pediatric, and psychiatry providers. Researchers interviewed 17 providers about how they define irritability in their school-age patients, how they evaluate irritability, and how they differentiate between normal and abnormal irritability, among other questions.

“We found that family medicine physicians and pediatricians feel as though they don’t have the resources and the training they need to effectively evaluate irritability in the clinic setting, especially in the limited amount of time that they have,” Scandinaro says.

“But at the same time, there is a national shortage of child and adolescent psychiatrists, increasing the need for primary care providers to be more comfortable in determining who needs to see a specialist. So even though the study was preliminary, it shows we need to improve education for primary care providers.”

Further, while family medicine providers looked for anxiety and problems in school as symptoms of irritability, psychiatrists tended to check if children exhibited a negative mood or a hard time dealing with frustration. Family care providers also reported being comfortable prescribing medications but would be more likely to refer patients to a specialist if they needed stronger medications and treatment.

All the participants agree that a lack of time with patients, as well as few concrete guidelines about what defines irritability and how to treat it, makes diagnosing patients more difficult.

The findings, which appear in Primary Care Companion for CNS Disorders, suggest that primary care providers may not be confident evaluating irritability, even though the majority of children receive mental health care in a primary care setting, according to the National Institute of Mental Health.

Additional training and education may help primary care providers and pediatricians  gain more confidence in diagnosing their younger patients, Scandinaro says.

“A possible next step could be to create an educational tool that could be used as a quick way for primary care providers to help evaluate their patient and to help them decide if it’s normal irritability or something that requires them to see a specialist.”

It’s also important for parents to follow their gut when they notice something that seems wrong with their child, and they should always talk to their doctor if concerned.

“If you think that something is going on, make it a priority to talk to your doctor about it. Don’t be afraid to mention it if something seems not to be right. Irritability doesn’t always mean that the child is bipolar or has a severe mental illness, and medication doesn’t always have to be the first option. But it’s important to talk about it.”

Usman Hameed, assistant professor of psychiatry, and Cheryl A. Dellasega, professor of medicine and humanities, also participated in the research. A Qualitative Research Initiative Award helped fund the work.

Source: Penn State

Related Books

Judy Moody es detective / Judy Moody, Girl Detective (Spanish Edition)
parentingAuthor: Megan McDonald
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Alfaguara Infantil
List Price: $7.95

Buy Now

Judy Moody: Está de mal humor / Judy Moody Was In a Mood (Spanish Edition)
parentingAuthor: Megan McDonald
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Alfaguara Infantil
List Price: $7.95

Buy Now

¡Judy Moody salva el planeta! (Spanish Edition)
parentingAuthor: Megan McDonald
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Alfaguara Infantil
List Price: $7.95

Buy Now

parenting
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}