Tradwives: Die Frauen, die nach einer einfacheren Vergangenheit suchen, aber in der neoliberalen Gegenwart verankert sind

Tradwives: Die Frauen, die nach einer einfacheren Vergangenheit suchen, aber in der neoliberalen Gegenwart verankert sind Trad Ehefrauen fühlen sich zu Retro-Bildern von Frauen aus den 1950er Jahren als „glückliche Hausfrauen“ hingezogen. Flikr, CC BY-SA

Alena Petitt, ein bekannter Autor und Lifestyle-Blogger, ist zum britischen Gesicht der „Tradwife“ -Bewegung geworden, die eng mit dem Hashtag #TradWife verbunden ist. Die Bewegung geht auf eine frühere Ära zurück und ermutigt Frauen, sich an traditionellen häuslichen Pflichten zu erfreuen und gleichzeitig weibliche Unterwürfigkeit, Häuslichkeit und Ehefrau zu fördern.

In einem BBC-Clip erklärt Petitt, dass es ihre Aufgabe ist, sich ihrem Ehemann zu unterwerfen, ihm zu dienen und ihn zu verwöhnen. “als wäre es 1959".

Schreiben auf ihrer Website, Die Darling AcademySie fügt hinzu, dass sich viele Frauen nach einem „Gefühl der Zugehörigkeit, der Heimat und der Ursprünglichkeit“ sehnen und sich daher dafür entscheiden, Hausfrauen zu werden, bei denen „Ehemänner immer an erster Stelle stehen müssen“.

Angesichts der Verherrlichung der traditionellen Weiblichkeit wird die Tradwife-Bewegung in den Medien häufig als Gegenreaktion gegen den Feminismus dargestellt. Dies ist in Nachrichten zu sehen, in denen erbitterte Meinungsverschiedenheiten bestehen feministische Kritiker und Frauen, die eine Tradwife-Identität annehmen.

Eine Wahl wie jede andere

Diese Betonung von „Tradwives vs Feminists“ ist leider vorhersehbar. Es passt zu dem allzu vertrauten Trumpf des „Catfighting“, der so oft charakterisiert wird Gespräche über feministische Politik in den Medien. Diese Formulierung, witzig oder unwissentlich, identifiziert den Feminismus als das Problem und ignoriert die größeren strukturellen Probleme, um die es geht.

Anstatt nur eine Gegenreaktion gegen den Feminismus zu sein, muss das Phänomen der Tradwife als Symptom und Reaktion auf die zunehmende Unsicherheit unserer Zeit verstanden werden.

Gewerbetreibende verwenden häufig die Sprache ihrer Wahl. Sie beschreiben ihre Entscheidung, das Laufband der Arbeit zu verlassen, als „wahre Berufung“, Hausfrauen, Mütter und Frauen zu sein. Aber selbst die privatesten Entscheidungen - wie die Entscheidung, eine Karriere zu verlassen und eine Vollzeit-Hausfrau zu werden - werden immer unter strukturellen Einschränkungen getroffen. Wie einer von uns (Shani) im Buch zeigt Heading HomeDiese Entscheidungen sind immer von sozialen, kulturellen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Bedingungen geprägt.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Viele der Frauen in Frauengruppen diskutieren über die Anstrengung, in anspruchsvollen Jobs zu arbeiten, und über die Schwierigkeit, nach Hause zu kommen, wie der amerikanische Schriftsteller Arlie Hochschild es berühmt genannt hat. die zweite Schicht. Dies beinhaltet die Betreuung von Kindern und Hausarbeiten sowie die Betreuung älterer Familienmitglieder.

Petitt selbst erzählt, wie sie Anfang zwanzig eine motivierte Karrierefrau war. Eine andere sich selbst identifizierende Händlerin, Jenny Smith (Pseudonym), erzählt von langen Arbeitstagen als Finanzadministrator, bevor sich der Kurs dramatisch ändert.

Die derzeitige toxische Arbeitskultur muss als Schlüsselfaktor für den Aufstieg dieser Retro-Bewegung verstanden werden. Wie Überlastungsarbeitskultur ist üblich geworden In vielen Industrieländern waren es auch Regierungen lebenswichtige Ressourcen abschneiden das hilft, Familien und Gemeinschaften zu unterstützen. In Kombination mit fest verankerten geschlechtsspezifischen sozialen Normen liegt die Pflegebelastung überproportional bei den Frauen. Selbst relativ privilegierte Frauen finden es daher schwierig, dem populären feministischen Ideal von „Work-Life-Balance".

Obwohl die Tradwife-Bewegung auf den ersten Blick zutiefst im Widerspruch zu unserer Zeit zu stehen scheint - insbesondere im Zuge von Bewegungen wie MeToo und TimesUp -, ist sie doch ein Produkt des gegenwärtigen Moments. Die Entscheidungen von Frauen, die sich als Händlerinnen identifizieren, können als ganz persönlich dargestellt werden. Sie sind jedoch untrennbar mit der tiefgreifenden Krise von Arbeit und Pflege im neoliberalen Kapitalismus verbunden.

Kontrolle erlangen

Wir leben in einer Zeit, in der normative Geschlechterrollen und dominante Vorstellungen von Sexualität nicht nur in Frage gestellt wurden, sondern sich im Wandel befinden. Daher kann die Wiederbehauptung einer eng definierten Version der Weiblichkeit für einige Frauen eine Möglichkeit sein, ein Gefühl der Kontrolle über ihr Leben zu erlangen.

Sieh diesen Beitrag auf Instagram

Das Chaos aufräumen ♥ ️ Erstens fühlte sich dieses Fotoshooting furchtbar schmutzig an - ich schwöre, ich habe diesen Staubsauger noch nie in meinem Leben getroffen, ich musste nach Hause eilen, um mich bei meinem treuen alten Henry zu entschuldigen! 😂 Was erstaunlich ist, ist, dass MailOnline einige andere Damen gefunden hat, die auch für #TradWives die Flagge hissen! 🎉 #traditionelle Hausfrau #ApronCladArmy. 🔗 https://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-7926581/amp/How-Tradwives-sacrifice-careers-satisfy-husbands-whim.html. . . Wenn Sie hier sind, um zu kritisieren, fordere ich Sie auf, auf www.thedarlingacademy.com ein wenig mehr zu lesen, als die Presse Ihnen mitgeteilt hat. Es ist nett und höflich, sich die Zeit zu nehmen, die Lebenserfahrungen anderer kennenzulernen und zu respektieren, um sie zu verstehen. 💗. . 📸 @dailymail 👗 @vivienofholloway

Ein Beitrag geteilt von Frau Alena Kate Pettitt (@thedarlingacademy) auf

„Eine Frau zu sein, stärkt mich und hat es mir ermöglicht, die Kontrolle über mein Leben zurückzugewinnen“, erklärt er Stacey McCall. Als 33-jährige Gewerbetreibende kündigte sie ihren Job aufgrund des Drucks von ihr und ihrem Ehemann, die beide in anspruchsvollen Vollzeitjobs arbeiten.

Es ist nicht überraschend, dass die Bewegung mit den Vorstellungen von ausgerichtet ist traditionell Britizität in Großbritannien und, wie einige vorgeschlagen haben, mit der Alt-Rechten in der US. Trotz ihrer nominellen Unterschiede verbindet beide Bewegung eine ähnliche Nostalgie nach einer imaginären harmonischen nationalen Vergangenheit, die eine Form des Gender-Traditionalismus im Mittelpunkt hat.

Tradwife-Blogs und -Videos sind voller heiterer Umgebungen außerhalb der Welt der neoliberalen kapitalistischen Arbeit. Retro-Bilder von Frauen aus den 1950er Jahren als „glückliche Hausfrauen“ gibt es zuhauf. Paradoxerweise hängt diese nostalgische Rückkehr zu einer einfacheren und besseren Vergangenheit von den Werten ab, die sie scheinbar ablehnt.

Händlerinnen wie Alena Petitt in Großbritannien und US-Bloggerin Dixie Andelin Forsyth sind erfolgreiche Unternehmer geworden, die ihre Trad-Wifehood monetarisieren. Die Bewegung hängt im Allgemeinen von versierten Unternehmerinnen wie diesen ab, die durch ihre Social-Media-Aktivitäten, Klassen, Kurse, Ratschläge und Produkte die Trad-Wifehood als wünschenswerte Wahl und Identität befürworten und bekannt machen.

Weit davon entfernt, den neoliberalen Kapitalismus, die Welt der bezahlten Vollzeitarbeit oder sogar den feministischen Erfolg abzulehnen, ist die Tradwife-Bewegung tief in sie eingebettet und ihnen allen verpflichtet.Das Gespräch

Über den Autor

Catherine Rottenberg, außerordentliche Professorin, University of Nottingham und Shani Orgad, Professor für Medien und Kommunikation, London School of Economics and Political Science

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.


Erinnere dich an deine Zukunft
am 3. November

Uncle Sam Stil Smokey Bear Only You.jpg

Erfahren Sie mehr über die Themen und das, was bei den US-Präsidentschaftswahlen am 3. November 2020 auf dem Spiel steht.

Zu früh? Wetten Sie nicht darauf. Die Streitkräfte sind bestrebt, Sie davon abzuhalten, in Ihrer Zukunft mitzureden.

Dies ist die große und diese Wahl kann für ALLE Murmeln sein. Wenden Sie sich auf eigene Gefahr ab.

Nur Sie können zukünftigen Diebstahl verhindern

Folgen Sie InnerSelf.com's
"Erinnere dich an deine Zukunft"Berichterstattung


Geheimnisse der großen Ehen von Charlie Bloom und Linda BloomBuchempfehlung:

Geheimnisse der großen Ehen: Wahre Wahrheit von echten Paaren über dauerhafte Liebe
von Charlie Bloom und Linda Bloom.

Die Blooms destillieren echte Weisheit aus 27 außergewöhnlichen Paaren zu positiven Handlungen, die jedes Paar ergreifen kann, um nicht nur eine gute Ehe, sondern auch eine großartige zu erreichen oder wiederzuerlangen.

Für weitere Informationen oder um dieses Buch zu bestellen.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Tradwives: The Women Looking For A Simpler Past But Grounded In The Neoliberal Present

Tradwives: The Women Looking For A Simpler Past But Grounded In The Neoliberal Present Trad wives are drawn to retro 1950s images of women as “happy housewives” Flikr, CC BY-SA

Alena Petitt, a well-known author and lifestyle blogger, has become the British face of the “Tradwife” movement, closely associated with the hashtag #TradWife. The movement harks back to an earlier era, encouraging women to take pleasure in traditional domestic duties while promoting feminine submissiveness, domesticity, and wifehood.

In a BBC clip, Petitt explains that her role is to submit to, serve, and spoil her husband “like it’s 1959”.

Writing on her website, The Darling Academy, she adds that many women crave a “sense of belonging and home and quaintness,” and therefore choose to become homemakers where “husbands must always come first”.

Given its glorification of traditional femininity, the Tradwife movement is often framed in the media as a backlash against feminism. This can been seen in news stories featuring bitter disagreements between feminist critics and women who embrace a tradwife identity.

A choice as much as any

This emphasis on “tradwives vs feminists” is sadly predictable. It fits the all-too-familiar trope of “catfighting” so often characterising conversations about feminist politics in the media. This framing, wittingly or unwittingly, identifies feminism as the problem, ignoring the larger structural issues at stake.

Rather than simply a backlash against feminism, the tradwife phenomenon needs to be understood as a symptom of – as well as a reaction to – the increasing insecurity of our times.

Tradwives often use the language of choice. They describe their decision to step off the treadmill of work as a “true calling” to be homemakers, mothers and wives. But even the most private of choices – like deciding to leave a career and become a full-time housewife – are always made within structural constraints. As one of us (Shani) shows in the book Heading Home, these choices are always shaped by social, cultural, economic and political conditions.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Many of the women in tradwife groups discuss the strain of working in demanding jobs and the difficulty of coming home to, what the American writer Arlie Hochschild has famously called, the second shift. This includes tending to children and household chores, as well as looking after elderly family members.

Petitt herself talks about how in her early twenties she was a driven career woman. Another self-identifying tradwife, Jenny Smith (pseudonym), recounts working long days as a finance administrator before dramatically changing course.

The current toxic always-on work culture must be understood as a key factor facilitating the rise of this retro-movement. As overload work culture has become common in many developed countries, governments have also been cutting vital resources that help support families and communities. Combined with entrenched gendered social norms, the burden of care disproportionately falls on women. Even relatively privileged women therefore find it difficult to live up to the popular feminist ideal of “work-life balance”.

So although at first blush the Tradwife movement may seem profoundly at odds with our times – particularly in the wake of movements likes MeToo and TimesUp – it is very much a product of the contemporary moment. The choices made by women who identify as tradwives may be presented as entirely personal. However, they are inseparable from the profound crisis of both work and care under neoliberal capitalism.

Gaining control

We live in a time when normative gender roles and dominant notions of sexuality have not only been challenged but are in flux. As such, reasserting a narrowly defined version of femininity may be a way for some women to gain a sense of control over their lives.

View this post on Instagram

Cleaning up the mess ♥️ Firstly, this photo shoot felt terribly sordid - I swear I’ve never met that vacuum cleaner before in my life, I had to rush home to apologise to my faithful old Henry! 😂 What’s amazing is that the MailOnline found some other ladies to fly the flag for #TradWives too! 🎉 #traditionalhousewife #ApronCladArmy . 🔗 https://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-7926581/amp/How-Tradwives-sacrifice-careers-satisfy-husbands-whim.html . . . If you’re here to criticise, I urge you to go to www.thedarlingacademy.com and read a little more than what the press have fed you. It’s nice and polite to take the time to learn about and respect someone else’s life experiences in order to understand them. 💗 . . 📸 @dailymail 👗 @vivienofholloway

A post shared by Mrs Alena Kate Pettitt (@thedarlingacademy) on

“Being a tradwife is empowering and has enabled me to take back control of my life,” explains Stacey McCall. A 33-year old tradwife, she quit her job due to the pressures of her and her husband both working in demanding full-time jobs.

Unsurprisingly, the movement is aligned with notions of traditional Britishness in the UK, and, as some have suggested, with the alt-right in the US. Despite their nominal differences, however, both movements are united by a similar nostalgia for an imagined harmonious national past, which has a form of gender traditionalism at its heart.

Tradwife blogs and videos are filled with serene settings outside the world of neoliberal capitalist work. Retro 1950s images of women as “happy housewives” abound. Yet paradoxically, this nostalgic return to a simpler and better past is dependent on the very values that it seemingly rejects.

Tradwives like Alena Petitt in the UK and US blogger Dixie Andelin Forsyth have become successful entrepreneurs who monetize their trad-wifehood. The movement, more generally, depends on savvy entrepreneurial women like these, who, through their social media activities, classes, courses, advice books, and products, advocate and popularise trad-wifehood as a desirable choice and identity.

Far from refusing neoliberal capitalism, the world of paid full-time labour or even what some consider feminist success, the Tradwife movement is deeply embedded in and indebted to all of them.The Conversation

About The Authors

Catherine Rottenberg, Associate Professor, University of Nottingham and Shani Orgad, Professor in Media and Communications, London School of Economics and Political Science

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


Remember Your Future
on the 3rd of November

Uncle Sam style Smokey Bear Only You.jpg

Learn about the issues and what's at stake in the November 3, 2020 US Presidential election.

Too soon? Don't bet on it. Forces are conniving to stop you from having a say in your future.

This is the big one and this election may be for ALL the marbles. Turn away at your peril.

Only You Can Prevent 'Future' Theft

Follow InnerSelf.com's
"Remember Your Future" coverage


Secrets of Great Marriages by Charlie Bloom and Linda BloomRecommended book:

Secrets of Great Marriages: Real Truth from Real Couples about Lasting Love
by Charlie Bloom and Linda Bloom.

The Blooms distill real-world wisdom from 27 extraordinary couples into positive actions any couple can take to achieve or regain not just a good marriage but a great one.

For more information or to order this book.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…