الشيخوخة في منزلك الخاصة ... هل تأخذ قرية؟

الشيخوخة في منزلك الخاصة ... هل تأخذ قرية؟

لقد سعدت مؤخراً بحضور حفل عيد ميلاد المائة من مريض سابق كنت على اتصال به لأن ذكاءها وسحرها وشخصيتها المذهلة جعلت كل من عرفها يريد أن يستمر في حياتها. بيلي أرادت احتفال محاط بأولئك الذين كانوا له معنى ، وكان المطعم مكتظا.

وكان من بين الحشود أطفالها وأحفادها وأحفادها وأبناء أختها وأبناء أختها وأبناء عمومتها وأصدقائها وجيرانها ونظيفة التنظيف والتجميل ومساعديها والتجار من المتاجر التي يرتادها وزملائها الأبرشيون وحتى رئيس الأبرشية. كان العديد من أطبائها هناك ، بالإضافة إلى معالجتها المهنية والبدنية والتنقلية المفضلة لديها. كان تحية مدهشة.

استخدمت بيلي دائرة الدعم هذه للمساعدة في تحقيق حلمها بالشيخوخة في المكان.

الشيخوخة في المكان

تعيش وحدها في منزل مزرعة في شمال ولاية نيويورك. فبالنسبة إلى جميع النوايا والمقاصد ، فإنها عمياء ، مع رؤية ضبابية للرؤية المحيطية فقط ، تسمح لها ، مع الضوء الصحيح والتكبير الضخم ، بمشاهدة أحفاد أحفادها. بمساعدة مساعد خاص بضع ساعات في اليوم ودائرة الدعم المذكورة أعلاه ، تمكنت من العمل بشكل مستقل وبقاء عضو نشط في مجتمعها.

عائلتها بعيدة ، لديها مشاكل صحية - لكنها تفعل ذلك. يعمل فريقها ، في معظم الأحيان ، مثل آلة متآكلة جيدا. تحصل على رحلات من مركز خدمة كبار المحلية إلى جميع مواعيدها. يأخذها الأصدقاء إلى الكنيسة ويخرجون من المجتمع. يأتي رجل كل أسبوع ليقرأ بريدها لها ويساعد في دفع الفواتير. يأتي مساعدها بعد ظهر كل يوم لإعداد العشاء ويساعد في الأعمال المنزلية الأسبوعية مثل غسيل الملابس وتنظيم الثلاجة وتنظيفها. تطوّع أحد المتطوعين في تحالف محلي للرعاية بمحل البقالة مرة في الأسبوع. موعد الشعر هو يوم الخميس. تأتي المرأة النظيفة مرة واحدة في الشهر.

فإنه يأخذ القرية.

دور المسنين

تشير الإحصاءات إلى أن متوسط ​​التكلفة السنوية لمنشأة معيشية بمساعدة (49,635) أو دار رعاية (131,853) يجعل هذه الخيارات باهظة مالياً بالنسبة للكثيرين. البديل السليم هو العمر بأمان في المكان. في حين أن الكثير يعتمد على الصحة البدنية والعقلية للفرد ، ونطاق فريق الرعاية ، وخدمات الدعم المتاحة ، يمكن تحقيق التقدم في العمر بتكلفة أقل بكثير. إن الفوائد النفسية - الاجتماعية للبقاء في منازلهم ، والاستمرار في النشاط الاجتماعي في مجتمعهم ، والحفاظ على العلاقات الراسخة لا تقدر بثمن.

أملي هو ذلك العمر في المكان: دليل لتعديل وتنظيم والدومي منزل أمي وأبي سوف تمكنك من إنشاء خطة استباقية لمساعدة والديك على الازدهار في منازلهم طالما أنهم يرغبون.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تذكر، انت لست وحدك. تكشف الإحصائيات الوطنية أنه على 10,000 يتحول الأشخاص إلى 65 سنًا في كل يوم ، وأن 90 بالمائة منهم يريدون البقاء في منازلهم إلى أجل غير مسمى. يمكن القيام بذلك ، وسوف تقودك المعلومات الموجودة في هذا الكتاب في رحلتك.

دعنا نعرف كيف تفعل. إن صفحتي على Facebook ، منظمة الرعاية المنظمة ، هي مكان لمشاركة التقدم والإحباطات والاقتراحات عندما نتعلم أفكارًا جديدة ونحصل على الدعم. هناك طريقة أخرى للحفاظ على أمان أبي وأبي - وأنت عاقل.

الشيخوخة في مكان في 101إضافة:

إنه لأمر مدهش كم من الوقت يستغرق بين تسليم في مخطوطة وإكمال التعديلات والمراجعات النهائية. سنة فعلا.

اليوم تحولت بيلي إلى 101 وهي لا تزال تعيش في منزلها. بشراسة مستقلة. الشيخوخة في المكان.

© 2018 by Lynda G. Shrager. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
طبع مع إذن.
نشرت من قبل بول للنشر. www.bullpub.com

المادة المصدر

العمر في المكان: دليل لتعديل وتنظيم ومنزل دور أمي وأبي
بواسطة Lynda Shrager OTR MSW

العمر في مكان: دليل لتعديل وتنظيم والدور الأم والابن من قبل Lynda Shrager OTR MSWالعمر في المكان: دليل لتعديل وتنظيم والدومي منزل أمي وأبي هو دليل خطوة بخطوة ، غرفة تلو غرفة إلى تعديلات بسيطة وغالباً ما تكون فورية يمكن أن تساعد كبار السن في جعل منازلهم أكثر أماناً وسهولة في التنقل. وهو مصمم لمساعدة كبار السن ومقدمي الرعاية على معالجة هذه التحديات الجديدة معا ، لجعل الحياة في المنزل أكثر أمنا وأكثر قابلية للإدارة.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب أو شراء نسخة كيندل.

عن المؤلف

Lynda Shrager، OTR، MSW، CAPSLynda Shrager، OTR، MSW، CAPS هو معالج مسجل معتمد من الهيئة الوطنية للعمالة ، وأخصائي اجتماعي على مستوى الماجستير وأخصائي شيخوخة معتمد (CAPS) مع خبرة أكثر من سبعة وثلاثين عاما في مجال طب الشيخوخة وأكثر من ثلاثة عشر عاما من العمل مع كبار السن في منازلهم . في 2009 Lynda أصبح كاتب عمود مميز لـ كل يوم الصحة (dailyhealth.com) ، أحد المواقع الإلكترونية الرائدة على الإنترنت للصحة الاستهلاكية على الإنترنت. تجمع ليندا بين خبرتها كمعالِجة مهنية ، وعامل اجتماعي على مستوى الماجستير ، ومنظم مهني وشيخوخة معتمدة في مكان متخصص لمتابعة شغفها في توفير الرعاية العلاجية في بيئة المريض الداخلية وتعليم مقدمي الرعاية. تعلم اكثر من خلال otherwisehealthy.com.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = الشيخوخة السعادة ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

Aging In Your Own Home... Does It Take A Village?

family

Aging In Your Own Home... Does It Take A Village?

I was delighted recently to attend the one hundredth birthday party of a former patient who I kept in touch with because her wit, charm, and amazing personality made all who knew her want to continue to be in her life. Billie wanted a celebration surrounded by those who were meaningful to her, and the restaurant was packed.

The crowd included her children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren, nieces, nephews, cousins, friends, neighbors, the cleaning woman, the beautician, her aide, merchants from shops she frequented, fellow parishioners, and even the archdeacon of the diocese. Several of her doctors were there, as well as her favorite occupational, physical, and mobility therapists. It was an amazing tribute.

Billie has used this circle of support to help fulfill her dream of aging in place.

Aging in Place

She lives alone in a ranch home in upstate New York. For all intents and purposes she is blind, with only a smidgen of peripheral vision that, with the right light and huge magnification, allows her to enjoy glimpses of her great-grandchildren. With the help of a private aide a few hours a day and the above-mentioned circle of support, she manages to function independently and remain an active, contributing member of her community.

Her family is far away, she has health issues—but she is doing it. Her team runs, for the most part, like a well-oiled machine. She gets rides from the local senior service center to all of her appointments. Friends take her to church and out socializing. A man comes every week to read her mail to her and help pay bills. Her aide comes each afternoon to prepare dinner and helps with weekly chores such as laundry, organizing the fridge, and cleaning up. A volunteer for a local caregiver coalition takes her grocery shopping once a week. The hair appointment is on Thurs­days. The cleaning woman comes once a month.

It takes a village.

Assisted Living

Statistics show that the average yearly cost of an assisted living facility ($49,635) or a nursing home ($131,853) makes these options financially prohibitive for many. The viable alternative is to safely age in place. While much depends on the physical and mental health of the individual, the scope of their care team, and available support services, aging in place can be accomplished at a significantly lower cost. The psychosocial benefits of remaining in their own home, continuing to be socially active in their community, and maintaining established rela­tionships are priceless.

My hope is that Age in Place: A Guide to Modifying, Organizing, and Decluttering Mom and Dad’s Home will enable you to create a proactive plan to help your parents thrive in their homes for as long as they desire.

Remember, you are not alone. National statistics reveal that over 10,000 people turn 65 years of age every single day, and that 90 per­cent of them want to stay in their homes indefinitely. It can be done, and the information in this book will lead you on your journey.

Let us know how you are doing. My Facebook page, the Organized Caregiver, is a place to share progress, frustrations, and suggestions as we learn new ideas and garner support. It’s there as one more way to keep mom and dad safe—and you sane.

aging in place at 101Addendum:

It is amazing how long it takes between handing in a manuscript and completing the final edits and revi­sions. A year actually.

Today Billie turned 101 and she is still living in her home. Fiercely independent. Aging in place.

©2018 by Lynda G. Shrager. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission.
Published by Bull Publishing. www.bullpub.com

Article Source

Age in Place: A Guide to Modifying, Organizing and Decluttering Mom and Dad's Home
by Lynda Shrager OTR MSW

Age in Place: A Guide to Modifying, Organizing and Decluttering Mom and Dad's Home by Lynda Shrager OTR MSWAge in Place: A Guide to Modifying, Organizing, and Decluttering Mom and Dad’s Home is a step-by-step, room-by-room guide to simple and often immediate modifications that can help seniors make their homes safer and easier to navigate. It is designed to help seniors and their caregivers address these new challenges together, to make life at home safer and more manageable.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book or purchase the Kindle version.

About the Author

Lynda Shrager, OTR, MSW, CAPS Lynda Shrager, OTR, MSW, CAPS is a registered, national board certified occupational therapist, a master’s level social worker and a Certified Aging in Place Specialist (CAPS) with more than thirty-seven years’ experience in the field of geriatrics and more than thirteen years working with seniors in their homes. In 2009 Lynda became a featured columnist for Everyday Health (everydayhealth.com), one of the country’s leading online consumer health web sites. Lynda combines her expertise as an occupational therapist, master’s level social worker, professional organizer and certified aging in place specialist to pursue her passion of providing therapeutic care in the patient’s home environment and in educating their caregivers. Learn more at otherwisehealthy.com.

Related Books

Mayo Clinic on Healthy Aging - How to Find Happiness and Vitality for a Lifetime
familyAuthor: Edward T. Creagan
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Mayo Clinic

Buy Now

The Blue Zones of Happiness: Lessons From the World's Happiest People
familyAuthor: Dan Buettner
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: National Geographic
List Price: $26.00

Buy Now

The Art of Aging: A Doctor's Prescription for Well-Being
familyAuthor: Sherwin B. Nuland
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks
List Price: $17.00

Buy Now

family
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}