La base de votre bonheur personnel: Posséder votre relation

La base de votre bonheur personnel: Posséder votre relation

Vous possédez beaucoup de choses. Au fil des ans, j'ai demandé à des centaines de personnes de répertorier toutes leurs possessions importantes, de haut en bas, et elles ont toutes invariablement des listes similaires. Les maisons, les voitures, les meubles, les stocks ... et les autres biens matériels occupent généralement un rang élevé.

Ensuite, je leur dis qu'ils ont négligé la marchandise précieuse numéro un dans leur vie. Ils me regardent généralement avec un regard vide, parce que la majorité d'entre nous ne pensent jamais à notre relation personnelle comme quelque chose qui leur appartient.

Pourquoi est-il si difficile d'accepter la vérité que vous êtes propriétaire d'une relation? Après tout, vous avez d'abord vu quelque chose que vous vouliez, avez pris des mesures pour l'obtenir, puis avez pris la décision de le garder dans votre vie. Cela me semble être une possession.

Mais il y a quelque chose d'intrinsèquement plus complexe dans un mariage ou une relation engagée à long terme qui le rend plus difficile à quantifier. C'est peut-être parce qu'il n'y a pas de point précis lorsque vous «achetez» réellement une relation. Peut-être que cela a quelque chose à voir avec la notion d'amour et de romance, car la plupart d'entre nous sont pris dans l'idée que nous "partageons" une relation spéciale et il semblerait avide de revendiquer la propriété.

Mais quelle qu'en soit la raison, j'ai rencontré peu de gens qui embrassent avec enthousiasme l'idée de se considérer comme un propriétaire. Il est plus facile de le laisser se produire et d'espérer un bon résultat. Éviter de penser que vous êtes responsable de la relation vous permet également d'éviter d'accepter le blâme lorsque quelque chose tourne mal.

Être un onwer s'accompagne de responsabilités

Être propriétaire implique également la responsabilité de connaître votre produit. Malheureusement, vous n'avez probablement jamais lu un ensemble d'instructions accompagnant vos relations de vie. La raison en est simple: il n’existe aucun manuel d’instruction qui couvre toutes les situations que vous rencontrerez lorsque vous établissez votre propre relation!

Si vous êtes chanceux, votre partenaire et vous-même êtes fondamentalement d’accord sur les mêmes instructions et la relation fonctionne pendant de nombreuses années. Si vous n'êtes pas aussi chanceux, vous tentez tous les deux de construire la relation de manière très différente, et celle-ci échoue. Il faut alors soit le fixer, soit le jeter sur la pile de rebuts car inutilisable. Cela peut-il être évité? Bien sûr, si vous prenez le temps de vous renseigner sur le produit que vous possédez et d'en faire une priorité absolue.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Il est donc temps d'injecter un peu de réalité dans votre vie. Vous et votre partenaire êtes copropriétaires de ce que l'on appellera une «relation de vie». A ce titre, vous serez dès lors soumis aux règles et conditions de ladite propriété, notamment l'acceptation du contrat de relation suivant.

Le contrat de relation

1. Le propriétaire est chargé de prendre soin de la relation et de la maintenir en bon état de marche, en déployant tous les efforts nécessaires pour la développer et la développer de manière positive.

2. Si un problème survient dans la relation, le propriétaire en fera sa priorité et fera tout ce qui est nécessaire pour y remédier.

3. Le propriétaire s'efforcera de comprendre les raisons de son comportement dans la relation et, si ces actions sont auto-destructrices, il recherchera de l'aide.

4. Le propriétaire comprendra qu'il n'est pas égoïste d'exprimer ses besoins dans la relation et s'attend à ce que le copropriétaire réfléchisse au moins et essaie de répondre à ces besoins.

5. Au lieu de blâmer le copropriétaire pour tout ce qui ne va pas au cours de la relation, le propriétaire cherchera toujours à l'intérieur pour reconnaître sa part dans le problème.

Vous pensez peut-être que ce qui précède ressemble à une sorte de jargon juridique, mais vous ne pouvez pas échapper au fait qu'une relation fructueuse est fondée sur ces conditions. En termes simples, ceux qui acceptent ces vérités augmenteront considérablement leurs chances dans une relation intime, affectueuse et engagée. Ceux qui pensent que ces concepts ne s’appliquent pas à eux rencontreront très probablement des problèmes relationnels majeurs et n’ont que peu de compétences pour les résoudre.

La base de votre bonheur personnel

Je parie que vous n'avez pas dit cela lors de vos vœux de mariage ou lorsque vous avez décidé de sortir avec votre partenaire exclusivement. Il est déjà assez difficile de décider que vous avez trouvé une personne avec qui passer votre vie. Mais cela ne change pas le fait que les cinq conditions ci-dessus forment la base de votre bonheur personnel! C'est le sol à partir duquel votre relation va s'épanouir Ignorez-le et la relation a de bonnes chances de mourir. Vous irez nulle part vite. Acceptez ces conditions et vous avez une chance réaliste de développer une relation merveilleuse. Le choix me semble évident et j'espère que cela vous concerne également.

Si vous refusez de considérer la relation comme la vôtre, vous ne ferez probablement jamais le travail nécessaire pour assurer le succès. Vous ignorerez continuellement les idées de votre contrat de relation, car c'est juste la nature humaine de se soucier moins de choses qui ne sont pas les nôtres.

Donc, mémorisez et essayez d'appliquer ces principes chaque jour - je parie que vous serez choqué de voir combien de fois vous ou votre partenaire briserez l'une des conditions. Copiez et affichez ce contrat de relation quelque part que vous pouvez le relire tous les jours.

Reproduit avec la permission de l'éditeur, Hay House, Inc.
www.hayhouse.com

Source de l'article

Une relation pour une durée de vie: Tout ce qu'il faut savoir pour créer un amour qui dure
par Kelly E. Johnson, MD.

Une relation pour une durée de vie par Kelly E. Johnson, MDUn livre sur tout ce que vous devez savoir pour créer un amour qui durera toute une vie. Il? s thérapie sans avoir à aller au bureau. Vous pouvez créer la relation de vos rêves, si vous faites le travail pour devenir votre propre expert en relations.

Info / carnet de commandes. Également disponible en édition Kindle.

Un autre livre de cet auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Kelly E. Johnson, MD

Le Dr Kelly Johnson est un psychiatre et un thérapeute relationnel de renommée nationale. Il est l'auteur de A Relationship for a Lifetime, ainsi que The Relationship Problem Solver. Vous l'avez peut-être vu apparaître dans The Jenny Jones Show et The Montel Williams Show. Il peut être entendu chaque semaine dans l'émission de radio numéro un du dimanche soir, Private Lives. Il a aidé des milliers de personnes à prendre de meilleures décisions et à faire des choix dans leur vie.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

The Basis For Your Personal Happiness: Owning Your Relationship

The Basis For Your Personal Happiness: Owning Your Relationship

You own many things. I have asked hundreds of people over the years to list all of their important possessions, from top to bottom, and they all invariably come up with similar lists. Houses, cars, furniture, stocks... and other material goods usually rank highly.

Then I tell them that they have overlooked the number one valuable commodity in their life. They usually look at me with a blank stare, because the majority of us do not ever think of our personal relationship as something to be owned.

Why is it so difficult to accept the truth that you are the owner of a relationship? After all, you initially saw something that you wanted, took steps to obtain it, and then made a decision to keep it in your life. Sounds like a possession to me.

But there's something inherently more complex about a marriage or long-term committed relationship that makes it harder to quantify. Perhaps it's because there is no definite point when you actually "buy" a relationship. Maybe it has something to do with the notion of love and romance, as most of us get caught up in the notion that we "share" a special relationship and it would appear greedy to claim ownership.

But whatever the reason, I have run across few people who enthusiastically embrace the idea of seeing themselves as an owner. It's easier to just let it happen and hope for a good result. Avoiding the thought that you are responsible for the relationship also lets you avoid accepting the blame when something goes seriously wrong.

Being An Onwer Comes With Responsibilities

Being an owner also carries with it the responsibility of learning about your product. Unfortunately, you probably have never read a set of instructions that accompany your life relationships. The reason is simple - there is no instructional manual that covers all of the various situations that you will encounter as you put together your own relationship!

If you are lucky, you and your partner basically agree on the same set of instructions and the relationship works for many years. If you are not so lucky, you both attempt to construct the relationship in very different ways, and it breaks down. It then either has to be fixed or thrown on the scrap pile as unusable. Can this be avoided? Of course, if you take the time to educate yourself about the product you own and make it a top priority.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


So it is time to inject a little reality into your life. You and your partner are co-owners of what will be known as a "Life Relationship." As such, you will from this point be subject to the rules and conditions of said ownership, including the acceptance of the following Relationship Contract.

The Relationship Contract

1. The owner shall be charged with the responsibility of caring for and maintaining the relationship in good working order, by exerting whatever effort is needed to nurture and grow it in positive ways.

2. If a problem arises with the relationship, the owner will make this his or her top priority and do whatever is necessary to make it right.

3. The owner will strive to understand the reasons for his or her behaviors in the relationship, and if these actions are self-destructive, will seek out help.

4. The owner will understand that it is not selfish to verbalize his or her needs in the relationship, and expect the co-owner to at least consider and try to meet these needs.

5. Instead of blaming the co-owner for everything that goes wrong during the course of the relationship, the owner will always search inside to acknowledge his or her part in causing the problems.

You may think that the above looks like some kind of legalese, but you cannot escape the fact that a successful relationship is grounded in these conditions. Simply stated, those who accept these truths will greatly increase their odds at an intimate, loving, committed relationship. Those who believe that these concepts don't apply to them will most likely run into major relationship problems, and have few skills to solve these problems.

The Basis For Your Personal Happiness

I'll bet that you didn't say these things during your marriage vows or when you first decided to exclusively date your partner. It's tough enough to decide that you've found a person with whom to spend a lifetime. But this doesn't change the fact that the above five conditions form the basis for your personal happiness! This is the soil from which your relationship will flourish. Ignore it and the relationship has a good chance of dying. You'll be going nowhere fast. Accept these conditions and you have a realistic chance of developing a wonderful relationship. The choice seems obvious to me and I hope that it does to you also.

If you refuse to see the relationship as yours, you will probably never do the work necessary to insure success. You will continually disregard the ideas in your relationship contract, because it's just human nature to care less about things that aren't our own.

So memorize and try to apply these principles each day -- I'll bet you will be shocked at how many times you or your partner will break one of the conditions. Copy and post this relationship contract somewhere that you can reread it every day.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher, Hay House, Inc.
www.hayhouse.com

Article Source

A Relationship For A Lifetime: Everything You Need To Know To Create A Love That Lasts
by Kelly E. Johnson, M.D.

A Relationship For A Lifetime by Kelly E. Johnson, M.D.A book on everything you need to know to create a love that lasts for a lifetime. It? s therapy without having to go to the office. You can create the relationship of your dreams, if you do the work to become your own relationship expert.

Info/Order book. Also available as a Kindle edition.

Another Book by this Author

About The Author

Kelly E. Johnson, M.D.

Dr. Kelly Johnson is a nationally known psychiatrist and relationship therapist. He is the author of A Relationship for a Lifetime, as well as The Relationship Problem Solver. You may have seen him appear on The Jenny Jones Show and The Montel Williams Show. He can be heard weekly on the number-one rated Sunday night radio show, Private Lives. He has helped thousands of people make better relationship decisions and choices in their lives.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…