Wie Sie jemandes Meinung ändern können - Fakten alleine werden es nicht tun

Wie können Sie jemandes Meinung ändern. Aber Facts Alone wird es nicht tunJustine Lee, die ganz rechts steht, sagte, sie habe die Make America Dinner Again-Gruppe gegründet, nachdem sie sich von der polarisierenden Sprache der Wahlen 2016 entmutigt fühlte. Ein Gastgeber organisiert ein kleines Abendessen, und Gäste mit unterschiedlichen politischen Ansichten melden sich zu respektvollen Gesprächen und geführten Aktivitäten an. Foto von Maykel Loomans.

Es ist faszinierend an Geschichten, die von einer großen Veränderung des Herzens berichten. Wie die von CP Ellis, einem weißen Mitglied der KKK, und Ann Atwater, einer Aktivistin der schwarzen Gemeinde, die 1971 als Co-Vorsitzende einer Gruppe zusammengeworfen wurden, die sich mit der Aufhebung der Schulregistrierung in Durham, North Carolina, befasste. Anfangs misstrauisch gegenüber anderen, sahen sie bald, wie viel sie gemeinsam hatten. Schließlich kündigte Ellis seine Klan-Mitgliedschaft und die beiden wurden enge Freunde.

Oder die über John Robbins, den Tierschützer, der von einem Besuch bei einem Schweinehalter erzählt, der sein Vieh unter beengten, unmenschlichen Bedingungen unterbrachte. Während des Abendessens und der Unterhaltung brach der Bauer - ein stoischer, starrer Mann - zusammen und erinnerte sich an seine Trauer, als Kind ein Hausschwein töten zu müssen. Schließlich, berichtet Robbins, gab der Mann die Schweinehaltung ganz auf.

Was bringt diese tiefgreifenden Veränderungen mit sich?

Wir alle haben enge Überzeugungen, die die Grundlage eines Großteils unseres Denkens und Handelns bilden. Was braucht es, um sie zu verlagern - und wie können andere den Prozess erleichtern?

Ich frage dies, wenn wir in die Wahlkampfsaison 2020 eintreten und eine Präsidentschaftswahl stattfinden, die wahrscheinlich die bedeutendste in einer Generation ist. Klar, es ist wichtig, die Meinungen anderer zu respektieren. Keiner von uns kennt die Wahrheit, und wir können völlig unterschiedliche Vorstellungen davon haben, welche Politik für das Land am besten ist. Aber Rassismus, Sexismus, Fremdenfeindlichkeit, Gemeinheit, Hass? Nein, das sind niemals akzeptable Antworten.

Egal, ob Sie mit Ihrem Trump-liebenden Schwiegervater sprechen, einem Nachbarn, der Fox News wiederholt und über "kriminelle" Kinder spricht, die an der Grenze inhaftiert sind, oder einem Freund vom College, der über "Wohlfahrtsfreilader" meckert fair zu versuchen, ihre Meinung zu ändern.

Die Frage ist, wie?


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Schauen Sie zuerst nicht auf Fakten, um den Trick zu machen, sagen Forscher. So überzeugend sie auch sein mögen, Tatsachen sind nicht die Grundlage, aus der wir unsere Meinungen ableiten. "Die Leute denken, sie denken wie Wissenschaftler, aber sie denken wirklich wie Anwälte", sagt Pete Ditto, Professor für Psychologie an der University of California in Irvine. Das heißt, anstatt unsere Überzeugungen auf der Grundlage der besten verfügbaren Fakten zu entwickeln, entscheiden die meisten von uns, was wir glauben, und wählen dann die Fakten aus, die sie stützen. Wenn wir also Argumente hören, die nicht mit unseren Überzeugungen übereinstimmen, tendieren wir dazu, sie zu ignorieren.

Das liegt daran, dass wir unseren Glauben durch unsere Gefühle entwickeln, nicht durch unser Gehirn. Und so haben wir uns auch verändert: indem wir uns mit anderen verbinden und eine emotionale Erfahrung machen.

Der grundlegendste Weg, das Denken einer Person, insbesondere über eine bestimmte Population, zu verändern, besteht darin, sie in eine gemischte Gruppe einzuteilen - ein Konzept, das in psychologischen Kreisen als Kontakthypothese bezeichnet wird. Die Hypothese wurde 1954 vom Sozialpsychologen Gordon Allport entwickelt und allgemein anerkannt. Unter bestimmten Umständen ist der zwischenmenschliche Kontakt der beste Weg, um Vorurteile zwischen Mitgliedern einer Gruppe abzubauen. Die Forscher Thomas Pettigrew und Linda Tropp haben 2006 überzeugend gezeigt, dass die Bedingungen von Allport eigentlich nicht notwendig waren. Durch das Mischen zwischen Gruppen könnten Vorurteile abgebaut werden, selbst wenn nicht alle Bedingungen von Allport erfüllt würden. Und der positive Kontakteffekt wächst mit enger werdenden Beziehungen.

„Je mehr Kontakt wir haben, desto weniger haben wir Angst davor, mit Menschen zusammen zu sein, die sich von uns unterscheiden, und desto besser können wir uns in sie einfühlen, was sie durchmachen“, erklärt Tropp, der jetzt ein Junge ist Professor für Psychologie an der Universität von Massachusetts in Amherst und konzentriert sich weiterhin auf das Thema.

Dies ist heute eine besonders wichtige Erkenntnis, wenn viele von uns in getrennten Gesellschaften mit Menschen leben, die genauso aussehen und denken und verdienen wie wir. Wenn wir nicht mit Menschen interagieren, die sich von uns unterscheiden, verlassen wir uns zunehmend auf Stereotype, um sie zu erklären.

Wir entwickeln unsere Überzeugungen durch unsere Gefühle, nicht durch unser Gehirn. Und so haben wir uns auch verändert: indem wir uns mit anderen verbinden und eine emotionale Erfahrung machen.

„Da dies nicht auf unserer persönlichen Erfahrung beruht, werden diese anderen Menschen für uns zu leicht als irrelevant angesehen“, erklärt Tropp. „Aber wenn wir andere Gruppen persönlich kennenlernen, beginnen sie, für uns von Bedeutung zu sein. Sie sind für uns keine abstrakten Ideen mehr. Und sobald wir sie als vollständig menschlich betrachten, stellen wir fest, dass sie die gleiche Behandlung verdienen, die wir erhalten. “

Eine Antwort ist also, sich mit Leuten anzufreunden, die nicht mit Ihnen übereinstimmen, und Leute zusammenzubringen, die sich sonst vielleicht nicht treffen. Oder ermutigen Sie andere, gemeinsam mit Ihnen verschiedene Gruppen von Menschen zu erreichen - durch bürgerliche oder religiöse Organisationen, soziale Aktivitäten oder gemeinschaftliche Bemühungen.

Es ist aber auch möglich, eine aktivere Rolle zu übernehmen, um mithilfe von Gesprächen die Meinung anderer zu ändern. Der Ansatz ist jedoch der Schlüssel: Wenn sie in der Defensive sind, werden die Leute ihre Positionen im Allgemeinen nicht ändern. Das bedeutet, dass diese bösartigen Twitter-Debatten niemanden bewegen.

Stattdessen, so Justine Lee, „geht es darum, das Vertrauen zwischen zwei Menschen wirklich zu stärken: sich gegenseitig anzuhören, das Gesagte zu verinnerlichen, bevor sie Urteile fällen.“ Lees Organisation Make America Dinner Again (MADA) wurde im Anschluss an das Präsidentenamt 2016 gegründet Wahlen und bringt Liberale und Konservative bei einem zweieinhalb- bis dreistündigen Abendessen zusammen. Die Gruppe konzentriert sich auf die Verbesserung des Verständnisses, nicht auf das Ändern der Meinung, aber der Prozess ist ähnlich.

Lee betont, wie andere Leiter ähnlicher Gruppen, dass der Aufbau einer persönlichen Verbindung ein entscheidender Schritt für die Pflege eines produktiven Gesprächs ist. Schließlich kommen die Überzeugungen der Menschen, egal wie abscheulich sie auch sein mögen, normalerweise von einem emotionalen Ort. Vielleicht vergessen wir das in der Hitze des Augenblicks, aber ein respektvoller Umgang mit jemandem - Fragen stellen, wirklich auf die Antworten hören und über unsere eigenen Gefühle sprechen - wird weitaus produktiver sein.

"Ich denke, der beste Weg, um seine Meinung zu ändern, besteht darin, die Menschlichkeit des anderen zu sehen", sagt Joan Blades, Mitbegründerin von Living Room Conversations, einer Open-Source-Gruppe, die wie MADA Demokraten und Republikaner zum Dialog zusammenbringt. "Ich spreche oft von einer Abschwächung der Einstellungen" - auf beiden Seiten - "wenn wir verstehen, warum Menschen so fühlen, wie sie es tun."

Lee erzählt eine Geschichte von zwei Männern, die bei einer Reihe von Abendessen auf Einladung von MADA eine unwahrscheinliche Freundschaft geschlossen haben. Einer war ein älterer Anhänger von White Trump; der andere war ein liberaler Transmann, der aus Korea adoptiert worden war. Sie verbanden sich über Vaterschaft und Ähnlichkeiten in ihren Hintergründen. Und aufgrund dieser Verbindung konnten sie weitere Themen diskutieren, wie Charlottesvilles „Unite the Right“ -Rallye, die kurz vor einem der Abendessen stattgefunden hatte.

"Es war klar, dass sie nicht einverstanden waren, aber sie umarmten sich", sagt Lee. Der ältere Mann sagte, er habe noch nie jemanden getroffen, der Transgender war - und obwohl er wahrscheinlich seine Grundhaltung nicht ändern würde, sagt Lee, in dem Wissen, dass der jüngere Mann offensichtlich seine Einstellung beeinflusst hatte. "Es ist eine Erinnerung daran, dass Menschen nuanciert und komplex sind", sagt Lee. "Sobald Sie jemanden treffen, gibt es Dinge, die Ihr Denken über sie weicher machen können."

Eine Erzählung kann eine wirkungsvolle Möglichkeit sein, das Denken eines Menschen zu verändern. The Richmond, Virginia, Chapter of Coming to the Table, eine nationale Organisation, die sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, Rassismus abzubauen, beherbergt Film- und Buchclubs und hat sie als besonders nützlich befunden.

„Meiner Erfahrung nach werden Menschen mehr durch Geschichten als durch Argumente verändert“, sagt Marsha Summers, eine der Leiterinnen des Buchclubs. Ihre Co-Leiterin Cheryl Goode stimmt zu: „Ich denke, dass es zu einem echten Umdenken kommt, weil wir die Perspektive anderer Menschen kennenlernen.“

Eine neue Methode kombiniert all diese Elemente - Kontakt, Vertrauen und Geschichtenerzählen -, um explizit erfolgreich die Meinung zu ändern. Deep Canvassing ist eine Tür-zu-Tür-Technik, die 2015 entwickelt wurde und nachweislich Meinungen zu bestimmten Themen mit monatelangen Auswirkungen verschiebt. Anstatt mit einem 60-Sekunden-Drehbuch von Haus zu Haus zu rennen, werden die Befragten in längere Gespräche verwickelt: Fragen Sie die Anwohner nach dem Zusammenhang mit dem jeweiligen Thema, sprechen Sie ehrlich über ihre eigenen Erfahrungen und setzen Sie sich mit gemeinsamen Grundwerten in Verbindung.

"Wir versuchen wirklich zu verstehen, was [die Wähler] motiviert", sagt Adam Barbanel-Fried. Barbanel-Fried ist der Direktor von „Changing the Conversation Together“ (CTC), einer Organisation, die ein nationales Korps von Deep-Canvassern ausbildet und leitet, die demokratische Kandidaten unterstützen. Dafür sagt er: „Wir finden, dass das Geschichtenerzählen das effektivste Werkzeug ist: ein wenig Verwundbarkeit zu bieten und dem Wähler zu zeigen, dass wir sie nicht beurteilen werden. Durch diese Art von Geschichten bekommt man Menschen, die sich öffnen. “

Barbanel-Fried sagt, er stehe vor der Tür und spreche über die Erfahrungen seiner Familie mit Antisemitismus - und als Reaktion darauf antworteten die Bewohner oft mit ihren eigenen Geschichten über Hass oder Fremdenfeindlichkeit. Viele berichten am Ende eines Gesprächs, dass sie jetzt eher für einen demokratischen Kandidaten stimmen, der bürgerliche Freiheiten unterstützt.

Aber dieses spezielle Ergebnis ist nicht das einzige, was zählt, sagt Carol Smolenski, eine engagierte CTC-Freiwillige. „Auch wenn ich niemanden dazu bringen konnte, zu sagen, dass ich ihn nach unten gebracht hätte, um wahrscheinlicher für einen Demokraten zu stimmen, hatte ich das Gefühl, dass ich ihm auf jeden Fall einen Anlass gab, darüber nachzudenken, was er nicht getan hat Darüber nachgedacht."

Das ist die Sache mit dem Umdenken: Es kann sein, dass es nicht sofort passiert. Aber selbst wenn Sie keine offensichtliche, unmittelbare Veränderung feststellen, sind die Grundüberzeugungen möglicherweise bereits in die Brüche gegangen.

Und das ist ein Anfang.

Über den Autor

Amanda Abrams ist eine freiberufliche Autorin, die sich auf Gentrifizierung, Armut und Religion konzentriert.

Dieser Artikel erschien ursprünglich auf JA! Zeitschrift


Erinnere dich an deine Zukunft
am 3. November

Uncle Sam Stil Smokey Bear Only You.jpg

Erfahren Sie mehr über die Themen und das, was bei den US-Präsidentschaftswahlen am 3. November 2020 auf dem Spiel steht.

Zu früh? Wetten Sie nicht darauf. Die Streitkräfte sind bestrebt, Sie davon abzuhalten, in Ihrer Zukunft mitzureden.

Dies ist die große und diese Wahl kann für ALLE Murmeln sein. Wenden Sie sich auf eigene Gefahr ab.

Nur Sie können zukünftigen Diebstahl verhindern

Folgen Sie InnerSelf.com's
"Erinnere dich an deine Zukunft"Berichterstattung


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

How You Can Change Someone’s Mind -- Facts Alone Won’t Do It

How, You Can Change Someone’s Mind. But Facts Alone Won’t Do ItJustine Lee, standing far right, said she created the Make America Dinner Again group after becoming disheartened by the polarizing language of the 2016 election. A host organizes a small dinner, and guests with differing political views sign up for respectful conversation and guided activities. Photo by Maykel Loomans.

Here’s something fascinating about stories that recount a major change of heart. Like the one of C.P. Ellis, a White member of the KKK, and Ann Atwater, a Black community activist, who in 1971 were thrown together as co-chairs of a group focused on school desegregation in Durham, North Carolina. Initially mistrustful of one another, they soon saw how much they had in common. Eventually, Ellis renounced his Klan membership and the two became close friends.

Or the one about John Robbins, the animal rights activist, who tells of visiting a pig farmer who housed his livestock in cramped, inhumane conditions. Over dinner and conversation, the farmer—a stoic, rigid man—broke down, remembering his grief over having to kill a pet pig as a child. Eventually, Robbins reports, the man abandoned pig farming altogether.

What brings about these kind of deep changes?

We all have closely held beliefs that form the basis of much of our thinking and actions. What does it take to shift them—and how can others facilitate the process?

I’m asking this as we enter the 2020 campaign season and a presidential election that is probably the most significant in a generation. Sure, it’s important to respect others’ opinions; none of us has the corner on the truth, and we can have wildly different ideas about which policies are best for the country. But racism, sexism, xenophobia, meanness, hate? No. Those are never acceptable responses.

So whether you’re talking to your Trump-loving father-in-law, a neighbor who repeats Fox News talking points about “criminal” children detained at the border, or a friend from college who’s been grumbling about “welfare freeloaders,” it’s fair to try and change their minds.

The question is, how?


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


First, don’t look to facts to do the trick, researchers say. As compelling as they may be, facts aren’t how we fundamentally build our opinions. “People think they think like scientists, but they really think a lot like attorneys,” says Pete Ditto, a professor of psychological science at the University of California, Irvine. That is, rather than developing our beliefs based on the best available facts, most of us decide what we believe and then select the facts that support it. So when we hear arguments that don’t align with our beliefs, we tend to disregard them.

That’s because we develop our beliefs through our feelings, not our brains. And that’s how we’re changed as well: by connecting with others and having an emotional experience.

The most basic way to shift someone’s thinking, particularly about a specific population, is to put them in a mixed group—a concept that’s known in psychology circles as the contact hypothesis. Developed in 1954 by social psychologist Gordon Allport and widely accepted, the hypothesis states that under certain conditions, interpersonal contact is the best way to reduce prejudice between members of a group. In 2006, researchers Thomas Pettigrew and Linda Tropp convincingly showed that Allport’s conditions weren’t actually necessary; mixing between groups could reduce prejudice even if all of Allport’s conditions weren’t met. And the positive effect of contact grows stronger with closer relationships.

“The more contact we have, the less anxious we feel about being with people who are different from us, and the more able we are to empathize with them in terms of what they’re going through,” explains Tropp, who is now a psychology professor at the University of Massachusetts Amherst and continues to focus on the topic.

It’s a particularly significant finding today, when many of us live in segregated societies with people who look and think and earn just like we do. If we don’t interact with people who are different from us, we increasingly rely on stereotypes to explain them.

We develop our beliefs through our feelings, not our brains. And that’s how we’re changed as well: by connecting with others and having an emotional experience.

“Because it’s not based on our personal experience, those other people are too easily regarded as irrelevant to us,” explains Tropp. “But what happens when we get to know other groups personally is they start to matter to us; they’re no longer abstract ideas to us. And once we see them as fully human, we begin to see that they deserve the same treatment that we get.”

One answer, then, is to befriend people who disagree with you and connect folks who might not otherwise meet. Or encourage others to join you in reaching out to different groups of people—through civic or religious organizations, social activities, or community efforts.

But it’s also possible to take a more active role in aiming to change someone’s mind, using conversation. The approach, though, is key: if they’re on the defensive, people generally won’t shift their positions. So, that means those vicious Twitter debates aren’t budging anyone.

Instead, says Justine Lee, “it’s about really developing trust between two people: hearing each other out, internalizing what’s being said before making judgments.” Lee’s organization, Make America Dinner Again (MADA), was established in the wake of the 2016 presidential election and brings together liberals and conservatives over a two-and-a-half to three-hour dinner. The group focuses on increasing understanding, not changing minds, but the process is similar.

Lee, like other leaders of similar groups, emphasizes that building a personal connection is a crucial step in cultivating a productive conversation. After all, people’s beliefs, no matter how abhorrent, usually come from an emotional place. We may forget that in the heat of the moment, but treating someone respectfully—asking questions, truly listening to the answers, and talking about our own feelings—will be vastly more productive.

“I think the best way to change minds is to see each other’s humanity,” says Joan Blades, co-founder of Living Room Conversations, an open-source group that, like MADA, gathers Democrats and Republicans for dialogue. “I often talk about attitudes softening”—on both sides—“when we understand why people feel the way they do.”

Lee tells a story of two men who forged an unlikely friendship over a series of dinners hosted by MADA. One was an older White Trump supporter; the other was a liberal trans man who’d been adopted from Korea. They bonded over fatherhood and similarities in their backgrounds. And because of that connection, they were able to discuss more loaded issues, like Charlottesville’s “Unite the Right” rally that had occurred shortly before one of the dinners.

“It was clear they didn’t agree, but they were hugging each other,” says Lee. The older man said he’d never met someone who was transgender—and while he probably wasn’t going to change his fundamental stance, Lee says, knowing the younger man had obviously affected his outlook. “It’s a reminder that humans are nuanced and complex,” says Lee. “As soon as you meet someone, there are things that can soften your thinking about them.”

A narrative can be a powerful way to shift someone’s thinking. The Richmond, Virginia, chapter of Coming to the Table, a national organization aimed at dismantling racism, hosts film and book clubs and has found them to be particularly useful.

“People, in my experience, are changed more by stories than they are by arguments,” says Marsha Summers, one of the book club’s leaders. Her co-leader, Cheryl Goode, agrees: “I think real changing of minds happens because we learn the perspective of other people.”

One new method combines all of those elements—contact, trust, and storytelling—to explicitly, successfully change minds. Deep canvassing is a door-to-door technique developed in 2015 that’s been proven to shift opinions on particular issues, with effects that last for months. Rather than running from house to house with a 60-second script, canvassers engage respondents in longer conversations: asking about residents’ link to the issue at hand, talking honestly about their own experiences, and connecting on shared fundamental values.

“We’re trying to really understand what motivates [voters],” says Adam Barbanel-Fried. Barbanel-Fried is the director of Changing the Conversation Together (CTC), an organization that’s ramping up to train and lead a national corps of deep canvassers supporting Democratic candidates. For that, he says, “we find storytelling to be the most effective tool: to offer a little bit of vulnerability and show the voter that we’re not going to judge them. It’s through those kind of stories that you get people opening up.”

Barbanel-Fried says he’s stood in doorways and talked about his family’s experiences with anti-Semitism—and in response, residents have often responded with their own jarring stories of encountering hate or xenophobia. Many, at the end of a conversation, report that they’re now more likely to vote for a Democratic candidate who supports civil liberties.

But that specific outcome isn’t the only one that matters, says Carol Smolenski, a dedicated CTC volunteer. “Even if I wasn’t able to get someone to say that I’d moved them down the scale to be more likely to vote for a Democrat, I had a feeling that I certainly gave them something to think about that they haven’t thought about.”

That’s the thing about changing minds: it might not happen right away. But even if you don’t see an obvious, immediate change, hardcore beliefs may already have begun to crumble.

And that’s a start. 

About The Author

Amanda Abrams is a freelance writer who focuses on gentrification, poverty, and religion.

This article originally appeared on YES! Magazine


Remember Your Future
on the 3rd of November

Uncle Sam style Smokey Bear Only You.jpg

Learn about the issues and what's at stake in the November 3, 2020 US Presidential election.

Too soon? Don't bet on it. Forces are conniving to stop you from having a say in your future.

This is the big one and this election may be for ALL the marbles. Turn away at your peril.

Only You Can Prevent 'Future' Theft

Follow InnerSelf.com's
"Remember Your Future" coverage


You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

First name:E-mail:
 

{emailcloak=off}

DAILY INSPIRATION

Daily Inspiration: March 7, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 7, 2021
Our culture has relegated aging to the closet. It is not something to be discussed, or even done,…
citizen of the world dress
Daily Inspiration: March 6, 2021
It is said that when someone asked Socrates what country he was from, his response was "of the…
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
There's no need to run away, or run to others for answers. Close your eyes and talk to your Self...

INNERSELF VOICES

We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
by Pierre Pradervand
How I see my life path is a choice I make minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day… And this…
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
by James Endredy
For most people, walking is an activity that requires no thought or intention -- it is rarely even…
Young girl sitting surrounded by lots of book of various colors
How to Recognize Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
by Thom Hartmann
ADHD is not an all-or-nothing diagnosis. There appears to be a curve of behaviors and personality…
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
by Bridgit Dengel Gaspard
You may not think you have a core negative belief, but if you’re mysteriously stuck, one or two…
Scrabble letters that spell out: NO HATE
Vaccination or No Vaccination? That Is Not the Question Here...
by Joyce Vissell
This is not an article about the benefits of getting a vaccination. Nor is it an article about not…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
Photo of aurora and moon by Markus Varik on February 22, 2021, Tromsø Norway
Horoscope Current Week: March 1 - 7, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…

MOST READ

silhouette of a woman's head and it is disintegrating
Letting Go of All Perceived Pain, Ignorance, and Fear
by Alexis I. Jordan
Thank you, infinite goodness, for your bounteous gifts, including peace, love, freedom and joy,…
picture of colorful fireworks in the sky
Cancer Meditation and Cancer Medication: A Powerful Combination
by Joyce Whiteley Hawkes
Each cell has its own biological clock that controls its individual rate of repair, replication,…
Emotions and Your Moon Sign
How To Deal with Your Emotions According To Your Moon Sign
by Donna Cunningham
The Moon, in the astrological chart, can help us understand how we deal with our emotions. It shows…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
by Vicky Armstrong
Many of us may be looking to art activities to keep children busy while at home. If you are, I want…
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
by Barry Sultanoff, MD.
We came into this world with special "buttons" pre-installed. These "buttons" are specific spots on…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
women peering through an opening in a dark wall
Nourishing the Sunrise of Peace with Love and Music
by Christopher Grosso
Yes, love your brother. Yes, live in harmony with nature. But first and foremost, pave the way for…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.